India (199/5) storm into the semi-finals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2026 with a commanding five-wicket victory over the West Indies (195/4)

Which side will win this virtual Quarterfinal?

• Poll closed .
Sweepy bhai, koi na! If you start tearing out your hair everytime India wins, you will have none left soon.

Hope you had that same reaction when India lost to Australia in the 23 final.

You lost 23 final because you didnt bat well. Not because of the wicket. Crumbled under pressure against the mighty Australians.

This Indian batting unit despite insane talent is not experienced enough to handle pressure in pressure matches. And we have Gambhir who does weird things
completely agreed. They are pretty inexperienced and moreover seem to set in doing things one way. A bit of breather from top order while chasing would help them.

Pak and bangla fans will not watch India's semi final match... they are boycotting bcos every time they prayed India to loose, but India wins

India set up a T20 World Cup semi-final clash with England after edging past West Indies by five wickets in a tense encounter, powered by Sanju Samson’s magnificent unbeaten 97.

Samson delivered a flawless 50-ball innings, smashing 12 fours and four sixes, as India successfully chased down 196 in a high-stakes Super 8 finale at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

The co-hosts’ victory secured second place in Group 1 behind South Africa, earning them a semi-final meeting with Group 2 winners England at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Thursday (13:30 GMT).

India had never before chased a target exceeding 173 to win a T20 World Cup match, making Samson’s calm and calculated approach all the more crucial.

Tilak Varma’s brisk 27 off 15 balls was the only other notable contribution, highlighting the composure and responsibility with which Samson anchored the innings.

Appropriately, Samson finished the job himself, launching Romario Shepherd for a six followed by a four to seal the win with four deliveries remaining.

Earlier, India were untidy in the field after opting to bowl first, allowing West Indies to post a formidable total.

Frustration was evident as India spilled three catches — including a costly misjudgment by Abhishek Sharma — and missed a run-out opportunity.

Roston Chase was surprisingly promoted to open and justified the decision with a composed yet aggressive 40 off 25 balls, guiding West Indies to 102-1 before Jasprit Bumrah stemmed the flow of runs.

Bumrah deceived Chase with a well-disguised slower ball before dismissing the in-form Shimron Hetmyer for 27, inducing a thin edge with a delivery that angled across the left-hander.

Rovman Powell and Jason Holder then provided late impetus with unbeaten knocks of 34 and 37 respectively, pushing West Indies to 195-4. However, once Samson found his rhythm, the total ultimately proved insufficient.

Result aside, India needs to change their fielding coach ASAP. Been saying this since the England test match series. What the hell is he doing except handing out rewards in the dressing room? We can get the best in the world out there, why stick to this guy?

Abhishek, Tilak, Varun, Arshdeep -- Terrible fielders, they misfield and drop so many chances, I can understand the bowlers but others...

Only Rinku, sky and Pandya are safe fielders.

Na Bhai na. Rinku has dropped stuff too. Abhisek is fukra varun is a druggie and arshdeep is a typical tall bowler of old Indian teams.

Massive issues when going up against England soith africa nz aus

Having more match winners always helps. Highly imperfect campaign. Here we are in the semi final
yeah, i would even say this is a poor campaign. They are in semis because someone or other standing up at crucial time. Overall a decent team effort but they don't look like champions. May be they have reached their limit.. who knows..

Abhishek, Tilak, Varun, Arshdeep -- Terrible fielders, they misfield and drop so many chances, I can understand the bowlers but others...

Only Rinku, sky and Pandya are safe fielders.
Very poor ground fielding and catch efficiency. Hopefully team will bring their A game in the upcoming knockouts

Their A game is limited to batting bowling. Fielding is Neighbors level or worse. This lot will need lot of practise lashings kodey over next many months to improve fielding

yeah, i would even say this is a poor campaign. They are in semis because someone or other standing up at crucial time. Overall a decent team effort but they don't look like champions. May be they have reached their limit.. who knows..
No, they haven’t reached their limit. This is on paper our best T20 team ever. But the fielding has been a huge letdown & this is not limited to this series. This is a young team & barring Chakravarthy who is totally hopeless nobody should have an excuse for having butterfingers. We need to address this ASAP

No, they haven’t reached their limit. This is on paper our best T20 team ever. But the fielding has been a huge letdown & this is not limited to this series. This is a young team & barring Chakravarthy nobody should have an excuse for having butterfingers. We need to address this ASAP

No way. The best t20 team will have ravi bishnoi next to varun chakravarthy in place of axar.

Legend Shreyas iyer in place of hack like Ishan kishen.

Teams wont cross 160 with the best two spinners in the world bowling in tandem

Another blind hater .. blind haters ka yehi hashar hota hai.

What bad they wish for others ..happens to them
I don't think he's a blind hater. He reads the game pretty well. Which is why it's obvious he threw away a great career.

Also, I respect the fact that he doesn't try to blindly please Indian fans. He praises when he thinks the team or players deserve it. Even the Sharma slogger thing is taken a little out of context. Didn't mean Sharma was a poor batsman. Just that he goes after every ball and failure was bound to happen. He kind of clarified that recently.

He just got this semifinal bet wrong.

I don't think he's a blind hater. He reads the game pretty well. Which is why it's obvious he threw away a great career.

Also, I respect the fact that he doesn't try to blindly please Indian fans. He praises when he thinks the team or players deserve it. Even the Sharma slogger thing is taken a little out of context. Didn't mean Sharma was a poor batsman. Just that he goes after every ball and failure was bound to happen. He kind of clarified that recently.

He just got this semifinal bet wronhe

HE is not really right about Abhisek too. Lapedu sloggers don't reach world no.1 rating in t20s and be fastest to 1000 t20 runs just slogging their .. off.

His chinks got exposed that's all. But to call it slogging is not on.

And it was not a bet ..he was sure India won't reach semis based on our scratchy performance vs holland etc.

What he didn't seen was we tried all our permutations combinations in those matches .

To selective expertise dena koi bhi sakta hai . Heck we even tried our spimmers vs Pak to rest our pacers. Tilak even took a wicket lol

Where is @Bhaijaan? :inti

images

It's always a pleasure seeing blind haters turn into crybabies when we win.

And better pleasure seeing nice people feel happy in our victory across the border too..

Keep it going fellows

What's the name of that show? I have only seen some screenshots which I have shared here. :inti

View attachment 162344
Haarna Mana Hai but it's actually called Hasna Mana Hai.

It's good. Rashid Latif is like the wise old guy lol and Shehzad is what you expect from him, especially when Babar is the topic. They've rounded up some bitter people so that keeps it entertaining but there are also some good points made especially by Amir. The host is also pretty funny. Honestly, for about a year now I prefer to watch Pakistani post-match shows to Indian ones. There really are no quality folk in India with good insights except in recent times through DK.

HE is not really right about Abhisek too. Lapedu sloggers don't reach world no.1 rating in t20s and be fastest to 1000 t20 runs just slogging their .. off.

His chinks got exposed that's all. But to call it slogging is not on.

And it was not a bet ..he was sure India won't reach semis based on our scratchy performance vs holland etc.

What he didn't seen was we tried all our permutations combinations in those matches .

To selective expertise dena koi bhi sakta hai . Heck we even tried our spimmers vs Pak to rest our pacers. Tilak even took a wicket lol
You know some of these international cricketers use slogger differently to what fans use. I remember Yuvraj saying he was confident in some run chase because he knew Dhoni would come and 'slog' the ball to finish it. So the usage is kind of thrashing there. In the case of Amir's usage, he did explain that he meant Sharma goes after every ball whether it;s in his area or not. Which is true and was brilliant to watch when he was in form. But he's come down from those highs and you can see he's already looking to only go after those in his arc. He's also given up on that dumb title he had of smashing the first or second ball he faces for a boundary. He is a quality player and SKY backs him. He will get a long rope and deserves to.

Our bowling and fielding needs to improve A LOT if we are to have any chance of defending the title.

With all due respect to Samson's amazing knock....WI bowling was absolutely dross today and we escaped with a lucky win. Dew factor came in too..

Don't think England are gonna serve such mithais like WI did today.

Our bowling and fielding needs to improve A LOT if we are to have any chance of defending the title.

With all due respect to Samson's amazing knock....WI bowling was absolutely dross today and we escaped with a lucky win. Dew factor came in too..

Tbh, England bowling is not very good too. And I would anyday face them over NZ.

But yeah this kind of lackadaisical fielding & bowling is not acceptable by Indian standards.

Tbh, England bowling is not very good too. And I would anyday face them over NZ.

They're miles better than this WI halwa attack...

Rashid , Archer are quality. And most importantly...they are smart in their execution unlike the Windies.

Gonna be very tough to beat them at a High scoring venue like Wankhede.

You know some of these international cricketers use slogger differently to what fans use. I remember Yuvraj saying he was confident in some run chase because he knew Dhoni would come and 'slog' the ball to finish it. So the usage is kind of thrashing there. In the case of Amir's usage, he did explain that he meant Sharma goes after every ball whether it;s in his area or not. Which is true and was brilliant to watch when he was in form. But he's come down from those highs and you can see he's already looking to only go after those in his arc. He's also given up on that dumb title he had of smashing the first or second ball he faces for a boundary. He is a quality player and SKY backs him. He will get a long rope and deserves to.

Maybe I will see his comments again. ..but one thing he forgot was Abhishek is still very inexperienced. And showing prodigious talent maybe not as much as Amir did when he was that young.

Instead of backing a fellow world no.1 and rising star his comments seemed dismissive.

They're miles better than this WI halwa attack...

Rashid , Archer are quality. And most importantly...they are smart in their execution unlike the Windies.

Gonna be very tough to beat them at a High scoring venue like Wankhede.

Their bloody tail wags hard...will jacks has rescued more than twice I think ..and Rehan ahmed score 18 of 6. Damn what a tail...and even archer can tonk a few.

Another tough match loading for team India

Haarna Mana Hai but it's actually called Hasna Mana Hai.

It's good. Rashid Latif is like the wise old guy lol and Shehzad is what you expect from him, especially when Babar is the topic. They've rounded up some bitter people so that keeps it entertaining but there are also some good points made especially by Amir. The host is also pretty funny. Honestly, for about a year now I prefer to watch Pakistani post-match shows to Indian ones. There really are no quality folk in India with good insights except in recent times through DK.

Beta you shud try to hear what Mayanti Langer wants to say than try to " See " what mayanti langer wants to say ..

Most fellows i know keep looking at her 🤣

Yes varun looking a little suspect in the s8s, Axar too in the 2 games he played.

But England are much worse players of spin, and Archer has been copping plenty in this tournament. Newbie Rehan will be under plenty of semis pressure as well so he can be dealt with too, and Jacks while he has bowled well is at his core an up and down bowler who can be dealt with by your batsmen. You'll be fine.