India (175/7) dominate Pakistan (114) with a commanding 61-run victory in an anti-climactic T20 World Cup 2026 clash

Who will win this match

• Poll closed .
Meh, it’s fine. I made peace with what this team is a long time ago. Life is about accepting that not everything you invest in will return the way you hoped. I just try not to let this team spoil my love for the sport itself, which is played by many more teams.

Wise words ...which a lot of people here could hear and learn from

I'll keep saying this until I'm blue in the face but facts are facts.
Until the 2nd tier teams like Pakistan, Sri Lanka etc get a level playing field against the Big 3, these types of one sided matches will keep on happening.
The only reason Pak-Ind generates so much attention and 'hulla-gulla' is because of its political context (talk about stating the obvious) .. but ICC, sorry BCCI, needs to act as a so called leader of the game, by playing more bilaterals, tests, odis and T20s as well as IPL inclusion for lesser teams including Pakistan. This would creat more competitive matches.
But, of course, if you wanna keep on getting 'cheap arousals" by beating Pakistan (at its lowest since Ive been following them since the early 80s) or any other country where you want to have a political ascendancy for a day then keep the status quo. Go into the match, the public thinking you will win, more potential audience, tv companies happy, more sponsors, more ads, more money, then ... keep at it.
I remember, how pissed off the Asian boards used to act in the 80s/90s when the English and the Australian boards treated them as 2nd class citizens. Now, tbe power is reversed but the mentality is still the same.

I'll keep saying this until I'm blue in the face but facts are facts.
Until the 2nd tier teams like Pakistan, Sri Lanka etc get a level playing field against the Big 3, these types of one sided matches will keep on happening.
The only reason Pak-Ind generates so much attention and 'hulla-gulla' is because of its political context (talk about stating the obvious) .. but ICC, sorry BCCI, needs to act as a so called leader of the game, by playing more bilaterals, tests, odis and T20s as well as IPL inclusion for lesser teams including Pakistan. This would creat more competitive matches.
But, of course, if you wanna keep on getting 'cheap arousals" by beating Pakistan (at its lowest since Ive been following them since the early 80s) or any other country where you want to have a political ascendancy for a day then keep the status quo. Go into the match, the public thinking you will win, more potential audience, tv companies happy, more sponsors, more ads, more money, then ... keep at it.
I remember, how pissed off the Asian boards used to act in the 80s/90s when the English and the Australian boards treated them as 2nd class citizens. Now, tbe power is reversed but the mentality is still the same.
What is the uneven field Pakistan got in this game? They were in SL for last 15 odd days and already played 2 matches here. It was India who travelled all the way, adjusted to slow and low SL conditions and yet beat you black and blue.

Also, Pakistan just whitewashed Australia, who is a part of big 3, isnt it?

Indians are too good for Pakistan to even compete.
Bitter truth is Pakistan will lose consequetively to India A even.
India is way way ahead at this moment.
It's really embarrassing to see this performance from Pakistanis after a lot of drama . Indians will now troll big.
This rivalry is dead. And soon this contest will start to bring only little money.

Pakistan's senior players all delivered exactly what I expected.

The only surprising part was Shadab not delivering the customary first over waist high fulltoss that gets hit halfway into the stands

Pakistani fans are besharam as well including me.
I mean we know what will happen in the match even before a single ball is bowled. But we still watch these losers getting humiliated like no tomorrow.
All Pakistani fans should boycott this Pakistani team.
No need to waste energy on these losers.

Indians are too good for Pakistan to even compete.
Bitter truth is Pakistan will lose consequetively to India A even.
India is way way ahead at this moment.
It's really embarrassing to see this performance from Pakistanis after a lot of drama . Indians will now troll big.
This rivalry is dead. And soon this contest will start to bring only little money.
Same applies to Bangladesh as well

What is the uneven field Pakistan got in this game? They were in SL for last 15 odd days and already played 2 matches here. It was India who travelled all the way, adjusted to slow and low SL conditions and yet beat you black and blue.

Also, Pakistan just whitewashed Australia, who is a part of big 3, isnt it?

I already know Pakistan will lose to India 9 out 10 times.

The hope is in Super 8 or semi final, we meet and win the one match out of 10 that knocks India out.

Nothing sweeter than that..

I mean we know what will happen in the match even before a single ball is bowled. But we still watch these losers getting humiliated like no tomorrow.
Agreed with the 'including me' part

Now's the time to beat suryakumar yadav and his bunch of illiterate clowns.
Let's go make them cry along with a billion people.

I already know Pakistan will lose to India 9 out 10 times.

The hope is in Super 8 or semi final, we meet and win the one match out of 10 that knocks India out.

Nothing sweeter than that..
I said this yesterday that the final will likely be India vs Pakistan. There’s a high chance of that happening.

Pakistan have quality spinners who can trouble most teams in Sri Lankan conditions, perhaps everyone except India. The fact that Pakistan will play all their games there, rather than on the flatter decks in India, increases their chances of reaching the final.

India are also strong contenders to make the final....unless someone pulls off a West Indies 2016-style surprise.

Mohsin Naqvi embarrassed: PCB chief leaves stadium early, refuses to sit through Pakistan’s collapse against India

The most telling moment of the India vs Pakistan match in Colombo didn’t come with a wicket celebration or a boundary. It came in the VIP enclosure when Mohsin Naqvi, the PCB chairman, was no longer in his seat before the chase was even formally beyond rescue. At the R Premadasa Stadium on Sunday, with a high-voltage group clash sliding rapidly out of Pakistan’s hands, officials in the media and hospitality areas confirmed that the board chief had left the venue while the match was still in progress and Pakistan were still batting. The departure was noticed between overs.

“Hearing from Pakistan media people that Mohsin Naqvi indeed left,” a source confirmed to The Hindustan Times Digital.

The exit came as the required rate climbed and the scoreboard became increasingly brutal. India had already set Pakistan 176 to win after reaching 175/7, and the response never found a stable shape. Early wickets in the powerplay left the chase behind the game, and the middle overs tightened into a squeeze where singles felt like survival, not momentum. By the time Pakistan were deep into the lower order, the contest had turned into damage control.

Surya and Tilak played very responsible innings and showed excellent game/match awareness. Both realized that this was not a 180-200 pitch and given the platform Ishan Kishan gave, both ensured that they batted till the end and gave Dube, Rinku a platform to launch.

In comparison Babar, Shadab, Nawaz, Faheem have been playing for 10 years and still can't bat or make the right decisions under pressure.

Phir bhi Pakistan Zindabad!

Axar Patel in a post match press conference:

[Reporter:]

Surya was telling about focusing on your own strengths and not worrying about what the opposition is, because all the talk about their spin versus our batting. Now, that message to the team, is that what really helped in such a dominant win that India focusing solely on their strengths and unleashing their strengths?

[Axar Patel:]

Yeah obviously we are- whatever captain says we are focusing on our strength and it's outside talk. There's India's betting versus Pakistan bowling or whatever/ We are not thinking about that. We are just thinking about our plan and our execution when we are batting or bowling, we are just thinking about if we are bowling first of we are bowling second what we have to do? How wicket was? So we are thinking about our game, we are not thinking about our batting and their bowling and also it's usually we are taking one match at a time. So today was Pakistan team, So we are focusing on them and that's just made our plan and just we discussed that only

Do you still think that Pakistan should be considered as an arch rival or great rival because repeatedly you have been beating them and eight times and is it removing the pressure out of an India Pakistan match?

See, we are seeing them as a team. So we are not thinking about these rivalry or whatever. So we are playing against one team, and we are just focusing on cricket. So whenever I am playing, I am not thinking about what about others. I don't know. But I treat it as a one match and opponent. So I'm not thinking about any rivalry or whatever. So we are opposition came to play, and we have played good cricket. That's it.

Akshar, in the last team management, as a floater, they used you in the batting lineup. We know you're an all-rounder. In this team management, there's a different role, at number eight, number seven, to be attacking and finishing at the bottom? So I mean, you have always been considered as a team man. But does the team man know how to adjust anywhere? And how do you manage it?

So, as an all-rounder, the job of an all-rounder is that you can bowl anytime, you can bat anytime, you can do something in fielding. So, yeah, as an all-rounder, I always think that if your team needs me, then that means they are showing me confidence that I will work in such a situation. Or I will get them out of this situation. So, as a plus point for me, it is that the team is showing me confidence. And, yeah, maybe in the upcoming match, you can see me higher up also – you never know, the type of game cricket is. You have to be ready. T20 cricket is such that it is important to be flexible. If you want to win in such a tournament.

Today, the spectators were very much present in India's jersey. So, when you were playing, you must have felt that you were playing in your country, or playing in Sri Lanka - Tell us about that?

No, then not only Sri Lanka – even in Australia or England, or last time, when we were playing West Indies, it was the same. Most of the Indian supporters come to support us in the Blue Jersey. So, we never think about which country we are playing in. We just think about the wicket on the ground and what is there. We play according to that. And yes, people who want to come support us. It feels good. And it is not like that only in Sri Lanka, but when we go to any other country many people come to support us, it is the same like this everywhere.

Axar, a word on Ishan's knock basically. On that pitch where Pakistan got 18 overs spin, and in the first innings the ball was spinning a lot according to the stats shown on the TV. And there Ishan's batting with a strike rate of 190, it must have been very difficult.

Yeah, obviously the way he has batted, I think one of the great knocks, because it was not so easy, the ball was spinning, some were going straight under light, so it was not easy, it’s just that the form he has had in the domestic cricket – he has carried it forward to the New Zealand series and then in the last match also he scored 50 – so when you're confidence is high you don’t think much about yourself or the wicket. Obviously there is confidence also and a lot of skill also. He has not hit all his shots in one place, he has played shots all over, over the cover, slip – so he used the field well. So I think credit goes to him.

We saw two different type of dismissals – Babur Azam go quicker one, bowled and Usman Khan caught on stump. It was a brilliant delivery. How do you plan for different batters? On this pitch, where perhaps both options are available to you, if you could explain that a bit. And the second one—there were visuals showing that Rohit bhai spoke to you all before the match, so what kind of tips or pep talk was that?

So, basically, what happens is, obviously, what was happening on the wicket, the odd ball was skidding a little more, and some odd ball was spinning more, When we came in the second inning, I was throwing with the new ball, and I realized that the new ball was skidding a little more - So the plan is what the batsman wants to do, in which area he wants to target. After that I change my line or length. And the second dismissal was that he was stepping out. So I again went for my length. Because obviously in the first inning, the slow that I was throwing was turning more. But that was the first. So, yeah, I plan like that.

And pep talk, yes, obviously – it stays inside only – it was just about confidence and controlling emotions in such moments and that's very important that the pressure is not too much. So, that was it.

Today Usman hit you two straight shots. And after that, did you plan that if he hits now, you'll bowl a little far. And second, the mid-wicket was very big. You couldn't have hit a sixer there. Any spinner so that they could pull the ball this way – towards extra cover.

I think, they can only tell you what they were thinking. But yes, when the ground is big, as a batsman, you target short boundaries. If the ball is spinning nicely and someone is skidding, they probably don't want to come in the way. So that's why they don't target. And, second, the way they were stepping out. So I was thinking that, I won't put him out, but I'll put my line back. And if they go for a backhand, then I was thinking -I'll throw out. So that's the plan, generally.

Today, two spinners, you and your opponent, so was this based on the wicket call or the team, and second, does India see Pakistan as a pressure team, or just a normal team?

Yes, there is pressure. Normally we think about it but it is obvious that there is pressure. People around you or your family or friends talk to you about it. So, yes, there is a little more pressure than a normal match. As professional cricketers, we just focus on controlling our emotions. We don’t think too much about the rivalry or put extra pressure on ourselves because of it.

Yes, about the three spinners—sir, we feel that selection should be according to the pitch. And also, in such a big tournament, for a particular match, we should not make too many changes. And when you get help from the pitch, you will go for it. If your bowler gets your job done, then at such a time the batsmen are very important - So, this was the planning and we made the team combination according to that.

At what stage was the team confident that the match is in the bag? And secondly, you were more than 70 metres apart and it was very difficult to clear the fence. How difficult? And in that context, Ishan was clearing the fence. So what do you think about that?

Yes, obviously, it’s a big ground, everyone has hit a few sixes – so we don’t think that it’s a long boundary or short boundary, but yes as a batsman it will come to your mind that – this side there's a longer boundary so we won't hit that side – so its not that we target only the short boundaries – and the way he is hitting, with the spin, it’s good for us.

Winning – when the last wicket fell then we believed that we won. Because – obviously it’s not like that in cricket, even when we were playing on the 14th over we were discussing, till the 14th over that we will stay normal, calm and composed and after that when the last wicket falls then only we’ll win. That is what was being discussed till the end, till the 14th over.

Isn't it funny that the one batsmem everyone hates was the only one to turn up?

Usman Khan should be batting at 3 or 4.
Should be opening. Everyone’s got a chance but him. And he’s probably the only one who has both a higher average and sr in top order in PSL.

I admit he does look rubbish at the crease. But everyone else already has had their turn and failed. I don’t see why we shouldn’t give him a chance too.

This is what the PSL should be doing for Pakistani players.

Why is the PSL failing to uplift Pakistani players to take their games to the next level?
PSL is busy paying crores for Faheem, Azam, Babar, Shadab, Nawaz, Iftikhar, Shaheen and dross like Rizwan. IPL is a ruthless machine where it's about results. PSL is making sure your parchi friends first get a spot, then some $$$$ and then games under their belt.

Should be opening. Everyone’s got a chance but him. And he’s probably the only one who has both a higher average and sr in top order in PSL.

I admit he does look rubbish at the crease. But everyone else already has had their turn and failed. I don’t see why we shouldn’t give him a chance too.
We have too many openers or players who want to open because its much tougher in the middle where it requires skill, patience, power, proper shot selection and more importantly intelligence.
Here are the wanna be openers in Pakistan who want to.open as its much easier to flay around their willow and get a way with it ...

Saim
Farhan
Fakhar Zaman
M Haris
H Nawaz
Usman Khan
Babar
Rizwan

... I might have still missed a few.

Heartfelt commisserations to all PAK fans here.

Imran nearly at death's doors thanks to your army

Spineless Naqvi backtracking , no handshakes , no guarantees from ICC after taking back boycott.

Playing chucker on a slow pitch against India and bowling first on a tacky, spinning pitch which actually got better in the 2nd innings. Playing in SL for so long.

I wish all of y'all good vibes and peace.

"Om Mani Padme Hum"
Dude relax its just a game, dont be so dramatic.

Is it solid local brand ? I doubt ... Ur still not blooding in talented youngsters in the league backing them despite multiple failures. And without a proper domestic structure its tough finding 11 wasim akrams warners bumrah like exceptions .

MOst of these t20s leagues anywhere everywhere are dens of black money . Real player development happens in domestic structure
That's true. PSL just provides a platform for them to shine. But PSL is a solid local brand and definitely fulfills alot of objectives of a competition like this which is to have mainstream appeal with the masses, something sponsors and advertisers can cash IN on, and above all be a festival of cricket of sorts that brings out those city v city rivalries. Even if PSL fails to unearth any meaningful talent for Pakistan for the next ten years, it has already succeeded at being a strong local brand that is also a major revenue-generating avenue for the PCB.

Bharatiya fans should stop with this nonsense and putting our players under pressure.

Either don't play them or shake their hands . No need to do this garbage.
Agreed 100%. We are bringing a lot of pressure and disgrace upon ourselves with all this monkey business. Absolutely no need for this.

This loss has damaged Pakistan's NRR and brought it down below USA's NRR.

Therefore, Pakistan now must beat Namibia to go to Super Eight. Should be easy because Namibia is a weak associate.
LOL NRR means nothing. If you cant win vs Namibia (by far the weakest) you can better go home.

It's sad to see India Pak become a 1 sided rivalry. Truth is Pakistan doesn't have the talent to compete with India due to a number of things like Pakistani players not getting access to IPL, consistent lack of international tours against quality opposition, poor domestic structure etc.

I don't agree with this no handshake thing team India is doing, players should use their influence to try and reduce the gap that keeps getting wider by the year between both countries.

As a fan of the sport, that watched and enjoyed Wasim Akram bowl, Saeed Anwar bat on tv & live at the stadium, it is very sad to see Pakistan in this current state going the West Indies way.

I was hoping deep down that Pakistan would win this game in the hope that it would build more desire and passion for the game in Pakistan, yes despite the trolls that would come out chest thumping with their garbage had they won, as there is a bigger picture at stake here, oh well....

Yeah, agreed. Even during worst political crisis Wasim gets a pass as he the most liked Pakistani in India.

Wasim has that aura about him, he has that big smile and speaks well and calm, you don't feel any hostility in him. His energy is different, I bet if Wasim became the PM of Pakistan there is a great chance for good relations between the 2 countries 😇😆

As a Pakistani fan, matches like these don't really frustrate me. The last match that really frustrated me was the 2024 T20 World Cup match. After that I just decided that this match and this team isn't worth the spike in my blood pressure.

You are not used to seeing your team get beaten black and blue. For us it is like an everyday thing. Like picking up naan from the tandoor
Some of us grew up in the 80s and 90s and have deep buried memories that rise up at every India Pakistan memories...

Gulzar Saab could have been reminiscing about :jm or Aaqib Javed when he penned or was foresighted in 96 and penned this for PCT fans, you choose...

Eik chotta sa lamha Jo khatam Nahi hota
Main lakh jalata hoon, ye bhasm nahi hota

We have too many openers or players who want to open because its much tougher in the middle where it requires skill, patience, power, proper shot selection and more importantly intelligence.
Here are the wanna be openers in Pakistan who want to.open as its much easier to flay around their willow and get a way with it ...

Saim
Farhan
Fakhar Zaman
M Haris
H Nawaz
Usman Khan
Babar
Rizwan

... I might have still missed a few.
Opening is definitely easier in t20. Probably even for natural middle order batsmen even. Thats why I think he deserves a shot because the openers in the past and present haven’t done much. Why not see what he can do.

Usman actually lacks skill and technique so there’s a chance if he opens he’ll be able to perform better. And in PSL and domestic he has shown an ability to score at both high average and sr which is something most of our international cricketers can’t even do at domestic level.

But I’d only give opening chances to players who at least can score consistently in domestic. I think giving Haris was a mistake as he can’t do that or be relied on doing that.

I think we need a solid opening partnership first before worrying about middle order. If we’re already struggling to find openers, it will be harder to find middle order batsmen. A consistently performing top 3 at decent sr would be something I would settle for right now.

Pakistan has been practicing on these wickets for so long. Played against Srilanka. Then played a few more matchecs. India comes straight from flattish pitch. Lost the toss. Adapted even with a player recovering from fever.
India India hai bhai. World Champions for a reason.

As much as Wasim Akram is admired in Pakistan, he should not have hugged any indian, is he that tone deaf?!? That was a besharm thing to do. Hugs with people who want your countrymen dead or harmed.. shameful.

India got to play all their matches at Dubai in Champions Trophy 2025. Went on to win each & every match of the tournament.

Pakistan are playing all matches in Colombo in this World Cup + they also acclimatised by playing a 3 match series in Dambulla just 20 days before the World Cup. Still were trashed in the most important match.

This is the difference between the #1 white ball team & a lowly ranked team.

What makes these defeats embarrassing is that the same Pakistani players have faced Bhumrah, Pandya, Kuldeep, Chakrawarthy, Axar consistently for the past 10 years and our players still can't work them out, still can't come up with a confident game plan against these bowlers. It's madness to keep relying on the same senior players against India who have severe mental scarring

India got to play all their matches at Dubai in Champions Trophy 2025. Went on to win each & every match of the tournament.

Pakistan are playing all matches in Colombo in this World Cup + they also acclimatised by playing a 3 match series in Dambulla just 20 days before the World Cup. Still were trashed in the most important match.

Technically, while Pakistan has played their matches in Colombo, it was their first at RPS. The rest were at SSC.

If you are here to gloat or rub it in then the joke is on you. We all pretty much know how bad our team is. Most PP or even the players themselves know we can’t compete against India.

What’s the point of defeating a much worse team and then gloating on the ashes. It’s like a 6 foot tall guy beating on a 4 foot kid and then saying see I could easily beat you. Well no s*** we all know that.

India played all matches at one ground in Champions Trophy . Here, Pakistan played the first two matches at SSC. This was first match at RPS