India (175/7) dominate Pakistan (114) with a commanding 61-run victory in an anti-climactic T20 World Cup 2026 clash

Who will win this match

• Poll closed .
TBH Pakistan now need to win one game for this El Classico to survive. 4 years, 8 games and counting.

Not arrogance but saying honestly

@Bhaag Viru Bhaag @DeadlyVenom
It depends what Indian market likes.

Cricket wise it is not a big rivalry on field. It's mainly down to politics/regional rivalry now.

It's you guys who pay for it and make it happen so it depends on the taste of Indian market rather than Pak team performance.

India is going through slump in Test cricket that has more to do with poor decision-making and the team being in transition, than anything else. Once you start selecting the right players and once they start getting settled, India will become a force in Test cricket once again. Pakistan's issues are more deep-rooted and show no signs of being resolved anytime soon.
Oh intellectually I agree but losing a test not to mention a test series at home hits you in the gut. These T20 games are just fun appetizers. This is the first game I've watched in this World Cup and I can assure you even a loss here would've been a mild annoyance at best.

My main fear in this World Cup is that a victory will extend Gambhir's tenure as a Test coach.

Oh intellectually I agree but losing a test not to mention a test series at home hits you in the gut. These T20 games are just fun appetizers. This is the first game I've watched in this World Cup and I can assure you even a loss here would've been a mild annoyance at best.

My main fear in this World Cup is that a victory will extend Gambhir's tenure as a Test coach.
Win World Cup or not, Gambhir should be thrown out as a coach of test team. Let him remain a white ball coach only.

Btw, when you want Babar to play aggressively, he fails. And today you wanted to have him till the end and he failed. Bandha kidhar jaye yaar🤷‍♂️
Jaayein toh jaayein kahaan....meanwhile Babar...idhar chala main udhar chala, jaane kahaan main kidhar chala...:bhajji

India is going through slump in Test cricket that has more to do with poor decision-making and the team being in transition, than anything else. Once you start selecting the right players and once they start getting settled, India will become a force in Test cricket once again. Pakistan's issues are more deep-rooted and show no signs of being resolved anytime soon.
Pakistan at this point just has the template. Doesn't have resources to execute the template. Pakistan wins matches, tournaments when their bowling is top drawer and batting is just above average. In quest of achieving this template pakistan is loading the side up with a lot of bits and pieces players so that batsman can keep goign harder. But i don't think they are not that good adopt this template. They might as well go with 5 very good dependable specialist bowlers (icluding an allrounder) and 1 who can roll his arm over.

Ot
India is to Pakistan what Australia is to Pakistan. We turn up to the ground accepting defeat early and that already hurts a side struggling for quality. Maybe time for the ICC to tell the PCB look improve your performance against India in ICC event's or we are going to further reduce your ICC share. The next ICC shares will be based on performance and rankings. Can't think of any other way to put pressure on the PCB to drastically uplift the teams performances against the top sides including India.
It will help if the ICC had the balls to let lesser teams play more against the likes of Eng, Aus and India especially bilaterals. The familiarity will reduce surprise factor and performance will improve. IPL will also help because you're playing against the best.
Until then, its back to round robin games against the likes of S Lanka, Windies, Bangla and Zim ...

On this wicket why didn't Faheem bowl? No planning as usual. Fast bowlers have done better than spinners on this ground. Should rather have played Salman here.
Am surprised he didn't bowl.
Even more surprises to discover he has not bowled a single ov in this wc.

Reactions: IAJ
Pakistan at this point just has the template. Doesn't have resources to execute the template. Pakistan wins matches, tournaments when their bowling is top drawer and batting is just above average. In quest of achieving this template pakistan is loading the side up with a lot of bits and pieces players so that batsman can keep goign harder. But i don't think they are not that good adopt this template. They might as well go with 5 very good dependable specialist bowlers (icluding an allrounder) and 1 who can roll his arm over.

What was the last tournament they won ? Or reached semis or finals ..been an age since Wade et al spanked Damaad afridi

Pakistan captain Salman Ali Agha at the post match presentation:

Pommie Mbangwa: Yes, first up, to talk to Salman Ali Agha, captain of Pakistan. Salman, commiserations on the loss. Can you break it all down tactically for me?

Salman Ali Agha: Yeah, I think, we were believing on our spinners, and they had an off day today. The execution was missing in some parts of the game. But yeah, we were obviously are going to always believe our spinners because they have been-- they have done really well the last six months. And with the batting, I think we didn't start well, and in T20 games, if you lose like three or four wickets in power play, you're always losing a game.

Pommie Mbangwa: Having watched the three games prior to this that have been played here, with the teams batting first, managing to get a score and then defend it, and also with the teams batting second being bowled out, what was it you discussed with your troops, yourself, Hesson, and everyone, that said batting second would be the way to go?

Salman Ali Agha: I think, to be very honest, like in first inning, it was a bit tacky. It was... The ball was gripping as well. So the execution was, I think, missing when it come to bowling, but I think the pitch better played better in the second inning than the first inning. But our bowlers, like, we didn't bowl according to the situation, and when it come to batting, we didn't applied ourselves, and didn't give us chance to go deep in the game.

Pommie Mbangwa: Is there anything to be said about this being a big occasion that has you and your team kind of trying to deal with emotions as well on the day?

Salman Ali Agha: Well, in these kind of games, the emotions are always going to be high. We just need to deal with that because we have played enough cricket, and we have played enough games, games like that. So it's just we need to gather ourselves very quickly, and we have a game in two days' time, so we need to look forward for that as well.

Pommie Mbangwa: And still kind of look ahead to the rest of the tournament, because this isn't the end, is it?

Salman Ali Agha: Yeah, obviously, if you, you have to see the bigger picture. We have a game in two days' time, so we need to win that game and qualify for the Super Four, and then, then it's a new tournament, start again.

Pommie Mbangwa: Okay, well, all the best with that new start.

Salman Ali Agha: Thank you very much.

Mate if we want to win this World Cup

Someone needs to knock India out for us

Hamare bass ki baat nahi hai.

Facts.

Bhai this can easily be a repeat of 2022.

We are going to be in the group of death in Super 8s

Dear it was not right of you to support a terrorist act like that here.

I thought you were a sensible brother but this is disappointing coming from you. I hope you will realise your mistake like brother @Major also did and never repeated, a gesture we appreciate and respect.

Dear bhai jaan

cricket discussions and banter is welcome but
If your countrymen are going to join this forum just to insult pakistan then unfortunately I will have to stoop to that level as that's the only language that they understand I don't support terrorism.

Apologies to other indians like you but I have no regrets like @Major as thats the only way to deal with sanghi's... hit them where it hurts

Feel bad for Agha if he really is crying. Must be under immense pressure after that U turn by the government.

Those 4 consecutive losses to India won't help either.

Just need to write this off as a bad day and focus on the rest of the tournament.
Not gonna defend the players after yet another shambolic performance but feels like alot of unnecessary pressure is put on them where they are told that whatever you do you can't lose to India. Even in the U-19 World Cup we saw he youngsters completely disregard qualification to the semis in favor of trying to beat India. And all this does is increase the probability of them losing to India

Mate if we want to win this World Cup

Someone needs to knock India out for us

Hamare bass ki baat nahi hai.

Facts.
I am surprised you are still hopeful of this. Whether India gets knocked out or not, we are far behind the other sides.

I'm not very emotionally invested but it does feel good to win this to be honest. Virtually all of world cricket was hoping to see India lose this one.

Mostly to see India taken down a peg or two after how arrogantly we've been behaving and how dominant we've been but also to keep the India-Pakistan matches valuable.

We've cocked a snook at all of them.

Maybe this is how that Australian team felt 20 years ago.

Hardik Pandya

Clear difference in his athletic ability in comparison to ALL Pakistani fast bowlers, and he is medium pace.

Cheetah smooth run up with power and authority

Heartfelt commisserations to all PAK fans here.

Imran nearly at death's doors thanks to your army

Spineless Naqvi backtracking , no handshakes , no guarantees from ICC after taking back boycott.

Playing chucker on a slow pitch against India and bowling first on a tacky, spinning pitch which actually got better in the 2nd innings. Playing in SL for so long.

I wish all of y'all good vibes and peace.

"Om Mani Padme Hum"

Biggest defeats for Pakistan in T20 World Cups

84 runs vs WI Mirpur 2014
61 runs vs Ind Colombo RPS 2026 *
48 runs vs Eng The Oval 2009

I am surprised you are still hopeful of this. Whether India gets knocked out or not, we are far behind the other sides.
Pakistan won the 2010 World Cup because,

A) we didn’t face India

B) We didn’t face Australia in a knockout either

This is our method of winning.

What is the use of picking senior players like Shadab, Babar, Shaheen in the XI if they are going to give limp performances like this?

Win or lose is ok in sports, but these losers don't look like they have any plan in mind to help team.

Better to get in Fakhar, Salman Mirza and Nafay in. They surely cannot do worse.

Dear bhai jaan

If your countrymen are going to join this forum just to insult pakistan then unfortunately I will have to stoop to that level as that's the only language that they understand I don't support terrorism.

Apologies to other indians like you but I have no regrets like @Major as thats the only way to deal with sanghi's... hit them where it hurts

It’s all good my dear,
I know some of us can be annoying sometimes, including me.

But let’s keep our heads cool.

Cheers dear.
Good luck on 4 straight wins to make the semi finals 🙌🏻

Hardik Pandya

Clear difference in his athletic ability in comparison to ALL Pakistani fast bowlers, and he is medium pace.

Cheetah smooth run up with power and authority
He is a bit like Chris Gayle, looks lazy walking around there, but once he bowls, bats and even fields he is switched on completely.

It was not surprising to see the onesided victory for the defending champions. That is why India are the t20 world champions their side are full of match winners. (y)

India captain Suryakumar Yadav at the post match presentation:

Pommie Mbangwa: Surya, what about the victory today impresses you most?

Suryakumar Yadav: I think this is for India. But yeah, it's completely, we, we played the same brand of cricket what we wanted to play. I told you at the toss as well, I think, batting first was, a better option on this wicket, and the way Ishan batted, and he was batting in the last few games and also in the domestic circuit, he batted the same way and took the team ahead.

Pommie Mbangwa: Yeah. In coming here, there was obviously the understanding it would be different, it would be a slow pitch. Was the plan to attack in the way that, that he did?

Suryakumar Yadav: Not really. We wanted to play the same way how we were playing. I think, Ishan thought something out of the box. After zero for one, there had to be someone taking responsibility in the power play, and the way he took that responsibility, I think it was amazing. I think we were very ahead in the power play. There was a little bit of lump, in between seven to fifteen, but then that's, that's the beauty of T20 cricket, and the way, Tilak, Shivam and Rinku batted, I think it was commendable.

Pommie Mbangwa: One seventy-five you get on the board. How many above par did you guys feel that was?

Suryakumar Yadav: Um, see, it's, it's difficult to tell when we are batting first, because, you know, it never know if there might be a little bit of dew or wicket might play a little better under lights. But as soon as we reached one seventy-five, we thought it was fifteen, twenty runs above par. I think one fifty-five would have been a very tight game, but then one seventy-five was a very good score.

Pommie Mbangwa: And the ploy with how to attack them with ball, what was the discussion?

Suryakumar Yadav: No, I think we followed the same thing what we did before when we played them. Hardik took the new ball, taking charge from ball one, then Bumrah coming in, what he does the best. He, he showed the world why he's the best bowler in the world. And then Varun, Kuldeep, Axar, as a matter of the fact, Tilak as well, coming in, chipping in, I think it was, it was great to see everyone contributing.

Pommie Mbangwa: How do you keep the run going all the way back from winning the trophy back in Barbados? You continue to go on. How do you ensure that this keeps going?

Suryakumar Yadav: We'll think about that tomorrow. First, we'll go back, say, have have some good time together as a team, and then when we take the flight tomorrow, reach Ahmedabad, we'll start thinking about the next games.
Pommie Mbangwa: Well done today.

Suryakumar Yadav: Yes.

Pommie Mbangwa: Congratulations on the win.

Suryakumar Yadav: Thank you.

Out of all of this lot

The only proper athlete is Hardik Pandya.

In both countries. Beast fitness!
I dislike the guy as a person but he is really something in these big games. Finds a way to contribute - bat, ball or in the field.

You need these obnoxious personalities to make a great team.

He is a bit like Chris Gayle, looks lazy walking around there, but once he bowls, bats and even fields he is switched on completely.
Icy veins. That is his strength. Opposite of KL Rahul. There is a reason why Australia has never beaten India in an ICC tournament whenever Pandya played. Lost all 5 ICC matches. He lends that extraordinary balance.

Reactions: IAJ
It’s all good my dear,
I know some of us can be annoying sometimes, including me.

But let’s keep our heads cool.

Cheers dear.
Good luck on 4 straight wins to make the semi finals 🙌🏻

Bhai jaan you have never been annoying,
you know your limits 👍🏼

Ishan Kishan in a post match presentation | PoTM:

"I think the wicket was not that easy in the beginning, but sometimes you just have to believe what you want to play, what shots are on, and you have to just focus on your strength. So I was just keeping it simple and watching the ball and playing with the field, maybe trying to make them run as much as they can, but yeah, I think it worked pretty well on my side. I think I did work a lot on my offside game and it will give me the balls where I want them to bowl if I play good shots on offside. So I was just trying to hit the gaps because it's a big boundary and when it's a big ground you get a bigger gap. So I was just trying to keep it simple, like I said, trying to hit the gaps, trying to at least take two runs because the wicket was not easy. I had that in mind that we need to put a total like 160-170 runs and it will be a very good total for us. (Relief for the team for the rest of the tournament after winning against Pakistan?) 100 percent. India v Pakistan is always a special game not only for us but for our country as well. So we had to win this one because it was a very important game and they had pretty good spinners in their side and we were just supposed to play the good shots and yeah, winning this against Pakistan team... it will give us a lot of confidence going ahead in the tournament and we'll try to just keep the momentum going. (On the start Hardik-Bumrah gave) I think they bowled tremendously well. Pace bowlers... when I was batting and Shaheen was bowling, I didn't feel like the ball was doing much for the pace bowlers. But at the same time, looking at them (India's new ball bowlers) bowl two beautiful overs. So yeah, it was a plus point for us, especially we know how Jasprit Bumrah can bowl, whether he has new ball in his hand and whether he's bowling in the death. Credit goes to Hardik Pandya for keeping it on the tight areas, bowling what we planned before the game and executing his plans pretty well."

I don't think so. Both England and Australia look shaky. NZ struggled also against India and SA are inconsistent just like this. I still think we will make it to semis. Just get in Nafay, Fakhar and Salman Mirza.

India going to win this World Cup easily. No competition for them. Unbeatable team. Even on a off day they will sweep teams aside

Not gonna defend the players after yet another shambolic performance but feels like alot of unnecessary pressure is put on them where they are told that whatever you do you can't lose to India. Even in the U-19 World Cup we saw he youngsters completely disregard qualification to the semis in favor of trying to beat India. And all this does is increase the probability of them losing to India

Yeah, I get that feeling too. Agha looked under severe pressure today. In the post match , he admitted that conditions actually got better for batting in the 2nd innings and even tracking data suggested that (turn was significantly less in the 2nd innings)

This was a huge skills gap today but it doesn't help when these players are playing under such pressure. Execution was not good enough.

That's all very true but at the same time you can't keep approaching T20 batting like its 2009. You have to make an effort to try and come up with the times and the modern standards the game is played on. If the players you have are not capable of doing that then you find new players. If India were in a position where their main batters were putting up these kinds of shambolic performances, what would they do? They would start picking the next guys in line. What if India didn't have the talent pool they do? Well then they would probably start fast-tracking younger guys like Sooryavanshi. T20 batting is based on the element of risk. If you don't take risks as a batsman, nothing will happen.

Dear bhai jaan

Are you sure? Seems like a lie.

That's all very true but at the same time you can't keep approaching T20 batting like its 2009. You have to make an effort to try and come up with the times and the modern standards the game is played on. If the players you have are not capable of doing that then you find new players. If India were in a position where their main batters were putting up these kinds of shambolic performances, what would they do? They would start picking the next guys in line. What if India didn't have the talent pool they do? Well then they would probably start fast-tracking younger guys like Sooryavanshi. T20 batting is based on the element of risk. If you don't take risks as a batsman, nothing will happen.
But batting/bowling balance have to be there.

Shadab - all rounder,
Nawaz all roudner,
Saim - all rounder
Agha - semi all rounder,
Faheem - all rounder,
Shaheen - quarter all rounder.

I am sure shaheen is preferred for his batting skill as well. Only guys who don't bowl are Farhan, Babar and keeper. If you pick all rounders the problem is when they practice what would they practice bowling or batting?

Ishan Kishan in a post match presentation | PoTM:

"..... Pace bowlers... when I was batting and Shaheen was bowling, I didn't feel like the ball was doing much for the pace bowlers. But at the same time, looking at them (India's new ball bowlers) bowl two beautiful overs. So yeah, it was a plus point for us, especially we know how Jasprit Bumrah can bowl, whether he has new ball in his hand and whether he's bowling in the death. Credit goes to Hardik Pandya for keeping it on the tight areas, bowling what we planned before the game and executing his plans pretty well."

Did anyone else notice the post game sledge Ishan gave Shaheen?

Yeah, I get that feeling too. Agha looked under severe pressure today. In the post match , he admitted that conditions actually got better for batting in the 2nd innings and even tracking data suggested that (turn was significantly less in the 2nd innings)

This was a huge skills gap today but it doesn't help when these players are playing under such pressure. Execution was not good enough.
Yeah. Certainly did not help the team by choosing to bat first either. Absolutely baffling decision in every way.