India (253/7) hold nerve to beat England (246/7) by 7 runs, qualify for T20 World Cup 2026 Final

The 7 runs difference is misleading - game was over a fair bit before, the last 3 sixes were only significant statistically.
Lol, one more six and England could have been in Final. Game was never totally over as England bat very deep. Anyways the better team won :)

Right, T20 does not mean scores will be like ODIs.
Didn't you see 2023 wordl cup India almost made 400 in ODIs. England even plays tests like that. Just because many teams are way behind the modern era that doesn't mean you can blame pitcehs lol Wankhede has been around for decades. It is only recently teams are scoring like this.

No, match was already out of hand by then. 250 is way too much. Archer was terrible in the last 2 overs. Brook should've held on to Samson's catch.
How it was out of the hand? India and Eng both were 195 for 4/5 wickets down with exact same number of overs left. There was nothing between two sides at that stage.

Bangalis and their rona dhona every time India wins.... their team plays on dcotored pitches and complain about Indian conditions- guess the 2 off 3 balls has scarred them for life
Bangaldesh has weak players. Can't clear boundaries. So they want all pitches to be like mirpur pitches lol

Lol, one more six and England could have been in Final. Game was never totally over as England bat very deep. Anyways the better team won :)

By fair bit ago I meant the beginning of the last over when they needed 30 runs of 6 balls. At that point it was almost totally academic and would have needed a one in a million sequence if events for England to win.

That’s why I said 7 runs needed were misleading. Game was done at the end of the 19th over.

Reactions: IAJ
How it was out of the hand? India and Eng both were 195 for 4/5 wickwts down in same stage. There was nothing between two sides at that stage.

When you’re chasing and target is massive even if comparisons at any given stage is similar its still difficult task, as the chasing team has to going at the high scoring rate hence will lose wickets which hence will make it tougher, because one good over from the opponent its game over.

Dew + Ultra Flat Pitch + smaller grounds. What is the point of having bowlers in T20s then? Might as well rack up with 11 batsmen/all-rounders.

Why do you put a dampener when we've just won a game. Is Modiji on some foreign tour. Please :uak
thatha-dance.gif

A stunning century from Jacob Bethell was not enough as India edged past England by seven runs to secure a place in the T20 World Cup final after a high-scoring thriller in Mumbai.

Chasing a daunting target of 254 – the highest ever in the tournament – England were put under immense pressure after India dominated at the Wankhede Stadium. Bethell, however, produced a remarkable innings of 105 off just 48 balls to keep England’s hopes alive and threaten one of their greatest white-ball victories.

The 22-year-old rising star steadied the innings after England slipped to 63-3 and later 95-4. He struck boundaries off the final two deliveries of the 17th over, leaving England needing 45 runs from the last three overs.

The Wankhede crowd, which had been celebrating earlier after Sanju Samson’s explosive 89 from 42 balls, grew increasingly tense as England pushed hard in the chase. But experienced pacer Jasprit Bumrah held his nerve, conceding only six runs in the following over to shift momentum back in India’s favour.

Sam Curran was dismissed for 18 in the 19th over, with Hardik Pandya keeping his composure at a crucial moment. Bethell was then left with too much to do alongside Jamie Overton, needing 30 from the final over.

In an attempt to retain the strike, Bethell was run out, effectively ending England’s hopes. Despite three late sixes from Jofra Archer, England finished on 246-7.

India were also lifted by two outstanding catches from Axar Patel—first removing Harry Brook and later completing a relay effort to dismiss Will Jacks. England will especially regret a key missed chance earlier in the innings when Brook dropped Samson on 15 in the third over, a mistake India capitalised on by posting their highest-ever T20 total against England.

The victory sends co-hosts India into Sunday’s final in Ahmedabad, where they will face New Zealand.

England, meanwhile, will not play again until their first Test of the summer against New Zealand in June, but Bethell’s brilliant knock ensures they leave the tournament with some pride despite the defeat.

When you’re chasing and target is massive even if comparisons at any given stage is similar its still difficult task, as the chasing team has to going at the high scoring rate hence will lose wickets which hence will make it tougher, because one good over from the opponent its game over.
Not always the case.

It's not at stage like 150 runs left, it was 50 odd runs left and Eng was right there in the game.

Off course you can lose wickets while chasing and won't get it, but setting total can do the same and then they don't know what total to target. Some time while setting the target teams go extra hard and lose wickets. Taken together, chasing high asking rate is surely harder in semis, but here Eng was right there in the game due to only 50 odd runs left with all bowlers going for 12-13 runs per over from both sides. Asking rate was in the same range. Bumrah derailed it and Pandya over killed it.

Hate harders chuckthars ke deshwasio .

Ur own wasim waqar rate Bumrah better than them

U think ur even equal to a single hair of wasim wqar ...blinded by hate u people

Depsite being Indian I like wasim waqt but u people r blind haters

Nobody anywhere anytime ever said Bumrah was Wasim’s level

If u followed cricket as closely as much as u hate us would u read hear what the Big Ws say about Bumrah.

Both admire him , and rate him higher than themselves when they were his age.

Its actually sad we Indians follow ur greats better than u guys could ever do.

The ATG Australia team won a tied semi final against South Africa in 99 world cup. England team won a tied final in world cup.

Good teams don't always dominate but they do find a way to win in the end.

Good for thought for us Pakistanis.

On a batting shoot out, India and England went toe to toe to smash 250 runs each in a tournament semi final.

Some of us were happy seeing Farhan and Sahebzada put on 175+ when it was in the context of modern day cricket a par performance.

The freaks of today can smash these kind of 250/260/270sh totals. If we want to win a T20 tournament and keep ourselves relevant in this format; we hae to take our game to this level.

At the moment it seems like Pakistan cricket is a decade behind major T20 nations.

Not always the case.

It's not at stage like 150 runs left, it was 50 odd runs left and Eng was right there in the game.

Off course you can lose wickets while chasing and won't get it, but setting total can do the same and then they don't know what total to target. Some time while setting the target teams go extra hard and lose wickets. Taken together, chasing high asking rate is surely harder in semis, but here Eng was right there in the game due to only 50 odd runs left with all bowlers going for 12-13 runs per over from both sides. Asking rate was in the same range. Bumrah derailed it and Pandya over killed it.
If I were to bet, I would say most teams would defend those 50 runs 8 out of 10 times. Archer was terrible in his last over.

I would bench Abhishek Sharma in final game. Open with Samson + Kishan.

I would bench him permanently and send him back to Ranji.

But it's too late to introduce a rank new batter.
Maybe . Get jaiswal / suryavanshi out of the and let them take the match away. Baah...wishful thinking.

Even if u open with samson kishan u need someone solid to come at 3 or 4.

Surya hardik have really laid eggs this tourney bs big sides. Except for pandya today

Need to change the culture at the grassroots. Need to introduce foreign coaches at the U19 level, domestic teams, Shaheens and Academies and give them 5-10 year targets to produce good talent with a modern, professional orientation to the game.

tbh India lost mentally. Sometimes internal wins and losses matter more than the external result. This was a psychological defeat given by England.

What’s the point of winning games if you are not at peace with yourself?
Yes everyone is in mourning outside the Wankhede as I type this.

Then such stadium and pitch should not exist. What is the point of such pitches? Cricket is already batsmen game. A while ago I remember seeing Baseball vs Cricket analysis. They argued that Baseball is much much harder to hit. I thought they were heavily bias, but not thinking back, I think they were right overall.
Bro, topics like these are above your paygrade and intellect. Please stick to below poverty leagues. Only elites can score 250 in t20 irrespective of the pitch, while lesser men like you can only burn and moan. :yk3

tbh India lost mentally. Sometimes internal wins and losses matter more than the external result. This was a psychological defeat given by England.

I think you're discounting the fact that international cricket relies a lot on being shameless.

Just like May 2025 ... No wonder you guy's celebrates faje victory :klopp :kp

TBH the way Bethel played, it was very scary..But Bumrah and Hardik bowled two exceptional penultimate overs to give India the cushion. Dubes first two balls are equal to gold which sealed the fate..India needs to fix their bowlers..with out of form Varun, spin looks so weak..we will need Kuldeep. Also, its risky, but we may have to bring Washington instead of Abhishek Sharma in the final..

No you can't. Your players are physically weak except for Farhan. Plus they lack heart as well and the less said about bowling the better, I'd take Dubey over SSA any day.

34 sixes and 999 runs scored in 40 overs today!

Tough luck England! did not deserve to lose after such a wonderful batting reply. One side had to lose..

Both sets of bowlers getting big pheinti esp. Archer and Varun

If I were to bet, I would say most teams would defend those 50 runs 8 out of 10 times. Archer was terrible in his last over.
I won't be sure about defedning 12-13 runs per over with two set batsmen already scoring that with only 4-5 overs to go. On most pitches, yes. Not sure about here. It looks pretty easy to bat there entire 40 overs with short boundaries. Lots of team get that kind of runs in the last 4-5 overs.

In normal case, yes, it will be hard. Not sure about here because no one looked like stopping the runs in both innings. Anyway, it was a brillinat knock by young one. It would been great to see him on winning side.

Need to change the culture at the grassroots. Need to introduce foreign coaches at the U19 level, domestic teams, Shaheens and Academies and give them 5-10 year targets to produce good talent with a modern, professional orientation to the game.

Bethel isn’t even a big dude. These guys are all small but almost robotic at hitting sixes nowadays

In our country’s hitting a six is still considered an achievement; they just non chalantly smash 3-4 in an over without blinking an eye

You barely just made it dear thanks to Bumrah. This is by far the most shameful bowling performance ever. Indiana been thoroughly exposed. Namibia would have bowled better

Your brothers are falling for your trolling LoL...I can't even call it epic trolling...they are so easy!

England cricket are well known for Moral victories ..so have to give it to them ..no matter the result, moral victory is always theirs

Jo log khud andar se harey huey hote hain

.unhe dusron ki jeet mei bhi haar dikhti hai...

Ilaaj karwale ...

Khud semis tak nahi pahunchey aur finalist team pe gyaan pelna.

Ur team was dismantled by the same England team , u guys couldn't get across Will Jacks etc .

Apne girebaan mei jhaank lo pehle ...dusro ke ghar pe pathar marne se pehle

Bethel isn’t even a big dude. These guys are all small but almost robotic at hitting sixes nowadays

In our country’s hitting a six is still considered an achievement; they just non chalantly smash 3-4 in an over without blinking an eye

Ye have to be big mentality se kab nikloge tum log ? Many mega hitters be it Sachin , Hanif mohammad , Warner , Sehwag who who hold most records weren't taller than 5' 5 , not were they overly muscled . Maybe warner and sachin were decently built .

Bethell is still powerfully built for the physique he has.

It's lean physiques which break down less and go longer in sports

I wish we could hae a copy of the personal WhatsApp chats of Indians with their cricket besties for this game 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 instances of them shtting in the pant for like majority of the England innings right u til Chucker Bumrah turned the match in their favour. 🤣🤣🤣
On the contrary, how about the chats of the Pak fans? 'Aray yaar ye Bumrah saara kaam kharaab kar deta hai...' wagaira.

India is too strong for New Zealand to be honest, specially on these grounds

NZ have absolutely smashed us in ODIS and tests..while we havent been as dominant over them in t20s though we have beaten them in t20s enuff.

The bloody stadium NMS has a horrible sticky wicket not suited for t20s.

Let's see how it goes.

What?

Today I learned that Germany probably won World War 2, and Pakistan’s record against India in WCs gives PCT great inner peace.

Jo log khud andar se harey huey hote hain

.unhe dusron ki jeet mei bhi haar dikhti hai...

Ilaaj karwale ...

Khud semis tak nahi pahunchey aur finalist team pe gyaan pelna.

Ur team was dismantled by the same England team , u guys couldn't get across Will Jacks etc .

Apne girebaan mei jhaank lo pehle ...dusro ke ghar pe pathar marne se pehle
Not sure what you mean by your team. I am a neutral fan and a fan of cricket. I don’t have a team.

You are projecting. Need to find inner peace.

Appreciate your insight maulana :misbah:misbah

Americans seeing India vs England trending on Twitter might think a new war has started 🤣🤣

PS - #INDVsENG is treading in USA in top 3 trends

:klopp :kp

Absolutely NOT. I called him a hack BEFORE AMIR BABA. He must play in this and the next WC!
You are not really credible ... remember how you were moaning on IND-USA game thread that USA Cricket should check bank balances of their players once you realized IND is winning . Cricket is really not for sore people , you must focus on freeing Imran & Pakistan .

You get triggered too easily. Check your blood pressure.

India is too strong for New Zealand to be honest, specially on these grounds
IND had great form in the NZ bilateral series but things are falling apart - Sharma flopped , Varun lost form after couple of ganes , v heavy dependance on the superlative Boom ... at the manhoos Namoona stadium , I fancy Kiwi's now .

Indian cricket fans are requested to wind up their celebrations quickly and return to monitoring the situation in the Middle East. :klopp :kp