"India far better side than Pakistan in Test cricket" : Saurav Ganguly

Someone ask him what was the scoreline last time India visited England.

Ghar mein khel ke khud ko sher samaj bethay hain, bahir nikaltay hi asliyat samne ajati hai.

Ofcourse he can't say Pakistan is better. He is an indian and Bengal cricket chief.
Though he never stated why. Beating England in 2 tests in England is no joke. India has never achieved that, i.e. beating England in 2 tests of a series in England. Pakistan has done that twice before this.

Then play against Pakistan wherever you like!!! You will get the answer!!!

"Yeh kaun si surgical strike thi, yeh tou homeopathic be nahi"

Not my words, but hilarious and applies to every walk of life.

"Far better".

This gave me heart attack in my brain.

Honestly. Always thought Dada was a decent, intelligent man but he seems messed up in the head after this little tidbit.

Pakistan have better batsmen, better bowlers and a better captain than India does. The fielding of both teams is probably on equal footing at as well. Pakistan just won two tests in England and would have won another if not for a single, poor day. If anything, Pakistan is far better than India in test cricket.

Pakistan is better IMHO.Only way to find out is a bilateral series but India doesn't want to play us.So be it.

very true
Nehra is far better than wasim akram
Ashok Dinda is far better than Waqar Younus
Stuart Binny is far better than Imran Khan
Murli Kartik is far better than Saqlain Mushtaq

Reporters shld keep breathalyser with them when they talk to players like these (ganguly)

Well, this is the first time I've heard Ganguly talk absolute trash! Not sure if he's just trying to troll, but for a "far better test side", it sure was absolutely ABYSMAL the last time it went to England.

Of course, he is able to talk trash when his board is running scared and unwilling to play Pakistan in test matches. Keep on barking!

Whenever i see ganguly's name, memories of him ducking and looking here and there like a deaf person come into my mind. He was a total embarrassment as a cricketer in his last times. Probably the trauma of Pakistani bowling kicks backs in here and there.

No need to take it to heart my fellow Pakistani fans . . I know it hurts when someone from another country says such things . . we performed well in England . . in fact better than any team has in a 3 match series or more for a long long time . . If we manage to do well in New Zealand and Australia . . I am sure no one would be able to argue against that . . let the performances on the field do the talking . . However, if we don't do well there and continue to do well at home . . well then I guess we are just like all other nations in the world . . including India . . I am not sure what Saurav means when he says " Pakistan is not the yardstick" . . Please rekindle my memory when India won in England, South Africa or Australia . . or even New Zealand . .
For me . . there is NO number 1 . . South Africa was number 1 up until early last year cuz they performed everywhere . . right now . . everyones winning at home and losing away . . which is why put into perspective, Pakistans performance in England was great . . Like I said . .if only Pakistan can perform well in NZ and Aus (inshaAllah), don't think that will leave room for anyone to talk . .

On another note . . ICC should really look into points for home and away games . . all teams are great at home these days . . surely, teams that do better abroad should get more points . . I mean even in football, away goals count!!

At the end of the day he's an indian and they are delusional and think Mera bharat mahaan regardless.

The country which has won 1/25 tests in England Australia South Africa and NZ since 2009 is definitely deserving of the number 1 ranking. They truly deserve it.

I miss the good old days when he would do kathak on the pitch against Shoaib and wasim.

Can't criticize him coz like our ex-cricketers he too has to just come up with things like these to keep his employers happy

Dada, what was the scoreline when your rock stars toured England the last two times ?

No. India has fallen behind from Pakistan a lot since Pakistan won 2 test matches in England. India is only good at home and they are one dimensional test team.

Pointless conjecture, until India play Pakistan Ganguly's opinion here is unverifiable and totally worthless.

And if Misbah's Pakistan should ever get the opportunity to play Virat's India I'm sure we'll get a closely contested series befitting a #1 v #2 clash; not the walkover Ganguly evidently believes will happen.

Honestly. Always thought Dada was a decent, intelligent man but he seems messed up in the head after this little tidbit.

Pakistan have better batsmen, better bowlers and a better captain than India does. The fielding of both teams is probably on equal footing at as well. Pakistan just won two tests in England and would have won another if not for a single, poor day. If anything, Pakistan is far better than India in test cricket.
No I think India's fielding is better than Pakistan. Agree that Pakistan has better batsmen, bowlers and captain than India.

I don't think the whole context behind his words are put to light.
He made some similar comments on a news channel but what he truly meant was neither India nor Pakistan nor anybody really deserves the no. 1 position like the Aussies of yesteryears. All he said was these days most of the teams are good at home and are shown up away.

haha yaa and in current situation if he says that pak is better than india.
then ghar ka insurance ready rakna padega.

Current situation or no, telling the truth is an important value in Indian culture and it saddens me to see that violated to score some political points. Ganguly should not have to lie, he should honestly speak his mind. I can't believe that he truly thinks India are a much better side than Pakistan. Slightly better maybe, but not much. An international cricketer would know it.

Bowling: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...n;team=6;team=7;template=results;type=bowling

This is despite India mostly playing overseas tests since 2014. In terms of batting, Pakistan is ahead but since they've only had 1 overseas tour so far, the statistics wouldn't be scaled properly.

No I think India's fielding is better than Pakistan. Agree that Pakistan has better batsmen, bowlers and captain than India.

Yes, they drop fewer catches. Fielding is the only discipline that can be compared without the two sides actually playing each other and I think India have the edge in catching and ground fielding.

He mainly just pointed out that if India manages to procure wins on some tough pitches like the one in Kolkata which was really not like a typical sc wicket then it will hold India in a good stead come the away games. He was mainly comparing this gen to the Aus team of his time which IMO is not correct coz it was an ATG.

Also Pak test team is likely to suffer huge setbacks once misbah and yk retire. Yours is a team which IMO has reached the tip of the bell curve and most likely would have to rebuild in the coming years. And as to how steep will be that fall or not will depend on your young batsmen.

Yes, they drop fewer catches. Fielding is the only discipline that can be compared without the two sides actually playing each other and I think India have the edge in catching and ground fielding.

Not really. Only Hafeez sucks at fielding in our team and he has been dropped. India's ground fielding might be better than Pakistan's, but our catching is definitely better.

He mainly just pointed out that if India manages to procure wins on some tough pitches like the one in Kolkata which was really not like a typical sc wicket then it will hold India in a good stead come the away games. He was mainly comparing this gen to the Aus team of his time which IMO is not correct coz it was an ATG.

Bowling: http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...n;team=6;team=7;template=results;type=bowling

This is despite India mostly playing overseas tests since 2014. In terms of batting, Pakistan is ahead but since they've only had 1 overseas tour so far, the statistics wouldn't be scaled properly.

I agree the real challenge for Pakistan will be once to actually manage to secure some overseas series victories. Until that is done Pakistan is also similar to the clutter at the top of the test ranking table.

Can't blame him for such comments ... The temporary home bashing by the Indian test team is getting to their heads. They play at home for a prolonged period of time so we can expect such comments till the end of the year.

Not really. Only Hafeez sucks at fielding in our team and he has been dropped. India's ground fielding might be better than Pakistan's, but our catching is definitely better.

By catching, I hope you are meaning slip catching which is obviously better coz u still have misbah and yk manning them. But that again it is not by much. But then again u guys will feel the drop in standard on that front as well once these greats retire like we felt.

Hopefully we will be able to recover as well as you guys did. :kohli

Also Pak test team is likely to suffer huge setbacks once misbah and yk retire. Yours is a team which IMO has reached the tip of the bell curve and most likely would have to rebuild in the coming years. And as to how steep will be that fall or not will depend on your young batsmen.

No. We already have replacements for Misbah and Younis. Look at stats of Fawad Alam, Babar Azam, Haris Sohal, Saud Shakeel.

Stats as in?You think Indian batsmen didn't have FC stats for backup but the gap left when Dravid,Sachin,Laxman,Sehwag faded was very hard to fill. Would be same for Misbah,Younis because they also have the temparment which youngsters rarely do.

Pakistan will always remain a top test line up. Sami Aslam, Babar, Shafiq.etc all are solid batsmen. You need composure and solidity in Tests

You are highly delusional if you think that your team won't have the troughs. It is a cycle. No team can constantly enjoy the crests and after a certain time the troughs will follow. Just see some of the top teams and you shall agree.

Also it is good if you have good upcoming batsmen but still takes time for them to mature.

The sides are pretty much equal, with PK having the edge in the bowling and Ind having the more talented but less patient batting. I love to see them play but I don't think there will ever be a test match between the two sides again.

You are highly delusional if you think that your team won't have the troughs. It is a cycle. No team can constantly enjoy the crests and after a certain time the troughs will follow. Just see some of the top teams and you shall agree.

Also it is good if you have good upcoming batsmen but still takes time for them to mature.

Babar is all set to be induced. Sami Aslam is already our test opener so not sure what you are up to. Shafiq and Azhar have played for 6 years under Misbah now. They are not upcoming guys. They've already been on the scene. It will be a joke to say that our Test Team is totally reliant on Misbah and YK. You see Sarfraz coming down at #7 and look at his SR for Test Matches and what huge impact that made, We started winning tests rather than having draws. Shafiq has made huge amount of runs all by playing at #6.

Well, we are no. 1 now and Pakistan is number two. So, yes we are better than Pakistan but Far better is bit of a stretch.

As long as younis khan and misbah are in the team Pakistan will have a upper hand. Both of them have a habbit of batting for sessions. Indian batsman of this generation lack this quality.

Well, we are no. 1 now and Pakistan is number two. So, yes we are better than Pakistan but Far better is bit of a stretch.

Yeah? A day ago you were #2 and we were #1 so overnight you have become better? :usman

Ganguly, Bhogle, all are doing surgical strikes these days.

Considering these were some of the more pragmatic indian experts.

This is what jingoism does to you.

Babar is all set to be induced. Sami Aslam is already our test opener so not sure what you are up to. Shafiq and Azhar have played for 6 years under Misbah now. They are not upcoming guys. They've already been on the scene. It will be a joke to say that our Test Team is totally reliant on Misbah and YK. You see Sarfraz coming down at #7 and look at his SR for Test Matches and what huge impact that made, We started winning tests rather than having draws. Shafiq has made huge amount of runs all by playing at #6.

And you are basing this on a few good performances in England?? Don't tell me you are even considering UAE. Come back to me once these guys have completed their tours to Aus, Nz and WI.

If Ganguly had said that India were on par with Pakistan or even slightly better in Indian conditions where the pitch breaks up quickly then I think most would not have had a problem with that position.

However its ridiculous to suggest they are "far better side", on what basis ??
Only Indian fans will buy it, that too the most blind nationalistic ones.

I am actually disappointed with him because I thought he was a bit more rational in his views, but clearly he too has been taken away from these surgical strike drama in the last few days so needs to show his macho chest that are India are much better at everything.

As long as younis khan and misbah are in the team Pakistan will have a upper hand. Both of them have a habbit of batting for sessions. Indian batsman of this generation lack this quality.

Totally with you on that. Will be interesting to see how they match up w/o these 2 stalwarts.

Far better? Both are around the same. If one team reaches to 120+ Rating points and other is hovering much lower then saying far better is justified.

Just wanted to put your stats in perspective . .

You mention "despite India playing overseas tests since 2014" . . I don't think that has had any bearing on the statistics . . cuz most of Ashwin, Jadeja, Mishra's wickets have come in the subcontinent . . and recently WI in similar conditions . .
Ashwin's average in Australia since 2014 is 49 and in England its 34 . . 15% of Ashwins wickets in this time period are in Aus and Eng while he has played 26% of his matches in these countries . . but again . . his home average is a staggering 15
Similarly, Jadeja's average in England is 47 and in New Zealand is 86 . . Home average is a ridiculous 14 but away average is 49

So their wickets have mostly come in India and a vast majority in India, SL, Bang and WI . .

Yasir Shah evens out with Ashwin on records . . But Indias second and third spinners (Jadeja and Mishra) have out performed Pakistans 2nd and 3rd spinners by a long long way in home conditions and hence the gulf . .

The last few times the Indians have played Pakistan (yes, in LOIs and not Tests) they have handled the Pakistani bowlers quite easily (other than Amir). Also the Indian batting line-up is just super, with an unbelievable depth. Even if you get India down to 106/6, the last 4 wickets still bounce back to take the total to 263 and crush the opposition. Compare this with a team that India bowled out for 83 (yes, again in an LOI). Dada is quite right is his assessment.

I didn't get a single thing from your post. What are you even trying to say? I mean how can you bring up the LOI stats to prove your team better in Tests. Absurd, comepletely illogical.

Slightly unfair to compare LOI performance with tests don't you think? We all know that pakistans LOI team has been very weak.. and hence has been languishing at number 9 in ODIs and 7 in t20 .. but to compare that with tests where it's the only team not to have lost a series in the last 2 years I believe.. and to support gangulys statement which is on the test teams (not on the LOI team) doesn't make sense

I didn't get a single thing from your post. What are you even trying to say? I mean how can you bring up the LOI stats to prove your team better in Tests. Absurd, comepletely illogical.

It is completely logical. If a comparison is being made, then in the absence of Tests being played, the best we can do is either to compare how we have done against others (the rankings) or compare how we have done when we have played in other formats. On both counts India is superior.

Slightly unfair to compare LOI performance with tests don't you think? We all know that pakistans LOI team has been very weak.. and hence has been languishing at number 9 in ODIs and 7 in t20 .. but to compare that with tests where it's the only team not to have lost a series in the last 2 years I believe.. and to support gangulys statement which is on the test teams (not on the LOI team) doesn't make sense

It is unfair, but life isn't fair :(

Anyway, if the Pakistani batting succumbs to Indian bowling consistently in LOIs, and if Yasir gets hammered, takes no wickets and his captain doesn't have the confidence for him to complete his quota (8-0-40-0), then one would expect that changing the format would not make a great difference.

Why don't we just play to get the real answer:inti

But seriously what is he thinking??I think a match would be pretty competitive but yo say they are far better is just brainless..:facepalm:

It is unfair, but life isn't fair :(

Anyway, if the Pakistani batting succumbs to Indian bowling consistently in LOIs, and if Yasir gets hammered, takes no wickets and his captain doesn't have the confidence for him to complete his quota (8-0-40-0), then one would expect that changing the format would not make a great difference.

What are you:))

Everyone and their dog knows that Yasir is a crappy ODI player. The last time our LOI team faltered to your bowling it was a whole different team. Putting that aside, the target was 300, pressure. Secondly our test team has demolished pretty much any spinner weather it's in UAE or wherever we tour.

Lol, some wins against NZ and some peoples egos out of the roof:facepalm:

Why don't we just play to get the real answer:inti

But seriously what is he thinking??I think a match would be pretty competitive but yo say they are far better is just brainless..:facepalm:

You are right, a match would be competitive. I specially fear YK and Misbah in Tests. It would be competitive with a slight edge to India I think.

Well conditions will have bearing on the results. Pak will win in uae and ind in ind.
I think pak will prevail in neutral conditions.
Yk, misbah, shafiq and ali are well established and aamir, wahab, rahat/sohail and yasir make a formidable bowling attack. And not to forget that pak has the best wk/batsman in the format

What are you:))

Everyone and their dog knows that Yasir is a crappy ODI player.

The captain should whisper in his ear "this is a test, a test, test....."

The last time our LOI team faltered to your bowling it was a whole different team. Putting that aside, the target was 300, pressure.

After that game, they were also 83 all out against India in an LOI.

Secondly our test team has demolished pretty much any spinner weather it's in UAE or wherever we tour.

You haven't faced any spinners of the quality of Ashwin and Jadeja.

Lol, some wins against NZ and some peoples egos out of the roof:facepalm:

A lot less ego compared to what was on view on being handed the #1 ranking due to rained out matches :)

Actually India isn't safe yet.

If NZ win the final game and we sweep WI 3-0, we go to #1 again. But, yeah low chance of the former happening.

England test team is not a legendary one. They couldn't even win a series in WI last year. They do have good players and perform well at home like all countries now a days. Including India there is no clear no 1 in test cricket now. Even IMO India > Pakistan in test format slightly but not by a big margin as stated by Misbah.

Reason why I rate India slightly ahead of Pak in test ATM is because of our core team which are all of same age (relatively young) and play as a group. Spin or seam our bowlers are taking wickets 90% of the time in all matches so far under Virat.

The captain should whisper in his ear "this is a test, a test, test....."

???

After that game, they were also 83 all out against India in an LOI.

Forgot about that, but still, whole different team in test compared to T20..:facepalm:

You haven't faced any spinners of the quality of Ashwin and Jadeja.

Agree for the most part but what about Herath. I'm pretty sure we'd kill Jadeja at least, he's decent at best. Ashwin is a threat but I fear we are too good for him.

A lot less ego compared to what was on view on being handed the #1 ranking due to rained out matches :)[

Drew with England in England, haven't lost a test series in the past 2 years.

Let me reming you, Ind vs NZ in India, India destroy, but what happened when you went to their home??;)

Actually India isn't safe yet.

If NZ win the final game and we sweep WI 3-0, we go to #1 again. But, yeah low chance of the former happening.

No chance of that happening, their batting against spin has been below average & ashwin jadeja have been very smart in exploiting their weaknesses whenever there was chance of fightback.

England test team is not a legendary one. They couldn't even win a series in WI last year. They do have good players and perform well at home like all countries now a days. Including India there is no clear no 1 in test cricket now. Even IMO India > Pakistan in test format slightly but not by a big margin as stated by Misbah.

Reason why I rate India slightly ahead of Pak in test ATM is because of our core team which are all of same age (relatively young) and play as a group. Spin or seam our bowlers are taking wickets 90% of the time in all matches so far under Virat.

And thats one of the reason why Pak test team is better as they have the experience of Younis and Misbah.It may be the case that in the long run indian team will do better as they are all young, but atm, Pak team with its experienced batting lineup have an edge over india.

India is # 1 at home wickets, no so much the moment they step out of their country.

The point was that if playing in a Test makes Yasir a better bowler then he should simply bowl as if he is bowling in a Test and not an ODI. Can't do worse than 8-0-60-0.

In Tests compared to ODIs the average runs scored by batsmen increase whereas their strike rate goes down. So Yasir is supposed to get at least a few wickets in an ODI while conceding 60 runs if he is really a threat as a bowler.

I was referring to Ganguly.

Posters..yeah that is expected. Desi fans are biased.

Definition of "jingoism": extreme patriotism, especially in the form of aggressive or warlike foreign policy.

I don't think Ganguly's remark rises to that level.

"I don't think Pakistan are India's yardstick at the moment. India are a far better side than Pakistan in Test cricket. So I don't think it could be a comparison. I was surprised to see Pakistan becoming No.1 after their 2-2 series against England" - Former Indian Test captain, Saurav Ganguly

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/...-zealand-test-rankings-pakistan/1/779405.html

Ganguly is a pretty balanced commentator, but I think Ganguly is saying this since coz his media's general hatred towards Pakistan these days, Ganguly was full of praise for Pakistan cricket, but lately like all of India, they are going through post-surgical trauma :))

India's performance against us suggests it's the other way around.

Pakistan will be more dominant against us in NZ.

Definition of "jingoism": extreme patriotism, especially in the form of aggressive or warlike foreign policy.

I don't think Ganguly's remark rises to that level.

Maybe, but he's certainly delusional. Most neutral will say Pak have an edge over India in tests, some will say that its other way around, but to say that one team is far better than the other in tests is plain stupid.

Ganguly is a pretty balanced commentator, but I think Ganguly is saying this since coz his media's general hatred towards Pakistan these days, Ganguly was full of praise for Pakistan cricket, but lately like all of India, they are going through post-surgical trauma :))

If thats the case, then its better to say that "i won't comment on Pak"

India's performance against us suggests it's the other way around.

Pakistan will be more dominant against us in NZ.

Pakistan's performance in Aus and NZ will answer a lot of questions.