India loses 16 strategic satellites in space as ISRO’s 260-tonne PSLV rocket fails again

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
A sad day for Bharatiyas all over the world. Today is a day or mourning and introspection.

In an unprecedented occurrence, India's workhorse spacefaring rocket PSLV has faced repeat failures - PSLV-C61 on 18th May 2025 and PSLV C-62 on 12thJanuary 2026. On both instances, ISRO lost million-dollar satellites meant to serve national security purposes. As ISRO's workhorse rocket, PSLV has flown 64 times in 33 years, of which it has faced four major failures including the latest. Notably, the 2025 failure and the latest one have been mid-flight failures linked to the third stage of the four-stage spacefaring rocket.

Delivering a televised statement from the spaceport on Monday, (12th Jan), ISRO Chief, Dr. V. Narayanan said, "We attempted PSLV-C62 mission. PSLV is a four-stage rocket. The vehicle performance up to almost the end of the third stage was as expected. By the end of third stage, we observed a disturbance in the vehicle, and a deviation was observed in the flight path. We are analyzing the data, we will come back at the earliest."
After the May 2025 launch failure, the ISRO Chief had said, "Up to the second stage, performance was normal. Third stage ignited, but we made an observation regarding its functioning. Mission could not be accomplished. We are studying the data," said ISRO Chief Dr V. Narayanan. "The third stage of the PSLV uses a solid-fuel motor system. There was a fall in the chamber pressure in the motor case. We are studying the entire performance," the ISRO Chief had added back then.

PSLV-C62 was meant to be a comeback flight after May 2025 setback

Monday's PSLV-C62 flight marked PSLV's return to flight after a rare setback during the previous launch in May 2025, and this is also ISRO's first launch of 2026. In simple terms, the PSLV workhorse rocket was grounded after the May failure last year. On May 17th 2025, the PSLV rocket suffered a mid-flight failure. The PSLV's third stage malfunction led to the loss of the rocket and the EOS-09 radar imaging satellite, a critical asset meant to enhance India's day and night, all-weather space-based surveillance.
The primary satellite of this PSLV-C62 mission was the 'EOS-N1' or 'Anvesha', an Earth Observation satellite built by India's Defence Research Development Organization(DRDO). This satellite was to be placed 511kms above the Earth. 'EOS-N1' is a Hyperspectral imaging satellite, which means it can see much more than the human eye or a conventional optical-imaging satellite. As the surface of the Earth gets illuminated by sunlight, different materials(soil, water, metal, vegetation, concrete structure) reflect light, across various wavelengths. A hyperspectral sensor can capture these reflections, classify them and help identify what material it is made of.

This technology has immense civilian and strategic applications, as it can scan the Earth based on unique light signatures emitted by materials. In simple terms, it can identify different materials based on their unique reflection fingerprint(spectral signature). Water quality, soil composition, crop health, are among the environmental aspects that can be studied using this technology. Military targets under camouflage can also be detected.
In addition to 'EOS-N1', there were be 15 co-passenger satellites aboard the PSLV-C62. Seven satellites are from India, while two of them are from Europe, five of them are from Brazil, and one from Nepal. Many of these satellites are from academia or startups, and are meant to demonstrate unique experiments in space.

PSLV-C61 Failure Analysis Committee report yet to be made public

As a taxpayer-funded civilian space agency founded with the ideals of serving the people of India, ISRO has had the practice of making public the Failure Analysis Committee(FAC) reports. These FAC reports are typically readied by in-house experts within a few months of a mission failure.
However, the FAC report related to the May 2025 PSLV-C61 failure has not been publicly released so far. Likewise, the FAC report pertaining to the failure of the NVS-02 strategic satellite in January 2025 remains unreleased to the public. This is widely seen as a departure from the "ISRO culture". However, both these FAC reports are learnt to have been tabled before the Government of India.
Given ISRO's role in launching foreign satellites belonging to governments and private firms, FAC reports being made public are crucial for maintaining transparency and re-establishing confidence. It must be emphasized that the PSLV-C61 and PSLV-C62 have failed due to a malfunction in the third-stage, raising questions about quality control and reliability.

Anything we put in the air is a flopshow.

The again, nothing on the ground of ours is too flash either.

Today's unfortunate event has cost us nearly $100-150 million dollars.

Today is a day of defeat. A sad day in the annals of history for Sanatani interplanetary ambitions.

Meh no big deal, failure is the stepping stone to success..

ISRO is one of the best space agency's in the world, they will get it right. India sent a satellite to Mars and had a rover land on the moon for crying out loud...

It's not about dancing on failures.
It's about India being always mediocre in air.
Yea like launching moon missions etc. we will learn from Pakistani astronauts and space programs in the future 👍, send us the photoshops or your approach.

By the way this thread is subtle trolling that we have a space program, you got all excited for no reason lmao.

Nothing to gloat about.
Effort counts. It’s not a failure (as long as no loss of human lives), more a learning opportunity.

To use a well known legend (not historical fact), the story of Robert the Bruce and the spider tells how a defeated and discouraged Bruce watched a spider fail six times to spin a web and succeed on the seventh. Inspired by this persistence, he is said to have regained his courage and continued fighting for Scotland’s independence. The story survives because of its powerful message, keep trying even after repeated failure and never give up.

Thanks for the encouraging message Patriot bhai. I hope ISRO is listening to you.

Doesnt matter if they lose 30 more times.

Space technology is complicated and it takes multiple failures to get one right in the air, once you figure that out, than there is no looking back.

Any Indian criticizing this or calling it a flop is an idiot.

I as a Pakistani would not want them to succeed as offcourse in future they would use this technology against us.

But in terms of technological advancements, the whole ministry related to it, its a great thing as it allows students of India to pursue an area of Science that they know that their are jobs.

In pakistan, alot of our space science students end up taking scholarships to be professors

Did u crawl under the rock when mangalyaan reached mars?

Space missions are complicated stuff and pslv has had very rare failures

Haha I know ISRO is okay - I was just using this as a channel to vent further frustration at our useless air force.

There’s a better chance of landing a rocket on the moon than their pilot flying without getting bombed out of the sky.

Keep trying, India’s got the means and brain for it, it is matter of time before India become successful.

It's not about dancing on failures.
It's about India being always mediocre in air.
The problem is your point never goes up but only comes down.
:sachin

My advice to Santanis is to forget the air and start digging down into the Earth.

Meh no big deal, failure is the stepping stone to success..

ISRO is one of the best space agency's in the world, they will get it right. India sent a satellite to Mars and had a rover land on the moon for crying out loud...
We won't gloat brother, but yeah you won't be sad too. As after May's freefall disaster, it's just another day in office for you lot.
Yea like launching moon missions etc. we will learn from Pakistani astronauts and space programs in the future 👍, send us the photoshops or your approach.

By the way this thread is subtle trolling that we have a space program, you got all excited for no reason lmao.
Commiserations to our dear friends.

The path to success has many failures on the way.
ISRO is an exception. This is more of an aberration than norm for them.
Doesnt matter if they lose 30 more times.

Space technology is complicated and it takes multiple failures to get one right in the air, once you figure that out, than there is no looking back.

Any Indian criticizing this or calling it a flop is an idiot.

I as a Pakistani would not want them to succeed as offcourse in future they would use this technology against us.

But in terms of technological advancements, the whole ministry related to it, its a great thing as it allows students of India to pursue an area of Science that they know that their are jobs.

In pakistan, alot of our space science students end up taking scholarships to be professors
Lovely news. :dav

Indian setbacks are essential to reduce their hubris. It is for the greater good. :inti

Haha I know ISRO is okay - I was just using this as a channel to vent further frustration at our useless air force.
There’s a better chance of landing a rocket on the moon than their pilot flying without getting bombed out of the sky.

Keep trying, India’s got the means and brain for it, it is matter of time before India become successful.
Look what i found, great video insight

india refused a open investigation - we know why, the 3rd egine failed again - just like last time = ooooooooooooooopppps

ISRO’s Rocket Failure

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Champ_Pal @JaDed @Devadwal @uppercut @Theanonymousone @straighttalk @Vikram1989 @Varun @Romali_rotti @Bhaijaan @Cover Drive Six @rickroll @RexRex @rpant_gabba, @Romali_rotti @kron @globetrotter @Hitman @jnaveen1980 @Local.Dada @CrIc_Mystique @Van_Sri @nish_mate @SportsWarrior @kaayal

Look what i found, great video insight

india refused a open investigation - we know why, the 3rd egine failed again - just like last time = ooooooooooooooopppps

ISRO’s Rocket Failure

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Champ_Pal @JaDed @Devadwal @uppercut @Theanonymousone @straighttalk @Vikram1989 @Varun @Romali_rotti @Bhaijaan @Cover Drive Six @rickroll @RexRex @rpant_gabba, @Romali_rotti @kron @globetrotter @Hitman @jnaveen1980 @Local.Dada @CrIc_Mystique @Van_Sri @nish_mate @SportsWarrior @kaayal

By refusing an investigation, India only make themselves a bigger laughing stock. :qdkcheeky

Haha I get a feeling Bhaijaan is in secret a Pakistani agent, tying to blend in Bihar or Utta Prades. If things get tough there make sure you have memorised the bhajans

Endia se takkar leni hae
:yk

Even nasa has occasional failures but those who are brought up on suparco will not know this, when you don’t do anything theres no failure

Kuch bhi bakwaas karna hai to become popular h

They didn’t have a failure for 24 years and 39 consecutive launches, you will not understand since suparco has nothing
ur making no sense, did nasa fail twice in 8 months, the failure was the exact same problem

just answer the two questions of mine.