India ranked as the most dangerous country for women, Pakistan 6th (Reuters Poll)

https://poll2018.trust.org/

ABOUT THE POLL

Seven years ago a Thomson Reuters Foundation experts' survey found the five most dangerous countries for women were seen to be Afghanistan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Pakistan, India, and Somalia. This year we set out to see if the situation had changed. We wanted to find out whether more was being done to address the overall risks faced by women, and specifically regarding healthcare, access to economic resources, customary practices, sexual violence, non-sexual violence and human trafficking. We expanded our poll to the 10 most dangerous countries with some surprising results.

World leaders vowed three years ago to eliminate all forms of violence and discrimination against women and girls by 2030, allowing them to live freely and safely to participate equally in political, economic and public life. But despite this pledge it is estimated that one in three women globally experience physical or sexual violence during their lifetime. Child marriage is still rife, with almost 750 million women and girls married before their 18th birthday, resulting in teen pregnancies that can put their health at risk and limiting schooling and opportunities.

6 key areas:

Healthcare

Discrimination

Cultural Traditions

Sexual Violence

Non-Sexual Violence

Human Trafficking

Capture.JPG

Wow great news. That’ll teach those feminists. Proud to be a Pakistani

Tbh I have no issues with British indians. During, prem, high school days never really got close to one in friendship, most my school friends were Bangladeshis and Pakistanis. But what annoys me the most about Indians from india online, is their ultra nationalism, ultra denial. They think anything Indian is better. They deny the major issues they have, this particular issue of this subject in this thread. And they are master trolls. Internet trolling on youtube, facebook, no one beats Indians. Their trolling method is not just bantering, it’s abusive and rude. And it seems they take pride in being such trolls.

Yes India has developed in some areas, big country, big economy. But don’t deny, live in denial. And pride about things when you have such huge basic issues like with sanitation.

I am not sure if being 6th or 1st has a real difference.

Fact is that Pakistan being on that list is shameful by itself.

Having the US at #10 makes the whole list meaningless. But then again it was just a poll so it's not like it has any value in the first place.

Pretty much. Any Pakistani who uses this to take a dig at India without looking inwards is part of the problem

I am sure most Indian women in India would agree with the list.

Have you visited India and done a survey? Even then such a survey would be questionable because not many women in India would have visited other countries to make an informed judgment.

I'm sure a lot of women in the US would probably say that the US is one of the worst countries for women, but that's just because they haven't been to many other terrible countries where women have it much worse.

Never mind what position India is in that is none of our concern. As for Pak being 6 is a compliment to us!!

Wow great news. That’ll teach those feminists. Proud to be a Pakistani

And, the average Pakistani still believes the reports of violence against women in Pakistan are one big conspiracy to defame Pakistan and Islam.

There are no honor killings, acid attacks and female sexual abuse in Pakistan.

Those Pakistanis who try to speak against the ill-treatment of women in our country are cursed and shot at.

Do they have considered population?
Like if 20 women gets victimised in 200 people & 40 women gets victimised in 2000. Then which place would you consider better?

These surveys are of no use at all. I am sure indian women would never ever consider some countries to live which they have shown better than india.

Lol you are hurt and these surveys are of no use because your Mahaan Bharat is at even a pathetic position than Pakistan, which opposes the narrative of Superpower India.

True, on the other hand women from other countries on the list would swim across the Arabian Sea to reach India so that they can get raped/assaulted.

This is the result of forced woman empowerment, when india is still not ready for it. Women are encouraged to wear western clothes, go to work and stay out late night (nothing wrong) but it needs a safe environment without which it is only going to increase crime against women. India is still a jungle out there, better for women to stay indoors or step out with male protectors. The western style woman empowerment has failed in india.

Do they have considered population?
Like if 20 women gets victimised in 200 people & 40 women gets victimised in 2000. Then which place would you consider better?

Have you visited India and done a survey? Even then such a survey would be questionable because not many women in India would have visited other countries to make an informed judgment.

I'm sure a lot of women in the US would probably say that the US is one of the worst countries for women, but that's just because they haven't been to many other terrible countries where women have it much worse.

Everyone knows India is not safe for Women. In my family and friends, no women would travel alone in Delhi area.

Lets not get worked up in the semantics and the rankings. The fact is India is not safe for women, and we need to accept that and work on it. Not get worked up on any rankings.

Why am I not surprised, India does have a large population which adds to the issue....

At the same time, women have to exercise caution.

No point crying "why should we not go out anywhere we please at night...ask the leacherous men to change"

Well...we are trying. Until then, if you don't want to get molested or raped, then shut the hell up and stay safe. lol.

Bro first start living in India then preach others. You ran away from India for a better living and secure life for your family.

Those who are living in the country know how secure it is for a 3 months baby girl to 65 year old women. Not to forget pregnant women and even male dogs in metro cities like Mumbai.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/myhubCtp-DI" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Now I am sure all woman wont experience the above but India is turning into a bad place...

Everyone knows India is not safe for Women. In my family and friends, no women would travel alone in Delhi area.

Lets not get worked up in the semantics and the rankings. The fact is India is not safe for women, and we need to accept that and work on it. Not get worked up on any rankings.

Exactly. Delhi, Noida, Gurugram all these cities are pretty unsafe for women.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/myhubCtp-DI" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Now I am sure all woman wont experience the above but India is turning into a bad place...

How is it in Australia?

Can't believe some people will go to any length to defend even these reports. Shabaash. :inti
You have some reading issues and most importantly lack analytical mind.
Nobody defends women crime issues in India. But most unsafe place well then you have not seen the world yet
India have 125 crore population and numbers will surely rise up. It's common sense. Things are changing and will only change for better in future. These reports does not mean an iota.

In my family women do night shifts in delhi NCR among lakhs of women doing the same. I am not sure they would be safer doing same things or have same freedom as in Afghanistan or iraq kr other better countries.
Do you guys even know what to say? Nobody denying we have big issues of women safety in India among other issues as well. But saying it's worst is like you have never ever seen the world outside.

And, the average Pakistani still believes the reports of violence against women in Pakistan are one big conspiracy to defame Pakistan and Islam.

There are no honor killings, acid attacks and female sexual abuse in Pakistan.

Those Pakistanis who try to speak against the ill-treatment of women in our country are cursed and shot at.

It’s all a conspiracy against Pakistan. Feminists are the real problem.

It's all a conspiracy against Pakistan. Feminists are the real problem.
In India almost everyone acknowledge women safety issues & no one believe in conspiracy theories. I was here just talking specific about this surveys logics and all. Women safety issues is undeniable.

Disgusted by it. It saddens me even more that many of us Pakistanis simply dont care and we are happy that India is number 1. We need to protect our women this is an awful list to be on. How would you feel if your sister/mother/daughter were to be raped or treated in a certain way? You wouldn't like it would you? Time our nation wakes up to the mistreatment of our women.

Healthcare
Discrimination
Cultural Traditions
Sexual Violence
Non-Sexual Violence
Human Trafficking

Not sure if this is the right survey criteria
Maybe happiness and satisfaction in life should have been included
Suicide is not a major issue in sub continent

Agreed. Pakistan is supposed to be an Islamic country, what is the point of calling yourself that if the safety of the women can't be established? Much bigger shame for Pakistan than India in my view.

I would believe those who live in India and Indian female than some male living in US, who get butt hurt on every and any criticism of India.

How is it in Australia?

She did stay in cheapest hotel which is located in the worst part of the city.

Anyways, I wouldn’t recommend visiting India to a solo young female traveler. You would be okay if traveling in a group.

Edit I meant to quote that YouTube video post.

You have some reading issues and most importantly lack analytical mind.
Nobody defends women crime issues in India. But most unsafe place well then you have not seen the world yet
India have 125 crore population and numbers will surely rise up. It's common sense. Things are changing and will only change for better in future. These reports does not mean an iota.

Reports are in front of you. How are you going to measure the safety of women then? You are clearly trying to defend it. Things are changing? Ghantaaa :inti

Disgusted by it. It saddens me even more that many of us Pakistanis simply dont care and we are happy that India is number 1. We need to protect our women this is an awful list to be on. How would you feel if your sister/mother/daughter were to be raped or treated in a certain way? You wouldn't like it would you? Time our nation wakes up to the mistreatment of our women.

Don't worry we also have people like [MENTION=147708]Akki malhotra[/MENTION] who think there are worse countries for women than India, so its completely ok and these reports doesn't mean anything. :inti

I don't see how USA can no. 10 either tbh.

In my family women do night shifts in delhi NCR among lakhs of women doing the same. I am not sure they would be safer doing same things or have same freedom as in Afghanistan or iraq kr other better countries.
Do you guys even know what to say? Nobody denying we have big issues of women safety in India among other issues as well. But saying it's worst is like you have never ever seen the world outside.

Do you even know whats the topic of this thread? How about you stay on topic and share with us your views about the report rather than trying to justify rapes and crimes against women in India by bringing in other countries?

I said it again you have some reading issues. I already said women safety issues in India is undeniable and whole indian public acknowledge this, we not doing enough practically to tackle this is different thing.
But saying it's worst in whole world is just a crazy idea of somebody's mind.

That’s why I don’t buy claims like India will take over the world in a decade. It is a third world country and will remain so until the mindset of a common person changes.

Agree with this. How much we try to show false bravado, we're most backward in our thinking about a woman's status in society. There have been a few good instances of women empowerment but they've been very far and few.

I remember 56" had made this a big issue in last elections and as things stand today, women in India are far worse off than they were 5 years earlier.

I said it again you have some reading issues. I already said women safety issues in India is undeniable and whole indian public acknowledge this, we not doing enough practically to tackle this is different thing.
But saying it's worst in whole world is just a crazy idea of somebody's mind.

Report is based on these 6 key areas:

Healthcare
Discrimination
Cultural Traditions
Sexual Violence
Non-Sexual Violence
Human Trafficking

You are more than welcome to find the worst country in the world for women by using these 6 areas. At least read the OP before typing your response. :inti

Why are some arguing whether India is LITERALLY the worst or not?

OF COURSE NOT.

You have to be super dumb to really believe India is the worst of the lot when it comes to crime against woman just like USA is the 10th worst.

War zones & failed states are likely to be far far far worse where cases won't even come to light.

First of all, this is a poll. So yes, it's based on perception. Not reality.

At the same time, if you have to compare Iraq, Sudan, Yemen, etc to claim India is not the worst....isn't that a telling picture?

Here's a small sample:

My sister has got her hips pinched on buses. Cat called. One day when it was dark, she came across a guy on the road, who was standing beside his bike with his thing out...and asked her to do a certain act.

She came home and cried.

Another girl I know gets followed by random people when she's riding her bike (lives in a small town). When she told me this, I was mortified but my wife who was beside me (and from the same place as her) said "yeah...why are you surprised".

The situation is so bad that these girls consider it to be NORMAL.

I don't think they were in danger of getting raped but still...the situation was super bad.

And I am talking about TN where such things are a LOT better than Northie states.

So please....just stop it ok.

How is the USA 10th?

Healthcare- Has the best healthcare but the laws are against women.
Discrimination- still exist, eg, equal pay.
Cultural Traditions- I do not know what that mean
Sexual Violence- It is more common than one would like to believe.
Non-Sexual Violence- equally common
Human Trafficking- very common

Healthcare- Has the best healthcare but the laws are against women.
Discrimination- still exist, eg, equal pay.
Cultural Traditions- I do not know what that mean
Sexual Violence- It is more common than one would like to believe.
Non-Sexual Violence- equally common
Human Trafficking- very common

Pay gap has been debunked umpteen times. Sexual violence will exist in any country, you can't completely stop it. I wouldn't say human trafficking is "very common", although no doubt it does happen.

Wow.

India is #1 when it also comes to :

Culture & Religion including acid attacks, female genital mutilation, child marriage, forced marriage, punishment/retribution through stoning or physical abuse or mutilation and female infanticide/foeticide.

Sexual Violence including rape as a weapon of war; domestic rape; rape by a stranger; the lack of access to justice in rape cases; sexual harassment and coercion into sex as a form of corruption.

Human Trafficking including domestic servitude, forced labour, forced marriage and sexual slavery.

https://poll2018.trust.org/country/?id=india

Talk about topping the charts!

Pay gap has been debunked umpteen times. Sexual violence will exist in any country, you can't completely stop it. I wouldn't say human trafficking is "very common", although no doubt it does happen.

Pay gap still exist, you can research yourself if you have time.

Sexual exist in almost every society but in US it is almost every 2 mins in US. according to WCSAP.

Human trafficking is more common than you would think, majority of human trafficking is exploiting female for prostitution within the US

India is a dangerous country not just for women, but for poor people. If you have money, you can get the best education, one of the best medical services and live a great life in India. If one are reasonably wealthy they can get by with pretty much anything in India.

That is how thinks work in pretty much every 3rd world country.

Even in first world countries $$$ talk.

Latest in Delhi :

Delhi Man Killed For Protesting Daughter's Harassment, Locals Made Videos

A local resident complained that the area gets very unsafe at night. "I don't like this area. After 9 pm, people get drunk and come out on the streets. I always make sure I get home before eight," she said.

Its amazing how some people think that these things are ok as long as we are not the worst in the world. Jaahil log.

Latest in Delhi :

Delhi Man Killed For Protesting Daughter's Harassment, Locals Made Videos

A local resident complained that the area gets very unsafe at night. "I don't like this area. After 9 pm, people get drunk and come out on the streets. I always make sure I get home before eight," she said.
I remember what hue and cry 56" made over worsening law and order situation in Delhi prior to last general elections and promised that women will be safe under him. lol, women safe under him? Anyone remembers, how he spied on that lady from Gujarat?

Not going to lie, surprised to see USA in the list. Desi/African countries were a given.

It is shameful for India. The northern belt of India is really bad.
Places like Mumbai, Banglore are much better.

A 23-year-old alleged rape victim is fighting for her life after she was set on fire while going to court in northern India.

The woman was on her way to a hearing in the case she filed against two men in March, in Uttar Pradesh.

She is in critical condition in hospital, where she is being treated for severe burns.

Five men including two of her alleged rapists have been arrested on suspicion of setting her on fire, police say.

The woman was on her way to a train station when a group of men assaulted her and dragged her to a nearby field, where they set her on fire, according to reports in local media.

The incident occurred in Unnao district, which was recently in the news over another rape case.

Police opened a murder investigation against a ruling party lawmaker in July after a woman who accused him of rape was seriously injured in a car crash.

Two of her aunts were killed and her lawyer was injured.

This latest incident has sparked widespread outrage in India, which is still reeling under a shocking murder and rape case that grabbed headlines just under a week ago.

A 27-year-old vet in the southern city of Hyderabad was raped and set on fire on 27 November. Protests were held across the country after the victim's charred remains were found following her disappearance last week.

Rape and sexual violence against women have been in focus in India since the December 2012 gang-rape and murder of a young woman on a bus in the capital, Delhi. But there has been no sign that crimes against women are abating.

According to the latest government crime figures, police registered 33,658 cases of rape in India in 2017 - that's an average of 92 rapes every day.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-50641606

Indian police have shot dead four men suspected of raping and killing a young female vet in Hyderabad last week.

The men were in police detention and were taken back to the scene of the crime in the early hours of Friday.

The suspects were shot when they tried to steal the officers' guns and escape, police told BBC Telugu.

The 27-year-old victim's charred remains were discovered last Thursday - leading to outrage and protests over alleged police inaction.

After news of the killings broke, the victim's mother told the BBC that "justice has been done".

Meanwhile, neighbours celebrated with firecrackers, and thousands of people took to the streets to hail the police.

What happened on Friday?
Cyberabad police commissioner VC Sajjanar told BBC Telugu that police took the accused to the scene to reconstruct the crime.

Police shot the men when they tried to grab the officers' guns and escape, he said.

Two police officers were also injured.

The police were heavily criticised after the rape and murder of the vet - particularly when the victim's family accused them of inaction for two hours.

How have the victim's family reacted?
BBC Telugu's Deepthi Bathini visited the family in their home, where neighbours could be seen celebrating the news by bursting firecrackers and distributing sweets.

"I can't put it into words. I felt happiness but also grief because my daughter will never come home," the victim's mother said.

"My daughter's soul is at peace now. Justice has been done. I never thought we would get justice. No other girl should experience what my daughter did."

Image caption
People scattered flower petals on the area where the woman's charred body was found
The mother added that she wants the law on sexual assault and rape to be "stricter".

"Men should be scared to even stare at women - because they will be punished."

The victim's sister said the police action was "very unexpected".

"I was expecting court trials and the court to deliver justice. This will not bring my sister back, but it is a great relief. Because of the police action, people will think twice before they do something like this again," she said.

What has the wider reaction been?
News of the police action has been widely celebrated on social media.

Many took to Twitter and Facebook to applaud the police, saying they "delivered justice".

The mother of a student who died after being gang-raped on a bus in capital Delhi in 2012 has also hailed the killing.

"I am extremely happy with this punishment. Police have done a great job," she told ANI news agency.

BBC Telugu reporter Satish Balla, reporting from the spot of the killings, said approximately 2,000 people have gathered, causing a huge traffic jam.

Vehicles have come to a standstill on the highway, where people are shouting "hail the police".

At the scene of the encounter, people earlier showered the police with rose petals and distributed sweets, our reporter added.

But a few have also questioned the police's version of events.

Prakash Singh, a retired police officer and a key architect of police reforms, told the BBC that the killings were "entirely avoidable".

"Abundant caution should be taken when people in custody are being taken to the court or the scene of the crime," he said.

"They should be secured, handcuffed and properly searched before they are taken out. All kinds of things can happen if the police are not careful."

But Mr Singh said it was too early to say if the incident was an extrajudicial killing - known popularly in India as an "encounter killing".

In the days after the rape and murder, thousands of people protested at Hyderabad police station, insisting the killers face the death penalty.

Elsewhere in the country, there were other protests and vigils for the victim, who cannot be named under Indian law.

The victim left home on her motorbike at about 18:00 local time (12:30 GMT) on Wednesday to go to a doctor's appointment.

She called family later to say she had a flat tyre, and a lorry driver had offered to help. She said she was waiting near a toll plaza.

Efforts to contact her afterwards were unsuccessful, and her body was discovered under a flyover by a milkman on Thursday morning.

Last week, three police officers were suspended when the victim's family accused them of not acting quickly enough when the woman was reported missing.

Officers had suggested she may have eloped, relatives told the National Commission for Women, a government body.

Are women any safer in India today?
Rape and sexual violence against women have been in focus in India since the December 2012 gang-rape and murder of a young woman on a bus in the capital, Delhi.

But there has been no sign that crimes against women are abating.

According to government figures, police registered 33,658 cases of rape in India in 2017, an average of 92 rapes every day.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-50682262

If event manager, mota bhai & bhogi has any shame left, they should leave public life for good.

Meanwhile read somewhere that bhogi govt is providing sweaters for cows....

Mera desh mahaan....

These pornograhic sites should be banned even though it is banned in India but people will find another way to open the sites.

This keeps getting worse in 'Uttam' Pradesh,

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/wom...ncing-at-wedding-2144269?pfrom=home-topscroll

Lucknow: A woman in Uttar Pradesh's Chitrakoot is critical after she was shot in the face last week when she stopped dancing at a wedding. The bizarre incident has been caught on a chilling video where the young woman, who was part of a dancing group, is seen on stage with a co-performer.
In the one-minute long clip, a man, apparently drunk, is heard saying: "Goli chal jayegi (shots will be fired)," after the woman stops dancing.

"Sudhir bhaiya, aap goli chala hi do (Brother, you should fire the gun)," another man then says.

The woman is then suddenly shot from behind, which takes everybody by surprise. The bullet hits her face.

The video was shot on December 1 during a performance at the wedding of village head Sudhir Singh Patel's daughter in Tikra village. The groom's maternal uncles, Mithilesh and Akhilesh, who were on the stage, were also injured in the firing, according to the police.

These pornograhic sites should be banned even though it is banned in India but people will find another way to open the sites.

Do all the people who visit porn sites go out raping women?

This recent case in India where they gang raped a lady doctor and then, on the day of hearing on her way to court they burnt her alive :facepalm:

Meanwhile, there's this Indian celebrity (Bollywood film producer?) asking women to be ready for rape and not offer resistance :facepalm: and some major/colonel ex-military threatening rape :facepalm:

You see where lies the problem?

Indian government/society/military all of them feel more masculine in rape case scenarios.

(Some major generalisations in this post but I take the liberty to make a point and Pakistan has its own filthy problem which needs to be addressed as well.)

Do all the people who visit porn sites go out raping women?

This recent case in India where they gang raped a lady doctor and then, on the day of hearing on her way to court they burnt her alive :facepalm:

Meanwhile, there's this Indian celebrity (Bollywood film producer?) asking women to be ready for rape and not offer resistance :facepalm: and some major/colonel ex-military threatening rape :facepalm:

You see where lies the problem?

Indian government/society/military all of them feel more masculine in rape case scenarios.

(Some major generalisations in this post but I take the liberty to make a point and Pakistan has its own filthy problem which needs to be addressed as well.)

I think it's one of the reason that makes the man evil,you are right that all people watching porn does not lead to do rape.
The biggest problem that leads to rape is alcohol.
Alcohol can make man more aggressive.
In most of rape cases we saw man was drunk and raped a woman.

Mera desh mahaan....

I have no doubts that this govt will make aadhar card for cows and they will also provide reservation for them.

This is the result of forced woman empowerment, when india is still not ready for it. Women are encouraged to wear western clothes, go to work and stay out late night (nothing wrong) but it needs a safe environment without which it is only going to increase crime against women. India is still a jungle out there, better for women to stay indoors or step out with male protectors. The western style woman empowerment has failed in india.

I take the bait, that poor girl they raped/murdered in a bus was accompanied by a "protector".

To solve any problem, 1st step is recognize it and then take an action to end it.

Mera desh mahaan....

What can a Modi Government or for that matter any government do? Government makes laws and I believe that Rape is a criminal offence in pretty much every criminal law all over the world. Also it is impossible for the Law Enforcement to be present everywhere to prevent all the crimes from happening.

Criminals do criminal activities because they don't have respect for the rule of law or for other people. In a country like India, things like this will keep happening until society as a whole change and start respecting people.

I take the bait, that poor girl they raped/murdered in a bus was accompanied by a "protector".

To solve any problem, 1st step is recognize it and then take an action to end it.

and what is your point? That even having a male protector is not entirely safe? that is obvious.

do you dispute that having a male protector makes it "safer" for women?

It's a matter of shame for both India and Pakistan to find themselves on this list.
It doesn't matter who is 1st and who is 6th.
If, even after 72 years of independence, our women cannot live without fearing these animals, then we don't deserve to be called civilised societies.

Shameful to find that out of the ten on the list, seven of these are Muslim majority countries.