India revokes IOK's special autonomy through rushed presidential decree; Challenge in court [#262]

Kashmir was never too connected with Jammu let alone ladakh.

Blockade is actually to protect the innocents from the non state actors. With the blockade the violence will be far less. Yes temporary pain. But this was a remedial decision and not a temporay/shallow one. Calm your apprehensions for some time.
Lol remedial we know how much you care about us. Congratulations to all of you your wish is granted.

You can't snatch people it's identity, you can't divide a state while keeping its people in blockade. This is just not right and what I am afraid of don't know how many people will be killed

How is identity snatched?

Ladakhis hardly had any connect with the people of the valley. They hardly got any development. Nor did they support any of the so called separatist movement.

Kashmiris today have the same right that someone in Delhi has.

Why not give this a chance? Art 370 was there for 70yrs. Terrorism for 30 years.

Now give a chance to this.

You always have the right to peacefully protest.

Lol remedial we know how much you care about us. Congratulations to all of you your wish is granted.
If you ask me, kashmiris on indian side have been played along by pakistan and separtist for their vested interests. This ruling acts against them and less so against normal Kashmiris.

Now how much this gets bad is upto the kashmir polulace. Which side they will play.

The world’s largest ‘democracy’ is keen to seek immediate return of Abhinandan and consular access for Jadhav but at the same time blatantly disregards all humanitarian & international law commitments when it comes to Kashmir & uses house arrest, prison & other tactics to suppress people.

India has basically checkmated Pakistan.The timing they chose to implement their move was very calculated keeping Pakistans current economic and political situation in mind.Pakistan can not solve this issue with military force and neither through non state actors keeping the FATF in mind as they will have their eyes on us.The only option Pakistan has I think is through aggressive foreign diplomacy.

With an indefinite security lockdown in place in Indian-occupied Kashmir (IoK) and elected representatives under house arrest, India's ruling party on Monday revoked the special constitutional status of occupied Kashmir through a rushed presidential order.

Home Minister Amit Shah also moved a bill to bifurcate the state into two union territories – Jammu Kashmir as one and Himalayan Ladakh region as the other.

With the special status repealed, people from the rest of India will now have the right to acquire property in occupied Kashmir and settle there permanently. Kashmiris fear this will lead to a demographic transformation of region from majority Muslim to majority Hindu.

As parliament debated the move, Indian media reported that the government has moved 8,000 Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) from different parts of the country to IoK. The Indian army and air force have also been placed on high alert.

Explainer: What does India's proposed change to occupied Kashmir's status mean?

A statement issued by the home minister said that "Jammu and Kashmir will be a union territory with legislature while Ladakh will be a union territory without legislature".

Chaos in the house

Home Minister Amit Shah, president of India's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), addresses the Indian parliament on Monday. — Photo courtesy ANI Twitter

Chaos erupted in the upper house of the Indian parliament as opposition lawmakers shouted slogans and started protesting after Home Minister Amit Shah urged members to discuss the legislation that seeks to end the autonomous status for Muslim-majority Kashmir.

Shah, who is also the president of India's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), proposed that all regulation under Article 370 will not be applicable after a presidential nod, reported India Today.

After Shah proposed that the regulation under Article 370 will not be applicable after Presidential nod, the Rajya Sabha witnessed massive uproar with the opposition slamming the centre over the move, reported India Today.

Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad said that the BJP had "murdered the constitution today".

Parliamentary affairs minister Pralhad Joshi sought to reprimand the opposition, reported Hindustan Times. “Amit Shah is rectifying the historical blunder of Jawaharlal Nehru,” Joshi told the opposition benches about the resolution that had been on the agenda of the ruling BJP for years.

Amit Shah said Article 370 was used as "vote bank politics" and the earlier governments lacked the political will to revoke it. "But the Modi government has the political will and we are not bothered about vote bank politics," Shah said.

The move by India's Hindu nationalist-led government to revoke the special constitutional status, which allows only residents to buy property and hold state government jobs, is the most far-reaching move on the disputed Himalayan region in nearly seven decades.

Cabinet meeting

A cabinet meeting on the security situation in Indian-occupied Kashmir was held at the residence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday morning. — ANI Twitter

A cabinet meeting was held on Monday morning at Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi's residence.

Journalists as well as opposition members in India have been questioning the reasoning behind the clampdown as well as placing former IoK chief ministers — Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti — under house arrest.

Read: Former IoK chief ministers Mufti, Abdullah placed under house arrest; curfew-like restrictions imposed

"While there has been no word from the government on the plan of action, speculation has been rife," the Indian publication added.

The cabinet meeting was held amidst a flurry of activity in the disputed region. The clampdown imposed late Sunday night has left millions stranded in their homes as authorities also suspended some internet services and deployed thousands of fresh troops around the increasingly tense region.

According to India Today, Indian opposition leaders also met in the parliament on Monday morning to discuss the security situation in Jammu and Kashmir.

Opposition leader Azad met with various party leaders in his office and discussed the security situation.

Threat to scrap occupied Kashmir's special status

The two leaders place under house arrest — Abdullah and Mufti — had earlier warned the Centre against abrogation of Article 35A and Article 370, which gives special status to Kashmiris.

National Conference president Farooq Abdullah, reading out a resolution adopted at a meeting of regional parties, said they have decided to send delegations to meet the president, the prime minister and leaders of various political parties to apprise them of the consequences of any attempt to abrogate Article 370 and Article 35A of the constitution or carry out delimitation of constituencies or trifurcating the state, reported India Today.

The ruling BJP in India has consistently advocated an end to occupied Kashmir’s special constitutional status, which prevents outsiders from buying property there, arguing that such laws have hindered its 'integration' with the rest of India.

On Sunday, The Hindu reported that additional security troops had been placed in civilian installations and police stations and were put on “standby mode.”

The Indian government has admitted that 10,000 extra troops were sent to IoK a week ago. Media reports on Friday said a further 25,000 had been ordered there.

Kashmir politicians had long raised fears that the troops are sign that the Hindu nationalist government could carry out a threat to scrap occupied Kashmir's special status under the constitution.

Curfew-like restrictions

Late on Sunday night, the Indian government imposed curfew-like restrictions in the restive region while India sent in tens of thousands of additional troops.

Communications were cut, with private mobile networks, internet services and telephone landlines cut, an AFP reporter said.

"There shall be no movement of public. All educational institutions shall also remain closed. There will be a complete bar on holding any kind of public meetings or rallies during the period of operation of this order. Identity cards of essential services officials will be treated as movement passes wherever required," read an Indian government order, but added: "there is no curfew in place".

https://www.dawn.com/news/1498227/i...rushed-presidential-decree-parliament-debates

Pakistan can't do anything. No other country will go against India. The battle has to be faught by Kashmirs in India.

Everytime we will bring this issue India will say but now officially Kashmir is part of us, no talks. India have officially made sure relations will never ever be the same with us again. They would have stepped down before but now they can't ever reverse this decision. Their own people will hang them.

Well done Modi for making there will never be peace again.

A sad day for Kashmiris.

God will take revenge for this for sure.

InshaAllah.

Everytime we will bring this issue India will say but now officially Kashmir is part of us, no talks. India have officially made sure relations will never ever be the same with us again. They would have stepped down before but now they can't ever reverse this decision. Their own people will hang them.

Well done Modi for making there will never be peace again.

Well there was no peace to begin with with all this cross border terrorism that India has been facing for decades. Parliament attack, Mumbai attack, Pulwama attack, this attack, that attack.

If after respecting 370/35a etc for decades, all we have got as reward is more terrorist attacks, then why keep 370, that perhaps had become the mindset in India.

[MENTION=140457]xbronze[/MENTION]

This message is hidden because xbronze is on your ignore list.
View Post
Remove user from ignore list

You've been on my ignore list for a while. Let me guess, your post has something about OBL?

Welcome move. After the mass exodus of Kashmiri Hindus from the region, this should have been done a long time ago.

Pakistan on Monday said that it would "exercise all possible options to counter the illegal steps" taken by India regarding Indian-occupied Kashmir (IoK).

The comments came after Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government introduced plans to weaken the special rights of residents in occupied Kashmir, amid heavy deployment of security forces and suspension of phone and internet services in the valley.

In a press release, the Foreign Office (FO) strongly condemned and rejected the move by the Indian government, stressing that IoK was internationally recognised as a disputed territory.

"No unilateral step by the Government of India can change this disputed status, as enshrined in the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions," read the statement. "The decision will never be acceptable to the people of IoK and Pakistan."

"As the party to this international dispute, Pakistan will exercise all possible options to counter the illegal steps," the statement read while reaffirming Pakistan's commitment to the Kashmiri cause.

A meeting of the Parliamentary Committee of Kashmir will be held at the Parliament House at 2pm today.

According to Radio Pakistan, the meeting, chaired by committee chairman Syed Fakhar Imam, will discuss the situation in IoK and the use of cluster bombs on civilians by Indian forces.

'A dangerous game being played'

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi, while speaking to DawnNewsTV, said that if the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government of India felt that their policies were effective, they would not have imposed governor's rule or conducted politics through presidential orders.

"If they have turned IoK and Ladhak into union territories, it is evident that they have lost hope [...] Kashmiris that used to support them earlier are also in jail or under house arrest.

"Today, India has once again revived and internationalised the Kashmir issue. This will not solve the problem, rather it will escalate it," he warned.

"They will never be able to repress the issue.

"Time will show what a dangerous game has been played."

Qureshi said that the entire international community needed to condemn the Indian move.

Joint session of parliament
Opposition leaders on Monday called for a joint session of parliament to be scheduled in light of the developments.

In a post shared on Twitter, Pakistan Peoples Party Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari said: "Atrocities in IoK unabated. Extremist Indian government's intentions clear. President must immediately summon joint session of parliament in wake of Indian aggression in IoK."

Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif strongly condemned the Indian government's "attempt to revoke Article 370" as he called for a joint session of parliament. He said that after reviewing the situation, a comprehensive strategy should be formulated.

The PML-N president added that Pakistan should also immediately call for an emergency meeting of the UN Security Council.

"This is a matter of Pakistan's national interest, all of Pakistan is united. The time has come for Pakistan's political and military leadership to take collective decisions — Pakistan is united for the Kashmiri cause," he said.

'India cannot alter IoK status'
Minister for Human Rights Dr Shireen Mazari said it was not enough to condemn India's move which was "against all international norms and international law along with UNSC resolutions".

"Kashmir is recognised as a disputed territory in UNSC resolutions. India cannot alter IoK status through its parliament," she said.

Mazari said that the International Court of Justice should be approached along with the UN Security Council and other international forums and human rights organisations.

"This is illegal annexation of a militarily-occupied territory and completely unacceptable."

In a post shared on Twitter, former finance minister and PTI leader Asad Umar said that the Indian constitutional amendment was in violation of international resolutions as well as India's own constitution.

"Is India still a constitutional democracy or is [it] now practically under Hindutva raj?" he asked.

PPP leader Sherry Rehman questioned where the international community was in response to the developments in IoK.

PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz said that her rally scheduled to take place in Sargodha tomorrow would be dedicated to Kashmir.

"Shall not only express solidarity with our Kashmiri brethren but will highlight Indian govt’s atrocities, human rights violations and dictatorial decree of revoking Article 370 & reneging on all international commitments," she said in a post shared on Twitter.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1498236/p...o-counter-illegal-steps-taken-by-india-in-iok

Modi has outsmarted Imran and our premature celebrations of how Trump exposed Modi and is now on our side has blown into our faces.

Well played Modi, well played. You have to feel sorry for the people of J&K but this is a huge victory for India.

Article 370 was part of Indian constitution. To keep it or dissolve it is a matter of Indian law. Not ICJ or Pakistan.

Modi has outsmarted Imran and our premature celebrations of how Trump exposed Modi and is now on our side has blown into our faces.

Well played Modi, well played. You have to feel sorry for the people of J&K but this is a huge victory for India.

If Pakistan does nothing, then i hope that the misguided people of J and K realise that status quo cant be changed.

Indeed that is in the best interests of the future of the valley. The people need to realize that this is a war that they cannot win. It is time for pragmatism and not emotion.

Our relations with the US have little to do with Kashmir. We need breathing room from the US given our past adventures.

Welcome move. After the mass exodus of Kashmiri Hindus from the region, this should have been done a long time ago.

Is this the official reasoning from GOI. We want to address Hindu grievance?

Waiting for Indian Supreme Court to step in and overturn this decision as unconstitutional.

Only for Modi to then claim “at least we tried” and people falling for his drama once more

Help me understand, who represents J&K in Indian parliament right now? Or will there be some sort of by-elections to figure this out.

Our relations with the US have little to do with Kashmir. We need breathing room from the US given our past adventures.

Correct, but our PM has been taken for a ride in assuming that Trump would intervene in Kashmir.

Congratulations to you.. You seem happier than indian gundas

Zoom and check #15

Some sections of armed forces? Looks like BJP fears mutiny by Muslim soldiers of indian armed forces.

EBL23wPWsAAenRh

Zoom and check #15

Some sections of armed forces? Looks like BJP fears mutiny by Muslim soldiers of indian armed forces.

EBL23wPWsAAenRh

India has taken a big risk whilst doing this.

My only fear is many innocent Indians and Kashmiris can die because of this.

Help me understand, who represents J&K in Indian parliament right now? Or will there be some sort of by-elections to figure this out.

Absolutely none.. People who have been looted have been blocked from the phone services, news channels, Internet everything.

Just like the economic failures are laid at the doorstep of PMLN and PPP, I think Pakistan's failure on Kashmir will be laid at the doorstep of Maulana Fazal-ur-Rehman because he was the head of the Kashmir Committee.

Correct, but our PM has been taken for a ride in assuming that Trump would intervene in Kashmir.

I don’t think his primary objective in going to the US was to get something on Kashmir. It was a reward of legitimacy for helping out on Afghanistan. All our politicians pay lip service to the Kashmi idea. And we should continue to do that.
Putting the legalese aside. It is for India to figure out how to integrate a Muslim majority province in to their federation.

Hosla rakho bhai.

Stay safe and do not worry. All will be fine inshaAllah.
I am outside home with my friends we are all crying. Those who comment won't understand what has happened to us. We have been looted. I still don't know how people are doing at home. Have they listened or not this terrible news. There is total blockade. I am crying you don't do like this to the people without their consent.

Just like the economic failures are laid at the doorstep of PMLN and PPP, I think Pakistan's failure on Kashmir will be laid at the doorstep of Maulana Fazal-ur-Rehman because he was the head of the Kashmir Committee.
This is not because of Pakistan.

Those who blame pak are as stupid as it get. It has nothing to do Pm Ik. They violated their own constitution which clearly stated that to remove 370 the bill has to pass through kashmir legislative Assembly with majority.

Important core commander conference tomorrow at GHQ.Let's see what will come out of this meeting.

I am outside home with my friends we are all crying. Those who comment won't understand what has happened to us. We have been looted. I still don't know how people are doing at home. Have they listened or not this terrible news. There is total blockade. I am crying you don't do like this to the people without their consent.

This will only add fuel to fire and will backfire for modi govt don't listen to traitors like [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] you will get through this

Congratulations to you.. You seem happier than indian gundas

I only want what is best for Pakistan. The Kashmir issue is a constraint on Pakistan and as long as we our poking our nose where it doesn't belong, we will not be able to thrive and develop. Kashmir is essentially India's internal problem and we shouldn't partake in a war that (a) is not ours and (b) we cannot win.

Our business ended when we secured AJK and Hari Singh signed on the Instrument of Accession. It maybe under duress, but it is not our problem. Good luck to you and your people, but we have our internal problems to cater to.

We have not grabbed an inch of J&K in 72 years and it has cost us the Eastern half of the country in addition to being a burden on our economy. Furthermore, it has allowed military to bully the government and dictate our foreign policy to serve their interests.

Pakistan will only truly prosper when it becomes independent of what happens in Kashmir. Just like how the Arabs learned not to get involved in the Palestine issue after the thrashing they received in the Six Days War, the revocation of Article 370 should be our moment of realising that we would be better off leaving J&K alone.

However, it is not going to happen and the next 72 years will be no different. Billions and billions of rupees wasted on a war that we cannot win and a war that is not ours to begin with. In addition, it will ensure strained relations with our immediate neighbours except China (who have held us by our balls) and a military that will continue to suffocate the civilian government.

Those who blame pak are as stupid as it get. It has nothing to do Pm Ik. They violated their own constitution which clearly stated that to remove 370 the bill has to pass through kashmir legislative Assembly with majority.

Of course someone like @Mmaoon sitting outside Kashmir knows better the so called doctor pretend to know it all on every topic

Yaar I feel you brother.

This is a complete travesty for you guys.

Kashmir is hurt today and so are the Kashmiris.

Stay with your family and friends and pls don’t worry.

God will help you guys. :(

Non state actors approach failed and brought a bad name to Pakistan.
Time for a full throttle military action is on as India has annexed a territory which is currently under dispute with Pakistan.
However does Pakistan have the means or even will to save Kashmir ?

I only want what is best for Pakistan. The Kashmir issue is a constraint on Pakistan and as long as we our poking our nose where it doesn't belong, we will not be able to thrive and develop. Kashmir is essentially India's internal problem and we shouldn't partake in a war that (a) is not ours and (b) we cannot win.

Our business ended when we secured AJK and Hari Singh signed on the Instrument of Accession. It maybe under duress, but it is not our problem. Good luck to you and your people, but we have our internal problems to cater to.

We have not grabbed an inch of J&K in 72 years and it has cost us the Eastern half of the country in addition to being a burden on our economy. Furthermore, it has allowed military to bully the government and dictate our foreign policy to serve their interests.

Pakistan will only truly prosper when it becomes independent of what happens in Kashmir. Just like how the Arabs learned not to get involved in the Palestine issue after the thrashing they received in the Six Days War, the revocation of Article 370 should be our moment of realising that we would be better off leaving J&K alone.

However, it is not going to happen and the next 72 years will be no different. Billions and billions of rupees wasted on a war that we cannot win and a war that is not ours to begin with. In addition, it will ensure strained relations with our immediate neighbours except China (who have held us by our balls) and a military that will continue to suffocate the civilian government.

Leaving J&K alone? For once, see this from a humanitarian point of view instead of a political point of view.

The Gulf states and Egypt have betrayed their Palestinian brothers who’re suffering. We shouldn’t betray Kashmiris.

I’m glad that Pakistan’s establishment has stopped trying to incorporate Kashmir in Pakistan and instead are starting to advocate for an independent Kashmir. This is the time to be aggressive in our diplomacy and start showing Indian atrocities in Kashmir.

Having said that, we Pakistan do have a selective outrage, we don’t condemn the killings of Uyghurs and Yemenis like we condemn the killings of Kashmiris, Rohingyas and Palestinians.

According to sources close to me GHQ will make a move on this issue.Effects will be visible.

Hmmmmm. We find ourselves in a volatile state now. At the end of the day, it will be Kashmiris who will suffer from this, not Indians or Pakistanis.

I just got info that people at back home have no info about todays decision due to blockade of communication there.Democracy wow

Have deleted related posts

Pls be respectful in your posts

This is next level daring from India. Time will tell how many will die because of this. My guess is people will be OK after a bit of mischief. Time for J&k to come into India's fold and reap the benefits.

The only move from Pakistan that can shock India is to pull out the troops from AK and Gilgit and declare a plebisite. Unless they do that, nobody will care about Pak's reservations internationally.

Stop fooling yourself and others. It was a temporary law to begin with. Any law can be changed by the law makers and will be implemented by the courts.

India is now following an Israeli model of occupation. Apart from the eradication of significant autonomy for Jammu Kashmir, scrapping article 370 means Non-Kashmiris can now buy land and property in the area. This means with the passage of time, there will be a steady rise in non Kashmiri population eventually changing the demographics of the region. The systemic cleansing and driving out of local kashmiris is akin to settlements in Palestine, and history tells us that right wing demagogues such as Modi can commit genocide to appeal to hindu nationalist vote base. The so called 'Kashmir solution' will become Modi's badge of honour if International community does not act ,which I think they won't because that would upset indias friend israel.

Many of the Indian political parties in Parliament back the move.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Leaving only the Congress, Trinamool and JDU in opposition. Or have I missed anyone <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Article370?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Article370</a> <a href="https://t.co/7vfUlgJrAQ">https://t.co/7vfUlgJrAQ</a></p>— barkha dutt (@BDUTT) <a href="https://twitter.com/BDUTT/status/1158339433852264450?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 5, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Haha Mota Bhai has really done it genius.
Kashmir is now a UT , Pakistan will NEVER have it now.

Many of the Indian political parties in Parliament back the move.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Leaving only the Congress, Trinamool and JDU in opposition. Or have I missed anyone <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Article370?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Article370</a> <a href="https://t.co/7vfUlgJrAQ">https://t.co/7vfUlgJrAQ</a></p>— barkha dutt (@BDUTT) <a href="https://twitter.com/BDUTT/status/1158339433852264450?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 5, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Interesting.

Respect to the Congress.

They can't afford to fight this battle given the mood of the nation and how weak they are.... but they are still doing it.

They will sort out their issues, get professional and rise one day.

----

Even DMK opposes this.

Leaving J&K alone? For once, see this from a humanitarian point of view instead of a political point of view.

The Gulf states and Egypt have betrayed their Palestinian brothers who’re suffering. We shouldn’t betray Kashmiris.

I’m glad that Pakistan’s establishment has stopped trying to incorporate Kashmir in Pakistan and instead are starting to advocate for an independent Kashmir. This is the time to be aggressive in our diplomacy and start showing Indian atrocities in Kashmir.

Having said that, we Pakistan do have a selective outrage, we don’t condemn the killings of Uyghurs and Yemenis like we condemn the killings of Kashmiris, Rohingyas and Palestinians.

Also killing of yazidis by ISIS.

Congress, TMC, DMK, RJD will feel thr wrath of the people, ducking traitors. They are irrelevant as of now, will be extinct soon insha'Allah

India is now following an Israeli model of occupation. Apart from the eradication of significant autonomy for Jammu Kashmir, scrapping article 370 means Non-Kashmiris can now buy land and property in the area. This means with the passage of time, there will be a steady rise in non Kashmiri population eventually changing the demographics of the region. The systemic cleansing and driving out of local kashmiris is akin to settlements in Palestine, and history tells us that right wing demagogues such as Modi can commit genocide to appeal to hindu nationalist vote base. The so called 'Kashmir solution' will become Modi's badge of honour if International community does not act ,which I think they won't because that would upset indias friend israel.

So Modi's badge of honor is something he hasn't done, kashmiri politicians and pak have already carried out a genocide in kashmir when they through murder and threats drove out kashmiri pandits in Kashmir, so don't preach us about genocide.

Surprised BJP went for this, thought they will use this to win next elections, guess no gov in J AND K helped..

So Modi's badge of honor is something he hasn't done, kashmiri politicians and pak have already carried out a genocide in kashmir when they through murder and threats drove out kashmiri pandits in Kashmir, so don't preach us about genocide.

Exactly, see the audacity. A particular poster is crying. Where were your sobs when pandit girls/women were raped and murdered. Men & children tortured and butchered.
And this guy is crying because he can't go out and pelt stones as soldiers.

The gall I tell you.

How much does it pay to be a psychophant?

What are you on about? He is stating facts, don't think anyone outside ****** thought bjp had the balls to do this and the only reason it actually happened is because there isn't an actual state gov right now, if there was a state gov this couldn't have happened legally.

Revoking was in their manifesto.

[MENTION=149370]AdamM97[/MENTION]

We live in a cruel world. You cannot take FP decisions based on humanity. At times, you have to be ruthless. We can criticize the Arabs for neglecting Palestine but they would be worse off today had they continued to fight for a lost cause.

After 72 years, Pakistan needs to look back and do a cost-benefit analysis on Kashmir. What have they gained and what have they lost?

They haven’t gained much if anything, but they have lost billions of rupees, they have made more enemies than friends and they have given too much power to its military.

India is richer than Pakistan and they can afford the dispute longer than we can. We can celebrate triumphs in minor skirmishes but we haven’t and cannot beat them in a full-fledge war.

Our fabricated history books consist 1965 a victory, but all it did was expose our incapacity to fight India on two fronts.

Our misadventure in Kashmir backfired and when India attacked Lahore in response, we retreated to defend Lahore because we didn’t have the resources to engage on two fronts. Today we proudly celebrate September 6 as Defense Day.

What options does Pakistan have now? After our misplaced celebrations based on Trump’s statement two weeks ago, we have been rattled today.

The U.S. as well as the international community will not do anything. We need to understand that neither will J&K merge into AJK and neither will it achieve independence. After 72 years, it is time for us to change our strategy and look after our interests.

Not a single person killed in J&K since/because of this decision (hope it stays that way) yet people are still talking about things like ‘genocide’. It seems some idiots actually want blood on the streets so they can say “we told you so”.

Should have created Ladak as a separate state and kept rest of the Kashmir as how it was. These old farts with big egos don't know that people that feel opressed will only grow stronger by doing this nonsense. It will only lead to more bomb blasts and unnecessary that will impact me and you. There is no winning or losing.

We live in a cruel world. You cannot take FP decisions based on humanity. At times, you have to be ruthless. We can criticize the Arabs for neglecting Palestine but they would be worse off today had they continued to fight for a lost cause.

After 72 years, Pakistan needs to look back and do a cost-benefit analysis on Kashmir. What have they gained and what have they lost?

They haven’t gained much if anything, but they have lost billions of rupees, they have made more enemies than friends and they have given too much power to its military.

India is richer than Pakistan and they can afford the dispute longer than we can. We can celebrate triumphs in minor skirmishes but we haven’t and cannot beat them in a full-fledge war.

Our fabricated history books consist 1965 a victory, but all it did was expose our incapacity to fight India on two fronts.

Our misadventure in Kashmir backfired and when India attacked Lahore in response, we retreated to defend Lahore because we didn’t have the resources to engage on two fronts. Today we proudly celebrate September 6 as Defense Day.

What options does Pakistan have now? After our misplaced celebrations based on Trump’s statement two weeks ago, we have been rattled today.

The U.S. as well as the international community will not do anything. We need to understand that neither will J&K merge into AJK and neither will it achieve independence. After 72 years, it is time for us to change our strategy and look after our interests.

Mamoon,

If more Pakistanis were like you, Pakistan would have been in the top 5 GDP right now, heading to many heights even overtaking India, however there is not enough of you and your country's practice of burying its head in the sand is the way forward they wish to practice. Anyway one good thing that will come out of this; Pakistan eventually will be forced to let go of it's terrorism strategy in Kashmir, when a lot of other Indians from Mainland India settles down in Kashmir, so Pakistan might actually progress ahead, all this because of Modi Government, Congrats Pakistan.

Interesting.

Respect to the Congress.

They can't afford to fight this battle given the mood of the nation and how weak they are.... but they are still doing it.

They will sort out their issues, get professional and rise one day.

----

Even DMK opposes this.

That's because they will lose whatever little they have if they support BJP in key policy issues. This one will break congress further though

Not a single person killed in J&K since/because of this decision (hope it stays that way) yet people are still talking about things like ‘genocide’. It seems some idiots actually want blood on the streets so they can say “we told you so”.

So you are waiting for the death of few hundred kashmiris only then you will realise how grave the situation is.
Kashmiris haven't heard about this news yet there is complete blockade of phone services, tv channels, internet and all other sources. I myself don't know what is happening in kashmir as I am unable to contact them due to blockade.

Surprised BJP went for this, thought they will use this to win next elections, guess no gov in J AND K helped..

It's a perfect storm and seems like a plan for a while. They didn't conduct the elections in Kashmir and I believe nobody believed this would happen. Firm decision from Inndian leadership especially after the recent Trump statement. Everybody has been caught with their pants down by Modi Shah duo

So you are waiting for the death of few hundred kashmiris only then you will realise how grave the situation is.
Kashmiris haven't heard about this news yet there is complete blockade of phone services, tv channels, internet and all other sources. I myself don't know what is happening in kashmir as I am unable to contact them due to blockade.

Nobody should die. Kashmir needs development. I say postpone the violence and develop Kashmir. Golden chance to get out of your forefathers stupidity and start afresh. You have no idea how being a part of a billion is. Now you will reap the rewards, if you lot are smart that is.

Last time I checked Kashmir was still part of India and why should that region lag behind in business avenues.Let other businesses invest in that region and let that region's economy grow and let youth of that region have more avenue to work rather than taking up violence.

Article 370 has been bane for Kashmir.

That's because they will lose whatever little they have if they support BJP in key policy issues. This one will break congress further though

Well...i doubt it this time.

No one is there to give support and they are still fighting.

It might break Congress but it will help them in the long run.

You have to be bold to win and they are finally understanding it.

Stand up for what you believe in.

People mocked BJP for its hindutva and now look where they are. Almost invincible.

The one who tries to please all, pleases no one.

Last time I checked Kashmir was still part of India and why should that region lag behind in business avenues.Let other businesses invest in that region and let that region's economy grow and let youth of that region have more avenue to work rather than taking up violence.

Article 370 has been bane for Kashmir.

Although i prefer pragmatic approaches in politics, such sensitive issues require a more idealistic approach. We can’t neglect Kashmiris, it’s as simple as that.

So you justify our governments silence on China killing Uyghurs because China is our ally? After all, we benefit from that silence.

If i remember it correctly, you bashed IK for being silent on China’s mass detention of Uyghurs in Xinjiang.

Has your opinion around idealism Vs pragmatism suddenly changed? Or is it because it’s India this time and not China carrying out atrocities?