India vs West Indies | 2nd Test | Delhi | October 10-14 | Match Discussion

They're definitely playing for the declaration now. 450?

Probably want to bat again rather than tire the bowlers tired bowling 2 innings in a row.

That backfoot game is probably the reason he's been picked despite a lot of evidence pointing to his not being ready. The Cricinfo article on him this morning said the last batter with a first class average below 40 picked to play for India was WV Raman in 1988 and that was when we were in desperate need of openers post Sunny.

Getting into the India Test batting line-up is one of the toughest tasks in the world...a bit like securing a Computer Engineering seat at IITB. Batters averaging 50+ languish for ages in Ranji and India A before breaking through. Our last great no.3 practically broke the door down with a mountain of runs in First Class to make the slot his own.

Sudarshan's selection feels like the selection committee has gone for flash rather than substance.

Pujara did have a strong backfoot game. It wasn't just the runs he scored in domestic.

That is increasingly a very inaccurate way of estimating if these guys can play international cricket.

What India are increasingly doing is picking guys who they think can handle international level bowling - high pace/bounce , big turn etc based on batsmen's attributes. It's why Gill and KL were backed for so long.

It's also why they will continue to back Sai, and rightly so imo, for quite some time.

The quality of runs/wickets taken in Ranji is highly questionable

ANother inning defeat loading for windies... Oh boy, how bad they are in test cricket... Matching Pakistan, I guess.. Race to the bottom is on for both nations

I think Windies are worse than Pakistan. They just lost a series to Nepal.

I think Windies are associate level currently.

Expecting a declaration after Gill’s 100 or at 500 mark.

ICT generally prefers tests to end quickly so they can have some rest, enjoy with the WAGs.

Pujara did have a strong backfoot game. It wasn't just the runs he scored in domestic.

That is increasingly a very inaccurate way of estimating if these guys can play international cricket.

What India are increasingly doing is picking guys who they think can handle international level bowling - high pace/bounce , big turn etc based on batsmen's attributes. It's why Gill and KL were backed for so long.

It's also why they will continue to back Sai, and rightly so imo, for quite some time.

The quality of runs/wickets taken in Ranji is highly questionable
I think you grossly underestimate Ranji.

Yes there are a questionable pitches and you occasionally get to face pretty poor bowling but it's still an intensely competitive league especially at the Elite level.

Even if I concede that technique is not tested (which I do not) at the domestic level, at the very least, a high average establishes temperament and hunger for runs.

Obviously, the selectors do look for technique which is why the likes of Sarfaraz aren't getting in but it's not like we're so starved for backfoot technique high up the order that we're having to compromise so much on temperament. Jurel's technique is solid, Jagadeesan opens for TN and has been piling up the runs for a couple of seasons now. Yash Dubey opens for MP of late and of course Easwaran's been waiting.

Sudarshan does look stylish against pace but his technique against spin will always leave him vulnerable.

I think you grossly underestimate Ranji.

Yes there are a questionable pitches and you occasionally get to face pretty poor bowling but it's still an intensely competitive league especially at the Elite level.

Even if I concede that technique is not tested (which I do not) at the domestic level, at the very least, a high average establishes temperament and hunger for runs.

Obviously, the selectors do look for technique which is why the likes of Sarfaraz aren't getting in but it's not like we're so starved for backfoot technique high up the order that we're having to compromise so much on temperament. Jurel's technique is solid, Jagadeesan opens for TN and has been piling up the runs for a couple of seasons now. Yash Dubey opens for MP of late and of course Easwaran's been waiting.

Sudarshan does look stylish against pace but his technique against spin will always leave him vulnerable.
A high average in Ranji conceals more than it reveals to be honest. Most of the bowling is at 130 kph and it's against inaccurate bowling.

The tracking data from last year's Duleep Trophy showed how mediocre the level of cricket there was and Ranji is likely far worse than that.

Anshul Kamboj was the leading bowler in Ranji last yearand we saw how completely out of his depth he was in international cricket. Just doesn't have the raw attributes to be an international bowler.

Sai is backed for his ability against high pace and is pretty good against spin as well.

Technique wise, Gill was very poor when he started with barely any footwork but they backed him because he has unreal hand eye and he finally came good in England this year.

I think they are pretty confident they can get Sai to correct his technique to the point where he can be a competent #3 .

This maybe new for India but the Aussies have been selecting players for their ability for ages and not just domestic numbers . And even recently , England have stopped looking at county division 1 numbers alone and are picking guys with a high ceiling instead.

A high average in Ranji conceals more than it reveals to be honest. Most of the bowling is at 130 kph and it's against inaccurate bowling.

The tracking data from last year's Duleep Trophy showed how mediocre the level of cricket there was and Ranji is likely far worse than that.

Anshul Kamboj was the leading bowler in Ranji last yearand we saw how completely out of his depth he was in international cricket. Just doesn't have the raw attributes to be an international bowler.

Sai is backed for his ability against high pace and is pretty good against spin as well.

Technique wise, Gill was very poor when he started with barely any footwork but they backed him because he has unreal hand eye and he finally came good in England this year.

I think they are pretty confident they can get Sai to correct his technique to the point where he can be a competent #3 .

This maybe new for India but the Aussies have been selecting players for their ability for ages and not just domestic numbers . And even recently , England have stopped looking at county division 1 numbers alone and are picking guys with a high ceiling instead.
Lot of pitches in Ranji in last 2 seasons were grassy ...

And that is a problem. There's also the fact that you may have 2 good bowlers to see out and then you can smash the rest.

There is no respite against the best international attacks these days - SENA and no place to hide against their batsmen either.

Expecting a declaration after Gill’s 100 or at 500 mark.

ICT generally prefers tests to end quickly so they can have some rest, enjoy with the WAGs.
Kya bhai kuch bhi, BCCI doesn't allow WAGs anymore aur apna captain seedha sadha banda hai, woh pandya thodi hai:LOL:

Hope one of the top 4 go on to hit a ton. I want Windies to put up a good fight and post 300-350 runs on board.

i think they will get that much. then india will score 250-300 and wi will collapse for 150 on day 4-day 5 pitch.

I want them to get crushed for 100
And then get crushed again for 100 in the second innings

And the same for SA

It’s more fun when we crush opponents. No mercy

Brutal thrashing is fun.

Especially if someone gets hurt. Physically I.e and we see blood. Won’t happen on turners but on spicier pitches we can get to see it.

lanka tour will be interesting. They will play on proper Bunsen. Let’s see how our maharati’s cope with the spin. If they pass that acid test then yea we are ready for anything once again in Asia. We can reinforce our dominance yet again.

Away from home, same thing. It’s more fun when we crush opponents. In their own country. Humiliate them. Break bones etc too.

That’s why 2018 Aus series one was really special. Prime bowling attack. Brutally hurting them everywhere. Fingers, elbow and making them bleed. Bounce them out etc.

And also the recent SA series away from home. The draw was memorable on a very spicy pitch. Destroying them for 55 etc.

i think they will get that much. then india will score 250-300 and wi will collapse for 150 on day 4-day 5 pitch.
I always use kela as a metric. If he scores big then pitch is flat

If he scores big as in 30 plus. That is big for him.

Also sudarshan. If that ipl hack scores freely then it’s flat. He scored 80 or something so yea definitely flat.

Sudharshan looks a tulla. Stick to t20. And odi.

And the same for SA

Brutal thrashing is fun.

Especially if someone gets hurt. Physically I.e and we see blood. Won’t happen on turners but on spicier pitches we can get to see it.

lanka tour will be interesting. They will play on proper Bunsen. Let’s see how our maharati’s cope with the spin. If they pass that acid test then yea we are ready for anything once again in Asia. We can reinforce our dominance yet again.

Away from home, same thing. It’s more fun when we crush opponents. In their own country. Humiliate them. Break bones etc too.

That’s why 2018 Aus series one was really special. Prime bowling attack. Brutally hurting them everywhere. Fingers, elbow and making them bleed. Bounce them out etc.

And also the recent SA series away from home. The draw was memorable on a very spicy pitch. Destroying them for 55 etc.
Extremely distasteful post .

It’s good man. That’s why I like spicy pitches.

Entertainment right

Gladiators fighting it out on the pitch

Cricket is not a gentleman’s game. That is nonsense.

Bowl being hurled at you at over 140 clicks is not a gentleman’s sport.

Players getting hurt by bouncers, bleeding and bruised etc is the most fun part of the game. Nothing beats fiery spells of pace bowlers.

That’s why test cricket is real cricket.

Want to see how we do in nz this time. Has to be revenge for the drubbing at home. Otherwise somebody has to get cut. Heads need to roll if we don’t atleast draw the series there. No Rohit and coolie to inhibit us this time.

It’s good man. That’s why I like spicy pitches.

Entertainment right

Gladiators fighting it out on the pitch

Cricket is not a gentleman’s game. That is nonsense.

Bowl being hurled at you at over 140 clicks is not a gentleman’s sport.

Players getting hurt by bouncers, bleeding and bruised etc is the most fun part of the game. Nothing beats fiery spells of pace bowlers.

That’s why test cricket is real cricket.

Want to see how we do in nz this time. Has to be revenge for the drubbing at home. Otherwise somebody has to get cut. Heads need to roll if we don’t atleast draw the series there. No Rohit and coolie to inhibit us this time.
Why spicy pitches? Is Bumrah not capable to pick wickets on flat pitches?

He did vs England on flat decks

We shall see tomorrow what happens

Spicy pitches because then we can see blood on the pitch

Hard for batsmen to fend off. They can get hurt. Can bowl intimidating lengths.

He did vs England on flat decks

We shall see tomorrow what happens

Spicy pitches because then we can see blood on the pitch

Hard for batsmen to fend off. They can get hurt. Can bowl intimidating lengths.
Jadeja picked 3 today on a flat wicket and outperformed Bumrah and Kuldeep.

Pitch will open up later in the test match. As of now it is easy pitch ot bat on. you can camp on backfoot and wait for turn and play.

Jadeja picked 3 today on a flat wicket and outperformed Bumrah and Kuldeep.
Ok good for him. He is a great bowler though.

We will see what happens. You are acting like jaddu is some scrub lol.

And it’s West Indies. Let’s see against SA but yea I mean we should still smash them too.

Ok good for him. He is a great bowler though.

We will see what happens. You are acting like jaddu is some scrub lol.

And it’s West Indies. Let’s see against SA but yea I mean we should still smash them too.
Jadeja is a test ATG and the best test player of this generation to come from Asian nation. Batting, bowling or fielding- he has mastered them all.

And the same for SA

Brutal thrashing is fun.

Kron bhai kyu itna julm chahte ho West Indies per, waisi hi adhimari team hai.

Yea true. But nothing wrong in thrashing teams. We used to do that on the regular to all teams including England Australia and SA and nz too until that last ba series cause of fat ro and useless coolie

12 year dominance. No one will come close to that level of sheer dominance.

I want us to obliterate SA. Like brutally humiliate them. Like we did in 2020 I think it 2021 at home

And in 2015.

I remember when Prithvi Shaw smacked the WI, these 100s mean nothing honestly.