Indian Fans - Where would you rank this loss?

cricfan967

Striking simlarities to the 2003 WC Final loss... where would you rank this loss in terms of opportunities missed?

I am more disappointed with the team selection. Everyone knew ashwin and jadeja shouldn't be playing. Except the team management.

After that, there's little you can do.

It's not that hurting loss. It's okay. We had a bad day. Pakistan also deserve a win in ICC events somewhere. We have beaten them enough :))

Can't be compared to 2003 World Cup final loss. This team will reach more ICC knockout games in the near future. Just a bad day in the office.

For some reason I am quite happy that Pak has won. It's good for Cricket and most importantly, it's good for Indian Cricket going in to the future. It's about time we get rid of all the old players and non-performers.
Congratulations to Pakistan and it's fans.

For some reason I am quite happy that Pak has won. It's good for Cricket and most importantly, it's good for Indian Cricket going in to the future. It's about time we get rid of all the old players and non-performers.

Very good comments, thank you!

On paper, biggest upset in Indian cricket history after 2007 WC exit, but honestly we have been playing so bad, it is a miracle we are in the finals,so PK deserve it, they have played really well

Worst since 2003.Hated the 2014 too but today we didn't even show up.

I think you guys deserve this victory, on second thought this means all the oldies in our team will go sooner, while hafeez and Malik will stay in ur team.

Any loss is disheartening but it's OK probably we didn't have a good day by any stretch of the imagination. We played poorly and Pakistan played very well and deservedly won the trophy. So congratulations on this fine victory.

If you like to gamble, I tell you I'm your man,
You win some, lose some, it's all the same to me,
The pleasure is to play, makes no difference what you say,...
Motorhead

Congrts to my pak bros..

Obviously disappointed being Indian,but happy for Pakistan.What a story coming from the bottom

Congrats to all friends here

Thank you for the well wishes and hope to see more India-Pakistan in the future.

I am more disappointed with the team selection. Everyone knew ashwin and jadeja shouldn't be playing. Except the team management.

After that, there's little you can do.
Match was done and dusted when Jadeja arrived.

Nice victory for Pakistan. Congrats to all Pakistanis.
This loss was very important, it shows.
1) Kholi's captaincy is quiet poor. There were posters who were very happy when Dhoni left captancy. They were like "Kholi is aggressive, he lovesss pace, he will kick turdlers out of the team." Lol �� Even his field placements were soo wrong. The truth is, he is nothing special as a captain.
2) Ashwin is a poor LOI bowler. Especially on tracks like this
3) Rohit is a FTB.

As far as this loss is concerned. Its painful only because its the first time I am experiencing something like this.

Winning against Pakistan is always painful and to top that it was an ICC Event final that just rubs it very deep i can now feel what pak fans must have felt during 2007 WT20 final or Mohali semi final.

Good approach bro.

It's not that hurting loss. It's okay. We had a bad day. Pakistan also deserve a win in ICC events somewhere. We have beaten them enough :))

Bro its not just a win. This was the FIRST ever final between the sides in an 50 over icc event.

For me the Chennai test vs Pakistan (maybe because i was a 9 yr old kid) and the 2007 World cup exit(maybe because there was a good one month of the tournament left) hurt the most but this one was the worst after 2007 but now I feel ok because we know the team is good but it just had a bad day ..

Just a bad day .... Pak needed this win more than India . India won this Trophy four times I guess, congrats Pak for winning first time.

For me the Chennai test vs Pakistan (maybe because i was a 9 yr old kid) and the 2007 World cup exit(maybe because there was a good one month of the tournament left) hurt the most but this one was the worst after 2007 but now I feel ok because we know the team is good but it just had a bad day ..
Not a bad day dear, we have been garbage for ages now, the other teams are not good enough and that is the only reason we were in Finals.

Just a bad day .... Pak needed this win more than India . India won this Trophy four times I guess, congrats Pak for winning first time.

Twice. Once in 2013 and once in 2002 but in 2002 Trophy was shared btw India and Lanka.

Pakistan record in ODI Finals against India is really good. Starting from a big tournament like Austral-Asia cup...

We also won Nehru Cup in India where 6 teams played...

Not a bad day dear, we have been garbage for ages now, the other teams are not good enough and that is the only reason we were in Finals.

Yups we are not that good a team but maybe this would give us an opportunity to set our team right before the World Cup because now we mostly know how the Conditions would be for an ICC tournament in England ..

This result is good for cricket, great for the Indo-Pak rivalry, which had died. Pakistan might now finally get the mental monkey off their back and beat India in World Cups!

This is the biggest loss in history of Indian cricket to Pakistan...

This even trumps Pakistan's loss to India with Misbah choking it in the end of the t20 world cup..

DA.GREATEST.EVER

Chennai defeat was Painful,

Then Eden 96

Then 2007 Early Exit

Then 2003 WC Finals.

Then the Sachin 175 Match where Australia won.

Now this.

10 years from now India will remember this loss like Pakistan did in 2007 for the inaugral t20 world cup..

10 years, finally the demons have gone

I was seriously hoping that Pandya will take inspiration from Kapil's 175* and pull a miracle. Not go all the way to win (I don't think it was possible after Sharma, Kohli and Dhawan went cheaply) but get us closer - something like 280. Quite upset with Jadeja was triggering the run out.

Congratulations, Pakistan.

10 years from now India will remember this loss like Pakistan did in 2007 for the inaugral t20 world cup..

The World Cup is two years away .. You never know when a team gets an opportunity to get rid of those demons ..

Chennai test defeat against pak.
WC 2003 defeat against australia.
Then this one

The World Cup is two years away .. You never know when a team gets an opportunity to get rid of those demons ..

A final of the major world tournament... I think they are already gone!!!

This is not the world cup, but still has a bigger history than world t20... as it was called the mini world cup before

Doesn't hurt that much, tbh. A good team can have an off day. It used to hurt back in 80s and 90s when we knew a chance to be in the final wont come easily.

We played to Pakistan, deserving champions. Cracking stuff.

With both teams doing well in ODI's you never know if they meet in the final of the next world cup :p but still Pakistan have the bragging rights till the next major knock out encounter ..

These are just one off games and the team that has a really good day at the office will win. Moreover our loi teams have done fairly well for the last decade and I don't see any reason why this loss will overnight change our players. Yes it serves as a really good wake up call for the selectors and the backroom staff to get their act together and move forward.

This is a blessing in disguise and I keep saying that despite this one off loss our team is still one of the very best in the world and will continue being so provided we are a bit more flexible.

Signing off I would like to congratulate the Pakistan Cricket team and their fans. You lot deserved this trophy more than our lot and by actually finally managing to beat us in this game you have managed to keep this rivalry going. So good on you guys.

Having said this, the tough period actually begins here and hope you continue to play in this spirit and move up in the rankings.

Blessing in disguise for kohli he never wanted Ashwin in the side but selectors forced him. Big games runs on the board is key which virat will learn

it's not great. but in a rivalry that was swinging one way- it's a good reignition. the WC semi loss against WI last year was worse.that was an actual choke job.

A final of the major world tournament... I think they are already gone!!!

This is not the world cup, but still has a bigger history than world t20... as it was called the mini world cup before

With both teams doing well in ODI's you never know if they meet in the final of the next world cup :p but still Pakistan have the bragging rights till the next major knock out encounter ..

Its a loss that was long over due. All good streaks come to an end. Dhoni said that 3 years earlier.

I was seriously hoping that Pandya will take inspiration from Kapil's 175* and pull a miracle. Not go all the way to win (I don't think it was possible after Sharma, Kohli and Dhawan went cheaply) but get us closer - something like 280. Quite upset with Jadeja was triggering the run out.

Congratulations, Pakistan.

Jadeja could have sacrificed his wicket too save the batsman who was striking it cleanly but that's too much to ask from a Selfish player like Jaddu.

First he calls for a run, takes two steps forward and when Pandya is in mid-way, runs back to his crease to save his wicket.

He must be rating himself very highly to save himself instead of trying to save Pandya. on wonder the innings folded soon after Pandya departed .

Will India be man enough to play Pakistan now :akhtar

I don't see that happening in the remote future until the political tensions subside which is sad really but needless to say India will still own you coz we have still got the better of the two teams in both the short and long formats lol.

Appreciate the heartfelt comments from the few sensible ones.

However, a massive :lol :lol :lol to [MENTION=141829]geraltofrivia[/MENTION] [MENTION=143627]thehub[/MENTION] [MENTION=134300]Tusker[/MENTION] LOOOL we just smashed the living hell out of you, how do you feel about that? :))) :pakflag2 :@shaz619

for some reason these movie namess are comming to mind --- Bees-Saal-Baad , Eid ka chand :))

Enjoy while it lasts and the scheduled programming returns lol

Funny, how all Indian fan all over the social media saying, India had a bad day etc etc But never said that Pakistan played well.. what an arrogant indian fan! Pakistan well deserved. Good to see Pakistan whopping indian *** in biggest Final loss in icc champions trophy.

for some reason these movie namess are comming to mind --- Bees-Saal-Baad , Eid ka chand :))

Enjoy while it lasts and the scheduled programming returns lol

What about Kabhi Khushi KABHI GHAM :))) [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION]

Funny, how all Indian fan all over the social media saying, India had a bad day etc etc But never said that Pakistan played well.. what an arrogant indian fan! Pakistan well deserved. Good to see Pakistan whopping indian *** in biggest Final loss in icc champions trophy.

Fans of any team always look inward after a loss. It's universal.

The only exceptions are us who transcend boundaries and post on sites like PakPassion. But we're a minority.

What about Kabhi Khushi KABHI GHAM :))) [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION] [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION]

meh after 11-0 or 13-3 ... "abhi aadat si hogayi hai" or "aadat sey majboor" is what comes to mind mostly :70:

Horrible to lose the game such a way. Anyway congrats to Pakistan.they played well. No shAme to accept that they were the better team today.

Fours times? Does the media in India tell you guys that you have won this trophy four times? Serious question.

OK you can continue thinking about movies... cricket ke baray mein waisay bhi sochnay jaisa nahi hai :ashwin

ohh bhai ... no problem with cricket talk ... we got plenty of trophies to talk about and India still faar ahead of Pakistan no matter what . As I said ... Enjoy the occasion ... wont happen again :)

I have seen worse days during the 90s when the defeat in a cricket match really meant something. So this one will not figure anywhere in the ranking, just a bad day. Lost to a better team on the day, no shame.

Had Pakistan lost, would've been second to the 2007 final loss. Opportunities to take India out in a final don't come often.

I have seen worse days during the 90s when the defeat in a cricket match really meant something. So this one will not figure anywhere in the ranking, just a bad day. Lost to a better team on the day, no shame.

I feel the same but that is because we have matured.. From my whatsapp and Facebook a lot of fans young And others are really hurt.. Probably for them this ranks right up there probably the biggest loss as it's a final..

Well they will mature soon I hope and reach the ZEN phase 😎.
These social media butterflies will forget about the loss tomorrow itself and will get indulge in other 'kewl' stuffs unlike the in the 90s where ninja used to cut onions for a week after any defeat. In my whatsapp/fb feeds the hockey win is slowly taking over this defeat, although looks forced.

No, Pk have 2 previous CT wins v India according to cricinfo.

They were not finals. in 2006 i think we got KOd by Windies after beating India. In 2009 we lost the semis. So probably we played India twice in the group games.

This the FINAL on the back of 3 wins in the tourney.

Fours times? Does the media in India tell you guys that you have won this trophy four times? Serious question.

I guess his memory is a bit clouded because of the carnage today.

What do they call it in professional terms?

Fog of War or something.

They were not finals. in 2006 i think we got KOd by Windies after beating India. In 2009 we lost the semis. So probably we played India twice in the group games.

This the FINAL on the back of 3 wins in the tourney.

This was the first ICC 50 over final between them. The 2-2 were all group games?

It was a phentee and a half!:afridi Being a final it would probably be the greatest defeat for them. We beat them by a far greater margin then what they did us earlier on in the tournament. With them being reigning champs we also took the trophy from them that must really hurt.

Twice. Once in 2013 and once in 2002 but in 2002 Trophy was shared btw India and Lanka.

Pakistan record in ODI Finals against India is really good. Starting from a big tournament like Austral-Asia cup...

We also won Nehru Cup in India where 6 teams played...

Thanks for correcting ... Looks like Pak fans are going overboard in PP with chest pumping comments. Good on you guys, enjoy the victory .. congrats Again :19:

Of course we are. You guys do the same when defeating us! There is nothing overboard in what Pak fans are saying after all we won the tournament. Thanks for the congrats!

While the loss is disappointing, I am genuinely happy for Pak fans and the Pak cricket team. I already wrote in a previous thread that I hoped Pakistan would win the CT final as it would be a big boost to their cricket and that the world needs a strong Pakistan cricket side to make the game better overall. It would be heart breaking to see Pakistan go the way WI are currently going. Very impressed with the aggression shown by Amir and the bowlers and the opener who scored the 100..

Memory of 2007 will remain apart of our history, but this win certainly levels it up.