Indian Farmers Protests

Maybe off-topic, but since so many people are gathered at one place, are there noe fears for Covid-19 spreading rapidly?

Covid 19 restrictions has been lift up in India. Life is going same as pre covid era.

Haldia: Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed a gathering at Haldia in Purba Medinipore district of West Bengal on Sunday evening ahead of Assembly election in the state. "I feel blessed to be able to visit the holy land of Midnapore...," the PM said in Bengali, beginning his speech.

Making a veiled reference to the ******* shared by Swedish climate change activist Greta Thunberg while extending support to farmers' protest, PM Modi said that "many international conspiracies being hatched to defame India are being revealed... Conspirators are attacking tea produced in India and even Yoga. Have you heard anything from didi (CM Mamata Banerjee) over it? Many who were elected by people for decades are either silent or part of conspiracies."

"In Bengal, if you ask didi about your right then she gets frustrated. She even gets annoyed if slogans of 'Bharat Mata ki Jai' are raised," the PM said taking a jibe at CM Banerjee.

"In the first year of Mamata government, it became clear what Bengal had got was not 'parivartan' but revival of the Left and that too with interest. Revival of the Left meant revival of corruption, crime, violence, and attacks on democracy," he added.

"TMC has made many back-to-back fouls including misgovernance, violence, corruption, and attacks on beliefs. People of Bengal are watching and very soon Bengal is going to show 'Ram card' to TMC."
Speaking on the TMC MLAs joining the BJP, he said: "Those who were with them today they are saying 'Ram Ram' to them and 'Jai Sri Ram' with us,"

"In Bengal, our fight is with TMC but we also need to be careful of their hidden friends. Left, Congress and TMC are involved in match mixing behind the curtains. In Delhi, they meet and discuss politics. In Kerala, Congress and Left have made a deal to loot the state for five years each," PM Modi said.

CM Banerjee, however, gave the PM's event a skip, saying that she felt “insulted” at the Victoria Memorial event during PM Modi’s visit last month.

Timesnow

1. Have they converted to Hinduism? Haven't heard of such a thing happening.

2. Dont people inherit their father's surname and lineage every where, except a few exceptions?

1. I mean if he’s identifying as a hindu then he must have converted (or might have been to begin with). Why are you expecting that there would have been some ceremony with video evidence to show the world that that happened.. why can’t word be enough.

2. Yes name is different. Religion can be anything. My question was more in the sense that is it like a certain sect of Judaism that one can’t convert to Hinduism unless father also Hindu.

Its difficult to answer about Hinduism because it is more of a guidelines than a religion. For example, if we want to see from religion perspective, hindus have multiple deities but there are branch where it is monotheism and worshipping idol is a great sin (kinda like abrahamic religion).

There's no "conversion" process since in ancient India, all tribe religion were together in unity called as Hinduism though that doesn't mean those branches are exactly alike. You are free to worship the way you want.

Secondly, Since it is a patriarchal society, the children generally bears the religion of the father. But that's by default due to structure of the society and has no relationship with the lineage of the religion itself.

Abrahamic religions are more structured and hence strict requirements/guidelines unlike Hinduism where the rules actually varies depending upon which stream you are following.

The crux of my question is that can Rahul Gandhi not be hindu just because his grandfather from fathers side was not born as hindu? That is what cjoshila seems to be implying

What is the gist of the matter can someone summarise this briefly [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

I'm biased towards the bill and biased against BJP, so my take would be along those lines.

Issue is two fold : Protests against the bills by farmers from Punjab,Haryana(majority) they want all the farm laws re-appealed and they believe MSP and socialism is the way to go(tbf its biased towards these two states, existing laws so they want to keep it that way where Corporations aren't allowed).

Issue against BJP: the way they are doing propaganda against the protests like they usually do, calling it names etc but tbf to them they have spoken multiple times to farmers but the demands keep changing, one of the terrible demand is to allow burning of crops which causes lot of pollution.

My take:
I want the bill to be passed, socialism is the curse India suffers from.

Apparently the superbowl commercial in California is gonna show the farmer protest. incoming triggered bhakts lol.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Here’s the Super Bowl ad featuring the Farmers Protest<br><br>If you haven’t heard about it yet, now is the time to learn. It’s an issue of injustice that affects all of us. <a href="https://t.co/a0WRjIAzqF">pic.twitter.com/a0WRjIAzqF</a></p>— Simran Jeet Singh (@simran) <a href="https://twitter.com/simran/status/1358563007018766337?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Amazing utilizing the most capitalist societal concept of advertisement in the most capitalist sport due to ads in the world to put an advertisement supporting socialist cause :))

My take:
I want the bill to be passed, socialism is the curse India suffers from.

Dont you think agriculture is a special industry from that perspective.

US which is the most capitalistic society in the world has tons of subsidies and socialist policies for the agriculture sector

Dont you think agriculture is a special industry from that perspective.

US which is the most capitalistic society in the world has tons of subsidies and socialist policies for the agriculture sector

No I don't.. plus BJP is allowing both to remain, they only want Mandis to remain. US has enough capitalistic farm laws which allows corporations.

No I don't.. plus BJP is allowing both to remain, they only want Mandis to remain. US has enough capitalistic farm laws.

US farm laws aren’t very capitalistic tho.

In fact US actually buys wheat at inflated prices (sort of a MSP) and then since there are no international buyers at that high price they just dump it into the ocean. In free market those farmers would be out of business

The Mandis will be open where Govnt will buy the bigger issue as per Farm unions are:

When it comes to “marketing” — especially dismantling of the monopoly of APMCs — farmers, especially in Punjab and Haryana, aren’t very convinced about the “freedom of choice to sell to anyone and anywhere” argument.

The reason for this is simple: Much of government procurement at minimum support prices (MSP) — of paddy, wheat and increasingly pulses, cotton, groundnut and mustard — happens in APMC mandis. In a scenario where more and more trading moves out of the APMCs, these regulated market yards will lose revenues. “They may not formally shut, but it would become like BSNL versus Jio. And if the government stops buying, we will be left with only the big corporates to sell to,” said a Panipat (Haryana)-based farmer

https://indianexpress.com/article/explained/farmers-big-concern-and-what-govt-could-negotiate-7073291/

These two women fighting for farmers rights lost their loved ones to Khalistanis yet the brain dead, shameless sanghis will call them Khalistanis.

khalistani is not a slur. just like sanghi. But agreed, it is easy to prove the protestors demands wrong instead of trying to label them based on the fringe. but we sanghis are known for own goals.

The crux of my question is that can Rahul Gandhi not be hindu just because his grandfather from fathers side was not born as hindu? That is what cjoshila seems to be implying

Raul Puppu does not have a religion, he is so beyond human that the entity we humans called GOD would struggle to explain his existence. Raul Puppu is one of a kind in every way.

• rahul-gandhi_5f12c4520dd94.jpg
    rahul-gandhi_5f12c4520dd94.jpg
    48 KB · Views: 183

US farms are very muh corporatised most of the family farms ended in 60s, only very big farms survived and they too are struggling know a days

Know it's "uberised" farming where corporates control farmers under contracts but farmers can't operate on thier own if they do they're out of the buisness- meaning corporate pay tham as bad as they possibly can

Look up documentaries on these issues it destroyed.generations of rural areas in US, very sad stories coming out of our rural areas because of corporate farming filling controlling farmers

In a scenario where more and more trading moves out of the APMCs, these regulated market yards will lose revenues. “They may not formally shut, but it would become like BSNL versus Jio. And if the government stops buying, we will be left with only the big corporates to sell to,” said a Panipat (Haryana)-based farmer

This is fascism which no one is speaking about. The farmers who are protesting are worried that if other farmers move to sell outside the mandi system, it will weaken the mandi system which they prefer. So others should not get a choice. It is like some people complaining against a new cricket forum, that if it is not closed down, many posters will move to the new forum and our membership will reduce.

If this is not fascism, what is?

Image is built based on diplomacy/ Expats and not events in the country, I remember seeing old American TV shows and what India and Africa were referred to as, all this because how the world was aligned then.

That might be a little disrespectful image but is still a soft image. They didnt see India as some serious power but as a soft nation.

India’s image only improved once it came into US bracket and IT nothing to do with decades of being built etc, look at how Indira Gandhi was referred to as by Republicans or Nehru in the Kennedy administration.

Thats a wrong assessment in my view. India was always seen as a big democracy, land of snake charmers, simple people, sadhus etc. And this image was projected and built over the decades through literature, bollywood, foreign policy etc. Like i said, world might not have taken India seriously in the past but soft image is something different than that.

Yoga diplomacy will stay along with India’s image nothing to do with Modi/BJP but due to Indians abroad, I take Yoga classes sometimes and white people can chant random Yogic mantra better than most Hindus.. Modi has absolutely nothing to do with that , white people just take up yoga, Yoga pants vegetarianism etc...

This is all part of the soft image building. And has been at least in the periphery over the decades. The white people you speak of didnt suddenly wake up one day and decided to learn those mantras. Kindly read about how the diaspora is used by nation states around the globe. And modi has tried to tap into the indian diaspora like no other leader before him did. If you are denying that modi is trying to cash in on and even further the soft image of India, then i dont know what to say to you. He is failing at it due to his domestic policies though but the gullible white man might fall for it.

How do you know?

Why are there no protests in the rice bowls of Southern India or even in agro-rich states like Maharashtra where thousands of farmers committed suicide while the so-called 'secular' governments looked the other way?

Why aren't farmers in the leftist bastions of Kerala and WB protesting?

Far from millions, only a handful of predominantly Punjabi farmers seem to be protesting, and that too by attacking policemen and removing the national flag from the Red Fort. It was anything but a 'peaceful protest' by poor farmers. No 'poor farmer' would ever risk his life and limb in that fashion.

Hence the suspicion that Khalistani elements were involved.

Nobody removed your national flag.
I used the term millions because thats what is being reported by the media.
The protests have been 99% peaceful apart from that one day and even that day the police started the violence.

You got proof buddy ? or Is this one of your only 200 Kashmiri Pandits were ever killed like statements lol...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> on international personalities who have spoken about <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FarmersProtest?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FarmersProtest</a> :<br><br>We talk about <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FDI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FDI</a> but now a new FDI has come to fore- 'Foreign Destructive Ideology'. We have to protect our nation from this form of FDI. <a href="https://t.co/cHECCHfni4">pic.twitter.com/cHECCHfni4</a></p>— Live Law (@LiveLawIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/LiveLawIndia/status/1358661203728289794?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 8, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

1. Gotra was attributed to people from other local unorganized religion while bringing them under the umbrella of Hinduism or they have merged into it. But that doesn't mean the religion itself was the starting point. The lineage takes more precedence.

2. There are different prophets who have spread vaishnavism in different parts of India in different times. Especially in north east India, we have sects where idol worship is strictly prohibited. Vaishnavism doesn't have a uniform rulling in the first place.

1. Wrong. Gotra comes from your ancient lineage.

2. There are no prophets in Vaishnavism. Hindus dont have any prophets. How can one be Vaishnav if he doesn't worship vishnu?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rUrDjLiJ6Ts" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

... Ouchh used Congis to wreck Congis.. Yikes..

You got proof buddy ? or Is this one of your only 200 Kashmiri Pandits were ever killed like statements lol...

Anybody who followed the sequence of events knows this. When the farmers were marching, police resorted to firing tear gas shells. This is on video and it was just the beginning of the morning when no violence had taken place.
The 200 odd number is mentioned by your Indian agencies, not by me. Go complain to them if you have a problem. Who knows, They might listen to you and change the number to 200k given the state of propaganda in India these days.

Anybody who followed the sequence of events knows this. When the farmers were marching, police resorted to firing tear gas shells. This is on video and it was just the beginning of the morning when no violence had taken place.
The 200 odd number is mentioned by your Indian agencies, not by me. Go complain to them if you have a problem. Who knows, They might listen to you and change the number to 200k given the state of propaganda in India these days.

Ok cool, so just as I thought, you are just talking on minimal evidence.

Thanks buddy...

P.S. 200 is mentioned by Indian agencies ? Got a link to this claim ? I would like to read, as I sure havent heard of this story.

Ok cool, so just as I thought, you are just talking on minimal evidence.

Thanks buddy...
Did you follow the sequence of events? Clearly not. Everyone who followed it knows who started the violence.
This article talks about it:
https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.thewire.in/article/rights/farmers-protest-delhi-police-violence/amp

P.S. 200 is mentioned by Indian agencies ? Got a link to this claim ? I would like to read, as I sure havent heard of this story.

I'm not going to keep digging out links for you. Do your own research. From the top of my mind, it was a report by the J&K government which said that 219 pandits were killed in the 1989-2004 duration. Even the pandit's own private organisations claim the number to be no more than 399. This is the generally accepted range. As opposed to 5 lakh kashmiri and jammu muslims killed by hindu forces and countless exiled since 1947 alone. The difference is of a sea and a bucket. And the difference between us and you is that we acknowledge both the sea and the bucket while you think the bucket outweighs the sea.

LOL What ??? I asked for a link to back what you are saying and I get the drifting RA RA RA BLAH BLAH... So you cant provide the link for the Indian agency claiming only 200 Pandits died :))..

I know you are thick but did you read a word i just wrote? Seeing that you are perfectly able to type gibberish, it seems that your fingers are fine enough to help you search the numbers yourself. You are in the wrong place if you want people to spoonfeed you everything.

Nice drifting again, however from googling since you cant back yourself, Wiki states:

The local organisation of Hindus in Kashmir, Kashmir Pandit Sangharsh Samiti (KPSS) after carrying out a survey in 2008 and 2009, said that 399 Kashmiri Hindus were killed by insurgents from 1990 to 2011 with 75% of them being killed during the first year of the Kashmiri insurgency, and that during the last 20 years, about 650 Hindus have been killed in the valley.[106][107] Kashmiri Pandit Sangharsh Samiti, estimates 357 Hindus were killed in Kashmir in 1990.[108]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exodus_of_Kashmiri_Hindus

1. I mean if he’s identifying as a hindu then he must have converted (or might have been to begin with). Why are you expecting that there would have been some ceremony with video evidence to show the world that that happened.. why can’t word be enough.

2. Yes name is different. Religion can be anything. My question was more in the sense that is it like a certain sect of Judaism that one can’t convert to Hinduism unless father also Hindu.

1. Saying i am a Hindu, because of obvious political reasons doesn't make anyone hindu. There is no way Rahul Gandhi is a hindu. Mother a catholic, Father a parsi. Where is he Hindu?

2. Afaik there is no process to convert to Hinduism. But you can revert to Hinduism.

Nice drifting again, however from googling since you cant back yourself, Wiki states:

The local organisation of Hindus in Kashmir, Kashmir Pandit Sangharsh Samiti (KPSS) after carrying out a survey in 2008 and 2009, said that 399 Kashmiri Hindus were killed by insurgents from 1990 to 2011 with 75% of them being killed during the first year of the Kashmiri insurgency, and that during the last 20 years, about 650 Hindus have been killed in the valley.[106][107] Kashmiri Pandit Sangharsh Samiti, estimates 357 Hindus were killed in Kashmir in 1990.[108]

Who quotes wikipedia? Its not always accurate and I wouldn't past someone in india altering the actual facts. Its happened in the past.

You have just killed your argument by using this source :))) Lets use this source of yours now to see the clearer picture.

Just above the paragraph that you quoted:

"According to a Jammu and Kashmir government report, 219 members of the Hindus community out of total 1400 Hindus, had been killed in the region between 1989 and 2004 but none thereafter."

:)) Were you blind to this? Obviously yes. This is exactly what i am claiming. An Indian organisation giving the 219 number.

Now, even if we take the 650 number, do you not see how ridiculous it is to equate this with lakhs of Kashmiri muslims killed by hindu forces? Do you know what your propaganda machinery claims? They say lakhs of pandits were killed. Its an absolutely sickening lie and forces us to play this ugly game of numbers. I always avoid it because a life is a life and we should value all lives. Reducing people to a number is always a bad thing. But the lies from India forces us to stoop to their level.

From the same source you quoted:

Whilst some Hindu organisations such as Panun Kashmir etc. have accused Kashmiri Muslims of genocide and mass-rape, during the times of exodus,[110] authors have labeled the claims as "exaggerated".[110] Journalist Swaminathan Aiyar considered the exodus to be ethnic cleansing, but remarked that the 1947 Jammu massacres against Muslims was "in sheer numbers and horrors, [...] much worse".[111] Scholars Mridu Rai[112] and A. Evans[113] have outright rejected the claims of genocide.

Some scholars have also accused the Indian state and Media of utilizing the experience of Hindus as a tool of propaganda.[114] In February 1993, a notable Indian magazine launched an investigation upon a list of 23 shrines provided by Bharatiya Janata Party and found that the claims of alleged desecration of scores of Hindu shrines in Kashmir, widely perpetuated by the Indian media and right-wing Hindu politicians, were "false".[115][113]

Further, whilst significantly higher figures of death, in thousands, have been reported by certain Hindu-organisations, scholars have rejected the claims, instead choosing to roughly rely upon the official figures.[113] According to the government of Jammu and Kashmir 219 Kashmiri Hindus were killed and 24,202 families migrated out of the valley.[116]

This was an own goal from you but this is the ultimate outcome no matter how you approach this topic. Your narrative is decimated and you stand exposed, and mustn't I say yet again

1. Saying i am a Hindu, because of obvious political reasons doesn't make anyone hindu. There is no way Rahul Gandhi is a hindu. Mother a catholic, Father a parsi. Where is he Hindu?

2. Afaik there is no process to convert to Hinduism. But you can revert to Hinduism.

Interesting , i didn't know Hinduism only allowed you to be Hindu if your father or mother isn't, very inclusive people aren't they. :ds

1. Rajiv Gandhi wasn’t Hindu? As per internet sources he is due to mother

2. What’s revert in this context? Can Rahul revert ?

1. Rajiv Gandhi wasn’t Hindu? As per internet sources he is due to mother

2. What’s revert in this context? Can Rahul revert ?

1. How can rajiv be hindu? He cant inherit his mother's gotra and lineage. That doesn't happen. Unless he was adopted by his grandfather he cant be a hindu. Ofcourse they all professed to be hindu for political reasons.

2. If someone was a hindu but adopted another religion, he or his descendants can revert back to being hindus. Lots of muslims today say they are rajputs. Rajputs were ofcourse a hindu clan. These people can revert back to being hindus if they want.

Or one can become hindu by marrying a hindu, though that is a very complicated process, which includes adoption and a lot of other things.

How would someone in the USA revert to hinduism? Let's take the example of a Dalit who's family converted to Christianity and moved to the USA and who has become a very successful civil engineer. If he reverted and moved back to India, what would he be seen as? A Dalit or something else?

I direct this question also to [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] as I know he has professed willingness to share knowledge on the process in earlier posts.

How would someone in the USA revert to hinduism? Let's take the example of a Dalit who's family converted to Christianity and moved to the USA and who has become a very successful civil engineer. If he reverted and moved back to India, what would he be seen as? A Dalit or something else?

I direct this question also to [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] as I know he has professed willingness to share knowledge on the process in earlier posts.

A person do not have to have a caste to convert to Hinduism. He/She can be an Arya Samaji. Many Muslims who convert to Hinduism follow that path.

1. Wrong. Gotra comes from your ancient lineage.

2. There are no prophets in Vaishnavism. Hindus dont have any prophets. How can one be Vaishnav if he doesn't worship vishnu?

1. Lineage and religion may not Co incide always. That was my point. You can't interchange them with each other in all cases.

2. There are prophets in other parts of India who has spread the message. They worship vishnu as infinity and are forbidden to worship as idol. For example, shankaris don't attend Puja due to idol worship.

That might be a little disrespectful image but is still a soft image. They didnt see India as some serious power but as a soft nation.

Thats a wrong assessment in my view. India was always seen as a big democracy, land of snake charmers, simple people, sadhus etc. And this image was projected and built over the decades through literature, bollywood, foreign policy etc. Like i said, world might not have taken India seriously in the past but soft image is something different than that.

This is all part of the soft image building. And has been at least in the periphery over the decades. The white people you speak of didnt suddenly wake up one day and decided to learn those mantras. Kindly read about how the diaspora is used by nation states around the globe. And modi has tried to tap into the indian diaspora like no other leader before him did. If you are denying that modi is trying to cash in on and even further the soft image of India, then i dont know what to say to you. He is failing at it due to his domestic policies though but the gullible white man might fall for it.

I think you need to read some NY times articles of 1980s (regarding Kashmir, Punjab) and also see some old news (youtube) as to how India was perceived in the west, I feel you are very mistaken.. India’s image is not coz of govnt but inspite of it.

The pro India publication only started after Clinton and 1991 Liberalization even then reputed magazines like Wired had such terrible negative stereotypes for Indians on the COVER till as late as 2002-2003.

In the last few years- since 2005 while Indian IT does get lot of negative news its somewhat positive esp coz Cnbc, bloomberg report them and so many Indian expats abroad promoting the culture.

Again as I said 10 years from now we will know.

1. Lineage and religion may not Co incide always. That was my point. You can't interchange them with each other in all cases.

2. There are prophets in other parts of India who has spread the message. They worship vishnu as infinity and are forbidden to worship as idol. For example, shankaris don't attend Puja due to idol worship.

1. How do you claim the gotra system of hindus and not the religion and vice versa?

2. Vishnu worship in itself means you are giving a form. The form of mahavishnu.

I think you need to read some NY times articles of 1980s (regarding Kashmir, Punjab) and also see some old news (youtube) as to how India was perceived in the west, I feel you are very mistaken.. India’s image is not coz of govnt but inspite of it.

The pro India publication only started after Clinton and 1991 Liberalization even then reputed magazines like Wired had such terrible negative stereotypes for Indians on the COVER till as late as 2002-2003.

In the last few years- since 2005 while Indian IT does get lot of negative news its somewhat positive esp coz Cnbc, bloomberg report them and so many Indian expats abroad promoting the culture.

Again as I said 10 years from now we will know.

I disagree with you and i have made it clear why. However, i am open to revise my views. I'll look further into it.

US is pro or anti something depending on their interests, not whether there is democracy or dictatorship, harmony or human rights violations.

A person do not have to have a caste to convert to Hinduism. He/She can be an Arya Samaji. Many Muslims who convert to Hinduism follow that path.

Now of course I am going to have to ask what is an Arya Samaji?

Anyway maybe we need to have some dedicated threads for hinduism as don't want to deflect the topic too far from it's main point.

New Delhi: Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury on Monday said that personalities like Sachin Tendulkar and Lata Mangeshkar are being misled over the ongoing farmers' protest.

Speaking in Lok Sabha, Chowdhury further asked if the country is so weak that it is considering an 18-year-old-girl (referring to climate activist Greta Thunberg) an enemy for backing protesting farmers.

"Celebrities like Sachin Tendulkar and Lata Mangeshkar being misled. Is our country so weak that an 18-year-old-girl (Greta Thunberg) is being considered an enemy for speaking in favour of the protesting farmers?" Chowdhury said in the lower house of Parliament

Several Indian celebrities and personalities, including cricket icon Tendulkar and legendary singer Mangeshkar recently came out in support of the government on social media using hashtags #IndiaTogether and #IndiaAgainstPropaganda following tweets by American pop star Rihanna and Thunberg supporting farmers.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi earlier today warned the country against the new FDI -- "Foreign Destructive Ideology", referring to the statements from international celebrities on the ongoing farmers' protests.

Speaking in the Rajya Sabha during the Motion of Thanks on President's address, he said, “ The country is progressing and we are talking about FDI but I have noticed a new FDI has emerged. We have to protect the nation from this new FDI. We need Foreign Direct Investment but the new FDI is 'Foreign Destructive Ideology', we have to protect ourselves from it.”

Thousands of farmers, mostly from Punjab, Haryana and western Uttar Pradesh, have been protesting at several border points of the national capital for over two months, demanding repeal of three agriculture laws.

The Centre has held several rounds of formal talks with the representatives of farmers to resolve the issue over the farm laws, but failed to achieve any concrete solution with the unions sticking to their main demand for the repeal of the legislations.

At the 11th round of talks last month, the Centre urged farmers to reconsider their offer of putting the three farm laws on hold for 1-1.5 years, but the farmers turned down their proposal. A decision on the next round of talks with farmers has not been taken yet.

How much US media reaches India?

CNBC, bloomberg .. Please don’t forget all these Moody and S&P .. the influence is very different and very strong.

Indian BIZ takes it seriusly.. I remember all BJP supporters sharing negative cover of Manmohan Singh IIRC on Time Magazine..

Even the right wing Hindutva mouth pieces quote American sources at times.

New Delhi: Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury on Monday said that personalities like Sachin Tendulkar and Lata Mangeshkar are being misled over the ongoing farmers' protest.

Speaking in Lok Sabha, Chowdhury further asked if the country is so weak that it is considering an 18-year-old-girl (referring to climate activist Greta Thunberg) an enemy for backing protesting farmers.

"Celebrities like Sachin Tendulkar and Lata Mangeshkar being misled. Is our country so weak that an 18-year-old-girl (Greta Thunberg) is being considered an enemy for speaking in favour of the protesting farmers?" Chowdhury said in the lower house of Parliament

Several Indian celebrities and personalities, including cricket icon Tendulkar and legendary singer Mangeshkar recently came out in support of the government on social media using hashtags #IndiaTogether and #IndiaAgainstPropaganda following tweets by American pop star Rihanna and Thunberg supporting farmers.

ROLF :))):))):))):)))

Pappu army now asking to probe Bharat Ratna Recipients.
And Maharashtra government to probe Lata, Sachin, others over tweets .. LOL

Shame on siculars.. get well soon :))

Maharashtra govt wants to probe 91 year old Bharat Ratna Lata Mangeshkar for this tweet.

:facepalm

Pesudo siculars and useless lieberals ..lol

Don"t let the BJP terrorists tell you otherwise, Sikh farmers are losing their minimum guaranteed prices for argricultural produce. This is the crux of the matter.

The new policies will ensure Modi's government will pay to the highest bidder, ooopps, the highest Hindu in power.

Don"t let the BJP terrorists tell you otherwise, Sikh farmers are losing their minimum guaranteed prices for argricultural produce. This is the crux of the matter.

The new policies will ensure Modi's government will pay to the highest bidder, ooopps, the highest Hindu in power.

yeah, the middleman who has been sucking on the blood of farmers should be allowed to suck more blood because he offers minimum price to the farmers :facepalm:

So basically what the protestors are saying is that we want to be minimum wage puppies for ever and we never want to come out of the shadow of the leeches who are royally looting farmers hard work.

Some great logic from you sir. Its simple. If a multi national company comes and wants to buy the wheat for peanuts, do not sell them. Who ever offers the highest price, sell it to them. That is how open market works.

Your post is shameful as you are trying to give religious angle to it. What do you mean highest Hindu in power? The cabinet consists of people from all religions and castes. Come out of the gutter religious mentality.

Maharashtra govt wants to probe 91 year old Bharat Ratna Lata Mangeshkar for this tweet.

:facepalm

Pesudo siculars and useless lieberals ..lol

Lol Shiv Sena is as Liberal as VHP .. fascist offshoot of BJP can’t change its color just because its in opposition to BJP.

Lol thats not how you become Liberal. If BJP sides with communists (1989) it won’t become Liberal just opportunistic like Shiv Sena.

The fabric of Shiv Sena will always be Right wing conservative

Thats not true. Politicians and political parties never change sides, form alliances with former foes or grasp at opportunites that clash with their own core ideals just for their own benefit.

Mia Khalifa coming for Mrs. Jonas and Indian nationalists lol

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I realized it’s inconceivable for us to understand how one can so vehemently claim the largest protest EVER, in HISTORY, is all paid actors, but India has over 1 BILLION PEOPLE, and we can’t fathom that... (It tallies up to about the same amount of insane QAnon believers tho &#55357;&#56877;)</p>— Mia K. (@miakhalifa) <a href="https://twitter.com/miakhalifa/status/1358875605979209729?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 8, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Is Mrs. Jonas going to chime in at any point? I’m just curious. This is very much giving me shakira during the Beirut devastation vibes. Silence.</p>— Mia K. (@miakhalifa) <a href="https://twitter.com/miakhalifa/status/1358500836343615492?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I realized it’s inconceivable for us to understand how one can so vehemently claim the largest protest EVER, in HISTORY, is all paid actors, but India has over 1 BILLION PEOPLE, and we can’t fathom that... (It tallies up to about the same amount of insane QAnon believers tho )</p>— Mia K. (@miakhalifa) <a href="https://twitter.com/miakhalifa/status/1358875605979209729?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 8, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Is Mrs. Jonas going to chime in at any point? I’m just curious. This is very much giving me shakira during the Beirut devastation vibes. Silence.</p>— Mia K. (@miakhalifa) <a href="https://twitter.com/miakhalifa/status/1358500836343615492?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Second tweet is really stupid. Shakira’s father’s grandparents were Lebanese and then migrated to two different countries (US and then Colombia). She has zero links to Lebanon at this point.

Also she def seems to be encouraged to do this. I get ‘why are we not talking about this?” Tweet but this isn’t looking genuine.

Swarna Bharat Party but there are semi Liberals- AAP, Congress, CPI, NCP

By semi liberal you mean they are semi intolerant? How did AAP handle internal dissent. Congress is an umbrella term, as the party has changed its shape with time. The congress before 1947 was closer to present day BJP than present day congress, so you mean the congress under Sonia, right?

Second tweet is really stupid. Shakira’s father’s grandparents were Lebanese and then migrated to two different countries (US and then Colombia). She has zero links to Lebanon at this point.

Also she def seems to be encouraged to do this. I get ‘why are we not talking about this?” Tweet but this isn’t looking genuine.

Actually she and Lebanese are right to be disappointed because Shakira has long used Lebanese culture including music and dance in her own music and performances, she has even been to Beirut and talks about her Lebanese heritage so in a way she used Lebanese culture and her heritage for her career but when they were faced with the worse disaster in their recent history she was nowhere to be seen, didn't say a word or donate money, even western celebrities with zero connection to Lebanon did more. Mia herself is American born and raised.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I realized it’s inconceivable for us to understand how one can so vehemently claim the largest protest EVER, in HISTORY, is all paid actors, but India has over 1 BILLION PEOPLE, and we can’t fathom that... (It tallies up to about the same amount of insane QAnon believers tho &#55357;&#56877;)</p>— Mia K. (@miakhalifa) <a href="https://twitter.com/miakhalifa/status/1358875605979209729?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 8, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Post independence, one of the biggest protest was CAA.

The farmers protest is not even near because out of all states, just 3 are participating. The student unions are also not a part of it and stayed away. The farmers from other states are also not under the protest umbrella.

Can someone summarize this for me? From what I've heard, mixed with my own opinion, the protests are stupid. That doesn't mean that some of the treatment they've gotten isn't wrong though.

Having seen some Bollywood war movies it is to be noticed how they always glorify the Sikh's as almost being superhuman! This is firstly their way to pacify the Sikh community and keep them happy so that they stop demanding Khalistan. They commonly show an Indian Sikh man in love with a Pakistani Muslim lady to please the Sikh's at the expense of upsetting the Pakistanis. Some years back Pak released "Larki Punjaban" where the hero was a Pak Muslim and heroine an Indian Sikh, that was enough to upset the Sikh community and upset Indian's as a whole. Pak Sikh community did at the time promise to speak to their Indian coreligionist to end this blasphemy!

Every community which thinks itself as a martial race has this problem. Trapped by the image of honour and glory. pathans, rajputs, sikhs.

I agree. However, in the case of the Sikh's it is also a means to stop the Khalistan movement by overrating their ability. Normally it is Hindu movie makers who glorify the so called Sikh bravery where Sunny Deol kills a zillion Pakistanis on his own. Other races you mentioned are not fighting for a separate country.

It is not just hindu movie makers, but punjabi hindu movie makers. Some of them subtly mock them by showing them as comedians and a prop for the main guy, others take it to the other extreme in lionizing them. Also why don't you see bollywood trying to glorify kashmiris?

Coz Kashmiris and Indian Muslim's as a whole are afraid of the Hindutva brigade. Hindu Punjabis make such movies because they sell making them money in the process. We know that Indian Muslim's generally never speak against Hindutva or they will be called Pakistanis.

Yeah lol

Lol thats not how you become Liberal. If BJP sides with communists (1989) it won’t become Liberal just opportunistic like Shiv Sena.

The fabric of Shiv Sena will always be Right wing conservative

Lol. SS was right wing conservative till balasaheb was alive.

By joining congress and NCP and agreeing to their agenda, they have moved to center left.

Join protest else pay fine, face social boycott: Punjab panchayats to farmers

n order to strengthen their ongoing protest against the three farm laws after the violence that broke out in New Delhi on Republic Day, farmers in parts of Punjab have taken help from local panchayats to rope in people for the protest.

In the latest, some panchayats in Bathinda and Mansa have warned that farmers' families who are not joining the protest will be fined and may also face social boycott.

These panchayats have come up with their own rule of 'one family, one protester'.

In Kotbhaktu panchayat, families who fail to join the protest and send one member to Delhi within a week would face social boycott.

The village panchayat has asked the protesters, especially the youth, to remain peaceful and vigilant, and ensure at least one member from their family joins the farmers in Delhi.

"All families have unanimously accepted the call and each family will send at least one member to the protest on a rational basis. Those refusing to go will have to pay a pine of Rs 300 per day," chief of Kotbakhtu panchayat Sukhwinder Kaur said.

Meanwhile, some panchayats in Bhatinda and Mansa have also asked non-farming to join the protest.

In these areas, announcements are being made from village gurdwaras and in panchayat meetings to tell farmers that their protest is being derailed by government agencies.

More than a dozen villages in Mansa district have imposed a fine of Rs 1,500 on families who don't send at least one family member to join the protest.

The panchayats are also pooling village tractors and collecting money for fuel and other expenses.

Some panchayats have also assured tractor owners that they will pay the damages in case the vehicle meets with an accident.

In neighbouring Haryana, where the Khap panchayats rule the roost, these associations are also mobilising farmers' for the protests. Many panchayats have asked farmers to join the protest in large numbers.

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www....-protest-punjab-panchayats-1764895-2021-02-01

What kind of protest is this? People being forced and threatened to join protests. This tells you that the protests are being artificially created.

What if others start boycott of the protestors?

Farm protests: Indo-Canadians get ‘threat calls’ for supporting India’s stance

From the Greater Toronto Area to Metro Vancouver and Calgary and across Canada, members of the Indo-Canadian community are being targeted with intimidating calls including threats of sexual violence against family members. Their crime? Questioning the rationale behind the ongoing farmers’ protests in India and opposing the Khalistani involvement in the movement.

Among the victims are two persons living in Brampton, a suburb of Toronto. Mohan, who did not want his full name to be revealed because of fears of personal security, said he received nearly 70 threatening calls over the period of one week, after he commented on a Facebook post. “These are abusive, threatening, full of religious hate. They include threats to my family, they say,’We know your address’. They are as filthy as it can get.”

Another person who commented on that social media thread was Jay, who also didn’t want his full name or personal details disclosed. He shared a recording of one among several calls he had received, during the course of which, the unidentified caller described himself as a “warrior” and threatened to rape Jay’s wife and daughters. Jay filed a complaint with local law enforcement, while Mohan is still waiting for his complaint to be registered. “They abused me, said, ‘We have seen your house.’ This cannot be tolerated. I told the police to take action and show something,” Jay told the Hindustan Times.

A spokesperson for Peel Police, which is responsible for the region Jay and Mohan reside in, confirmed the complaints have been filed and they will investigate the matter.

Fear is so palpable that not a single person the HT spoke to wanted their full names or other details to be revealed. One of those impacted said part of the blame for the rising Hinduphobia lay with some local Punjabi-language media for featuring incendiary rhetoric. The majority of these threats commenced after events in New Delhi on Republic Day, when a tractor rally led to violence in the capital.

This phenomenon is not limited to the GTA alone. Vinay, a resident of Calgary in the province of Alberta, faced much worse. He received nearly a 100 calls a day over the past 10 days. Not only that, miscreants arrived at his residence early one morning and threw eggs and tomatoes at it, and another person drove up to the home, rang the bell and asked where Vinay was. A hate crime complaint has also been filed in this regard with local police.

These are not isolated instances but part of a larger pattern. The Hindustan Times has learnt of similar reports from Edmonton (also in Alberta), and Vancouver (in British Columbia). A resident of Metro Vancouver, who did not want to be named, said, “Those who support India are being targeted.” Mona, who is active within the Indo-Canadian community in Calgary said that a 90-year-old astrologer was verbally attacked for his views and as he was in India at the time, he had been too fearful to return to Canada till date.

While police investigate these complaints, there is no confirmation these calls were actually from Sikhs or pro-Khalistan elements, but concerns have certainly risen within the larger Indo-Canadian community, which is worried about the inflamed passions due to the farmers’ protests over the three contentious laws. They believe the issue has been hijacked by pro-Khalistan elements in Canada and the silence of leaders to condemn that development has only encouraged the barrage of threats.

Azad Kaushik, president of the National Alliance of Indo-Canadians said that “a sense of unease has developed within the Indo-Canadian community. Law-abiding Indo-Canadians are questioning such an emerging situation in their adopted homeland.”

In fact, he said, comments like those made by Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau on the protests, point to a “surprising tacit support” for the cause, which is proving increasingly divisive in Canada.

In fact, the situation is probably the worst it’s been since the 1980s, with pro-Khalistani groups taking advantage of the difference in opinion over the protests, targeting the larger Indo-Canadian community, particularly Hindus.

Shuvaloy Majumdar, senior fellow with the Ottawa-based think tank, MacDonald-Laurier Institute, tweeted, “I’m increasingly alarmed with the bloodcurdling sectarian invective against India. Particularly against Hindus, for whom empirically the VAST majority support pluralism, progress and peace.” In another tweet, he said, “Canadian families face death threats and violence against their families and businesses. Indian diplomats require RCMP security. Extremists allied with porn stars paint followers of a faith with one brush. Frivolous lawsuits attempt to silence debate.”

In 1985, as Canadian leadership ignored the growing storm, Khalistanis planned and executed the bombing of Air India flight 182, the Kanishka, on June 23, which claimed 329 lives and remains the worst act of terrorism in Canadian history.

As Mohan said, “I wasn’t here then but I feel this is worse than the 1980s. Hinduphobics now have political shelter. Our safety is in jeopardy.”

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www....rting-india-s-stance-101612765071904-amp.html

What kind of protests are these? Threatening Indian origin Canadians if they dont agree with these protests and Trudeau providing tacit support.