"Indians not as large hearted as us" : Shahid Afridi

its hard to be public icons and keep quit, specially when people want to see you talk. Player should be given training on how to handle media.

same things goes with indian cricketers and ex cricketers as well

what you will do will get in return .. from a true patriotic

what gambhir and other ex crickters have said was right?

you need a patriotic heart to give such comments in reply ..

even indian media was pathetic ... so in the end from a true pakistani . these things will burst out ..because he is not fake

Now just see this thread and watch how the Indian posters who were all singing praises for Afridi start to hate him to limits. :))

Isnt that logical? If you make sense you will be praised. If you try to be my friends you will be face. Then as soon as you are out of my sight, you abuse me behind my back. What do I do?

even indian media was pathetic ... so in the end from a true pakistani . these things will burst out ..because he is not fake

So because he had bad experience with some media and a couple of players he will call ALL Indians as small-hearted?

I think he said something about indian media while sitting in the press conference in india :) remember those words

So was he fake before this comment when he was asking everyone "Why to hate India ?"

he cant go and meet billions of ppl to analyse indians :)

Then why generalise and say such things. The other thing is that just the other day, in India he was praising India. That just makes him a bit of two face and coward

I have heard so many times that he is a Pathan and brave and straight talker. He is the complete opposite, he runs with the hares and hunts with the hounds. He changes his opinion and statements according to the public/audience and his opinions do not come from his heart

I am more than sure now that he might have played a role in YK's outster

they are not big at heart doesnt mean you have to hate them
Ahhhhhh, we are so glad to know the mighty Afridi doesn't hate us small hearted ppl.

What a big hearted guy !!! :))

Anyway, I have heard him a lot and I feel he just got carried away with media question and trying to make mass happy.

when indians came to pakistan .. and you defeated us in a match ..in karachi . i was a witness there sitting with all indians .. in my stand..........we lost the match ... crowd was still friendly with each other ... indians went safely

since 25 years i have not seen any rowdiness in pakistani crowd

doest indians accept defeat ..except that ..chennai ground ............ that shows the heart how you accept the defeat

Then why generalise and say such things. The other thing is that just the other day, in India he was praising India. That just makes him a bit of two face and coward

I have heard so many times that he is a Pathan and brave and straight talker. He is the complete opposite, he runs with the hares and hunts with the hounds. He changes his opinion and statements according to the public/audience and his opinions do not come from his heart

His mouth is bigger than his heart :D

It can chew a cricket ball you know.

Here are the exact words he said:

MERE KHAYAL MEIN AGAR SACHI BAAT KAROON TO JO MUSALMAN KA DIL HAI YA JO PAKISTANI KA DIL HAI WO UNKA HO NAHI SAKTA JITNA ALLAH NA BARA DIL JITNA SAAF SUTHRA DIL HAMAIN DIYA HAI MERE KHAYAL MAIN WO UNKE PASS NAHI HAI BARA HI MUSHKIL KAAM HAI KE HUM UNKE SAATH RAHAIN YA UNKE SAATH HAMARI LONG TERM RELATIONSHIP RAHE

he criticized the indian media as well .. then gambhir incident came ... then you ex cricketers crap ... things will start from end . will be reacted from other end as well

when indians came to pakistan .. and you defeated us in a match ..in karachi . i was a witness there sitting with all indians .. in my stand..........we lost the match ... crowd was still friendly with each other ... indians went safely

since 25 years i have not seen any rowdiness in pakistani crowd

doest indians accept defeat ..except that ..chennai ground ............ that shows the heart how you accept the defeat
In Pakistan people fired and injured a visiting cricket team. What does that make Pakistanis ? heartless???

Think from both sides.

your cricketers..ex...media representing your country image ... we are not meeting you ...we are seeing ... you players media .. n all .. they are representing . tell them to represent it properly

In Pakistan people fired and injured a visiting cricket team. What does that make Pakistanis ? heartless???

Think from both sides.

CUT THE CRAP............they are not paksitanis who are not watching cricket in a ground .. they were terrorist ... terrorist are not pakistanis nor indians..they are just terrorist....

now you have shown your mental level ....

your cricketers..ex...media representing your country image ... we are not meeting you ...we are seeing ... you players media .. n all .. they are representing . tell them to represent it properly
That's why I said think from both sides.

What does it means for a normal Indian to think about Pakistan after Mumbai attack ? After Srilanka team attack ? After afridi claiming every Indian to be small hearted ? Tanvir's comment about Hindus ???

Did Dhoni said anything general about Pakistanis ? Even if you talk about Gambhir's comment, it was not towards general Pakistani.

So after hearing what Afridi said, I feel as a Captain of a national team, he should not have said this. He just said this to please some fans like you and you are happy.

His mouth is bigger than his heart :D

It can chew a cricket ball you know.

to win a match for a nation he can do anything :)

After winning a match he cannot say something like that this victory against pakistan is for mumbai attack victims ...

CUT THE CRAP............they are not paksitanis who are not watching cricket in a ground .. they were terrorist ... terrorist are not pakistanis nor indians..they are just terrorist....

Exactly, now you know how we feel when you and Afridi both generalised all Indian people as being small-hearted because of the act of a couple of people

These are Afridis personal view and he has all rights to express them their is no need to attack him for that.

In my personal view what afridi said is true.

So anything wrong from your side is not Pakistanis and 100 rowdies from India makes it equal for all Indians?

I got your level now. If you say be ready to listen.

That's why I said think from both sides.

What does it means for a normal Indian to think about Pakistan after Mumbai attack ? After Srilanka team attack ? After afridi claiming every Indian to be small hearted ? Tanvir's comment about Hindus ???

Did Dhoni said anything general about Pakistanis ? Even if you talk about Gambhir's comment, it was not towards general Pakistani.

So after hearing what Afridi said, I feel as a Captain of a national team, he should not have said this. He just said this to please some fans like you and you are happy.

i met a hindu girl in a playing cards table ... when i started playing she sit out and said i dont wanna play with pakistani i hate them .. sorry

isnt that crazy :D

So anything wrong from your side is not Pakistanis and 100 rowdies from India makes it equal for all Indians?

differentiate first between terrorist with guns..and people sitting and watching match ...

Do you think everyone in India was being rowdy, Adnan?

Also, who could not return home safely due to the India fans?

to win a match for a nation he can do anything :)

After winning a match he cannot say something like that this victory against pakistan is for mumbai attack victims ...
To correct you, he said the dedication after the final and not after Ind-Pak match.

About your first commment, wow, nothing to say if you accept that to win a match a nation can do ANYTHING !!!

Why are you freaking out if what Afridi said is not true then there is no need for you to get emotional.

Since saying something about someone which isn't true will not make it the reality.

So relax.

IndiaFan and Garuda, dont be so upset on what Afridi said. It doesnt. I think pakistanis are being polite here and accepting that Afridi shouldnt have said that! cool down! Its just afridi and his afridi-ism. He can be meaningless at times.

These are Afridis personal view and he has all rights to express them their is no need to attack him for that.

Yes, its his personal view and he has the right to say.

At the same time he should be ready to hear the reaction and face any consequences. He is not above anyone to say any undiplomatic thing without any reaction.

Exactly, now you know how we feel when you and Afridi both generalised all Indian people as being small-hearted because of the act of a couple of people

'and now i have shown what heart the indian crowd has when india lose the match :D

so many people in the crowd represent the nation? arent they?

i met a hindu girl in a playing cards table ... when i started playing she sit out and said i dont wanna play with pakistani i hate them .. sorry

isnt that crazy :D
Thats crazy. Plain and simple.

I work, play and watch cricket with a Pakistani family. Is that crazy?

To correct you, he said the dedication after the final and not after Ind-Pak match.

About your first commment, wow, nothing to say if you accept that to win a match a nation can do ANYTHING !!!

anything for a nation . anything :D

he said the indo pak match as well :) .... we are not fools

You are wrong. He said it After the Pakistan game. Poor stuff from Gambhir.

http://www.thenewage.co.za/14209-10...tims?sms_ss=twitthis&at_xt=4d96dcbb0a4fc184,0

India batsman Gautam Gambhir has vowed to dedicate victory in the World Cup final to the victims of the deadly 2008 Mumbai attacks.

The left-hander told the Hindustan Times newspaper that the team, who take on Sri Lanka in Mumbai on Saturday, were aware of the weight of expectation of the nation.

"If we win the final, for me, it'll be dedicated to the people who lost their lives in the 26/11 massacre," he said, referring to the November 26, 2008 militant attacks in the city that left 166 people dead and over 300 injured.

India blames the attacks, carried out by 10 heavily armed gunmen, on the banned, Pakistan-based Islamist group Lashkar-e-Taiba, with help from elements in the Pakistani military.

The wave of strikes on high-profile targets, including the Taj Mahal Palace hotel where both the India and Sri Lanka teams are currently staying, led to the suspension of fragile peace talks between New Delhi and Islamabad.

India beat Pakistan in the semi-final earlier this week, with both countries' prime ministers in the crowd in what has been seen as "cricket diplomacy" to get the dialogue back on track.

Gambhir said he was "sure" the win against Pakistan would have helped those affected by the attacks and that victory should be dedicated to the victims.

But amid the frenzy of expectation in the passionate cricket nation, the batsman said any World Cup win should be put into perspective alongside pressing issues such population, crime and corruption.

He is the captain of the Pakistan cricket team and he has said these words in that capacity.

Why are you freaking out if what Afridi said is not true then there is no need for you to get emotional.

Since saying something about someone which isn't true will not make it the reality.

So relax.
I still maintain that he made these comments due to media pressure and to please mass.

I am opposing posts which say that his comments are okay. Whether he said it from heart or not, point is as matured fans we should not support comments which show other countries in poor light in a generic way.

Thats crazy. Plain and simple.

I work, play and watch cricket with a Pakistani family. Is that crazy?

thats nice :)

how do you explain indian crowd who are watching the match in the ground ........ except chennai

they are so huge in numbers can easily represent the nation

IndiaFan and Garuda, dont be so upset on what Afridi said. It doesnt. I think pakistanis are being polite here and accepting that Afridi shouldnt have said that! cool down! Its just afridi and his afridi-ism. He can be meaningless at times.
Boss, I am not at all upset with Afridi and I know what he is as I have seen and heard him from his debut.

I am just trying to clarify that these comments doesn't sound good by a national captain.

You are wrong. He said it After the Pakistan game. Poor stuff from Gamghir.

http://www.thenewage.co.za/14209-10...tims?sms_ss=twitthis&at_xt=4d96dcbb0a4fc184,0

India batsman Gautam Gambhir has vowed to dedicate victory in the World Cup final to the victims of the deadly 2008 Mumbai attacks.

The left-hander told the Hindustan Times newspaper that the team, who take on Sri Lanka in Mumbai on Saturday, were aware of the weight of expectation of the nation.

"If we win the final, for me, it'll be dedicated to the people who lost their lives in the 26/11 massacre," he said, referring to the November 26, 2008 militant attacks in the city that left 166 people dead and over 300 injured.

India blames the attacks, carried out by 10 heavily armed gunmen, on the banned, Pakistan-based Islamist group Lashkar-e-Taiba, with help from elements in the Pakistani military.

The wave of strikes on high-profile targets, including the Taj Mahal Palace hotel where both the India and Sri Lanka teams are currently staying, led to the suspension of fragile peace talks between New Delhi and Islamabad.

India beat Pakistan in the semi-final earlier this week, with both countries' prime ministers in the crowd in what has been seen as "cricket diplomacy" to get the dialogue back on track.

Gambhir said he was "sure" the win against Pakistan would have helped those affected by the attacks and that victory should be dedicated to the victims.

But amid the frenzy of expectation in the passionate cricket nation, the batsman said any World Cup win should be put into perspective alongside pressing issues such population, crime and corruption.

Agree, that was pathethic too, particularly at a time when the PMs of both countries are trying to broker peace

now this sucks! everything said against india by pakistani and anything bad said about pakistan by indian becomes a big issue. Cant our rivalry be a bit more polite?

Afridi and Gambhir, both need a lesson on how to talk to media. End of story.

Agree, that was pathethic too, particularly at a time when the PMs of both countries are trying to broker peace

exactly... and that creates a reaction from a pakistani who feels for the nation

he has seen it all .. media . ex cricketers...crickets.. crowd as well

everything he has seen . and then came to conclusion as a pakistani

how do you explain indian crowd who are watching the match in the ground ........ except chennai

Do you remember the India Pak match in pakistan, when Manoj Prabhakar had reduced pakistan to 30/5..the 'sporting' Pakistani crowd started rioting and the match had to be called off?

Or when Kris srikant was manhandled by a Pakistani spectator?

You people are the hypocrites of the highest order!

how many instances has happened ?

Don't give me verbal banters as examples. That happen everywhere.

In last 60 years few instances and out of 30-40k ppl how many do you think did ? 20 ? 40? 100? So if I take it for 5 instances its about max 500 ppl out of 5 - 6 lacs in the stadium. Is that a huge number to call all Indian by your national captain.

You guys should be asking something different from your politicians and cricket captain than just low words against your arch rival.

What did the crowd do in the world cup, Adnan?

Secondly, you should read up a bit about mentality of people in large groups and mob dynamics. Once things go wrong in crowds (like a few crowd disruption cases that have taken place in the past) they are very hard to control. May be you should also read about the kind of dangerous accidents and disasters that have taken place in numerous countries due to crowd going out of control during sporting events. That doesn't really tell us anything generalized about those countries where these incidents took place.

And thirdly, what has that got to do with the topic of Afridi's comments?

Personally, I don't mind these comments because I don't give much credence to Afridi's views. He comes across to me as an extremely emotional person who tries hard to be diplomatic and to maintain a positive image, but ends up getting swayed and making some epic error of judgment which come back to haunt him.

If someone like Imran Khan had said something like this, I'd have been surprised. From Afridi, this is hardly a surprise.

adab arz hai .....

jinka dil hota hai chota wo mostlly kam karte hain bada
aur jinka dil hota hai bada wo mostly kam karte hain chota ....:D - MQ

I was wrong about the match then. I think the words he said about win against Pak was bad and horrible.

Dedicating the WC win to victims are fine. He should not have said that ppl will feel better after this win. No the family who have lost a member won't feel better after a cricket match win.

how many instances has happened ?

Don't give me verbal banters as examples. That happen everywhere.

In last 60 years few instances and out of 30-40k ppl how many do you think did ? 20 ? 40? 100? So if I take it for 5 instances its about max 500 ppl out of 5 - 6 lacs in the stadium. Is that a huge number to call all Indian by your national captain.

You guys should be asking something different from your politicians and cricket captain than just low words against your arch rival.

i forgot to make the diary of the incidents :) .. heard it from my uncles what indian fans...many i have seen it from my own eyes...

if things happen every now and then .. then its a problem which need to be consider.... if it happen occasionally .. then its ok

i forgot to make the diary of the incidents :) .. heard it from my uncles what indian fans...many i have seen it from my own eyes...

if things happen every now and then .. then its a problem which need to be consider.... if it happen occasionally .. then its ok
May be you need to visit India and heard few stories from Indian uncles. There will be a lot from their side too.

Afridi and Gambhir, both need a lesson on how to talk to media. End of story.

I don't think much credence should be given to their words on topics outside of cricket. They are as qualified to talk about these topics as anyone else in this forum.

Unless they cross limits and incite violence or hatred, in a direct way, I don't really have a problem with what Gambhir or Afridi or any other cricketer say. I don't think they have enough clout or are important enough, in the larger picture, to have any kind of effect on the relationship between the two countries.

Everyone has a right to their opinion and based on how they behave in public, we keep formulating our own opinions about them, as well.

So, all of us whose grandparents or parents came from the Pakistan area to India after partition, will we have medium-sized hearts ? :P

Afridi ke views hain, no worries.. Everyone generalizes, just like he generalized earlier about all Pakistanis watching Indian movies. Atleast he speaks his mind !

Btw, regarding not treating guests nicely, my aunt's shop in Chandigarh didn't charge a penny to any visiting pakistani for the match :) And this isn't an isolated case, it was like that all over.. Ek kahawat hoti hai hamare yahaan "Atithi Deva Bhava" (i.e. guest is god)

You will find a few fools of course who are all hyped up on the "India Shining" kool-aid and like to throw jibes against Pakistan for being a failed state etc. But they are just harmless individuals who like to feel good by putting others down verbally.

So, all of us whose grandparents or parents came from the Pakistan area to India after partition, will we have medium-sized hearts ? :P

Afridi ke views hain, no worries.. Everyone generalizes, just like he generalized earlier about all Pakistanis watching Indian movies. Atleast he speaks his mind !

Btw, regarding not treating guests nicely, my aunt's shop in Chandigarh didn't charge a penny to any visiting pakistani for the match :) And this isn't an isolated case, it was like that all over.. Ek kahawat hoti hai hamare yahaan "Atithi Deva Bhava" (i.e. guest is god)

You will find a few fools of course who are all hyped up on the "India Shining" kool-aid and like to throw jibes against Pakistan for being a failed state etc. But they are just harmless individuals who like to feel good by putting others down verbally.

Achhi post hai ...:)

Most of the times Shahid bhai hardly knows what he does..... I mean yaar just have some good rest before West Indies tour and dont comment on others like this.... but then there is an Afridi way of doing things...

Guys, just because Afridi said something like that doesnt mean I have a license to hate Pakistan. Same is with Gambir. Both have been put pressure by the stupid media and should be careful in making stmts in public specially when you know what kinda media we have.

Afridi, though he was not correct but lets ignore his stmts, he is under tremendous pressure after losing the SF. His presentation interview after the SF still sands out and has been a gr8 ambassador of Pakistan.
Can not believe Gambir equates victory in cricket to 26/11 victimes......In fact he should apologise to the victims for saying that more than anyone else if he was not misquoted by the media.

Indians dont have a big heart

ICC dont even have big pockets... they cant even pay 22 lacs rs as custom duty ... lol ... Mujh say maang laya hota :D........... they gave fake trophy lol

AMAZINGLY CRAZY

Gambhir said the win over Pakistan was dedicated to the 26/11 victims.

Insane comments given how sensitive that issue is and given the fact that this Pakistani team had nothing to do with that unfortunate event.

Or lagao Aman ka Chakka ... these guys will never be our friends ... no matter what u do they will criticize u and put blames on u ... they will never come forward to shake our hand ... they will not solve the issues with us, they dont want to play indopak series, they dont want us to play the IPL and take some benefit due to security concerns and yet Pak team was there for the sem ... i mean Afridi is spot on ... he has seen the their faces ... he was already p'sd with their media so I think captain is right!

Afridi shouldn't have said it.

Think he had a change of heart after hearing what Gambhir had to say post Afridi's very well balanced comments during the various press conferences in India and his return back home.

The Indian media wasn't very kind to him and the Pakistani team before and after the match. Stories such as "Dhoni savdhaan, Pakistan beymaan" and "Afridi aur 11 chor" will not leave anyone pleased.

It also seems like the large hearted-small hearted comment stems from the crowd at Mohali that came to watch the game. Indian crowds are known to be utterly biased and perhaps Afridi was touching base on that aspect of the crowd in comparison to crowds in Pakistan that are beyond doubt cordial and warm.

Or lagao Aman ka Chakka ... these guys will never be our friends ... no matter what u do they will criticize u and put blames on u ... they will never come forward to shake our hand ... they will not solve the issues with us, they dont want to play indopak series, they dont want us to play the IPL and take some benefit due to security concerns and yet Pak team was there for the sem ... i mean Afridi is spot on ... he has seen the their faces ... he was already p'sd with their media so I think captain is right!
They will not do this, they will not do that

What have you done. What do you mean by extending the friendly hand ?

The biggest issue right now is punishing 26/11 attackers. Any one punished even after Pakistan accepted that it was planned and executed from Pakistan?

Its easy to blame other but difficult to see what is been done from your side.

If you say India has done n bad things then same number of things can be counted from other side.

That doesn't justify saying stupid things by these players.

If Somebody is to mention how Indian hospitals have never refused any Pakistani , he surely will have both of his foot in his big mouth.

Some people cant really see the woods for the trees.

Thats why they treated Wasims wife for free when the best of Pakistans doctors were making the poor man run ward to ward and pay through his nose for inferior care.

What if a terrorist from that lot had made his way to the stadium?

If being large hearted means all of the things Pak cricket and cricketers have gone through in the last 1-2 years (not even the on field performances) I guess its better off to be small hearted...

We're happier being the "small hearted" world champions.

His view that Pakistanis have a larger hearts than their Indian counterparts is his opinion and he is free to have his, but seriously, the muslim comment is disgusting... For the captain of the Pakistan team to consider Indian muslims to not be muslims or Indians, its just sad... :facepalm:

agreed, even u can see their crowd behavior, so much for sportsman spirit.

When Suraish Raina was caught somewhere near leg slip area against West Indies in a league match, crowd was stunned. I watching all this thought may be their is something weird on the pitch or the ground or may be the umpires have found something unusual. It took me to ponder for 5-6 seconds to realize that really Suraish Raina is just OUT and no more issue.

On the other hand, I myself was present at National Stadium Karachi against India, India thrashed us and outclassed us, scored 200 in 25-26 overs in run chase , but the crowd never did something like the earlier. TRUTH IS TRUTH no matter how bitter it is.

I have always congratulated INDIA on their wins and so should I and all PAKISTANIs do but what the question was from AFRIDI, the reply was 100% TRUTH nothing less than that.

Some1 wrote the hospitality thing, I agree to that as well

i was also there in that match .. and trying to explain the difference in the crowd behavior.... but as we know truth cannot be accepted

What did the crowd do in the world cup, Adnan?

Secondly, you should read up a bit about mentality of people in large groups and mob dynamics. Once things go wrong in crowds (like a few crowd disruption cases that have taken place in the past) they are very hard to control. May be you should also read about the kind of dangerous accidents and disasters that have taken place in numerous countries due to crowd going out of control during sporting events. That doesn't really tell us anything generalized about those countries where these incidents took place.

And thirdly, what has that got to do with the topic of Afridi's comments?

Personally, I don't mind these comments because I don't give much credence to Afridi's views. He comes across to me as an extremely emotional person who tries hard to be diplomatic and to maintain a positive image, but ends up getting swayed and making some epic error of judgment which come back to haunt him.

If someone like Imran Khan had said something like this, I'd have been surprised. From Afridi, this is hardly a surprise.

yeah ...saying something after hearing crap from gambhir and indian media and ex cricketers which are high on representing your country .... might be stupid for u...not for me atleast

I hope you are also not surprised with the comments of gambhir as well .....

Emotional person are patriotic not others.. because they feel for it

Hatred and bitterness is there in indian heart and it shows everwhere ... in majority its there

Moronic comments by Afridi.

I agree that many of us fans wanted Afridi to show some fight, but show the fight in the stadium and not afterwards when we have lost!

Afridi is a cricketer and has no place to make such remarks. Ghautam Ghambir has recently made a moronic comment and we all rightfully jumped on it.

Imagine if Strauss said that about Pakistan??!! He would be ten times more hated than Botham ever was.

We need an aggressive but dignified captain.

well i never knew so many Indian flags would be around here, its giving kinda good feeling, so really lets close the topic, AFRIDI as far as i can understand him was just trying to say Muslims in general have bigger heart, agains it may be true, may not be.

May be something bad happened there which he did not disclosed, he and the team might be expecting more, but would not have been like that. He from nowhere was sayig ALL INDIANS are like that, its just what he experienced there.

Many bitter lines from either side can be written here but I wont because what happened is our past.

I respect the Indian audience here for sure. So does AFRIDI or any other PAKISTANI player / person. ISLAM never asks you to spread hatred, so I say just stop all this nonsense. We all respect the Indian audience here and in their country.

Oh no Afridi what have you done? your IPL Agreement was being drafted after your comments about Indian movies and why hate India.

It (Draft) will be in 100 pieces now.

What a fickle minded person he is. I guess he found out there won't be in IPL contract to start with. He needs to shut his mouth.

Hatred and bitterness is there in indian heart and it shows everwhere ... in majority its there

What is an "Indian heart"?

Do you realize that there are 1.2 billion people in India? That is one-sixth of the world's population.

If you earnestly believe that there is something intrinsically wrong with people in India, I can only sympathize with your brain-washed state and see no reason to continue any argument/discussion with you.

What is the use of clean and big heart if he has dirty and small brain.

lol. Relax, Afridi is entitled to his view.

India were petty and weak hearted when they stopped all bilateral cricketing ties with Pakistan. They were also small hearted when they refused to include the then T20 world champions in the IPL because of political issues.