"Instead of maligning me, I challenge PCB to offer proof against me" : Nasir Jamshed [Update #116]

Boycottisno2

"Instead of maligning me, I challenge PCB to offer proof against me" : Nasir Jamshed [Update #116]

PCB has provisionally suspended Nasir Jamshed from all forms of cricket for violating its anti-corruption code....

what next....?

How many more skeletons are there in this closet!?

not at all surprising, since his name has been hovering and being involved with setting up "meetings"...

shady dude...

It is sad and pathetic to see these individuals involved in such pathetic acts... despicable and shameful, I am not amazed to see their careers going down the drain they are not fair to there occupation and good to see that they don't excel in it.

Remember him being caught cheating in matriculation examination "old habits die hard"

Exam cheat and now cricket cheat. Should be life banned. Wasn't anything special anyway other than a brief purple patch for about a year. He was a laughing stock at the 2015 WC where he looked a flat footed hack and was pathetic in the field.

This is becoming a joke. He wasn't even in the PSL...

According to a report: Jamshed asked Sharjeel and Latif to meet with the Bookies. “Latif asked him why should he meet upon which Jamshed repeatedly requested him for the meeting.”

Rumor is Nasir was the one who was connecting all these PSL players with shady people before they flew to Dubai. Apparently that's what all the players have told PCB.

This is becoming a joke. He wasn't even in the PSL...

It doesn't matter that he isn't in the PSL, he still can bring players participating in the tournament into touch with bookmakers or other individuals.

Rumor is Nasir was the one who was connecting all these PSL players with shady people before they flew to Dubai. Apparently that's what all the players have told PCB.

this little pest and shady cockroach needs to be shown the "ban" door and never to return to the game... disgraceful.

I'm sure PCB will get to the bottom of this...I heard from numerous people in the news that Latif has already said upon landing that he was introduced to some guy by Jamshed. Nothing official now but this suspension does show some connection of Nasir with the situation. We fans should remain patient and let the investigation take its course.

Anyone else believe this is too much of a story to be true? Jamshed WhatsApp to Latif telling them to meet a guy. And the guy turns out bookie and they decide to fix a match?

Think PCB has taken that guy too much seriously who reported Latif and Sharjeel

May be because of jealousy Nasir Jamshed wanted to destroy Sharjeel's career? Hum toh doobenge tumhe bhi le doobenge sanam? :shezzy

lol you snatch my words Both sharjeel and Nasir jamshed should find best bryani shop in pakistan

and eat together

This seriously looks more like a joke by PCB then an actually fixing case

bro do you know Nasir jamshed is non central contact player which means that he might have done

some thing very offensive stuff which forced PCB to suspend him otherwise if pcb have not

enough Evidence against him he can put defame case against PCB to win Big money and i am

sure pcb will be aware of that

bro do you know Nasir jamshed is non central contact player which means that he might have done

some thing very offensive stuff which forced PCB to suspend him otherwise if pcb have not

enough Evidence against him he can put defame case against PCB to win Big money and i am

sure pcb will be aware of that

So what? Sethi and Shehryar can say anything on media and take a U-turn later on. Not surprised by their actions. M Irfan also met someone and is likely to be suspended, They are suspending players for meeting someone. Latif and Sharjeel were told to meet the guy from Jamshed, And Jamshed certainly can't be so dumb to tell them via phone casually to meet this person. And in between a tournament that too. This whole scenario does not make sense, PCB has tried to be some sort of proactive hero and I guess have made this like some FILMI SCENE.

:yk3 :shehzad :facepalm:

Lets see how much his involvement is in this stuff.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Looking forward to the start of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> .. hoping to see some entertaining cricket... best of luck to all the teams &#55357;&#56397;&#55356;&#57339;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbKhelJamayGa?src=hash">#AbKhelJamayGa</a></p>— Nasir Jamshaid (@nasirjamshaid77) <a href="https://twitter.com/nasirjamshaid77/status/829680135397900289">February 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

And the nick name of Nasir was 'bhola' when he was in the national team means innocent.

Rumor is that Jamshed insisted Khalid/Sharjeel to meet the suspected guy.

He's the root cause of this and got both of them into trouble, I'm guessing.

Don't forget he's also a matric cheat.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Looking forward to the start of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> .. hoping to see some entertaining cricket... best of luck to all the teams ����<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbKhelJamayGa?src=hash">#AbKhelJamayGa</a></p>— Nasir Jamshaid (@nasirjamshaid77) <a href="https://twitter.com/nasirjamshaid77/status/829680135397900289">February 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

Dada Jammy ne tou daba ke entertainment ki hai :))

So what? Sethi and Shehryar can say anything on media and take a U-turn later on. Not surprised by their actions. M Irfan also met someone and is likely to be suspended, They are suspending players for meeting someone. Latif and Sharjeel were told to meet the guy from Jamshed, And Jamshed certainly can't be so dumb to tell them via phone casually to meet this person. And in between a tournament that too. This whole scenario does not make sense, PCB has tried to be some sort of proactive hero and I guess have made this like some FILMI SCENE.

i hope you are right...!!! after few days we will get clear picture

Everyone is laughing after hearing Jamsheds involvement in this. This seems more like a joke than fixing. Pratha guys and 7 foot fast bowler

No-one should be shocked by this...not only was his name speculated all over the internet and media, he's also had past form with the BPL.

What on earth is Jamshed upto as per the video?

The video says that Jamshed sent a text to Latif to meet a friend of his called Yousuf. Latif agreed. Yousuf asked Latif if he wants to make a quick buck. Latif rejected the offer and after the dinner texted Jamshed to not ask him to meet such folks again. Fast forward to a week later Jamshed again texts Latif to go along with Sharjeel to meet a 'white guy' who is a big fan of Sharjeel. They meet at the dinner and the 'white guy' is accompanied by Yousuf, they tell the two players you will get 2 lacs for each dot/leave. The two players leave the dinner and do not inform anyone about the meeting.

The video doesn't say whether they agreed to the offer or not.

The video says that Jamshed sent a text to Latif to meet a friend of his called Yousuf. Latif agreed. Yousuf asked Latif if he wants to make a quick buck. Latif rejected the offer and after the dinner texted Jamshed to not ask him to meet such folks again. Fast forward to a week later Jamshed again texts Latif to go along with Sharjeel to meet a 'white guy' who is a big fan of Sharjeel. They meet at the dinner and the 'white guy' is accompanied by Yousuf, they tell the two players you will get 2 lacs for each dot/leave. The two players leave the dinner and do not inform anyone about the meeting.

Now you tell me, lets say they rejected the last offer, should sharjeel and latif be banned for this ???????

Thank you so much for writing this down.

Looks a really poor response from sharjeel and latief anyways. Such an offer has to be reported without a shadow of doubt. Even if they didnt agree to it, it will be hard to believe them. They have to be punished for this.

Ok . I think they didnt informed pcb because they were not wanting to harm jammi careir but now they distroyed their own carier .

Its like i will not inform my teacher that my friends fought in class in absence of teacher

The problem here is when do the meetings take place and whether deals were accepted or not.

Because these guys were caught on day 2 of psl, while reports are that these guys met right after the of islamabad united match which was day 1 and probably after 3 in the earling morning.

Now if they dint accept the deal, both these players could argue that they never had enough time to report this approach.

Now you tell me, lets say they rejected the last offer, should sharjeel and latif be banned for this ???????

Yes, since they did not inform anyone of the meeting.

It is clearly written in the anti-corruption rules, if someone approaches you with a fixing offer and you do not inform the authorities then it is an offense even if you rejected the offer.

Come on, you can't ban latif for this..... He clearly rejected and told nasir to not make him meet these kind of people... A fine should be enough !!!!

He didnt report it though. And who will confirm whether he rejected the offer or not. Its a mess and anyone involved would be hard to trust. Should be banned for appropriate time for not reporting it if not anything else.

The problem here is when do the meetings take place and whether deals were accepted or not.

Because these guys were caught on day 2 of psl, while reports are that these guys met right after the of islamabad united match which was day 1 and probably after 3 in the earling morning.

Now if they dint accept the deal, both these players could argue that they never had enough time to report this approach.

Khalid Latif was first offered the fixing opportunity on 2nd February. Even though he allegedly rejected it, he did not inform anyone for a good week. Surely lack of time is a very, very flimsy argument at this point in time.

Yeah.

Apparently they got suspended for not informing anyone.

Should've informed. This is still very messy.

Depends on why the did not report. Maybe because Latif and Jamshed were friends and Latif wanted to talk to Jamshed first that what was going on (Both Latif and Jamshed played for NBP)

Khalid Latif was first offered the fixing opportunity on 2nd February. Even though he allegedly rejected it, he did not inform anyone for a good week. Surely lack of time is a very, very flimsy argument at this point in time.

Lets see. But if any player met these bookies on the night after the united game, then a suspension would be very harsh as to report something like this takes time for someone mentally

As per above report both Sharjeel and Latif should be coming out clean considering if they didn't accept the offer and had some reason for not reporting. Though Latif could be banned as he was asked twice to meet

He didnt informe because he and jimmi are friends so may be he tried to save jimmi .

Lets see. But if any player met these bookies on the night after the united game, then a suspension would be very harsh as to report something like this takes time for someone mentally

Also both Latif and Nasir could be close friends or like that since they played in NBP together. And might would have given a thought about what to do as reporting Jamshed could have effectively ended Jamshed's career

Now i am 70 % sure that sharjeel win not get banned . Max he will get fine

Yes, since they did not inform anyone of the meeting.

It is clearly written in the anti-corruption rules, if someone approaches you with a fixing offer and you do not inform the authorities then it is an offense even if you rejected the offer.

Latif and sharjeel were caught on day 2 of psl, and report says that they met right after islamabad match which on was day one, they might not have had enough time to report this approach.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Looking forward to the start of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2017?src=hash">#PSL2017</a> .. hoping to see some entertaining cricket... best of luck to all the teams &#55357;&#56397;&#55356;&#57339;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbKhelJamayGa?src=hash">#AbKhelJamayGa</a></p>— Nasir Jamshaid (@nasirjamshaid77) <a href="https://twitter.com/nasirjamshaid77/status/829680135397900289">February 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

Jam gya khel jammy :facepalm:

I was once a fan of this guy.

Latif and sharjeel were caught on day 2 of psl, and report says that they met right after islamabad match which on was day one, they might not have had enough time to report this approach.

How much time does one need in your opinion??

Latif and jamshed have always been good friends, it must have been difficult for latif to directly report it

So few hours to think about it? Or many days?
Personally i think a few hours is enough to think and analyze the situation, weighing all the pros and cons. Couple this with the fact that as pro cricketers they know they have to report such things immediately so a sense of urgency should be there. I know emotional aspect comes in to play if its a friend you have to report but you always know what you'll get if you go down that road and try to save him or even delay the reporting unnecessarily.

And now PCB may have confessions from Sharjeel and Khalid for his involvement for meeting.

Reports saying that they were offered 20 lacs for each dot ball and from the innings of Sharjeel in first match chasing 190+, it seems like he accepted that offer.
The guy who can smash Starc and co. in seaming conditions, how can he do tuk tuk against Hasan Ali on batting patta?
This is just my opinion. Hope that I'm wrong.

Reports saying that they were offered 20 lacs for each dot ball and from the innings of Sharjeel in first match chasing 190+, it seems like he accepted that offer.
The guy who can smash Starc and co. in seaming conditions, how can he do tuk tuk against Hasan Ali on batting patta?

I thought he times couple of balls well in the first over. But struggled against Hasan generally. No big deal this

Let's say he delayed it, but he still might have had the intention of reporting it in the near future....PCB can never prove whether this is true or not... than do you still think they deserve a ban ???

I thought he times couple of balls well in the first over. But struggled against Hasan generally. No big deal this

The first two balls of Hasan's over. He didn't even try to hit them for boundary as the target was 190+ and wicket was batting friendly and he is so good against pacers and usually he plays his shots from ball 1.
All he did was tuk tuking them to circle fielders.
Again, this is just speculation.

Let's say he delayed it, but he still might have had the intention of reporting it in the near future....PCB can never prove whether this is true or not... than do you still think they deserve a ban ???

The clock starts ticking from the moment an interaction is made.

Why?

Well, the ICC doesn't know what has been discussed. The moment you leave a bookie's presence any action you carry out could be pre-determined.

You might go and sit down with a skipper five minutes later to start discussing details about an upcoming match.

If the ICC waits to give you a day, a week, or a month you might already have done the deed. This is why intention doesn't matter when you've already been contacted by a bookie. They are told to report effective immediately for a reason.

Who would define how far that "near future" should be? Its the PCB who defines it. It would be laughable if sharjeel says that he was going to report it soon but couldn't. Its like that dog ate my homework excuse. I agree PCB cant prove that sharjeel wasnt going to report it ever, but Can sharjeel prove he was going to report it? It works both ways.

If he had almost a day at his disposal and didnt report it , i'm afraid the excuse that he was going to report it soon isn't a very good one.

But bro, I'm sure you know these kind of the people are not people you want to snitch on as you know they're going to take revenge for telling the authorities or cops. So, maybe they can make an argument of being scared?

And now PCB may have confessions from Sharjeel and Khalid for his involvement for meeting.

Exactly, in trying to not name jamshed, they have destroyed themselves and not even saved jamshed. Lol

He was offered after match of IU and zalmi .

Hence Sharjeel got involved in the issue after IU and PZ match and next day this issue shows up

Who would define how far that "near future" should be? Its the PCB who defines it. It would be laughable if sharjeel says that he was going to report it soon but couldn't. Its like that dog ate my homework excuse. I agree PCB cant prove that sharjeel wasnt going to report it ever, but Can sharjeel prove he was going to report it? It works both ways.

If he had almost a day at his disposal and didnt report it , i'm afraid the excuse that he was going to report it soon isn't a very good one.

Look it isn't a good excuse, but it is still an excuse and PCB can never prove whether it is wrong. Reporting a close friend and destroying his career is never an easy decision, and u need time to make it. The point is that they did make a mistake, but should not be banned. A heavy fine is enough.

he only played 3 deliveries. One was a block of the first ball and the other was played straight to the fielder..and he got out on the third. There's no point looking in to this..the only way we can figure out if took money or not is to check his bank account.

Look it isn't a good excuse, but it is still an excuse and PCB can never prove whether it is wrong. Reporting a close friend and destroying his career is never an easy decision, and u need time to make it. The point is that they did make a mistake, but should not be banned. A heavy fine is enough.

As far as my knowledge goes, this is not a criminal trial, i.e. prosecution (PCB) does not need to prove before a court of law if an accused (SK & KL) did commit some felony. PCB just has to determine whether a breach of any ICC code was made and in this case the burden would be upon SK&KL to prove that either they did not breach any code or if they did so but were going to report in a few hours.

But so far it does not look so good for both guys. I guess only thing that can save them a harsh penalty is their early confession and spelling out beans about entire scam. Wish they had done so earlier.

Btw its my first comment on this Forum. :wg

As far as my knowledge goes, this is not a criminal trial, i.e. prosecution (PCB) does not need to prove before a court of law if an accused (SK & KL) did commit some felony. PCB just has to determine whether a breach of any ICC code was made and in this case the burden would be upon SK&KL to prove that either they did not breach any code or if they did so but were going to report in a few hours.

But so far it does not look so good for both guys. I guess only thing that can save them a harsh penalty is their early confession and spelling out beans about entire scam. Wish they had done so earlier.

Btw its my first comment on this Forum. :wg

Look PCB knows one thing: These players have done brilliantly in the past and are the future of pak cricket(especially sharjeel). In order to ban them, they need to have complete evidence and a slight doubt may result in a lighter punishement e.g. heavy fine

So if the players were ordinary, half evidence would have been okay to ban them? What are you saying? :))

My kind Sir, when it comes to law and rules, having personal opinions and biases do not hold much stature. These guys are employees of PCB and ICC per se and these organizations are in every legal right to hold anyone accountable breaching their rules and policies. They are not punishing them through any criminal law, they are just going to make sure they do not serve in their organizations's platforms anymore.