Inzamam - Please for the sake of Pakistan cricket don't select Kamran Akmal

srh

This is test of character of Inzi.

If he has the best interest of Pakistan cricket in his heart then he will not select Kamran Akmal in any squad.

But if he does not really care about future of Pakistan cricket then he will select Kamran Akmal.

Mickey will totally support Inzi if he does not select Kamran Akmal. Now its up to Inzi to deliver. Does he want to be remembered as the chief selector who works for the betterment of Pakistan cricket? Or he would be one of those previous chief selectors who have no long-term vision?

:inzi

the only possible way which can neglect kami selection is fitness test otherwise he will be selected

whether we like it or not

the only possible way which can neglect kami selection is fitness test otherwise he will be selected

whether we like it or not

what about the age factor? what about the national embarrassment factor? Kami fails on those factors as well as on fitness factor.

Look I don't want him back but give the guy his damn "three more chances" he's been shamelessly begging for - and say its sink or swim.

If he's fails, we can finally be shut of him.

If Inzi doesn't select Kami then the media will absolutely slaughter him.

It's best if Kami gets selected now and fails in this meaningless series rather than get selected for a WT20 and destroy the team's chances.

Completely agree with this.

I cannot believe that so many people are supporting his return. Even if we ignore his shambolic keeping, he is one of the worst batsman to ever play for Pakistan consistently. He averages around the same as Afridi... and only two more runs than Asad Shafiq who has been a complete failure in this format. This is after a 150 ODIs, yes 150. If that is not enough sample to judge a player, I do not know what is.

I agree that we should reward performances in domestic/PSL, but to base the decision on his performance on poor pitches against average bowlers as an indication that at 36 years old, he will not only beat his prime, but surpass it considerably in the international circuit in baffling. I accept that he has out performed his peers who played under the same conditions but if that is the metric, why is everyone not advocating for Fawad Alam to join the team.

Surely someone who is a proven complete failure on the international circuit after being given a consistent and free reign, will not suddenly reinvent himself at 36. Yes he performed brilliantly at the PSL but the same inconsistencies were present and nothing had changed in his game to suggest he is now an improved batsman.

The typical Pakistan mentality is to see one or two nice shots and term the batsman as 'talented', 'dynamic' etc. This is precisely the reason we have fallen so far behind particularly when it comes to chasing scores and building an innings.

I can see him remaining in the team until the champions trophy after which he will be removed for the last time, after losing another trophy. Sharjeel, what have you done....

Look I don't want him back but give the guy his damn "three more chances" he's been shamelessly begging for - and say its sink or swim.

He already got his 3 more chances and he failed spectacularly. Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

If Inzi doesn't select Kami then the media will absolutely slaughter him.

It's best if Kami gets selected now and fails in this meaningless series rather than get selected for a WT20 and destroy the team's chances.
He has already destroyed Pakistan's chances in a WT20 before and guess what: he was played while Sharjeel Khan sit out in the dug out :facepalm:

you have a guy who won best batsmen, best keeper,, and player of the tournament for the PSL, and you don't want him to be selected. and then you people talk about things like selecting people based on performance. you can't have it both ways. he performed, he deserves a chance. that's it. that's the right only way we should be selecting players - ON MERIT. what message does it send to everyone else if player of the tournament and best batsmen of PSL is not selected? why should other players work hard in these tournaments? of course he should be selected.

keep in mind, i would say the same thing regardless of who won those awards. it's about performance, not personalities.

Bro he was given those 3 chances and more some years ago. Guess whether he passed or failed? Go ahead , Take a guess.

I know, I don't want him in the team. But its inevitable he'll be selected as he's a shameless character who keeps begging.

Let him get his inevitable humiliation as he's exposed by international attacks and then we can be shut of him. One Shannon Gabriel spell will sort him out.

you have a guy who won best batsmen, best keeper,, and player of the tournament for the PSL, and you don't want him to be selected. and then you people talk about things like selecting people based on performance. you can't have it both ways. he performed, he deserves a chance. that's it. that's the right only way we should be selecting players - ON MERIT. what message does it send to everyone else if player of the tournament and best batsmen of PSL is not selected? why should other players work hard in these tournaments? of course he should be selected.

keep in mind, i would say the same thing regardless of who won those awards. it's about performance, not personalities.

Do past failures on the international circuit have absolutely no bearing on selection? Do age and potential have no bearing on selection?

Performance is one metric, there are many others.

If we picked solely on performance, then no young talent would ever be selected.

I know, I don't want him in the team. But its inevitable he'll be selected as he's a shameless character who keeps begging.

Let him get his inevitable humiliation as he's exposed by international attacks and then we can be shut of him. One Shannon Gabriel spell will sort him out.

this kind of wasting time & defeatist attitude is why Pakistan cricket is so low now; you dont value that WI series may give you some good player who will help Pakistan for years to come; you would rather waste it on someone who you know is not worthy :facepalm:

The team already has a capable keeper/batsman with age on his side. Why disturb that. Kamran can wait in the wings if any poortunities turn up; simple. I am not impressed with his previous outings for Pk so not keen on him. I am afraid history is not on his side.

this kind of wasting time & defeatist attitude is why Pakistan cricket is so low now; you dont value that WI series may give you some good player who will help Pakistan for years to come; you would rather waste it on someone who you know is not worthy :facepalm:

For the hundredth time, I DON'T WANT HIM in the team. And whatever I say here isn't going to influence selection.

I'm saying the only positive that'll come from his selection is that he'll be inevitably exposed and we can kill his fraudulent career once and for all.

Its a simple point I hope you can finally grasp now.

kamran did well in the PSL , he is the man of the tournament solely for his batting performances.. if he is not selected based on his past glory, then it will be sending a very bad message to all that irrespective of what ur performances are you will be selected only based upon the age factor...

see misbah and MYK have already set the standard for the age old factors.. if they can still play, then why not kamran who has topped all the batting charts in domestic and PSL...

if Inzi selects him there is no problem at all... but he should be selected only for T20s and if he performs well in the 4 t20s then he should be retained for ODIs too..

Someone who makes absurd statements like 'Give me 3 chances as an opener...' and still fails doesn't deserve a reselection. Or at the very least someone should question why he made such a r3tarded comment lol.

Why would you not want to select your best LOI opener after Sharjeel Khan?

TO LOSE MATCHES?

Sorry, but we care about the team and winning. I won't let Shehzad, Masood, Hafeez, Shafiq ruin our LOI team with their borefests, static feet blind hoicks.

Enough of rubbish LOI batsmen.

Currently in Pak, only Sharjeel, Latif, Shahzaib and Kamran Akmal are good explosive openers. And can play pace.

Why would you not want to select your best LOI opener after Sharjeel Khan?

TO LOSE MATCHES?

Sorry, but we care about the team and winning. I won't let Shehzad, Masood, Hafeez, Shafiq ruin our LOI team with their borefests, static feet blind hoicks.

Enough of rubbish LOI batsmen.

Currently in Pak, only Sharjeel, Latif, Shahzaib and Kamran Akmal are good explosive openers. And can play pace.

Again, a laughable post by an experienced poster. 'Our best LOI opener..' Sorry, on what basis? 'Good explosive opener.' 'Can play pace.'

Completely subjective statements that have no basis in fact, stated by emotional fans.

Nation's support or Political/ media support should never be the reason for inclusion .

Again, a laughable post by an experienced poster. 'Our best LOI opener..' Sorry, on what basis? 'Good explosive opener.' 'Can play pace.'

Completely subjective statements that have no basis in fact, stated by emotional fans.

People misunderstand me.

I don't want to say this, but it's a fact. I wouldn't want my best opener of the team to be Kamran Akmal.

But, there are no other better alternatives! I cannot possibly ask Jason Roy or Alex Hales to open for Pak, can I?

I can only choose from what we have. So, it's all relative. You're free to believe we have better openers, but I'm afraid that's not true factually.

People misunderstand me.

I don't want to say this, but it's a fact. I wouldn't want my best opener of the team to be Kamran Akmal.

But, there are no other better alternatives! I cannot possibly ask Jason Roy or Alex Hales to open for Pak, can I?

I can only choose from what we have. So, it's all relative. You're free to believe we have better openers, but I'm afraid that's not true factually.
The only person here being misunderstood is Kakmal by you. Might as well recall Afridi and Nazir as openers because they're also capable of hitting sixes. Both will fail 9/10 with one odd inning.

If Pakistan are to win 1/10, then yes Kakmal would be a good shot. If you want a FTB like Hales, why not Zia or Shahzaib?

Umar Amin is far better than all of them.

People misunderstand me.

Agreed, that might be true. But I believe that rather than accepting we have no better openers, we should try new players (Fakhar Zaman, Shahzaib Hasan, Tom, Dick and hell even give Harry a go) before going back to someone who is a certified proven failure at the international level. The players mentioned have issues in their game and I do not expect them to be our long term openers, however I am fairly confident they can do better than 25 runs a game.

Hales and Roy would never have been discovered/given a consistent run if England continued to bring back failures instead of moving forward post the 2015 world cup debacle.

Like it or not Kamran Akmals form warrants selection. I have seen countless debates in the past about players not being selected on merit, or being selected because they are favorites of one or the other. The fact of the matter is he is the best option we have currently available, especially now that we are more than likely going to say goodbye to Sharjeel. Maybe play him as a special batsman see how that goes, Malik was bought back from the dead that did not go down too badly. Unfortunately with the state of pakistan cricket at the moment it has got to the stage were i will gladly welcome back Kamran ahead of 99% of the openers on show during the psl. (The other 1% being foreign)

op is disturbed over kamran inclusion. what will happen if both brothers will be selected.

A New Era !

I suggest a fitness camp which is monitored by a third party with open to public results. People of Pakistan have the right to know which player is unfit and still play.

This thread is a great example of why nothing happens based on MERIT in pakistan. A guy is the top player of a major domestic tournament, and we have poster after poster giving reasons why he should not be selected for the national squad. And majority of people find no fault with this thinking. Luckily we have a foreign coach from a country where players are selected on merit, and hopefully he can bring this mentality to our board as well. Changing the fans will take generations, but hopefully some of you look in the mirror and realize that there are fundamental faults with your thought process.

Yet you continue to ignore his abysmal international record. On merit there are far more deserving players who have never been given a chance. No one seems to be answering this point?

Like it or not Kamran Akmals form warrants selection. I have seen countless debates in the past about players not being selected on merit, or being selected because they are favorites of one or the other. The fact of the matter is he is the best option we have currently available, especially now that we are more than likely going to say goodbye to Sharjeel. Maybe play him as a special batsman see how that goes, Malik was bought back from the dead that did not go down too badly. Unfortunately with the state of pakistan cricket at the moment it has got to the stage were i will gladly welcome back Kamran ahead of 99% of the openers on show during the psl. (The other 1% being foreign)

And his complete lack of skill in batting warrants a retirement long back. Another poster who is living short term and using recent form as the criteria to select above all others, yet refusing to address what has been a failure at the international level.

Yet you continue to ignore his abysmal international record. On merit there are far more deserving players who have never been given a chance. No one seems to be answering this point?

Yes, he does have a pretty mediocre record. I cannot defend what he's done in the past. He practically ruined people's careers with his horrible keeping. I am NOT a fan of the Akmal brothers, and actually would love to see the day when all 3 of them are done with international cricket. BUT you cannot ignore that he has been in red hot form, and was the top performer in the PSL and one of the top in the domestic league. Plus with Sharjeel banned, we need a new opener. If you do not select Kamran, then please expain to me why other players will take domestic tournaments seriously?

I would be making this same point regardless of who was the top performer in the PSL. He won all the awards. If he doesn't get selected, whats' the point? Why even have these tournaments?

This thread is a great example of why nothing happens based on MERIT in Pakistan. A guy is the top player of a major domestic tournament, and we have poster after poster giving reasons why he should not be selected for the national squad. And majority of people find no fault with this thinking. Luckily we have a foreign coach from a country where players are selected on merit, and hopefully he can bring this mentality to our board as well. Changing the fans will take generations, but hopefully some of you look in the mirror and realize that there are fundamental faults with your thought process.

Has nothing to do with Pakistan.

Would you say the same about Graeme Hick and Mark Ramprakash?

Mark Ramprakash was a dominant FC player in England. Averaged over 50+ from start to finish in his career. They picked him, and he failed repeatedly.

He went back to FC cricket and dominated. So, they picked him only to be disappointed again!

Cricket at this level is a step up and with Akmal's given track record (150+ ODIs) it's clear he's not good enough to make that jump.

Merit doesn't mean you keep picking a domestic bully. He got his chances again and again without providing value.

I understand personal dislikes for players . . I understand that there are certain players who haven't delivered on expectations the last time they played . . I understand a lot of these things . .

Let me also categorically say that I have been against Kamran Akmal's inclusion . .

But! Contrary to the gentleman who created this post, who is talking about setting a precedent . .

For once, Kamran Akmal is probably the most deserving candidate of a spot . . not keeping but primarily for his batting . .
He has had a stellar season . . First class, List A and now PSL . . even the season before, he had an amazing season . . so that's 2 seasons in a row!

If you're talking about setting the right precedent . . then I am very clear on the fact that NOT selecting a player DESPITE phenomenal domestic performance is setting the WRONG precedent.

What else can a player do? perform over and over and over again . . the other argument factor is that there is no place in the side for Kamran Akmal . .well! with Sharjeel gone and Azhar gone . . no one can argue that either . .

He may well fail and then you can discard him again . . but just on domestic performance, Kamran Akmal most definitely deserves a place in the team . . Let's not let our personal likes and dislikes fiddle with facts!

If you don't consider domestic performance the foremost criterion, then just select players based on how good they look in the nets . . and be consistent with your thought process

Don't pick Salman Butt or Mohammad Asif either. Too old.

what about the age factor? what about the national embarrassment factor? Kami fails on those factors as well as on fitness factor.

Age factor? Lol try again :yk: :misbah:

Has nothing to do with Pakistan.

Would you say the same about Graeme Hick and Mark Ramprakash?

Mark Ramprakash was a dominant FC player in England. Averaged over 50+ from start to finish in his career. They picked him, and he failed repeatedly.

He went back to FC cricket and dominated. So, they picked him only to be disappointed again!

Cricket at this level is a step up and with Akmal's given track record (150+ ODIs) it's clear he's not good enough to make that jump.

Merit doesn't mean you keep picking a domestic bully. He got his chances again and again without providing value.

You are comparing Kamran with nobodies at Int. cricket. At least pick better names to justify your logic. Kamran Akmal by no means has been a failure at international cricket. He has been a successful T20I player and a good ODI player. He is made fun of as a wicket keeper yet he is the most successful wicket keeper in T20Is with most dismissals to his name. He has also been amongst the most run scorers for T20 for Pakistan. He has played a lot of match winning knocks in ODIs and tests too.. who can forget his Mohali,Karachi,T20 sf 2010 and knock he played against SA in 2nd test in SA when we we needed 90 odd to win with 5 down and he took the charge. Thing is players like Kamran are judged from the reputation that has been built about them and that's what clouds people's judgment. Kamran has some of the most valuable knocks in Pakistan history. He has been inconsistent but no one can deny on his day he could be as good as any International player.

Kamran Akmal will only be picked for T20 team and Ahmed Shehzad will come in for Sharjeel for ODIs and T20s. I guess Sami Aslam will be given another go for test team

We were all here 6 years ago as well and we were all discussing the same GOD DAMN THING !! Yet it's 2017 and we're still debating whether Kami Boy can turn around his career and be the 'gun opener' he was destined to be :facepalm:

If people are seriously contemplating that after his 18th Comeback to national colors that he would suddenly become the next best thing since sliced bread then I am afraid this kind of thinking is just WRONG !! And for those claiming that there are no other better alternatives in domestics, let me ask them one very basic question??

Have you guys actually seen any domestic up coming players play previously! How many times and how often ?? Kindly please share the detailed analysis of why we can't find one opener in THE ENTIRE COUNTRY that would be better than Kakmal. !!

Enlighten us !!

Not a bad idea to drop Umar and bring Kamran. Umar is nothing but consistent failures. In the ideal world none of them should represent Pakistan. Because our selectors do not have any liability and eyes we keep selecting same failures again ad again based on match number experience and age wise experience.

You are comparing Kamran with nobodies at Int. cricket. At least pick better names to justify your logic. Kamran Akmal by no means has been a failure at international cricket. He has been a successful T20I player and a good ODI player. He is made fun of as a wicket keeper yet he is the most successful wicket keeper in T20Is with most dismissals to his name. He has also been amongst the most run scorers for T20 for Pakistan. He has played a lot of match winning knocks in ODIs and tests too.. who can forget his Mohali,Karachi,T20 sf 2010 and knock he played against SA in 2nd test in SA when we we needed 90 odd to win with 5 down and he took the charge. Thing is players like Kamran are judged from the reputation that has been built about them and that's what clouds people's judgment. Kamran has some of the most valuable knocks in Pakistan history. He has been inconsistent but no one can deny on his day he could be as good as any International player.

That is just completely not true. He has not in fact been a 'good' ODI player. Yes he has played some brilliant innings but this is over a career of hundreds of International matches. Heck even Anwar Ali has played a couple of match winning innnings and he has played a fraction that Kamran has.

Yes he has the most dismissals but anyone who watched the team during that period will know that this is more due to the strenghth of our bowling, particularly Hafeez, Ajmal and Afridi. However I won't argue this fact since Kamran is not looking to make a comeback as a Keeper. He is our sixth highest run scorer true, but has the lowest a average among anyone in the top ten barring Afridi. A perfect illustration of his limited ability and complete lack of consistency.

'no one can deny on his day he could be as good as any International player' I can say that exact statement amount countless international players who have not gone on to have successful careers.

Hopefully Kami will fail in fitness test (He showed lack of fitness in last 2 matches)

I understand personal dislikes for players . . I understand that there are certain players who haven't delivered on expectations the last time they played . . I understand a lot of these things . .

Let me also categorically say that I have been against Kamran Akmal's inclusion . .

But! Contrary to the gentleman who created this post, who is talking about setting a precedent . .

For once, Kamran Akmal is probably the most deserving candidate of a spot . . not keeping but primarily for his batting . .
He has had a stellar season . . First class, List A and now PSL . . even the season before, he had an amazing season . . so that's 2 seasons in a row!

If you're talking about setting the right precedent . . then I am very clear on the fact that NOT selecting a player DESPITE phenomenal domestic performance is setting the WRONG precedent.

What else can a player do? perform over and over and over again . . the other argument factor is that there is no place in the side for Kamran Akmal . .well! with Sharjeel gone and Azhar gone . . no one can argue that either . .

He may well fail and then you can discard him again . . but just on domestic performance, Kamran Akmal most definitely deserves a place in the team . . Let's not let our personal likes and dislikes fiddle with facts!

If you don't consider domestic performance the foremost criterion, then just select players based on how good they look in the nets . . and be consistent with your thought process

You seem to think that there can only be one criteria for selection at a time.

Yes, he does have a pretty mediocre record. I cannot defend what he's done in the past. He practically ruined people's careers with his horrible keeping. I am NOT a fan of the Akmal brothers, and actually would love to see the day when all 3 of them are done with international cricket. BUT you cannot ignore that he has been in red hot form, and was the top performer in the PSL and one of the top in the domestic league. Plus with Sharjeel banned, we need a new opener. If you do not select Kamran, then please expain to me why other players will take domestic tournaments seriously?

I would be making this same point regardless of who was the top performer in the PSL. He won all the awards. If he doesn't get selected, whats' the point? Why even have these tournaments?

There are many purposes for having these tournaments, with identifying talent/selecting the team as one.

If anything your point is all the more reason to ignore Kamran. Other players have continued to perform for years in domestic and have not been given a chance, nor have they had this many posters pushing for their return. Currently it is him in red hot form, but his non-selection should be statement that if you are given considerable and consistent chances and fail, just returning to domestic and performing will not get you selected. This process is the reason we are stuck in a rut with the same recycled players going round and round. Unless you show an improvement in your game/technique/attitude/ fitness etc the results are likely to be the same. Especially for someone on the wrong side of 36.

You seem to think that there can only be one criteria for selection at a time.

No . . but domestic performance is the most important criterion. But meritocracy depends entirely on performance that support your place in the team . . Kamran Akmal has ticked that box! Like I said . . he may well fail . . but given his performances in the last 2 years, he deserves a spot!

please dont select he is failure he time is over pls paly young blood

If he has the best interest of Pakistan cricket in his heart then he will not select Kamran Akmal in any squad.

But if he does not really care about future of Pakistan cricket then he will select Kamran Akmal.

Mickey will totally support Inzi if he does not select Kamran Akmal. Now its up to Inzi to deliver. Does he want to be remembered as the chief selector who works for the betterment of Pakistan cricket? Or he would be one of those previous chief selectors who have no long-term vision?

:najam:hasan

asif is still superb in text if he is given chance

but kame time is over mark my word

i totally agree yar comon he is over pls kame time is over play young blood
but still sport asif asif is class like inda australia england he willprove

We were all here 6 years ago as well and we were all discussing the same GOD DAMN THING !! Yet it's 2017 and we're still debating whether Kami Boy can turn around his career and be the 'gun opener' he was destined to be :facepalm:

If people are seriously contemplating that after his 18th Comeback to national colors that he would suddenly become the next best thing since sliced bread then I am afraid this kind of thinking is just WRONG !! And for those claiming that there are no other better alternatives in domestics, let me ask them one very basic question??

Have you guys actually seen any domestic up coming players play previously! How many times and how often ?? Kindly please share the detailed analysis of why we can't find one opener in THE ENTIRE COUNTRY that would be better than Kakmal. !!

Enlighten us !!

yes they just dont look and kame is out dated yaar puray mulk mai koi player nahi koi baller nahi they are but no chance just get experience and you will be selected bull support Lahore qalander fawad rana he has made Pakistan cricket proud select talent and give them contract aur is say zayda kya karrey

Agree. Kamran's selection will be a backwards move. He will be a sitting duck in International cricket. That he is even being considered tells us the state of Pakistan cricket.

Kamran has put his hands up and shouted for selection based on performance. Just because there are no younger contenders who are pushing for selection isn't his fault.

If you want to select a team on Merit then Kamran has come to the fore-front on Merit. He deserves a second/third/fourth (whichever) chance based on his performance.

He is not over the hill. My only concern is team combination with Kamran in. Who will keep wicket and does Sarfaraz or Kami have any experience of fielding? Who will keep and who will keep?

Kamran has put his hands up and shouted for selection based on performance. Just because there are no younger contenders who are pushing for selection isn't his fault.

If you want to select a team on Merit then Kamran has come to the fore-front on Merit. He deserves a second/third/fourth (whichever) chance based on his performance.

He is not over the hill. My only concern is team combination with Kamran in. Who will keep wicket and does Sarfaraz or Kami have any experience of fielding? Who will keep and who will keep?

Just out of interest, if he fails again, goes back to domestic, performs well again, would you reselect him? If yes, how many times is that limited/ how many games before he would be discarded? Or is there no limit and he can join the team if he performs at domestic every time?

Are you assuming 100% that he will definitely fail? What if he succeeds and has a few outstanding years for Pakistan?

Why not judge him on his current form?

Are you assuming 100% that he will definitely fail? What if he succeeds and has a few outstanding years for Pakistan?

sample size of his failure is too big 150 ODIs; he is the face of failure

If he does succeed then I will be extremely happy as he would be a useful player for Pakistan. However as the OP has stated, the sample size is enough to suggest that he won't succeed.

Which is why I'm asking if whether he fails and then performs in domestic, would you give him another chance?

I'd rather see Pakistan look to the future than take backward steps.

Malik came back after a long layoff and did well

People need to stop being blind, he deserves a shot, we shouldn't have double standards. IF he fails then he fails, if he succeeds then it's good for him.

Malik came back after a long layoff and did well

People need to stop being blind, he deserves a shot, we shouldn't have double standards. IF he fails then he fails, if he succeeds then it's good for him.

There is a difference between Malik and Kamran Akmal. Malik can actually bat,bowl, and field. He is also by far the most fittest players in the team. Kamran Akmal is only coming as a batsmen. His fitness only looks as good as his brother's. His batsmenship is very dodgy. He has not learned from his mistakes. In international cricket he will struggle badly. Instead of wasting time on a dude we all know will fail. Why not give it to someone who can actually build off this experience?

Picking players should not be based on racking numbers in domestic cricket. It should be based on overall growth of a player. If a player has been given so many chances and has failed. He should not be selected in place of another player who could have used this time to progress as a better player. If we keep this up we will never progress as a team.

There is a difference between Malik and Kamran Akmal. Malik can actually bat,bowl, and field. He is also by far the most fittest players in the team. Kamran Akmal is only coming as a batsmen. His fitness only looks as good as his brother's. His batsmenship is very dodgy. He has not learned from his mistakes. In international cricket he will struggle badly. Instead of wasting time on a dude we all know will fail. Why not give it to someone who can actually build off this experience?

Picking players should not be based on racking numbers in domestic cricket. It should be based on overall growth of a player. If a player has been given so many chances and has failed. He should not be selected in place of another player who could have used this time to progress as a better player. If we keep this up we will never progress as a team.

You make good points and you're right. I still think though, it is unfair to not give him a chance, lets give one series and that's it.

Well if he fails this time he will have no excuses now. I hope this is the final time we give this man a chance if he is to fail.

He merits a spot in t20s with Sharjeel and Latif out, but in odis I think we should be looking towards the future.

In the old days he seemed to have a soft spot for Akmal. Hope for the sake of the team he has lost that now.

Misbah's selection , not Kamran's is bad for Pakistan cricket.

Why Inzi is not looking forward and instead looking backward?

Inzi drop a young WK Rizwan for a 35 years old WK Kamran Akmal :facepalm: Instead of replacing Rizwan with another young WK, Inzi has looked backward. This is astonishing that a chief selector has not plan for Pakistan's future.

I hate the whole selector fixation with cricket. The head coach must have full control over both team selections and playing XI.

Dude..we get it you don't like Kamran, who is our best opener atm.

But why create threads after threads for the same dislike?

Rizwan belongs in club cricket - not above that. Even casual cricket followers can see that.

and what future does kamran hold???at least he should have gone for another promising keeper like hassan khan etc which is young but not 35 years old yungster beauty..

I don't get it. Are you suggesting Inzi should pick people based on how youthful they look and the least aged ones?

And not look at the ability, form and performances of the player?

I think Inzi should be scouting the streets then, to look for pretty young boys? And not cricketers?

Kami can play modern ODI cricket at 35. Your 20 year olds cannot . That's a disgrace.

Give Sarfaraz a team comprising of Babar, Fakhar, Talat, Saad Ali and Shadab and he will do alot better.

Keep selecting Azhar, Hafeez, Akmals and Malik and you will remain at number 8/9

I don't get it. Are you suggesting Inzi should pick people based on how youthful they look and the least aged ones?

I think Inzi should be scouting the streets then, to look for pretty young boys? And not cricketers?

Kami can play modern ODI cricket at 35. Your 20 year olds cannot . That's a disgrace.

'Modern ODI cricket' ......LOL.

Let's see how quickly this comes back to hurt you like some of your other statements :kakmal

in system like our u make players by bringing them to higher level cricket....kammi may perform but it will be not more the 1 or one and half year even if he does....and what is the role of chief selector if he cant pick talent.....wait and see that how does it go..as far as my memory is concerned this strategy hasnt worked for us in the past neither it will in future...

:)) Markhor doesn't really want Kamran back but knows that there is a high probability of his beloved Inzi selecting him, this a defensive shield he has developed for the attacks which will follow so he has advocated Kami's return :yk

That won't happen. He will continue on to whine even after he gets these chances. Kamran Akmal never shuts up when he starts performing in domestic. He will get his chance than fail, than go back to domestic to perform, than whine his way back into the national team. Rinse and repeat for years and years.

Kami already got those 3 chances. He said it long time ago and PCB oblige and gave him those chances and he failed miserably as expected. Not sure why [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] bhai is talking about those 3 old chances as 3 new chances :facepalm: Ab bus bhi kero yay natak Pakistan cricket kay sath

Kamran had a better Psl than Umar, should replace that talent master and Lahori Chargha finisher

Recently we were discussing cricket in the living room as usual with friends & family, and the question was asked, name one player you absolutely despise from each cricketing nation. When it came to Pakistan, I instantly said Kamran Akmal.

Despite his heroics for Pakistan early on in his career, this guy went on to become a national embarrassment. His shady behavior around the dressing room -- which includes the influence on the team when he plays alongside his younger brother -- and the horrific wicket keeping (especially when we were touring Australia) is enough to never have him play for Pakistan again. His only chance to play for Pakistan is to be selected for his batting alone (this is obvious anyway, since Sarfaraz will be our keeper in each format). And if that is the case, I'd love to see the justification for this over other batsmen in the domestic circuit. If someone pulled up a string of his most recent outings, it will help highlight how abysmal this guy is. Not only does he fail at cricket, but he generally looks like the type of person that has a negative influence in the dressing room and has nothing to contribute on the leadership front (which would be expected from someone with his level of experience).

Never, please INZI!

Inzi has disappointed most of the Pak cricket fans by selecting Kamran Akmal for the camp :facepalm:

Lets hope Mickey Arthur talk sense into Inzi and Inzi does not select Kamran Akmal for any of the squads.