Is an India vs Pakistan Champions Trophy final on June 18 a real possibility?

CricFan2012

First Class Star
After this probable win against South Africa Pakistan should be able to easily defeat a weak Sri Lankan team in their last group match and finish second in group B.

India should easily come on top in both their remaining matches as they have the best side in this tournament with great pacers and in form batsmen.

England will face off Pakistan in one of the semi finals in Cardiff while India will most likely face Australia. I have a feeling that the sub continent sides will come on top and Pakistan will create the biggest upset in Cricket after Australias win against India in the 2003 cricket world cup final.

This sets us up for a grande finale. The mother of all battles. The second time these rivals will be facing each other in an ICC final after the 2007 T20 World Cup, which was the best final of all time.

Who will you be rooting for on the 18th? As an ex Pakistani fan I have got to admire their fighting spirit that they've created in the South Africa match, but I have got to support India. :babar

Pakistan already beat the number 1 team fair and square... Hoping for Pakistan vs India Final

I have a feeling that the sub continent sides will come on top and Pakistan will create the biggest upset in Cricket after Australias win against India in the 2003 cricket world cup final.

Leave everything aside. Please explain this illogical statement :facepalm:

Please delete this stupid thread. We've won one game

Honestly, I don't ever see Pakistan beating India in an ICC event and everyone saw it coming on Sunday.

Pak should easily beat Sri Lanka, they've already taken down the number 1 ranked team today.

I thought England would have the best of them in the semis since they owned them in the series in august, but a kind poster pointed our that Pakistan won at Cardiff in that series as its pretty spin friendly, Pakistan has 3 decent spinners and England choke against spin.

Believe in the green mate

Mostly if Pak makes it to SF, below will be the scenario.

Group - A
England
Australia

Group-B
India
Pakistan

So it will be Pak vs Eng and India vs Aus in the Semis.

I don't see both India and Pak going to the finals.
India can beat England. But they will be outgunned by Aus.

Mostly if Pak makes it to SF, below will be the scenario.

Group - A
England
Australia

Group-B
India
Pakistan

So it will be Pak vs Eng and India vs Aus in the Semis.

I don't see both India and Pak going to the finals.
India can beat England. But they will be outgunned by Aus.

chacha ji, you don't see our boys beating Saffers? After today's match it looks like they've been overrated to the moon. India should come on top in group B which means final is very much possible

I don't have much hope of India beating Australia. Hope India lose the game against South Africa and face the relatively easy opponent, England in the semis. But then even the loss against South Africa would still put India at the top due to higher run rate.

India and Pakistan both can beat England and both most likely lose against Australia. Pakistan are lucky here. They have a higher chance of sneaking through finals than India.

England vs Australia final - 40% chance
Pakistan vs Australia final - 25% chance
India vs England final - 20% chance
India vs Pakistan final - 15% chance

chacha ji, you don't see our boys beating Saffers? After today's match it looks like they've been overrated to the moon. India should come on top in group B which means final is very much possible

Bhateeja Ji, please read my post again.

I said if Pak makes it to Semis, Pak has to play England in SF. I don't see Pak beating England.

Bhateeja Ji, please read my post again.

I said if Pak makes it to Semis, Pak has to play England in SF. I don't see Pak beating England.

sorry yaar, so much going on in my mind and excited today after neighbours win, I missed the 2007 final so this is going to be early eid for all cricket fans, hoping for a last ball finish

Allah na kare... we will dish them the trophy on a platter.

You will dish us the trophy after both teams wrestle in the mud, break a few bones, and lose some teeth.

No one likes these one sided Indo-Pak encounters, be hopeful and alhamdulila Allah will grant us a heavenly match.

You better believe that if its Pakistan vs. England the ICC will do it's best to get Pakistan into the final. No, I'm not joking. England will always get far in ICC tournaments, but if they have an option of rigging the match, they want a Pakistan vs. India final since the teams never play.

Hoping India doesn't even advance past group stage! Rainout vs SL for India and loss to SA.

Pakistan win vs SL.

Pakistan would have 4 points, India 3 and South Africa 4 points :D.

Everyone is laughing at the OP's suggestion but this does all have the same ingredients as World Cup 1992.

Pakistan entered the tournament with not much chance, start poorly, get some points in a vital rain affected game.

They are written off by everyone after a thrashing, fight back with their backs against the wall.

Go on a remarkable winning streak and then play a great rival in the final.

All played against the backdrop of Ramadan providing them great motivation and belief.

It's a repeat 25 years later...just watch guys!

Depends upon who gets England in the semis.

Beating England would be hard. India could do it, Pakistan can't .

so lets see what the semis are gonna look like.

Dont get ahead of yourself lol. Pakistan won half a match till now

Pakistan needs India to beat SA then beat SL and we're in Semis. What if India lose to SA on purpose?:angelo

Yes it will there is no way around it we will thrash SL, then enter the Semi's.

The Cardiff pitch has been used quite regularly throughout this tournament so spin should come into play. We will bowl first against England and our spinners will rip through the English line-up. England will be dismantled for 180/10. Fakhar will start off with a blazing 50 off just 30 balls and professor will be dismissed for around 20 off 30. After 10 Overs we will be 70/2 with only 111 runs left to chase Babar and Sarfraz will make short work of the chase.

Scorecard at match conclusion - Semi Final
England - 180/10 (46)
Joe Root - 64 (92) Shadab Khan - 5/18 (8)
Jason Roy - 39 (42) Imad Wasim - 3/36 (10)

Pakistan - 182/2 (26)
Babar Azam 62 (48) Mark Wood - 2/40 (6)
Sarfraz Ahmed 50 (48)

Then it will be the Final for the centuries, India vs Pakistan! Pakistan will finally rise to the occasion and destroy India. Let me just give you a sneak peak at the scorecard of this match.

India - 318/9 (50)
MS Dhoni - 128 (90) Mohammad Amir - 5/40
Virat Kohli - 99 (114) Hasan Ali - 3/58

Pakistan 320/2 (44)
Babar Azam - 170 (150) Ravindra Jadeja - 1/66 (8)
Fakhar Zaman - 120 (72)

Sorry for the spoiler boys it may have taken away the climax but I couldn't resist.
:trollface

Pakistan needs India to beat SA then beat SL and we're in Semis. What if India lose to SA on purpose?:angelo

No guarantees India will reach the semis - esp if they lose to SL as well.

[/B]

Surely they wouldn't do such a thing...

People are crazy. SA are strong enough to beat India even after the drubbing they received from Pak. Dont forget they are the number 1 side. People are taking them for granted. There is absolutely no guarentee that they will lose to India.

However India will not lose to SL thats pretty much conclusive. So Pakistan might not qualify even if PAK beats SL just because of the margin of defeat in the Indo-Pak game.

I would love to lose the SF if we are going to meet India in finals, No way on earth we can win against india

we still have to beat SRI LANKA, it might seem like we can beat them, but we never know, have to take it one game at a time.

Honestly, I don't ever see Pakistan beating India in an ICC event and everyone saw it coming on Sunday.

Pak should easily beat Sri Lanka, they've already taken down the number 1 ranked team today.

I thought England would have the best of them in the semis since they owned them in the series in august, but a kind poster pointed our that Pakistan won at Cardiff in that series as its pretty spin friendly, Pakistan has 3 decent spinners and England choke against spin.

Believe in the green mate

I was the only person posting after India saying we'll beat South Africa.

On Cardiff if we bowl second we will run through England. Pitch offers a lot and breaks up.

It's just a) let's not get ahead b) who cares about India. Let's stop putting them on a pedestal.

Imagine if Sri Lanka give India a good thrashing tomorrow just like World Cup Semi Final 1996 when a billion Indians cried and the crowd nearly burned down the stadium?!

Yes it will there is no way around it we will thrash SL, then enter the Semi's.

The Cardiff pitch has been used quite regularly throughout this tournament so spin should come into play. We will bowl first against England and our spinners will rip through the English line-up. England will be dismantled for 180/10. Fakhar will start off with a blazing 50 off just 30 balls and professor will be dismissed for around 20 off 30. After 10 Overs we will be 70/2 with only 111 runs left to chase Babar and Sarfraz will make short work of the chase.

Scorecard at match conclusion - Semi Final
England - 180/10 (46)
Joe Root - 64 (92) Shadab Khan - 5/18 (8)
Jason Roy - 39 (42) Imad Wasim - 3/36 (10)

Pakistan - 182/2 (26)
Babar Azam 62 (48) Mark Wood - 2/40 (6)
Sarfraz Ahmed 50 (48)

Then it will be the Final for the centuries, India vs Pakistan! Pakistan will finally rise to the occasion and destroy India. Let me just give you a sneak peak at the scorecard of this match.

India - 318/9 (50)
MS Dhoni - 128 (90) Mohammad Amir - 5/40
Virat Kohli - 99 (114) Hasan Ali - 3/58

Pakistan 320/2 (44)
Babar Azam - 170 (150) Ravindra Jadeja - 1/66 (8)
Fakhar Zaman - 120 (72)

Sorry for the spoiler boys it may have taken away the climax but I couldn't resist.
:trollface
Were Hafeez/Azhar playing? I hope one of them would of been dropped by then.

Wow, one victory and suddenly we're making it to the final? Jeez. At least wait till the result of our final match to make such threads. Even IF we make it to the semis, we'll face England, and let's be honest, playing against the tournament favourites in their own backyard? Yeah, I can only see a comprehensive drubbing for Pakistan, especially with our outdated batting.

It seems like a certainty.

Hopefully India are good enough to make the final.

2 losses in one tournament ? Not InshaAllah.

If we reach final than many of our players will be in form and confidence level will be high. Moreover those who did not perform in first 3 games adequately won't be part of semi or final.

Deluded Pak fans havent seen the table- if India lose to South Africa we're as good as out. That Run rate is new levels of low...

I'm confused. I want India out of here which means we really need rain or SL win 2maw.
This is unlikely. In thay instance with need India to win on Sunday.
But on Saturday I need Australia to win but not finish top because I would rather play England than Australia and I would rather India play Australia too in semis.
I definitely don't want India in the final.
Anyway long way to go. 1 game at a time time!!

It has happened before. In 1985 B&H tournament in Australia, India *hammered* Pak twice -- once in the round-robin and then in the final.

lol, if India win tomorrow and lose to Saffers - which is very possible, we are out.

Need either India to lose tomorrow or South Africa to lose Sunday. People need to stop talking about the final when our fate is literally out of our hands.

I'm calling it now, Dickwella scores a hundred and slays India at the Oval and sends em packing

India purposely losing to SA is not an option, they wouldn't want the SA team reaching the Semis because they would like all easy possibilities to face in the final. Either Pakistan or Sri Lanka going through suits India more because it gives them a chance of facing a weaker opponent in the Final

India won't be losing any games on purpose. They will play every game as if it is do or die. Every good team does that.

Sheikh chilli ke khwaab hain yeah!First of all beat srilanka then talk about semifinal and final!!

There is a good possibility neither team get there. Despite the first match i still don't think India's batting form is quiet there yet.

People are crazy. SA are strong enough to beat India even after the drubbing they received from Pak. Dont forget they are the number 1 side. People are taking them for granted. There is absolutely no guarentee that they will lose to India.

However India will not lose to SL thats pretty much conclusive. So Pakistan might not qualify even if PAK beats SL just because of the margin of defeat in the Indo-Pak game.

SA is a crap team led by most clueless captain. It will be walk in the park for India.Their bowling attack except for Morne and Tahir is a joke. Yes Rabada is not in form.Bowling lots of pies. And Morris and Parnell LoL. Batting is even more ridiculous barring H amla and Faf with AbD out of form.

Lets just hope you are proved right.

Actually, Group A has a very interesting scenario.

If England beat Australia, then Australia are out of the tournament. Then the winner of NZ vs Bangladesh makes it into the semis. If Australia do lose to England, their only hope would be the NZ vs Bangladesh game is only wiped out.

If Australia beat England, then both Australia and England are through irrespective of who wins in the other game.

So, no guarantees as to which team will make it to the semis from Group A yet.

Don't underestimate them,saw the way they played in India in LOI and in no way can they be taken lightly, they need just one batsman to tick,they didn't give enough respect to PCT and they suffered,hopefully India is not that casual.

That Indian team was way in flux. There was no Jadeja, Shami was injured, Bumrah wasn't there. The lower middle order had an old Dhoni without Pandya or Jadhav. And even then it was only the last match that was a mismatch.

Once these new boys have come we beat NZ and Eng (and even beat Aus in the final ODI plus whitewash in T20) comfortably.

Bumrah and Pandya have made a big difference.

That Indian team was way in flux. There was no Jadeja, Shami was injured, Bumrah wasn't there. The lower middle order had an old Dhoni without Pandya or Jadhav. And even then it was only the last match that was a mismatch.

Once these new boys have come we beat NZ and Eng (and even beat Aus in the final ODI plus whitewash in T20) comfortably.

You are basing your opinion on yesterday's performance of Saffers,there might be a difference but if QDK or ABD get on attack mode and the pitch is flat ,we will not be able to make a comeback scorewise.

They have played our bowlers in IPL even Amla has,which wasn't really the case for them against PCT where they underestimated them.

You are getting too ahead if yourself after just one win.

The SA Batting could click and bat us out of the game. We need to win against SL, and win big. Then with 4 points, we have a significant chance of making it, even if we lose to SA. Our NRR will be pretty high.

You are basing your opinion on yesterday's performance of Saffers,there might be a difference but if QDK or ABD get on attack mode and the pitch is flat ,we will not be able to make a comeback scorewise.

They have played our bowlers in IPL even Amla has,which wasn't really the case for them against PCT where they underestimated them.

This pitch was a bit on the slower side and SA always struggle on such pitches. Last CT I remember Jadeja, Ashwin and Raina (of all people) really killing them in the middle overs. Even in the bilaterals in the couple of games we won they were strangled by spin. And the pitches are getting slower and lower with constant use (just like last CT).

And we have won the last 4 ICC bouts against them.

You are getting too ahead if yourself after just one win.

The SA Batting could click and bat us out of the game. We need to win against SL, and win big. Then with 4 points, we have a significant chance of making it, even if we lose to SA. Our NRR will be pretty high.

It's not one win. We killed in the warmups. We beat England comprehensively in January (and ppl might say conditions etc. These wickets are way more subcontinental; than traditional English pitches). The same England just beat SA. We just destroyed Pakistan who just beat SA.

If the pitch is a complete featherbed or green SA have an advantage. But if the pitches behave like they are doing now we should win easy.

Relax bro, Saffers have shown their true colours, overrated bunch.

Indian bowlers > Pakistani bowlers

If Pakistani bowlers can own saffers like that then we will do twice as good.

India may be out of SF if rain keep threatening. washout with SL and loss with SA wud send India back home

It's a real possibility, Pakistan has best chance in group B to reach the semi's..

What are the permutations now???

After SL won... what can Pak do to reach the semis? If we beat SL now, are we through?

It is a virtual QF for both matches. But in wash out I think India and SL would go through due to superior NRR. India for sure but SA or SL I am nto sure about.

We definitely would not given how pathetic we batted vs India. If we get washed out, we deserve to.

As long as it doesn't rain whoever wins the next match goes through..

Pakistan has best chance since they will play Sri Lanka who are on paper weaker than South Africa or India..

I would love Pak to beat SL and SA and India to be no result. We would finish on top of group!

Then I would love Bangladesh to beat New Zealand and England to beat Australia. This would result in semis:

Pakistan vs Bangladesh
England vs India

Pakistan vs England final

Would also love my scenario from yesterday of SL to beat India (DONE), Pakistan to beat SL and SA to beat India. Would mean SA and Pakistan through to semis.

It is a virtual QF for both matches. But in wash out I think India and SL would go through due to superior NRR. India for sure but SA or SL I am nto sure about.

We definitely would not given how pathetic we batted vs India. If we get washed out, we deserve to.

As long as it doesn't rain whoever wins the next match goes through..

Pakistan has best chance since they will play Sri Lanka who are on paper weaker than South Africa or India..

I would love Pak to beat SL and SA and India to be no result. We would finish on top of group!

Then I would love Bangladesh to beat New Zealand and England to beat Australia. This would result in semis:

Pakistan vs Bangladesh
England vs India

Pakistan vs England final

Would also love my scenario from yesterday of SL to beat India (DONE), Pakistan to beat SL and SA to beat India. Would mean SA and Pakistan through to semis.

What happens if Pak beat SL and Ind beat SA?

Ind and Pak go through or NRR?

What happens if Pak beat SL and Ind beat SA?

Ind and Pak go through or NRR?

India and Pak go through because both teams will have two wins and SA and SL will have one win each.

Brothers, it seems like after todays loss India will be tested against South Africa, but inshala they will pull through, this team loves to fight.

I have confidence in Pakistan in prevailing against the Lankans, but the tough matches are soon to come.

England and Australia are the colonialists and the subcontinent sides will be fighting for their independence.

The final will be like when India and Pakistan separated, no more bhai bhai, but the match will still be viewed in good heart by all including me. God bless