Is it time to forget Mohammad Amir, or does he still have something to offer Pakistan?

With 42 needed from 24, Karachi called on Amir to deliver a match-winning over, but he couldn't do on this occasion. 14 runs conceded and the game looking dire now

4 overs for 44 tonight against IU.

Plenty of rubbish out there when his team needed it most.

people who think this wasim akram reborn will come back to international cricket to replace likes of Shaheen, Hasan Ali or even Rauf are not in their senses.

Rauf. Guy has two brain cells. Amir has done more in one series than Rauf could do in a career.

You’re wrong in the senses if you think Rauf can compete with Amir.

What happened there Amir?
Was this also because of misbah and Waqar, and the test workload you had 3 years ago?

He's done. Won us two finals, that's good enough. Stick to leagues now brother.

Bowled some absolute tripe today but you have to question the tactics as well. That was a ridiculously difficult field to bowl to. He was basically forced to bowl wide yorkers with that field, and those are some of the toughest balls to bowl consistently. Poor tactics from Imad, and Amir, as a senior bowler, should have also stepped up and changed the strategy as well.

Bowled poorly in the last 2 overs. But the main culprits remain babar and yamin.

Rauf. Guy has two brain cells. Amir has done more in one series than Rauf could do in a career.

You’re wrong in the senses if you think Rauf can compete with Amir.

So you know nothing about Pakistani cricket.

Amir not even in his dreams can displace Shaheen. That leaves 2nd spot for the attack and its already taken by Hasan Ali who performed marvelously in tests and T20s. Fourth Seamer position is cemented by in-form allrounder Faheem Ashraf.

Only open spot is in Pakistani team might be ... might be ... third seamer options which are are Hasnain, Haris Rauf in T20s and ODI's. On, spinning tracks they might play Nawaz, Shadab. Then there is an inventory of younger and much more quick bowlers waiting to be picked. Amir with all his twitter antics, broken body and medium pace bowling is just not part of Pakistani plan anymore. He was finished in 2019 anyways.

Should move to USA

Will get paid good amount there and can also make money by playing other leagues

Should move to USA

Will get paid good amount there and can also make money by playing other leagues

He is already making lots of money by Living in Pakistan ... plays in PSL, Bangladeshi League, LPL, CPL, T10 and what not ... I think he is one of the most active and money making cricketers out there in Pakistan. He is extremely lucky to be this financially successful after ban.

Its good to see amir getting hit and getting treated like a amateur bowler.

He is already making lots of money by Living in Pakistan ... plays in PSL, Bangladeshi League, LPL, CPL, T10 and what not ... I think he is one of the most active and money making cricketers out there in Pakistan. He is extremely lucky to be this financially successful after ban.

He can make more money than that if he does what I have suggested.

Well his stocks will fall quickly if he continues with the mediocre performances. 2 years without international cricket and below average league performances will not attract many suitors

I think his name sells at this stage more than anything. He can go on making more money for next 3-4 years in such leagues and retire happily to become a cricket pundit or something on same lines.

He ended up better than Asif but not by far.

Lol, all Amir bowls are cutters and change ups. Even his effort deliveries and embarrassingly ineffective.

A few losses here and there against top teams and he will be remembered.
But I agree with the treatment meted out to him time to move on. He is not interested in Pakistan, which is sad given the country forgave him. He should have been trying hard even on his last limbs to give back.

An eventful first 2 overs from Amir today!

The first over was absolutely brilliant, nailed 5 on the yorker length but gave away 8 in leg byes (so it counted as a maiden) and burnt both Karachi's reviews. Had Rizwan dancing all over the crease.

The second over was absolutely dreadful. Lynn took him for 2 fours and a six, then Amir bowled 2 wides in a row. 18 off the over.

Don't turn off the TV when Amir is bowling

Imad Wasim regarding Amir in post match interview “He is not just the best bowler in Pakistan but, in the world”.

Said he is the best in the world around 3 times in the interview and that he has always believed that.

Imad Wasim regarding Amir in post match interview “He is not just the best bowler in Pakistan but, in the world”.

Said he is the best in the world around 3 times in the interview and that he has always believed that.

Imad is clearly on an agenda. Maybe too burnt over Shadab getting captaincy over him for T20Is.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imad Wasim "I always believe that Mohammad Amir is the best bowler in the world, not just in Pakistan. Even on flat tracks he’s bowling so well and I have always backed him and he's the best bowler in the world that I have played with" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL6?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL6</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1365654264115265545?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 27, 2021</a></blockquote>

Aamer is such a good bowler, Pakistan could do well to sort out whatever issues are there and get him back playing for the country.

He could be the differentiator for Pakistan in 2023 World Cup.

His first over today was as good as anything you will see in any format.

Also take into account he was bowling to an in-form Rizwan.

Don’t like Amir but he is must see. A joy to watch at his best, not always firing but you see the world class qualities from time to time

People are overrating his first over. It was nothing special. He got a little bit of swing, but he is bowling from so wide of the crease like always, which means he doesn't bring LBW into play.

Sohail Khan's new ball spells in both matches were markedly better.

You cannot justify his exclusion when you are picking street cricketers like Rauf. He makes the ODI/T20 teams of Pakistan on 100% merit.

The World Cup’s in India. So we only really need two fast bowlers, alongside Faheem as the third pacer. And right now, it’s hard to see any two pacers other than Shaheen and Hasan making the playing XI.
Amir should definitely be in the squad if he can reconcile with the management, he’s miles ahead of Wahab and Haris Rauf. But I don’t think not taking him to India would be the end of the world. For the World T20, in Australia, in 2022, he’d be a huge miss, for sure.

The best habitual wicketless bowler in the world for sure. Another look good but do nothing bowler like Abbas.

Really. Could you find me an article where Kohli rated Abbas as the best bowler he’s faced.

Could you find me the scorecard where Abbas remover Rohit, Kohli and Dhawan in the CT17.

Could you find me the scorecard of the Abbas spell where he took out the top order defending 80 odd in the Asia cup?

I could go on and and on but I’m tired.

Taking way persona liking or disliking , purely on merit, Amir is the 2nd best white ball bowler in Pakistan after Shaheen. He also performs better in bigger matches like world cup. Hope things will be sorted out in coming months and Amir will be part of T20 WC squad. Pakistan team needs him.

whilst i agree with this... unfortunately due to all the issues hes had off field and the drama and baggage that surrounds him (past and present) as well as the fact that his body is breaking down and the emergence of the likes of shaheen, hassan, and the younger crop, i think amir must be left to play his domestic leagues and make money for himself and his family and shouldnt be picked again

Shaheen is the only new bowler better than Amir, otherwise there is no new one in site , hence Amir needs to come back .

He would definitely fit in the t20 team for the upcoming wt20 with Shaheen, Hasan and him being the primary pacers. But I don't think he even wants to be there. Plus his presence would be quite toxic in a dressing room where there would be Misbah, Waqar, Hafeez, maybe Sarfraz and Rizwan.
Need the benefits to outweigh the harms. Don't think he should make it. Team selection is earned not given.
Atm I would be fine with Shaheen, Hasan and anyone else who can bowl in the right channels for a few overs. Anyone other than Haris Rauf would be fine.

He would definitely fit in the t20 team for the upcoming wt20 with Shaheen, Hasan and him being the primary pacers. But I don't think he even wants to be there. Plus his presence would be quite toxic in a dressing room where there would be Misbah, Waqar, Hafeez, maybe Sarfraz and Rizwan.
Need the benefits to outweigh the harms. Don't think he should make it. Team selection is earned not given.
Atm I would be fine with Shaheen, Hasan and anyone else who can bowl in the right channels for a few overs. Anyone other than Haris Rauf would be fine.

Get rid of Misbah, the root cause of all the toxicity.

Really. Could you find me an article where Kohli rated Abbas as the best bowler he’s faced.

Could you find me the scorecard where Abbas remover Rohit, Kohli and Dhawan in the CT17.

Could you find me the scorecard of the Abbas spell where he took out the top order defending 80 odd in the Asia cup?

I could go on and and on but I’m tired.

Yes, Amir should be allowed to have 100 wicketless matches because of just 1-2 games. Stellar logic. Your overall career stats don't lie at the end of the day and it tells you Amir is garbage

There is only one intl quality bowler better than Amir on current form and that is Shaheen.

His 1st over yesterday deserved 2 wickets the way he was swinging it. Almost had Rizwan bowled and LBW in the same over but was highly unlucky. Showed his death bowling prowess as well against set batsmen by giving way just 16 runs in 2 overs and Lala's wicket.

Yet the naysayers will keep finding excuses. "Fixer hai, sirf league khelta hai, paisa ka bhooka" blah blah blah.

Yes, Amir should be allowed to have 100 wicketless matches because of just 1-2 games. Stellar logic. Your overall career stats don't lie at the end of the day and it tells you Amir is garbage

Yup
Meanwhile Haris Rauf, Wahab and Faheem have been dishing out fifers and sub-20 averages for years.

Why not just bring in and develop hasnain instead? It's the perfect time to get him some much needed international experience.
Amir might just give in some great performances here and there. But his discipline and attitude are totally unacceptable in any professional setup.

I think on current form we need to have him in team to open the bowling with Shaheen, He is much better than Haris on current form.

Yup
Meanwhile Haris Rauf, Wahab and Faheem have been dishing out fifers and sub-20 averages for years.

Surely ther ar either bowlers like Ali or even Hasnanin? Why is Rauf Amirs competition ?

I won't be shocked to see him recalled for the World T20.

His first over today was as good as anything you will see in any format.

Also take into account he was bowling to an in-form Rizwan.

Don’t like Amir but he is must see. A joy to watch at his best, not always firing but you see the world class qualities from time to time
Amir is unlikely to make a comeback under Waqar.

PCB has to chose between Waqar and Amir.

Would be good to see highlights of that over none on the internet apart from him getting smashed by Chris Lyn

Mohammad Amir with another spectacular first over.

Denly's stumps goes flying!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.882%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/c58wys" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Come on Amir, clean bowl him , don’t forget the comments he made recently to upset our dear babu. :)

Denly's stumps goes flying!

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.882%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/c58wys" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

This reminds me of those magic moments in 2010 t20 WC final and 2017 CT, hope see more like this for Pakistan

With Shaheen going great guns, him and Amir will make a great opening pair in T20 WC for Pakistan .

Mohammad Amir's first over. Simply stunning. Shaheen should be there at each Karachi game to taunt Amir if this is what it brings out of him

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/cn6alx" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Dropping him from the Pakistan side has had the desired effect, he looks really fired up for the PSL.

There's no doubting his quality, just wish he showed this fire when he's wearing the Pakistan shirt.

As I said earlier, how can you not have him playing for the country?

There are players of different attitudes, you need to manage them accordingly, can't lose them.

Cant blame him today. He has bowled as well as I have seen him in the last year and a half.

Was over 140 kph consistently and put on a real show. Luck went against him.

This guy is poison has an axe to grind with fakhar shaheen hafeez and our national team players

Must be kept away from the national team

Look how shaheen sent off babar and put his arm around him

It will be poison in the team if this guy is around the national setup the current pakistani players have a severe disliking to this guy

Amirs last over, two of the boundaries unlucky but the bouncer vs a tall guy can ask for trouble, Dunk/Wiese smart enough to ride it. Great match

This guy is poison has an axe to grind with fakhar shaheen hafeez and our national team players

It will be poison in the team if this guy is around the national setup the current pakistani players have a severe disliking to this guy

Curious to know if at game's end during player's handeshake/fistbump, if players have been ignoring him.

100% agreed. These are the kind of vibes I’m getting from him too. He seems jealous and conceited.

Real showbiz bowling from the legend.

Surely can't be ignored if keeps this up?

You're average, self-proclaimed PP expert after Amir's first three overs: "World class! Bring him back to national team, haterz gonna hateee! Cheetaaaaaaahhh"

Same expert after Amir's final over: "Bakwas bowler, he's finished! He's a TTF bowler!"

In all seriousness, Amir's last over was unlucky but costly at the same time. Assuming he takes back his retirement, Amir has to put up bowling performances like he showed in his first 3 overs today to make way to the national team again.

You're average, self-proclaimed PP expert after Amir's first three overs: "World class! Bring him back to national team, haterz gonna hateee! Cheetaaaaaaahhh"

Same expert after Amir's final over: "Bakwas bowler, he's finished! He's a TTF bowler!"

In all seriousness, Amir's last over was unlucky but costly at the same time. Assuming he takes back his retirement, Amir has to put up bowling performances like he showed in his first 3 overs today to make way to the national team again.

Being hit for a straight down 6 by Wiese is not unlucky, poor performance by Aamir.

144.7 kph ...he has become a nervous system dependent bowler.

He bowls only when he wants which raises serious concerns about his lack of commitment. You cant just turn up at big events and be expected to coast around in other matches.

Seriously, who cares about JAMODIS?
like it or not fact is he won 2 ICC trophies out of the total of 3 Pak won.

In the history (Pak cricket) he is a legend.

Even today he still can deliver an opening spell of swing and accurate bowling at 140 Ks.

SSA and Amir should open the bowling come WT20.

Being hit for a straight down 6 by Wiese is not unlucky, poor performance by Aamir.

That 6 should not have happened, I agree. The 3 fours though were still unlucky. The over was still costly overall, but it was unlucky as well.

Thought he bowled well today, that last over wasn't as bad as the figures suggest, he was unlucky for sure. Some good deliveries got edges for 4s.

The real question is why he doesn't look so fired up for Pakistan? I think he has taken his place for granted and let stardom go to his head.

He’s still the best bowler in the world.