Is it time to recall Mohammad Amir for the 2023 World Cup?

• Yes it's time to recall Mohammad Amir

Votes: 47 53.4%
  • No I don't think we should pick him

Votes: 41 46.6%

• Poll closed .

Saj

Naseem Shah possibly out of the World Cup.

Haris Rauf struggling for fitness.

Faheem Ashraf not in the best of form.

Zaman Khan relatively inexperienced in the 50-over format.

Shahnawaz Dahani with not many ODIs behind him.

Mohammad Wasim jr not in the greatest form.

Is it time to recall a cricketer who divides opinions like no other, Mohammad Amir?

Think sets a bad precedent to bring him back in - the lets win at all costs thing which has always bothered us in the past.

I can see the excitement because he is performing in a T20 league must be high but what ODI cricket has he played in recent times?

No

By bringing him back you end up insulting the Nation.

A guy who once sold out his country, got away with a light sentence and no jail time because he had faked his age. He was also able to blame Salman Butt for everything and never apologized or accept for what he did. He still refers to his ban as the period he was away from cricket.

chalo galtee hogaye, he came back. What does he do next? Publicly blames Misbah and Waqar for things and says he wont play till they are there. Eventually they resign, does Amir come back? No he does not.

Turns out he just wanted to play T20 leagues and make money. But to cover his PR to his fans he blamed Misbah and Waqar? He blame Butt earlier for his love for money and than blame Misbah and Waqar for it.

Playing for Pakistan is a privilege not a right. There are many out there that will do anything to play and represent the country at international stage. So to go back begging to the guy who insulted the nation twice is an insult for our cricket.

I would rather have 5 Faheem Ashrafs bowl for us and lose the world cup rather than going back to this despicable human being.

Anyways, he is up for a UK passport this winter and will be allowed to enter the IPL auction. He will be 32 by next year and can enjoy 3 ipls ATLEAST. He wil never throw that opportunity for playing a month cricket tournament for Pakistan and than be eligible for England 5 years later and forget about IPL.

In purely cricketing terms, yes. He's the safest bet to replace Naseem especially for a WC.

However, he's burnt bridges and then some and I'm not sure if he can actually be reintegrated into the team without problems.

On balance, he is perhaps best ignored.

Think sets a bad precedent to bring him back in - the lets win at all costs thing which has always bothered us in the past.

I can see the excitement because he is performing in a T20 league must be high but what ODI cricket has he played in recent times?
We played a World Cup 2011 without him and Asif and we reached the semi finals.

We can still play a world cup without him again.

As much as I don't like Amir, I would hate even more for Pakistan to do poorly in India
If he is fit, and can bowl 10 overs without issue, there is no question about it, he is the best bowler for the job

I don't see who else is a good new bowl bowler in pak currently that is fit and can replace naseem

If naseem is gone does that mean Rauf gets new ball?

Amir should replace him - ihsanllah and Hasnain are injured

If I was selector I would have brought him at least one year before , bringing him now it will not be right , because he has not played 50 overs games for long time. Ideally I would have the following team.

Sharjeel , Babar , Saud , Rizwan , fakhar , Iftikhar , Imad , Zafar Gohar , Amir , shaheen , Rauff

If England can bring back stokes for the job

Pakistan should also bring its best cricketers. He is a top class cricketer

It's time for PCB to make the call. Reinstate Amir.
Just like Vince did all those years ago with the Rock 🤘

No

By bringing him back you end up insulting the Nation.

A guy who once sold out his country, got away with a light sentence and no jail time because he had faked his age. He was also able to blame Salman Butt for everything and never apologized or accept for what he did. He still refers to his ban as the period he was away from cricket.

chalo galtee hogaye, he came back. What does he do next? Publicly blames Misbah and Waqar for things and says he wont play till they are there. Eventually they resign, does Amir come back? No he does not.

Turns out he just wanted to play T20 leagues and make money. But to cover his PR to his fans he blamed Misbah and Waqar? He blame Butt earlier for his love for money and than blame Misbah and Waqar for it.

Playing for Pakistan is a privilege not a right. There are many out there that will do anything to play and represent the country at international stage. So to go back begging to the guy who insulted the nation twice is an insult for our cricket.

I would rather have 5 Faheem Ashrafs bowl for us and lose the world cup rather than going back to this despicable human being.

Anyways, he is up for a UK passport this winter and will be allowed to enter the IPL auction. He will be 32 by next year and can enjoy 3 ipls ATLEAST. He wil never throw that opportunity for playing a month cricket tournament for Pakistan and than be eligible for England 5 years later and forget about IPL.
Let’s not insult the nation by picking Zaman Khan and Shahnawaz Dhani

There are three concerns.

1. Hasn't played 50-over cricket since 2019
2. He's a left-arm pacer (which might dilute Shaheen's potency due to lack of variation)
3. Poor teammate that can ruin team chemistry

I think they should just rotate Wasim and Dahani until someone clicks (make use of the warm-ups and earlier WC games).

If it's a turning track, use a specialist spinner and replace one of the all-rounders with Faheem Ashraf. You can even run with two specialist spinners but that might be overkill unless it's a complete dust bowl.

But by that logic what odi cricket have Dahani or zaman played? Or faheem for that matter

The problem is I can’t think of any pacers who can open the bowling and get swing at decent pace. Hasan Ali maybe but he’s a big liability

I think Amir is not a good option in ODIs. It's clear that he doesn't have the stamina for 10 overs now

I don't think Amir would even be interested in the first place to play for Pakistan again. Even if he agrees somehow then I'm sure he is not fit enough to bowl 80-90 high pressure overs across 9 matches within one month against high quality batting sides while maintaining good fitness and speeds.

Amir's international career is done and dusted and he himself is to be blamed for that, the fans should get over him and stop thinking of him as a Messiah who can save our bowling lineup. He failed to do so before and he'll fail again miserably. I would go as far as to pick Hasan or Arshad Iqbal instead of him for the WC.

I don't think Amir would even be interested in the first place to play for Pakistan again. Even if he agrees somehow then I'm sure he is not fit enough to bowl 80-90 high pressure overs across 9 matches within one month against high quality batting sides while maintaining good fitness and speeds.

Amir's international career is done and dusted and he himself is to be blamed for that, the fans should get over him and stop thinking of him as a Messiah who can save our bowling lineup. He failed to do so before and he'll fail again miserably. I would go as far as to pick Hasan or Arshad Iqbal instead of him for the WC.
Why do you think he won’t be interested to play for Pakistan in a World Cup?

Yes. Before explaining why - here's a reminder Amir didn't randomly walk away from Pakistan cricket - he was already being pushed out the door by Misbah and Waqar's petty politics.

- Was denied Cat C white-ball contract in 2020 by Misbah despite averaging mid-20s in ODIs and T20s in 2019.
- Wasn't chosen for Zimbabwe series or in a 35-man squad for NZL in 2020 despite said performances.
- Waqar made several false statements against Amir. After the Australia thrashing in 2019, he said Amir "gave us a dhoka by retiring from Tests 15-20 days before the tour" when Amir retired from Tests four months prior in July !

He then said Amir didn't retire from Tests due to workload when that was precisely the issue. Mickey Arthur had an unwritten agreement with Amir to manage his fitness. Regardless of your stance on Amir's Test retirement, these were crass statements that needlessly hurt the relationship.

Admittedly, Amir made stupid social media posts and should've communicated better. Now onto why Amir's a logical replacement for Naseem:

1) Shaheen and Rauf can be expensive. Naseem masked this by developing into a canny stock bowler. We now can't add another leaky pacer like Hasan, Dhani, Zaman, Wasim or Hasnain into the mix. Amir's a good defensive bowler - his ODI ER post-comeback is 4.85 so best complements Shaheen and Rauf.

2) New ball experience. The alternatives are mostly suited to the old ball.

3) Tournament player. Had major roles in our only two ICC titles since 1992.

4) Experience. Sorry but I don't wanna hear about some 12 year old from Bannu who's seven feet and allegedly bowls 155kph. The time for experiments has gone.

5) Experience vs India. If anyone understands what it's like to bowl to guys like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.

6) Ihsanullah's injury. And even if fit, see above two reasons.

Fitness for 10 overs is the big question. Pakistan need to act quick so he can get up to speed, and play him in the two warmups.

Look would I invite Amir around for dinner ? Probably not. Is he the most likeable Pakistani cricketer ? No. However it's time to push egos aside and do right by Pakistan cricket at this World Cup given the injury situation.

Why do you think he won’t be interested to play for Pakistan in a World Cup?
Because he is an egoistic individual who plays for himself only. He distanced himself from the national team in 2020 over personal issues with the Coach and Board when two T20 WC's were on the horizon in the next 2 years.

If he actually wanted to play for Pakistan in those WC's which happened to be of his favorite format (4 quick overs only), he would have swallowed a bitter pill even if something was not up to his MIGHTY liking.

But Amir thinks too high of himself, he wanted to become a freelance cricketer without the burden of being an international player. If he plays the WC and somehow manage to give an average performance, then the board will expect him to continue with the national team after the WC. Amir wouldn't want that burden to be put onto his feeble shoulders again. His bowling is already exposed in most of the leagues around the world (this CPL is an exception) and the WC could become a final nail in the coffin.

Personally I would have picked Aamer even while Naseem was available to go with Shaheen, Naseem, Aamer and Rauf as the four star studded Pacers and rotate them throughout the tournament. However, I know it won't happen, Aamer ain't coming back, so let's leave it at that.

Yes. Before explaining why - here's a reminder Amir didn't randomly walk away from Pakistan cricket - he was already being pushed out the door by Misbah and Waqar's petty politics.

- Was denied Cat C white-ball contract in 2020 by Misbah despite averaging mid-20s in ODIs and T20s in 2019.
- Wasn't chosen for Zimbabwe series or in a 35-man squad for NZL in 2020 despite said performances.
- Waqar made several false statements against Amir. After the Australia thrashing in 2019, he said Amir "gave us a dhoka by retiring from Tests 15-20 days before the tour" when Amir retired from Tests four months prior in July !

He then said Amir didn't retire from Tests due to workload when that was precisely the issue. Mickey Arthur had an unwritten agreement with Amir to manage his fitness. Regardless of your stance on Amir's Test retirement, these were crass statements that needlessly hurt the relationship.

Admittedly, Amir made stupid social media posts and should've communicated better. Now onto why Amir's a logical replacement for Naseem:

1) Shaheen and Rauf can be expensive. Naseem masked this by developing into a canny stock bowler. We now can't add another leaky pacer like Hasan, Dhani, Zaman, Wasim or Hasnain into the mix. Amir's a good defensive bowler - his ODI ER post-comeback is 4.85 so best complements Shaheen and Rauf.

4) Experience. Sorry but I don't wanna hear about some 12 year old from Bannu who's seven feet and allegedly bowls 155kph. The time for experiments has gone.

5) Experience vs India. If anyone understands what it's like to bowl to guys like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.

Fitness for 10 overs is the big question. Pakistan need to act quick so he can get up to speed, and play him in the two warmups.

Look would I invite Amir around for dinner ? Probably not. Is he the most likeable Pakistani cricketer ? No. However it's time to push egos aside and do right by Pakistan cricket at this World Cup given the injury situation.

Superb post no doubt but I still can't bring myself to say I want him to play for Pakistan. The pain of 2010 is still too deep.

He would definitely warrant a place in the team based on merit but feel like he would bring too much negativity + ego. Might also be the odd one out in the dressing room.

For me it’s less about his spot fixing scandal and more the statements he’s made after the whole drama. I was ready to forgive him and move on considering he was just a kid.

It’s a hostile environment though - I was there in Australia for one of his first few matches back after the ban and a handful of Australians in the crowd were shouting ‘no-ball’, ‘fixer’ and other names directed towards him. Rubbing salt in his wounds must not have been easy for him to get over.

Was hoping Amir would keep his head down and focus on his game, but seems he never fully recover from the mental scaring which IMO is the reason for all these media outbursts.

While I do feel sorry for him, feel like if he’s brought back to the team, it sets a precedent that no matter how much nonsense you talk or how bad your fitness is, you’ll always have a chance to make the squad.

Good post and well put.

But Amir hasn’t bowled a proper competitive ball in years. Giving 50% effort in leagues where it doesn’t matter if he gets smashed or not doesn’t count.

In 2019 he successfully made a comeback. In 2023 I doubt his body can produce the same magic.

+Million

Amir needs to come back asap. Better new ball bowler than Naseem and a real wicket taking threat.

+Million

Amir needs to come back asap. Better new ball bowler than Naseem and a real wicket taking threat.
i would not rate Amir better than naseem at this stage but yeah certainly a good replacement of Naseem for sure knowing the fact that we dont have any good bowling replacement available in the pool right now.

Pick him and he'll play one game then be out for the rest of the tournament due to back soreness from bowling more than 4 overs

No thanks

i would not rate Amir better than naseem at this stage but yeah certainly a good replacement of Naseem for sure knowing the fact that we dont have any good bowling replacement available in the pool right now.
Read what I wrote once again. Amir is a better new ball bowler than Naseem. With that left arm angle and ability to attack the stumps and bring the ball back in, Amir a wicket taking new ball bowler on his day.

Naseem, at this stage is a more reliable and economical overall bowler. But Naseem has not taken big wickets in big games yet, just been economical because he balls 4/5 stump line and doesn’t bring stumps into play.

With Shaheen and Rauf both tend to leak runs, Naseem was vital cog in our bowling lineup to build up pressure.

Now that he is gone, only Mohammed Amir can fill in that role + he can take wickets too with the new ball.

Hasan Ali, Zaman Khan, Mohammed Wasim Jr, Shahnawaz Dahani all are way too expensive upfront or you can say that they can't be reliable 3rd seamer option, at best they are middle overs 4th pace option.

Read what I wrote once again. Amir is a better new ball bowler than Naseem. With that left arm angle and ability to attack the stumps and bring the ball back in, Amir a wicket taking new ball bowler on his day.

Naseem, at this stage is a more reliable and economical overall bowler. But Naseem has not taken big wickets in big games yet, just been economical because he balls 4/5 stump line and doesn’t bring stumps into play.
Amir seems to have lost his ability to swing the ball into right handed batsmen, he relies on creating angles by bowling from around the wicket.

On the other end Naseem can swing the ball both ways and maintains a much tighter line. This makes him economical as batsmen find it difficult to attack him and mostly see off his overs.

It is extremely unlikely Pakistan will make any progress this world cup.

Why consider bringing back retired players who have disgraced the nation for the sake of a few games?

Dream about the CT 2017 final all you like, this guy is not producing 90 overs within a month in 2023.
Nor are Shaheen and Rauf

They need to take 5 or 6 seamers and for once apply a proper rotation policy

The win at all cost mentality is the only thing that matters for the WC..

Considering I made a thread about bringing Imad and Amir back even before Naseem’s injury report, it’s a no brainer to bring him back. Imad too.

Furthermore if the rumours about Shaheen and Babar’s bust up are true immediately after the shadab- babar handbags, Babar’s much vaunted “superglue” of the team is fractured. Bring Imad back as captain. He’ll know how to manage Amir. It will also give Amir extra incentive to come back.

PCB do it. Pakistan’s chances in this World Cup were slim and none anyway, what do you have to lose?

Considering I made a thread about bringing Imad and Amir back even before Naseem’s injury report, it’s a no brainer to bring him back. Imad too.

Furthermore if the rumours about Shaheen and Babar’s bust up are true immediately after the shadab- babar handbags, Babar’s much vaunted “superglue” of the team is fractured. Bring Imad back as captain. He’ll know how to manage Amir. It will also give Amir extra incentive to come back.

PCB do it. Pakistan’s chances in this World Cup were slim and none anyway, what do you have to lose?
Just like us I’m pretty sure 99% of the PCB think tank believe this is the right move. They’ve seen how the fringe pacers just won’t cut it for Pakistan at the highest level at the moment.

This is your big tournament. Careers are made and destroyed in such tournaments. Jobs are on the line too.

They need to bring in Amir. He is better off in the squad than not in there at all

Amir being brought back strengths our current non existent bowling Line up.

Purely in terms of stats, he seems to be the safest option with Hasan Ali being the only other real contender. Interesting to see how the interpersonal dynamics will play if he is brought back and whether that will affect the rest of the team's chemistry or not.

It will be good to recall him, however some players will start protesting against PCB & do some actions. Immature players & buddies are holding team hostage and including themselves only.

I would like Mohammad Amir, Sharjeel Khan, Asif Ali, Azam Khan, etc. to join Pakistan team XI.

Amir seems to have lost his ability to swing the ball into right handed batsmen, he relies on creating angles by bowling from around the wicket.

On the other end Naseem can swing the ball both ways and maintains a much tighter line. This makes him economical as batsmen find it difficult to attack him and mostly see off his overs.
You likely didn’t watch PSL and the ongoing CPL.

Amir is certainly one of the best options we have at the moment when some of our fast bowlers are having issues with their fitness but I think his time with the Pakistan national team is over.

Deadly inswing at 142 Kph is pretty impressive to say the least!!

He is also the leading wicket taker in the tournament now with 15 wickets with an economy of 6.5.

Still, it seems close to a miracle that he will be in the World Cup Squad.

Why are some people giving Amir the untouchable treatment. Like he’s bowling at 140 kph + hitting the timber with ease with beautiful in swing. It’s not like he’s an oldie now. These demands are completely fair and realistic.

Not sure if he will get picked - I doubt it. But his recent form his pretty good:

2/7
4/19
0/19
3/20

Not sure if he will get picked - I doubt it. But his recent form his pretty good:

2/7
4/19
0/19
3/20
Maybe ask Mickey if there are any chances? Surely he wants Amir more than any random, untested guy?

Mohammad Amir last 7 matches at the Caribbean Premier League:

2/7
4/19
0/19
3/20
0/23
3/33
3/20

4 over opening spell

3 over middle overs spell

3 overs death overs spell

I recon he can manage that

It would be an absolute kick in the teeth for guys who are playing 50 overs cricket in domestic or those who were playing for Shaheens etc.

Aamir absolutely stunk up the joint after CT final. He was averaging 70 in NZ, 70 in Zimbabwe, wicketless in Asia Cup, 50 in South Africa.

In the World Cup, he did not take wickets up front and was taking wickets after teams had scored 200 like that Australia game and took wickets against India when it was clear that India were going to score 300 + anyway.

What new ball skills?

Since Jan 2018, Aamir has taken 8 wickets in the Powerplay at an average of 45. Economy of 3.98

That includes all minnows opponents like ZIM, Hong Kong etc.

He has not played ODIs since 2019 or any List A cricket since then either.

I'm surprised that @Markhor of all people wants him back.

Social Media is reporting that Zaka Ashraf has contacted Mohd Amir requesting him to make himself available for Pakistan in the ODI WC.

Bhai Jaan khuda ke liye

Please provide a reliable source

Amir got his UK passport. He can now make money in IPL and even represent England at some point. I don't expect him to want to play for Pakistan right now.

Amir got his UK passport. He can now play in IPL and even represent England at some point. I don't expect him to want to play for Pakistan right now.
He hasn’t got it yet, he said it will take him a year or two to get it

While I think Amir might not be the right choice due to my previously stated reasons, there are several positives to his inclusion too.

1. He's In Good Form Going Into The WC
2. Experienced Big Tournament Player
3. He's Bowling Surprisingly Quick These Days (135-142 KPH Range)
4. He Can Be A Real Gamebreaker On The Biggest Stage Compared To Dahani/Zaman/Wasim
5. Amir Is Ideal For Maximizing The New Ball (Swing and Seam)

It would be an interesting inclusion that must be 100% backed by Babar and company. Shaheen, Rauf, and Amir is quite formidable as a unit when it comes to experience and their role in the bowling lineup.

The more I think about it, the better it sounds to be fair. The younger bowlers are just not good enough for that specific role.

While I think Amir might not be the right choice due to my previously stated reasons, there are several positives to his inclusion too.

1. He's In Good Form Going Into The WC
2. Experienced Big Tournament Player
3. He's Bowling Surprisingly Quick These Days (135-142 KPH Range)
4. He Can Be A Real Gamebreaker On The Biggest Stage Compared To Dahani/Zaman/Wasim
5. Amir Is Ideal For Maximizing The New Ball (Swing and Seam)

It would be an interesting inclusion that must be 100% backed by Babar and company. Shaheen, Rauf, and Amir is quite formidable as a unit when it comes to experience and their role in the bowling lineup.

The more I think about it, the better it sounds to be fair. The younger bowlers are just not good enough for that specific role.
It’s a no brainer

It’s not going to be easy to get Amir back. His performances in the CPL have been sensational (for that league of course, but still).

PCB, Babar and Co will need to get on their hands and knees.

I would advise them to get the knee pads out and start

Personal differences apart, he would be a good replacement for Naseem. We would still be going in strong in the bowling department with Amir Shaheen and potentially Rauf. Take Zaman khan as backup. Maybe someone should play mediator between Babar and Amir, patch things up, and inshallah win us the WC.