Is there ever a region you went to and felt, "Man, this is hell on Earth!"

One of my ex's room. She was so dirty that even paharganj looked clean against her room. I had to move a pile of garbage just to make some room to sit.

He's right Punjabi cities except the temple compound of Amritsar are sh!t and nothing to brag about. I wouldn't want to live there.

Jaipur and Jodhpur on comparison are clean, but candefn not live there, Punjabi cities are not as bad as you are making them seem, if you visisted Up,MP,Chattisgargh.

Small city called Wattenscheid in Germany.

Was a real eye opener to how impoverished areas can exist in wealthy and developed regions and nations. Place was dirty, zero sign of any real activity and just looked run down.

Small city called Wattenscheid in Germany.

Was a real eye opener to how impoverished areas can exist in wealthy and developed regions and nations. Place was dirty, zero sign of any real activity and just looked run down.

Some places in Michigan and believe it or not Vegas.. drove from California one summer and got there in the evening. Stopped to pump gas, it was about 110 F outside at 9:00 pm and we had to take turns to pump gas in the car.. pretty much confined indoors for the duration of the stay.. never felt that sort of heat st night and swore I would never go back..

Pindi is dirty as well, I was comparing Peshawar to Lahore and Islamabad. Peshawar was relatively clean till 2016, but it has been a big mess since the BRT project started.

I live in one of the cleanest areas of the city but of course there is more to Peshawar than just that. Yes the city has its charm, but if you go to some of the less privileged parts of the city these days, you would know what I am talking about.

Yes there are dirty places in Lahore as well, but the posh areas of Lahore are far better than the posh areas of Peshawar (Mall road, Shami road, Defence Colony, University Town, some sectors of Hayatabad etc.).

Islamabad of course is far better, doesn't need any explanation.

The posh areas of Lahore are far and few compared to the rest of the city. Also as you go to Peshawer you go past some very crappy areas and by the time you reach Peshawer it feels pretty good.

either way there are areas in every pakistani city that are literal **** holes.

Anywhere that has huge electric pylons practically sat next to houses and sometimes has the cables going over the houses. That has always struck me as extremely hazardous, a really dreadful look and still disgusts me to this day. Who would want to live near a bunch of pylons?

Manchester city centre when "pride" events are taking place and people are not wearing any clothes

Bro you should check out the posh areas of islamabad or even rawalpindi

Nopes, Chanakayapuri is the most posh area of Delhi.
And Vasant Vihar is huge, only some part of it can be called posh, same with NFC.

Spent my teen years in South Delhi. Vasant Vihar is pretty much like the rest of South Delhi (Hauz Khas, Green Park, Malviya Nagar, Greater Kailash etc.). Yes, the area feels quite congested and broken down. Yes, the rents are very high. That should tell you that locals love living there, that is why they pay those rents. Overall South Delhi is a wonderful place, you need to get used to the Punjabi culture and you will be fine.

Some places in Michigan and believe it or not Vegas.. drove from California one summer and got there in the evening. Stopped to pump gas, it was about 110 F outside at 9:00 pm and we had to take turns to pump gas in the car.. pretty much confined indoors for the duration of the stay.. never felt that sort of heat st night and swore I would never go back..

If you are visiting Vegas in the summer, obviously you need to remain inside the casinos most of the time. The casinos are gigantic, like mini-cities. Stay indoors and party all day.

All of Buffalo. We went to eat at some halal place following our GPS, it took us to some ghetto place, so run down. I actually kinda feared for my life. The food was good though:inzi

Been there. The trashiest people.

They legit have a Tim Hortons statue there , probably coz he played for Sabres too.
Torontonians should feel so close to Buffalo!

All of Buffalo. We went to eat at some halal place following our GPS, it took us to some ghetto place, so run down. I actually kinda feared for my life. The food was good though:inzi

Truly one of the worst places I've visited in North America.

This is where dementors from Harry Potter would live if they were real. Straight up sucks all the energy out of your body 5 minutes after you cross the border.

Jaipur and Jodhpur on comparison are clean, but candefn not live there, Punjabi cities are not as bad as you are making them seem, if you visisted Up,MP,Chattisgargh.

Udaipur is easily one of the best cities to live in Bemaru states. Situated between the hills and loads of lakes and sightseeing.
Jaipur is quite good too with all the recent development that's happening. We even have metro train now.
Jodhpur is a traditional Rajasthani city. Cultural capital of the state I would say.

For me it is Kohat. Everything about it was depressing and scary even. There were no redeeming features

Googled and found this:

140529_5.jpg

So there's at least one redeeming feature there...

Spent my teen years in South Delhi. Vasant Vihar is pretty much like the rest of South Delhi (Hauz Khas, Green Park, Malviya Nagar, Greater Kailash etc.). Yes, the area feels quite congested and broken down. Yes, the rents are very high. That should tell you that locals love living there, that is why they pay those rents. Overall South Delhi is a wonderful place, you need to get used to the Punjabi culture and you will be fine.
Erm No. I pay 20 K(electricity and water included) for a single room and wouldn't want to live here all my life even if someone paid me a million bucks.
This city turns into a post apocalyptic Zombie zone in the winters.

Erm No. I pay 20 K(electricity and water included) for a single room and wouldn't want to live here all my life even if someone paid me a million bucks.

That isn't exclusive to Vasant Vihar - the whole of Delhi is a terrible place to live in summer or winter.

True that. You get resident evil type vibes here in November. Especially around areas like Dwarka where population density is low and are much open and spacious.

It really is a question of comfort... your experience is obviously different from mine. I lived in my father's house and paid no rent. I had my friends and our favorite hangouts. In contrast you are paying a lot of money to live somewhere which offers little to you in return.

One of my ex's room. She was so dirty that even paharganj looked clean against her room. I had to move a pile of garbage just to make some room to sit.

are you Ross Geller?

In India, this is an everyday feeling especially if you accidentally get to places where a lot of the Biharis, UP people, muslims etc reside.

Of course no disrespect to any community. In India these are like the poorest and the most unsafe neighbourhoods.

Nope. The fact that if that is new delhis most posh area then thats just sad.

A town house in toronto brampton is much better then the houses in vasant vihar.

Paying indian 2 lakh for such houses was ridiculous. Plus the locality wasnt even that special

Vasant Vihar, poshest? Not even close.

There are at least a dozen more premier localities that are coveted and cost a lot more. From the top of my head, Jor Bagh, Golf Links, Chanakya Puri, New Friends' Colony, Defence Colony, Sundar Nagar, Greater Kailash I and II, South Ex, Neeti Bagh, Amrita Shergill Marg, Panchsheel Park and Hauz Khas Enclave command much higher prices.

Of course, I am not even taking into account the farm houses in Sainik Farm, Chhatarpur and elsewhere.

Regardless, Vasant Vihar is a perfectly lovely area with top notch restaurants, bars, clubs, and shopping options. The rent for a standard 3 bhk flat is around INR 35k, perfectly reasonable.

Maybe you need to read the title of this thread again to perhaps post something relevant and appropriate.

Are you for real ? Besides Colombo no other city from the subcontinent comes close to the current Lahore , Only Islamabad for cleanliness . Some of the newer housing societies in Lahore are first world good.

Quoting for delusion.

Parts of Western Africa for sure. The suffering in some of those places is just too much.

Vasant Vihar, poshest? Not even close.

There are at least a dozen more premier localities that are coveted and cost a lot more. From the top of my head, Jor Bagh, Golf Links, Chanakya Puri, New Friends' Colony, Defence Colony, Sundar Nagar, Greater Kailash I and II, South Ex, Neeti Bagh, Amrita Shergill Marg, Panchsheel Park and Hauz Khas Enclave command much higher prices.

Of course, I am not even taking into account the farm houses in Sainik Farm, Chhatarpur and elsewhere.

Regardless, Vasant Vihar is a perfectly lovely area with top notch restaurants, bars, clubs, and shopping options. The rent for a standard 3 bhk flat is around INR 35k, perfectly reasonable.

Maybe you need to read the title of this thread again to perhaps post something relevant and appropriate.

i have lived there and giving my experience.

it was one of the most bakwas place i have ever lived.

Stop taking everything personal. just telling my experience

Nopes, Chanakayapuri is the most posh area of Delhi.
And Vasant Vihar is huge, only some part of it can be called posh, same with NFC.

What about prithviraj road, aurangzeb rd , golf link and sunder nagar.

For me it is Kohat. Everything about it was depressing and scary even. There were no redeeming features

Not sure if you are serious dude. I am a citizen of Kohat and i can say you are completely wrong or may be then you havent seen worst places.

You might have visited Kohat in the past but dont know which area. Though it is small city, but clean, green, lots of water, dam, moderately advanced.

Well it does look clean if your source of information is the social media team of PTI. In reality it was, is and will be a big pile of dump (save for a few areas like cantt).

If you go from Peshawar to Islamabad and Lahore, it feels as if you have left Afghanistan for Pakistan.

It does look dirty if you havent visited Peshawar since last 5-6 years which i am sure you havent :))

You are such a bad jhoota.

I have a close relative who works for Oxfam. In 2009, he invited my family over to Ethiopia.

We declined the invitation due to obvious reasons, but I do regret the missed opportunity now.

Not many people have the chance to go there, but from what I have heard from him, it is hell on earth.

It does look dirty if you havent visited Peshawar since last 5-6 years which i am sure you havent :))

You are such a bad jhoota.

I don’t mean to be condescending, but if you think Peshawar is clean, and has been clean over the last year and a half ever since the BRT project started, I highly doubt if you are a well-travelled person, or actually know what a clean city looks like.

Peshawar is a big dump compared to Islamabad and Lahore. The difference is day and night. If you think Peshawar is clean, you probably haven’t lived in a clean place your entire life.

Please go to university road these day and enlighten me how exactly it can be defined as clean. Yes there are still some clean areas especially in cantt, but overall, it is a dirty, backward city with not much to do.

If you go from Peshawar to Islamabad/Lahore, there is a massive, noticeable difference.

The terms “quay ka maindak” and “Mullah ki dorr masjid tak” perfectly applies to you.

Please don’t call Peshawar a clean and well-maintained city in front of well-travelled people and those who live in clean and well-maintained cities. They are going to judge you for it.

Also, if you think I haven’t been to Peshawar in the last 5-6 years, please ask the mods to check my IP address. I have been home since May, and right now I am on way to Islamabad.

I don’t mean to be condescending, but if you think Peshawar is clean, and has been clean over the last year and a half ever since the BRT project started, I highly doubt if you are a well-travelled person, or actually know what a clean city looks like.

Peshawar is a big dump compared to Islamabad and Lahore. The difference is day and night. If you think Peshawar is clean, you probably haven’t lived in a clean place your entire life.

Please go to university road these day and enlighten me how exactly it can be defined as clean. Yes there are still some clean areas especially in cantt, but overall, it is a dirty, backward city with not much to do.

If you go from Peshawar to Islamabad/Lahore, there is a massive, noticeable difference.

The terms “quay ka maindak” and “Mullah ki dorr masjid tak” perfectly applies to you.

Please don’t call Peshawar a clean and well-maintained city in front of well-travelled people and those who live in clean and well-maintained cities. They are going to judge you for it.

Also, if you think I haven’t been to Peshawar in the last 5-6 years, please ask the mods to check my IP address. I have been home since May, and right now I am on way to Islamabad.

My job is a kind due to which i have travelled lots of cities in my 55+ years of age. And you should write "Qunwan" not "Quay" Noon ko bhi laga lo.

BRT project started year or two ago, and i am talking about last 6-5 years. Cant you see the difference? Also, now Saddar area which was heavily affected due to BRT, is relatively clean now. And may be you have only went to Isloo thats why you are comparing it with Islo. Where i have said Peshawar is better than Isloo? Isloo is best among all.

But from your comments, it looks like Peshawar is like Toora Boora which is not the case.

I will call it clean, and better than many cities, well maintained also.

And for the last two lines of yours, so it means you always deliberately spread false news about KPK?

And yeah, ask other Peshawari as well and i am pretty sure they all will we be pretty much against your statements about Peshawar.

So, you need to travel more apart from Lahore and Isloo and obviously UAE :) or create some courage to speak the TRUTH, keeping aside your bias.

By the way, good luck for your job. Hope you know what i mean. :babar

My job is a kind due to which i have travelled lots of cities in my 55+ years of age. And you should write "Qunwan" not "Quay" Noon ko bhi laga lo.

BRT project started year or two ago, and i am talking about last 6-5 years. Cant you see the difference? Also, now Saddar area which was heavily affected due to BRT, is relatively clean now. And may be you have only went to Isloo thats why you are comparing it with Islo. Where i have said Peshawar is better than Isloo? Isloo is best among all.

But from your comments, it looks like Peshawar is like Toora Boora which is not the case.

I will call it clean, and better than many cities, well maintained also.

And for the last two lines of yours, so it means you always deliberately spread false news about KPK?

And yeah, ask other Peshawari as well and i am pretty sure they all will we be pretty much against your statements about Peshawar.

So, you need to travel more apart from Lahore and Isloo and obviously UAE :) or create some courage to speak the TRUTH, keeping aside your bias.

By the way, good luck for your job. Hope you know what i mean. :babar

If you have travelled across a lot of cities and you still think Peshawar is clean, you haven’t been to many clean cities.

The whole point of this discussion was to compare Peshawar to Islamabad and Lahore. Calling a city clean or dirty in isolation does not mean anything.

Of course there must be hundreds of cities that are dirtier than Peshawar, but I am comparing it to Pakistan’s major cities, and among them all, it ranks very low.

Of all the places that I have lived in for a considerable period of time, Peshawar is comfortably the worst, but of course I have been to dirtier places, and I never said that Peshawar is the dirtiest city imaginable.

As a brain-washed PTI supporter, I understand that it is difficult for you to come to terms with reality, but delusion will not take you anywhere.

There is no point in making Peshawar what it is not. It is a third class city to live but unfortunately I have family here and property etc. so I cannot live anywhere else in the long-term.

But if I had a choice, I would have never opted to live in this city.

If you have travelled across a lot of cities and you still think Peshawar is clean, you haven’t been to many clean cities.

The whole point of this discussion was to compare Peshawar to Islamabad and Lahore. Calling a city clean or dirty in isolation does not mean anything.

Of course there must be hundreds of cities that are dirtier than Peshawar, but I am comparing it to Pakistan’s major cities, and among them all, it ranks very low.

Of all the places that I have lived in for a considerable period of time, Peshawar is comfortably the worst, but of course I have been to dirtier places, and I never said that Peshawar is the dirtiest city imaginable.

As a brain-washed PTI supporter, I understand that it is difficult for you to come to terms with reality, but delusion will not take you anywhere.

There is no point in making Peshawar what it is not. It is a third class city to live but unfortunately I have family here and property etc. so I cannot live anywhere else in the long-term.

But if I had a choice, I would have never opted to live in this city.

And i have already said Isloo, Lahore is ahead than Peshawar. What's the point then? LOL.

But you are pretending that Peshawar is like the worst city in Pakistan and thats my point of discussion that it's not. Which you can't accept, because for you Peshawar is a hell.

And don't worry about my delusions, Alhamdulillah i am doing a miles better job than you and serving my country in a best manner i could, results of my delusions.

All countries of the world will have a few major cities which are the showpieces of the nation, like New York, London, Paris etc. The rest aren't all going to be up to the same standard. Hence where I live you will have London, but you will also have Middlesbrough and Grimsby which are absolute dumps. Peshawar won't be on the same level as Islamabad or Lahore, but then every city can't be, that's just life. Watching Bollywood films is fine for some escapism, but one should also keep a grip on reality and have some perspective.

Almost any city in Punjab. The whole state feels like a dusty, overcrowded highway and people seemed to be lacking basic courtesy.

The pind part however was pleasant, and the hospitality we receive is second to none.

I don't think you have ever been to a city in Uttar Pradesh if you think that Punjab is the worst place you've ever visited.

i have lived there and giving my experience.

it was one of the most bakwas place i have ever lived.

Stop taking everything personal. just telling my experience

You are confusing being schooled on facts to me being personal. Category error. Google it.

Saying that VV is one of the most bakwas places you ever lived doesn't objectively make it so. World class connectivity, schools, universities (IIT, JNU), restaurants and bars, and wealthy neighbors don't ally with your fake observations.

You are confusing being schooled on facts to me being personal. Category error. Google it.

Saying that VV is one of the most bakwas places you ever lived doesn't objectively make it so. World class connectivity, schools, universities (IIT, JNU), restaurants and bars, and wealthy neighbors don't ally with your fake observations.

again, Vasant Vihar is one of the most crappiest place i have ever lived. It was like Hell.

No need to take it personal, giving my own opinion. Don't know why are you getting soo annoyed by my views.

again, Vasant Vihar is one of the most crappiest place i have ever lived. It was like Hell.

No need to take it personal, giving my own opinion. Don't know why are you getting soo annoyed by my views.

It's the opposite - you appear agitated that I am calling your so-called experience bullshite for not being based on facts. Either you have never set foot in VV or perhaps were denied entry at one of the many FINE dining options and clubs in this thriving locality. That would make your unreasonable sentiments more understandable.

I use to lived there, and its one of the worst places i have ever lived. You should see the localities of Pakistan to understand.
And yet you are irked by what im saying :)) . SHaring my experience. This thread is about experiences by your personal opinion.

I use to lived there, and its one of the worst places i have ever lived. You should see the localities of Pakistan to understand.
And yet you are irked by what im saying :)) . SHaring my experience. This thread is about experiences by your personal opinion.

So you are a Pakistani. Your comical rage is beginning to make sense. All this while I had you down as an Indian.

So once again, allow me to ask, what was it about Vasant Vihar that you didn't like? The world class schools, universities, fast metro connectivity, top notch restaurants like Jamie's (owned by Jamie Oliver), the multiplexes, 100s of acres of green belt, 1 Gbps internet, practically uninterrupted power throughout the year, the shopping malls? You can be specific.

BTW, which locality in Pakistan experiences uninterrupted power supply through the year? LOL