JNU saga | How does India deal with student politics?

Arts include subjects like social and political science, history etc which do more to improve social understanding than the bloody maths and calculus I learned in engineering. Arts students are much more likely to be the factor of change in society than doctors or engineers.

Try explaining to these 35 year old students who were educated in South Asia. Then again, they are taught like robots, no intention to make them understand, just memorization. Engineering students or even doctors can change history, but many of the doctors and engineers chose their career because they think it would be a good profession or because their parents asked them "Son what kind of engineer do you want to be ? ". Wonder how many of them truly love their fields. This is why South Asia lacks innovation, I wish people realize that it is better to pursue what you love, the initial pay might be very poor but you will be motivated to work harder, enjoy your passion and progress further.

We don't enjoy studies generally, we endure them just to go to Amreeka or Kanada and earn a lot of dough. :facepalm:

Quite a blanket statement there adi, if you are talking about kashmiris then that may be true but it is most certainly not true for many Indians

This was true for a long time even for most Indians. Finish their Bachelors here and then go abroad for their Masters but eventually settle down there. Only recently has there been a trend of coming back to India.

And I am talking about the recent trend only, Indians no longer look to go out infact many Indians are returning back to their homeland

Bhai hum aksar naukri ke waste padhte hain, seekhne ke waste nahi. Naukar banke ghulami ki zindagi jeena bhi koi jeena hai :facepalm:
Apki carrom ball ko kaun khel sakta hai :(

I am also against these speeches but there is no evidence that these slogans were spouted by JNUSU president. Also we are in India..the democracy we boast of not in China or Russia. Don't we have the right to dissent??

Right to dissent by providing cover to to those call for the destruction of the country? Those students along with mr. gilani should be charged with sedition and locked away.

Problem with India is delusions of grandeur. They are a backward intolerant society but want first world like laws. India should accept what it is and stop pretending what it is not.

His statement applies to most South Asians generally, mostly Indians. It is always the India kids complaining about their parents telling them what to do and etc. Punjabis are more relaxed than the likes of Guju and other indians.

That is true i find the Bengalis,Biharis more relaxed as well hell they don't even work nowadays.Its a different story here in South ,Kids listen a lot to their parents esp Kannadigas and Tamilians.

Also Punjabis might not listen to their parents when it comes to studies and careers but most are Mama's boys imo.

Right to dissent by providing cover to to those call for the destruction of the country? Those students along with mr. gilani should be charged with sedition and locked away.
Totally agree and hope bjp and it's supporters have the same attitude for Mehbooba Mufti and PDP ,otherwise bjp and it's supporters should find the nearest chullu and doob maroo in same.

How brilliant was Ravish Kumar yesterday as he spoke against this bjp culture of doing nishandehi and then being judge,jury and executioner all in one.
Who died and made these lumpen laloos the thekedar for Hindiusm and deshbhakti.Pakistaniyon se kitne gun milte hain inke.

Totally agree and hope bjp and it's supporters have the same attitude for Mehbooba Mufti and PDP ,otherwise bjp and it's supporters should find the nearest chullu and doob maroo in same.

If BJP decides to show an attitude to PDP for their stand on the issue, then BJP cannot make a government in JK because all the major parties of JK have the same view. These parties will dig their graves if they go against the local sentiment.

BJP would have to say goodbye to the idea of forming a government in JK then. Well lets see if they sacrifice the entry in JK That they had been granted for their "values" and patriotism.

This sedition law must go for India to become a real democracy. Mahatma gandhi had the same views about it.

Where did the parents come from? His statement was that most Indians(south Asians) just study to go to amreeka and Kaneda, which is untrue nowadays due to many jobs available in India. It is not the same as 10 years ago.

How brilliant was Ravish Kumar yesterday as he spoke against this bjp culture of doing nishandehi and then being judge,jury and executioner all in one.
Who died and made these lumpen laloos the thekedar for Hindiusm and deshbhakti.Pakistaniyon se kitne gun milte hain inke.

Labelling anyone with a beard and a different view as terrorist is quite common these days.

Umar khalid is being called a kashmiri muslim traitor when he isn't a kashmiri and is a communist and atheist.

This sedition law must go for India to become a real democracy. Mahatma gandhi had the same views about it.

Blah. no country on earth will tolerate activity which call for it destruction.

Have no idea what democracy and edition law have do with each other. one of dumbest thing I have heard.

Gandhi word al of a sudden become gospel on PP? That stupid nimrod his mindset has held independent India back for decades. I wish he had died sooner so partition issues could have dealt with firmly.

Where did the parents come from? His statement was that most Indians(south Asians) just study to go to amreeka and Kaneda, which is untrue nowadays due to many jobs available in India. It is not the same as 10 years ago.

I agree and I think many of them are better of back home. You get better weather, familiar environment and the living cost is much cheaper compare to the salary that these young IT workers are earning.

Plus you get servants. Your own driver, cook, maid, watchman...which you cannot afford in the west.

Blah. no country on earth will tolerate activity which call for it destruction.

Have no idea what democracy and edition law have do with each other. one of dumbest thing I have heard.

Gandhi word al of a sudden become gospel on PP? That stupid nimrod his mindset has held independent India back for decades. I wish he had died sooner so partition issues could have dealt with firmly.

Sedition law can be misused as it has been in this case. This shouldn't be allowed to happen in a democracy.

And Whose word should become gospel on PP then? Godse's??? Please tell us so that we follow the orders of your higness.

Sedition law can be misused as it has been in this case. This shouldn't be allowed to happen in a democracy.

And Whose word should become gospel on PP then? Godse's??? Please tell us so that we follow the orders of your higness.

Do you have the accurate details on the case? are where all this took place? How exactly do you know that the law has been abused?

Gandhi was a clown who couldn't recognize Jinnah's plan to rip India off as much as possible. Wish he had died a year earlier.

Yes, Godse was a patriot.

Do you have the accurate details on the case? are where all this took place? How exactly do you know that the law has been abused?

Gandhi was a clown who couldn't recognize Jinnah's plan to rip India off as much as possible. Wish he had died a year earlier.

Yes, Godse was a patriot.

I dont know how accurate the details are, i follow the Indian news channels so idk.

But from what they are showing , kanahiya never shouted anything against India. Why has he been charged with sedition? How is the organiser of an event responsible for the actions of people who attend the event? Or are you among those who think that he should be hanged because he didnt stop a dozen other guys from shouting the slogans???

Gandhi belongs to India and Godse belongs to India too. You know Which personality among them is hailed by the world as a great human. Unless you think people of the whole world are mentally reeeetarded.

Gandhi is hailed over because he is the ideal "revolutionary" for the men in power. Who does not threaten the state through an armed rebellion, but uses pacifist methods. Petitions, non violence. Basically controls the anger among the masses. Doing the job of the state. No wonder all governments have promoted Gandhi. Gandhi was more on the side of the British than the common people. I am not a fan of Godse btw, because he was too late.

Gandhi was innovatively revolutionary and was way ahead of his times. His method of non-violence and use of this against british was hailed all over the world. There was other Ideology called godse who thought Gandhi was against nationalism specially after he agreed to split India. I am sure they might have made many attempts in live before 1948 and people should watch utube video on godse to just see the other perspective. Those who think Gandhi and Godse was less patriotic and nationalistic than each other is not correct. This is the same as comparing Bose and Gandhi as both adopted different strategy to counter British but the dominant strategy of non-violence proved to be better than any other during that era.

Gandhi got this reputation only after his death. Post humous glorification.

He started his political career in south africa, where he was a racist. he didnt want same treatment as the black guys. Back in India he raised indian volunteers to help the British in world war 1 (oh so non violent of him). For his efforts in the war, he was awarded kaiser-e-hind by his masters. The so called apostle of peace gave his support to the british again in WW2.

Who will not love such a revolutionary. Doing the bidding for his masters, the british. Controlling the crowd and asking them to be non violent. Not helping Bhagat Singh when he was to be hanged. Throwing a tantrum when Netaji Subash Bose was ELECTED as the leader of congress. So Bose withdrew to placate the prima donna, the half naked fakir, as churchill rightly called him. There was a reason the British did not kill him. He was so much useful to them.

I love to see his statues defaced all over India. he deserves every bit of insult that shatters the carefully crafted image by the ruling congress party, and glorified the world over for obvious reasons.

It is a great tragedy of India, that this weak and slave psyche was drilled into the masses by glorifying this fake prophet of peace.

Will never forgive Godse.

Bingo Bingo We have Bingo!

Gandhi got this reputation only after his death. Post humous glorification.

He started his political career in south africa, where he was a racist. he didnt want same treatment as the black guys. Back in India he raised indian volunteers to help the British in world war 1 (oh so non violent of him). For his efforts in the war, he was awarded kaiser-e-hind by his masters. The so called apostle of peace gave his support to the british again in WW2.

Who will not love such a revolutionary. Doing the bidding for his masters, the british. Controlling the crowd and asking them to be non violent. Not helping Bhagat Singh when he was to be hanged. Throwing a tantrum when Netaji Subash Bose was ELECTED as the leader of congress. So Bose withdrew to placate the prima donna, the half naked fakir, as churchill rightly called him. There was a reason the British did not kill him. He was so much useful to them.

I love to see his statues defaced all over India. he deserves every bit of insult that shatters the carefully crafted image by the ruling congress party, and glorified the world over for obvious reasons.

It is a great tragedy of India, that this weak and slave psyche was drilled into the masses by glorifying this fake prophet of peace.

Will never forgive Godse.

Bas kar de yaar..... Comedy ki hadd hoti hai

Startling revelations from BJP MP acout JNU students and all the bad things they do.

Never knew they indulged in alcohol, naked dancing, adultery and meat eating at the heart of the country.

Startling revelations from BJP MP acout JNU students and all the bad things they do.

Never knew they indulged in alcohol, naked dancing, adultery and meat eating at the heart of the country.

Assuming the allegations are true isn't correct, also how does adultery come into the picture? The vast majority of students aren't married.

3000 protective latex covers were ceased from JNU.

What a great job done by the bjp minister!!!! He should be awarded for this.

He went out of his way and counted the number of used condoms thrown around in jnu and found the number to be 3000.

Haters will hate but this man just made modi ji proud. All this in the name of swachh bharat abhiyan actually.

The immoral students of jnu need to be exposed. Such immoral people cannot be allowed to criticise the government or judicial system when they themselves are impure ..

Its not a crime but is certainly unethical in an educational institution.

Why is meat eating unethical??

Morality should not be dictated. As long as they are within the law, you have no right to question it.
Hell, with such morality which tramples on freedom of others.

Students having sex in universities? Is that even an issue? :facepalm:

We should be happy that they are adults and even more happy that they used protection.

BJP can have its Sanskari stuff to themselves and their families. They have no right to comment on what an adult does in his life.

Keep doing this kind of stuff BJP, you will not come to power again. BJP ministers should all be caged for their moronic comments.

Okay Mr. Taliban.

They are all adults. They are free to do what they want in their lives. Did they force you to do all the above things? If they are happy doing those stuff, why do you care?

These deranged, depraved and debaucherous traitors should be punished, pounded and pummeled till they beg for death.

Eating meat in college is crime ? :lmao

BJP is going insane these days lol

Shame they still have 3 years to go.

His whole complaint :
He then proceeded to list the “facts”, reading from a page: “2,000 Indian and foreign liquor bottles are found daily in JNU. More than 10,000 butts of cigarettes and 4,000 pieces of beedis are found. 50,000 big and small pieces of bones are found. 2,000 wrappers of chips and namkeen are found, and so are 3,000 used condoms — the misdeeds they commit with our sisters and daughters there. And 500 used abortion injections are also found.”

He is actually complaining there were chips packets :lmao

One BJP MLA busy counting condoms ..

Another set of BJP lawyers are beating up a boy and checking his wet pants..

So many different ways to express nationalism.

One BJP MLA busy counting condoms ..

Another set of BJP lawyers are beating up a boy and checking his wet pants..

So many different ways to express nationalism.

The only way BJP can truly become a peoples party is by kicking out Sangh Pariwar and RSS elements from its cadre. Too bad, they are inseparable.

The only way India will become a democracy by kicking out the gandhi pariwar and the presstitutes.

500 used abortion injections. Nothing new for the depraved and immoral JNU ghaddars.

Its their life. Let them ruin their lives. They are free to do it.

Do you want to baby sit adults and tell them what to do? If they do not study and get a job, they will live a mediocre life. It was a choice they made.

There is no BJP without Sangh Pariwar cadre though. The BJP leaders will always continue to comply with the retarde d Sangh ideology and agree whatever rubbish venom the likes RSS VPH etc spout

Its their life. Let them ruin their lives. They are free to do it.

Do you want to baby sit adults and tell them what to do? If they do not study and get a job, they will live a mediocre life. It was a choice they made.

Those traitors are living off taxpayers money and subsidies and using the campus for their immoral activities. These freeloaders should be kicked out and let them rot in places where they belong.

Some interesting one liners in parliament from PakPassion's favourite BCCI official Anurag Thakur today. However, the whole debate in parliament turned into a farce imo - no one cares about the actual issues they are just wanting to score political points.

Cb-uatBUMAAOh3b.jpg

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/iaz1oCepH8I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JNU lulloos being put in their place.

Apparently Kanhaiya was crying for his mommy when he received some Chhitrol LMAO ye hae desh ke naujawan Jo desh k against bolte haen aur ek thappar padte hi chaddi geeli kr dete haen. #LaanatHaeTerePe :misbah

Bhagat Singh was nothing like these lulloo kids.

JNU lulloos being put in their place.

Apparently Kanhaiya was crying for his mommy when he received some Chhitrol LMAO ye hae desh ke naujawan Jo desh k against bolte haen aur ek thappar padte hi chaddi geeli kr dete haen. #LaanatHaeTerePe :misbah

Bhagat Singh was nothing like these lulloo kids.

FC bhai.. these coward traitors rise slogans against india, and then want protection using the law and justice of the country they are against.

And their coward brown noser admirers say that they are innocent till proven guilty, but when it comes to other issues it is always guilty till proven innocent.

Love the chitrol they are getting. really pest control is going on, that is why we see cockroaches running for their filthy life.

[MENTION=65183]freelance_cricketer[/MENTION] [MENTION=7898]Gabbar Singh[/MENTION] [MENTION=130742]Nishaa[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

Did you guys see the awesome speech by Smriti Irani in Rajya sabha??
Awesome point by point rebuttal to all the accusations...

@<a href="http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/member.php?u=65183" target="_blank">freelance_cricketer</a> @<a href="http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/member.php?u=7898" target="_blank">Gabbar Singh</a> @<a href="http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/member.php?u=130742" target="_blank">Nishaa</a> @<a href="http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/member.php?u=137142" target="_blank">JaDed</a>

Did you guys see the awesome speech by Smriti Irani in Rajya sabha??
Awesome point by point rebuttal to all the accusations...

Are you talking about this one

BTW u missed the i in Niishaa

Disgraceful from the BJP. What does the number of used condoms or the fact that meat is allowed in a university have to do with anything?

Because Pravin Togadia said that Hindu women should have "several children" for "increasing the population of the community and ensure its safety for 1,000 years". Using condoms goes against that spirit.

Things could have not have turned out better for Comrade Kanhaiya - the heavy handedness of the state has turned this man into a hero to his supporters and increased his profile many times over.

Kanhaiya Kumar: 'Sedition' student returns to JNU with fiery speech

A student leader from a top university charged with "sedition" returned to his campus on Thursday, and made a fiery speech that has gone viral in India.

Kanhaiya Kumar was arrested last month after a rally against the execution of a Kashmiri separatist convicted over the 2001 Indian parliament attack.

He was released from jail on Thursday after being granted bail.

Mr Kumar's views have been divisive in India with some calling him "anti-nationalist".

The authorities allege Mr Kumar and others shouted anti-India slogans at the 9 February rally that took place at Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU). Two other students remain in custody.

On Thursday, Mr Kumar returned to JNU and said in his speech that he wanted freedom "in" and not "from" India.

Media reports said that close to 3,000 students turned up to hear him speak.

Mr Kumar took on Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Indian government, saying that the backlash against him was to distract the people from its failings in other areas.

He vowed to continue the "fight" against the "oppressive" policies of the government, saying that the more students were suppressed, the more they would stand up.

The government has not yet commented on the speech, which has sparked a huge reaction online.

#KanhaiyaKumar was trending on Facebook India, Twitter India and Twitter global trends on Thursday night, as television channels beamed his speech live.

On Friday morning, the hashtag #Azaadi (freedom) was also trending in the country, though sentiments remained sharply divided.

YouTube links to his speech are also being widely circulated on social media.

Critics condemned the charges against the students as an assault on freedom of expression, but government ministers have refused to back down, vowing to punish what they describe as "anti-national elements".

The 9 February rally that prompted the arrests was to mark the third anniversary of the 2013 hanging of Mohammed Afzal Guru.

Guru was one of those convicted of plotting the 2001 parliament attack - charges he always denied. The attack, which left 14 people dead, was blamed on Pakistan-based militants fighting Indian rule in Kashmir.

Indian opposition parties see the affair as an attempt by the BJP to push its Hindu nationalist agenda, correspondents say.

There have also been counter protests by those who say JNU is a hotbed of "traitors" and should be "cleaned up".

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-35723400

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8jkQhAE-j8s" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JNU saga | How does India deal with Student politics?

listened to complete speech of so called traitor Kanhaiya Kumar...congratulations India if you have youngsters like him there is still hope.

legendary stuff trashed everyone like no tomorrow without single offensive or angry word.

consider me a big big fan can stand with him on any front.

listened to complete speech of so called traitor Kanhaiya Kumar...congratulations India if you have youngsters like him there is still hope.

legendary stuff trashed everyone like no tomorrow without single offensive or angry word.

consider me a big big fan can stand with him on any front.

He is definitely a good speaker but that's not what we should be looking for.

It's very easy to blame the social injustice of hundreds of years on one political party and talk socialism. But it's really difficult to contribute positively.

What he is doing is just politics and in the process became a pawn of political parties and corporate media.

He is definitely a good speaker but that's not what we should be looking for.

It's very easy to blame the social injustice of hundreds of years on one political party and talk socialism. But it's really difficult to contribute positively.

What he is doing is just politics and in the process became a pawn of political parties and corporate media.

I am not aware of this complete issue neither am I honestly interested in it internal issue of India.

I am big fan of student politics and I like seeing it as center of attention and it was a brilliant speech I like this guy I hope he work for the right cause.

I am not aware of this complete issue neither am I honestly interested in it internal issue of India.

I am big fan of student politics and I like seeing it as center of attention and it was a brilliant speech I like this guy I hope he work for the right cause.

Yes you are right. It was a good speech.

He should have kept it as student politics. Now he will get used by bigger parties.

What the JNU saga highlighted for me is how BJP has the same contempt for the law of the land as Congress had when it was in power.
Students,journalists got beaten up in a court in the heart of the capital of India ,while the police stood and watched because the police commissioner was hoping to secure his post retirement job by pleasing his political masters.
As Arun Shourie said,NDA is UPA with cow.India is truly effed up- ek taraf kuan,dusre taraf khai.

BJP leader offers Rs 5 lakh prize for
cutting off Kanhaiya's tongue

Kuldeep Varshney, Badaun District Chief of BJP youth
wing, Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha or BJYM, said
Kanhaiya has been speaking against the BJP and Prime
Minister Narendra Modi since he was released on bail
Thursday.

BJP leader offers Rs 5 lakh prize for
cutting off Kanhaiya's tongue

Kuldeep Varshney, Badaun District Chief of BJP youth
wing, Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha or BJYM, said
Kanhaiya has been speaking against the BJP and Prime
Minister Narendra Modi since he was released on bail
Thursday.

Nothing will happen to this leader. If you are extreme right wing, you are safe in this country.

But god forbid you are a leftist, then you will be declared anti national, if you only talk about freedom from poverty and casteism.

Sloganeering is easy. Putting forward plans for removal of poverty or casteism is difficult.

No matter who is in power, removal of casteism seems impossible now.

To remove poverty, the population growth should be controlled , defence budget should be lowered, etc. This also seems impossible.

Nothing will happen to this leader. If you are extreme right wing, you are safe in this country.

But god forbid you are a leftist, then you will be declared anti national, if you only talk about freedom from poverty and casteism.

Yes It seems to be a trend these days.

Har har modi, ache din aagaye

Sloganeering is easy. Putting forward plans for removal of poverty or casteism is difficult.

No matter who is in power, removal of casteism seems impossible now.

To remove poverty, the population growth should be controlled , defence budget should be lowered, etc. This also seems impossible.

There can be innovative measures taken to lower the cases of caste discrimination especially at work places. Only first and middle names should be used for reference at work places and schools. It would require huge support of the bosses in authority though. In villages the mukhiyas and the upper caste people dont want to let go of the feeling of superiority over others and they are the biggest hurdle. Such areas need More police surveillance.

Population check is a long term solution for alleviation of poverty and is necessary. Btw Whats the AFR of India these days??

India should lower the budgets for some of the things like railways and divert the money to agriculture. The farmers need it much more than passengers who want comfortable railways coaches.

People can manage travelling in substandard railways for next few years. There are lots of other things also for which lower budgets could have been alloted. The 55000 crores for maintenance and conversion of state highways to national highways could also have been lowered.
1 lakh rupees health insurance for all families etc etc could have been avoided for the time being.

Most of this money is lost in corruption anyways so imo much of this money could have been channelized to help out the sectors which desperately need it right now.

I know these other things are also important but its not a matter of life and death like for instance feeding the feeders of India is. I also agree defense budget should be lowered but that will never happen so its useless to talk about it.

KARACHI: Scores of students belonging to the Inter University Feminist Union (IUFU) held a protest demonstration outside the Karachi Press Club on Wednesday to express solidarity with the students, professors and other citizens against India’s discriminatory Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA).

The protesting students spoke about the incident of Jan 5 when a right-wing student organisation, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, brutally attacked students of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) in New Delhi with the support of the Indian government. Armed with rods, hammers, bricks and sticks and with their faces covered, members of the organisation had charged into the university campus and assaulted students in the presence of police.

“The reign of terror is part of the ongoing resistance to the CAA and the changes being brought to India’s National Registry of Citizens will be used by the Indian government to target marginalised groups including the Muslim populace. Students across India are protesting against this bill and they are being attacked by the state in the process,” said a student at the protest, who refused to share his own name or the name of his university.

But he reminded how also in December last year, students of Jamia Millia Islamia were openly fired upon by the police, injuring many. He also gave the example of Aligarh Muslim University where many students were also subjected to police brutality.

“We, at IUFU, strictly condemn this kind of violence against students by India. We feel the pain of these students and can identify with them as such kind of violence is also used against students here. Our friends are abducted and detained often,” said another student, who also refused to share her name or the name of her university.

“We cannot give you our names because we are afraid. And yes, we stand in solidarity with our fellow students from across the border because we know what they are going through only too well,” she said. “Female students have to go through more than male students here. We are harassed in our own universities and then if we complain, we are also harassed by the people in admin while we are put on surveillance,” she pointed out.

“Today this protest is taking place simultaneously outside the press clubs of many big cities of Pakistan. It is a message of solidarity from all across Pakistan [...] solidarity with our fellow students from across the border. We demand that the United Nations urge the Indian government to end this reign of terror against students. We also urge the governments of both Pakistan and India to improve bilateral ties and allow for their populations to coexist the way people from other neighbouring countries do all over the world,” said another student, who had flown in from Lahore to join the protest.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1527087/karachi-students-come-out-in-support-of-jnu-fellows-teachers

New Delhi: A huge protest march by students of Jawaharlal Nehru University -- bound for Rashtrapati Bhavan --- ended in lathicharge and largescale detentions by the Delhi Police this evening. Frantic footage from the spot showed slogan-shouting students being dragged away and packed into buses by the police. Several students were injured and three busloads of protesters were detained by the police.

Students, teachers and civil society groups -- including senior political leaders Sitaram Yechury, D Raja, Prakash Karat, Brinda Karat and Sharad Yadav -- had started the march this afternoon from Mandi House. The plan was to go to the offices of the HRD ministry and submit a memorandum regarding Sunday's mob attack at the university campus and their demand for the resignation of the university's vice-chancellor.

But after the meeting with the HRD officials, the students, led by JNU students' union leader Aishe Ghosh, decided to move towards the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Sources told NDTV that the students decided to meet President Ram Nath Kovind after the HRD Secretary suggested that he would speak to Vice-Chancellor M Jagadesh Kumar to which students objected. They wanted the vice chancellor removed, they said, and decided to march to the Rashrapati Bhavan.

As the police refused to allow that, the slogan shouting started. Amid screams of "Delhi Police murdabad (down with Delhi Police)," the detentions began. The students have been taken to the police station at the Connaught Place, the heart of the city.

Today's face-off comes amid deep distrust of the police by the students.

Those present at the premier university during Sunday's attack, alleged that the police remained mute bystanders as masked goons, armed with sticks and iron bars, had beaten up students and teachers. At least 19 students and five faculty members were injured and needed medical treatment.

An inquiry is being held into the matter an the report will be shared with the home ministry.

The attack has triggered nationwide protests, in which not just the student committee, but the civil society, Bollywood and political leaders have joined in.

The student protests have been continuing from Sunday, in which students from premier institutes like IITs, IIMs and apolitical institutions like Kolkata's St Xavier's College and Delhi's St Stephen's have raised voices.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/jnu...try-to-stop-them-2161424?pfrom=home-topscroll

Opposition to the policies of the Indian prime minister, Narendra Modi, is gathering strength in Bollywood as a growing number of actors voice their support for student protesters.

A day after one of Bollywood’s highest-paid stars, Deepika Padukone, showed her solidarity with young protesters by appearing alongside them, a host of high-profile actors and directors have backed the students, who have been demonstrating against a new citizenship law observers say discriminates against Muslims.

Those speaking out include Sonakshi Sinha, Anurag Kashyap, Varun Dhawan, Sonam Kapoor, Suniel Shetty and Nikkhil Advani. The protests have been met with violence from police and rival student groups.

Padukone visited Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) in Delhi on Tuesday to show her support for students injured by masked groups of people who stormed the campus on Sunday. The assailants are believed to be members of a student group close to the ruling Bharatiya Janata party.

The latest protest in Delhi resulted in yet another clash with police. A march by JNU students and leftwing politicians was stopped midway by police. On hearing that the students might be heading towards the presidential palace, officers bundled them into police vans and took them away.

The actor Nimrat Kaur praised Padukone, saying: “Leading from the front, the tallest Deepika Padukone.”

Kashyap said Padukone’s gesture had opened the gates for those who were apprehensive about speaking out over the controversial citizenship law or the use of excessive force by police against protesters.

“Deepika has managed to negate that fear and give courage to many others who were probably waiting for someone else to take the lead,” the director said.

Though brief, her appearance triggered a social media frenzy. Some Indians hailed her courage and integrity, while others claimed her JNU visit was a PR stunt to promote her new film, which is released on Friday.

The film industry traditionally stays out of such controversy with actors avoiding commenting on political issues for fear of damaging their careers and adversely affecting box office receipts. Initially, there was little comment from Bollywood, despite calls for those with a high profile to speak out.

Amitabh Bachchan, one of the industry’s most famous names, has remained silent. Three of Bollywood’s top male stars, Aamir Khan, Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan who all happen to be Muslims, have also not spoken out since nationwide protests over the citizenship law began on 15 December.

Gradually though signs of distinct unease in Bollywood over the BJP’s agenda have emerged. On Monday, actors and directors such as Zoya Akhtar, Vishal Bhardwaj, Taapsee Pannu, Anubhav Sinha, Dia Mirza and Rahul Bose joined a protest in Mumbai.

Kashyap, along with the actors Richa Chadda and Varun Dhawan, gave television interviews on the issue earlier this week.

Another indication of the current mood in Bollywood was the turnout for the private meeting arranged by the BJP to explain the citizenship law to the industry. “It was very poorly attended with zero star presence … basically a bunch of producers and some B-listers which I guess tells its own story,” said a director who did not wish to be named.

As well as the number of people speaking out, the tone has become sharper. “India, where cows seem to receive more protection than students, is also a country that now refuses to be cowed,” tweeted the actor Twinkle Khanna after Sunday’s attack at the JNU campus.

Fellow actor Sonakshi Sinha was equally outspoken, tweeting: “No matter which political party you support, do you support violence? Don’t visuals of bleeding students and teachers shake you up? We can’t sit on the fence any longer.”

The director Sudhir Mishra is in no doubt about the current mood within Bollywood.

“The majority of the industry is pretty disturbed by recent developments. It’s not just students being injured, they are questioning a citizenship law that could affect people they know, people they work with. It’s no longer abstract, it’s real,” he said.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2...udents-in-anti-modi-protests?CMP=share_btn_wa