Justin Trudeau in India: Is the Canadian PM being cold-shouldered?

R3verse Swing

Local Club Star
Apparently something to do with Sikh members of Trudeau’s staff on tour, and Trudeau being a a Khalistani sympathiser.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-43109029

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's first official visit to India has not been the headline-grabbing love fest he must be accustomed to on his overseas trips.

Despite plenty of photo opportunities, including at the Taj Mahal, Mr Trudeau and his family's tour has been largely ignored by senior members of the Indian government so far.

When he arrived in the capital, Delhi, he was met at the airport by a junior minister in what many interpreted to be a "snub".

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has, on many occasions, personally received visiting government leaders. He also famously hugs his foreign counterparts.

Most recently Mr Modi extended the courtesy - both the personal reception and the hug - to Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu who visited in January.

But Mr Modi has not yet met the Canadian prime minister, despite him being in India for two days.

He was also absent when Mr Trudeau visited his home state of Gujarat on Monday.

And it's not just the prime minister.

When Mr Trudeau visited the Taj Mahal on Sunday, some media reports pointed to the fact that the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, where the monument is located, did not go to greet the visiting premier.

The pictures, headlines and social media frenzy that usually accompany Mr Trudeau's overseas travels have also been largely missing.

So is India really cold shouldering Justin Trudeau? And if so, why?

"Yes, this is a major snub. The fact that a junior minister was sent to receive Mr Trudeau and his family is most definitely a snub," columnist and economist Vivek Dehejia told the BBC.

Mr Dehejia said the reason for Mr Trudeau's lukewarm reception could well be that several members of his government were closely allied with a Sikh independence movement - the Khalistan movement - which seeks to create a separate independent Sikh homeland in the Sikh-dominated northern state of Punjab.

Canadian authorities have also linked Sikh separatist militants to Canada's 1985 Air India bombing, which killed 329 people.

"His Liberal party relies heavily on the Sikh-Canadian vote bank and some of the Sikh members of his government are fellow travellers with the Khalistanis," said Mr Dehejia.

Mr Trudeau counts four Sikh-Canadians in his cabinet.

If this were the case, it would not be the first time that Khalistan has soured relations between officials from the two countries.

Punjab's top elected official refused to meet Canadian defence minister Harjit Sajjan in April last year, alleging that he was "a Khalistani sympathiser".

But India's former high commissioner to Canada, Vishnu Prakash, denied that Mr Trudeau was being "snubbed", saying that India had closely followed diplomatic protocol when receiving him.

"According to protocol, it is a cabinet minister who receives a visiting foreign leader, and this courtesy was extended to Mr Trudeau," Mr Prakash told the BBC.

He said that although Mr Modi had "breached protocol" to personally greet foreign leaders in the past, he could not be expected to greet every visitor that came to India.

"It's not like the prime minister is not going to meet him at all. There is a ceremonial welcome that will be held for him on 23 February and he will meet him there," he added.

Former diplomat Kanwal Sibal told the BBC that it would be both politically and professionally "wrong" for India to begin a state visit by Mr Trudeau with the "prejudice" of Khalistan when it could be used instead as a platform to raise India's concerns with Khalistan at the highest level.

"It is true that domestic political reasons have meant that India has not got the kind of support on the issue, but we can use the visit to get a commitment of action from the Canadian government," he said.

Mr Sibal also said he believed it was "not true" that India was snubbing Mr Trudeau, saying that relations between the two countries improved "dramatically" in the recent past, with the signing of a nuclear deal showing that they had "common interests" now.

Canada announced it would supply uranium to India in 2015, in what was believed to be a significant step forward in relations between the nations.

Mr Sibal said he felt too much was being read into the fact that a junior minister was sent to greet Mr Trudeau at the airport when he arrived in India.

"This is normal protocol. Neither India nor Canada would want to jeopardise a state visit they knew was happening. It is in the interests of both countries to make sure it is a success," he said.

Did Trudeau disrespect India at some point?

Trudeau and his ministers attend rallies and celebrations in Canada where terrorists are glorified and the breakup of India is called for.

It would be like a foreign politician attending rallies which glorify the Baluchistan liberation army and then expecting a warm welcome when they visit Pakistan.

That said, the Indians should have shown him a bit more respect. Simply because he’s the representative of the Canadian state which is an important business partner for a india.

Trudeau and his ministers attend rallies and celebrations in Canada where terrorists are glorified and the breakup of India is called for.

It would be like a foreign politician attending rallies which glorify the Baluchistan liberation army and then expecting a warm welcome when they visit Pakistan.

That said, the Indians should have shown him a bit more respect. Simply because he’s the representative of the Canadian state which is an important business partner for a india.
A terrorist is "a person who uses unlawful violence and intimidation, especially against civilians, in the pursuit of political aims" With this definition Modi is terrorist. Should he be in prison and millions of Indians glorify him.

Fair enough, although his party has to show some support for Canadian Sikhs and their causes at home. I am sure that their grievances against the Indian govt would have some basis as well. Politicians of the highest office need to rise above it though, just my opinion.

A terrorist is "a person who uses unlawful violence and intimidation, especially against civilians, in the pursuit of political aims" With this definition Modi is terrorist. Should he be in prison and millions of Indians glorify him.

How is it affecting Canada?

He was given the protocol as is the rule. Modi will officially receive him in Delhi on 23rd with a reception. But he surely wont get the reception Netanyahu or UAE crown prince got. For obvious reasons.

Till yesterday Trudeau had refused to meet CM of Punjab. Now when he gas realised that in order to please 200k sikhs he risks alieniating a country of 1.3bn it seems he will hold a meeting with punjab cm.

Trudeau’s in India to win Indo-Canadian votes
Feb. 19, 2018
SUBSCRIBE | LOGIN

GLOBAL
Trudeau’s in India to win Indo-Canadian votes
By BHUPINDER S. LIDDAR FEB. 16, 2018
Previous and current prime ministers, provincial premiers, and political party leaders have beaten the path to India for the same reason, often under the guise of trade missions.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau attends a Diwali celebration at John A. Macdonald Building on Oct. 16. Diwali is a religious celebration marked throughout India. Mr. Trudeau is on a trip to the south Asian nation Feb. 17 to 23.
The Hill Times photograph by Andrew Meade
Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s visit this week to India seems to be part of a game plan to garner Indo-Canadian votes, for one can find no other credible reason for the weeklong visit. Canada is home to more than one million people of Indian heritage, or 3.6 per cent of the population. India is also the second largest source of immigrants to Canada, with 40,000 coming in 2016.

In fairness to Trudeau, he is not the first Canadian politician to be tempted by the lure of Indo-Canadian votes.
Previous and current prime ministers, provincial premiers, and political party leaders have beaten the path to India for the same reason, often under the guise of trade missions. However, Canada’s $8-billion worth of yearly merchandise trade with India is miniscule—worth only one week of Canada’s trade with the United States.

Trudeau’s predecessor, Stephen Harper, tried and failed to negotiate a Canada-India free trade agreement. In November 2010, then-trade minister Peter Van Loan launched free trade negotiations with much fanfare in New Delhi. His successor, Ed Fast, following Harper’s visit to India in 2012, and Indian-origin minister Bal Gosal held regular discussions with Indo-Canadian businesspeople in Vancouver, Toronto, and Montreal to provide updates on the talks. It was a blatant gesture to appease the Indo-Canadian vote. Ultimately, after almost a decade of discussions, nothing was delivered. Incidentally, in the press release outlining Trudeau trip there is no mention of a free trade agreement.

https://www.hilltimes.com/2018/02/16/trudeaus-india-win-indo-canadian-votes/134939

Yes. On 21st. Change of plans. He realised that no one is bothering with his visit and he needs to make amends.

I sorta liked how BJP have dealt with this issue. With Amrinder being a Congress CM , they could have easily milked the opportunity and decided to welcome Trudeau with aadar and satkar.
Good to see them putting national interests first.

Trudeau should slam the door on the thousands of Indians who leave shining India every year for greener pastures in Canada. That would make the Indian government come kissing them on their feet.

Indian govt doesnt go kissing anyones feet. You may have mistaken us for our western neighbour.

The world is lining up to invest in india and trade with us, Canada isnt that important.

Poor you, only if your wishes about India could come true.

Indian govt doesnt go kissing anyones feet. You may have mistaken us for our western neighbour.

The world is lining up to invest in india and trade with us, Canada isnt that important.

Maybe that's why 40,000 Indians migrated to Canada in 2016 - read the news report.

Apparently India is shining but not for the millions who are falling over each other to leave it.

Maybe that's why 40,000 Indians migrated to Canada in 2016 - read the news report.

Apparently India is shining but not for the millions who are falling over each other to leave it.

The largest immigrant population in canada is Chinese origin. What next? China is a poor country.

Go ask Trudeau to ban Indians. We have already shown him his place. His turn now.

The largest immigrant population in canada is Chinese origin. What next? China is a poor country.

Go ask Trudeau to ban Indians. We have already shown him his place. His turn now.

Lol all this chest thumping will look so dumb when Modi meets him on the 23rd and dishes out his usual homosexual bear hug.

India is a poor, third world country with the highest number of poor people in the world. No matter how much you chest thump it won't change that fact.

Lol all this chest thumping will look so dumb when Modi meets him on the 23rd and dishes out his usual homosexual bear hug.

India is a poor, third world country with the highest number of poor people in the world. No matter how much you chest thump it won't change that fact.

India will hug him when it necessary. In the larger picture Trudeau is not a big deal for India.

Most immigrants from India are economic. Not political or refugees who runaway from persecution.

Your comment regarding India being a 3rd world country is so boring now.

Trudeau's body language needs to be more assertive. Has always come across as a wimp trying too hard to please everybody.

Actually we need more people in this world with that kind of body language. Very soft and submissive. No fake macho chivalry like some people try to show on the streets.

He is as fake as fake can be. Having official photographers waiting to take his candid photos, and planting questions so that he can impress the sheeple with explanation on cloud computing.

In general, yes but not in terms of leadership. This is the age of alpha leaders like Trump, Putin, Jingping, Modi, Netanyahu etc who tend to sniff out the weaklings in a second.

Wah takabbur dekho iska, itni akadh achi nahi hoti.

If Trudeau attacked muslims these same Inds would fawning over him. But because the guy is good person he is being attacked. Indians should stick to supporting fascist like Trump and Netanyahu.

Lol, this kid cannot hold a candle to the likes of Trump, Bibi or Putin. this bieber namesake should stick to joining LGBT pride march and sharing pics on instagram.

India still has one of the largest poor population.
rape incident hasn't declined
Killing and rape of innocent in kashmir still going on
Muslims are being called Pakistan and told to go back to Pakistan
India support terrorism against sovereign nation

I guess when you are rich nation all of it becomes okay.

Lol, this kid cannot hold a candle to the likes of Trump, Bibi or Putin. this bieber namesake should stick to joining LGBT pride march and sharing pics on instagram.

I agree, he hasnt killed anyone, doesnt spread hate and doesn't want to build empires. The guy is a complete loser for showing humanity.

It does become okay....when India becomes a rich nation. Not too far off, 2024 if reports are to be believed, then Indians will be able to show middle finger to rest of the world including scornful Pak Brits on this site.

Modi will receive him at the official reception because the protocol dictates so. Thats international law.

A person from pakistan should be the last one to talk about poverty etc. We are still better than you guys. No amount of whining on PP will change that.

Modi will receive him at the official reception because the protocol dictates so. Thats international law.

A person from pakistan should be the last one to talk about poverty etc. We are still better than you guys. No amount of whining on PP will change that.

Lol ok whatever helps you sleep at night

Poverty is coming down.

Rape incidents are comparatively lower pef capita and more steps are being taken.

Muslims are as much indian as anyone. No person can change it.

Please provide proof of allegation of terrorism.

Thats the best you can do.lol

I don't have time for people who come here to take out their frustrations of daily life. You might only be exposed to the biased Indian media but the rest of the world knows India's reality.

I was told by Indians for many years on here, the Khalistan movement is dead.

It's interesting many Gudwara's around the world have banned Indian ministers from entering.

India should be smart and try to get the Canadian PM to help them sort out this issue with Sikhs abroad before it comes home to India.

I was told by Indians for many years on here, the Khalistan movement is dead.

It's interesting many Gudwara's around the world have banned Indian ministers from entering.

India should be smart and try to get the Canadian PM to help them sort out this issue with Sikhs abroad before it comes home to India.

Why should we bother with what canadians want? We hardly bother with their PM.

Regarding Sikhs in India. Well 1000s of them are on the border protecting this nation. Thats their reply.

Poverty is coming down.

Rape incidents are comparatively lower pef capita and more steps are being taken.

Muslims are as much indian as anyone. No person can change it.

Please provide proof of allegation of terrorism.

India still has most poor people per capita

You can't prevent rape in India until culture is changed, you can punish the rapist.

Never said they aren't but India has racism issue based on religion and caste.

India has and will continue to spread terrorism in sovereign nation

India has and Indian support killing and rape of innocent in Kashmiris.

This was happening before 1990's and it continue to happen, the only thing has changed is India's wallet.

I don't have time for people who come here to take out their frustrations of daily life. You might only be exposed to the biased Indian media but the rest of the world knows India's reality.

You got hurt? Huh? Hurt that the truth about your country is bitter. Indias reality is that is worlds fastest growing and the 5th largest economy in the world. When Pakistan goes past us, then we can debate.

Until then try to get a few international cricket matches in Pakistan. That may help.

Why should we bother with what canadians want? We hardly bother with their PM.

Regarding Sikhs in India. Well 1000s of them are on the border protecting this nation. Thats their reply.

Sikhs are a close community and those living abroad have influence in India. Im not so much informed but it seems it started from the arrest of Johal who was accused of being involved in killings of Hindus. Sikhs feel it was poliltically motivated arrest by Hindu's who are are growing in their anti-Sikh agendas.

You may feel it's nothing and Sikhs in India will side with the BJP extremists over their own but in time things could change and lets hope there is not another Operation Blue star as this time with the BJP in charge, could become a big problem for India.

You got hurt? Huh? Hurt that the truth about your country is bitter. Indias reality is that is worlds fastest growing and the 5th largest economy in the world. When Pakistan goes past us, then we can debate.

Until then try to get a few international cricket matches in Pakistan. That may help.

Bide your time joshila bhai. 2024...you will really be able to rub these insolent neighbour noses in the dust.

Remember: He who Lol's last Lols longest. :akhtar

Trudeau government moves to mend fences with India over Sikh tensions

The Trudeau government is reaching out to mend fences with an Indian politician who has accused it of including Sikh separatists in its cabinet.

Capt. Amarinder Singh is an Indian war hero and chief minister — or head of government— of the state of Punjab. Singh is a Sikh, and he runs India's only majority-Sikh state. But he's also an implacable enemy of the separatists who have tried to break away from India to form a Sikh nation they called Khalistan.

Last year, Capt. Singh refused to meet Canada's Punjabi-born defence minister, Harjit Sajjan, accusing him of Khalistani and "anti-India" sympathies.

A week before this trip to India began, Sajjan shot back.

"I find that absolutely ridiculous, and us being sucked into some internal politics," the minister said. "I've been a police officer. I've served my country. Any allegations like that are absolutely ridiculous, and I find it extremely offensive as well."

Although Capt. Singh appeared to relent, saying he was now willing to meet the Canadians, the Trudeau delegation appeared ready to return the snub of the previous year, announcing that they would visit the Punjab, but not the man who runs it.

But it soon became apparent that India's discomfort with Canada over Khalistan is very much still an issue. Indian media stories invariably raise the matter in reports on the Trudeau visit.

Sikh influence in Trudeau cabinet

A decision by Canada's gurdwaras, or Sikh temples, to bar Indian diplomats has spread to the Sikh diaspora in the United States, United Kingdom and other countries, alarming the Indian government and creating the impression that Sikh diaspora separatism is on the rise.

And so the Trudeau government has decided to mollify the irascible chief minister. Sources say Canada's high commissioner is reaching out to him to set up a meeting with Sajjan and Prime Minister Trudeau later this week.

"When I travel around the world, I meet with a broad range of leaders and elected officials. I will always engage with people to defend and stand up for Canada's interests and Canada's values," said Trudeau.
On Monday, Singh tweeted that he's meeting Trudeau on Wednesday in Amritsar.

"I'm hopeful that this meeting will help strengthen the close Indo-Canadian business ties as well as the deep-rooted people-to-people relations between our two countries," he said.

Infrastructure Minister Amarjeet Sohi says the Indian media have blown the Khalistan issue out of all proportion.

"I think this is a perceived issue within the Indian media. I was asked about this when I was in India on a business trip last year. and I was very clear that this is not an issue for Canadian people. This is not an issue for the Indo-Canadian community in Canada at all."

Some of the tension between Canada and India is a matter of demographics. Sikhs make up less than two per cent of India's population. But among Indian-Canadians, they are the largest group, and have the greatest political clout; all four of Trudeau's Indian-Canadian ministers are of Sikh origin.

In the background is the election of Hindu nationalist Narendra Modi as Prime Minister in 2014.

Sikhism was born 500 years ago in opposition to the religious intolerance of Islamic fundamentalists, and the rigid caste system of Hindu fundamentalists. Sikhs were never going to get along with a government that sees India as a fundamentally Hindu country.

But two other events have inflamed tensions in the past year. The first is the banning of Indian diplomats from gurdwaras, a ban that began in Brampton, Ont., and spread around the world. Gurdwara officials said it was in response to Indian attempts to use access to visas and other pressure tactics to interfere in their operations.

The second issue was the arrest of Scottish Sikh Jagtar Singh Johal in Punjab last November. Indian police claim to be able to link Johal to killings of members of Hindu fundamentalist groups sympathetic to India's government. Johal's family and supporters have launched a #FreeJaggiNow campaign that has attracted strong support from the diaspora, including prominent Canadian Sikhs such as NDP leader Jagmeet Singh, who was denied a visa to India.

Dilemma for Trudeau

On a trip that was undeniably intended partly to score points with Indian-Canadians voters back home, Justin Trudeau now finds himself pulled in two directions.

He wants to build ties with Modi and show progress on trade, but that may hinge on stronger disavowals of Sikh separatists, and that in turn might alienate Sikh-Canadian voters.

It's a similar dilemma to that faced by many Canadian politicians who've made the same trip, ever since Preston Manning visited the Golden Temple in 1998.

Stephen Harper handled it when he came here by saying Khalistan "may be an issue that both the government of Canada and the government of India disagree with," but added that Canadian Sikhs are free to talk about it:

"We can't interfere with the right of political freedom of expression," he said.

But what was enough in 2012 may not be enough in the India of Modi's Hindu nationalist followers.

Last week, Canada's national security advisor Daniel Jean was here for talks ahead of Trudeau's visit, and the Trudeau government has said Canada supports a strong and united India.

One prominent Canadian Sikh and Liberal says it's time for the government to go further.

"This is Canada's problem, it's no longer India's problem," says former B.C. premier Ujjal Dosanjh. "The Indian government is saying directly and indirectly, we're not putting up with it anymore."

Dosanjh says it's no excuse for Canadian politicians to plead ignorance when they appear at Sikh events that celebrate separatist martyrs

"If they don't care about it, they shouldn't visit India," he said.

Golden Temple tensions

Jatinder Singh Grewal is a Canadian supporter of the Referendum 2020 movement that wants Punjabis to be able to vote on independence. He says it's Trudeau's job to stand up for Sikh-Canadians against Indian government pressure tactics.

"India uses fear against family members, people that are in Canada, they deny them visas, and family members in India are intimidated over their jobs, their personal safety, and various methods are used so people become silent in the diaspora."

"Members of my organization have been charged with trying to break apart India, and I do believe that one day I may be charged with some false accusation, although I'm a law-abiding citizen."

The Harmandir Sahib, or Golden Temple, is at the epicentre of all these tensions.

That is where pro-Khalistan militants made their last stand in a bloody battle with Indian troops in 1984 that killed many Sikh civilians. Prime Minister Indira Gandhi was assassinated in revenge by her own Sikh bodyguards.

That in turn sparked massacres of innocent Sikhs on the streets of New Delhi that killed thousands. Sikh separatists in Canada retaliated by bombing an Air India flight, killing 329 people.

That bloody history casts a long shadow over Canada-India relations.

All eyes will be on the temple, and on Trudeau, when he visits it on Wednesday.

Sikhs are a close community and those living abroad have influence in India. Im not so much informed but it seems it started from the arrest of Johal who was accused of being involved in killings of Hindus. Sikhs feel it was poliltically motivated arrest by Hindu's who are are growing in their anti-Sikh agendas.

You may feel it's nothing and Sikhs in India will side with the BJP extremists over their own but in time things could change and lets hope there is not another Operation Blue star as this time with the BJP in charge, could become a big problem for India.

Punjab is probably one of the wealthiest and safest place in india per capita wise. We have gone through a lot alot of crimes that some of fellow indians and you guys cannot even imagine through 80's and 90's , though we have overcome that oeriod successfuly. Some bjp netas are anti muslims though by only politics may be but no bjp neta or rss or any sena is ever against sikhs. Rss even teach about sikhism in their schools what i have heard. Punjab went through worse tham what is going on in kashmir
Jagi johal is arrested as it seems he is linked to the killing of hindu leaders in punjab.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Time well spent with some bright young minds - excellent discussion and Q&A on gender equality, business, pluralism & more at <a href="https://twitter.com/IIMAhmedabad?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@IIMAhmedabad</a> this afternoon. <a href="https://t.co/sfUM6ZNMNz">pic.twitter.com/sfUM6ZNMNz</a></p>— Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau) <a href="https://twitter.com/JustinTrudeau/status/965655118929575938?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

Rich coming from a migrant himself.

Canada-India trade amounts to only $8 billion annually. Trudeau's gone to try and boost that, and also to obtain Indo-Canadian votes for Election 2019

No wonder he's visiting Ahmedabad and Amritsar, the two biggest Indian communities in Canada (Gujarati and Punjabi)

Some of the ignorance in this thread is remarkable.

Diplomatic protocol is not the same as international law. International law is agreed upon by all nations. Diplomatic protocol is a set of rules, procedures, and ceremonies agreed by 2 nations.

The fact Modi has changed the protocol for the Canadian PM, in comparison to Israel’s PM, means he has broken international law – really?

The reality is Justin Trudeau has been in India for almost THREE days, and not a dicky bird on Indian main stream media. This tells you everything you need to know. Operation Blue Star still haunts Indian’s dishonest worldwide perception, and Indians (bu this I mean BJP apologists) hope they can ignore the atrocity by ignoring the Canadian PM, well it has back fired, royally. Forget Canada, I am sure Sikhs will notice Modi's cheap hack, as will Muslims of Gujrat. Brings a whole new meaning to secular India.

India can kiss goodbye to the Uranium deal too.

However, I think the Canadian PM should look on the bright side, he got a family shot in front of the Taj Mahal – an Indian relic soon to be destroyed by the BJP.

_100084965_05ee33c9-b32b-4d8d-9227-d1fba559d627.jpg

Smile, you are on camera! It's not even photo-shopped, yet!

Who the hell is Modi to tell Trudeau who he can/cannot have in his government?

At least Trudeau believes in secularism by having Sikhs in his cabinet, Modi has yet to appoint a Muslim in his cabinet!

Some of the ignorance in this thread is remarkable.

Diplomatic protocol is not the same as international law. International law is agreed upon by all nations. Diplomatic protocol is a set of rules, procedures, and ceremonies agreed by 2 nations.

The fact Modi has changed the protocol for the Canadian PM, in comparison to Israel’s PM, means he has broken international law – really?

The reality is Justin Trudeau has been in India for almost THREE days, and not a dicky bird on Indian main stream media. This tells you everything you need to know. Operation Blue Star still haunts Indian’s dishonest worldwide perception, and Indians (bu this I mean BJP apologists) hope they can ignore the atrocity by ignoring the Canadian PM, well it has back fired, royally. Forget Canada, I am sure Sikhs will notice Modi's cheap hack, as will Muslims of Gujrat. Brings a whole new meaning to secular India.

India can kiss goodbye to the Uranium deal too.

However, I think the Canadian PM should look on the bright side, he got a family shot in front of the Taj Mahal – an Indian relic soon to be destroyed by the BJP.

Smile, you are on camera! It's not even photo-shopped, yet!

Not sure if they care about minority vote bank.

The key word to pick up from Justin Trudeau’s tweet is Pluralism.

Look it up, it is the exactly opposite of what right-wing nationalist Hinduism – BJP – believe in.

Trudeau, is playing the game beautifully.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] Honestly all the hate aside how can you guys tolerate Trudeau as your prime minister? The guy has so punchable face.

Nominal terms:

India GDP: $2.44 Trillion
Canada GDP: $1.64 Trillion

PPP terms:

India GDP: $9.45 Trillion
Canada GDP: $1.76 Trillion

Difference in 2030 will be massive

Nominal terms:

PPP terms:

Whose side are you bhai? Either I'm too drunk or those numbers are in favor of India.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] Honestly all the hate aside how can you guys tolerate Trudeau as your prime minister? The guy has so punchable face.

He won a thumping majority in the 2015 Canadian election with almost 40% of the popular vote. 6.9 Canadians voted for him

Nominal terms:

PPP terms:

It's not always about GDP. You are wrong in PPP terms anyway.

CANADA
GDP per capita 50232 USD
GDP per capita PPP 43088 USD

INDIA
GDP per capita 1862 USD
GDP per capita PPP 6093 USD

Treating the leader of a first world country like this. Indian officials are acting like juveniles. If this was Trump all the non Canadian Indians would have been on the next flight back home.

Justin though is too cool for all that

India broke no protocol in Trudeaus case. The protocol is for a minister of central govt to receive the PM at airport and that was done.

Modi went out of his way to receive Netanyahu and Prince Mohammed bin Zayed as they too had received Modi at the airport. In case of Obama, since Obama went out of his way to take Modi personally to the MLK Jr. Memorial Modi too made the exception of receiving him at airport.

According to protocol Modi will receive Trudeau at the official ceremony.

Lol at Sikhs and Muslims in India caring about what Modi does to Canadian PM.lol

India has uranium deals with various nations. Trudeau is free to go back on the deal signed by his predecessor.

PPP means Purchasing Power Parity, I think you may have confused it with Per Capita

Here is the IMF link where I got the numbers from: https://www.imf.org/external/pubs/f...941,474,446,754,666,698,668&s=PPPGDP&grp=0&a=

You used PPP in your post?

OK my bad, you were referring to GDP PPP.

My info from : https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ca.html

However the point I was making is thus:

The GDP per capita PPP is higher in Canada than in India, despite India having a higher GDP PPP figure. Why does this matter? National wealth comes second after individual wealth. There is no point in having an expanding economy if individuals are not going to benefit.

To put into context, India's low GDP per Capita PPP means, for example, the Iphone is not a a big seller in India despite the population and economy expansion. So India's national GDP PPP is pretty much contextual, much like Pakistan's which is 26 in the list of GDP PPP : https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2001rank.html#ca

Treating the leader of a first world country like this. Indian officials are acting like juveniles. If this was Trump all the non Canadian Indians would have been on the next flight back home.

Justin though is too cool for all that

Treating him like what? He has got the protocol thats agreed to. Yes he didnot get the special treatment that the Israeli or American or Emirati dignitary got. Its special coz few get it.

You used PPP in your post?

OK my bad, you were referring to GDP PPP.

My info from : https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ca.html

However the point I was making is thus:

The GDP per capita PPP is higher in Canada than in India, despite India having a higher GDP PPP figure. Why does this matter? National wealth comes second after individual wealth. There is no point in having an expanding economy if individuals are not going to benefit.

To put into context, India's low GDP per Capita PPP means, for example, the Iphone is not a a big seller in India despite the population and economy expansion. So India's national GDP PPP is pretty much contextual, much like Pakistan's which is 26 in the list of GDP PPP : https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2001rank.html#ca

Individual wealth may come first for the average individual, but when it comes to trade between countries the total GDP and the potential for growth becomes more of an indicator as to who needs who.

I'll give an example of Canada-India trade. Saskatchewan farmers export a lot of chickpeas and peas to India. Modi hiked up the tariff and hence those farmers took a bit of a hit

I think this whole "treatment" and "who the personnel welcoming him were" is a bit of a non-issue .

To those who are bringing up the Netanyahu example , if you fools have followed the news from the start , Modiji wasn't supposed to meet him at the airport as per the scheduled programme, He just decided to surprise him at the last moment(which imo was quite cool , apart from the hugging of course) . Bibi even tweeted about it thanking modi for receiving him even though it wasn't originally the part of itinerary.

Individual wealth may come first for the average individual, but when it comes to trade between countries the total GDP and the potential for growth becomes more of an indicator as to who needs who.

I'll give an example of Canada-India trade. Saskatchewan farmers export a lot of chickpeas and peas to India. Modi hiked up the tariff and hence those farmers took a bit of a hit

True, but I think India's biggest export to Canada, are Indian civilians, who feel India lacks the opportunity in one of the world's fastest growing economy. This is a slap in the face of India's bravado when it comes to economics.

To those who are bringing up the Netanyahu example , if you fools have followed the news from the start , Modiji wasn't supposed to meet him at the airport as per the scheduled programme, He just decided to surprise him at the last moment(which imo was quite cool , apart from the hugging of course) . Bibi even tweeted about it thanking modi for receiving him even though it wasn't originally the part of itinerary.

This makes it worse. Modi was not meant to meet Netanyahu at the airport, but BROKE protocol, and decided to surprise him instead.

Something about building walls.

True, but I think India's biggest export to Canada, are Indian civilians, who feel India lacks the opportunity in one of the world's fastest growing economy. This is a slap in the face of India's bravado when it comes to economics.

A lot of them are International students from Punjab

You seem really hurt for some reason? Is everything okay at home?

This is your contribution in this thread?

Me hurt? On the contrary, the world is seeing what Modi truly is. A right wing terrorist sympathiser who doesn't care about the minority (Sikh and Muslim) votes.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thank you Gujarat! It’s Family Day for many of us back home - I’m glad we got to spend it with you here. <a href="https://t.co/1GPNmIP6u5">pic.twitter.com/1GPNmIP6u5</a></p>— Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau) <a href="https://twitter.com/JustinTrudeau/status/965671596072476672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 19, 2018</a></blockquote>