Kagiso Rabada vs Pat Cummins vs Kyle Jamieson vs Jasprit Bumrah - Comparison Thread

hk031992

Tape Ball Captain
How do you rank these 4 bowlers on current form from best to weakest?

Who do you think will end up as the greatest test bowler of the 4?

Who do you think will end up as the greatest ODI bowler of the 4?

Who is your favourite of the 4 and why?

Jamieson is overrated

He will average 1000 in the sub continent

Ollie Robinson is better than him

Jamieson is not in the league of other three.

Tests:

Cummins - 9.5
Bumrah - 9.5
Rabada - 9

ODIs :

Bumrah - 8.5
Cummins - 7.5
Rabada - 7.5

T20Is :

Bumrah - 9.5
Cummins - 7.5( good support bowler in strong attack but not good in a weak bowling attack)
Rabada - 8( bowls better than Cummins in death)

If we are to compare these bowlers in a meaningful way we have to dissect their stats. Jamieson has a small sample size so I expect his stats to get worse with time.

Bowler stats vs the top 5 test teams:

Cummins: Innings - 71, Average - 22.07, Wickets - 177, SR - 47.8

Cummins has amazing test stats as expected.

Bumrah: Innings - 48, Average - 24.63, Wickets - 100, SR - 55.3

Note that I've only used Bumrahs stats vs the top 4 test teams because he hasn't played Pakistan and 5th best team in his stats is Sri Lanka which I don't consider one of the top teams. Overall very good stats.

Rabada: Innings - 71, Average - 24.37, Wickets - 179, SR - 44.1

Very good stats but he's still slightly behind Cummins in the test format. The most impressive thing about Rabada is the number of wickets he's taken at just the age of 26.

Jamieson: Innings - 20, Average - 18.89, Wickets - 47, SR - 45.9

Jamieson has had an amazing start to his Test career but I wouldn't put him up there with the other three just yet. He's yet to face Australia Which i going to be his toughest test and we'll see what he's made of then.

Just like with Bumrah I've only used Jamieson's stats vs the top 4 test teams because he still hasn't played Austria.

Bowler stats vs the top 5 ODI teams:

Cummins: Innings - 61, Average - 30.07, Wickets - 97, Economy - 5.31, SR - 33.9

Surprisingly Cummins has every good ODI stats against top teams. I expected his average to be over 35.

Bumrah: Innings - 48, Average - 34.43, Wickets - 62, Economy - 5.01, SR - 41.1

Overall Bumrah's stats aren't that bad other than that horrid strike rate for reference Dale Steyn had a strike rate of 42.3 in test cricket. On the plus side, Bumrah has a great economy rate.

Rabada: Innings - 46, Average - 29.39, Wickets - 73, Economy - 5.16, SR - 34.1

Out of these 4, Rabada has the best ODI stats which is surprising considering no one talks about him when they talk about the best ODI bowlers around, about time that changes.

I won't be sharing Jamieson's ODI stats because he hasn't played enough matches to have reliable stats.

Opinion and rating:

In Tests:

Cummins > Rabada > Bumrah > Jamieson

In ODIs:

Rabada = Cummins > Bumrah

The reason I think the other bowlers are currently better than Bumrah is Bumrah's strike rate in both the formats. All the other bowlers strike rate in test cricket is in the mid-40s whereas Bumrahs strike rate is in the mid-50s. The same thing in the ODIs Cummins and Rabada's strike rate is in the low 30s whereas Bumrah's strike rate is in the low 40s.

If we are to compare these bowlers in a meaningful way we have to dissect their stats. Jamieson has a small sample size so I expect his stats to get worse with time.

Bowler stats vs the top 5 test teams:

Cummins: Innings - 71, Average - 22.07, Wickets - 177, SR - 47.8

Cummins has amazing test stats as expected.

Bumrah: Innings - 48, Average - 24.63, Wickets - 100, SR - 55.3

Note that I've only used Bumrahs stats vs the top 4 test teams because he hasn't played Pakistan and 5th best team in his stats is Sri Lanka which I don't consider one of the top teams. Overall very good stats.

Rabada: Innings - 71, Average - 24.37, Wickets - 179, SR - 44.1

Very good stats but he's still slightly behind Cummins in the test format. The most impressive thing about Rabada is the number of wickets he's taken at just the age of 26.

Jamieson: Innings - 20, Average - 18.89, Wickets - 47, SR - 45.9

Jamieson has had an amazing start to his Test career but I wouldn't put him up there with the other three just yet. He's yet to face Australia Which i going to be his toughest test and we'll see what he's made of then.

Just like with Bumrah I've only used Jamieson's stats vs the top 4 test teams because he still hasn't played Austria.

Surprisingly Cummins has every good ODI stats against top teams. I expected his average to be over 35.

Overall Bumrah's stats aren't that bad other than that horrid strike rate for reference Dale Steyn had a strike rate of 42.3 in test cricket. On the plus side, Bumrah has a great economy rate.

Out of these 4, Rabada has the best ODI stats which is surprising considering no one talks about him when they talk about the best ODI bowlers around, about time that changes.

I won't be sharing Jamieson's ODI stats because he hasn't played enough matches to have reliable stats.

Opinion and rating:

In Tests:

Cummins > Rabada > Bumrah > Jamieson

In ODIs:

Rabada = Cummins > Bumrah

The reason I think the other bowlers are currently better than Bumrah is Bumrah's strike rate in both the formats. All the other bowlers strike rate in test cricket is in the mid-40s whereas Bumrahs strike rate is in the mid-50s. The same thing in the ODIs Cummins and Rabada's strike rate is in the low 30s whereas Bumrah's strike rate is in the low 40s.

Typos

Posters here are judging Jamieson like they are some kind of fortune-tellers who know the future.

Personally, I am really interested in seeing how his career pans out. His height and accuracy make him a unique bowler, the likes of which are simply not there in international cricket right now. And he didn't do too badly in India where many would have expected him to struggle. I wouldn't put Jamieson in this group though just because he has played too few matches. I would put Shaheen in this group instead.

Rabada is very good but his effectiveness greatly depends on the fitness of Nortje. With Nortje firing thunderbolts at the other end, he can bowl with freedom. If he is left to carry the bowling attack on his own, I feel he will struggle.

Bumrah is right up there with these guys too.

Overall however, Pat Cummins is easily the best bowler of them all. He is a complete fast-bowler. He has the brains, he has the skill, he has the fitness. If you were to create a prototype of a fast-bowler in a lab, Pat Cummins is what you would get. I don't feel anyone comes close to Cummins right now who is at his absolute peak as a fast-bowler.

Cummins is the best overall bowler and the best test fast-bowler.

Bumrah is the best T20 fast-bowler.

Shaheen is the best ODI fast-bowler.

Cummins is the best overall bowler and the best test fast-bowler.

Bumrah is the best T20 fast-bowler.

Shaheen is the best ODI fast-bowler.

Shaheen is better than Bumrah in t20s.

T20 games can be won by bowlers in only one way. Wickets upfront and Shaheen there is in a different league.

Otherwise, even if you go something like 23-0 in 4 overs, teams will happily take that and still end up with huge scores.

But if you are able to knock off the top order in one spell, that gives you the best chance of restricting opposition to a sub par total.

Posters here are judging Jamieson like they are some kind of fortune-tellers who know the future.

Personally, I am really interested in seeing how his career pans out. His height and accuracy make him a unique bowler, the likes of which are simply not there in international cricket right now. And he didn't do too badly in India where many would have expected him to struggle. I wouldn't put Jamieson in this group though just because he has played too few matches. I would put Shaheen in this group instead.

Rabada is very good but his effectiveness greatly depends on the fitness of Nortje. With Nortje firing thunderbolts at the other end, he can bowl with freedom. If he is left to carry the bowling attack on his own, I feel he will struggle.

Bumrah is right up there with these guys too.

Overall however, Pat Cummins is easily the best bowler of them all. He is a complete fast-bowler. He has the brains, he has the skill, he has the fitness. If you were to create a prototype of a fast-bowler in a lab, Pat Cummins is what you would get. I don't feel anyone comes close to Cummins right now who is at his absolute peak as a fast-bowler.

Overall Cummins is defiantly the best. He's just as good in ODIs if not better than Bumrah and Rabada, and he's easily better than both in test cricket.

Jamieson is not in the league of other three.

Tests:

Cummins - 9.5
Bumrah - 9.5
Rabada - 9

ODIs :

Bumrah - 8.5
Cummins - 7.5
Rabada - 7.5

T20Is :

Bumrah - 9.5
Cummins - 7.5( good support bowler in strong attack but not good in a weak bowling attack)
Rabada - 8( bowls better than Cummins in death)

Why do you rate Rabada and Cummins so low in ODIs?

Cummins will end up as the best test bowler but it will be very very close between him and Jamieson.

Shaheen will end up as the best in odi by some distance.

Shaheen has the most exciting skillset out of them all in my opinion.

Khuda ka khauf Kar yar!

How is Shaheen better than Cummins?
Shaheen is the superior ODI and T20 bowler although Cummins is better in tests. Shaheen is superior is 2/3 formats so the better bowler overall. Simple math!

Cummins is the best by a distance not to forget captain as well now.

Why do you rate Rabada and Cummins so low in ODIs?

Their bowling averages are 27.5 and 28.5 compared to Bumrah's 25 and economy is higher too even though Cummins hardly bowls in death overs.

Bumrah is widely regarded as the best death over bowler in the world while the same can't be said about the likes of Cummins or Rabada, perception matters as it is not built on one day but regular performances.

Cummins is not even the go to guy for Australia, that is Starc in ODIs and Hazelwood is economical new ball wicket taker. Cummins is easily the third pacer in LOIs for Australia.

Rabada has been the go to guy for South Africa but he has never trouble batsman as much in ODIs even in his early days as he did in Tests.

If we are looking for the best ODI bowlers of this generation, then Starc, Bumrah, Boult are standouts. Then among those with lesser sample, there is Archer and Shaheen who have been the most promising with the starts they have got.

Their bowling averages are 27.5 and 28.5 compared to Bumrah's 25 and economy is higher too even though Cummins hardly bowls in death overs.

Bumrah is widely regarded as the best death over bowler in the world while the same can't be said about the likes of Cummins or Rabada, perception matters as it is not built on one day but regular performances.

Cummins is not even the go to guy for Australia, that is Starc in ODIs and Hazelwood is economical new ball wicket taker. Cummins is easily the third pacer in LOIs for Australia.

Rabada has been the go to guy for South Africa but he has never trouble batsman as much in ODIs even in his early days as he did in Tests.

If we are looking for the best ODI bowlers of this generation, then Starc, Bumrah, Boult are standouts. Then among those with lesser sample, there is Archer and Shaheen who have been the most promising with the starts they have got.

Both Cummins and Rabada are clearly better than Bumrah when playing against top teams.

I will play Bumrah in league matches of a CT, World Cup or a WTC, but will keep him away from knockouts and finals of big ICC tournaments. :inti

Both Cummins and Rabada are clearly better than Bumrah when playing against top teams.

The only thing it means is I watch my matches live and you watch your matches on statsguru. Statsguru will say that Dravid is a better ODI bat than Jayasuriya too based on overseas performance lol.

Jamieson hasn't been tested much outside of New Zealand. So, he shouldn't be included yet. He is still quite new to the scene.

Rabada, Bumrah, and Cummins have been tried and tested. I think Rabada has been the most impressive out of these 3 (considering his age).

The only thing it means is I watch my matches live and you watch your matches on statsguru. Statsguru will say that Dravid is a better ODI bat than Jayasuriya too based on overseas performance lol.

I watch matches live and I've never seen Bumrah run through a batting lineup in ODI cricket. There have been a ton of matches where batsmen have played Bumrah with ease.

Shaheen is better than Bumrah in t20s.

T20 games can be won by bowlers in only one way. Wickets upfront and Shaheen there is in a different league.

Otherwise, even if you go something like 23-0 in 4 overs, teams will happily take that and still end up with huge scores.

But if you are able to knock off the top order in one spell, that gives you the best chance of restricting opposition to a sub par total.

You make a very good point. And I don't disagree with you. However, I feel at the same time the importance of death-bowling cannot be underestimated either.

Overall, I feel its very close between these two. One is the easily the best new-ball bowler in the world, whereas the other is easily the best death-bowler in the world.

The thing about Shaheen is that there have been occasions where he struck with the new-ball but the opposition still managed to find a way back into the game. So I don't feel he can work that magic everytime eventhough he does it more than most. The same applies to Bumrah's death-bowling.

The only reason I am giving a slight edge to Bumrah is because statistically he is a better T20 bowler. He has a better T20 bowling average, a better strike-rate, a significantly better economy rate and he has won more matches for India than Shaheen has for Pakistan.

But obviously that is not something set in stone and can change very quickly.

Overall Cummins is defiantly the best. He's just as good in ODIs if not better than Bumrah and Rabada, and he's easily better than both in test cricket.

The thing about Cummins in ODIs is that he hasn't played a single ODI in 2 years. And by all accounts he had an abysmal year the last time he played in 2020, averaging 39+ with the ball at a SR of 41.

That's not to say that he wouldn't be great if he started playing again today. But is he going to be as good in that format as Shaheen, Starc, Bumrah, Boult? Who don't just play this format regularly but also give stellar performances on a consistent basis.

Kinda surprised to see no mention of Trent Boult. He has been consistently outstanding across formats for years now. He has crossed 300 test wickets, won numerous matches for New Zealand and outside of Shaheen is arguably the most threatening new-ball bowler in the world.

Can't fathom how any conversation about the best fast-bowlers in the world can be complete without him. He is certainly miles ahead of his fellow countryman Jamieson.

The thing about Cummins in ODIs is that he hasn't played a single ODI in 2 years. And by all accounts he had an abysmal year the last time he played in 2020, averaging 39+ with the ball at a SR of 41.

That's not to say that he wouldn't be great if he started playing again today. But is he going to be as good in that format as Shaheen, Starc, Bumrah, Boult? Who don't just play this format regularly but also give stellar performances on a consistent basis.

Cummins is kinda like Hazelwood in the sense that he can completely dominate the opposition when he gets a good rhythm going. He can return figures like 30 runs conceded and 4 or 5 wickets taken, that's match winning stuff.

I genuinely believe that Cummins is better than Bumrah in ODIs. Although Boult and Starc are definitely better than Cummins.

I watch matches live and I've never seen Bumrah run through a batting lineup in ODI cricket. There have been a ton of matches where batsmen have played Bumrah with ease.

No, they have not played him with ease, they have seen him off and taken on other bowlers. They see off Bumrah with figures of 45/1 in 10 overs (5 of those in death overs) and they try to attack others, that is what teams are doing.

The very fact that the very next guy you were discussing himself believes that Starc, Bumrah, Boult and Shaheen are the standouts in LOIs which is also what I feels tells us all we have to know about the calibre of Rabada and Cummins in LOIs, they are simply not rated in the top league as far as LOIs are concerned which Bumrah is rated.

As for stats, you can have even Steyn better than Malinga in LOIs using stats, doesn't make him any better though.

No, they have not played him with ease, they have seen him off and taken on other bowlers. They see off Bumrah with figures of 45/1 in 10 overs (5 of those in death overs) and they try to attack others, that is what teams are doing.

The very fact that the very next guy you were discussing himself believes that Starc, Bumrah, Boult and Shaheen are the standouts in LOIs which is also what I feels tells us all we have to know about the calibre of Rabada and Cummins in LOIs, they are simply not rated in the top league as far as LOIs are concerned which Bumrah is rated.

As for stats, you can have even Steyn better than Malinga in LOIs using stats, doesn't make him any better though.

The thing is that Bumrah doesn't get figures of 45/1 against top teams as often you think he does. Bumrah has an economy rate of 5.01 vs top teams.

Cummins has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 10 out of 27 matches ODI he's played in the past two years, which mean Cummins has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 37% of the matches he's played.

Bumrah has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 3 out of 12 matches ODI matches he's played in the past two years, which mean Bumrah has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 25% of the matches he's played.

37% > 25%

On top of all of this Cummins has a better average and strike rate against top teams in ODIs. The results are pretty conclusive.

The thing is that Bumrah doesn't get figures of 45/1 against top teams as often you think he does. Bumrah has an economy rate of 5.01 vs top teams.

Cummins has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 10 out of 27 matches ODI he's played in the past two years, which mean Cummins has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 37% of the matches he's played.

Bumrah has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 3 out of 12 matches ODI matches he's played in the past two years, which mean Bumrah has had an economy rate of under 4.5 in 25% of the matches he's played.

37% > 25%

On top of all of this Cummins has a better average and strike rate against top teams in ODIs. The results are pretty conclusive.

*Means

Cummins is the best Test bowler and may become the best Test captain as well in the coming years but again he is unproven in ODIs, T20. We can put up as many stats as possible to prove he is better than Bumrah, I guess lots of people want to belittle Bumrah but the former isn't anywhere close in ODIs. He hardly plays T20 & ODIs for Australia. Even the team management don't see the need to play him and is not indispensable in that format. Starc for example is but Cummins is not.

Bumrah might not be the best but I wouldn't agree Cummins is better overall bowler. If Cummins plays regularly in all formats and has a consistent records in the format, I will buy the argument. Right now pulling out stats from 2 years ago and that too games in patches does not mean anything. There are lots of things in play here. Where is plays those few games he plays, what sort of surfaces are they and what were the scores in the game he plays etc.

Rabada I agree, he plays all the formats and is a very good bowler in all formats. Jamieson should not be in this discussion at all as he has hardly played everywhere in the world to judge him correctly.

Rabada has gone under the radar I feel recently but his stats remain brilliant. However, Cummins is indisputably the best by far. Jamieson has a way to go to be in the conversation with these guys.

Bumrah is the best all format bowler in the world and that too by some distance.

Cummins is the best bowler in tests, mediocre in odis and t20s..

Shaheen has an okayish record in test cricket but he has been the best loi fast bowler for some time.

With Cummins declining a bit - may prove wrong in WTC. Rabada edges ahead of Bumrah.

Rabada searching for his 5-fer in WTC Final.

Bumrah should not be considered until he gets tested and cleared. :inti #SuspiciousAction

Jamieson who? He hasn't made his mark yet.

Rabada vs Cummins. Rabada wins.

Rabada has gone under the radar I feel recently but his stats remain brilliant. However, Cummins is indisputably the best by far. Jamieson has a way to go to be in the conversation with these guys.
How is it "indisputably" when bumrah has very much similar numbers?

Now personal opinions are "indisputable"?

Ok here I' exposing the bubbles of wannabe posters .

Bumrah ( Test )

In australia - 64@17
In South Africa -38@20
In England - 37@26
In NZ - 6@31 ( Only played 2 match and for Goat like him this is poor record)
In WI -13@9
In india -47@17

Cummins ( Test ) -

In australia - 177@20
In South Africa - 29@20
In England - 52@27
In NZ - 6@29
In SL - 2@60
In india - 11@32
In Bangladesh - 6@29

Rabada ( Test )

In Australia 26@ 26
In England 35@24
In india 9@44
In NZ 18@30
In Pakistan 5@40
In South Africa 198@20
In WI - 19@16

Now add test and T20 stats - Bumrah is miles ahead of These two .

Bumrah ( Test )

In australia - 64@17
In South Africa -38@20
In England - 37@26
In WI -13@9
In india -47@17

Cummins ( Test ) -

In australia - 177@20
In South Africa - 29@20
In England - 52@27
In NZ - 6@29
In SL - 2@60
In india - 11@32
In Bangladesh - 6@29

Rabada ( Test )

In Australia 26@ 26
In England 35@24
In india 9@44
In NZ 18@30
In Pakistan 5@40
In South Africa 198@20
In WI - 19@16

You have highlighted Cummins and Rabada bad record in Asia but Bumrah hasn't played in Asia, apart from his home country.

Now delusional fans logic - you haven't posted records of Bumrah against Minnows Pakistan, bangladesh and Lanka . Are khelga nahi to uske record kaha se post honge 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣

T

Bumrah ( Test )

In australia - 64@17
In South Africa -38@20
In England - 37@26
In WI -13@9
In india -47@17

Cummins ( Test ) -

In australia - 177@20
In South Africa - 29@20
In England - 52@27
In NZ - 6@29
In SL - 2@60
In india - 11@32
In Bangladesh - 6@29

Rabada ( Test )

In Australia 26@ 26
In England 35@24
In india 9@44
In NZ 18@30
In Pakistan 5@40
In South Africa 198@20
In WI - 19@16

For delusional posters - I highlighted the 30+ AVG part including the Bumrah poor record in NZ. ::shh:kp

Now delusional fans logic - you haven't posted records of Bumrah against Minnows Pakistan, bangladesh and Lanka . Are khelga nahi to uske record kaha se post honge 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣

If you think they are minnows then why highlight for Cummins and Rabada :inti

Also when Bumrah has mediocre record against Kiwis you try to explain it by saying it's only two matches.

But you don't provide an explanation for Cummins high average in Sri Lanka and Rabada in Pakistan....these were only two matches too.

Also when Bumrah has mediocre record against Kiwis you try to explain it by saying it's only two matches.

But you don't provide an explanation for Cummins high average in Sri Lanka and Rabada in Pakistan....these were only two matches too.
Read my last post again , I highlighted the 30 plus AVG of all three bowlers. Ab tumko dikhta nahi hai wo to kya karu.

Bumrah ka isliye explained kiya kyk GOAT ka explanation Banta hai .

Bumrah ( Test )

In australia - 64@17
In South Africa -38@20
In England - 37@26
In WI -13@9
In india -47@17

Cummins ( Test ) -

In australia - 177@20
In South Africa - 29@20
In England - 52@27
In NZ - 6@29
In SL - 2@60
In india - 11@32
In Bangladesh - 6@29

Rabada ( Test )

In Australia 26@ 26
In England 35@24
In india 9@44
In NZ 18@30
In Pakistan 5@40
In South Africa 198@20
In WI - 19@16

What exposure? I already stated Bumrah > Those 2? Bari mehrbani hai apki. You've showed us that you've learned how to Cntrl C + Cntrl V on stats from cricinfo 🤣🤣.

Mashallah what an improvement.

Wasim Akram( Test )

In australia - 36@24
In india - 27@28
In South Africa - 7@39
In England - 53@29
In WI - 35@27
In Pakistan - 154@23 ( don't forget the contribution of Home umpire and bottel caps)

Or kisi ka comparison karwana hai to bolo GOAT Bumrah se.

Wasim Akram( Test )

In australia - 36@24
In india - 27@28
In South Africa - 7@39
In England - 53@29
In WI - 35@27
In Pakistan - 154@23 ( don't forget the contribution of Home umpire and bottel caps)

Or kisi ka comparison karwana hai to bolo GOAT Bumrah se.

Mcgrath and Marshall. Oh and Please add the NZ avg + 10 eicket hauls you snake.

images

In rate marshall ahead of Bumrah and McGrath is equal or slightly ahead of Bumrah . That's why I said Many times Bumrah is in top 3 of all time Pacers List :kp
You said top 1 multiple times with rex and rex. Khair while I disagree, you made a respectful comment so I'll leave it at that. You're free to your own opinion.

Good to see a respectful response from you.

Where is 23 yr old baby Shaheen in the race?

Ahhh, he is now 25+ and that’s past his prime for a Pakistani fast bowler standard. :ssa

Where is 23 yr old baby Shaheen in the race?

Ahhh, he is now 25+ and that’s past his prime for a Pakistani fast bowler standard. :ssa
Shaheen is terrible and obviously isnt worth discussing in this list.

Btw I dont see Ashwin either?

Pat Cummins is by far the best in test cricket.
Kagiso rabada is 2nd.
Hazlewood is pretty good as well.