Karachi Kings 2017 Squad | Discussion Thread

Feel sorry for Micky.

KK should mop the floor with grandpa 11 and friends 11.

Tough against PZ, but can be done.

Karachi have been unable to build a team. Too many liabilities in the side. Gayle never fires, Babar is not up to the required T20 pace yet, Sangakara is past his prime, Pollard fires seldom, Malik is always dependent on the player at the other hand to score quickly.
Although Amir and Sohail are good bowlers but most of their batsmen don't look threatening atm.

Kind of reminds me of the current Pakistan side.

Too many accumulators.

McLaren needs to come in somehow and Shahzaib must play.

Kind of reminds me of the current Pakistan side.

Too many accumulators.

McLaren needs to come in somehow and Shahzaib must play.

exactly, team combination became awful when big hitters failed, bowlers are not bad, fielders let them down just like our national team

We qualified last year with 2 wins lol
because Lahore was at the bottom of the table, right now Karachi is, chances look bleak tbh, openers are the main reason they are failing, good start is necessary for good results, Gayle leaves the balls like it's a test match I knew he would be a flop again, but unfortunately they are not gonna drop him because he's a marquee player, so Karachi fans will have to suffer, maybe Gayle fires in one of the matches, but I feel like it will be too late by then
:stokes

This season is a goner, might as well think about next season now.

There is only one reason that Khi has lost 3 on the trot; lack of passion/desire.

No other reason for KK to be struggling.

There is only one reason that Khi has lost 3 on the trot; lack of passion/desire.

No other reason for KK to be struggling.

their foreign players look clueless and mood seems off, they only came here for the money, no commitment to the cricket, body language is awful as well

wohi tou bol raha hun jaani. The mood and body language is the problem.

When you're losing left, right, and center, you should be frustrated. But all I see are expressionless faces.

wohi tou bol raha hun jaani. The mood and body language is the problem.

When you're losing left, right, and center, you should be frustrated. But all I see are expressionless faces.

Add Mickey in the equation and you have a complete recipe for disaster, that guy can't handle a struggling team

Karachi haven't tried Rahat ALi so far, he could be the match winner that they were missing:rahat1

Woke up to hear the sad news apparently - Season is all but gone for us !!! [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION]

My suggestion is, let's make a
Team of only Karachities and see where they take us - we literally have players who are just going through the motions.

I'd rather lose with local lads then having overpaid foreigners who look damn disinterested in the job and are only there to collect their paycheck.

When you have regional pride at stake you play with a fire in the belly and make a win happen one way or another. Keep Malik, Usama. Babar, Amir and Imad in the fold though and built a team around these boys!!

Only Bopara from the Overseas signings have justified his selection - the rest (Micky and Azhar included) seem as uninspired as a tree trunk :facepalm:

Woke up to hear the sad news apparently - Season is all but gone for us !!! [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION]

Team of only Karachities and see where they take us - we literally have players who are just going through the motions.

I'd rather lose with local lads then having overpaid foreigners who look damn disinterested in the job and are only there to collect their paycheck.

When you have regional pride at stake you play with a fire in the belly and make a win happen one way or another. Keep Malik, Usama. Babar, Amir and Imad in the fold though and built a team around these boys!!

Only Bopara from the Overseas signings have justified his selection - the rest (Micky and Azhar included) seem as uninspired as a tree trunk :facepalm:

Naa bro, abhi bohot khel baqi hai!

The pathetic format means we can get into the top 4 with 3 wins hopefully.

Naa bro, abhi bohot khel baqi hai!

The pathetic format means we can get into the top 4 with 3 wins hopefully.

Even if we somehow qualify, by the skin of our teeth, do you really think such mediocrity in mindset will help us lift the title??

We need passionate lads who give it back to the opposition and players from Karachi representing Karachi would be something along those lines.

Team Synergy is extremely critical for collective success of the playing XI. Right now it seems they just want to get it done with the game as quickly as possible !

Even if we somehow qualify, by the skin of our teeth, do you really think such mediocrity in mindset will help us lift the title??

We need passionate lads who give it back to the opposition and players from Karachi representing Karachi would be something along those lines.

Team Synergy is extremely critical for collective success of the playing XI. Right now it seems they just want to get it done with the game as quickly as possible !

I agree that we need a different team for next season. I mentioned a couple of days back that more than half of the team is comprised of T20 WC champs and they don't have much to prove to the world.

If we possibly can, we need the Peshawar region coach Abdul Rehman in our coaching staff. That dude is seriously good at getting domestic players to play to a plan.

I agree that we need a different team for next season. I mentioned a couple of days back that more than half of the team is comprised of T20 WC champs and they don't have much to prove to the world.

If we possibly can, we need the Peshawar region coach Abdul Rehman in our coaching staff. That dude is seriously good at getting domestic players to play to a plan.

I won't try to undermine Abdul Rehman as he's done an extremely fine job with Peshawar previously but I disagree here bro - We need someone from Karachi to coach and mentor the up coming local lads from this region.

Why do you think Quetta is such a tough team to beat in PSL (even though they have inferior names compared to KK/LQ/ISLU/PZ ??

It's because Moin Khan who himself is a Karachite is working with the core of a team i.e. the captain who is from the same city, speaks the same language, thinks the same way as far as cricket goes and when you have such a Synergy among the leading men of a franchise this trickles down to players and people who are considered duds (Shehzad / Anwar) feed off from this confidence and raise their game.

For Karachi we need a similar sort of combination among the coaching staff and the players. Get Rashid Latif as the coach and make either Shahzaib or some local kid the captain and retain the same core as mentioned in my previous post,

Then play them against the same teams right now and we'll give them hell for a fight on the cricket pitch.

Sports success can only be achieved through passion and drive and that will only incur when you have some stake in the game - for Pakistanis, in general, regional pride is something very important, which could be an extremely thorough motivator.

Team of Karachiites maybe something like:
Chris Gayle
Shahzaib Khan
Asad Shafiq
Sarfraz Ahmed*+
Ravi Bopara
Kieron Pollard
Ryan McClaren
Shahid Afridi
Anwar Ali
Sohail Khan
Ghulam Mudassar

This is similar to current team, but Sarf is 10x Sanga and Anwar Ali is underrated these days. Not to mention Lala adds his x-factor. This team isn't great, but realistic for KK.

I get the feeling most of these karachi fans will trade a psl win for their team over a world cup win for Pakistan :facepalm:

I won't try to undermine Abdul Rehman as he's done an extremely fine job with Peshawar previously but I disagree here bro - We need someone from Karachi to coach and mentor the up coming local lads from this region.

Why do you think Quetta is such a tough team to beat in PSL (even though they have inferior names compared to KK/LQ/ISLU/PZ ??

It's because Moin Khan who himself is a Karachite is working with the core of a team i.e. the captain who is from the same city, speaks the same language, thinks the same way as far as cricket goes and when you have such a Synergy among the leading men of a franchise this trickles down to players and people who are considered duds (Shehzad / Anwar) feed off from this confidence and raise their game.

For Karachi we need a similar sort of combination among the coaching staff and the players. Get Rashid Latif as the coach and make either Shahzaib or some local kid the captain and retain the same core as mentioned in my previous post,

Then play them against the same teams right now and we'll give them hell for a fight on the cricket pitch.

Sports success can only be achieved through passion and drive and that will only incur when you have some stake in the game - for Pakistanis, in general, regional pride is something very important, which could be an extremely thorough motivator.

With Rashid Latif comes Khurram Manzoor :amir2

Let's see if Karachi can pull off a win. Downright embarrassing so far. Even if we say some of the star players like Pollard, Gayle are over the hill/out of form, there's still other things to consider. This team has the most number of Pakistani players currently in the T20 team playing, meaning this is the one closest to the international team. It also has the Pakistan head coach himself coaching.

I think they can get a point today if it keeps raining:malik

A good win to end the day for KK.. the last team that i dont want to win is IU because of the friends and old men tag which is blocking the whole pak team to field a young unit under a young captain...

How quick is Shinwari?

in PSL so far, top speed 140 kph, pace is not consistent though, bowls mostly in the 130s, got a good slower one, he varies his pace sharply, control is not good for international cricket right now I think, a lot of potential

Chalo ek match to jeetgaye.

Mubarak ho
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] [MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION] [MENTION=136528]super hitter[/MENTION]

Mubarak ho
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] [MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION] [MENTION=136528]super hitter[/MENTION]

Don't be surprised when we win the next six in a row. :yk

Mubarak ho

At least 1 more to come. Gayle bhai is due a big one.

Khair Mubarak [MENTION=137148]Rayyman[/MENTION].

Won't be surprised if we win 3 out of the next 4. I believe we are peaking at the right time. :imran

Though yes, LQ did somehow win that Gayle trade. :sohail

Mubarak ho

I guess, we need 2 more wins to secure a place in the playoff, or may be this time things are different.

I get the feeling most of these karachi fans will trade a psl win for their team over a world cup win for Pakistan :facepalm:

aap ne kab apni karachi ka taaluq tora? :shafiq

also big exageration lol. No one would give a Pak win for KK though it would be kinda cool for PSL to develop to such an extent that this might be a possibility like it happens in EPL or La liga etc

2 wins in a row, exactly what we needed.

But next up is quetta, the only team we haven't defeated in the two editions.

KK vs QG is a conflicting one for me. I support KK because it's Karachi's team. But I also support QG because of Sarfraz. Regardless of the result, I'll be sad at the end of the day lol.

Gayle should open and it should be his last opportunity. Otherwise, the team is well set and balanced.

Line up for the next game:

Babar
Khurram (deserve a chance)
Sanga
Hasan Mohsin (youngster deserve a chance)
Imad (should be tried as an accumulator)
Malik (here because lack of hitters in the lower order)
Sohail
McLaren
Amir
Usama Mir
Shinwari

What's the equation boys ? How many more wins left until we get to the playoff ??

Haven't followed PSL this year due to horrendous amount of work :(

Line up for the next game:

Babar
Khurram (deserve a chance)
Sanga
Hasan Mohsin (youngster deserve a chance)
Imad (should be tried as an accumulator)
Malik (here because lack of hitters in the lower order)
Sohail
McLaren
Amir
Usama Mir
Shinwari

Wow dropping Bopara and Gayle. Give Henry one more game. Please no Khurram! :facepalm:

What's the equation boys ? How many more wins left until we get to the playoff ??

Haven't followed PSL this year due to horrendous amount of work :(

Ideally need to win 3/3 to be guaranteed, but I reckon even ending up with 4 wins should be enough, especially if we beat LQ.

IU vs LQ and then KK vs LQ will be crucial for us.

Ideally need to win 3/3 to be guaranteed, but I reckon even ending up with 4 wins should be enough, especially if we beat LQ.

IU vs LQ and then KK vs LQ will be crucial for us.

Is there a possibility that IU is the first one to go home? I want LQ to qualify because I want some more action with the arch rivals and QG and PZ are always exciting to watch.

Yes, if they lose 3/3 or even 2/3 games, there's a solid chance that may happen.

That's why today's game is so important.

I share the same sentiments. Hopefully IU misses out.

they need to rest/drop amir for a while, no point in playing him, hope that he is recharged for the finals if they get there.

Also drop Gayle and bring in Shazaib, perhaps my biggest dissapoint fixing he aside is that he only got 2 games

especially with Sharjeel gone we need Shazaib in ODIS

Another sad game today. :(
Kick these bums- Bopara and Gayle out. Also Sanga hasn't gotten one fifty. :facepalm:
I hate Sanga's captaincy too. He gives one over spells wth. McLaren needs a game.

We never stood a chance in this tournament with Sanga as our captain, Gayle as our 'star' and Mickey as our coach.

I was glad when Gayle left Lahore, the guy is pretty useless now to be honest.

Drop them from Squad from PSL3:

1. Bopara: There is a reason why he is not in England Squad
  2. Gayle: Failed last year when will lessons be learnt?
  3. Sanga: Has Been...
  4. Amir: How long will excuses last? May be he is not good enough!

Drop them from Squad from PSL3:

1. Bopara: There is a reason why he is not in England Squad
  2. Gayle: Failed last year when will lessons be learnt?
  3. Sanga: Has Been...
  4. Amir: How long will excuses last? May be he is not good enough!
Should send Amir to Islamabad United. He's not a true Karachi King.

If you put a gun to Amir's head, he will still be wicket-less. His lack of impact is astonishing.

But dropped catches though....