Syed1
ODI Captain
- Post of the Week
I'm sure our Lahori friends are enjoying all the development Nawazo and his brother are showering on their city.. 18 ghantay light nahi ati tou kya howa atleast metro tou hai
LOL 2 years before Zardari was in power and his hometown is supposed to be Karachi then why didnt he invest in Karachi?
his hometown isn't karachi, his hometown is Larkana -the PPP doesn't care about Khi and it doesn't matter who the PM or President is, the army is the real ruler, and over 60%-75% of the army is from Punjab, it's no coincidence that it was under Musharraf that Karachi progressed the most
I'm sure our Lahori friends are enjoying all the development Nawazo and his brother are showering on their city.. 18 ghantay light nahi ati tou kya howa atleast metro tou hai
his hometown isn't karachi, his hometown is Larkana -the PPP doesn't care about Khi and it doesn't matter who the PM or President is, the army is the real ruler, and over 60%-75% of the army is from Punjab, it's no coincidence that it was under Musharraf that Karachi progressed the most
That was a prosperous time, I remember every inch of the city was being developed simultaneously (although it caused a few hassles) but you could see the uplift the city was undergoing, and now its all going downhill..
LOL so what I think Lahore is not the main hometown of Sharifs but they still developed it during their tenure in Punjab and Zardari himself could do nothing in Karachi
The Sharif's were born and raised in Lhr, so they indeed do have a special connection with the city, then there's the ethnic connection too -Zardari doesn't feel the same way for Khi cause he grew up in rural Sindh and only 1/10th of Karachiites speak his language.
Its still in Sindh and the main city of Sindh
Why it is the most favored province in Pakistan theres a reason behind itas if Sindh is treated any better?Don't act naive, Punjab is the most favored province of Pakistan -I have relatives in Punjab so I don't want say anything bad about it, but there's a reason why people in other provinces feel marginalized, ever heard the term "Punjabistan" or "Takht-e-Lahore"?Go ask a Baloch or Pukhtun nationalist, and they'll give you an earful :yshah1
Why it is the most favored province in Pakistan theres a reason behind it
cause most of the army and bureaucracy is from Punjab.....
LOL the President is from Sindh and the NSA is from KPK
and the army?
What the army has to do with it?
LOL so what I think Lahore is not the main hometown of Sharifs but they still developed it during their tenure in Punjab and Zardari himself could do nothing in Karachi
Kite-flying is frowned upon in the mohazzab Karachi culture![]()
and the army?
If by mohazzab you mean Mullah families than your'e right.
Why it is the most favored province in Pakistan theres a reason behind it
I've never seen Lahore and I'm happily jamm-ing..
Yeah because you are living in Canada and are not able to see current state of Karachi
I'll have you know I visit my city once every year and was just their at the end of December - start of Jan..
Best part about Karachi you get everybody from all over Pakistan living there..
In my house we used to have a driver and mali from Punjab and kaam karne wali was Baluchi next door neighbours were Pathan and we ourselves are Urdu speaking.
I've never been to Lahore, was born in Karachi and have lived there for about 7 years. Would like to visit Lahore someday and see what it's like.
Those in this thread that are passing judgements based off of what they hear or see on GEO/ARY News should not be doing so, most likely its not a clear depiction![]()
Also, why so much fighting? Both cities are in Pakistan and we should be proud when we talk about the positives that both cities have, this chest-thumping "my city is better" is quite useless.
Mirpur Azad Kashmir and Lahore over Karachi anytime. No offense to Karachiite. It is coming from someone who is born there, near Steel Mills town. #popular Jinnah Park
Karachi is messed up at this moment; strife in civil wars between MQM and Afghan criminal organization - front runners for TTP. Several "No Go Areas" have been assigned which are considered no longer safe there. I am afraid to go back to the place where i was born.
Karachi has been playing multicultural card for so long while overlooking certain facts that minority are being targeted there, pathans and muhajirs getting killed due to rivalry between MQM and TTP. It is a city of crime while certain portion of Karachi looks developed and beautiful, but doesn't speak for the entire Karachi as the reality is that the rest of portion of Karachi begs to differ the regarding the portrayal of Karachi by PakPassion [this thread].
Sindh and MQM have long history of ancient cultures traces back to Indian origin. Whatever the culture of Sindh and mujahirs belong to India, but kudo to Pakistani Sindhi and Pakistani Mujahirs [from India] for carrying the indian-dominated-culture. Lahore is not the only one, but it has distanced itself from Indian Punjab cultures, and looks very different from Indian punjab, its thinking, its culture, and its diversity. If anything, it has improved a lot which opened the door of diversity to many other races where Imran Khan was born there thus interlined to other cultures as well. A lovely people there; humble, friendly and funny people - quite modest and modern which is good for progressive society unlike certain regions and certain nation next to Pakistan hold rigid culture and harsh interpretation of society for women, minority and less tolerant. ;( #not pointing to India
A lot of people from Karachi have moved to Mirpur and Lahore lately ever since the increased criminal activity in Karachi especially with the emergence of TTP. It is time Pakistani forces should conduct its military operation as repeatedly called by Altaf Hussain.
People overlook Mirpur, Azad Kashmir. Ironically, Indian media has always highlighted Azad Kashmir as oppressed regions; ruled by evil Pakistani army. But in reality, Mirpur has become somewhat like Bradford; physically and economically developed over there. Clean city to live, and much safer over there, not to mention greenary city as well.
Rawalpindi is the worst. I have been there for a week. The worst place i have ever lived; miserable city thus miserable people.
Karachiite will choose Karachi while Lahoris will choose Lahore, but coming from someone who is born in Karachi and lived other part of Pakistan as well, choose Mirpur, Lahore, Islamabad over the rest of Pakistan. That being said, Islamabad is not lively as Lahore and Mirpur, but beautiful and safer city to live though. Overall, Mirpur and Lahore are the best for Pakistan; totally diversified which Karachi alone cannot claim to be diversified anymore.
Most importantly, i have noticed that Karachiite is very biased towards Punjab which is something i have never understood. MQM, PPP and TTP rule Karachi, but they all blame on Punjabis for ruination of Karachi. Most punjabis have left Karachi and no longer enjoy certain influence of Karachi, yet they are still blamed. I guess the education has caught Karachiite naught as being myself former karachiite can attests to that. The thinking of Karachiite needs to be changed. It is about time.
Finally, Pakistan is made for Muslims, especially for Indian Muslims. There was already Pukhtoonistan nation for Pukhtoon aka Afghanistan. Jinnah felt Indian Muslims needed separate land where they could practice their religions freely and same case for minority. Pakistan belongs to Indian Muslims as much as Pakistan belongs to born-Pakistanis. MQM is part of Pakistan despite of what its leader say about the partition. Without Muslims migrated from India, Karachi wouldn't have been developed. The credit goes to them. I give you that.![]()
# Too bad what is happening in Karachi will undo all the hard work of immigrant Muslims from India.![]()
I kinda agree with you Lahore>Karachi, but if i had to choose between any city in Pakistan, i would choose Islamabad as the best, and Muzzafarabad would be a close second -i've heard it's really developed since the earthquake, and I actually have roots in Kashmir(though it's on the other side) so I wouldn't mind moving there, but i'm not sure if it's legal.
Go see Lahore man, you'll have a blast. Most of these guys on the internet usually have some axe to grind so better to get a first hand view.
I kinda agree with you Lahore>Karachi, but if i had to choose between any city in Pakistan, i would choose Islamabad as the best, and Muzzafarabad would be a close second -i've heard it's really developed since the earthquake, and I actually have roots in Kashmir(though it's on the other side) so I wouldn't mind moving there, but i'm not sure if it's legal.
Of course, Islamabad is the best, but most expensive city. Common people cannot afford to live in Islamabad hence Rawalpindi. Muzzaffarabad is the capital of Azad Kashmir and Kashmir. I am guessing it is more developed and beautiful than Mirpur. I have only seen Mirpur, not Muzzaffarabad, but i hear great things about the capital. I wanna go there.
Insha Allah [God Willing], one day the other side of Kashmir will become legal like Azad Kashmir. I have my family root in Azad Kashmir[my parents]. Good to meet Kashmiri Pper from the other side of kashmir.![]()
I have roots in Indian occupied Kashmir but I'm Pakistani, kinda like these guys>>>![]()
: allama
If Karachi is so bad why it is the first or second largest city for each ethnicity in Pakistan? Why hordes and hordes of people are still flocking to Karachi each year despite receiving a stepchild treatment by all recent governments at the expense of Pakistan's economy BTW? I won't be surprised if Karachi has more Punjabis than Lahore or more Pakhtuns than Peshawar!
How much does each city contribute to the nation's economy? I read that Karachi contributes around 25% of the nation's revenue, what about Lahore?
disclaimer: I like lahore.
I've had a chance to live in both, and Karachi looked better to me. More lively, the climate, cultural diversity, recreational places..
What's special about Lahore? Some pointers... how can one enjoy living here? Aside from visiting fancy restaurants...
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION]
Lal Qila restaurant in Karachi is awesome.
I think you can ask the same about any city. These days Lahore is more vibrant. Say what you want about him, but the Sher has done some excellent work in Lahore.
I mean.. tell me how to have a good time in Lahore.. how can one enjoy living here? Some good places, how to pass free time?
I've had a chance to live in both, and Karachi looked better to me. More lively, the climate, cultural diversity, recreational places..
What's special about Lahore? Some pointers... how can one enjoy living here? Aside from visiting fancy restaurants...
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION]
To be honest, I enjoy time in Lahore only because I have very close cousins there. I may not a fan of travelling unless I have friends/family with me.
Maybe that's the reason why I prefer Lahore to Karachi, because although I have relatives there as well, but I'm not very comfy with them.
So my reasons for Lahore being better are likely to be biased.
If you want to have a good time, then no city in Pakistan are going to give you much other than restaurants, malls and some half-cooked beaches.
We don't even have a top quality theme park and a wildlife reserve, or very good art galleries and museums.
To be honest, I enjoy time in Lahore only because I have very close cousins there. I may not a fan of travelling unless I have friends/family with me.
Maybe that's the reason why I prefer Lahore to Karachi, because although I have relatives there as well, but I'm not very comfy with them.
If you want to have a good time, then no city in Pakistan are going to give you much other than restaurants, malls and some half-cooked beaches.
We don't even have a top quality theme park and a wildlife reserve, or very good art galleries and museums.
Visit Mall Road and from here onwards, just take in the surroundings. The lush greenery. The majestic trees framing the road, how it all leads to some of the finest pieces of architecture in our colonial heritage. The General Post Office building, Public Library, Lahore Museum, looming old campus of Punjab university. Follow that road to smaller markets yet, and then - Data Darbaar. Alternately, Masjid Wazir Khan (different location). Or the Lahore Fort. Minar e Pakistan - end the journey by visiting the Badshahi Masjid, preferably at sunset from Cuccoo's den. See the splendour of Mughal heritage in all it's glory, amongst other things.
It may as well seem subjective and arbitrary, but to someone who waited for every Sunday to come to visit these areas for majority of her life, the scenes are majestic, breath-taking and brimming with stories and inspiration. This, is the spirit of Lahore. Not some third-rate jingle from years gone by.
I've said before, I don't mind Karachi the slightest - but to me, these things just can't be replicated anywhere else in the country. Other areas have their own cultures and heritage which makes them unique, undoubtedly - but Lahore to me remains special because the majesty of how colonialism, nationalism and dynastic-imperialism simply melds itself together in this picturesque mosaic is just - indescribable..
Hmm, that probably explains why I like Karachi more, same reason as yours.
Woah. Thanks for all the details. Mostly people talk about MM Alam and all the exotic restaurants, this is a different, better way of looking at the city.
I'm gonna be here for some good amount of time now.. will explore the places I haven't visited.
[MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION]
He was asking about how to have a good time in Lahore and you mentioned lush green Mall road trees and GPO building.
Neither is he a maali nor a dakia.
Nonetheless, all these old historic buildings are good for one time visit only, and these days the crowd in places like Data Daarbar, Minar-e-Pakistan and Badshahi Masjid is very cheap.
I respect the British for their infrastructure and how they established a proper educational and federal system, and put us on a track. Apni to itni aqal nahi hai.
I've seen it a million times, yes its nice but its just a Post Office. When someone tells you about how to have a good time in a city, you don't talk about trees and GPO building.
and kindly Lizard ka mazaak nahi.![]()
I heard about an airport being made in Mardan. [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] any development about it?
YesIn terms of development, Lahore is definitely catching up with Karachi and their gradient of trajectory is a lot higher, meaning the way things stand Lahore is going to move ahead of Karachi.
This is despite the fact that Karachi has the highest GDP output in the country.
The reason being the Lahori boys are in the PM office and they have always given special attention to their home town while ignoring Karachi..
Its a crying shame that a city which provides much more the half of the tax revenue in the country ...
its a well known fact. cant be bothered to find it right now but a quick google search should doDo you have any source for that?
The need of the hour is for Karachi to have an integrated underground metro system because it takes about 2 hours of driving to go from end of the city to the other if you get no traffic.
No hope with the Sharifs in power.
its a well known fact. cant be bothered to find it right now but a quick google search should do
anyways in general I agree with you but my problem is that its not distributed equitably. If it was then I wouldn't think that taxation should remain where it comes from.
Few other points:
Interior Sindh and Punjab products go to Karachi because the market is there and it pays for them. Its not some act of charity on their behalf
Loadshedding is lesser in Khi because of it being the industrial hub. Economy would be worse than it is and taxation revenue would go even lower if this wasn't the case.
I have always pointed to the injustices being meted out to our brothers in Balochistan in regards to gas availability there among other things
Are you honestly blaming Karachi for having a port? Maybe give credit to the people of Karachi who developed it from the shack it was when the British left us. And enough attempts were made to reduce the monopoly of the Karachi port and millions of dollars were wasted on Gwadar and nothing came of that. The sole purpose was to reduce dependence on Karachi and hence importance of the city but that plan miserably failed. So your last point is pretty poor
I also blame the ineptness of the Sindh Government along with the Federal ofcourse. The scrapping of the Nazim system by the previous PPP govt doesn't help because when the system was there, some work was done atleast (ie Mustafa kamal tenure)
"Common knowledge" is not a source. And you didn't adress my point on companies and fortunes residing in Karachi. If you are going to say that taxes should stay in province then there should also be a taxation on moving capital from the other provinces to Karachi (which is the main reason why Karachi has so much tax revenue in the first place).
1- Not if they are allowed to export. There are regulations on where they can sell their agricultural products.
2- So, it's in the interest of Pakistan if other provinces energy is spent on Karachi but it's not in the interest of Pakistan if Karachi's money is spent on developing the other provinces.
3- What is the difference between Balochistan not earning their gas revenues and Punjab/KpK/Kashmir not profiting from their own electricity?
4- So, Karachi gets all the credit for being a big port but, when other provinces develop their cities, they are just stealing Karachi's money and treating them like sauteila bachas? If you don't have sources to support your point, anyone can say that Karachi is behind the failure of Gwadar or that Karachi stole other provinces money to develop itself. That is how much value your initial argument has if you can't back it up. Also, it used to be a village before the British elected it to be developed and they invested heavily on it to become the main port giving on the indus valley. So, no, it wasn't just a shack.
Don't disagree on the last point. Delegation means that more funds reach the centers of production, centralization means that money goes to wherever priority is steered by the mode of governance (ie where democratically significant population live (''swing votes''), where landlords interest are,...). Both systems have their benefits, though.
Karachi is vital to Pakistan’s economy, contributing 42 per cent of GDP, 70 per cent of income tax revenue and 62 per cent of sales tax revenue
tafreeh yes.Haven't been to Karachi yet but Lahore is pretty cool. But then again anywhere you have friends and family, that would be the best place to live. Don't think you can compare two places without bias on some sort of level if one of them holds any sort of significance to a person.
On a side note: Do Karachiites use the words tafreeh in actual conversations? :Afridi