Karachi's population is 14.9 million and Lahore's is 11.126 million, how is it even possible?

No that's not how it's works. They work how [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] described it

(I'm on phone but I'll check when I have a laptop. Regardless it's irrelevant as de-jure basis is what counts and you don't pick and choose it according to your liking)
That's what I am saying that de-facto is not picked in final summary.
De-facto counts for physical presence.

I depends on area demarcation. Normally, large cities has 2 statistical area - city & metro. For example with 5 Borough, NY is around 800 sq km land area with a population of around 9mn; but with NY-New Jersey & Long Island, greater NY Metro is around 15000sq KM & over 25mn population. Same in Toronto - city is around 630 sqKM, with around 2.7mn pop, but GTA is close to 10K sqKM & almost 10mn pop now.

Wiki tells Karachi's area is around 3600sqkm, that entire area can't be city proper. Probably, they have some area defined as Karachi City (may be around 500skm), with 15mn population and rest are counted in Provincial account.

Dhaka City Corporation is around 300skm & 12mn pop, while DMP (Dhaka Metropolitan Police) has an area of operation for about 2300 skm, with a population now around 23mn. Same is Mumbai, with respective figures like 600skm/13mn; 2000skm/25mn+. Had been in Karachi once about 10 years back & it's hard to believe only 15mn population in that entire statistical area.

I depends on area demarcation. Normally, large cities has 2 statistical area - city & metro. For example with 5 Borough, NY is around 800 sq km land area with a population of around 9mn; but with NY-New Jersey & Long Island, greater NY Metro is around 15000sq KM & over 25mn population. Same in Toronto - city is around 630 sqKM, with around 2.7mn pop, but GTA is close to 10K sqKM & almost 10mn pop now.

Wiki tells Karachi's area is around 3600sqkm, that entire area can't be city proper. Probably, they have some area defined as Karachi City (may be around 500skm), with 15mn population and rest are counted in Provincial account.

Dhaka City Corporation is around 300skm & 12mn pop, while DMP (Dhaka Metropolitan Police) has an area of operation for about 2300 skm, with a population now around 23mn. Same is Mumbai, with respective figures like 600skm/13mn; 2000skm/25mn+. Had been in Karachi once about 10 years back & it's hard to believe only 15mn population in that entire statistical area.

If you don't mind me asking, what was your purpose of visit to Karachi?

Karachi city proper is around 777 sq.km and the population of that alone was estimated at around 11 million a few years back by the household survey of Pakistan, for a population density of about 14000 people per square km which seems reasonable enough if you've been there and have a reasonable frame of reference for comparison.

If you don't mind me asking, what was your purpose of visit to Karachi?

Just travelling - normally, travelling from west/east to home, I/we try to take a day or two in between to visit some place - it saves lots of air fair. On professional capacity I did travel to Islambad, but Karachi was just about an arrangement between Emeritus & PIA.

Karachi city proper is around 777 sq.km and the population of that alone was estimated at around 11 million a few years back by the household survey of Pakistan, for a population density of about 14000 people per square km which seems reasonable enough if you've been there and have a reasonable frame of reference for comparison.

That makes sense. In terms of city proper, I think Mexico City or Sao Paolo is the largest populated (may be Delhi as well), while Tokyo is the largest Metro.

No that's not how it's works. They work how [MENTION=26195]DW44[/MENTION] described it

(I'm on phone but I'll check when I have a laptop. Regardless it's irrelevant as de-jure basis is what counts and you don't pick and choose it according to your liking)
I am afraid, you mixing de-facto with de-jure...
De-face. ..anyone filling the form in khi must enter khi...not the case for de-jure.

I am afraid, you mixing de-facto with de-jure...
De-face. ..anyone filling the form in khi must enter khi...not the case for de-jure.

I think you are just trying to find a reasoning to back the results. There is no way Karachi has that population. Anyone who has been here will admit that regardless of ethnicity even

Anyways you have your mind set and don't seem to want to use common sense so I don't want to waste time.

Let's wait for official detailed results

Maybe this is population just New Karachi and they made a mistake when tabulating it for the provisional report? :))
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION]

I think you are just trying to find a reasoning to back the results. There is no way Karachi has that population. Anyone who has been here will admit that regardless of ethnicity even

Anyways you have your mind set and don't seem to want to use common sense so I don't want to waste time.

Let's wait for official detailed results

My suspicion is that people did not fill the form accurately.

There were 3 or 4 folks there to help with filling

It is true that many areas never had census officials visit

I think pti & jamaat e islami should also raise voice against the bias census 2017 results which is against karachi population. If they will keep quite or just show concern about kpk numbers, i will tell you they ( pti & ji ) will loose big time in 2018 elections in karachi . Already mqm is exploiting this issue, so pti wake up and say something for karachi and urban sindh. Imran khan was in sukkur, but didn't say a word about the controversial census results.

PPP think this result is forged to keep more % of urban population and MQM think urban population is undervalued.

16.5 million is about right for Karachi.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/155690-sindh-govt-rejects

KARACHI: The Sindh government on Monday announced that it would reject the provisional results of the sixth population census.

Terming the results as a conspiracy against the province by the federal government, senior PPP leader Nisar Khuhro said the PPP government will not let the province be treated in an unfair manner.

“We will not let the federal government treat the province unfairly and we will take what is rightfully ours,” said Khuhro.

The provisional government also alleged that Sindh’s population was shown to be less than its actual number in order to not increase the province’s share in the National Finance Commission (NFC) award.

The PPP-led government has also decided to call an all party conference to discuss the reservations.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, when asked if his party will attend the conference, said that the issues raised need to be discussed and MQM-P is willing to attend dialogue on the issue.

Federal government rejects reservations
The federal government rejected the reservations raised by the Sindh's political parties and said the process of conducting the census was transparent.

It added that all provinces had monitoring committees which were briefed on a regular basis while the census was being conducted.

The government further said that additional time was given to address all reservations and complaints.

The PPP is not the only major political party in the province to raise reservations over the census results, MQM-P leader Farooq Sattar on Sunday announced to lead a protest rally in 72 hours against the provisional census results.

Speaking at the party's general workers’ convention at PIB Colony football ground, Sattar said by understating the population of Karachi census results have done injustice to all ethnic communities living in the metropolis.

He said that Karachi's population in actual is around 30 million - whereas according to the census it is 10.6 million.

Leader of the Opposition Khursheed Shah had also raised reservations over the provisional report of the population census and said the records of the Statistics Division and the Pakistan Army should be compared.

Pakistan's total population has been recorded at 207.774 million, according to the provisional summary results of the sixth population and housing census.

The sixth Housing and Population Census began after a period of 19 years on March 15. The census was conducted in 16 districts of Punjab, eight districts of Sindh, 14 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 15 districts of Balochistan, five districts of Azad Jammu and Kashmir and five districts of Gilgit-Baltistan.

Well done PPP and MQM need to put their differences aside to pick up this issue of daylight robbery. I hope PTI also raises this issue, it is of the utmost importance for the biggest city and economic lifeline of the country.

There was a survey in 2011 IIRC which concluded Karachi's population to be 2.1 crore. That alone tells me this census is BS.

What is the reality?

Would appreciate what your thoughts are.

Karachi is comfortably a better place to grow up in and live in than any city in Punjab. This is coming from a guy who went there atleast 4 times every year for weeks, while growing up. I used to love going to Lahore/Multan etc but I didn't realize that it was mostly only because of cousins etc. Now that most have moved abroad I realize that Karachi is where the real fun is. Even with all these metros and developments in Lahore. Also the mindset of people in Karachi generally is much better. General public in Karachi is much more progressive and open minded. You can see it in this thread as well. I'm still really proud to be a Punjabi though and those areas have a very rich history. Don't know why people are getting so insecure over the fact that Karachi probably has twice as many people as Lahore.

Also, despite what most lahoris will tell you, Karachi is much much better even when it comes to food. I know this for a fact. My family have spent their whole lives in Lahore and I've eaten everywhere there as well but we all agree that Karachi is where the best food is.

in before you are accused of being
1) brainwashed by karachi mafia
2) are urdu speaking disguising as punjabi

No matter what the clowns on this thread would like to believe, Karachi isnt a hell hole for non-urdu speaking people and by and large most communities get along fine.

Objectively speaking Islamabad is the best city to live in when you talk about quality of life but I'd never wanna live there. Too boring. Karachi is just way more fun.

According to the UN World Urbanization list, Karachi has a population of 16 millions in 2014.... Now people will accuse UN of bias against Urdu-speakers?

https://esa.un.org/unpd/wup/DataQuery/

No, truth is that it is about definition!!

The census and UN take the Karachi metro corp.... For example the population of Tokyo within city limits is 13 millions, but the Metro Area is 37 millions...

Before crying bias, [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] should understand how demographics work....

Why does Lahore have higher population growth then??

Because Punjab government including surrounding areas in Lahore's metropolis....

But Sindh government didn't update their definition, they didn't include Korangi and other areas in the definition of ''Karachi Metropolis''....

Look at these two lists and you will understand everything

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cities_proper_by_population

With 15 millions, Karachi is the 7th biggest city in the world....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_metropolitan_areas_by_population

With 25 millions, Karachi is the 7th biggest metropolitan area....

So the census results are consistent with the estimate of 25 millions.... Are cities like Tokyo Jakrta Delhi crying about bias??? People cry first when they don't understand anything....

Delhi proper has a population of 16 millions but actual population of urban area is 26 millions... I guess it's a conspiracy against Delhi :))

And then people say that people in Karachi are most educated.... Obviously false since they are so easily outraged

Also, if the census didn't count 10 million people (lol, how could they ignore 10 million people) then it would mean that population of Pakistan is actually 230 millions... Maybe even 240... You have to be stupid to believe that this is a country of 24 krores

According to the UN World Urbanization list, Karachi has a population of 16 millions in 2014.... Now people will accuse UN of bias against Urdu-speakers?

Yes 16mn in 2014, and 14.9mn in 2017 is a difference

Also this clearly shows your pathetic thinking.

karachi's actual population being suppressed is not just an issue for urdu speakers who dont even make 50% of the population of the city. The census determines representation and allocation of resources

I mentionned Urdu Speakers because people like Syed1 in this thread were saying this is suppression of urdu speakers....

16 mn in 2014 in an estimate... The real census gives 15 mn, it is within margin of error.... Far cry from ''census should be 30 million" like Faruq Satar is saying....

The census determines allocation of ressources, yes... So? Karachi is at right population and it will get right ressources for its population.... Because Korangi and other areas are not included in Karachi but their own areas... If they were included in Karachi, then Sindh would still get same ressources.... So this proves that this isn't a Punjab vs Karachi issue....

How about you comment on the proof that census is right and you guys have been crying like brainwashed darabaris??

There is no proof that the census is correct. I can quote wikipedia entries terming Karachi population at 23-25mn as well

Not just Karachi, but many parties and regions have rejected the census so far.

Making things out of thin air doesnt qualify as 'proof'' but Im sure you dont know that...

16mn in 2014 and 14.9mn in 2017 isnt within the margin of error :))

When faced with facts, start crying about Punjabi oppression and ''backward thinking''.... Karachi citzens have learned well from People Party and MQM... Especially PPP, the funny thing is that they are also crying about census because it doesn't take into account people from Burma and Afghanistan living in Sindh... When the whole reason Karachi has a smaller population is because PPP didn't include Orangi in Karachi :))

And MQM is crying because city's real population is 30 millions.... Which would make it the biggest city in the world and double the population of Mumbai and Delhi proper....

2017 - The year everyone in Karachi became a demographer... :))

There is no proof that the census is correct. I can quote wikipedia entries terming Karachi population at 23-25mn as well

Not just Karachi, but many parties and regions have rejected the census so far.

Making things out of thin air doesnt qualify as 'proof'' but Im sure you dont know that...

16mn in 2014 and 14.9mn in 2017 isnt within the margin of error :))

Those entries are about the urban area NOT the city limits... Refer to my previous post...

Look at these two lists and you will understand everything

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o..._by_population

With 15 millions, Karachi is the 7th biggest city in the world....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o..._by_population

With 25 millions, Karachi is the 7th biggest metropolitan area....

Delhi proper has a population of 16 millions but actual population of urban area is 26 millions... I guess it's a conspiracy against Delhi

Tokyo proper has population of 13 millions but greater tokyo is 33 millions...

Tell me this, which is closer: 15 millions and 16 millions OR 16 millions and 30 millions :))

Secondly, the UN 16 millions was an estimate... Repeat after me: ESTIMATE.. So, yes, it is within margin of error because an estimate will never be exactly accurate...

16 million + - 10% includes 15 millions.... A 10% margin of error for an estimate of a city's population without a census since 30 years isn't big deal...

You know you're right when the other person quotes 1 sentence over whole post.... Ignores all the points that prove him wrong....

Obviously there is nothing to be done for people like this.... But I hope other Karachi people who are reading can see why the results of the census are what they are....

^ Again vapid use of smilies indicates that there isnt much substance for you to debate on. Carry on.

The point is this:

The population of Karachi is not 14.9 million. Period. There is no argument there.

Now it may either be due to the fact that the boundaries of Karachi as per census are not what they should be and do not actually capture the whole city's area and some areas are classified as 'rural'

OR It maybe more sinister and that the population numbers are being suppressed.

However the net result in both cases is that there is clear suppression of the rights of Karachiites in terms of resource allocation and planning. And therefore this needs to be addressed since it is a major issue.

This is factual. Not wishful thinking with a few smilies added to make myself feel better

If as JoniIsnafian says Orangi isnt included in Karachi then obviously that IS an issue.

Orangi it self has population close to many smaller cities..

And it uses the resources of Karachi so obv it should count as a Karachi district.

Also in Sindh there is the quota system for rural/urban.

So technically that disbalances government jobs, school seats etc in favor of interior Sindh, which is actually one of the original issues which MQM was created for

^ Again vapid use of smilies indicates that there isnt much substance for you to debate on. Carry on.

The point is this:

The population of Karachi is not 14.9 million. Period. There is no argument there.

Now it may either be due to the fact that the boundaries of Karachi as per census are not what they should be and do not actually capture the whole city's area and some areas are classified as 'rural'

OR It maybe more sinister and that the population numbers are being suppressed.

However the net result in both cases is that there is clear suppression of the rights of Karachiites in terms of resource allocation and planning. And therefore this needs to be addressed since it is a major issue.

This is factual. Not wishful thinking with a few smilies added to make myself feel better

Glad you have come around to understanding how boundaries mean that Karachi PROPER's population is 15 millions.... That's entirely logical since Delhi's is 16 million, Tokyo's 13 millions and so forth....

I already made the point that ressources are allocated according to overall population of the province, so it doesn't make a difference where the people are from other provinces perspectives.... Rural or Uban... So we can already rule out all the Punjabistan BS....

Secondly, the mayor system doesn't exist anymore.... So it doesn't matter whether Korangi is included in Karachi or not, they will get their ressources at district level... Like every other part of Karachi.... So again nobody is suppressed here, they just get their ressources in a different manner....

But I agree it's possible that PPP will keep all the rural funds for their own areas and ignore areas like Korangi....

If as JoniIsnafian says Orangi isnt included in Karachi then obviously that IS an issue.

Orangi it self has population close to many smaller cities..

And it uses the resources of Karachi so obv it should count as a Karachi district.

Also in Sindh there is the quota system for rural/urban.

So technically that disbalances government jobs, school seats etc in favor of interior Sindh, which is actually one of the original issues which MQM was created for

It is the case... Look at it this way:

Pakistan overall population= 220 million (correct with estimates)

Sindh growth rate>Punjab growth rate

Lahore growth rate>Karachi growth rate

So where are the extra growth people in Sindh?? How does it have bigger growth when biggest city of punjab growth is bigger than biggest city in Karachi??

Answer: Karachi metropolitan area...

They didn't make people disappear, they counted everybody... Just in a different place...

Ok lets for a second assume that IS the case.

But then it still affects Karachi population negatively (asides from Sindhis)

in Sindh, spaces for public universities, government jobs, civil service etc are divided according to a rural/urban quota whereby rural population gets a bigger share (despite almost same pop. level) as it is right now

Now by not including orangi (and apparently one other district) in Karachi as being part of Karachi district these areas are allocated to the rural portion thereby artifically increasing the rural share of the population.

And consequently sons of waderas from Sindh (who grow up in post locations of Karachi btw) get an easier route to all these opportunities by using their addresses from rural Sindh while filling the forms.

As it is they abuse the quota system and through these tactics they further inflate numbers of interior Sindh and suppress representation of Karachi

No, Dawn News put the census figure at 16.5 million.

PBS puts it at 14.9 doesnt it?

I don't know. Maybe, Dawn made a mistake in their editorial. Some other reports show provisional figures of 14.9 but there is nothing official yet from PBS. If the data is not reliable then billions of rupees have gone into waste.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1354229

The provisional estimate for Karachi’s population, which reportedly has come in at 16.5m, is far too low to be credible, considering it would take a growth rate lower than the national one to keep the total population figure at this level in 2017

So 16.5m in 2014 and 14.9m in 2017 is within margin of error :))) :))) :)))

So this is the breakup which I have found for Karachi vs Lahore according to the Census resullts

Population details:

KARACHI DIVISION
Urban - 14.9mn
Rural - 1.14mn
TOTAL - 16.05mn

Karachi Division includes areas within Karachi

LAHORE DIVISION
Urban - 13.46mn
Rural - 5.93mn
TOTAL - 19.398mn

In Lahore Division, asides from Lahore city, the following areas have also been carved in: Kasur, Sheikhupura, Nankana Sahib

The population for Lahore district (ie the city itself) is 11.126mn

So it seems that asides from Karachi population likely being understated, numerical manipulation has been done to increase the total population of Lahore division.

No prizes for guessing where the funding for WHOLE of Lahore Division goes.

So this is the breakup which I have found for Karachi vs Lahore according to the Census resullts

Population details:

KARACHI DIVISION
Urban - 14.9mn
Rural - 1.14mn
TOTAL - 16.05mn

LAHORE DIVISION
Urban - 13.46mn
Rural - 5.93mn
TOTAL - 19.398mn

In Lahore Division, asides from Lahore city, the following areas have also been carved in: Kasur, Sheikhupura, Nankana Sahib

So it seems that asides from Karachi population likely being understated, numerical manipulation has been done to increase the total population of Lahore division.

No doubt Lahore consumes funds that are meant for other areas in Punjab but these areas have always been part of Lahore division. Whether they are included in Lahore division or not won't make any difference for resource allocation as it is not done by any set of rules but on the whims of rulers.

Inconceivable numbers.

Lahore's growth rate is shocking as compared to other cities. Looks like few millions from Karachi's figure have been added to Lahore's :sharif

Sindh is the only province that in which domiciles are segregated on a rural/urban basis. This census means that Sindh urban region will have lesser vacancies in universities, assemblies and professional jobs to compete for.
As per census Sindh is the only province which have more people living in Urban areas than Rural areas. So your statement (bolded above) is totally incorrect. Sindh urban region will have more vacancies in universities, assemblies and professional jobs than Sindh rural region.

Population details:

KARACHI DIVISION
Urban - 14.9mn
Rural - 1.14mn
TOTAL - 16.05mn

LAHORE DIVISION
Urban - 13.46mn
Rural - 5.93mn
TOTAL - 19.398mn

The divisional boundaries have been set for sometime and with those, the census has found that more people live in Lahore division than Karachi division..... what's the issue? Can't accept facts, oh I am sorry that's the issue.

First you guys were all clamouring for a census and now that it's been done, you can't digest the results because it's not to your liking.

Population details:

KARACHI DIVISION
Urban - 14.9mn
Rural - 1.14mn
TOTAL - 16.05mn

LAHORE DIVISION
Urban - 13.46mn
Rural - 5.93mn
TOTAL - 19.398mn

In this case, if lahore is exploiting Kasur, Shiekhupura etc, why should karachiites care, they will get their resources according to their numbers.

Karachi can distribute their resources fairly, who is stopping them.

As per census Sindh is the only province which have more people living in Urban areas than Rural areas. So your statement (bolded above) is totally incorrect. Sindh urban region will have more vacancies in universities, assemblies and professional jobs than Sindh rural region.

How does this prove that Sindh Urban shouldn't have more seats and greater percentage of quota?

Sindh having more urban population than rural doesn't mean that urban percentage/population couldn't have been even greater.

Why do you guys insist on talking when you clearly don't have an idea

The census counts you as being a resident of somewhere if you spend more than 45 (or 60) days.

Anyone in Karachi for work will be considered a resident of Karachi.

Honestly. Do you guys bother to do even basic research on how censuses work? Or what is the point of a census?

That's not how the census works. People must be counted in the jurisdiction where they reside as opposed to where they're from. If it worked the way you're saying it might have, I, along with my family, would have been counted in Peshawar instead of Islamabad.

A person will be counted in only one place. The people who come to Karachi for work only, dont want to be counted in population of Karachi; they wanted to count in population of place where they are originally from. So most likely those guys either meet the census guys at their real homes (which are not in Karachi) OR they meet the census guys in Karachi but told census guys that they dont live in Karachi and give their real home address. Either way those guys dont consider themselves to be Karachitte so we should not force this label on them.

How does this prove that Sindh Urban shouldn't have more seats and greater percentage of quota?

Sindh having more urban population than rural doesn't mean that urban percentage/population couldn't have been even greater.

This census proves Sindh Urban should have more seats and greater percentage of quota than Sindh Rural.

Your original post was saying opposite thing about this census. I fixed your statement.

This census proves Sindh Urban should have more seats and greater percentage of quota than Sindh Rural.

Your original post was saying opposite thing about this census. I fixed your statement.

My original statement meant that Sindh Urban will have lesser seats than it deserves (not that it would have lesser seats as compared to rural).

its funny how folks who ALWAYS cry about rigging and corruption in Pakistan are taking the census results as gospel since it favors them :)))

Chief census commissioner rejects opposition's objections over population results

https://www.dawn.com/news/1354696/chief-census-commissioner-rejects-oppositions-objections-over-population-results

Beautiful post in the comments section:

"Can any sane person believe that the population of Karachi is 14.9 million? it means in 3,527 sq km (Karachi) and 1,772 sq km (Lahore), the population is almost same, how is it possible?"

I'll wait for the Jaag Punjabi Jaag types like [MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION] to respond

Chief census commissioner rejects opposition's objections over population results

https://www.dawn.com/news/1354696/chief-census-commissioner-rejects-oppositions-objections-over-population-results

"Can any sane person believe that the population of Karachi is 14.9 million? it means in 3,527 sq km (Karachi) and 1,772 sq km (Lahore), the population is almost same, how is it possible?"

I'll wait for the Jaag Punjabi Jaag types like [MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION] to respond

I suppose you forgot to omit this post in the comment section which explains why the census is correct...

" Malir District covers 70% of Karachi Division. Gadap town covers 80% of Malir's area. Bulk of this land is arid and has very little population."

Most of the area that comprises "Karachi Division" is not populated. I went and checked on google maps and indeed the assessment of that post in the comment section is correct. All of you can go and check for yourselves. It's very easy to spot populated areas.

Malir covers 70% of Karachi? :))

That's news if true

It's ok he checked Google Maps so it must be true :))

He maybe correct though as I don't know exact percentage

. Malir town is different from malir division. How that proves his point only he knows lol

So as per [MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION]... the blue circle is 70% of Karachi. Perhaps he didn't chose his PP name very wisely.

Capture.JPG

It's ok he checked Google Maps so it must be true :))

Type Karachi division in google maps.... it wil highlight the area for you and See large swathes of unpopulated areas within it. Maybe google maps has been rigged also to deny Karachites their rights?

I posted snapshot from Google maps above. Perhaps you can tell us using your eagle eyes how the blue circle makes 70% of Karachi :))

He maybe correct though as I don't know exact percentage

. Malir town is different from malir division. How that proves his point only he knows lol

See post number 140...

^ all the above is pointless

It's simple common sense.

One city has seen 116% growth and the other has seen 59% growth in population.

And it's the latter one which has seen massive migration from KPK and south Punjab in the last two decades

It makes no mathematical sense

I know some folks here are trying to make themselves believe that this is true and are bringing in frankly stupid arguments such as 1) Lahore saw more migration, 2)People from other areas in Karachi didn't list Karachi as their city and other arguments

But the only people they are fooling are themselves.

The results are clearly understating the Karachi population Any person without bias knows that and ethnicity doesn't even matter here

I posted snapshot from Google maps above. Perhaps you can tell us using your eagle eyes how the blue circle makes 70% of Karachi :))

Laughter is always a sign of nerves ....

Re read my words in the post.... I said Karachi division. I wanted to check what the poster in the comments section said.

You don't need me, keep zooming in and you will see sparse roads for most of the area that is Karachi division, to the west, north and east.

This is like a smoking gun as to why the census is correct. Thanks for posting the comment that led me to look up Karachi division in google maps.

How many flats are there in Lahore my Nani went to Lahore and said the lack of flats was what stood out for her obviously Karachi has more population hence more flats here as compared to bungalows.. [MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION]

On July 31 the Pakiatan Bureau of Statisrics shared summarised results of the census with CCI and have a presentation. In that presentation the population of Karachi had been told to be 23.135 million.

Then the provisional results were released on Friday and the population of Karachi was revealed as 14.9 million

However there has been obvious questions raised

And today the Chief Census Commissioner had said that the population of Karachi is lower than expected because two districts of Karachi are not being shown as part of Karachi city. And if you add those the population figure will increase by 30-40%

So that makes sense. That will take the number to over 20mn which makes sense (perhaps even 23.135mn figure which was shared earlier)

Anyways the Census commission has really been disorganised and have put doubts on credibility with their flip flops

How many flats are there in Lahore my Nani went to Lahore and said the lack of flats was what stood out for her obviously Karachi has more population hence more flats here as compared to bungalows.. [MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION]

I don't know, I am not from Lahore.... heck, I am not even a Punjabi!

Laughter is always a sign of nerves ....

Re read my words in the post.... I said Karachi division. I wanted to check what the poster in the comments section said.

You don't need me, keep zooming in and you will see sparse roads for most of the area that is Karachi division, to the west, north and east.

This is like a smoking gun as to why the census is correct. Thanks for posting the comment that led me to look up Karachi division in google maps.

But but but 70% :sree

Since we are discussing Karachi, which is the better one.. Karachi Bakery in India or Bombay Bakery in Pakistan?

But but but 70% :sree

Ah I see..... run out of arguments.

Facts are facts, all here can just look up Karachi division for themselves.

Do you agree large swathes of Karachi division is unpopulated? Perhaps you will be so kind in putting up the image of Karachi division here?

Ah I see..... run out of arguments.

Facts are facts, all here can just look up Karachi division for themselves.

Do you agree large swathes of Karachi division is unpopulated?

But you said Malir is 70% of Karachi. That's the only argument I need.

I didn't .....
Do you understand what quotation marks are for? It's the words of another poster from the place you posted the comments. It led to me to check about Karachi division.

you can try to divert..... but in your haste of trying to be smart, you ended up putting focus on something that showed the hollowness of what you were crowing about.... and to top it all of, everyone can see it! Classic!

I didn't .....
Do you understand what quotation marks are for? It's the words of another poster from the place you posted the comments. It led to me to check about Karachi division.

you can try to divert..... but in your haste of trying to be smart, you ended up putting focus on something that showed the hollowness of what you were crowing about.... and to top it all of, everyone can see it! Classic!

You preceded that quoted statement with this:

I suppose you forgot to omit this post in the comment section which explains why the census is correct...

Its ok take it easy :sharif

MQM submits resolution to NA speaker over census results

Continuing its campaign against the provisional results of the national census, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) on Tuesday submitted a resolution before National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq stating that the data released — as it stands — will "not facilitate" the fair distribution of funds in the provinces.

A delegation of the MQM, headed by lawmaker Sheikh Salahuddin, submitted the resolution in the chambers of the NA speaker.

In the resolution, the party maintained that the statistics for Sindh ─ specifically Karachi ─ were "controversial", observing that the provisional data, as it stood, would prevent the fair distribution of funds under the National Finance Commission award.

The party demanded the release of "clear figures" and asked that the matter regarding the results be presented for debate in the NA.

The MQM, along with the PPP, has aired its concerns over the preliminary results of the national census, questioning the authenticity of the figures released by the statistics division.

A day earlier, MQM supremo had Farooq Sattar alleged that the census data had been "rigged".

He further alleged that the population figure for Karachi had been marked down as "it cannot be less than 30 million".

On Tuesday morning, Chief Census Commissioner Asif Bajwa turned down the objections raised by political parties over the results, claiming that the verification of "every individual" was ensured.

Nonetheless, Sattar continued his objections to the figure, saying that his party would initiate protests in Karachi on September 10 on the matter.

Development funds

Earlier in the day, as a session of the NA came to a close, MQM parliamentarians had surrounded Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbassi to demand the early release of development funds promised for Karachi and Hyderabad. However, the prime minister desisted from providing a definitive timeline for the matter.

Speaking to DawnNews, MQM MNA Salahuddin said that the party had reminded the prime minister of a promise he made when he visited Karachi earlier this month.

The prime minister had stated that the federal government will spend around Rs30 billion on Karachi and Hyderabad.

"We want the funds for the cities' development to be released [immediately]," the MNA said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1354722/mqm-submits-resolution-to-na-speaker-over-census-results

So 16.5m in 2014 and 14.9m in 2017 is within margin of error :))) :))) :)))

10% is an acceptable margin of error for an estimate based on census 30 years ago.... If you don't think so then you have obviously no idea how demographics work....

Yeah 2014 is 10 years ago :)))

Lahore used to be Pakistan's biggest city when Pakistan was created (Excluding east Pakistan), seems like things are going back to how they used to be lol

I've been to Lahore and Karachi and Lahore seems more densely populated and congested than Karachi, so this census might be correct.

That's 4500 people/km2 for Karachi vs 5500 people/km2 for Lahore.... It's not same population, there is a 4 million difference...

For comparison Delhi has 11 000/km2 while Shenzen has 5200/km2.... So it's not that unbelievable...

Malir covers 70% of Karachi? :))

That's news if true

There are two things... Malir and Malir Metropolitan Corporation

800px-Karachi_admin.PNG

Only Karachi Metropolitan Corporation is counted as Karachi in the Census....

So he is right that Malir (which isn't counted as Karachi) is bigger than Karachi

^ all the above is pointless

It's simple common sense.

One city has seen 116% growth and the other has seen 59% growth in population.

And it's the latter one which has seen massive migration from KPK and south Punjab in the last two decades

It makes no mathematical sense

I know some folks here are trying to make themselves believe that this is true and are bringing in frankly stupid arguments such as 1) Lahore saw more migration, 2)People from other areas in Karachi didn't list Karachi as their city and other arguments

But the only people they are fooling are themselves.

The results are clearly understating the Karachi population Any person without bias knows that and ethnicity doesn't even matter here

Lahore saw 116% growth because Punjab government added metropolitan area of Lahore inside LAhore.... Sindh didn't as Korangi and Malir are not inside Karachi Metropolitan Corporation....