Khalid Latif as an opener?

abc_to_xyz

He is 2nd best batsman in Current RBS tournament, doesn't he deserve an opening slot in Pak XI against aussies? He also proved good in previous tournaments!

lol.. Be realistic !!! We have 3 options.

1. Khurram Manzoor
2. Khalid Latif
3. Ahmad Shehzad

LOL no thanks...the guy struggled playing the short ball in Sharjah, how do you expect him to cope in tougher batting conditions

abc_to_xyz said:

1. Khurram Manzoor
2. Khalid Latif
3. Ahmad Shehzad

No we dont.

We have 4 openers who are fighting for the opening spots.

1. Salman Butt (He has been on and off in Intl so needs to prove himself)
2. Nasir Jamshed
3. Khurram Shehzad
4. Ahmed Shehzad

As far as what I have seen of these 4 openers they have good technique and dont play slogging legside unlike other players..**Cough** Khalid Latif **Cough**.

Boi said:
No we dont.

We have 4 openers who are fighting for the opening spots.

1. Salman Butt (He has been on and off in Intl so needs to prove himself)
2. Nasir Jamshed
3. Khurram Shehzad
4. Ahmed Shehzad

As far as what I have seen of these 4 openers they have good technique and dont play slogging legside unlike other players..**Cough** Khalid Latif **Cough**.

Butt is good enough to take permanent opening slot!
Second slot is the problem. So far, I can only rely on Khurram Manzoor!

abc_to_xyz said:
Butt is good enough to take permanent opening slot!
Second slot is the problem. So far, I can only rely on Khurram Manzoor!

Jamshed should be given a run in odis and Khurram persisted in tests.

Maybe down the line somewhere

Monsee will explain why Latif should be pakistans main opener for next ten years :)

I never understood what did Jamshed do wrong to be ommitted from the squad in the first place the guy has like 3 fifties in 7 matches including one against India

FAHAD KHAN said:
I never understood what did Jamshed do wrong to be ommitted from the squad in the first place the guy has like 3 fifties in 7 matches including one against India

1. He's tooo young to play aggressive cricket..
2. He can't hit swinging deliveries (as u can see it in his only 50 against indians - he was continuously edging the ball).
3. He has some health problems (Malaria, Dengue virus, e.t.c) as well as fitness problems (remember that he got retired hurt just after scoring 50 - forget 100 on his side)!

He can be rated-'A' opener... But he needs time... We can't just screw his career by bringing him in International cricket and by putting heavy burden on his young shoulders..

abc_to_xyz said:

1. Khurram Manzoor
2. Khalid Latif
3. Ahmad Shehzad
I would take Nasir Jamshed over all 3 of them.
Right now it has to be:
1. Salman Butt
2. Nasir Jamshed
3. Khurram Manzoor
4. Ahmed Shehzad

abc_to_xyz said:
2. He can't hit swinging deliveries (as u can see it in his only 50 against indians - he was continuously edging the ball).
3. He has some health problems (Malaria, Dengue virus, e.t.c) as well as fitness problems (remember that he got retired hurt just after scoring 50 - forget 100 on his side)!

He can be rated-'A' opener... But he needs time... We can't just screw his career by bringing him in International cricket and by putting heavy burden on his young shoulders..
1. What?????
2. How many of our batsmen actually learn to play swing in domestic cricket?
3. He was retired hurt because he was cramping and it was a really tough day to be out there. Mohammad Aamer had the Dengue fever not Nasir.

Inswinger said:
1. What?????
2. How many of our batsmen actually learn to play swing in domestic cricket?
3. He was retired hurt because he was cramping and it was a really tough day to be out there. Mohammad Aamer had the Dengue fever not Nasir.

1. As he is toooo young, he can't hit power shots like Sehwag, Nazir, Jayasuriya and Afridi. If he over tries, he may get injured or retired!

2. No one, but few are naturally gifted, like Y2K, Malik and Butt!

3. He had it too.... But later..

abc_to_xyz said:
1. As he is toooo young, he can't hit power shots like Sehwag, Nazir, Jayasuriya and Afridi. If he over tries, he may get injured or retired!

Come on bro. You can do better than that. He's not too young. Have you seen him? He looks like Inzi's little brother. He can hammer it better than Afridi these days.

Inswinger said:
Come on bro. You can do better than that. He's not too young. Have you seen him? He looks like Inzi's little brother. He can hammer it better than Afridi these days.

No! He is not a muscled guy (even afridi was more muscled in his early days)! He is just fat.....

I suggest we ban abc_to_xyz for good to teach others a lesson (who might try to make a case for this leg side slogger)...if I was a Royal King, I would have said 'Chop chop and be done with him' :)

Seriously speaking there is a lot more to picking a player rather than just looking at his total runs in a tournament with many mediocre teams and bowlers

AhmedZulfiqar said:
LOL no thanks...the guy struggled playing the short ball in Sharjah, how do you expect him to cope in tougher batting conditions

He is talking about Khalid Latif....not Naveed Latif :)
btw i wont mind trying him again....he's only played ONE game therefore i dont mind giving him another go....maybe he will prove all of us wrong that he is not a leg side slogger :) .... also, this guy averages 50 in first class cricket .... aisai leg side slogging karne se 50 ke average nahin bana leta koi.... ;-)

abc_to_xyz said:

HE CANT HIT POWER SHOTS :))) :))) :))) :)))

abc_to_xyz said:

Terrible post.

WPOTW nomination!

Inswinger said:
I would take Nasir Jamshed over all 3 of them.
Right now it has to be:
1. Salman Butt
2. Nasir Jamshed
3. Khurram Manzoor
4. Ahmed Shehzad
Im with you Nasir Jamshed should be the one to open

Nasir Jamshed
Ahmed Shehzad
Khurram Manzoor
Azhar Ali

the players who should open for pakistan I think butt sahib doesn't deserve it

HuZi said:
Nasir Jamshed
Ahmed Shehzad
Khurram Manzoor
Azhar Ali

the players who should open for pakistan I think butt sahib doesn't deserve it

OK! What about u and me then?

oky so salman butt shldnt open HUZI???? my word....highest scorer of RBS CUP...still doesnt deserve to open!!!!

Latif still favours leg-side alot but continues to perform domestically.

I was impressed by Nasir Jamshed yetsrday. He seems to have so much time whilst playing and plays all around. Great shame he is not in T20 WC.

Rudi hater said:
I was impressed by Nasir Jamshed yetsrday. He seems to have so much time whilst playing and plays all around. Great shame he is not in T20 WC.

i agree completely. but since this is a khlaid latif thread lets get back to topic...

looked good today. in fact looked amazing. but you cant really judge against a rhinos bowling attack. everybody batted well.

that being said he was the most dangerous and hit 5 sixes by far the most of the innings.

'leg side slogger' or not i was very impressed watching him and listening to him in the interview after. sounds very sharp and focused and intelligent.

khalid latif needs to be taken seriously!

abc_to_xyz said:
He is 2nd best batsman in Current RBS tournament, doesn't he deserve an opening slot in Pak XI against aussies? He also proved good in previous tournaments!
anymore ideas? :110: :110:

Why do we have such mentality? Player plays a good short we create a thread and start comparing with somebody. See a left arm bowler and we get another thread "next wasim?" if we see a guy in a masjid once or twice we start calling him molvi sahab or haji sahab.

Akhir kyon? :13:

Khalid Latif is rated by many ex players one fo the best players on the domestic circuit. Rashid Latif ( no relation to Khalid) is one such player thinks very highly of him. I think performed fantastically in Australia with A tour last time.

tauseefm said:
anymore ideas? :110: :110:

Why do we have such mentality? Player plays a good short we create a thread and start comparing with somebody. See a left arm bowler and we get another thread "next wasim?" if we see a guy in a masjid once or twice we start calling him molvi sahab or haji sahab.

Akhir kyon? :13:

Look at the date of OP.

Monsee said:
I suggest we ban abc_to_xyz for good to teach others a lesson (who might try to make a case for this leg side slogger)...if I was a Royal King, I would have said 'Chop chop and be done with him' :)

Seriously speaking there is a lot more to picking a player rather than just looking at his total runs in a tournament with many mediocre teams and bowlers

:)) :)) :))) :)))

I don't care if Bradman comes back from his grave to give a thumbs up for Mr. Khalid Latif, or Latif shows us a notarized vote of confidenece memo from Jesus, or if the Aliens come down and tell me that one of his Off Side strokes reached their orbit and was still going strong but they shot down that ball for security reasons...I always see a leg side slogger whenever I see him play again!

Maybe he improved and developed his game from the last year when he made his debut against Zimbabwe but then again chance of a Pakistani batsman improving his game so rapidly is just like expecting Pakistan to become corruption free all of a sudden or India to stop blaming every incident that happens in their boundaries, upon ISI/Pak Govt.

BTW, whomever said he averages 50 in FC is lying...he averages in the mid 30s...and this sums it up in his profile about his ability so far:

With Pakistan searching for opening options, Latif duly made his ODI debut, albeit an unimpressive one, against Zimbabwe in Faisalabad.

I am telling you the opening slot is a dilemma now. We know we have Salman Butt in all forms of the game. For the 2nd spot these players are competing. Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shahzad, Khurram Manzoor, Imran Nazir, Khalid Latif, Shahzaib Hasan Khan. Is that not all Kamran Akmal can open any time too. Selectors and team management have a job on their hands. I would go for Imran Nazir in T20, Khurram Manzoor for tests and Nasir Jamshed for ODIs any thoughts

Umta said:
I am telling you the opening slot is a dilemma now. We know we have Salman Butt in all forms of the game. For the 2nd spot these players are competing. Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shahzad, Khurram Manzoor, Imran Nazir, Khalid Latif, Shahzaib Hasan Khan. Is that not all Kamran Akmal can open any time too. Selectors and team management have a job on their hands. I would go for Imran Nazir in T20, Khurram Manzoor for tests and Nasir Jamshed for ODIs any thoughts

I agree wholeheartedly

I dont like Butt Sahib for ODIs and 20/20

Khurram should also be considered only for Tests

As far as 20/20 is concerned, then I am very much sure about Jamshed and Shahzaib

As far as ODI is concerned, then may be Jamshed and again Shahzaib if he could show some consistency.

T20:
* Imran Nazir should be the 1st opener.
* If team management want a regular opener as 2nd opener it should be one of Nasir Jamshed, Shahzaib Hasan or Khalid Latif. (in order)
* If team management wants to have long batting, they should play Shoaib Malik or Kamran Akmal / Sarfraz Ahmad as 2nd opener.

ODI:
* Nasir Jamshed should be the 1st opener.
* If team management want a regular opener as 2nd opener it should be one of Khalid Latif or Ahmad Shehzad or Shazaib Hasan or Khurram Manzoor. (in order)
* If team management wants to have long batting, they should play Shoaib Malik or Kamran Akmal / Sarfraz Ahmad as 2nd opener.

Test:
* Salman Butt should be the 1st opener.
* For the 2nd opener it should be one of Khurram Manzoor or Ahmad Shehzad. (in order)

I Nazir and Shahzaib if he can do well in upcoming wc

ODI
Butt and Jamshed

Tests
Khuram Manzoor and Shezad/Butt

Oh by the way. Mohammad Hafeez is also doing well in the RBS T20 tournament

I saw his inning against Abbotabad Rhinos. He is one hell of a leg side player. He was virtually standing and hitting a leg spinner for consecutive sixes. What a sight that was

Tests

Khurram Manzoor & Nasir Jamshed

ODI

Nasir Jamshed & Azhar Ali

Nasir Jamshed & Shahzab Hasan/Imran Nazir

test

manzoor, shehzad

ODI

jamshed, nazir

t20

jamshed, nazir

outside looking in:
[in order]

1. khalid latif
2. shahzaib hassan
3. mohammad hafeez

In ODIS and T20 aslong as Snailman Butt aint opening il be happy!

Latif has like most pakistan openers ability to blitz an attack on flat decks domestically,, question is can he make the next grade up. Weve seen similar players like him farhat, I nazir in past who have failed to live up to hype!

Quite honestly Latif is an inelegant player but he's a smart one...he usually covers the line, plays to the situation (unlike say Shahzaib, Farhat or Nazir) and is known to convert his starts. Plus he blasts the loose ball. Top player MashaAllah

Personally I'd have him in the LOI squad straightaway

Yes he is better than most ... didn't get enough chances to prove himself.

Latif has done very well in List A he averages 46 with 10 tons(this includes a double ton as well) and i am sure he can do better than the likes of Imran Farhat but that being said i rather see Awais Zia or Sharjeel Khan getting a change in the national team before Latif

Personally I think Pakistan have a lot of handy/good openers who are briefly played and then discarded:

In Tests I would love to one day see the likes of Afaq Raheem and Khurram Manzoor

In LOIs Khalid Latif, Awais Zia and Sharjeel Khan seem the best of the bunch. Even Nasir Jamshed was quite handy MashaAllah

Of course one opening spot is occupied by Mohammad Hafeez while Taufeeq Umar is established in the Test side, but imho at some stage we'll need two specialist openers with Mohammad Hafeez's bowling important to the side when the likes of Ajmal/Afridi retire InshaAllah

BTW does anyone have any videos of Latif's batting, maybe from the game where he scored 60 odd against New Zealand

He makes use of his starts. PS. can anyone show footage of him batting please?

All i could find on youtube was this video:
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/h49kGjUDF3k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

this video was a bit of Latifs batting in it

@1137moiz
I Love the way u use Mashallah, Inshallah in every post of urs :D

action a bit like Sehwag. Minimal feet movement; depends a lot on good hand eye coordination

Personally I think Pakistan have a lot of handy/good openers who are briefly played and then discarded:

In Tests I would love to one day see the likes of Afaq Raheem and Khurram Manzoor

In LOIs Khalid Latif, Awais Zia and Sharjeel Khan seem the best of the bunch. Even Nasir Jamshed was quite handy MashaAllah

Of course one opening spot is occupied by Mohammad Hafeez while Taufeeq Umar is established in the Test side, but imho at some stage we'll need two specialist openers with Mohammad Hafeez's bowling important to the side when the likes of Ajmal/Afridi retire InshaAllah

Did an analysis of the players mentioned above to support the thread by Mighty Khan for Azhar Ali as an opener

Please check this
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=141659

Yes he is better than most ... didn't get enough chances to prove himself.

Not Khalid Latif at the moment

His problem always has been consistency. He will score big in one game or 2 but rest of the matches will be pretty ordinary.

2010/ 2011 Had a poor show in this year List A tournament scoring just 197 from 5 innings avg 39.40 with 1 century, high score of 127 meaning 70 runs in the remaining 4 matches @ 17.5 avg

2009/2010 he played for Pakistan and Pakistan A 12 matches scoring 339 with 1 century @ avg 28.25

2008 / 2009 scored 3 centuries in 8 matches @ 66.14 including 204 not out against Quetta Bears (A team which lost all its matches very badly due to poor bowling attack). He failed to cross 10 runs in 4 out of remaining 5 innings in the season. Still represented Pakistan A and also got international call for 2009/2010 but we can see the performance in that season as above.

Has been already tried and is not in good form at the moment; avg 22.50 in 16 innings in QEA trophy so he doesnot deserve to be called for international duty.

26 years of age this guy has a potential just should concentrate on the consistency part can be a good future prospect.

You guys have so much time to discuss a useless batsman...kia aur koi kaam nahin duniya mein tum logon ko?

Khalid Latif is almost as bad as Shazaib and Raza Hassan showed their real class in that super over...they have no clue against spin/seaming/moving ball. Just hit the ball to the leg side is their only skill!

He was given opportunity , and looked at sea at International level. These players should be playing only domestic cricket, They are just wastage for International cricket.

Guy is a hack. Looks like a talieneder against seamers

So is Shahzaib Hasan

None of them should be anywhere near the team anytime soon

But hopefully they can win the Karachi dolpphins a few trophies

You guys have so much time to discuss a useless batsman...kia aur koi kaam nahin duniya mein tum logon ko?

Khalid Latif is almost as bad as Shazaib and Raza Hassan showed their real class in that super over...they have no clue against spin/seaming/moving ball. Just hit the ball to the leg side is their only skill!

Khalid Latif hit him straight for the six on the very 1st ball. Conditions favouring a spinner is what a contest is? Than it's truly great.

Whenever one of these sloggers score runs their fanboys start bumping ancients threads.
Khalid Latif is even a bigger, more useless slogger than Shazaib.

We have got too many legside hacks in domestic cricket

This guy has amazing coversion rate in List A games, 11 centuries and 7 half centuries in 54 games :d more centuries than 50s , you do not often see that. Though he is a hack.

he's perfect for t20!!!!!! He showed in his first few ODI's that he can bat without the reckless streak(many Ppers say)

who cares about the average?all that matters to ppers is that he doesn't look pretty while batting hence we should ignore all the hard work he puts into domestic cricket

looking "pretty" while batting is a big thing mere bhai. it shows the technique of a batsmen gives us an indicator of how he will be in international level. since pak domestic is so bad one can not go on numbers alone, not looking pretty is why fawad isnt in the team despite his amazing average

who cares about the average?all that matters to ppers is that he doesn't look pretty while batting hence we should ignore all the hard work he puts into domestic cricket

His ODI average is also not bad. And he was also dropped unfairly after the Tour of Australia

I know Latif does not have many fans on PP, but you just can not ignore his performance. He was the leading runs scorer in division one of the OD tournament and now he took apart a very decent bowling line-up of the rawalpindi rams. He definitely deserves to be selected for our next LOI series .