Khuda Ke Liye (In the Name of God) - A Pakistani movie by Shoaib Mansoor

Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar

First Class Player
here's the website: www.inthenameofgod.com

it is pretty impressive in general. they need to correct the spelling of "comming". it looks tacky especially when it is all over the place.

the soundtrack listing looks wicked in general. the great Rohail Hyatt is involved so that shouldn't be surprising. hopefully the movie will come to North America at some point too. would love for it to make it to the Toronto film festival.

the significance of this effort can't be downplayed especially since Shoaib sahib said that he took out loans to make the movie as his financiers bailed on him. imo, needless to say that if we Pakistanis who're always complaining about the lack of quality movies don't support this effort, we won't be seeing another decent effort for a VERY long time to come. so, I believe it is imperative for all of us to support Shoaib sahib. he has made some masterpieces over the years. and hopefully, KKL will be another one of those classics. on our part, as consumers, we need to ensure that the effort is financially viable for the makers.

looks like great effort.
hopefully they will release it on DVDs as well. it's major problem with Pakistani movies that they don' release it on DVDs and most ppl don't know even if there is some decent movie out there.

hopegully Ayub Khoso is in movie with compelte role and just special appearence.

Asim2Good said:
hopegully Ayub Khoso is in movie with compelte role and just special appearence.

not just Ayub Khoso. also, Hameed Sheikh. he is one hell of an actor. I have tremendous respect for him. throw in Naeem Tahir and Simi Raheel as well. Shoaib sahib has got some fantastic actors in there.

add in Iman Ali and this movie is my idea of heaven. God I love that woman. what a beautiful AND intelligent woman.

yeah, I'll be buying the DVD too. I've got the DVDs of Jinnah and Daira and I've been waiting for KKL forever now.

thanks for the info MT.

have been waiting for this to release for a while.

I like the song in the background on the website. Not sure who the singer is.

does anybody know what shoaib mansoor is working on next?

I have huge respect for Shoaib Mansoor because of his projects like ABC etc, and I'm looking forward to see this one too.

The Monk said:
thanks for the info MT.

have been waiting for this to release for a while.

does anybody know what shoaib mansoor is working on next?

I couldn't hear the music at the background but Ahmed Jehanzeb has sung few songs for the film, he has amazing voice and sings very well.

1. TITLE : DUNYA HO
VOCALS : AHMAD JAHANZEB; SHUJA HAIDER
LYRICS : SHOAIB MANSOOR
COMPOSED BY : AHMAD JAHANZEB; SHUJA HAIDER
MIXED AT : GRAVITY STUDIOS, CHICAGO
MIXER : MARK BERLIN

2. TITLE : HAMARAY HAIN
VOCALS : AHMAD JAHANZEB; SHUJA HAIDER
MELODY BY : LAGAN BAND
ARRANGED BY : AHMAD JAHANZEB; SHUJA HAIDER; KAMI JEE
MIXED AT : GRAVITY STUDIOS, CHICAGO
MIXER : MARK BERLIN

The Monk said:

could b Ammar Hassan :13:

9. TITLE : KHUDA KE LIYE
VOCALS : AMMAR HASAN
MIXER : SAJJAD AKRAM

there are lot of new names (for me atleast) in singer's name in this movie.

thanks wasim and asim regarding the song.

I think it’s the one asim mentioned in his post khuda ke liye by ammar hasan.

I have been waiting for this movie. ANd one thing i would like to sya is that I will watch anything , if shoaib mansoor is involved in it. the guy is an amazing director. I hope this is released in the US, i will definitely watch it in the theatre.

the website is back up and looks even better than before. the Bandeya track is just outstanding. it's been floating on the net for a while. but when it is released I'm sure it will be massive.

trailers from the movie. Links:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dm1w0olQbsQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHWFlDTN00U
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LxxwCdPhIDA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRkgDHK37KU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsF_C-PJt5Q
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vW47k1EtGmM

Iman Ali is a goddess. what a stunningly beautiful woman.

sanmbhal kay Tarar Sahib - Mulana fatwa bohat jaldi pass kardetein hein aaj kal (only jesting)!

thanks for sharing - looks brilliant - looking forward to it.

Serendipity said:
sanmbhal kay Tarar Sahib - Mulana fatwa bohat jaldi pass kardetein hein aaj kal (only jesting)!

the maulanas can shove their fatwas where the sun don't shine. it is these maulanas who watch all the Bollywood crap with their four girlfriends - a kafir like me doesn't watch the Bollywood rubbish. it is because of them that Lollywood is a haven for softcore porno.

KKL is a good effort by an intelligent, talented, patriotic man with a great track record. and I will be supporting it regardless of what any moulvi thinks.

Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:
the maulanas can shove their fatwas where the sun don't shine. it is these maulanas who watch all the Bollywood crap with their four girlfriends - a kafir like me doesn't watch the Bollywood rubbish. it is because of them that Lollywood is a haven for softcore porno.

KKL is a good effort by an intelligent, talented, patriotic man with a great track record. and I will be supporting it regardless of what any moulvi thinks.

100 % agree with MT said ,can't wait the movie to release.

sound track shud be good by the look of it.

as for Mullahs - u have chosen nice place for them for them to shove etc but mind you my jest was to do with your comments about Iman Ali! - and I was jesting!

Release - great, hope they release it widely and professionally all over the world.

Seems too professional for Pakistani standards but I hope the film fails big time just for the idiot's scathing attack on someone he calls a friend.

Wazeeri said:
I hope the film fails big time just for the idiot's scathing attack on someone he calls a friend.

way to go champ. that's the spirit. here's a good educated, talented man trying to put Pakistan on the map as far as film is concerned and you're hoping that he fails. then why do you complain when Lollywood churns out porn and Pakistan's image is associated to it?

as far as his "friend" is concerned, Junaid is the only idiot here. if singing songs about patriotism, hope, etc is haram in Islam, then there is something very wrong with this religion. Shoaib Mansoor spent his whole life trying to create and nurture a distinct and proud Pakistani identity - Pakistaniat. Vital Signs, Ankahi, Alpha Bravo Charlie, Gulls and Guys, Silver Jubilee, etc, were all part of it. and Junaid has come in and tried to flush it all away. Shoaib Mansoor is totally right in being upset. he wrote countless hits for Junaid and made him him the star that Junaid was. granted that Junaid had a BEAUTIFUL voice but he wouldn't be half the star he was without Shoaib Mansoor's lyrics and compositions. now if Junaid is going to run around wearing fruity pagris and suggesting that the Kashmir earthquake was unleashed because of the sins of Kashmiris, then Shoaib Mansoor has every right to be upset at his stupidity, narrowmindedness and jahalat.

either way, I was just waiting for some jayala to issue a fatwa on the film. this discussion should be continued in another thread. I'm trying to do my little bit for raising awareness about the film. if you don't like it, post all that is haram about this film in another thread.

Wazeeri said:
Seems too professional for Pakistani standards but I hope the film fails big time just for the idiot's scathing attack on someone he calls a friend.

:14: Well done for showing your narrow mindedness on this matter......It is people like you who give Muslims a bad name....what next, are you going to congratulate the idiots who wanted to cause harm at Glasgow and London ?

I just can't help but to thank you MT for posting the link of this beautiful Shoaib's Creation.
I would never know about this until it get released. Well Thanks to ppl like Shoaib Mansoor, we can at least try to convince ppl from all over the world to give it a try to watch Pakistani movies.

SO any idea is the movie is going to be released internationally. it is about religion, adn western and eastern cultures so it makes sense to release it in USA, UK etc as well.

I heard that it would be released on 20th of July and I am sure it would be available everywhere, on DVDs if not in the cinemas.

The film releases with 15 prints in Pakistan on July 20. That means it'll be running in atleast 3 theatres each in Karachi/Lahore and Rawalpindi. It's a mainstream release and it'll be VERY interesting to see how the masses react.

Joseph K. said:
Is this the song you are talking about, MT?

http://khawarandfaiza.com/music/%5Bwww.khawarandfaiza.com%5D-Bandeya-128.mp3

Lyrics can be foud here:
http://www.goeasylyrics.com/viewlyrics.asp?songid=979

Pardon my ignorance but I gave up on Pakistani music since the end of Vital Signs and Junaid Jamshed's artistic demise.

Joseph, yes that's the song. I just fell in love with it when it came out a couple of years ago. I emailed Khawar too to congratulate him on a job well done and asked about the film and its progress. and he was nice enough to reply.

actually one time, I even got a reply from Rohail Hyatt - the legend - himself. that was very cool. he did an album with Rahat Fateh Ali Khan whose teasers used to be online. superlative stuff man. classic Rohail Hyatt stuff. you've got to check it out it when it comes out. I believe the album name is "Charkha". amazing, amazing stuff. you can hear the trademark VS sound.

VS are my favouritest band ever. so, sure no one is going to match the Signs but Pak music has some really, really good things going for it. so, you shouldn't have given up on it. :) we got some great artists in there - check out Ali Azmat for starters. the guy has been a revelation as a solo artist. his album was the best solo album I've heard out of Pakistan.

waqar_ahmad said:
SO any idea is the movie is going to be released internationally. it is about religion, adn western and eastern cultures so it makes sense to release it in USA, UK etc as well.

personally speaking, I'm really hoping it comes to Toronto. it seems an ideal entry into the Toronto film festival. they should love it considering the topic and all. Usman Peerzada's "Zargul" already won the best film of the year award in 1998 in TO.

Joseph K. said:
I am sure it would be available everywhere, on DVDs if not in the cinemas.

hopefully not. SM has to be able to recoup his money. if he isn't able to recoup his money, we can forget about our film industry ever coming out of its self-induced coma.

The Monk said:
MT

do you have any idea when the soundtrack is being released?

nope don't unfortunately. hopefully there will be more info on the website. keep checking the site. and I will post any updates I find in here too. :)

Well done for showing your narrow mindedness on this matter......It is people like you who give Muslims a bad name....what next, are you going to congratulate the idiots who wanted to cause harm at Glasgow and London ?

Yeh Zushie, link my dislike for the personal abuse of Junaid Jamshed with the people who support terrorist attacks, why don't you.

Could you justify the connection please.

I will promise to stop giving muslims a bad name if you do so.

way to go champ. that's the spirit. here's a good educated, talented man trying to put Pakistan on the map as far as film is concerned and you're hoping that he fails. then why do you complain when Lollywood churns out porn and Pakistan's image is associated to it?

The man is trying to put a version of pakistan on the map which I don't agree with. He is trying to portray anyone who turns to Islam as confused and not to mention trying to leech of the fame of Junaid Jamshed.

as far as his "friend" is concerned, Junaid is the only idiot here. if singing songs about patriotism, hope, etc is haram in Islam, then there is something very wrong with this religion.

That is your opinion. Junaid Jamshed's take on islam does not warrant abuse but abuse of someone you call a friend does justify abuse and that is what this idiot is going to get.

I am not going to applaud a guy just because he is doing something no Pakistani has done even if that thing is to portray a negative image of the majority of Pakistanis. The man has latched on to a popular subject and he is giving the western minds what they want to see. A nation of muslims wanting to be western while some "confused" Mullahs hold them back.

He can make money at someone else's expense not our people's.

either way, I was just waiting for some jayala to issue a fatwa on the film. this discussion should be continued in another thread. I'm trying to do my little bit for raising awareness about the film. if you don't like it, post all that is haram about this film in another thread.

There is no need to clutter the forum with this rubbish. This man and everyone like him are not worthy of the power of the media and I hope the continuing failures will eventually flood his ilk down the toilet where they belong.

Wazeeri said:
Yeh Zushie, link my dislike for the personal abuse of Junaid Jamshed with the people who support terrorist attacks, why don't you.

Could you justify the connection please.

I will promise to stop giving muslims a bad name if you do so.

Pray, do tell how I'm giving muslims a bad name ? I'm not going around unlike others who pronounce fatwas all the time and condem so called haraam acts like you...

Regarding the link for personal abuse with support of terrorist attacks, it was based upon your opinions which are at best full of contempt and mullaesque...

Personal abuse makes me a terrorist?

Are you sure it is not just the fact that you failed to formulate a proper argument so you did what anyone else would have done and linked my arguments albeit illogically with the most notorious activity of the day?

you came to this conclusion by reading the director's statement and watching the minute and a half long trailer?

No I came to the conclusion by watching an interview of Shoaib Mansoor where he just spouted the usual Pakistani secular rubbish. The hatred for people who follow islam is not something that is acceptable for me.

Junaid has leeched off Shoaib Mansoor all his life.

Ofcourse Mansoor was the only man in Pakistan who could string lyrics to compositions stolen from western artists. Junaid got famous because of looks and his voice. If it was the lyrics than the other guys in the band would also have been household names.

indeed. therefore, please restrict your fatwas in this thread kindly. there's no need to post your ill-informed yet stubborn opinions on Junaid Jamshed, Shoaib Mansoor, etc in a thread which was only opened to discuss the movie.

The movie is what we are discussing and it will be discussed in this thread. You can post replies where you wish. I am sure the moderators will eventually merge the two.

Is this the movie in which Junaid Jamshed (or some other singer) was supposed to be in but backed out because he got some threats about shaving his beard? Not sure how the threaters knew that he may have to shave his beard unless an interview was given by someone regarding it

well, get one of your mullah pals to make their own movie to push their pov. the only problem is that it takes talent and a brain - both of which are absent in the mullah community.

so, in the meanwhile you will have to live with Shoaib Mansoor's "secular rubbish".

Thats why I am hoping that this rubbish is flushed down the toilet where it belongs. It would be a shame if this man becomes an overnight hero in Pakistan because of international claim received through insulting our religious community.

those who don't have their heads up stuck camel arses because they think it is some sort of a sunnat would know full well the other members of the band. and they're indeed household names. they have legendary status in the current Pak scene. they act as mentors to many of the emerging musicians of today.

That is a very poetic use of the word sunnat and **** in the same sentence.

and maybe in your word people would know the name of the other guys, to most people Vital Signs are the Vital Science and Junaid Jamshed is woh jo Gaata tha, leikin Maulvi ban gaya, kya naam tha uska.

12th Man

No that was Ali Zafar, who apparently left the film half way because of the following reason given by the singer "meri, ami nai mana kiya hai"

12thMan said:
Is this the movie in which Junaid Jamshed (or some other singer) was supposed to be in but backed out because he got some threats about shaving his beard?

yes, that is the one. Junaid's life was indeed threatened by newfound friends from Raiwind if he shaved off his beard. he pulled out of it for safety reasons. this made newspaper headlines.

Junaid apologized to Shoaib Mansoor profusely for pulling out of his commitment. but I guess his friends weren't to happy that he was going to act in a film and the only way they could find to convince Junaid to stop was by threatening his life. makes sense.

yay for the religion of peace and its peaceful followers. hip hip hurray...

well then pray real hard. because obviously if you pray hard enough, a good man's hard work will count for nothing and definitely get flushed down the toilet. doesn't matter how hard you work - all that matters is how hard the other guy prays to his God.

Yes clearly a very good man and what a noble purpose. Ridicule and rebut people just because they have chosen attire which is not in the vogue. Ridicule a whole group of people because you have a self professed intellectual superiority.

Jazakallah for noticing, ya akhi. it was intentional, Alhamdollilah. I just try - the rest is in God's hands, Inshallah.

Thats right ridicule the use of the name Allah,
You are clearly on to a winner up here.

There are things which are much more dear to Pakistan than shooting a few minutes of video and drawing a lilly but you clearly have your priorities right.

12thMan said:
Is this the movie in which Junaid Jamshed (or some other singer) was supposed to be in but backed out because he got some threats about shaving his beard? Not sure how the threaters knew that he may have to shave his beard unless an interview was given by someone regarding it

here's the article. we're so peaceful, Mashallah: http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_18-3-2005_pg7_3

Junaid gets death threat for shaving beard

By Shoaib Ahmed

LAHORE: Star singer Junaid Jamshed, who bid farewell to the music world due to his religious leanings, has been getting death threats after he shaved his beard to work in a movie directed and produced by Shoaib Mansoor.

Indian film legend Naseeruddin Shah is also starring in the movie. A very upset Junaid Jamshed told Daily Times on Thursday that he was being chased by strangers and getting death threats after he shaved his beard to work in the movie Khuda Key Liya. They have even threatened to kill his family.

“We know your whereabouts and can kill you at any time,” an anonymous caller said. Jamshed who has recently signed the film, said that after receiving these threats he was having second thoughts on whether he should stand by his decision. “ I am reviewing it and might not do this film,” he added. Junaid gave up singing a few years ago, grew a beard and joined the Tableeghi Jamaat, saying singing did not fit into his lifestyle anymore. After a considerable gap, noted producer Shoaib Mansoor offered him a role in his movie.

Mansoor told Daily Times that the subject of the film was serious and was not the kind of a movie in which a hero runs after a heroine in gardens.

Mansoor said that Naseeruddin Shah would play the role of a Muslim scholar in the movie. Shah wanted to avoid media hype and therefore did not talk to reporters.

Wazeeri said:
The man is trying to put a version of pakistan on the map which I don't agree with. He is trying to portray anyone who turns to Islam as confused and not to mention trying to leech of the fame of Junaid Jamshed.

That is your opinion. Junaid Jamshed's take on islam does not warrant abuse but abuse of someone you call a friend does justify abuse and that is what this idiot is going to get.

I am not going to applaud a guy just because he is doing something no Pakistani has done even if that thing is to portray a negative image of the majority of Pakistanis. The man has latched on to a popular subject and he is giving the western minds what they want to see. A nation of muslims wanting to be western while some "confused" Mullahs hold them back.

He can make money at someone else's expense not our people's.

There is no need to clutter the forum with this rubbish. This man and everyone like him are not worthy of the power of the media and I hope the continuing failures will eventually flood his ilk down the toilet where they belong.

Wazeeri, I thought you were one of the sensible maulvis on the board who one could discuss things with but this post speaks volumes about your narrow-mindedness and hatred towards anything you dont agree with.

Now coming to the points that you have articulated in your post in such beautiful words. Shoaib Mansoor is trying to portray an image of Islam that he thinks is its true reflection. Me or you dont have to agree with it but that doesnt mean that he cannot say what he wants. Eg I dont agree with JJ's version of Islam, should I start saying that he should stop preaching what he thinks is right. It is his right as a Muslim. It is my right to decide whether to listen to him or not or to correct him with my interpretation but I cant tell him to STFU, surely not before I have listened to him.

What Shoaib Mansoor is doing is no abuse of anyone. It is just giving an alternative interpretation, you like it, take it, dont like it, dont take it. What though is abuse of the worst kind is what you are doing on this board. You dont know the person, you havent listened to what he has to say and still you go ahead and diss him with a language that can at best be described as filthy. Good job, Mr Wazeeri, I am sure you would be rewarded many times over for the noble deed that you have done today.

BTW as someone has already mentioned, JJ was initially going to be part of this so-called 'abuse' of himself, so there goes your abuse theory.

Mumtaz

The guy is carrying out the orders of centuries old anti-islamic leaders the Kzars, British, muslim kings...etc. Do you want me to applaud him for trying to decapitate our society by maligning anyone who considers paintings and music haram (on valid grounds) while his point of view is based on personal preference?

BTW as someone has already mentioned, JJ was initially going to be part of this so-called 'abuse' of himself, so there goes your abuse theory.

Mumtaz

I think you are missing a key point.

He called JJ confused because of his decision to leave the music industry and he claimed that he was misleading the young generation of pakistan. That is what I was speaking of when I said abuse.

Wazeeri said:
Mumtaz

I think you are missing a key point.

He called JJ confused because of his decision to leave the music industry and he claimed that he was misleading the young generation of pakistan. That is what I was speaking of when I said abuse.

You really need to look up the definition of abuse in the dictionary....

I just buy CD of KKL......its awesome.......all da songs are gr8....great music by Rohail hayaat.........My favorite songs are Bandhyaa hoo , Mahi way, Tital Song KKL.......and Allah hooooooooo

Cant wait to c the movie.

PakPassionate said:
I just buy CD of KKL......its awesome.......all da songs are gr8....great music by Rohail hayaat.........My favorite songs are Bandhyaa hoo , Mahi way, Tital Song KKL.......and Allah hooooooooo

that's great to hear. Pakpassionate thanks for the update...

here are two very brief teasers of the songs:

Bandeya: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOFITVBZDkk
Khamod (I think): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BM7iU4wi3w

Bandeya was released some time ago and I listened to it many a week nonstop.

PakPassionate said:

where did u get the CD from? Also, does it just have audio or any videos as well?

waqar_ahmad said:
where did u get the CD from? Also, does it just have audio or any videos as well?
I live in Pakistan.............Only AUDIO CD...will try to upload it for those who lives in American Cananda

PakPassionate said:
I live in Pakistan.............Only AUDIO CD...will try to upload it for those who lives in American Cananda

it would be great if u can upload it. I tried to look for it here, but couldnt find it. it is strange that this wasnt released in teh US though, specially since it is about life in the US

Please email rehmat.fazli@geo.tv if you are interested to see this movie in your region. I encourage everyone here in US to shoot him an email.

PakPassionate said:

please don't. we need to support the movie. so lets not encourage piracy.

I know it can be frustrating that we can't get the CD in US/Canada but eventually it is going to make its way here. so, lets be patient and wait until then.

ali110 said:
Please email rehmat.fazli@geo.tv if you are interested to see this movie in your region. I encourage everyone here in US to shoot him an email.

will do. I'm going to send them the contact info of the firm that distributed "Khamosh Pani" in Canada. maybe they can cut a deal with them or something. plus they have theaters (belonging to mainstream chains like AMC, Cineplex) in Mississauga (desi areas) etc which show Indian movies. so, they could try there too. I'm sure they'd get good support.

please don't. we need to support the movie. so lets not encourage piracy.

I know it can be frustrating that we can't get the CD in US/Canada but eventually it is going to make its way here. so, lets be patient and wait until then.

thats right, i just hope it makes its way to US coz i really wana get it

waqar_ahmad said:
thats right, i just hope it makes its way to US coz i really wana get it

thank for understanding.

lets spare this movie. we need it to succeed if we're ever going to attract good talented, educated people to Pakistani films.

The whole soundtrack is available online now:

http://fullhungama.com/music/androm...ni+Movies+&+Dramas/Movie+Songs/Khuda+Kay+Liye

I wouldnt have posted it had I not found this link on KKL's own site so I guess they are fine with it.

BTW, the album sales have broken all records. According to the following report, all the copies of CD's and cassettes were sold on the first day itself.

http://www.inthenameofgod.com/images/press_releases/10_07_2007/images/janglahore.jpg

An interesting account of how Naseeruddin Shah signed up for the film:

Q: How did you agree to act in Shoaib Mansoor's film, 'Khuda Kay Liyay'?

A: When Shoaib first asked me, I said no instantly at the mere mention of a "Pakistani film" - they aren't the best films in the world - but Shoaib asked me to at least listen to what he had to say. I agreed and he sent me the one scene he wanted me to enact, which is the last scene of the film, where I have to play the character of a maulana who is brought to testify against a girl accused of unIslamic behaviour. When I read the script, it sent a shiver down my spine. I did not have a second thought after that. I didn't read the rest of the script - I just read this scene and felt these are things that need to be said.

This is a film that has to be made and deserves all the support it can get because I think it is a very brave film and what it is saying is of tremendous importance. I am not at all aware of Shoaib Mansoor's abilities as a film-maker - I have only seen one of his music videos called Anarkali, which I thought was very nice - but I did not feel the need to be [aware]. I am not here to judge filmmakers, I am here to participate in a project that needed my help and which needed to be seen. The film has recently been completed and, hopefully, it should be released later in the year.

great news, the music CDs breaking all records. Shoaib Mansoor does it again (well only partially yet).

got album today morning from freind who came from Paksitan last night and must music is really good for this movie and trailor in above post looks gr8 too. waiting for DVD now :D

The music is great and the movie looks very good....I have never said these words for any Pakistani movie! Waiting for its release impatiently....

title song of movie is killer, fantastic voice for title song and lyrics are beautiful as well.

"Khuda kay naam say khelo nah, khuda kay liay"
"Khuda mera bhi hai, cheeno naah, Khuda Kay Liay"

just saw the trailer and listened to some of the songs. looks and sounds very good. will be looking for the CD

have heard all the songs twice now. It is very good. who are the singers? There is Ahmed Jahanzeb but there are one or two more singers

here's a review of the OST of Khuda Ke Liye which gives the OST five stars out of five. Shoman is still the man.

link: http://jang.com.pk/thenews/jul2007-weekly/nos-15-07-2007/instep/article2.ht

Magic and majesty
Artists: Various artists
Album: OST Khuda Kay Liye
Rating: *****

High expectations

What can one say about the upcoming film Khuda Kay Liye that hasn't been said before? It is, for many, the most anticipated film of the year. In many minds, it is 'the film' that will unleash a new kind of cinema in Pakistan and pave path for others to follow. It is a film that vows to touch issues close to Muslims and to Pakistanis. It is a film that has dared to touch the most sensitive of all subjects: religion. And finally, it is the film debut of the reclusive and brilliant Shoaib Mansoor, the man behind Fifty Fifty, Alpha Bravo Charlie, and the mentor and lyricist for the most successful and inspirational pop act of all times – Vital Signs. Enough said.

Hence, the expectations from the OST of Khuda Kay Liye are great. Thankfully enough, the music for the film meets them.

So what if Khuda Kay Liye soundtrack doesn't bring forward the big guns of our pop music world, as one would expect? It cleverly reunites Shuja Haider and Ahmad Jahanzeb, who teamed up in 2003 on Ahmad's debut album, Parastish. Most surprisingly, it puts spotlight on raw talent, unexplored, unheard voices, three of whom are females (yippee!) who can actually sing. Isn't that something?

Together these various artistes under the wing of veteran melody catcher Shoaib Mansoor unite and fuse various styles of music such as classical, folk and pop together and as a result, it makes for an excellent album.

An unpredictable charm

Thematically, the OST of Khuda Kay Liye has a moody character that seems to be going through a different stage of life within each song. It's beautifully sad at times, happily carefree at others, somewhat confident, reflecting on moments as they pass by.

The moodiness is a prime factor in each song. From the confident and cheerful 'Hamaray Hain' where Ahmad Jahanzeb and Shuja Haider make quite an impression on vocals as they sing, "Hamaray hain/Jahan mein hain jitnay haseen/Milangey hum/Milangey hum sabhi say kahin na kahin/Poochhein gee jahan mein awaazein hamari/dilon mein utar jayengi/" to the slightly rockish and upbeat 'Bandya' where Khawar Jawad provides delightfully harsh and striking vocal work with ample support from Farah Zala. Where Khawar often is rough, Farah is slightly sultry in her "woohh wooh" and here's the surprise element: she sings in English while Khawar sings to the words of Bulley Shah and she provides backing vocals in Urdu with equal grace. It is quite an interesting collaborative effort, especially since Pakistani music hardly has many great male-female duets to offer… anymore.

Another version of 'Bandya' comes on later in the album and here it is a newcomer Faiza Mujahid who replaces Farah Zala. She too stuns with her Lene Marlin-like voice. Compared to Farah, Faiza has a slightly sharper voice and it just provides more flavour to the album.

The cheerful, happy attitude continues with 'Duniya Ho' which points at happy love and "dancing tonight" and "feeling the beat". It is a thumping dance number that skillfully merges English and Urdu together and one can picture a scene where liberal youngsters of this nation are just dancing and enjoying the night away.

The optimism continues with the retrospective and thought-provoking title track, 'Khuda Kay Liye' that is perhaps the best track on the album. This is a song that beautifully reflects on faith and love for God as it goes, "Khuda kay naam sey/Khelo na/Khuda kay liye/Khuda tau azeem hai/Raheem bhi/Kareem bhi" without being preachy.

As a lyricist, Shoaib Mansoor still has that magic. He skillfully pens simple but thought-provoking lyrics that give this album an intense quality. This is classic Shoaib Mansoor from the old days of Vital Signs. That said, he isn't making Vital Signs pop here but a film music album and it seems that he knows this fact well.

One discovers the dark side of this album with songs like 'Mahi Way', 'Allah Hoo' 'Tiluk Kamod' and 'Janie Janie'.

Where 'Mahi Way' stuns with its mysteriously haunting melody, poignant wordplay in English that goes, "So many tricks/So many lies/Too many whens and too many whys/No one's special/No one's gifted/I'm just me/warped and twisted" and heart wrenching and despairing vocals from Khawar Jawad and Faiza Mujahid respectively, 'Janie Janie' reflects love from the eyes of a hopeless romantic. With its subtle bass lines and orchestra-like feel and Ahmad Jahanzeb's soft and emotive singing, this is certainly a laudable effort. This is Ahmad Jahanzeb that one first heard on songs like 'Aap Ki Yaad'.

And speaking of Ahmad Jahanzeb's talent, he shines as a soloist on another soft, heartbreaking number, namely 'Tiluk Kamod'. Here he really makes Ustaad Rafees Khan, his teacher, proud. Ahmad Jahanzeb sings in a mature tone as he does, "Tana Na Na Deh Na Naa" and then as the wordplay progresses, so does he. Here Ahmad shines once again. Bravo!

A definite fusion comes with the soulful 'Allah Hoo'. With fantastic folk singer Saeen Zahoor and newcomer Zara Madani joining hands together on this enchanting melody with gorgeous bass and percussion nuances, it simply blows the mind! This is a song that can be put to repeat and it will not bore you because of its textured sound and numb, brooding feel. If Saeen sings hypnotically, Zara broods, feeling the need to call out the higher force as if in a moment of pain and it works superbly. The last track on the album, an instrumental, with its air of calm sadness and slow melody gives out a grand feeling even if unconsciously. The slow soft piano really is classic here, reminding one of Italian composers who excel at this instrument effortlessly.

Surprise elements

As an album, Khuda Kay Liye is filled with surprises. It uses Urdu, English and Punjabi as languages and ties up all of them in crisp style that really gives this album a diverse flavour. Musically, this album has something for everyone. From pop to dance to classical, it fuses all genres together and does so effortlessly. It is always interesting to hear instruments like a melancholic sitar paired with soft piano, blue flute with acoustic guitar magic and so on.

Shuja Haider and Ahmad Jahanzeb fit well on this album because their vocals are not harsh but soft even when at peak. For a film album, you need such voices. And hey, together these two are a rock solid combination, not just as singers but as composers as well.

Most importantly, the OST of Khuda Kay Liye is exciting because of its surprisingly good new vocalists.

Ammar Hasan and Khawar Jawad shine as singers. There are few vocalists whose vocals cannot be matched. Names like Faisal Kapadia, Ali Azmat, Shafqat Amanat Ali and Atif Aslam come to mind. Ammar and Khawar belong to that unfathomable breed of singers. On the other hand, Farah Zala, Zara Madani and Faiza Mujahid impress with their vocal dexterity and ability to sing in English and Urdu. Mind you, these girls are not reminiscent to the young pop princess Annie. They remind one of Nazia Zuberi (Rushk). That said, each of them has a rawness that makes all the difference.

While Zara Madani, Ammar Hasan and Faiza Mujahid are newcomers, Khawar Jawad has been around for quite some time and has worked in studios with names like Ali Zafar and Shafqat Amanat Ali Khan. And Farah Zala has an English album, Twist of Fate to her credit. That said, none of these artistes are really known in Pakistan.

The only question that comes to mind is one: where have these singers been all this time? In retrospect, one is glad that it was through this album that these singers have come forward. Anyone who can differentiate between good music and bad will definitely take notice of these young voices.

Ultimately, this album works because of its collective effort. It is not just Shoaib Mansoor alone but him with a bunch of multi-talented singers and composers who have maintained consistency even as they have experimented.

In the end, it really is a very offbeat film music soundtrack as far as Pakistani standards go. How the masses react to this album remains to be seen but right now, this album is hot in the market. Within a day of its release, half the stores at Boat Basin have run out of copies.
In the end, this album plays testament to Pakistan's talent and to the man that is Shoaib Mansoor. He has never disappointed us ever and with KKL he once again proves that he is a force to be reckoned with in the music business.

another Instep article on KKL. link: http://jang.com.pk/thenews/jul2007-weekly/nos-15-07-2007/instep/article1.htm

Khuda kay liye – more than just a film?

As ideologies clash on our television screens, it seems that Khuda Kay Liye
has become even more pertinent...

By Sonya Rehman

It is ironic. While Khuda Kay Liye (a film which endeavours at highlighting an empathetic facet concerning Muslims post 9/11), gets ready to make its debut within the archaic walls of local cinemas, the walls of the 'Red Mosque' ('Lal Masjid') are being pierced with bullets. But hopefully by the time you read this, there would've been a conclusive end to the entire fiasco that's been an ongoing mêlée for the past five days in the capital now.

However, back to the paradox of the current circumstances; where Shoaib Mansoor's debut film aims at rectifying 'contemporary' Islam's image, Maulana Abdul Aziz and Abdur Rashid Ghazi have hoisted the banners of Jihad high – that too behind their protective red fortress – reinforcing the eyes of the West to stare at Pakistan with a gleam of 'hah we knew it, bloody fundamentalist militants' in their eyes.

Added to the irrationality of the situation, Maulana Abdul Aziz's extraordinary act of bravado will be remembered for years to come regarding his 'meticulous' getaway plans of sneaking out - enveloped in a burqa from head-to-toe, close at the heels of his wife! Thorough champ you are, sir.

To label these times as strange, albeit insecure, would be understating a situation that has begun to spread its nightmarish black wings over the country's horizon. And what is awaited upon now, is a sort of 'settlement' - the ironing out of creases that have seemed to lodge themselves deep within Pakistan's sun-beaten, weary forehead.

"It truly is a war between the moderates and the fundamentalists", many would acknowledge - just as Shoaib Mansoor has, in his official statement (up on the movie's website). But it runs deeper. Far deeper. Because as the rivers of cultural schism run deep and strong, the liberals, fundos (and the in-betweens) play out their parts like pawns on a large chess board labeled 'global politics'.

Nudged and prodded to progress towards their opponents by means of hurling bombs, verbal grenades, heavy shells of threats, and the likes, there seems to be much at stake within the country – in addition to the ongoing bedlam of an up in arms judiciary regarding the CJP's riddance and later, replacement.
But the vicious cycle is slowly chugging its way to a final stop. It's in the air. You can almost smell it. When it will happen… who really knows, but 'change' (whether positive or negative) has begun to smell as seasoned and as ripe as a mango just waiting to be plucked.

For years, filmmakers have produced works revolving around a country's politics, history and social make-up. Walk into any movie store or browse lists of films online – and you will see that the options/genres/categories are copious.

From movies such as Roots (on black slavery), The Gangs of New York (the riots in 1863 between Irish immigrants and Native Americans), Anna and the King (on Thailand during the American Civil War), Gandhi, Dr. Zhivago (the Russian Revolution), Apocalypse Now, Saving Private Ryan, Jinnah, Passion of the Christ, Seven Years in Tibet, Earth and countless others. Each bespeaks of a war, an era, a religion and human strife – whether emotional or physical.

And if one looks at the numerous films made on the holocaust that have abetted in keeping the memory of the horrors that took place at Auschwitz alive, and those tailored around the backdrop of partition (of India and Pakistan), one would realize that films have been and still very much are, the greatest sources of historical, political and social commentary in the world.

So will Khuda Kay Liye (In the Name of God) prove to be more than just a film which revives Pakistani cinema? Will it aid in reforming the 'Muslim image' as perceived by the West? Or would it perhaps assist in creating an additional gash in the country's ever-widening cultural schism between liberals and fundamentalists?

Will the film rise up to the hype that surrounds it, or won't it? It is yet to be ascertained.

But going by Shoaib Mansoor's 'Director's Statement' (on the film's webpage), where he affirms that it was his "duty to rectify the damage he [Junaid Jamshed] had done to the already suffering society under the influence of fundamentalists," the chances of Khuda Kay Liye being a revolutionary feature film, are estimated to be pretty high. Can anything be more exciting than having a real life clash of ideologies playing out on reel?

KARACHI: Shoaib Mansoor’s long-awaited film Khuda Kay Liye (In The Name of God) premiered on Sunday night at Karachi’s Prince cinema.

This is Geo Films’ first project and an effort to revive the cinema industry in Pakistan. The film will open throughout Pakistan on July 20. The path-breaking film stars Shaan, Iman Ali, Naseeruddin Shah and Fawad Khan.

An amazing mix of people came to watch the screening, including media professionals, artists, doctors, teachers, designers, Ulema, and even housewives among others. Among the celebrities present at the premiere included Javed Sheikh, Bushra Ansari, Behroze Sabzwari, Shakeel, Tapu Javeri, Saqib Malik, Deepak Perwani, Sonya Battla.

Of course, musicians were also there in full force. Rohail Hyatt — who’s mixed the background score— Ali Azmat, Salman Ahmed and Faakhir were just some of the most prominent musicians present. Shoaib Mansoor has ties that bind with the music industry. Indeed, Khuda Kay Liye sends out a clear message that music and Islam are not mutually exclusive.

Going by the crowd that gathered at the premiere, Khuda Kay Liye is arousing great curiosity. After the doors were opened and people took their seats, the hall was packed to its capacity of 700. The cheering began as soon as the credits started rolling. It just showed how much people wanted to see a film that is made by one of them, about them and for them. Khuda Kay Liye is all this and more.

Shoaib Mansoor has crafted a plot straight from the heart. It is a story of two brothers who are pop musicians in Lahore, one of whom gets radicalised under the influence of extremists, while the other goes to America and gets unlawfully detained after 9/11. It is the story of Mary (Maryam), a British girl of Pakistani origin, who is brought to Pakistan by her father and married off against her will.

Khuda Kay Liye is a film all Pakistanis can relate to. The stories that are shown remind us of real life headlines and it seems that every character in the film is someone we’ve all encountered at some point or another.

There were moments of magic in the film, lines that were said, scenes that were set up that touched the audience so much that they burst into spontaneous applause. And when Imran Aslam, President of the Geo Television Network, called Shoaib Mansoor on stage to take a bow at the end, he received a raucous standing ovation.

Two middle-aged women discussing the movie on their way out, said: “This movie is very timely. This is the kind of movie I want my children and everyone I know to watch, considering the state of the world today.”

Pop star Salman Ahmed said, “This movie reminded me that love always brings you to the right path. You can’t force ideology.” Ali Azmat predicted that this film “would change Pakistan.”

A young make-up artist, said: “This movie showed me that Pakistani cinema is still there! I would definitely come to a cinema to watch movies similar to this one.” Khuda Kay Liye is infinitely superior in every way to standard Lollywood fare.

The enthusiasm and excitement of the audience proves that a bright future for cinema is possible in Pakistan. It seemed that people are hungry for the essence of this land and culture to be distilled and projected on cinema screens, like it once was.

Source: The News

thanks for the article, Shez. that is truly excellent news. I saw the interviews of various celebs like Sameena Peerzada, Bushra Ansari, Rubeena Ashraf, Ali Azmat, Salman Ahmed, Javed Sheikh, Behroz Sabzwari, etc before and after the shows.

before the show, there was a lot of excitement and after the show, there was nonstop praise. Bushra, Sameena, etc were all praise for the film. they thought it was great especially Sameena - who herself has tried her hand at directing Pakistani films.

ali110 said:

ok guys, for those of you want to see the film in your city, region, please shoot Rehmat Fazli an email at: rehmat.fazli@geo.tv

I sent him the following email. this is not a template but just meant to encourage everyone who's interested to send an email to Geo to get the film out playing in as many cities as possible:

Hi Mr. Fazli,

I'm writing from Toronto to ask you and Geo to release KKL in Toronto. Toronto and its suburbs have big populations of Pakistanis who would love to watch and support a film by the maestro that is Shoaib Mansoor.

I would also like to give you the name of a company that distributed Sabiha Sumar's "Khamosh Pani" in Canada. They managed to show it in Waterloo, Kitchener and all over Toronto and its suburbs from what little I know. The name of the company is Mongrel Media and the URL is www.mongrelmedia.com. I'm sure if you contacted them, they could be helpful to securing a Canadian release of KKL.

I would also like to suggest that you consider entering KKL in the Toronto Film Festival. Unfortunately, the deadline for this year's entries has passed. But you can try your luck at https://apps.tiffg.ca/Submissions2007/rules_international.aspx. They might make an exception. I'm sure they would love to screen a film out of Pakistan that addresses the gap growing between the so-called liberal and conservative Muslims - especially in light of the current events in Pakistan. You should try to market the film in that context to the international market. I'm sure there will be a lot of interest.

Lastly, I sincerely hope that you will be able to bring the movie to Canada for the Pakistanis here who would love to watch and support a good Pakistani film. I'm a huge fan of Shoaib Mansoor's and if I can do anything to help, please let me know and I will be happy to help in any way that I can. My best wishes are with Shoaib Mansoor, the KKL team and Geo for this wonderful effort that Pakistanis have been waiting for a very long time.

normally I wouldnt make such threads stickies, but MT asked me so nicely :)

Looking at the trailers, the production values seem quite outstanding. It LOOKs the part.

Is this film going to be shown in the UK? And I dont mean in London!

i don't think music is as some of u claim... i miss that traditional pakistani/indian whining tone in it.........maybe it is there but just not enough of it

ragoo52 said:
i don't think music is as some of u claim... i miss that traditional pakistani/indian whining tone in it.........maybe it is there but just not enough of it
well there is No violin either but These singers and musicinas are not from the regular film industry. that tone has gone in the pop or new stuff that has been coming out last 10+ years.

ok guys, for those of you want to see the film in your city, region, please shoot Rehmat Fazli an email at: rehmat.fazli@geo.tv

I sent him the following email. this is not a template but just meant to encourage everyone who's interested to send an email to Geo to get the film out playing in as many cities as possible:

Thanks MT for encouraging every one to shoot an email. I am also encouraging PPer's in US esp in NY/NJ area to send an email to rehmat Fazli.

Quite brilliant stuff that is. Seems like a movie with a huge point behind it.

I'm looking forward to this movie, I realy loved the video clip of Supreme Ishq back in 2003 of shoab Mansoor. He has got some talent.