Kulsoom Nawaz to be made new PML-N president: reports

The PML-N's top brass on Thursday decided to get MNA Kulsoom Nawaz elected as the next party chief, a source privy to the development told DawnNews.

Ousted prime minister Nawaz Sharif held a meeting at Punjab House for consultations on the new leader of the party a day after he was removed as PML-N head following a Supreme Court judgement that also nullified all official party decisions taken by Sharif since his disqualification in July last year.

The participants of the meeting agreed to get Sharif's wife Kulsoom — who is undergoing treatment for cancer in London — elected as the party's new president, the source told DawnNews.

According to the source, Sharif spoke during the meeting for only 10 minutes and listened to party leaders for the rest of the time.

None of the participants suggested that the younger Sharif brother, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif, should be made the party's president, the source claimed.

Earlier today, PML-N Chairman Zafarul Haq had told reporters that PML-N's central working committee will appoint the party's interim president next week.

Kulsoom was diagnosed with early-stage lymphoma in August last year and has been in London since, where she has undergone multiple surgeries and at least five chemotherapy sessions.

She had left for the United Kingdom before she could begin campaigning for the by-poll on NA-120 seat that was vacated after her husband's disqualification.

Due to her diagnosis, Kulsoom could not return to Pakistan and her campaign was run by her daughter Maryam Nawaz instead. She won the elections after a close contest with Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf's Dr Yasmin Rashid.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1391010/kulsoom-nawaz-to-be-made-new-pml-n-president-source

The crown shall remain within the shahi khandaan.... then we have Sharif worshippers like [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] tell us this is democracy.

Sometimes a family is sent down to earth to rule a nation.
They are chosen people and have a Devine right to rule and in return for their service to the nation they can take as much of the bounty as possible.

Forgetting voting for them on Election Day, the entire nation should just bow their head to them.

God save the Shariffs.

Bless you Nawaz, Kulsoom and their holy children.

Amen

Did she have cancer?! Wasn't she getting treatment in London or is it just one the Sharifs many gimmicks?

More and more i am convinced that this was just a ploy. So far she has stood for and won an election but has never attended a single day representing her electorate, now she is being appointed as the President of the party even though she supposedly at deaths door.

She has royal blood so everything goes. We should bow our heads in obedience to these Sharifs.

Mate they don’t have to be in the country to win a seat..
Not when they have Devine intervention which produces a fistful of rupees to the electorate.

In any self respecting country the Nooras would be all in prison but it Allahs punishment on our country that we have these crooks in charge.

No patwari spotted so far [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION].But it is still not confirm.

The crown shall remain within the shahi khandaan.... then we have Sharif worshippers like [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] tell us this is democracy.

Why is that hurting you? People vote for the name. That's how its always been. Remove IK from PTI, there is nothing

In any self respecting country the Nooras would be all in prison but it Allahs punishment on our country that we have these crooks in charge.

So would all the army generals and the PCO judges. But hey democracy is the reason our country was destroyed. Despite 30 years of Martial Law and 10 years of controlled democracy.

Atleast elected members have to renew their mandate every 5 years. What do the army generals do besides making plots in DHA and playing golf and destablizing the counrtry? Meanwhile taking more thant 50% of our budget. Same for the judiciary, the most corrupt and unaccountable judiciary has been a part of our country. Those are the ones who deserve the real punishment.

So would all the army generals and the PCO judges. But hey democracy is the reason our country was destroyed. Despite 30 years of Martial Law and 10 years of controlled democracy.

Atleast elected members have to renew their mandate every 5 years. What do the army generals do besides making plots in DHA and playing golf and destablizing the counrtry? Meanwhile taking more thant 50% of our budget. Same for the judiciary, the most corrupt and unaccountable judiciary has been a part of our country. Those are the ones who deserve the real punishment.

Not a single “sane” person would call Nawas Sharif and family non corrupt.

Still less corrupt than what our military establishment has done. Actually they are the ones that destroyed a whole generation of intellectual thinkers and activists in the 60s, when studen federations in the country would actually win you elections. NSF has some really big names who was active all over Pakistan. Our military establishment took the educated class out of politics and took them back to the drawing room, and brought it into the hands of Jahils maulvis and thugs who were chauddhries.

Gone are the days when the student federation was the sole reason for ousting military dictators like Ayub after going unrest against his dictatorship, in favor of free and fair elections. The only time it happened resulted in Sheikh Mujeeb coming into power and division of Pakistan.

The system we have today is as a result of that. A collective change in the priority because these corrupt mafias were the only ones that towed the line of military establishment.. with religious right wing as the backup. A relgiion card is always brought up to remove any one from power.

Which is why now when the establishment can't contain the genuine street power that Nawaz is maintaining and rallying to his cause, they can't find any option but to remove him from his own party.

This will only increase his cult, establishment engineers should've realized this after the way they enforced the murder of Bhutto in the 70s and what chaos that led to

Which is why now when the establishment can't contain the genuine street power that Nawaz is maintaining and rallying to his cause, they can't find any option but to remove him from his own party.

This will only increase his cult, establishment engineers should've realized this after the way they enforced the murder of Bhutto in the 70s and what chaos that led to

you sound like comical ali from Iraq war fame.

Nawaz is history, one by one they will all be dealt with.

Have a look at what happened to taafa warlord and the MQM.....

Still less corrupt than what our military establishment has done. Actually they are the ones that destroyed a whole generation of intellectual thinkers and activists in the 60s, when studen federations in the country would actually win you elections. NSF has some really big names who was active all over Pakistan. Our military establishment took the educated class out of politics and took them back to the drawing room, and brought it into the hands of Jahils maulvis and thugs who were chauddhries.

Gone are the days when the student federation was the sole reason for ousting military dictators like Ayub after going unrest against his dictatorship, in favor of free and fair elections. The only time it happened resulted in Sheikh Mujeeb coming into power and division of Pakistan.

The system we have today is as a result of that. A collective change in the priority because these corrupt mafias were the only ones that towed the line of military establishment.. with religious right wing as the backup. A relgiion card is always brought up to remove any one from power.

Less corrupt or more corrupt means jail. Let them all face jail. NS was PM why didnt he go after the more corrupt as you call them. The field was open but the guy was corrupt and he didnt have the moral authority.
Do agree that he should already be in jail?

Nooras have no street power, did you see anyone on the streets yesterday. Come on lets see him with All you Nooras on the streets. Come on guys sacrifice yourself for NS sake. I dare Nooras to show some courage.

Less corrupt or more corrupt means jail. Let them all face jail. NS was PM why didnt he go after the more corrupt as you call them. The field was open but the guy was corrupt and he didnt have the moral authority.

No.

Try doing that and you will see what happens.

you sound like comical ali from Iraq war fame.

Nawaz is history, one by one they will all be dealt with.

Have a look at what happened to taafa warlord and the MQM.....

Please stop watching too many films. MQM will still get the largest amounts of votes in the city regardless of what is said in the media. Too many PTI supporters with too little knowledge on how politics works here

one lien for you "Noora is history"

Now cry and bash ghq, pti, sc as much as you want meri teraf se bain be kerlo but it's written on the wall "NOORA is HISTORY"

Thanks for the history lesson that everyone already knew.
This is about a corrupt elected politician who was disqualified for corruption, money laundering, his inability to probed trail for money.

Question. Is he not corrupt?
Does evidence against him provide solid evidence that he is corrupt? Yes!
Should a corrupt politician continues to be PM of a country ? No!
Should a corrupt politician continue to be the head of his party? No!
If he is corrupt then why one should continue to keep supporting them? No idea. The only explanation I can come up with is either they have lots of investment to protect or they are just delusional.

Army is the only well established institution in Pakistan. One can’t just dismantle the army, it is just not possible in Pakistan at the moment. The people of Pakistan can do one thing, and that is to hold accountable the corrupt elected politician. Solution for Pakistan’s problem is in politics and the politician are the only one who can bring about the change, with the support of its citizens, in every institution of Pakistan. A corrupt leader, and his corrupted politics can’t end corruption.

Nawas Sharif would have been disqualified on every court of the world, evidence against and his inability to provide trail would have disqualified him in any court if the world.

Now go ahead with your justification, changing your view, your comment on every post, and jumping from point to another to justify your love for your corrupt leader.

But you just said that he was corrupt. And as he is corrupt he needs to go to jail. As shown with previous threads you seem to suffer from amnesia after a couple of minutes.

I never said he was corrupt, I haven't seen anything that proves it. Even Supreme Court verdict was given on dishonesty and not Panama. Plus no politician is a 100% clear of corruption. Sorry to disappoint you

Let's rob a bank in Pakistan and if caught, start crying "Are we more corrupt than politicians and generals"? first punish them and then arrest us. Politicians will cry that generals are more corrupt and generals will cry that Nigerian are more corrupt and the cycle will continue.

By the way we treat corrupt generals same way as politicians but most corrupt Army men are usually retired ones as there is better check and balance in Army. Still give an institution powers and they can hang all generals for all i care.

And what a day for democracy :))

We all knew non Sharif can NEVER become a leader but even Sharif jnr is not acceptable WOW, i mean even some of the Mughal kings had better democratic process than these crooks.

Fact that they are even thinking about making someone head of party who had severe illness and was fighting for life (not long ago) ahead of many experienced politicians and even Sharif's brother makes this BIGGEST democracy joke.

And let's clap for people defending such decisions!

A brother doesn't even trust his younger brother who has been working with him for decades.

Democracy :))

And you were saying [MENTION=135196]waleed88[/MENTION]

Huge LOL.

MQM is finished. 1st Altaf, then Mustafa Kamal and now Farooq Sattar. All Gone.

They're done. Thanks to "establishment". Inshallah the establishment will stop at nothing when it comes to the sanctity and security of the nation. Keep crying with other students of democracy. Maybe someday you'll realise that democracy isn't for a nation that has a majority of jaahil awaam.

Let's rob a bank in Pakistan and if caught, start crying "Are we more corrupt than politicians and generals"? first punish them and then arrest us. Politicians will cry that generals are more corrupt and generals will cry that Nigerian are more corrupt and the cycle will continue.

By the way we treat corrupt generals same way as politicians but most corrupt Army men are usually retired ones as there is better check and balance in Army. Still give an institution powers and they can hang all generals for all i care.

Yes, try and get a vote first. Social media never won you votes, which is why PTI is always losing

Negligible compared to the main culprits. Country is better of in Nawaz's hands than the military establishment. Army is corrupt to the core.
So now that we agree that you said they were corrupt, i take it that we agree that they should go to jail. Finally you are seeing sense.

Not really. I feel then 95% of our politicians will be in jail. Can't put everyone in jail. Practically impossible. Ofcourse establishment doesn't want that. It wants the corrupts that are in their favor to stay. Thats how it picked and chosen.

They did whatever the system allowed them. The same was allowed for others too. Yet why are they the only ones that are facing trials? I disgaree with that notion.

Not really. I feel then 95% of our politicians will be in jail. Can't put everyone in jail. Practically impossible. Ofcourse establishment doesn't want that. It wants the corrupts that are in their favor to stay. Thats how it picked and chosen.

They did whatever the system allowed them. The same was allowed for others too. Yet why are they the only ones that are facing trials? I disgaree with that notion.

Oh dear i knew you couldnt bare to see the Noora king in jail. It has to be the worst justification ever not to deal with corruption. Why not send each and everyone of the 95% to jail. If its ok to send 1000's of the poor to jail, why dont we deal with the big crooks.

You keep blaming the establishment but its people like you who have no courage. Have some courage, be brave and call for all criminals to be sent down.

Oh dear i knew you couldnt bare to see the Noora king in jail. It has to be the worst justification ever not to deal with corruption. Why not send each and everyone of the 95% to jail. If its ok to send 1000's of the poor to jail, why dont we deal with the big crooks.

Not really, the real problem is people don't go to jail. Its the other way round, implementation of the law is only limited to the guy who actually becomes PM. Everyone else almost always goes scott-free.

Would also like to know any other PM that was dumped because of Panama besides ICeland PM (a country of 3lakh people).

Our establishment is a joke... we find the most ridiculous excuses to change regimes

[MENTION=135196]waleed88[/MENTION]

It's only reasonable to give someone new a fair crack of the whip. Can you please list some of her main policies if she's elected, apart from theft?

You keep blaming the establishment but its people like you who have no courage. Have some courage, be brave and call for all criminals to be sent down.

Have some courage, blame the army for the #FATF reports that are coming out. Foreign policy and Kashmir is strictly in army hands. The fact that our own is not cleaning our house is the reason it has alienated foreign countries and put sanctions on us. Golf khelnay say tou fursat milay

[MENTION=135196]waleed88[/MENTION]

It's only reasonable to give someone new a fair crack of the whip. Can you please list some of her main policies if she's elected, apart from theft?

Smooth transition for Mariyam to come into power once Nawaz retires.

What are her qualifications to lead the government? What has she studied? What is her experience?

Other than having Sharif in her name, running away with father's body guard and expecting child before marriage.

What are her qualifications to lead the government? What has she studied? What is her experience?

Other than having Sharif in her name, running away with father's body guard and expecting child before marriage.

Well you don't need to be highly qualified to be a head of the party or leader of the country. Otherwise a chai wala will not be PM of India right now.

I'm talking about government... why does she have divine right to be PM? I don't care if Noon league have a donkey or a pig as their president, what gives her the right to be PM? Please explain to me her qualifications that make her such a good leader.

Not really, the real problem is people don't go to jail. Its the other way round, implementation of the law is only limited to the guy who actually becomes PM. Everyone else almost always goes scott-free.

Would also like to know any other PM that was dumped because of Panama besides ICeland PM (a country of 3lakh people).

Our establishment is a joke... we find the most ridiculous excuses to change regimes

Again a poor reply with no logic. The PM of a country is thr 1st citizen, if he cant obey laws that he has passed then what is the point of any law. If people are corrupt and you accept he is corrupt, then why not call for all to be jailed. Your whole poorly constructed argument is to protect this crook. Based on your logic, no one should go to jail as apparently we have too many crooks and catching anyone by this logic is unfair.

I'm talking about government... why does she have divine right to be PM? I don't care if Noon league have a donkey or a pig as their president, what gives her the right to be PM? Please explain to me her qualifications that make her such a good leader.

Dont ask silly questions as there is no answer. I bet even SHOWBIZ feels humilated

As expected [MENTION=135196]waleed88[/MENTION] did a typical Noora patented runner when asked to speak the truth.