Let's be honest. We just are not good enough

The current selfish players are morally corrupt.

-playing/representing their country whilst injured
-only caring about personal milestones
-play at all costs to ensure they get their match fees
-friends, acquaintances playing over deserving players
-threatening to desert Pakistan if the captain doesn’t get his group of players or if the captain is removed

That’s the corruption you advocate for
Do not unnecessarily criticize so much that when we win the World Cup, you won't be able to celebrate.
However, this is nothing compared to what people of your sorts did last year when we lost to Zimbabwe, and we nearly won the t20 WC after that. Still haven't learned your lesson?

- When Shaheen went off in the final last year, mental case Shoaib Akhtar said that he would have carried on playing even if it meant he never played again but would not have abandoned a World Cup final and many people supported his statement. Kisi haal mai khush nahi

- Others don't care about personal milestones? The end of the India-Bangladesh match was all about whether Virat would get his century or not. That's the only thing the crowd wanted and KL Rahul went out of his way to ensure it happened.

- PCB match fee? LOL. These guys can earn literally 10 times more playing franchise cricket. Please grow up.

- Shadab was dropped today. Khush ab? The only 2 people who are genuinely friends with Babar and are close to his brothers as well are Imam and Usman Qadir.
Look up Imam's numbers- I am not a big fan but he justifies his place in the team. Usman Qadir is not even in the squad.

- That happened in 2007-08 when some "legends" went to play ICL for money knowing fully that they wont be able to represent Pakistan after that. Please do not accuse the current team of that.

The moment you stop equating Pakistan's performance with talent, and start equating Pakistan's performance with mindset, everything falls into place.

Netherlands do not have match winners, do not have a rich history of ODI cricket, do not have stand out players, but their mindset meant they were good enough on the day to beat South Africa whose batsmen were scoring WC 100s for fun, and against better teams than NL. Remember SA had NL on the ropes at 170 odd for 7.

Mindset brings out the worse in talented players and the even the best in less talented players.

Mindset. Mindset. Mindset.

Pakistan bowling unit were good enough to control the carnage and take 10 Wickets for just over 100 runs.

Pakistan openers were once again good enough to setup a late onslaught at 132/0

If Warner had not been dropped, then Aussies were all out for less than 300, 250 at best.

Here is the glaring stat that is never shown. During the carnage, and right up to Warner's wicket, Pak was 27 to 1 to win (Betfair). These odds dropped to 2.9 to 1 when Iftkhar hit the 3rd 6.

Pakistan do not have a talent problem, but have a mindset problem.
Another laughable, delusional take.

If Warner was not dropped, Smith would have gone on to score a big hundred. Maybe Labuchagne would have scored as well.

The reason the middle-order didn’t click was not because they got outclassed by Pakistani bowlers; they perished because Australia had a very long opening partnership and they were trying to slog and score very quickly.

Pakistan with its bowling had captaincy had zero chance of restricting Australia to <330 on this pitch on this ground and they were never going to chase that total with its fragile mindset led by a captain who is a massive bottler and the fakest king I have ever seen.

Another laughable, delusional take.

If Warner was not dropped, Smith would have gone on to score a big hundred. Maybe Labuchagne would have scored as well.

The reason the middle-order didn’t click was not because they got outclassed by Pakistani bowlers; they perished because Australia had a very long opening partnership and they were trying to slog and score very quickly.

Pakistan with its bowling had captaincy had zero chance of restricting Australia to <330 on this pitch on this ground and they were never going to chase that total with its fragile mindset led by a captain who is a massive bottler and the fakest king I have ever seen.
Smith and Labu? In the other thread on Australia team you stated that neither are ODI players because both are accumulator that are not suited for the ODI format amd should be replaced with Green and Head. Make your mind up.

When you want to diss a Pakistan century you always call it a fluke when said centurion was dropped. Now follow your own logic and remember what you post in other threads, though I guess hate does bring out the inconsistencies in your futile arguments against Pakistan.

Yes, by your logic, Australia fluked a win today.

Do not unnecessarily criticize so much that when we win the World Cup, you won't be able to celebrate.
However, this is nothing compared to what people of your sorts did last year when we lost to Zimbabwe, and we nearly won the t20 WC after that. Still haven't learned your lesson?

- When Shaheen went off in the final last year, mental case Shoaib Akhtar said that he would have carried on playing even if it meant he never played again but would not have abandoned a World Cup final and many people supported his statement. Kisi haal mai khush nahi

- Others don't care about personal milestones? The end of the India-Bangladesh match was all about whether Virat would get his century or not. That's the only thing the crowd wanted and KL Rahul went out of his way to ensure it happened.

- PCB match fee? LOL. These guys can earn literally 10 times more playing franchise cricket. Please grow up.

- Shadab was dropped today. Khush ab? The only 2 people who are genuinely friends with Babar and are close to his brothers as well are Imam and Usman Qadir.
Look up Imam's numbers- I am not a big fan but he justifies his place in the team. Usman Qadir is not even in the squad.

- That happened in 2007-08 when some "legends" went to play ICL for money knowing fully that they wont be able to represent Pakistan after that. Please do not accuse the current team of that.
If we win the World Cup….I’ll be the first here to state I have no right to celebrate. So don’t even try to argue that I will be here to lap in the glory.

Learned my lesson for what? Am I supposed to believe this is truly a world beater side? Is that the lesson I haven’t learned?! It’s you and people like you who haven’t learned their lesson. Do not paint this side, setup and approach to be something that it isn’t!

-It isn’t a side that is built on pure merit
-It isn’t a side that has cricketers playing the game with the correct approach
-it isn’t a side that is on par with the best cricketing nations of the world!

That’s the lesson you should have learned by now! It’s ok, plenty of time for you to learn it the hard way! And then the long tour down under for extra tuition classes for you to firm up the lesson that you are about to be taught

You will never understand why fans like you are THE problem.

You carry on with your understanding of the game, but the game is not played based on stats, it is all about mindset, and once you realise what effects the mindset of players, you will soon realise why fans like you are indeed the crux of the problem.
I always thought that our cricketers are self-made successful people and do not care ONE BIT about what people of this guy's calibre say but I was wrong. They do open up social media and are genuinely affected.

Look at Babar's press conference before India match. The journalist asked him jokingly what will happen if Pakistan loses to India? Will he lose his captaincy? (The tone suggested it was a light hearted question. On the same lines as 'how many TVs will be broken? We know no one breaks TVs after his/her team loses a match)

But Babar got over-protective. And the answer was Allah captaincy dene wala hai. Aur lene wala hai. Which suggested he has been taking the unnecessary criticism to heart.

Confidence is EVERYTHING. Virat scored 3 single digit scores in:
2015 WC semi-final vs Australia
2017 CT final vs Pakistan
2019 WC semi-final vs New Zealand

India lost all 3 matches. However, his people ensured he remained the biggest brand of the country and then he single handedly won them last year's t20 WC game against us.
Because he has confidence which comes from knowing that people believe in him.

Khair, neither me nor you would be able to convince such people that they don't know the harm they are causing by being on social media and making trolling national team cricketers as favorite past time.

I always thought that our cricketers are self-made successful people and do not care ONE BIT about what people of this guy's calibre say but I was wrong. They do open up social media and are genuinely affected.

Look at Babar's press conference before India match. The journalist asked him jokingly what will happen if Pakistan loses to India? Will he lose his captaincy? (The tone suggested it was a light hearted question. On the same lines as 'how many TVs will be broken? We know no one breaks TVs after his/her team loses a match)

But Babar got over-protective. And the answer was Allah captaincy dene wala hai. Aur lene wala hai. Which suggested he has been taking the unnecessary criticism to heart.

India lost all 3 matches. However, his people ensured he remained the biggest brand of the country and then he single handedly won them last year's t20 WC game against us.

Khair, neither me nor you would be able to convince such people that they don't know the harm they are causing by being on social media and making trolling national team cricketers as favorite past time.
Brilliantly put.

👍

If we win the World Cup….I’ll be the first here to state I have no right to celebrate. So don’t even try to argue that I will be here to lap in the glory.

Learned my lesson for what? Am I supposed to believe this is truly a world beater side? Is that the lesson I haven’t learned?! It’s you and people like you who haven’t learned their lesson. Do not paint this side, setup and approach to be something that it isn’t!

-It isn’t a side that is built on pure merit
-It isn’t a side that has cricketers playing the game with the correct approach
-it isn’t a side that is on par with the best cricketing nations of the world!

That’s the lesson you should have learned by now! It’s ok, plenty of time for you to learn it the hard way! And then the long tour down under for extra tuition classes for you to firm up the lesson that you are about to be taught
Yes it is a side built on pure merit. It I had any authority, I would have picked 14/15 that were selected. Haris Sohail in place of Saud but I do get the logic why they discarded Haris Sohail

Correct approach comes from being confident. Sadly, fans, media, ex-players in order to stay relevant, have unnecessarily criticized our team so much that they have lost all their confidence. But they will bounce back.

Played semi-final and final of last 2 t20 WCs. Was number 1 in ODI just a couple of weeks ago
Definitely on par with other top teams

If we have Naseem, Shaheen, Ihsanullah playing down under, we would thrash Australia. But looks like all 3 will miss that series.
So obviously we won't do well

Smith and Labu? In the other thread on Australia team you stated that neither are ODI players because both are accumulator that are not suited for the ODI format amd should be replaced with Green and Head. Make your mind up.

When you want to diss a Pakistan century you always call it a fluke when said centurion was dropped. Now follow your own logic and remember what you post in other threads, though I guess hate does bring out the inconsistencies in your futile arguments against Pakistan.

Yes, by your logic, Australia fluked a win today.
You don’t need to be ODI players to perform against a talentless, mental midget team like Pakistan. Pakistan with its best this best that pace attack gave Marsh a century. A fine player but not an ODI opener.

Australia will beat Pakistan 9/10 times in ODIs with its full strength team so them beating Pakistan can’t be a fluke. Pakistan beating Australia would be a fluke.

Yes it is a side built on pure merit. It I had any authority, I would have picked 14/15 that were selected. Haris Sohail in place of Saud but I do get the logic why they discarded Haris Sohail

Correct approach comes from being confident. Sadly, fans, media, ex-players in order to stay relevant, have unnecessarily criticized our team so much that they have lost all their confidence. But they will bounce back.

Played semi-final and final of last 2 t20 WCs. Was number 1 in ODI just a couple of weeks ago

If we have Naseem, Shaheen, Ihsanullah playing down under, we would thrash Australia. But looks like all 3 will miss that series.
Keep believing whatever that makes you feel proud. I will choose reality.

Number 1 side in the world but in a space of 30 days we have witnessed 3-5 times this side being wiped the floor with

You don’t need to be ODI players to perform against a talentless, mental midget team like Pakistan. Pakistan with its best this best that pace attack gave Marsh a century. A fine player but not an ODI opener.

Australia will beat Pakistan 9/10 times in ODIs with its full strength team so them beating Pakistan can’t be a fluke. Pakistan beating Australia would be a fluke.
You are now arguing against yourself, your own logic, and your own posts in another thread.

Carry on with the anti-Pakistan vitirol. Maybe one day you will realise how your mindset never recovered after the CT17 final, and how it has resulted in your inconsistent performance when arguing since then.

😎

If Babar was half as good as Kohli, people would cut him slack for failing in three semifinals.

Confidence is not everything because confidence can’t compensate lack of talent, skill and mental fortitude.

Netherlands won’t win the World Cup by having the confidence.

Delusional Pakistani fans have been beating the confidence drum over the last few days because they can’t accept that Pakistan is not good enough just like they can’t accept that Babar is completely inferior to Kohli in every aspect and delusional fans giving him confidence won’t help him bridge that gap.

Confidence is earned. It is not given. It is not charity.

Lol.

Yes it has NOTHING to do with Kohli being an ATG that Kohli smacked those memorable sixes.

It had everything to do with confidence.

If I walk out on the tennis court today, I can beat Djokovic if I am confident.

Just a joke.

Its not even funny anymore.

Lmao.

Better teams have gone to Australia and not even drew a single Test Down Under despite having players like Wasim, Shoaib etc.

And we would thrash Australia Down Under.

Do you even think before you make those leaps of faith?

Lmao.

Better teams have gone to Australia and not even drew a single Test Down Under despite having players like Wasim, Shoaib etc.

Replace thrash with do well

Confidence also stems from a mindset.

Gosh, this is elementary knowledge.
Mindset will not compensate lack of skill and talent and mental application.

Please accept it once and for all. It is not that difficult.

Confidence and mindset make a difference when you have the ability and the skill in the first place.

If you’re lacking on those fronts this confidence and mindset won’t do anything for you.

Lmao.

What’s the point of trying to reason with them? They are so blind with delusion it’s unbelievable!

Lol.

Yes it has NOTHING to do with Kohli being an ATG that Kohli smacked those memorable sixes.

It had everything to do with confidence.

If I walk out on the tennis court today, I can beat Djokovic if I am confident.

Just a joke.

Its not even funny anymore.
You do not have the skill that Djokovic has

BABAR has the skill to be an ATG. All he needs is confidence

Even after today's performance, haters are stating SSA 5'fr was a fluke.

This is the perfect example of how to shoot down your own, rain, sleet, or shine.

The mentality of said fans and media is beyond redemption.

Even English media learned their lessons from the past, there is nothing to gain by ridiculing your countrymen in public. Now look, England are performing well across all sports because the nation supports them, including the media.

99% of the battles Pakistan team face are against their own countrymen, and the other 1% is on the field, and this will 100% effect their mindset.

Lmao.

Yeah because those teams were busy fixing matches. People like you deserve crooks like Wasim Akram representing you

Not honest cricketers like Babar and Shaheen

This confidence thing has to be the biggest load of crap I have ever seen on this forum.

Babar does NOT have the skill to be an ATG.

He is Jayawardene type of batsmen who can look aesthetically pleasing but he cannot dominate like true ATG.

Sir Vivian Richards, Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Brian Lara, Virat Kohli and Babar Azam????

Is that your standards for ATG now?

Only Babar, Rizwan and Shaheen are world class players that this Pakistan team has produced and inspite of that, they have lost against their two obvious nemesis- India and Australia.

Imam, Rauf, Fakhar aren't world class standard.

This is the perfect example of how to shoot down your own, rain, sleet, or shine.

Even English media learned their lessons from the past, there is nothing to gain by ridiculing your countrymen in public. Now look, England are performing well across all sports because the nation supports them, including the media.

99% of the battles Pakistan team face are against their own countrymen, and the other 1% is on the field, and this will 100% effect their mindset.
I was watching the India game with a friend and he didn't know Babar is the current ICC CRICKETER OF THE YEAR
And Shaheen won it the year before

Our media, fans, jealous ex-cricketers NEVER celebrate our current team players.
And our cricketers are so humble they don't even mention such wins boastfully

Shoaib Akhtar was never even included in the ICC team of the year EVEN ONCE LET ALONE WIN CRICKETER OF THE YEAR but people here consider him a legend and Babar and Shaheen mediocre cricketers

God please knock some sense in such people

Mindset will not compensate lack of skill and talent and mental application.

Please accept it once and for all. It is not that difficult.

Confidence and mindset make a difference when you have the ability and the skill in the first place.

If you’re lacking on those fronts this confidence and mindset won’t do anything for you.
You are just repeating yourself, and I have proven how your statement is wrong, by your own past opinions, in particular when you attributed Kohli's drop in performance due to his post marriage mindset, and not his confidence.

You are the prime example of how an unstable mindset results in inconsistent performances.

Yeah because those teams were busy fixing matches. People like you deserve crooks like Wasim Akram representing you

Not honest cricketers like Babar and Shaheen

Yeah since 1992, Pakistan has been fixing matches in Australia.

Thats why we cant even DRAW a single test there since time immemorial.

Now you are just lying to yourself.

There might have been a dodgy Sydney test but we managed to LOSE EVERY SINGLE TEST played in Australia since 1995 if I remember correctly.

And Shaheen and Naseem (who averages 33 in Tests by the way) would thrash Australia Down Under.

Right.

And tomorrow I can buy a Rolls Royce because they are offering a discount.

You call it what it is. Did Shaheen honestly deserve to take two wickets in that Marsh wicket over?

I was watching the India game with a friend and he didn't know Babar is the current ICC CRICKETER OF THE YEAR

Our media, fans, jealous ex-cricketers NEVER celebrate our current team players.

Shoaib Akhtar was never even included in the ICC team of the year EVEN ONCE LET ALONE WIN CRICKETER OF THE YEAR but people here consider him a legend and Babar and Shaheen mediocre cricketers

When Pakistan won the CT17, Amir Sohail, a WC winner with Pakistan, was on live TV and claimed the CT17 final was fixed!

This is coming from a ex-Pakistan WC winner! I can also guarantee that his mindset never recovered after that infamous 1996 WC match.

So if ex-players have no respect for the Pakistan national team, then what chance do the fans and media?

All the hate being spewed by our fans and the media is the direct result of their negative mindset, and they further add insult to injury by believing they want - wait for this - the best for Pakistan.

Utterly shameful. Worse thing is they actually join forces with arch rivals India to ridicule, undermine, and mock Pakistan! These people are not fans, they are traitors.

Yeah since 1992, Pakistan has been fixing matches in Australia.

Thats why we cant even DRAW a single test there since time immemorial.

Now you are just lying to yourself.

There might have been a dodgy Sydney test but we managed to LOSE EVERY SINGLE TEST played in Australia since 1995 if I remember correctly.

And Shaheen and Naseem (who averages 33 in Tests by the way) would thrash Australia Down Under.

Right.

And tomorrow I can buy a Rolls Royce because they are offering a discount.
Let's leave this for when the Australia series starts.
We nearly won a test match in 98 as well that Gilchrist snatched away from us

I only started watching cricket from 2004 and in that series Australia were just too strong. They would have even beaten a World eleven

In 2010, you had the worse keeper of all time. Can't except to win anything when a catch taken is seen as a blessing rather than a given

In 2016, we nearly won the test match in which Asad Shafiq battled well. It took a special delivery to keep us away from winning a test match

Our 2019 team had a raw bowling line up. With no experience

This time, if Shaheen is there and Naseem and Ihsanullah also get fit, we would DEFINITELY win atleast one test

Think of this. When the first innings ended, pakistan chances of winning the match was less than 4% as per the bookmakers odds. For a brief moment just before the zampa over when he claimed Iktikhar, Pak winning probability was 60%. There aren't many teams in the world which can take up their chances from 4% to 60% when they are chasing 370 against Australia. What Pakistan lacked is lower order depth. Top and middle order with all its issues and shortcomings somehow still works well for Pakistan.

When Pakistan won the CT17, Amir Sohail, a WC winner with Pakistan, was on live TV and claimed the CT17 final was fixed!

This is coming from a ex-Pakistan WC winner! I can also guarantee that his mindset never recovered after that infamous 1996 WC match.

So if ex-players have no respect for the Pakistan national team, then what chance do the fans and media?

All the hate being spewed by our fans and the media is the direct result of their negative mindset, and they further add insult to injury by believing they want - wait for this - the best for Pakistan.

Utterly shameful. Worse thing is they actually join forces with arch rivals India to ridicule, undermine, and mock Pakistan! These people are not fans, they are traitors.
No law. If this was a half decent country, this pathetic person would have had to face jail time for slander

It's a pity that he is still allowed to show his face on different sports shows as an "expert"

I want this kind of confidence in life entire generation , Legend travelled Australia faced humiliation and won just single test, They can't even compete for 3 days lost with those mercurial bowler whom poster mentioned in post Saheen, Naseem against Australia in Pakistan and Naseem was smashed like club bowler in Australia last time they toured and here this guy day dreaming.

Not good enough for what?

We are definitely good enough to give teams a challenge but if you are saying we are not good enough to win/dominate big games or win big competitions like the World Cup then any sensible fan would know that already.

Look at the decline, over the last decade we were inconsistent but at least we had match winning players, flood of talent in reserve.

Now apart from from the playing 11, we have no reserve of real talent, no prime wicket taking spinner, no explosive batsmen, no genuine swing bowlers in reserve. Pakistan’s cricket is at a peak decline.

Afghanistan are better than us, and have shown that throughout their improvements.

You cannot have an incompetent captain in cricket ie Babar Azam be given unaccountable chances for 3-4 years

Was really disturbing to see Shaheen doing over the top celebrations after his cheap 5 wckt hall.. kid ur team just got pumped for 370 his acting like his taken 5/15 & aus all out for 170.

Reminds me of sohail khan ott celebration of kohlis wckt after he smashed 100.
Teams mentality needs fixing

Too much rona dhona. It is a long tournament with 9 games. You are bound to drop a couple of games against another big boys. They are also here to play.
I will still not write Pakistan out. They can bounce back Champions Trophy/ WC 1992/ WC 2022 style and reach Semis.
Then you never know. Pakistan are always a scary opposition when they are on roll.

ICC awards were first introduced in the 2003-04 season. Akhtar's peak was before that. But I understand your anger on him. He keeps ridiculing the current players and makes himself look like he was the greatest ever to grace the game.

Was really disturbing to see Shaheen doing over the top celebrations after his cheap 5 wckt hall.. kid ur team just got pumped for 370 his acting like his taken 5/15 & aus all out for 170.

Reminds me of sohail khan ott celebration of kohlis wckt after he smashed 100.
Teams mentality needs fixing
Did Virat Kohli take his helmet off in celebration when he scored a century against Afghanistan in Asia Cup 2022 ????
Even though India had already been eliminated at that point

Did he?

Did Indians celebrate his century or they were more pissed off about getting eliminated from the Asia Cup?

I swear on my life if we demanded 1/10th from corrupt politicans and bureaucrats that we do from present cricketers, we would be a top 10 economy

They are humans. Give them some space. Shaheen took a 5 wicket haul after a long time, plus it was a 350 pitch. And Pakistan had made a strong comeback by restricting Australia below 400 which looked like a real possibility throughout the innings

Guys, there is no need to be involved in a personal conflict here. Please stick to the topic.

Bro, India is harsher on fans then we are lol. We actually treat our fans openly in public with respect.

All of Twitter was overreacting and wanted kphli to be dropped because he didn't score a century for a year despite only playing 8 matches since covid during that time.

The press was harrassing rohit sharma non stop for his poor run of form in 2020 to 2022, to the point that a journalist asked kohli who was captain at the time, that he shpuld just drop rohit and kohli gave him a shup up call. People were making sumo memes about him and making weight comments.

Indians don't care about social media at all, they don't need to. Cause social media will always be negative no matter what you do, I use to get harrassed multiple times on Discord for just gaming lol.

The whole confidence thing is their fault if their taking social media drama to heart. Just avoid social media lol 😂😂.

Secondly it's not about confidence so much as mindset. Even when our team reached no 1 bullying d string New Zealand all our players except fakhar played in their comfort zones and still played the way they normally do.

The issue isn't confidence it's not willing to escape your comfort zone.

Kohli was memed nonstop about not being able to play inswing and outswing in 2012 but he improved and these deliveries are a joke to him now, he was mocked for being a home Bully and a parchi on foreign attacks due to his 2015 wc chocke and yet he came back and dominated Australia on their home turf.

Their players take massive crotisim and prove their critics wrong 24/7, our players stay in their shells. How many times have genuine critics calmly told babar to try to attack the bowling, not slow down for milestones and improve on your game? Same with Imam?

Imam has constant short ball issues and only now he's training in nets against it. Maybe if he hadn't made those I'm untouchable and parchi comments he'd have practised in the net 5 years ago rather then now.

Bro, we support more Pakistan and so does our awaam. We want the best for Pakistan lol. If you're supporting this medicore team then sure, have at it.

But you and I both know the problems, you just don't wanna admit them. Heck you even agreed with me last night, our management can't even get the right bench strength, the reserves are superior to our bench lol 😂😂

I'm a sad Sri Lankan fan of Pakistan. Have to be honest. Pakistan is gone. You guys could have achieved something with players like Saim Ayub. The problem is not with Shaheen or Rauff, they can have off days, just like how Pat Cummins did. It's just that your spinners are so pathetic and Babar isn't firing the way he used to at his prime. Pakistan will not make it to the Semis. They'll end up above Netherlands for sure, but may have to battle it out with Sri Lanka,Bangladesh for the No.7 position.

Bro, India is harsher on fans then we are lol. We actually treat our fans openly in public with respect.

All of Twitter was overreacting and wanted kphli to be dropped because he didn't score a century for a year despite only playing 8 matches since covid during that time.

The press was harrassing rohit sharma non stop for his poor run of form in 2020 to 2022, to the point that a journalist asked kohli who was captain at the time, that he shpuld just drop rohit and kohli gave him a shup up call. People were making sumo memes about him and making weight comments.

Indians don't care about social media at all, they don't need to. Cause social media will always be negative no matter what you do, I use to get harrassed multiple times on Discord for just gaming lol.

The whole confidence thing is their fault if their taking social media drama to heart. Just avoid social media lol 😂😂.

Secondly it's not about confidence so much as mindset. Even when our team reached no 1 bullying d string New Zealand all our players except fakhar played in their comfort zones and still played the way they normally do.

The issue isn't confidence it's not willing to escape your comfort zone.

Kohli was memed nonstop about not being able to play inswing and outswing in 2012 but he improved and these deliveries are a joke to him now, he was mocked for being a home Bully and a parchi on foreign attacks due to his 2015 wc chocke and yet he came back and dominated Australia on their home turf.

Their players take massive crotisim and prove their critics wrong 24/7, our players stay in their shells. How many times have genuine critics calmly told babar to try to attack the bowling, not slow down for milestones and improve on your game? Same with Imam?

Imam has constant short ball issues and only now he's training in nets against it. Maybe if he hadn't made those I'm untouchable and parchi comments he'd have practised in the net 5 years ago rather then now.

Bro, we support more Pakistan and so does our awaam. We want the best for Pakistan lol. If you're supporting this medicore team then sure, have at it.

But you and I both know the problems, you just don't wanna admit them. Heck you even agreed with me last night, our management can't even get the right bench strength, the reserves are superior to our bench lol 😂😂
In India, the criticism doesn't come from ex-cricketers. In Pakistan, all ex-cricketers play their part in pulling the team down.

Most of the comments of our ex-cricketers after we lose a match are below the belt and just not how criticism should be directed.

And bro, I agreed on Abrar. How can anyone possibly consider Shadab and Nawaz as better spinners than him?
They need to tell ICC fakhar's knee injury is very serious and get Abrar in the team asap

In India, the criticism doesn't come from ex-cricketers. In Pakistan, all ex-cricketers play their part in pulling the team down.

Most of the comments of our ex-cricketers after we lose a match are below the belt and just not how criticism should be directed.

And bro, I agreed on Abrar. How can anyone possibly consider Shadab and Nawaz as better spinners than him?
They need to tell ICC fakhar's knee injury is very serious and get Abrar in the team asap
The ex cricketers point is fair. I agree on that. The ex cricketer hate culture needs to go.

But our management has genuine problems. It's not the players, it's the management mindset.

The management awards selection based of averages or dosti yaari. So players like imam try to get glorified averages but playing purely safe rather then adjust to modern standards, since maths winning contributions won't be looked at, the average will.

Or the players who deserve merit are sidelined and humiliated. For all the talk on people being mean to babar, Babar literally threw zaman Khan under the bus for mot performing in a semi final pressure situation bit praised sheddy and nawaz like no tmr, only now he's realising sheddy isn't the answer, whereas India would have done so immediately hence them dropping dhawan instantly for Gill.

The management also has the philosophy of play first 30 overs risk free, and bash in the final 20 and try to take the game as deep as possible which doesn't work since taking the game deep just creates unnecessary pressure.

Lastly the media hype of no 1 created more problems. We are not a no 1 team, we should be stiving to become a world class team but no one sees anything wrong with the no 1 glorified rank.

Lastly babar and rizwan are 100% at fault for the way they block others. Rizwan in odi and Babar in t20 for opening. It takes years to groom a player lol, look how long rohit and kohli took to develop. Even babar and rizwan were trash when they appeared, it took uears to develop to get them where they are now, You can't Block youngsters like saim, tayyab and saud

Look how unfair it is for saud and Abdullah, these 2 are your 2 best test batsmen and you had the opportunity to give them a solid 2 years of practise, heck this year alone their were 8 odi's being played before the Asia cup, you brought saud in last minute and Abdullah in in an Asia cup semi final stage. That's not how you develop players. Why was tayyab also randomly discarded for no reason?

Babar is a captain, he has massive say in the management, if people are being harsh on him for him captaincy, then rather then getting upset and saying bas allah khair Karei, maybe he should try to look at all these points. Not every hater is a troll, and many come up with solid suggestions.

I struggle with why there is so much angst on here today.

We are not good enough, however that is not a reason to not support the team.

There is minimal evidence that choosing a completely different eleven would really make that much difference.
We have two world class players (Babar and SSA), some good ones (Abdullah, Rizwan) and some generally ok ones.
But that’s about it.

Why can’t a country of 250 million produce a world beating side (when cricket is the major sport) is an imponderable question, though a bit like why Pakistan had a GDP comparable to South Korea’s in the 1950s, and look where they are now and where Pakistan rests.

It’s a bit like the football side I follow — we won’t beat Man City, it’s unlikely we will win the PL (though we got close last year) but you support them come what may. Through the thick and thin even if they never win another trophy ever again.

I believe that is called being a true fan ( the etymology of the word is from the word fanatic — “marked by excessive enthusiasm and intense uncritical devotion”)

I think it's going to be a difficult few years as a Pakistan fan. If you look around the domestic scene, there are no great talents that are missing out. Most of the best players have been selected and are either in the team or failed to impress.
With the current domestic set up we're unlikely to see many new talents emerge. It will continue to be impress in the PSL for a place in the team, T20s, ODIs or Tests, the selectors don't care and it's hard to blame them when all other domestic tournaments are played on terrible pitches with little to no coverage.

Let's leave this for when the Australia series starts.
We nearly won a test match in 98 as well that Gilchrist snatched away from us

I only started watching cricket from 2004 and in that series Australia were just too strong. They would have even beaten a World eleven

In 2010, you had the worse keeper of all time. Can't except to win anything when a catch taken is seen as a blessing rather than a given

In 2016, we nearly won the test match in which Asad Shafiq battled well. It took a special delivery to keep us away from winning a test match

Our 2019 team had a raw bowling line up. With no experience

This time, if Shaheen is there and Naseem and Ihsanullah also get fit, we would DEFINITELY win atleast one test
"definitely win at least one test"

Some serious delusion here. None of the test matches will go into the 5th day.

Not even sure why Australia have agreed to pak touring. They are better of playing a Sheffield shield team

Struggling to qualify for the semi-finals, but are people really surprised?

The batting we know their capabilities, the bowling we know that it's limited without Naseem and the fielding is amongst the worst in world cricket.

Pakistan is not good enough but being led by poor captain . We could had won against Australia if Babar made correct bowling changes. Brought Shaheen too late after his first spell. Did not use full quota of the bowlers that were more economical and the ones that were harder to get away then likes of Rauf and Usama, i. e. Nawaz and Iftikhar. There has been no planning to even get Saud bowling.

Struggling to qualify for the semi-finals, but are people really surprised?

The batting we know their capabilities, the bowling we know that it's limited without Naseem and the fielding is amongst the worst in world cricket.
We have been at the same place since 1999. Our bowling is amongst the weakest in the tournament, our spinners are definitely the rubbishiest, our batsman lack talent and power and fielding is poor. Its a very average team and its made worse by playing in a terrible domestic tournament and also playing tripe like Zimbabwe and Windies too often

Too much rona dhona. It is a long tournament with 9 games. You are bound to drop a couple of games against another big boys. They are also here to play.
I will still not write Pakistan out. They can bounce back Champions Trophy/ WC 1992/ WC 2022 style and reach Semis.
Then you never know. Pakistan are always a scary opposition when they are on roll.
On top of this Pakistan have matches scheduled in some of the most flattest wickets where there bowling can be rendered toothless. These wickets demand a battathon.
Would like to see how they perform in Chennai? Also it could be because of security issues but Dharamshala is the perfect conditions for Pak attack. Would have loved to see them bowling there.

Denial is Pakistan’s biggest problem. Be it the players, coaches, media or fans.

It is an undisputed fact that Pakistan is not good enough. They lack talent, skill and mental resilience.

Unfortunately, most people want to shy away from this harsh reality and choose excuses or denial.

Pakistan can ONLY be good enough if they accept that they are not good enough because only then will they look inwards and try to understand WHY they are not good enough and take corrective measures.

But I keep hearing that our batting approach is just fine.

Maybe I am watching different matches to some.

I don’t even remember Kohli’s century against Afghanistan lol.

Some amusing posts here about Indian fans. If Kohli performed like Babar in this wc Indian fans would had asked for his head.

Denial is Pakistan’s biggest problem. Be it the players, coaches, media or fans.

It is an undisputed fact that Pakistan is not good enough. They lack talent, skill and mental resilience.

Unfortunately, most people want to shy away from this harsh reality and choose excuses or denial.

Pakistan can ONLY be good enough if they accept that they are not good enough because only then will they look inwards and try to understand WHY they are not good enough and take corrective measures.
There will be some that live in cloud cuckoo land bur most people know that our guys are a very average. We support them, as we should because there is no alternative. Its not as if we can start supporting another team like you can do in football or other Sports and even that is rare.
What pains me is that other countries boards are desperately planning their next moves, ours is a self serving crock of ****.

But I keep hearing that our batting approach is just fine.

Maybe I am watching different matches to some.
We have only had one player( FZ) that truly took a good attack apart in 2017. That should tell you that these guys are not good, and the ones below them are even worse. We could go ultra positive and maybe they can prove us wrong.

Pakistan, in many ways, do not respect the game. Cricket is a team game in which not only the process needs to be followed and respected, but the right pieces (players) need to be implemented into the team (whether in t20, ODI, and test). More specifically, eyeing players that are on the domestic come up with good, consistent performances that can potentially play for the national team, identifying which of these players are good for which formats, what position as a batsman/bowler they are appropriate for, and being able to give them a long enough rope to be able to give said players a chance to prove themselves.

Furthermore, while you are testing these players in international games, you also test out and give chances to your bench strength as well so that they are battle-ready for bigger games to come as well. This also creates a healthy competition amongst the players in the team as it is an environment where you need to prove yourself and convince everyone that you belong in the final XI.

From a coaching staff perspective, simply put, it needs to be an environment where everyone is firm but fair to the players. Give props to players who perform good and motivate your players to perform good as well but at the same time give honest, constructive criticisms to ALL of your players if they are not performing. From a captaincy perspective, the coach and captain, I feel, need to have constant communication when it comes to, say, how to approach an innings with the bat (whether setting or chasing a total), what field placings are necessary in all phases of the innings, how to manage/motivate your bowlers, out-of-box thinking, how to keep a level-head throughout your leadership of the team, etc, etc. If there were bad captaincy decisions from the captain, whether the team won or lost, the coach should be able to point that out and criticize the captain accordingly (in a mature and level-headed manner of course) and then to make improvements for future games.

Just going off the dome with this one but Pakistan just doesn't follow these aspects of the game properly to be considered a good, consistent team. Another factor is that they don't play good opposition enough to be able to fully test their skills out and properly see where they stand amongst the ranks (blame PCB for that). This WC is still proving that Pakistan will beat the lesser teams (Neth and SL) and lose comprehensively to the big teams (Ind and Aus). As a fan, I still hope they make the semis but when all things considered, it really isn't rocket science as to why Pakistan, on average, are not that good a team. Even if they go on those famous cornered tigers, mercurial runs to the WC trophy it still doesn't disspell what Pakistan lacks as a cricketing nation.

Where do we go from here, truthfully?

We can't take wickets and we score below par totals that are easily chased and impossible for our meek attack to defend.

When more than half of your squad doesn't deserve to be in national team, what different result do you expect.

I just want to say that the red flags were always their

In 2021 we lost to Zimbabwe chasing 120 with our main team

In 2022 we lost to Zimbabwe chasing 130 in a tournament

Same year we failed to win a single test at home

It was always apparent that the veneer of success built of stat padding vs B and C teams was going to be exposed and boy was it exposed

Yeah the team is not good enough. Huff and puff to win against SL is as good as it gets.

Pakistan, in many ways, do not respect the game. Cricket is a team game in which not only the process needs to be followed and respected, but the right pieces (players) need to be implemented into the team (whether in t20, ODI, and test). More specifically, eyeing players that are on the domestic come up with good, consistent performances that can potentially play for the national team, identifying which of these players are good for which formats, what position as a batsman/bowler they are appropriate for, and being able to give them a long enough rope to be able to give said players a chance to prove themselves.

Furthermore, while you are testing these players in international games, you also test out and give chances to your bench strength as well so that they are battle-ready for bigger games to come as well. This also creates a healthy competition amongst the players in the team as it is an environment where you need to prove yourself and convince everyone that you belong in the final XI.

From a coaching staff perspective, simply put, it needs to be an environment where everyone is firm but fair to the players. Give props to players who perform good and motivate your players to perform good as well but at the same time give honest, constructive criticisms to ALL of your players if they are not performing. From a captaincy perspective, the coach and captain, I feel, need to have constant communication when it comes to, say, how to approach an innings with the bat (whether setting or chasing a total), what field placings are necessary in all phases of the innings, how to manage/motivate your bowlers, out-of-box thinking, how to keep a level-head throughout your leadership of the team, etc, etc. If there were bad captaincy decisions from the captain, whether the team won or lost, the coach should be able to point that out and criticize the captain accordingly (in a mature and level-headed manner of course) and then to make improvements for future games.

Just going off the dome with this one but Pakistan just doesn't follow these aspects of the game properly to be considered a good, consistent team. Another factor is that they don't play good opposition enough to be able to fully test their skills out and properly see where they stand amongst the ranks (blame PCB for that). This WC is still proving that Pakistan will beat the lesser teams (Neth and SL) and lose comprehensively to the big teams (Ind and Aus). As a fan, I still hope they make the semis but when all things considered, it really isn't rocket science as to why Pakistan, on average, are not that good a team. Even if they go on those famous cornered tigers, mercurial runs to the WC trophy it still doesn't disspell what Pakistan lacks as a cricketing nation.

POTW. Well written and bang on the money 👏

Harris is good for T20s for sure but in Odi, I don't think he has the patience for that. Saim on the other hand is much more compact and technically sound.
Does patience even matter with such a horrible batting line up ? A quickfire 20-30 is better than the sad vigil we see these days by most Pakistani batsmen

Today's result is yet again proof that Pakistan team's mindset was shot to pieces BEFORE the match.

The body language, the tantrums, the pathetic fielding, the huddles, you name it - all if it screams - we are not united as a team and our mindset is rock bottom as a result.

Let’s be honest.

Not a single Pakistani player is among the best in class in his position/role.

Only Shaheen was close but he has also lost it because of injuries.

Babar is mediocre against strong attacks. There are several better WK batsmen than Rizwan.

On true merit, not a single Pakistan player will even make the C team of a World XI. That puts everything into perspective.

Pakistan is a terrible team. Delusional fans can do the confidence and mindset drama because they are at liberty with reality, but if you make a combined Pakistan-India, Pakistan-Australia, Pakistan-New Zealand and even Pakistan-England lineups, hardly 1-2 Pakistani players would feature.

So if both sets of teams have their confidence and mindset on point, Pakistan would still get smashed.

In other words, Pakistan can still not beat the top sides if the top sides bring their A game because if they day, Pakistan’s A game will not do the job.

Serious question.

Have you see any ATG player in history who plays spin as badly as Babar? I don't think it's simply confidence issue, it has something to do with skill as well. May be he does not have good spinners in Pakistan to practice or he does not play domestic games, but it's skill issue for him.

Their is a very famous quote I read that Pakistan doesn't seem to adopt. The quote goes like this

" While I am certain that their is a desire to point fingers at me, for the blood that is about be shed, unless you point that finger inwards, more blood will be lost"

^^ This quote basically illustrates that Pakistan just keeps pointing fingers at others, even yesterday against afghanistan everyone kept pointing fingers at other things such as pitch, conditons and hence blood has been spilt and we are wounded bad. Unless we actually point te finger inwards rather then have imam saying things like their is nothing wrong with our approach, more and more blood will be spilt and Pakistan will get more and more wounded in the process.

Let’s be honest.

Not a single Pakistani player is among the best in class in his position/role.

Only Shaheen was close but he has also lost it because of injuries.

Babar is mediocre against strong attacks. There are several better WK batsmen than Rizwan.

On true merit, not a single Pakistan player will even make the C team of a World XI. That puts everything into perspective.

Pakistan is a terrible team. Delusional fans can do the confidence and mindset drama because they are at liberty with reality, but if you make a combined Pakistan-India, Pakistan-Australia, Pakistan-New Zealand and even Pakistan-England lineups, hardly 1-2 Pakistani players would feature.

So if both sets of teams have their confidence and mindset on point, Pakistan would still get smashed.

In other words, Pakistan can still not beat the top sides if the top sides bring their A game because if they day, Pakistan’s A game will not do the job.
Warning signs were there in the Asia Cup. just that some fans ignored it. They had a hard reality check by finishing 4th. The loss against India was massive. Sri Lanka who had to play qualifier disposed them of. But Pakistan fans gave excuses "Too much travel, injury, etc.". But the quality of cricket was mediocre.

Come to the World Cup. In the warm-ups, they looked really listless. Again we heard excuses "It is only a warm-up they are getting used to condition". Then the first match against Sri Lanka. Absolutely butchered by Kusal Mendis. Thanks to the inexperience of Pathirana and co Pakistan miraculously won that match. Again fans only looked at the upside of the "highest chase in World Cup history" forgetting to analyze how the heck they conceded 345 runs to a team that got rolled over for 51 runs in the Asia Cup final. The Netherlands match also had top order in trouble. There were some red flags. Then comes the India match. Dramatically lost 8 wickets for 36 runs. Once again the excuse was "no Dil Dil Pakistan, crowd noise, etc". Australia's match was something that Pakistan was expected to lose. But not in the manner in which they lost. That onslaught by Warner and Marsh exposed the inadequacies once more. Fans were somewhat happy it was not a total blowout as Pakistan ended up crossing 300. Finally, against Afghanistan, many fans were talking about boosting NRR. Reality set in only after being outclassed by a professional performance from Afghanistan.

Optimistic fans ignored all the warning signs with one excuse or the other and were hoping for a miracle and unpredictable tag to stick once more. It might work in T20 format. Not in ODIs.

Pakistan is very talented. Everyone who's hiding behind the excuse that we aren't just so we can praise rizzu and act like he's a blessing is clearly bonkers.

If we weren't talented we wouldn't have won the acc emerging cup, that cup was literally composed of future superstars and you'll see India bring those lads into the mould eventually.

We still dominated.

The problem is that this talent is not cultivated. As saj said, management is focused on averages and meaningless rankings rather then actually showing up in important games.

We have a string of players who won us a cup but are completly underdeveloped? Why? Have you seen any other team in world cricket do this?

Saud and Abdullah didn't get any chance to get extended runs and were shoved into the team last minute, which is what happened in 2015 and 2017 as well. Tayyab was randomly discarded for no reason? None of our emerging acc team members are in the squad? Why? What was the point of the tournament then?

imam is completly happy and content and gets aggressive when anyone questions his approach at opening, Rizzu is a Crybaby and wants no 4 and isn't proving his worth at no 4.

The whole management is celebrating hitting a 6 in the first powerplay as if they've won the biggest game of their lives.

The whole mindset is medicore. Imam, Babar, Rizwan could have become all time greats. Anyone can become an all time great. Talent is not something that comes out of thin air. Look at chubby kohli from 2008 and how Garbage he use to be and look at him now?

How hard is it, to develop shots against the short ball? Or improve against spin? Or rizzu improving shots beyond those 3 shots he plays over and over. Everyone is in their comfort zones, that's the issue.

The hallmark of an ATG is getting out of your comfort zone, Rohit sharma was a failure and use of get mocked for being unable to attack in the lower order and play even a hint of swing or reverse swing, and guess what? Now he's opening, where the ball swings the most early on and he attacks beyond belief shutting up his critics. That's the definition of getting out of your damn comfort zone. Not babar who chooses to open cause he can't play anywhere else in t20 cause he never developed an attacking game

Pakistan is very talented. Everyone who's hiding behind the excuse that we aren't just so we can praise rizzu and act like he's a blessing is clearly bonkers.

If we weren't talented we wouldn't have won the acc emerging cup, that cup was literally composed of future superstars and you'll see India bring those lads into the mould eventually.

We still dominated.

The problem is that this talent is not cultivated. As saj said, management is focused on averages and meaningless rankings rather then actually showing up in important games.

We have a string of players who won us a cup but are completly underdeveloped? Why? Have you seen any other team in world cricket do this?

Saud and Abdullah didn't get any chance to get extended runs and were shoved into the team last minute, which is what happened in 2015 and 2017 as well. Tayyab was randomly discarded for no reason? None of our emerging acc team members are in the squad? Why? What was the point of the tournament then?

imam is completly happy and content and gets aggressive when anyone questions his approach at opening, Rizzu is a Crybaby and wants no 4 and isn't proving his worth at no 4.

The whole management is celebrating hitting a 6 in the first powerplay as if they've won the biggest game of their lives.

The whole mindset is medicore. Imam, Babar, Rizwan could have become all time greats. Anyone can become an all time great. Talent is not something that comes out of thin air. Look at chubby kohli from 2008 and how Garbage he use to be and look at him now?

How hard is it, to develop shots against the short ball? Or improve against spin? Or rizzu improving shots beyond those 3 shots he plays over and over. Everyone is in their comfort zones, that's the issue.

The hallmark of an ATG is getting out of your comfort zone, Rohit sharma was a failure and use of get mocked for being unable to attack in the lower order and play even a hint of swing or reverse swing, and guess what? Now he's opening, where the ball swings the most early on and he attacks beyond belief shutting up his critics. That's the definition of getting out of your damn comfort zone. Not babar who chooses to open cause he can't play anywhere else in t20 cause he never developed an attacking game
Pakistan won the Emerging Cup by selecting 30 year olds who have played internationals for Pakistan. While India fielded a squad full of U-23 players who are not even in reckoning for national team selection

Look at what happened in Asian Games where both India & Pakistan selected their actual B teams. India won Gold while Pakistan lost to both Afghanistan & Bangladesh & returned without any medal

Saying stuff like Pakistan has so much talent bcoz they won Emerging Cup is precisely the sort of delusional thinking that has landed Pakistan cricket in such a mess. Same thinking as Pakistan is best team bcoz they were No 1 in ICC Rankings. Or Babar is best bastman bcoz he was ranked No 1 in ICC

Pakistan won the Emerging Cup by selecting 30 year olds who have played internationals for Pakistan. While India fielded a squad full of U-23 players who are not even in reckoning for national team selection

Look at what happened in Asian Games where both India & Pakistan selected their actual B teams. India won Gold while Pakistan lost to both Afghanistan & Bangladesh & returned without any medal

Saying stuff like Pakistan has so much talent bcoz they won Emerging Cup is precisely the sort of delusional thinking that has landed Pakistan cricket in such a mess. Same thinking as Pakistan is best team bcoz they were No 1 in ICC Rankings. Or Babar is best bastman bcoz he was ranked No 1 in ICC
They selected one 29 year old in tayyab tahir lol.

Rest were all youngsters. Saim is 20, Haris 22 etc. Afghanistan were nearly at full strength international. They had more unfair advantages then we did.