Let's find me a cricket bat! [Mammoth Task Accomplished!!!]

Walaikumasalam!

Bhai, to be honest I think you made the right decision, because if you are going to be travelling around so much there really is no point.

I wish you all the best for the season, inshallah you will score tons of runs.:)

Thanks bro, appreciate that.

I must say that on the first indoor practice I basically blocked every ball, on the second I wen't for singles and on the third I found the gaps and some might even could have gone to the fence :afridi

Khayr, can't wait for our outdoor season to start!

So played in the nets with a few team mates a few days ago.
Used that Woodworm bat, it was okay. Then I changed to my friends Reebok bat (2"10) and the first ball I hit, I could really feel the difference.

Will try my friends CA bat next time, will see what happens :)
And I played this AWESOME shot and my friend took a picture, but he managed to focus on the NET so the NET is crystal clear while my shot is all blurry -___- It is SO annoying!

LOL, khair...

5654066949_de352c5242_b.jpg

cover drive bhai ur soo knowledgeable! i have one question, wud u recommend a light bat or heavy bat for a lower order batsmen?

you should first know what the bat is for. if meant for slogging, heavier bat is better but if you want to improve your batting, then go for a lighter bat.

Salaam salaam. No one replying me? :zoni

Lol, played a T20 match yesterday. Target was 69 and I went as an opener, we won the game after 13 something overs. Half of the runs came of wides and byes, AND I was dropped twice by the keeper (Hassan0987 from PP).

The fun part is that my score was 5 not out, hahaha. I faced the first and last delivery of our innings. Blocked around 40 balls I think, lol was fun :misbah

They put all their fielders around me but still could not get me out :azhar

Anyway, my point is. I tried my friends Zulfi MB something bat, and I did not middle many balls. I think the reason for this is since the middle was a bit low. Therefore, I think a bat with a higher middle is better suited for me.

Now another friends older brother just got me two bats, one CA and one custom made. I will borrow these from him and try it in the nets. Was thinking of taking some pictures of them and post it here, but from which angle etc do you need to see the pictures? :inzi

:))) LOL man you're a funny guy. 5 not out after 40 balls.

When taking a picture make sure you get the face of the bat so we can see the grains and also take a picture of the profile and finally if you could put like a coin or something on the edge so we get an idea of how big they are.

PS I didn't mean to offend you earlier in my post, just for some reason it made me laugh. I guess you are a funny guy. :inzi

JazakallahKhair.

Haha, and THAT was a T20 innings :misbah

Of course not bro, I have a very, very defensive playing style. But the thing is that the target was 69 from 120 deliveries, and we only had 7 batsmen per side and the first 3 wickets fell when we had 20-30 runs, so I just thought of just playing until the end. I even wanted to go for the :misbah shot when there were 2 runs required, and the ball was a full toss as well! But I had the temperament to not to :azhar

Also, check the picture I posted earlier with my shot. Too bad the guy focused on the net and not my shot :(

If you are getting Icon then go with that because you want extremely light and bat with light pickup and thats Icon for you.

Both are 2.7 and aesthetically Flare looks better but if you just want a light bat with lightest pickup and don't really care about the looks then go with Icon.

606 gloves & 606 bat is being ordered...

I am so exited, my first proper cricker bat :D

and DONE :junaid

jazak Allah kheiran, thank you for your help CD bhai :) will post pics waghera when I get the istuff :D
obviously gonna take some time, ordered it to a friends place in UK, and he is going to DHL me or something

You always create isuspense bhai, which 606? Laal wala or kaala wala?

No worries bro my pleasure to help you! Good to see you happy today :)

kaala wala :D

now have to remind my iskipper to book the indoor hall already so I can go clubbing :coverdrive

kaala wala :D

now have to remind my iskipper to book the indoor hall already so I can go clubbing :coverdrive

Haha :))

Did you pay with your Credit Card ? I hope it goes through because these companies who don't ship outside UK don't sometimes accept cards from countries other than UK.

In a day or two you will receive an email from JJB where they will confirm your order.

paid via paypal. the card name is not same as shipping name though, khair.
already got the confirmation :)

hehe thanks, although nothing is sure until it is reached at my friends place :)

and we are the same age =P "boy" lol.
but I am istill a boy though :I

Found something interesting in the GM brochure thingy or what you call it that I have.

"GM NOW! bats should first be used to hit short catches and/or "throw downs" with an old, good quality cricket ball. It is advisable to initially avoid use against a new ball in either nets or a match."

Well, for HOW long? =P I am an opener and will be facing the new ball at times. Not that much in nets. But was thinking of starting to use the bat straight away in indoor practice (with a new indoor ball) next month or something. No "throw downs" or short catches...

Hm...?

Nope I would highly recommend you to either knock the bat or spend good time against used good quality balls (1 hours would be enough whereas 2 hours would be awesome :) )

Hm... Knock it OR spend time? Spend time would be difficult as we will be using new indoor balls I think. We use old balls in nets, but I don't wanna wait until NEXT SUMMER to use the 606 :(

But me and Hassan0987 :hassan0987youngster were planning to knock the bat at his place when his parents are out of istation xD so I guess if we knock it much, then no worries and I can use it indoor with new indoor balls? Knock it for how long? And apply oil, waghera? =P and I guess it already comes with tape, waghera so no need to put on some extra? Many questioms, but as you know it is my first bat, just like having your first kaka you don't wan't to do anything wrong and make it perfect =P

Hm... Knock it OR spend time? Spend time would be difficult as we will be using new indoor balls I think. We use old balls in nets, but I don't wanna wait until NEXT SUMMER to use the 606 :(

But me and Hassan0987 :hassan0987youngster were planning to knock the bat at his place when his parents are out of istation xD so I guess if we knock it much, then no worries and I can use it indoor with new indoor balls? Knock it for how long? And apply oil, waghera? =P and I guess it already comes with tape, waghera so no need to put on some extra? Many questioms, but as you know it is my first bat, just like having your first kaka you don't wan't to do anything wrong and make it perfect =P

HAHA LOL KAKA :)))

I'll be concise as I have to rush, no need to oil.

Yes, just knock it for an house and you can use against new balls in indoors but I will still recommend you using against old balls though.

No tape shape

OK--I have an extrapolated question which I have been meaning to ask for sometime----can anyone please explain exactly the use and importance of 'titanium' in cricket bats? I have seen many manufacturers using the word titanium to describe some of their higher end bats---example GN nitro Titanium, Powerbow Titanium etc. What are the pros and cons of this 'titanium'? Sorry again for shooting this rather off topic question. Any insight will be appreciated. TIA.

Not at all, anything regarding bats in this thread is relevant :)

Now just sit back, relax, and wait for CD's reply :yk

I think it is just model name, not too sure about it being in bats to be honest.

02thoeva would be best person to answer it.

OK--maybe I need to create a separate thread asking this question and I am sure someone would confirm something. Thanks CD.

Assalamu Aleikum & bump.

So guess WHAT was sent by my friend in England yesterday?

insha Allah will arrive here next week, boy oh boy am I exited :inzi

The London Bridge?

GM 606 bat and gloves?

Adidas Pellara Elite?

Something even more amazing? :D

Whatever it is I am sure you will LOVE it !!

Assalamu Aleikum :D

SO I finally got my GM Icon 606 a few months ago, but did not have time and was even more lazy to pots an update here, anyway, here it goes...

Don't know much about bats, and this is my first proper self owned/bought bat. So package came, a big one! I opened it and... there it was :O My very own :'(

Bought matching gloves as well. Bat feels good, but the weight is around the same as the bat I was using in the season last year (got it from a friend who got it custom made for himself from Pakistan).

Weight is 2.7, and I thought it would be very light but feels normal. Anyway, have not knocked it or anything yet, too scared to do it :O

I did not know which angles to take pictures from, so I took from all angles possible =P And the coin thingy, I was not sure how to do it, so I put the coin next to some other ehm... istuff so awaam can compare :adnan :kami

Anyway, uploading pictures now! :)
And a big Thank you to all for helping me settling for this one, especially CD bhai :moyo

That's all, maybe I should delete some of the pictures, will see in the morning.

And kindly turn your computer upside down to watch the last picture :D

Hahah LOL razor and Lara Cricket Game LOOOL Hilarious!! :)) :)) :)))

The bat looks brilliant, it is lovely bat and more importantly your picture taking skills are amazing! I'm inspired by your photo skills now :)).

The face looks quite nice too and I'd say you got yourself a brilliant bat! I hope it serves you well!

Regarding the weight yaar build some muscle :D dullay shohlay bannao!! :))

Wow what a nice bat, looks chunky for 2.7, nice grains/willow. mashallah. I hope this bat will improve your strike rate:umarakmal

awsome bat especially for a 606, dw about strike rate i once scored 17 from 41 overs

Nice Bat and Gloves..Looks Really Good Together..:14:.

(If anyone is down on Muscles then try doing 20 push ups everyday,it helps!):11:

Vey nice bat and very nice photography thx for sharing :)

Secondly 2.7 consider as light weight bro , you should seriously hit a gym because i have seen your arms in that thread you made about :farhat

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=137238 :facepalm:

And lastly what is your strike rate in Lara Cricket Game :D

Yeah, abhi exam khatam ho jae dekh na gonna make the gym my best friend :akhtar (insha Allah) CD bhai, gym thread bump karre? :moyo

awsome bat especially for a 606, dw about strike rate i once scored 17 from 41 overs

Haha LOL improve your strike rate haha :)))

Yea, of course! :misbah

Wow what a nice bat, looks chunky for 2.7, nice grains/willow. mashallah. I hope this bat will improve your strike rate:umarakmal

Thanks! Yes, insha Allah. Just played 4 matches last season. Insha Allah going in as a regular opener this year. Just have to knock the bat well and spend a lot of spare time in the nets with homiez :rana :asif :talha :amir :gul

Hahah LOL razor and Lara Cricket Game LOOOL Hilarious!! :)) :)) :)))

The bat looks brilliant, it is lovely bat and more importantly your picture taking skills are amazing! I'm inspired by your photo skills now :)).

The face looks quite nice too and I'd say you got yourself a brilliant bat! I hope it serves you well!

Regarding the weight yaar build some muscle :D dullay shohlay bannao!! :))

Hehe, glad you liked it. Razor waghera I put there to compare.

Actually, it is my camera, not me who can be praised for the picture quality.

Nice Bat and Gloves..Looks Really Good Together..:14:.

(If anyone is down on Muscles then try doing 20 push ups everyday,it helps!):11:

Thanks bro. Push ups, ey? :13:

Thanks everyone for good words! :)

Now the next step is how to knock it, and oil waghera...

oh bhai mujhe kia pata :(

I think I have to fly in CD bhai to Norway for this :moyo

I will cover his transportation to/from masjid & complimentary naan kabab after every jumu'ah!

Yeah, abhi exam khatam ho jae dekh na gonna make the gym my best friend (insha Allah) CD bhai, gym thread bump karre?

After exam actually, focus on your exams first bhai :D

Thanks! Yes, insha Allah. Just played 4 matches last season. Insha Allah going in as a regular opener this year. Just have to knock the bat well and spend a lot of spare time in the nets with homiez

Make sure you have good ''homiez'' not :butt : asif :D

oh bhai mujhe kia pata :(

I think I have to fly in CD bhai to Norway for this

I will cover his transportation to/from masjid & complimentary naan kabab after every jumu'ah!

Naan and Kabab once a week doesn't sound well ;) :inzi :moyo :))

Do you have oil by the way?

After exam actually, focus on your exams first bhai :D

Make sure you have good ''homiez'' not :butt : asif :D

Naan and Kabab once a week doesn't sound well ;) :inzi :moyo :))

Do you have oil by the way?

my captain is a little bit corrupt though...
does not sound well? ok nan kabaab twice a week then :( but about knocking the bat, should I just follow the thing u posted in the istickiez?

and I guess I don't have to oil it as it has the sheet thingy on the blade...

my captain is a little bit corrupt though...
does not sound well? ok nan kabaab twice a week then :( but about knocking the bat, should I just follow the thing u posted in the istickiez?

and I guess I don't have to oil it as it has the sheet thingy on the blade...

You oil the back but if you have the oil then do it and if you don't then its fine do it after the season.

Yes, follow what it says in sticky thread but don't start banging so hard, you will intend the willow and crack it.

Why do I have to oil the back?
I have oil, but it's Kookaburra and not G&M. I wan't G&M :( Not that it matters, but yeah. :umarakmal

Which team u play for ? That picture is from Ekeberg netts in Oslo :=)

So played in the nets with a few team mates a few days ago.
Used that Woodworm bat, it was okay. Then I changed to my friends Reebok bat (2"10) and the first ball I hit, I could really feel the difference.

Will try my friends CA bat next time, will see what happens :)
And I played this AWESOME shot and my friend took a picture, but he managed to focus on the NET so the NET is crystal clear while my shot is all blurry -___- It is SO annoying!

LOL, khair...

5654066949_de352c5242_b.jpg

Thanks Silencer bro, it is a Nikon D3100.

Mrk bro, you from Norway as well? I play for a team in the lowest division.
Seems like there are quite a few Norwegian PP'ers here. I was thinking to have some sort of "frivillig" net session in summer as I need to become a better player, and I am sure a lot of others would not mind extra training.

So can invite all the PP guys to practice in nets :)

Thanks Silencer bro, it is a Nikon D3100.

Mrk bro, you from Norway as well? I play for a team in the lowest division.
Seems like there are quite a few Norwegian PP'ers here. I was thinking to have some sort of "frivillig" net session in summer as I need to become a better player, and I am sure a lot of others would not mind extra training.

So can invite all the PP guys to practice in nets :)

Sarray Norway wallay PP pay hi hai kya?

Salaam & bump.

So I was in the nets today for the first time this season, brought my bat with me but did not use it. Was sitting and knocking it from time to time. Might give it a go next time if get time to knock it before that.