Mahabharata won in 18 days, battle against coronavirus will take 21 days, says PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said winning the war against coronavirus will take 21 days as opposed to the 18 days taken to win the epic war of Mahabharata underlining the enormity of the challenge posed by the disease that has brought the world to its knees. He added that while Lord Krishna had guided the Pandavas to victory, the nation was today being guided by its 1.3 billion citizens.

The prime minister made the remarks while addressing his constituency of Varanasi on Wednesday and said the ancient city of ‘Kashi’ –the other name for Varanasi can take the lead in teaching the rest of the country the value of restraint, resolve and kindness.

PM added that the country needed divine blessings on the first day of Hindu festival of ‘Chaitra Navratri’ to win the fight against coronavirus.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi then opened the session for an interaction over coronavirus with the residents of the constituency.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had announced a 21-day national lockdown to contain the spread of coronavirus in the country in a televised address to the nation on Tuesday and stressed on the need for citizens to follow social distancing as the only way to stop the pandemic from wreaking further havoc in India.

He said not following the lockdown norms set out by the state and Central governments would cost the country heavily and failure to stay at home for the duration of lockdown could set the country back by 21 years.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...deo-address/story-g3JUhCmg3pWw9fH4RPvH8H.html

This is bad... Sorry PM Modi, this is Rahul Gandhi level intellect you are now touching on...

He was addressing Varanasi, where Hindus are extremely religious.

What's wrong in invoking religious parallels as long as it helps people stay home? I am still afraid a lot of people in non metro cities may not be taking this as seriously as they should.

This is bad... Sorry PM Modi, this is Rahul Gandhi level intellect you are now touching on...

Check timelines.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Priorities?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Priorities</a><br><br>Had PM woken up on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> in February , we would have been much better prepared by now !<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbKaroDeshKiRakhwali?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AbKaroDeshKiRakhwali</a> <a href="https://t.co/Z7tXnEiP85">pic.twitter.com/Z7tXnEiP85</a></p>— Rohan Gupta (@rohanrgupta) <a href="https://twitter.com/rohanrgupta/status/1242033491811938304?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Rahul Gandhi's first tweet warning the Govt. on corona came on 12 Feb, Modi cancelled his Holi Milan programme on March 4th after people tested positive of corona in India and his first tweet on corona.<br><br>And Rahul Gandhi is a Pappu and Modi is a mass leader. Ok. <a href="https://t.co/4S2EkOPXVv">pic.twitter.com/4S2EkOPXVv</a></p>— Ganesh Mantravadi (@ganeshmantra) <a href="https://twitter.com/ganeshmantra/status/1241963726028197889?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">You can mock him, give him derogatory names, even abuse his family, but <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RahulGandhi</a> ‘s suggestions have always been very visionary, be it his recent suggestions on Corona or the NYAY scheme.<br><br>Even the BJP supporters agree, it is the need of the time now.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaNeedsRahulGandhi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaNeedsRahulGandhi</a> <a href="https://t.co/xZSumZgZlO">pic.twitter.com/xZSumZgZlO</a></p>— Mayank Saxena (@mayank_sxn) <a href="https://twitter.com/mayank_sxn/status/1242171089624502273?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/rahulgandhi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#rahulgandhi</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/anbumaniramadoss?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#anbumaniramadoss</a> warned about corona virus so many times. <a href="https://t.co/hUhwukeFXi">pic.twitter.com/hUhwukeFXi</a></p>— sakthivel (@sakthivel157) <a href="https://twitter.com/sakthivel157/status/1242679141352128514?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Dear <a href="https://twitter.com/PMOIndia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PMOIndia</a>,<br><br>Quit wasting India's time playing the clown with your social media accounts, when India is facing an emergency. Focus the attention of every Indian on taking on the Corona virus challenge. <br><br>Here's how it's done..<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/coronavirusindia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#coronavirusindia</a> <a href="https://t.co/jLZG5ISjwt">pic.twitter.com/jLZG5ISjwt</a></p>— Rahul Gandhi (@RahulGandhi) <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi/status/1234778537615212544?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Check timelines.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Priorities?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Priorities</a><br><br>Had PM woken up on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> in February , we would have been much better prepared by now !<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbKaroDeshKiRakhwali?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AbKaroDeshKiRakhwali</a> <a href="https://t.co/Z7tXnEiP85">pic.twitter.com/Z7tXnEiP85</a></p>— Rohan Gupta (@rohanrgupta) <a href="https://twitter.com/rohanrgupta/status/1242033491811938304?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Rahul Gandhi's first tweet warning the Govt. on corona came on 12 Feb, Modi cancelled his Holi Milan programme on March 4th after people tested positive of corona in India and his first tweet on corona.<br><br>And Rahul Gandhi is a Pappu and Modi is a mass leader. Ok. <a href="https://t.co/4S2EkOPXVv">pic.twitter.com/4S2EkOPXVv</a></p>— Ganesh Mantravadi (@ganeshmantra) <a href="https://twitter.com/ganeshmantra/status/1241963726028197889?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">You can mock him, give him derogatory names, even abuse his family, but <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RahulGandhi</a> ‘s suggestions have always been very visionary, be it his recent suggestions on Corona or the NYAY scheme.<br><br>Even the BJP supporters agree, it is the need of the time now.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndiaNeedsRahulGandhi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndiaNeedsRahulGandhi</a> <a href="https://t.co/xZSumZgZlO">pic.twitter.com/xZSumZgZlO</a></p>— Mayank Saxena (@mayank_sxn) <a href="https://twitter.com/mayank_sxn/status/1242171089624502273?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 23, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/rahulgandhi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#rahulgandhi</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/anbumaniramadoss?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#anbumaniramadoss</a> warned about corona virus so many times. <a href="https://t.co/hUhwukeFXi">pic.twitter.com/hUhwukeFXi</a></p>— sakthivel (@sakthivel157) <a href="https://twitter.com/sakthivel157/status/1242679141352128514?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Dear <a href="https://twitter.com/PMOIndia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PMOIndia</a>,<br><br>Quit wasting India's time playing the clown with your social media accounts, when India is facing an emergency. Focus the attention of every Indian on taking on the Corona virus challenge. <br><br>Here's how it's done..<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/coronavirusindia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#coronavirusindia</a> <a href="https://t.co/jLZG5ISjwt">pic.twitter.com/jLZG5ISjwt</a></p>— Rahul Gandhi (@RahulGandhi) <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi/status/1234778537615212544?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

[MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION] You have always called me a Rahul Gandhi supporter which I am not but I won't mind if you call me his supporter on this instance. Modi is comparing this to Mahabharata. What a Pappu lol. :inti

What’s wrong with the PM drawing a parallel to Hindu scriptures when he is addressing people during a Hindu festival in a holy Hindu city?

Wth is he talking? :facepalm:

This is the time to educate people properly and giving proper instructions.

Timelines of how india has responded

Feb 1 - India has evacuated 324 of its nationals from Wuhan, the epicenter of the deadly coronavirus outbreak in China, where hundreds of Indians are studying in universities.

Feb 6 - India starts screening passengers from Singapore, Thailand

Feb 12 - https://www.cnbc.com/2020/02/14/coronavirus-india-health-minister-on-the-countrys-efforts.html

This means india had realised seriousness of this virus and the dangers it posed.

Just because some random RG rants on twitter or sensible indians keeps ranting on forums, does not mean top health officials and ministry did not know about it.
India has been preparing for this day from the time virus first case was reported in China and being on top of it.

First case of virus reported in India on Jan 31 and because of screening and quarantining it was regulated to an extent.
You just cannot close all travel and borders at start itself and utilise all the resources foolishly.

Let’s talk about WHO earlier response

They initially said human to human transmission not possible and detected when cases were mounting

They then said trade restrictions to China by other countries was not warranted. This was again when cases were high and mounting in China

now they try to project that they have warned everyone from the start. That is a pathetic response by a world body and needs to look itself in mirror.

Its not the Hindu scripture side of things, its the idea that 21 days will resolve India's Covid crisis.

Don’t know but to me it seems that he was trying to keep the people motivated to enforce the lockdown. Today is an important day to many Hindus and I fail to see why he should be scorned for making an optimistic statement

Its not the Hindu scripture side of things, its the idea that 21 days will resolve India's Covid crisis.

21 days won't resolve the issue for sure but will lessen the impact in a way that could save thousands, if not lakhs of lives. How isn't that a victory is some way? We are infected , drastically low on medical supplies and dead bodies are going to pile up anyway.

Most of the people who might have tuned in to watch that section were devout Hindus. I feel it is good he is drawing a religious parallel to it, to encourage them to stay home and not loiter around aimlessly.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said winning the war against coronavirus will take 21 days as opposed to the 18 days taken to win the epic war of Mahabharata underlining the enormity of the challenge posed by the disease that has brought the world to its knees. He added that while Lord Krishna had guided the Pandavas to victory, the nation was today being guided by its 1.3 billion citizens.

The prime minister made the remarks while addressing his constituency of Varanasi on Wednesday and said the ancient city of ‘Kashi’ –the other name for Varanasi can take the lead in teaching the rest of the country the value of restraint, resolve and kindness.

PM added that the country needed divine blessings on the first day of Hindu festival of ‘Chaitra Navratri’ to win the fight against coronavirus.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi then opened the session for an interaction over coronavirus with the residents of the constituency.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had announced a 21-day national lockdown to contain the spread of coronavirus in the country in a televised address to the nation on Tuesday and stressed on the need for citizens to follow social distancing as the only way to stop the pandemic from wreaking further havoc in India.

He said not following the lockdown norms set out by the state and Central governments would cost the country heavily and failure to stay at home for the duration of lockdown could set the country back by 21 years.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...deo-address/story-g3JUhCmg3pWw9fH4RPvH8H.html

Each to his beliefs , no one should question others beliefs. message is important and people with common sense understands it.

Modi is a desperate man, he wants to take credit of everything, if he ha power to re-write history, he will take credit for Independence of India ....

Don’t know but to me it seems that he was trying to keep the people motivated to enforce the lockdown. Today is an important day to many Hindus and I fail to see why he should be scorned for making an optimistic statement

It might be comforting to you but his designation is the indian PM, not the hindu PM. India has a huge non-hindu population as well and it's getting tiresome to listen to these steady stream of hinduism references.

Give a daily CoVid briefing instead like Trump.

One has to give hope to people so they cooperate. Many would start revolting if he says that there might be more days of lockdown after 21 days. One has to keep a positive attitude about results of 21 days lockdown. Reference to Mahabharata is not wrong as majority of Indians are familiar with it.

21 days will be based on mathematical models and. simulations that Indian scientists would have predicted
Some of factors that would have been considered is size, population, age, life style, health, economy etc..
At this point don’t think india can explain this to all its citizens in such a crisis.
It’s not some random number of days, but what they feel as an ideal number to combat this virus.

It might be comforting to you but his designation is the indian PM, not the hindu PM. India has a huge non-hindu population as well and it's getting tiresome to listen to these steady stream of hinduism references.

Give a daily CoVid briefing instead like Trump.

India still is a deeply religious country and the PM himself is conservative. If you don’t like it, please vote for a change in 2024

Did you miss the part that this address was made in Kashi during a Hindu religious festival?

Did you miss the age we're living in where every thing said publicly by him reaches whole of India,if not the world

Did you miss the part that this address was made in Kashi during a Hindu religious festival?

Are you not aware that he is the Prime Minister of India not Kashi? His statement will be published all over India not Kashi alone. No need to defend an idiotic comparison with Mahabharat here. And while you are at it please tell me who is the Draupadi in current day Mahabharat? :inti

Then choose to only grasp the message. No point in debating other nonsense or you only interested with that?

You can't stop people from other parts of India to question his statement. He is the Prime Minister of India not Kashi. When he has dumb supporters like you, he is going to give statements like these everyday. It's understandable. :inti

India still is a deeply religious country and the PM himself is conservative. If you don’t like it, please vote for a change in 2024

Well...well....

Yesterday's argument comes to mind.

When I talked about conservative spectrum you weren't willing to listen and demanded scientific proof. :P

Guess what? Educated people here in this thread find no problem defending this.

By the way, I don't have an issue with this statement myself (even tho it's factually wrong and a forced analogy). The issue is his past history that results in the scorn (plus the factual inaccuracy which some might not like).

Well...well....

Yesterday's argument comes to mind.

When I talked about conservative spectrum you weren't willing to listen and demanded scientific proof. :P

Guess what? Educated people here in this thread find no problem defending this.

By the way, I don't have an issue with this statement myself (even tho it's factually wrong and a forced analogy). The issue is his past history that results in the scorn (plus the factual inaccuracy which some might not like).

I expected you to come back with your gibberish. Please tell me how he is justifying Mahabharata with science? If not that’s what your argument yesterday was all about.

Today we are discussing if he was right to use a stretched analogy and just like you I see nothing wrong with it.

So Muslim PM, athletes, celebrities can say Inshallah, Islamic greeting in every public speech, but dare non Muslim use any non-Muslim reference in their speech. One thing I admire bout muslims that at least they respect and promote the Muslims who use religious references. Hindus on the other hand have become too westernized and pseudo secular when it comes to Hinduism.

Did you miss the age we're living in where every thing said publicly by him reaches whole of India,if not the world

Geej!! What an insightful comeback!!

To spell your argument out; Modi should be mindful of how his statements will be construed by people like you, who miss the context and space of the statement but take offence if it does not meet their PC levels.

Think he does not care about voters like you. Try again 2024!!

So Mahabharata cannot be used as an analogy even if other communities are listening? In what way do you feel it can have an adverse effect?

I expected you to come back with your gibberish. Please tell me how he is justifying Mahabharata with science? If not that’s what your argument yesterday was all about.

Today we are discussing if he was right to use a stretched analogy and just like you I see nothing wrong with it.

Haha I actually wasn't planning to.

Cos thought you would realize it yourself but no.

But then the last post of yours kinda made me do it.

Please tell me how he is justifying Mahabharata with science?

He isn't. When did I say he is?

He is drawing parallels.

If not that’s what your argument yesterday was all about.

That there is a spectrum where we link our practices, beliefs and superstitions with science. Not all linking is bad. Nor does everyone have the same beliefs. But the TENDENCY to link results in pseudoscience (for which I gave you ample proof).

By the way, drawing parallels isn't a crime or is it wrong per se.

There's a reason why I kept saying you kept misinterpreting me. If not, you would NOT be asking me what was my argument all about yesterday. :P

What’s wrong with the PM drawing a parallel to Hindu scriptures when he is addressing people during a Hindu festival in a holy Hindu city?

Its desperation unfortunately and desperate times cause desperate measures, especially on a day when WHO is praising Modi. Otherwise there shouldnt be a reason why people would have a problem if PM of India is drawing a reference from Mahabharata to keep of India motivated.

So Muslim PM, athletes, celebrities can say Inshallah, Islamic greeting in every public speech, but dare non Muslim use any non-Muslim reference in their speech. One thing I admire bout muslims that at least they respect and promote the Muslims who use religious references. Hindus on the other hand have become too westernized and pseudo secular when it comes to Hinduism.

I have no issue with the religious connection PM made, my issue is that, he is hinting cure to the problem...

When will Modi realise that Amith Shah is using him as Shikhandi to win important battles

Haha I actually wasn't planning to.

Cos thought you would realize it yourself but no.

But then the last post of yours kinda made me do it.

He isn't. When did I say he is?

He is drawing parallels.

That there is a spectrum where we link our practices, beliefs and superstitions with science. Not all linking is bad. Nor does everyone have the same beliefs. But the TENDENCY to link results in pseudoscience (for which I gave you ample proof).

By the way, drawing parallels isn't a crime or is it wrong per se.

There's a reason why I kept saying you kept misinterpreting me. If not, you would NOT be asking me what was my argument all about yesterday. :P
Please go and re-read my points. Also please stop asking me to defend points I have not made.

My entire argument with you, was challenging your assertion that a 'majority' of conservative Hindus agree with the science used to justify miracles in Hindu religious texts. In this case, you just like me, see no issues with his statements. Hopefully this settles things for you?

Please go and re-read my points. Also please stop asking me to defend points I have not made.

My entire argument with you, was challenging your assertion that a 'majority' of conservative Hindus agree with the science used to justify miracles in Hindu religious texts. In this case, you just like me, see no issues with his statements. Hopefully this settles things for you?

1. I asked you to defend a point AT FIRST. But then when you said you didn't believe that, I dropped it.

2. Yesterday, I did go and read the first post I made which you quoted. There was no reference of majority vs minority. You assumed I was making that statement and kept asking me to defend it.

3. Since you had asked me about the bolded part, I anyway responded to your question (even tho it wasn't my claim). You can't prove it scientifically but you can do it via observation (and there's a huge volume of it which I talked about). Since you kept sticking to it, I asked whether can you prove that majority do NOT believe it...be it mild or extreme cases.

Anyways...yeah we are fine.

Most of my Hindu friends are irreligious (which is fine) and borderline ashamed of most Hindu traditions (which is sad)

In that regard, I appreciate Muslims a lot more.

Then people wonder what has held India back while China has bombed forward. Now we have desperate posters hoping China will be held to account by the west so Indians might have a chance to catch up.

Fat chance Varun bhai, not with this mentality. :dw

1. I asked you to defend a point AT FIRST. But then when you said you didn't believe that, I dropped it.

2. Yesterday, I did go and read the first post I made which you quoted. There was no reference of majority vs minority. You assumed I was making that statement and kept asking me to defend it.

If you think I had incorrectly interpreted your 'majority' comment, you could have pointed it out and I would have gladly course corrected. Would have saved us both some time :)

3. Since you had asked me about the bolded part, I anyway responded to your question (even tho it wasn't my claim). You can't prove it scientifically but you can do it via observation (and there's a huge volume of it which I talked about). Since you kept sticking to it, I asked whether can you prove that majority do NOT believe it...be it mild or extreme cases.

Anyways...yeah we are fine.

My entire argument has been that its anecdotal. And my observations differ significantly from yours.

If you think I had incorrectly interpreted your 'majority' comment, you could have pointed it out and I would have gladly course corrected. Would have saved us both some time :)

My entire argument has been that its anecdotal. And my observations differ significantly from yours.

If you think I had incorrectly interpreted your 'majority' comment, you could have pointed it out and I would have gladly course corrected. Would have saved us both some time

Yeah I should have...but I didn't realize that precise part of it until our discussions ended that day. Haha.

I looked at it as in you wanted me to address the part as to how I can make the same claim regardless of majority vs minority and my answer was based on that.

While I don't think you agree with my views, atleast we do understand where we are coming from.

Yeah true.

Our personal experiences shape our views.

I myself didn't have this view like 10-15 years back. But having seen a wider spectrum of audience (adults I have known, social media, articles, political discourse), I believe the pattern is visible.

Situation in some cases is so bad that religious scholars I know have put out directives asking people (regular educated folks) NOT to link science with religious studies (pure as their intentions may be) cos while we may be able to explain some practices....we just can't explain everything.

We do XYZ cos we are asked to do it. Something which my atheist leaning friends find hard to grasp. :P

Yeah I should have...but I didn't realize that precise part of it until our discussions ended that day. Haha.

I looked at it as in you wanted me to address the part as to how I can make the same claim regardless of majority vs minority and my answer was based on that.

While I don't think you agree with my views, atleast we do understand where we are coming from.

Yeah true.

Our personal experiences shape our views.

I myself didn't have this view like 10-15 years back. But having seen a wider spectrum of audience (adults I have known, social media, articles, political discourse), I believe the pattern is visible.

Situation in some cases is so bad that religious scholars I know have put out directives asking people (regular educated folks) NOT to link science with religious studies (pure as their intentions may be) cos while we may be able to explain some practices....we just can't explain everything.

We do XYZ cos we are asked to do it. Something which my atheist leaning friends find hard to grasp. :P

In my circles there is a debate to understand why we do certain customs. The understanding all along is that these practices were done keeping in mind the limited understanding of the world our ancestors had at their time. If it falls in line with current science its ok, if not thats ok too. They dont vote for Modi because he appeals to their Hinduness. The vote for him because the alternative is Pappu and the Congress, which said Ram is a mythological figure and not real.

The vote for him because the alternative is Pappu and the Congress, which said Ram is a mythological figure and not real.

And what is wrong with that? Does it deny you the right to worship him? Does he need to be real for you to justify your faith. Isn't your faith in a God just that - faith - Mr Faux Scientific Religious Man who questions his family's religious practices :rabada2

Btw, do you have any evidence Lord Ram existed?

Such Hinduphobia around. Leaders always look at history for inspiration, and Modi is doing that.

Such things can connect with the common man. You & I with social media aren’t proper representatives of the common man.

And India did many steps since Jan including scanning travellers from China, and stockpiling restrictions. Its only Rahul Gandhi who woke up in February.

And what is wrong with that? Does it deny you the right to worship him? Does he need to be real for you to justify your faith. Isn't your faith in a God just that - faith - Mr Faux Scientific Religious Man who questions his family's religious practices :rabada2

Btw, do you have any evidence Lord Ram existed?

Well they were miffed because they assumed that the Congress party was not PFI and stood for respectful secularism. Since that boat had sailed, they were looking for alternatives and when Pappu entered the scene, a lot of them just jumped ship. Disastorous i tell you. Their behaviour however should not stop you from going about your daily whinging. as much as the Congress behaviour did not stop them worshipping Lord Ram.

Ohh and Lord Ram existed absolutely. If not can you please take up your theories with the Indian Supreme Court and stop wasting my time?

Nothing wrong in what he said. He has murdered science many times before but what he said in Kashi is not wrong.
We are facing crisis and statements like these boosts the morale of majority of our population. Plus whatever he said is scientifically not wrong.

In my circles there is a debate to understand why we do certain customs. The understanding all along is that these practices were done keeping in mind the limited understanding of the world our ancestors had at their time. If it falls in line with current science its ok, if not thats ok too. They dont vote for Modi because he appeals to their Hinduness. The vote for him because the alternative is Pappu and the Congress, which said Ram is a mythological figure and not real.

Both sets exist in my circles.

A lot of factors come into play in an election.

Well they were miffed because they assumed that the Congress party was not PFI and stood for respectful secularism. Since that boat had sailed, they were looking for alternatives and when Pappu entered the scene, a lot of them just jumped ship. Disastorous i tell you. Their behaviour however should not stop you from going about your daily whinging. as much as the Congress behaviour did not stop them worshipping Lord Ram.

So much 'they' :smith

Ohh and Lord Ram existed absolutely.

So no evidence. Ok then.

If not can you please take up your theories with the Indian Supreme Court and stop wasting my time?
Rather than flaunting your ignorance, you should read up more on the grounds on which the case was made. Faith was a big point. If you believe in Rama, that should suffice. Not sure why you're so triggered if someone questioned if he existed. What does that have to do with your faith. Or their faith.

As for wasting your time, with your arguments and the world of denial you live in, regarding your views on religion, the evidence points to it being highly unlikely that your time can ever be wasted. Something can be wasted only if it otherwise would be useful :rabada2

So much 'they' :smith

So no evidence. Ok then.

Rather than flaunting your ignorance, you should read up more on the grounds on which the case was made. Faith was a big point. If you believe in Rama, that should suffice. Not sure why you're so triggered if someone questioned if he existed. What does that have to do with your faith. Or their faith.

As for wasting your time, with your arguments and the world of denial you live in, regarding your views on religion, the evidence points to it being highly unlikely that your time can ever be wasted. Something can be wasted only if it otherwise would be useful :rabada2

Firstly this is more than faith, Ramayana and Mahabharata is an identity of this country. You may look at it from a religious angle or just look at them as a fable but at the end of the day it is one of the greatest epics ever compiled and it is the identity of the nation we should be proud of.

You are absolutely free to question Ram’s existence no problem no offense taken and I can bet right now that you will be soiling your pants bringing up similar questions for any other group.

Do they teach you to point fingers at others in gaushalas? Aren't you confident enough about your faith?

Firstly this is more than faith, Ramayana and Mahabharata is an identity of this country. You may look at it from a religious angle or just look at them as a fable but at the end of the day it is one of the greatest epics ever compiled and it is the identity of the nation we should be proud of.

Not really. Mahabharata and the Gita, yes. At least the former is culturally significant. But we mostly don't care about your Ramayana here in the South. But you can still have your temple :rabada2

Btw, have you read any of these "greatest epics" or are you just a Hindu warrior on the Internet like your buddy there...

Do they teach you to point fingers at others in gaushalas? Aren't you confident enough about your faith?

Not really. Mahabharata and the Gita, yes. At least the former is culturally significant. But we mostly don't care about your Ramayana here in the South. But you can still have your temple :rabada2

Btw, have you read any of these "greatest epics" or are you just a Hindu warrior on the Internet like your buddy there...

If you have agreed on Mahabharata’a cultural significance then why are you getting your undergarments in a twist about what Modi said when he drew that equivalence.

As far as Ramayana goes feel free to open a thread on that subject to clear your doubts.

If you have agreed on Mahabharata’a cultural significance then why are you getting your undergarments in a twist about what Modi said when he drew that equivalence.

Can you point me specifically to the bit where I complained about Modi on this occasion. Or is your comprehension as potent as your ignorance :)

As far as Ramayana goes feel free to open a thread on that subject to clear your doubts. .

See above for - Thanks, but no thanks.

lol.

This is a Hindu Leader not a Hindu pop star or cricketer. He is responsible for over 1.2 billion people.

He can believe what he likes in terms of past Hindu glory but to inform 1.2 billion people this will be pretty much over in 21 days is highly irresponsible not to metion lunacy by a world leader.

Indians should be demanding he goes but because most Hindus love him because he and his party hate Muslims, they will happily feed on any nonsense they hear from their PM.

I feel sorry for India having such a clown in charge at this time.

Nothing wrong with it in my opinion

Nothin wrong considering religious population might take it seriously only after bringing in religion.

What day are we on now? After 21 days it will be interesting to see what he says next.

Modi and BJP dragging religion into fighting Virus. They have already embarrassed Indians enough with their moronic statements.

Mahabharata was fought with visible people.
Corona war is against invisible billions of viruses. Terrible analogy as always.

I dont care what he says at this moment. I dont even care what he utters in meetings.

We have too many stupid people in the country who lacks even common sense and at this juncture, even if they follow him like a god and stays at home, I'll be a happy man. And like it or not, modi has that power of motivating people.

Its not the time to fight over principles. Even as an atheist, if someone says god has asked the people to stay at home, I'll support him because on the larger picture, aim is to get the job done.

Mountain made out of a molehill. His exact words were - "Mahabharat war was won in 18 days. We will defeat corona virus by staying home for 21 days". He didnt made any scientific statement but rather was encouraging people to stay home and was citing example from Mahabharat. Still unsure what the issue is?

Some people have problem that he took a hindu scripture name. I can understand pakistani people that they have to undermine hindu scripture but don't know why some people from India do it.

Would love to see his face after 21 days.

Making this type of specific prediction is stupid because nobody knows the future.

@bhag viru bhag what is their to be question about. Didn't muslim took motivation from their scriptures. He wants to motivate large number of people of country. It's not a big matter.

Would love to see his face after 21 days.

Making this type of specific prediction is stupid because nobody knows the future.

Who said he was making any prediction? He said we will defeat corona virus and asked people to stay home. Like every PM around the world is saying to its citizen. Its called giving encouragement, not making any prediction. The issue for few people here is the Mahabharat reference.

He said 21 days ,what is he reffering to or why did he mention this timeline? Indians seem to be running from this point, which is the main point. Nobody cares about some historical event or myth, unless they believe in the same ideology.

Some people have problem that he took a hindu scripture name. I can understand pakistani people that they have to undermine hindu scripture but don't know why some people from India do it.

There is a significant portion of urban Hindus who are ashamed of their roots, or undermine it to show that they are 'secular' which earns them a lot of social points in far left circles and among minorities (who are very religious)

It's strange but I have friends in US / UK who say they notice similar behaviour in some urban Christians.

He said 21 days ,what is he reffering to or why did he mention this timeline? Indians seem to be running from this point, which is the main point. Nobody cares about some historical event or myth, unless they believe in the same ideology.

The reason he mentioned 21 days is because he ordered total lock down of country for 21 days. He was encouraging the citizen of the country that if Mahabharat battle can be won in 18 days...we can also defeat this virus by staying home for 21 days.

As I said many times before...What our PM is, what he is doing for the nation and what does he stands for, we Indians know it very well. His fate will be decided by 1.5 billion Indians. We dont need certificate from outsiders :)

There is a significant portion of urban Hindus who are ashamed of their roots, or undermine it to show that they are 'secular' which earns them a lot of social points in far left circles and among minorities (who are very religious)

It's strange but I have friends in US / UK who say they notice similar behaviour in some urban Christians.

They think it’s cool to call themselves as atheists or call customs and traditions as stupid or challenge everything associated with culture just for the heck of it .

There is a pretty open area between the religious fanatic or the atheist. You can question things affecting other’s lives for example Caste based discrimination but to undermine every single thing comes from a place of inferiority complex.

These guys won’t have a problem discussing 1000s alternate endings and come up with multiple thesis to Parasite or Game of thrones, but the moment someone quotes ancient texts they lose their ****.

So? He should stop being a hindu or addressing hindus? This country has 80 per cent hindus.

21 days is indias lockdown period. 14 days is median incubation period for covid 19. So taking the worst case scenario, india has decided to take 21 days as lock down.

It has nothing to do with any religious reference rather based on actual facts.

21 days is indias lockdown period. 14 days is median incubation period for covid 19. So taking the worst case scenario, india has decided to take 21 days as lock down.

It has nothing to do with any religious reference rather based on actual facts.

Thanks, so his supporters are expecting everything back to Bollywood filming and RSS training to resume and life to return as before after 21 days.

Ill take it back if this happens and demand Modi rules over Pakistan too.

Then people wonder what has held India back while China has bombed forward. Now we have desperate posters hoping China will be held to account by the west so Indians might have a chance to catch up.

Fat chance Varun bhai, not with this mentality. :dw

Glad India is not a communist dictatorship.

I as an Indian see nothing wrong in this. Millions other dont too.

Imagining I am breaking it down to a 5 year old

21 days of restraint needs to be shown in the times of the lockdown.

This gives government to take adequate measures.

21 days lock down requires a lot of patience.

Look at India’s greatest epic a story every one in india is familiar with regardless of religion.

The good guys took on the bad guys against all odds and won because they had faith and patience over 18 days.

Now what part of this went over your head?

Imran Khan asked religious leaders to help people out, why not doctors or scientists? Did you call that stupid?

I didn’t feel it was stupid because common people in Pak May listen to the preachers and religious figure heads.

May be I am giving Imran too much credit here if he actually thought that through but it made sense.

The hatred grows larger than affection and this thread is prime example of it.

Some posters have such a hatred for modi that they will rather prefer him fail than actually people recovering from disease. The hatred outgrows the humanity inside some people.

This is a sad state of human affairs.

You are Muslim, Christian, hindu or whatever.... Whatever you follow, while going through crowds these days, i only see faces.... And i want none of them to be ended up in a hospital bed.

.... And while you guys are playing a keyboard warrior game, I'll have to again go out tomorrow. I don't have the privilege as you guys as when duty calls, it becomes your only mantra in life.

So be thankful and just wish everyone to be safe.

You guys can fight later on once the storm calms.