Adil_94
[MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION] yes large sections of the population have been radicalised. The state isnt extremist but a lot of its people are now.
@Cpt.Rishwat the druge dealers who get these big funerals are often people from their same biraderi or area in pakistan who is a well known person who gets people coming to his funeral.
No one is citing these people as moral examples or people we should elevate to the status of a saint or a hero. Like People have done to Mumtaz Qadri. Religious organisations that have influence over millions of pakistanis were venerating Qadri like a hero calling him a ghazi aashiq e rasool. Not just those who attended his funeral but the millions on social media who were praising him.
Ghamkol Sharif the largest mosque in the U.K supported this guy as did other British Imams. This is much more of a problem than people turning up to gangsters funerals.
Then again your habit of starting obscurantist arguments whenever Pakistan or Islamic Extremism in the country is criticised shows its head again.
@Cpt.Rishwat our discussion was on primarily is Pakistan an extremist country or are large sections of the population radicalised. But this has also found its way into some parts of British Pakistani communities too.
http://5pillarsuk.com/video/video-m...his-stance-on-mumtaz-qadri-at-ghamkol-sharif/
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/rel...-imams-who-applaud-barbarism-in-Pakistan.html
http://www.thedailybeast.com/articl...kistani-muslim-who-murdered-a-blasphemer.html
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-37032419
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2...yre-muslims-life-for-ahmadis-after-asad-shahs
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-35928848
https://youtu.be/LxJGnHU5lTA
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/mar/01/funeral-pakistani-mumtaz-qadri-executed-salmaan-taseer
100 thousand its estimated at Qadris funeral in Pakistan. Thats a lil more than your local druglord will get. Be it A white one a black one or an asian one.
When u have some British Imams praising a murderer like Qadri then this doesnt bode well for the future generation. But in the U.K its not as much of an issue as it is in Pakistan when these organisations are allowed to propagate their extremism openly. Which is why u get so many people turn up to a murderers funeral and millions on social media calling him a hero.
As did every mainstream politician. That's my issue with his ilk. Condemnations are well and good but where's the action? On the one hand he condemns every incident like this one and on the other his government has thrown it's weight behind policies that produce more Qadris and mobs, not Taseers and Mashals.
Would IK have said the same comments of it was proven that Mashal had indeed said something that might have been considered blasphemous? If the guy did commit 'blasphemy', and then Imran Khan was against the guy's murder then it would have been a brave move.
Don't want to pull things out of thin air so I don't know what he'd have said had the victim actually said something considered blasphemous by the poor excuses for human beings that like to kill people for stuff like that. Either way, I've made it clear that my objection isn't to what IK has said or hasn't said, it's to what he has done or hasn't done. All the anti extremist rhetoric in the world is meaningless if it's coming from someone whose actions enable terrorists and extremists.
@Cpt.Rishwat yeah the average Brit wont know or care about Mumtaz Qadri or Mashal Khan but this is part of a wider discussion of religious extremism in Pakistan and a lot of those extremist clerics are part of organisations that train scholars to come and teach and preach in the U.K so while it isnt an issue for now for most Brits it could become one with demographic changes.
Religious extremism in Pakistan is a big issue and i dont think anyone can deny that.
Point of no return was breached a long time ago. No government, elected or dictatorial, can now roll back the policies that enable such an environment without running into the kind of public resistance that would destroy even a military dictatorship. The only time people in Pakistan have united for anything so unanimously was from 2006 to 2008 when Musharraf was forced to step down. People in Pakistan, when peddling the poor people oppresed by corrupt leaders narrative, conveniently disregard how powerful our public is when it really wants something done. Forcing an army dictator to step down is no mean feat and the backlash to any steps towards mitigating the damage done till now will make the resistance to Musharraf look like a warm up act.Fair enough. I am not from Pakistan, so I don't know anything about the ground realities. As a fellow atheist (some may even call me a militant atheist for my choice of words) I follow your posts eagerly. I grew up in India (when it was more tolerant. Having said that it is still tolerant for atheist. Not so for muslims) and now live in the west, so cannot even imaging what you have to endure.
Given whats happening in India and Bangladesh, the whole of South Asia is coming to a cross roads where they'll have to chose a particular path that will either lead to destruction or progress. There will be no looking back once the country chooses that path. Unfortunately for Pakistan, it is much closer to the point of no return than India and Bangladesh.
The majority of politicians are from very different backgrounds to the majority of PPers. The political elite created this situation and the Interior Minister, Chaudhary Nisar, practically sanctioned this lynching with his recent war on blasphemy and statements like "blasphemy will no longer be tolerated". In a country where blasphemy is already a capital offense, the common man will see that statement as a go ahead for mob violence against alleged blasphemers. There are three main parties, PML-N, PPP and PTI, and all three are very much enablers of terrorists and extremists, not people who will oppose terrorism when the time is right. Even secular parties like ANP have to issue pro extremist statements from time to time in order to not lose votes(ANP is secular according to their manifesto and one of their former ministers, a distant relative of mine, once offered a bounty of Rs. 1 million for some blasphemer's head).But, barring a handful of posters on PP, most have condemned the act with very strong words. I believe thats definitely a positive sign. I understand that PP is not representative of Pakistan in general. But surely those who make the political elite come from similar backgrounds as those on PP. So, in the years to come, I would expect them to be more vocal about this sort of stuff.
Public opinion seems to be divided into two camps: those who see the lynching as a heinous crime, a minority, and those who see it as more of an operational error than a crime i.e. it would have been justified had the victim actually been guilty of blasphemy but in this case it isn't because the blasphemy allegation has been proven false conclusively. The latter case accounts for the bulk of public opinion. There's very little outright support for the lynching and the perpetrators like there was in Salman Taseer's case.
This topic will be raised in election regardless of what IK does because that's how politics work. The same people who will raise it now would have raised it in a different way if he hadn't visited the victim's family. My point is that it's ultimately a meaningless gesture when his party's policies and their network of alliances is still very much in line with the far right in the same way that Nawaz Sharif condemning a Lashkar e Jhangvi attack in Quetta is meaningless when his party is in an electoral alliance with them and make policies that enable their actions. I wouldn't hold my breath on his rhetoric being followed by actions because this isn't the first time IK has verbally expressed outrage in the aftermath opf an Islamist attack while retaining policies that favor the Islamists heavily. JI needs to go and the litmus test of IK's true intentions will be how the school curriculum issue is dealt with from here on because he can condemn the "operational error" all he wants, if his government is still allowing JI to dictate school curicullum and getting it approved by Sipah Sahaba for good measure, his condemnation is meaningless because through his actions(or inaction), his schools are producing a hundred more mobs like the one that killed Mashal.
In short you just simply don't want to give any credit because disagree with him on some other points.
Public opinion is in kid's favour? Did you really follow what happened? Imran Khan was the first key politician to totally stand behind Mashal and his family and went as far as saying that "Ye jungle ka qanoon nahi chalega" knowing very well what it could mean in a blasphemy case. This was within few hours after this incident and many people criticised Imran's statement for being blunt. All the Bilawals and Sharifs took couple of days to condemn this after finding out what exactly had happened.
Beyond statements and condemnations, key culprits had been arrested within hours, CM KPK had adddressed the media, parliament and made it clear that Mashal was innocent. Imam who refused janza prayer was arrested and even PTI's councillor has been arrested. Imran Khan has since visited the family and completely stood behind the innocent person from beginning to now.
So quite clear that NOTHING is ever going to be enough for people like you.
@Cpt.Rishwat my main post was talking about religious extremism in Pakistan. What i was highlighting was that these same religious organisations in Pakistan that are praising murderers like Mumtaz Qadri. Also have extensive links with mosques in the U.K too they provide a lot of literature and scholars too who come and preach in U.K mosques to British people. So its not obscurantist to bring this up when u have scholars teaching British kids who hold views like this it should be a cause for concern .
Then again you live far away from places like Bradford and Birmingham where these organisations have a lot of influence in the mosques so it probably wont affect you or be an issue in your locale.
@Cpt.Rishwat my main post was talking about religious extremism in Pakistan. What i was highlighting was that these same religious organisations in Pakistan that are praising murderers like Mumtaz Qadri. Also have extensive links with mosques in the U.K too they provide a lot of literature and scholars too who come and preach in U.K mosques to British people. So its not obscurantist to bring this up when u have scholars teaching British kids who hold views like this it should be a cause for concern .
Then again you live far away from places like Bradford and Birmingham where these organisations have a lot of influence in the mosques so it probably wont affect you or be an issue in your locale.
if you say No you've got your head in the sand
Ok so you're fine with the state punishing people for 'blasphemy?'...I don't know your views hence I ask ...
You only criticise Pakistan when it allows you to take a jab at the Americans ...ie on drones or Afghanistan ...
But as Adil correctly points out your comments show your hypocrisy ...you got a little offended when a Pakistani on the ground said there was an issue with the treatment of minorities ...
If a group of white guys lynched a Muslim in the UK you would have been up in arms ...
Being a nationalist is fine by the way but you're not a true one when all you're interested in is misrepresentation ...rather than actually offering something constructive ...
You probably found Malala more offensive than the attack itself ...
Care to explain?
Infact I will start a thread on it.
Nothing to explain
Whether it is the laws, or the general opinion of the people according to polls, Pakistan is an extremist country by most measures
Do start a thread asking this question
So the majority of Pakistani's in Pakistan are religous extremists?
Which polls are you reffering to?
It absolutely is
Nothing to explain
Whether it is the laws, or the general opinion of the people according to polls, Pakistan is an extremist country by most measures
Do start a thread asking this question
Pakistan is extremist in both senses of the word. The religious lot is constantly in a state of Sajda while the liberal brigade has bottles of liquor flowing like there is no tomorrow. Miyana ravi ki kami hai.
@mani1 Not supportive of Churchill being on our fivers. Brits view of Churchill is the wartime hero who defeated the Nazis. How can people support Churchill and Hitler that doesnt even make sense. No one praises him for his actions during the Mau Mau Rebellion or him wanting to keep India. Brits have a one sided view of Churchill. Though i agree we should be taught a more balanced view of Churchill because he was a seriously flawed individual. People who still support colonialism and people like Hitler and Milosevic guilty of genocide tend to be Far Right nationalist and neo nazis and of course they should be condemned. Luckily most people in the West dont support Hitler or Milosevic or we’d be toast. Bush and Blair are widely criticised in the U.K and most of Europe tbh. Iraq has stained Blairs legacy in all sectors of society. Who is calling Bush and Blair heroes its widely acknowledged that the invasion of Iraq was a huge mistake. Bush and Blair certainly arent heroes to majority of Brits and Americans.
In Bradford Ulema from Hanfia like Imam Muhammad Asim Tablighi Jamaat Masajids like Toller Lane and Westgate ulema from their like Ansar ul Qadri. Irfan Shah Mashadi. Allama Hamdami. All these organisations like Pir Maharoofs lot were supporting Qadri and calling him aashiq e rasool. You had Ghamkol e Sharif in Bham praising Qadri These are same guys who are respected amongst the congregations of these mosques supposedly role model for kids.

Calling all the desi liberals here is the real face of your fav ANPFYI Mardan Nazim is the right hand of Hoti
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Witnesses in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MashalKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MashalKhan</a> case have told his father that Mardan's Nazim Himayatullah Mayar of ANP is harrassing them to give false evidence <a href="https://t.co/SKhI4UmgRr">pic.twitter.com/SKhI4UmgRr</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/923475729727225856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 26, 2017</a></blockquote>
JUI-F workers in Mardan protest Mashal Khan case verdict, welcome acquitted 'heroes'
https://www.dawn.com/news/1387937/j...al-khan-case-verdict-welcome-acquitted-heroes
Calling all the desi liberals here is the real face of your fav ANPFYI Mardan Nazim is the right hand of Hoti
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Witnesses in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MashalKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MashalKhan</a> case have told his father that Mardan's Nazim Himayatullah Mayar of ANP is harrassing them to give false evidence <a href="https://t.co/SKhI4UmgRr">pic.twitter.com/SKhI4UmgRr</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/923475729727225856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 26, 2017</a></blockquote>
How is this any different to Blacks being lynched in America during the 1900s?
Get it together Pakistan.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1629256/1/SHABQADAR : Political workers of two religious parties in Mardan, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), have welcomed the release of 26 people acquitted in the Mashal Khan lynching case, terming them ‘heroes’.
Led by JUI-F provincial leader and former Member of National Assembly (MNA) Shujaul Mulk and JI leader Maulana Attaur Rehman, the workers gathered at Mardan Motorway on Wednesday to welcome the acquitted, who were released from Haripur jail.
One of the released, namely Izaz Khan, also issued a threat as he addressed workers from atop a stage, showing no remorse as he vowed to strictly punish those who commit blasphemy in the future.
Workers of the two parties welcomed the acquitted with chants of Ghazi (warrior of Islam), showering them with flowers, and announcing a rally after Friday prayers in their honor.
The gathering was attended by local Khatm-e-Nabuwat workers, who chanted slogans in favour of those in jail, as well as those released, condemning the deceased Mashal Khan as a blasphemer.
On April 13, 2017, the country had witnessed the brutal lynching of journalism student Mashal Khan at Abdul Wali Khan University in broad daylight, after he was accused of blasphemy.
Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa government ordered a judicial inquiry into the incident afterwards.
The FIR – registered under section-302, 148, 149, 297, 427 of the Pakistan Penal Code along with section-7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act – said that the tragic event was preceded by a students’ protest in which the mob accused Mashal and his two friends – Abdullah and Zubair – of committing blasphemy.
An anti-terrorism court in Abbotabad on Wednesday awarded death sentence to one and 25-year-prison to five others in the Mashal Khan murder case, releasing 26 other suspects.
Just imagine if they were allies of IK and not NS.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/1629256/1/
The true face of Islamofascism in Pakistan. These are our future leaders but never mind, these people have the nation's best interests at heart. To think that the largest party involved in these celebrations has also been writing KPK's textbooks for the last five years should give anyone without an obvious bias chills. Brace yourselves for another Taliban generation coming from KPK's educational institutions in about ten years, similar to how Zia era educational policies produced one on a nationwide level.

Sure, keep laughing. Those who don't learn from their mistakes and all that jazz. It's not like this hasn't been done before or the results aren't there for all to see. Keep supporting T.Khan, I would expect nothing less from a populist's supporters. Afterall, Trump still retains a 61% approval rating among evangelicals despite being a PoS so why should things be any different with other populists.
Sorry if i offended but it really made me laugh.
By the way, is your main concern the massive and shocking change that current government made "Quaid e Azam is "secular" lawyer to "competent" lawyer that will produce new breed of extremists or are there more such shocking examples??
Glad you brought the barrister example up because its the one used most commonly by PTI supporters to trivialize legitimate concerns over JI's role on shaping the school curriculum in KPK. This is but a drop in the ocean and one of the many small hangers that add up. Zia era schoolbooks did not tell people to blow themselves up, they did the same thing i.e. push an Islamocentric worldview with the most conservative interpretations. The results are there for all to see.
Sorry i genuinely don't know any change other than Mr Jinnah being secular lawyer or competent lawyer. Can you pass me examples what shocking changes they have made they will produce more extremists than Zia era? It is genuinely shocking for me, i will try to forward these to people who may be able to get answers.
http://www.thefridaytimes.com/beta3/tft/article.php?issue=20130823&page=2KP schools will teach Jihad again
Liberal activists and politicians in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa have expressed concerns about the provincial government's decision to undo recent curriculum reforms and teach young children about Jihad. The Tehrik-e-Insaf led government will add verses of the Holy Quran about Jihad in elementary and secondary school syllabus.
Habibur Rehman, a provincial minister belonging to Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), which is part of the ruling coalition, admitted that a committee consisting of educationists, experts and religious scholars had been formed to make changes in the syllabus by the end of 2013.
In an effort to overcome religious extremism, the previous provincial government led by the Awami National Party (ANP) had carried out curriculum reforms in the province.
The content of Pakistan's official textbooks has often been criticized for promoting religious intolerance and hatred, leading calls for curriculum reforms. Several studies have criticized Pakistani textbooks for propagating irredentist and extremist beliefs about Pakistan's history and culture and downplaying the tolerant aspects of religion.
Khadim Hussain, a Peshawar-based political analyst, says hate material was incorporated into the curriculum during the Ziaul Haq regime to inculcate the spirit of Jihad among Pakistanis.
Officials in the education department said the process of curriculum reforms began at the federal level in 2006, when the administration of Gen Pervez Musharraf started to implement what it called the 'National Textbook and Learning Material Policy and Plan of Action'.
"Then provincial government of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal had rejected the syllabus proposed by the federal government, because it was secular. They took out the verses about Jihad from textbooks," said Habibur Rehman.
When education became a provincial subject following the 18th Amendment, "the ANP government made an effort to review the curriculum, included indigenous history (chapters on local heroes, for example Khushhal Khan Khattak, Rahman Baba, and Baacha Khan), human rights, peace and religious tolerance, and removed historic distortions, hate material, and harsh sentiments against non-Muslims", said Bushra Gohar, former parliamentarian and central vice-president of the ANP.
Religious parties, especially the Jamaat-e-Islami and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl, opposed the reforms. "At the behest of foreign forces and international NGOs, the ANP government had removed material about Jihad and Islam from Islamic Studies and Social Studies books at elementary and secondly level," Habibur Rehman said. "Our party will not compromise on this issue." He said his party's leadership had taken Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) and its chairman Imran Khan in confidence.
"The new provincial government's statements on curriculum reforms in the media have exposed its pro-Taliban agenda to radicalize the society by imposing on it the Salafi Jihadist narrative through the education system," Bushra Gohar said.
A PTI parliamentarian from Peshawar said his party's leaders were being pressured by Jamaat-e-Islami. "The JI was very keen to have the education ministry, but the party's central leadership decided not to give it to them," he said.
The main objective of the recent efforts to change the syllabus is to promote Jihadism among young people, and propagate distorted accounts of history, said the PTI leader. "Jihadist material in school curricula has been partly responsible for the growing extremism in the society. School curricula, sectarian speeches, and easy access to jihad literature and websites have played an active part in the rise of fundamentalist movements in Pakistan."
Sorry i genuinely don't know any change other than Mr Jinnah being secular lawyer or competent lawyer. Can you pass me examples what shocking changes they have made they will produce more extremists than Zia era? It is genuinely shocking for me, i will try to forward these to people who may be able to get answers.
https://tribune.com.pk/story/781717...ushes-through-its-agenda-on-textbooks-in-k-p/Revised curriculum: JI pushes through its agenda on textbooks in K-P
The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-led (PTI) government in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa has agreed to revisions in the curriculum for government schools here – including the removal of pictures of schoolgirls with their heads uncovered – for the new academic session commencing April 1, 2015.
The PTI’s coalition partner Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) raised objections over the curriculum which was approved in 2006. The JI said Islamic chapters had been removed in 2006 syllabus; the party also wanted secular chapters removed from the textbooks. The religious party asked for the removal of “objectionable” materials and the addition of 18 Quranic verses to grade 9 Chemistry book and “Assalam-o-Alaikum” instead of “Good Morning” being taught in first graders’ textbooks.
The JI expressed reservations over images in the Science textbooks for grade 4 and demanded the exclusion of chapters on Raja Dahir and Ranjit Singh in Pakistan Studies grade 8. As per the revised curriculum earlier, verses on jihad were removed from the ninth-grade Islamiat textbook and added to the grade 11 course.
The JI had requested these changes in September and warned the PTI government that what it saw as objectionable material must be removed from the texts or “the JI would be independent to decide its future course of action.”
According to Directorate of Curricula and Teacher Education (DCTE) Director Bashir Hussain Shah, the provincial government has accepted all of JI’s demands. The education department has notified all public sector institutes to revert to the curriculum set in 2002. The government managed to convince JI leaders to leave chapters on Bacha Khan and other Pukhtun personalities in the syllabus.
Caving in?
Earlier this month, Minister for Higher Education Mushtaq Ghani told a delegation of Peshawar Textbook Board that all objectionable material had been eliminated from textbooks.
He added that ‘objectionable material’ was included in books in 2006-2007, but the PTI government took notice and after long consultations with alliance parties and educations experts, it had decided to remove such material.
“From the next academic session new books will be taught in our province’s schools which will not have any objectionable material,” said Ghani. He added 4.5 million new books need to be printed and the government was trying to get that done as soon as possible.
A history of revisions
In 2006, the federal government wanted to remove duplication from various primary and secondary level textbooks and therefore the syllabus for all government schools was changed. However, the then MMA government in K-P condemned the centre’s decision. It formed a committee comprising leaders of various political parties and asked the federal government to refrain from making these changes; some of its demands were accepted.
In 2010, the 18th Amendment brought education under the province’s control and the ANP-led government of the time made some more changes to the syllabus.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1372660/textbooks-kudos-to-punjabWith KP’s cleaner administration one expected better. The earlier ANP government had considerably softened textbooks in KP. But after Imran Khan’s PTI entered into an alliance with the Jamaat-i-Islami (and now possibly with arch-conservative Maulana Samiul Haq), there was drastic backpedaling. For example, there are newly added chapters in KP textbooks that glorify Ghazi Ilm Din — who preceded Mumtaz Qadri by almost a century — for murdering a blasphemer. This will gladden the hearts of those in Khadim Hussain Rizvi’s dharna who have paralysed Islamabad now for over two weeks and will surely swell their future ranks.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1149956Islamisation of school books in KP sparks debate
PESHAWAR: As teenage education activist Malala Yousafzai prepares to receive her Nobel Peace Prize, the government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa — her hometown — is pushing for Islamic content in school textbooks that critics claim promotes violent jihad.
Malala, 17, is set to be awarded for her struggle against religious extremism and for the right of children, especially girls, to an education K-P — where Taliban militants tried to kill her two years ago.
The challenge is enormous: some 25 million children aged from five to 16 in Pakistan are out of school, 14 million of them girls, according to education campaign group Alif Ailaan.
But the biggest debate surrounding education in KP is not how to improve attendance, hire more teachers or repair dilapidated infrastructure: instead, the regional government is attempting to determine how best to reclaim the curriculum in the name of Islam.
The move is being led by Jamaat-e-Islami, the junior member of the coalition led by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI).
“There are errors in current text books which go against our values,” Inayatullah Khan, local governance minister, told AFP.
The project foresees, for example, reintroducing verses of the Koran that deal with jihad (holy war), and adding passages on the divine creation of the universe into science textbooks.
It also envisages rolling back changes made during the last period of reform, 2006, when authorities “removed religious chapters on social science texts” to replace them with “chapters on Nelson Mandela, Karl Marx, Marco Polo, Vasco de Gama and Neil Armstrong,” according to the minister.
They also want to pull primary school textbooks that depict girls without veils.
“We live in an Islamic society, women don't wear skirts here,” said Khan.
The project, confirmed by provincial education minister Atif Khan, pertains to public schools as well as those private schools which do not have the means to procure their own texts — covering the vast majority of students in the province.
Emphasis on Islam in non-religion related school texts began as early as the 1960s, but increased in the 1980s under the rule of hardline military dictator Ziaul Haq. The PPP and the PML-N, project a more moderate vision.
Fightback?
In response to the provincial government's plan, Sharif has launched a counter-attack by ordering the Higher Education Commission to seek changes to all texts, from primary to university level, to promote the country's “democratic” heritage over its history of coups.
The main problem however is that following recent devolution steps it is the provinces, not the central government, that have the final say on curriculum in order to cater to the region's particular cultural and linguistic values.
“There is a lot of confusion at the moment,” with some provinces refusing to allow the central government to participate in the writing of texts, explains A.H. Nayyar, an academic and leading voice for reform.
Current textbooks are already heavily criticised by liberals, who say they project a revisionist version of history that is highly nationalistic, especially over the country's rival India, while also being dismissive towards religious minorities.
Sardar Hussain Babak, a spokesman for the Awami National Party that sits in opposition in KP, blamed PTI for striking a deal with the Jamaat-i-Islami to ensure its fragile ruling coalition survived.
“There is a compromise between Tehreek-i-Insaaf and Jamaat-i-Islami. Now Jamaat-i-Islami points will be part of curriculum,” he said.
“Jamaat-i-Islami is a radical religious party which is provoking jihad, definitely now jihadi elements will be part of curriculum.”
A recent US study of 100 Pakistani school texts found that minorities — especially Hindus — were depicted as “second-class” citizens and “enemies of Islam”.
The rhetoric is even more worrying for the country's liberals than the rising number of attacks on religious minorities, saying it lays the groundwork for further radicalisation.
Even the country's Western donors, who give millions of dollars in education aid, are privately worried about the “re-Islamisation trend”.
Others see it as simply a populist move with little chance of succeeding in the short term. After the last set of reforms in 2006, authorities took seven years to print new editions, according to one Western diplomat.
How much has actually changed? Lot of them seem to be proposals by JI.
JI won't be part of next government so hopefully there won't be any compromises made and i really hope PTI forms next government without any alliance.
Virtually all of their demands were implemented. I think the only time there was any debate was sometime in 2016 and they still reached a settlement. The Pervez Hoodbhoy article cited is from November 2017 and Hoodbhoy is someone who has been analyzing Pakistan's textbooks religiously for several years now. That article states just how vast the gulf between KPK's textbooks and Punjab's is at this point. Hoodbhoy is not someone known for being political - in the paragraph concerning KPK, he starts by acknowledging their cleaner administration - so he has no reason to favor one party over the other. If anything, given his left wing political views he should be just as opposed to PML-N as he should be to PTI (a common misconception being that liberals support PML-N, another ASWJ ally).
What was wrong in that whole scenario..i mean like what was the big deal,,adding verses of Quran etc....?
I rest my case. Two of those are PTI allies and the third is an ally of both PML-N and PPP. When it comes to the politics of religion in Pakistan, there are no morals, principles or different camps, everyone is in the same camp.The protest has been sponsored by the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI), Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Maulana Samiul Haq's Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">ANP has to decide between principles & votes. PSF members conspired to kill <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MashalKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MashalKhan</a> as per JIT. Its Mardan Nazim Himayatullah harrassed witnessess & in this background Ameer Hoti visited one acquitted. Time for self reflection & internal reforms instead of joining the madness</p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/961880432525520901?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 9, 2018</a></blockquote>
Liberal and secular ANP's pathetic role in Mashaal murder.
Apparently University administration (mostly ANP) were worried about their corruption being exposed (Zara Hut Kay show on Dawn) so they kind of initiated the whole blasphemy accusations. One journalist on twitter even claimed that ANP's Mardan Nazim Himayatullah asked Hoti how to deal with Mashal and his instruction was "Take him out whatever you need to do"
By the way this ANP Mardan Nazim Himayatullah is same person who went to Asma's house (who was murdered by 15 year old cousin) and tried to play politics against PTI gov, parents kicked him out and asked him to stop playing politics as police is doing everything and they are happy with government.
But all that doesn't matter, they changed the textbooks to say "Quaid e Azam was secular lawyer" so we will support them no matter what.
Remember this himayat mayar is the person who provoked mob to kill a doctor on duty for nothing but just to show he cares for the patient,,,few days back he did it again with another doctor on duty .
But this time we are not going to spare him.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">ANP has to decide between principles & votes. PSF members conspired to kill <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MashalKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MashalKhan</a> as per JIT. Its Mardan Nazim Himayatullah harrassed witnessess & in this background Ameer Hoti visited one acquitted. Time for self reflection & internal reforms instead of joining the madness</p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/961880432525520901?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 9, 2018</a></blockquote>
Liberal and secular ANP's pathetic role in Mashaal murder.
Apparently University administration (mostly ANP) were worried about their corruption being exposed (Zara Hut Kay show on Dawn) so they kind of initiated the whole blasphemy accusations. One journalist on twitter even claimed that ANP's Mardan Nazim Himayatullah asked Hoti how to deal with Mashal and his instruction was "Take him out whatever you need to do"
By the way this ANP Mardan Nazim Himayatullah is same person who went to Asma's house (who was murdered by 15 year old cousin) and tried to play politics against PTI gov, parents kicked him out and asked him to stop playing politics as police is doing everything and they are happy with government.
But all that doesn't matter, they changed the textbooks to say "Quaid e Azam was secular lawyer" so we will support them no matter what.
How did he kill a doctor?What is the background? Only in Pakistan are intellectuals treated as garbage.
Investigation into the case found that Mishal's murder was premeditated and the university was behind the plot to portray Mishal as a blasphemer and get him lynced as Mishal was vocal about the corruption and corrupt practices in the university.
He had also spoken to a local television station about the unprofessionalism and corruption in the university days before his brutal murder.
There was no blasphemy.
Life in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa's Mardan district came to a halt on Friday as thousands of workers and supporters of religious parties took to roads to pressure the government into releasing the 31 men convicted in the brutal murder of Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan student Mashal Khan, who was lynched in April 2017 after being falsely accused of blasphemy.
Thousands of members of the Tahaffuz Khatm-i-Nabuwat Organisation, Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) joined by locals participated in the protest that began at Pakistan Chowk after Friday prayers.
Holding banners that read "Mashalyon [Mashal supporters], stop us if you can!", the protesters chanted slogans against Mashal and the government.
The demonstration was led by Tahaffuz Khatm-i-Nabuwat leader Qari Ikramul Haq. Several of the men acquitted by the court, including Ajmal Mayar, attended the rally and were given a "Ghazi welcome" [Muslim fighters' welcome].
The rally was scheduled to march from Pakistan Chowk to College Chowk, but concluded earlier at Katlang Chowk after a dua (grand prayer) for those acquitted. The protest resulted in heavy traffic jams in the area.
Advocate Syed Akhtar, a JI leader and one of the counsels of the accused in the Mashal Khan murder case, in his address to the rally said the "entire ummah" stands behind those who have been convicted.
He said the protesters wanted to warn the government that if it goes ahead with appealing the acquittal of the 26 men in court, then "we will block the roads".
Incidents such as Mashal's murder will continue to occur if the blasphemers are not punished by the courts, Akhtar said.
'Heroes' welcome'
The JI had also held a gathering in Mardan on Thursday to 'welcome' those acquitted by the anti-terrorism court (ATC).
On Wednesday night, a jubilant crowd of religious party workers had gathered at the Mardan Motorway Interchange to "welcome" the 26 "heroes" who had been acquitted by the court, and to protest the ATC's verdict against the 31 convicts.
The charged crowd chanted slogans against the murdered student and vowed to "move the Supreme Court against the verdict".
At least six of the acquitted reached Mardan on Wednesday night. One of the acquitted, Aizaz, was welcomed and garlanded enthusiastically by the crowd.
Aizaz, who was showered with petals and carried on the shoulders of supporters, addressed the crowd in Pashto, vowing that anyone who committed blasphemy or spoke against Khatm-i-Nabuwwat would "meet the same end as Mashal".
It is pertinent to note here that the joint investigation team (JIT) tasked by the court with probing the murder of Mashal Khan found the student had not committed blasphemy. The JIT in its report stated that a group in the university had incited a mob against the 23-year-old on pretext of blasphemy.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1388351/s...rotest-conviction-of-31-men-in-mashals-murder