Match 4 of the World Championship of Legends between Pakistan legends and India legends called off

These papa mummy jibes are fine in social media but in reality no one in India wants to play or see us play cricket with Pakistan. It was a mistake by organizers but as I said before, there is no chance of this game ever happening. As the game got closer, voices got louder and eventual result being match got cancelled. India's stance is still the same - terror and cricket cannot go together. You can hide it under papa mummy jibe but this is the reality.
Who actually boycotted the match? India or Pakistan? If it was India, then didn't Pakistan rightfully deserve the 2 points? And if both teams mutually refused to play, why is only India claiming the moral high ground? Looking at the points table, it seems like both teams boycotted each other.

The bigger question is: will India take the same stand in an ICC tournament? Because in that case, Pakistan would simply get all the points, with none being shared. #HaiHimmat? :yk :inti

Who actually boycotted the match? India or Pakistan? If it was India, then didn't Pakistan rightfully deserve the 2 points? And if both teams mutually refused to play, why is only India claiming the moral high ground? Looking at the points table, it seems like both teams boycotted each other.

The bigger question is: will India take the same stand in an ICC tournament? Because in that case, Pakistan would simply get all the points, with none being shared. #HaiHimmat? :yk :inti
tbf india can still qualify for playoffs even boycotting pakistan games and pakistan can still get knockout even after getting 2 free points

Indian players stance is they don't want to play against Afridi.
No official news of that. It is mostly a hear say. Afridi or no Afridi, India would have not played this game. You must be naive to think had Afridi was not taken part in this game, there would have been no backlash had Indian team played against Pakistan.

After getting humiliated in this saga, you are coming for more?

No one cares about this tournament or silly 2 points...LOL. Organizers are not my fufa ji that I will tell them to give 2 points to Pakistan. They should if they may because that is the only way Pak can get any points against India on cricket field. The ultimate moto was to not play against Pakistan respecting our soldiers and family members of dead Pahalgam victims. That has been achieved and patriots like us are vindicated.

Tu 2 points rakh le bhai

After getting humiliated in this saga, you are coming for more?

No one cares about this tournament or silly 2 points...LOL. Organizers are not my fufa ji that I will tell them to give 2 points to Pakistan. They should if they may because that is the only way Pak can get any points against India on cricket field. The ultimate moto was to not play against Pakistan respecting our soldiers and family members of dead Pahalgam victims. That has been achieved and patriots like us are vindicated.

Tu 2 points rakh le bhai

Humiliated? If you think players and their families getting threatened counts as a victory, then aisi victory tu rakh le bhai.

On one hand, you say no one cares about this tournament, and a few lines later you claim the objective was to not play against Pakistan and that this has been achieved. All this after saying hardly anyone even knew about the game?

Also, you conveniently ignored my question.

The bigger question is: will India take the same stand in an ICC tournament? Because in that case, Pakistan would simply get all the points, with none being shared. #HaiHimmat?

Go ahead answer it. Let's see what you come up with. Can India boycott Pakistan in an ICC tournament instead of a tournament which no one cares about? #HaiHimmat? :inti

“If I had known the match was being stopped because of me, I wouldn’t have even gone to the ground. But cricket should go on. What is Shahid Afridi in front of cricket? Nothing,”

No official news of that. It is mostly a hear say. Afridi or no Afridi, India would have not played this game. You must be naive to think had Afridi was not taken part in this game, there would have been no backlash had Indian team played against Pakistan.
This is what Afridi said. :inti

Humiliated? If you think players and their families getting threatened counts as a victory, then aisi victory tu rakh le bhai.

On one hand, you say no one cares about this tournament, and a few lines later you claim the objective was to not play against Pakistan and that this has been achieved. All this after saying hardly anyone even knew about the game?

Also, you conveniently ignored my question.

The bigger question is: will India take the same stand in an ICC tournament? Because in that case, Pakistan would simply get all the points, with none being shared. #HaiHimmat?

Go ahead answer it. Let's see what you come up with. Can India boycott Pakistan in an ICC tournament instead of a tournament which no one cares about? #HaiHimmat? :inti
We will see what happens when ICC tournament comes. There are none this year anyway. Asia cup for sure is not happening.

This is another myth that India is desperate to play Pakistan in ICC events. Indian cricket is thriving without playing Pakistan in bilateral cricket for 18 years. The only reason India agrees to play Pakistan in multinational events is because it brings money for ICC as its a big ticket game. The money ICC gets from this one game helps them to sustain non big 3 boards and run cricket. Even though India's stance looks hypocritical but for long they have bite the bullet and agreed for this game for the sake of cricket. If India Pakistan ICC match dont happen, it will impact ICC and its non big 3 member boards. Nothing will happen to India, Aus or Eng.

#TrueStory

Harbhajan face says he is a big fan of khalistan and has that little bit of a disappointment regarding his country.
But due to awaam pressure his pressure starts and than he releases it from mouth on tv channels.
I can truly understand and i feel bad for him.

Just saw ajay Devgan's pic with afridi
Ajay devgan tohhhhh gayoooooo re bappou
Now just like diljit's sardar g 3 son of Sardaar also has to somehow find a way to release in pakistan to earn something at least.
Sardaar naam hi unlucky hai is saal.

Anyone who has been in Birmingham for a week knew this match would get called off anyway due to the heavy rainfall we’ve had.

These numpties were taking a stand purely for financial reasons, I can assure you that there are no patriots in India, flash a UK visa in their face and they will be begging for it.

Besides this, the PAF has traumatised Indians for generation, any Pakistani they see and they are reminded off how badly they all got bent.

Anyone who has been in Birmingham for a week knew this match would get called off anyway due to the heavy rainfall we’ve had.

These numpties were taking a stand purely for financial reasons, I can assure you that there are no patriots in India, flash a UK visa in their face and they will be begging for it.

Besides this, the PAF has traumatised Indians for generation, any Pakistani they see and they are reminded off how badly they all got bent.

Rain, Afridi all the excuses are fine. The real reason is...no cricket with Pakistan unless cross border terrorism stops. No amount of whinning or making excuse will change the reality.

#Boycott

:ravi

I agree
So please stop your extremist RSS/BJP government from committing terrorist activities.
Rain, Afridi all the excuses are fine. The real reason is...no cricket with Pakistan unless cross border terrorism stops. No amount of whinning or making excuse will change the reality.

#Boycott

The irony is India houses more terrorists and commits more terrorist activities then Pakistan according to terrorism index lol.

Yes based of population ratio Pakistan is no 2 while India is no 7 but overall if you factor in size, India's number far exceeds Pakistan.

In comparison Australia houses a grand total of 0 yes Aus is willing to come and host Pakistan but India is not.

This nation is the biggest hypocrite on the planet. They literally house more terrorists then even the ones living on the outskirts of China 🤣🤣

#Boycott

Why did the Indian bellends sorry I mean legends not mention this reason of cross border terroism instead of carrying out training and promotional activities for the match before cancelling because of Afridi?

The story seems to change almost every day on the Indian side. If cross border terrorism is the reason then they should state it clearly and also please explain the sports, venues and tournament types that are affected too so future tournament organisers can be clear.

This is more appropriate than vague statements and trying to decide which players opposition can select.

By the way Afridi didn't say anything too bad he was hurting at the death of innocents and said that Indian army was inefficient. Those sentiments are shared by many on the Indian side, some Indians even believe the widows of the dead were inefficient and could have protected their slain husbands. In comparison Afridi comments were quite mild.

Again, you have every right to not want to play with Pakistan but some clarity would be helpful.

Why did the Indian bellends sorry I mean legends not mention this reason of cross border terroism instead of carrying out training and promotional activities for the match before cancelling because of Afridi?

The story seems to change almost every day on the Indian side. If cross border terrorism is the reason then they should state it clearly and also please explain the sports, venues and tournament types that are affected too so future tournament organisers can be clear.

This is more appropriate than vague statements and trying to decide which players opposition can select.

By the way Afridi didn't say anything too bad he was hurting at the death of innocents and said that Indian army was inefficient. Those sentiments are shared by many on the Indian side, some Indians even believe the widows of the dead were inefficient and could have protected their slain husbands. In comparison Afridi comments were quite mild.

Again, you have every right to not want to play with Pakistan but some clarity would be helpful.

That Afridi reason is as fake as multiple Indian Rafaels went down. Even the moderators here has said multiple times there is no official confirmation on this. It is a figment of imagination and ' its all over social media' lie that Pakistanis tend to believe these days.

Yes, it was a mistake by organizers and Indian players participating in it. They have been rightfully criticized for it. Some players like Dhawan & Bhajji are now saying even before the tournament they told owners they will not play Pak game. However, I have no reason to trust them as it may well be a face saving exercise.

What clairity you want? Indians dont want to see any cricket matches or movies or any engagement with Pakistan, definitely not so soon after the Pahalgam terror attacks. It is as clear as distilled water. There is a reason Daljith Dosanjh was criticized and now these players facing the same.

You are free to think whatever you want but no cricket with Pakistan this year. No more #ElClassico

#Boycott

If you are against India vs Pakistan cricket, how about no cricket talk with Pakistanis either? That's the least you can do. Go ahead and boycott PP too. #HaiHimmat? :yk :inti

Reading through the comments here, it’s clear that many viewers of the Pakistan vs India match struggle to separate politics from sport. This is often symptomatic of audiences in developing nations, where national identity and political tension frequently spill into sporting arenas.

In reality, sport is a constructed form of entertainment, its primary purpose is to bring people together, not to reflect or influence geopolitical conflicts. The outcome of a cricket match has no real bearing on what happens at the border or in diplomatic circles.

In much of the developed world, this distinction is widely understood: people enjoy the game for what it is and move on to the next fixture without attaching undue significance. It’s a mindset that sporting audiences in developing countries are still learning to adopt.

I repeat the results of any sporting event has no real life value and doesn't alter people lives. However given the above reality its probably better these two countries stop playing cricket so that everyone can move on and enjoy sports without any politics.

No that I will not

#MeriMarzi

:yk :inti
images

I have written to the ECB asking that they clarify their stance on WCL. The WCL makes lofty claims of it's affiliations with the ECB and that this affiliation showcases it's professionalism. However the league seems to have imported sectarianism & racism into the UK and completely mismanaged the situation.

Now before people attempt to troll me, I don't care about India not playing Pakistan, it is their right, however we cannot allow these tussles to be played out internationally with other boards, especially given the ECBs stance on promoting cricket in South Asian communities in the UK.

I have written to the ECB asking that they clarify their stance on WCL. The WCL makes lofty claims of it's affiliations with the ECB and that this affiliation showcases it's professionalism. However the league seems to have imported sectarianism & racism into the UK and completely mismanaged the situation.

Now before people attempt to troll me, I don't care about India not playing Pakistan, it is their right, however we cannot allow these tussles to be played out internationally with other boards, especially given the ECBs stance on promoting cricket in South Asian communities in the UK.
Brother, politics and sports have always been interlinked. This has nothing to do with common Pakistani people. I have many Pakistani friends here in the UK, and if we ever meet in real life, we’d get along just fine. However, you need to understand the emotions of the Indian people as well.

Pakistani people would think twice before engaging with Israelis, and they have their own reasons for that. However, if you ask an Israeli, the majority don’t hold the same animosity towards Pakistan. Similarly, Indians have their reasons for not engaging with Pakistan, though Pakistanis might see it differently. One must respect the emotions of Indian people in the same way.

As far as this cricket tournament is concerned, the fault lies entirely with the owners and the Indian players who agreed to participate. They should have made their stance clear from day one instead of waiting until the eve of the tournament. I believe the players/organizers thought they could sneak in a match in the UK without much notice. However, the backlash they received on Saturday forced them to step back. Now, you may see that backlash as racism or sectarianism, whereas I see it as a legitimate grievance.
This discussion dragged on for so long and got so heated because certain posters :inti who lives in India but seems to care about Pakistan cricket more than Pakistani posters, were hell-bent on claiming that this match would go ahead. According to them, people in India “love watching Pakistan play,” calling it “El Clasico,” saying how I would also be watching the game, etc.

Then, when players started pulling out, they got humiliated and immediately started playing the religion card - “minorities vs Sanatanis,” and so on. When that narrative failed too and the match itself got cancelled the next day, the conversation turned to pointless blame games - Modi, ICC events, 2 points, and whatnot.

What Rajdeep said two weeks ago still holds true—this match would not happen, and it didn’t happen. However, amusing to see how tunes changed of some posters based on changing circumstances..

Brother, politics and sports have always been interlinked. This has nothing to do with common Pakistani people. I have many Pakistani friends here in the UK, and if we ever meet in real life, we’d get along just fine. However, you need to understand the emotions of the Indian people as well.

Pakistani people would think twice before engaging with Israelis, and they have their own reasons for that. However, if you ask an Israeli, the majority don’t hold the same animosity towards Pakistan. Similarly, Indians have their reasons for not engaging with Pakistan, though Pakistanis might see it differently. One must respect the emotions of Indian people in the same way.

As far as this cricket tournament is concerned, the fault lies entirely with the owners and the Indian players who agreed to participate. They should have made their stance clear from day one instead of waiting until the eve of the tournament. I believe the players/organizers thought they could sneak in a match in the UK without much notice. However, the backlash they received on Saturday forced them to step back. Now, you may see that backlash as racism or sectarianism, whereas I see it as a legitimate grievance.
This discussion dragged on for so long and got so heated because certain posters :inti who lives in India but seems to care about Pakistan cricket more than Pakistani posters, were hell-bent on claiming that this match would go ahead. According to them, people in India “love watching Pakistan play,” calling it “El Clasico,” saying how I would also be watching the game, etc.

Then, when players started pulling out, they got humiliated and immediately started playing the religion card - “minorities vs Sanatanis,” and so on. When that narrative failed too and the match itself got cancelled the next day, the conversation turned to pointless blame games - Modi, ICC events, 2 points, and whatnot.

What Rajdeep said two weeks ago still holds true—this match would not happen, and it didn’t happen. However, amusing to see how tunes changed of some posters based on changing circumstances..
Breaking news: We are just cricket fans who wanted to watch the game. We hoped the match would go on, we were not thinking about the jobless, pathetic souls who resorted to threatening players and their families, forcing a boycott.

The players did the right thing, life comes first. But you had the option to boycott this platform, and you backed out, as clearly shown in Post #182. #TujhmeNahiHaiHimmat :inti

I have no issues if India maintain a strict stance on Pakistan. It is their right. Pakistan maintains a strict embargo on Israel. Their stance on this matter won't compromise no matter if it's volleyball, kabaddi, cricket, tiddlywinks or Mario kart. India doesn't have a similar stance, they chop and change. The issue is with the lack of consistency and hypocrisy. The lack of consistency also resulted in threats to players who wondered by volleyball players don't get the same treatment.

However this event is under the banner of the ECB and they must clarify their stance on this tournament and whether they condone Indian action. A dangerous precedent has been set here

Brett Lee was quizzed about his views on the match between the two fierce rivals being called off:

"That is a tough question. But the thing I'll say right is, I love India, I love Pakistan. So I hope that they can get to a discretion where they can appreciate themselves. But most importantly, we are here on a tournament. So Australia versus India versus South Africa. We are all inclusive. So what happened last night is what happened. We pushed for it,"

On his YouTube channel Salman Butt has slammed India’s decision to withdraw from the Pak vs Ind game in World Championship of Legends (WCL):

“The whole world is talking about them. What message have they sent to cricket as a whole and to the fans? What are you trying to show? What are you trying to prove? Now don’t play in the World Cup…don’t play against us in any ICC tournament. Make this a promise,”

“Now that you are interlinking, don’t play against us at any level or tournament. Not even the Olympics. Please do that. I would love to see,”

“I just can’t understand. Who is making this decision? Those 4-5 people who decided not to play, because of them, others, who probably had the mindset to play, felt pressured,”

Imagine the people Harbajan trying to impress back home find out he went to a restaurant named after Mughal history 'Lal Qilla' that serves beef?

Anti national! Anti national!

He might have to move to Calgary.

:afridi

India waited for the last moment to do their shenanigan and dramaybaazi. They did practice sessions before the game, but refused to play if afridi was playing who was not even gonna play as per himself...

LOL.

According to reports:

Tensions have escalated after the Pakistan Champions team refused to share points with their rivals, the India Champions, following the abandonment of their scheduled fixture. Pakistan argues that the cancellation occurred because the Indian side withdrew from the match, thus holding them responsible for the outcome. However, sources speaking to ANI revealed that the World Championship of Legends (WCL) organizers were themselves unable to facilitate the match and have already communicated this to the England and Wales Cricket Board.

The India Champions team, as per WCL, is not considered at fault. Despite this clarification, Pakistan remains adamant, insisting that it was India who backed out, thereby refusing to concede any points. The situation has sparked public interest, with a poll circulating online asking whether fans support India's decision to skip the game—although the results are locked behind a login wall.

According to reports:

Tensions have escalated after the Pakistan Champions team refused to share points with their rivals, the India Champions, following the abandonment of their scheduled fixture. Pakistan argues that the cancellation occurred because the Indian side withdrew from the match, thus holding them responsible for the outcome. However, sources speaking to ANI revealed that the World Championship of Legends (WCL) organizers were themselves unable to facilitate the match and have already communicated this to the England and Wales Cricket Board.

The India Champions team, as per WCL, is not considered at fault. Despite this clarification, Pakistan remains adamant, insisting that it was India who backed out, thereby refusing to concede any points. The situation has sparked public interest, with a poll circulating online asking whether fans support India's decision to skip the game—although the results are locked behind a login wall.
This doesn't surprise me one bit.
Indians and their inferiority complex drive them to pull out at the last second and their sense of entitlement is driving them to fight for a share of the points..
Tut tut

Smart guys.
They organise a tournament in witch they invite Pakistan. They make the schedule, they come to play and just 1 day before the match they remember that they don't want to play Pakistan because they destroyed rafales.

The more you think about it the more you understand that they are genius.

According to reports:

Sorry this is a crazy excuse. How can they not be considered at fault if they were up for the tournament beforehand and new they were due to play Pakistan. Unfortunately their patriotism doesn't extend to dropping points.

@Saj @MenInG, if possible, is there a way to gain some clarity from the ECB? This is an ECB tournament according to the organisers, and while the ECB has been put in a tough place by the Indian, it surely cannot advocate a stance where points are shared based on abandonment of matches on sectarian/racist grounds. It will set a dangerous precedent for cricket in this country.

Hello to everyone, I have been here since a few years and never posted anything but I am doing so after seeing the toxicity which exits here mainly due to a few of the PCT supporters who seem to get the extra long rope from those managing things here.

Now coming to the topic on hand, I think it is every right of India, Indian cricketers and Indian Cricket board as to whom they want to play or not. They have worked hard to gain the financial muscle and can flex it when they wish too. Rather than whining, your board needs to put itself in a position to not be pushed around by the BCCI. And lets face it, you guys have been pushed a lot by BCCI. First it was the Asia cup which went out of Pak to Srilanka, then it was your team which had to swallow pride and play the WC 2023 in India (no Hybrid), then it was the Champions trophy which got pulled into a Hybrid model as per the wish of the BCCI, the Finals also did not happen in Pak and to add salt on your wounds, it was Indian Team which lifted the cup. Apart from whining about the venue being same for India, what else could you guys and your ex-cricketers do ?

In this case too, if the Indian players decide not to play Pak in the seniors match, it is their wish. It is upto the organizers to decide on who gets the points and outcome. Why are the likes to Afridi / Salman fixer crycing ? Are they not happy taking money from the Indian organizers? Talk to them, why cry in the media. Again unfortunately there is nothing else they can do about it. They also know that most of these tournaments (if not all) for retired cricketers have India money and India sponsors, they can easily be cut off and loose their earnings from these which in the end will only hurt them. Lets face the fact here, the source of earnings today for retired cricketers be it commentary / You Tube / senior t20 leagues are mostly happening thanks to Indian sponsors. So just shut up and play or tata bye bye. Apna khud ka tournament sponsor karo and do as you please.

As far as ICC tournaments are concerned, again I am happy the BCCI will latkao PCB and keep them guessing, play them if they feel like throwing a bone or kick them if they wish to be nasty. It may not be fair but no one in India or BCCI cares about being fair when it comes to matters between India and Pak.

My advice to PCB and PCT fans is that they need to take a stand and stop being pushed around. Stop bending to BCCI but first make yourself financially self-reliant.

Adios, probably my fist and last message here.

It would be nice if your discussions were only cricket related. Makes for good casual reading.

Hello to everyone, I have been here since a few years and never posted anything but I am doing so after seeing the toxicity which exits here mainly due to a few of the PCT supporters who seem to get the extra long rope from those managing things here. Time and again I have seen some of these members bringing unrelated war topics such as downing of Jets and Rafale etc which is pathetic to see on a cricket thread.
None of my Indian brothers here have reminded you that all it took were a couple of Brahmos targeted at your nuclear sites which made you run to your American Papa...else your city maybe in your own rubble. I dont think anyone should be mentioning war related exchanges for chest thumping in cricket related topics.

Now coming to the topic on hand, I think it is every right of India, Indian cricketers and Indian Cricket board as to whom they want to play or not. They have worked hard to gain the financial muscle and can flex it when they wish too. Rather than whining, your board needs to put itself in a position to not be pushed around by the BCCI. And lets face it, you guys have been pushed a lot by BCCI. First it was the Asia cup which went out of Pak to Srilanka, then it was your team which had to swallow pride and play the WC 2023 in India (no Hybrid), then it was the Champions trophy which got pulled into a Hybrid model as per the wish of the BCCI, the Finals also did not happen in Pak and to add salt on your wounds, it was Indian Team which lifted the cup. Apart from whining about the venue being same for India, what else could you guys and your ex-cricketers do ?

In this case too, if the Indian players decide not to play Pak in the seniors match, it is their wish. It is upto the organizers to decide on who gets the points and outcome. Why are the likes to Afridi / Salman fixer crycing ? Are they not happy taking money from the Indian organizers? Talk to them, why cry in the media. Again unfortunately there is nothing else they can do about it. They also know that most of these tournaments (if not all) for retired cricketers have India money and India sponsors, they can easily be cut off and loose their earnings from these which in the end will only hurt them. Lets face the fact here, the source of earnings today for retired cricketers be it commentary / You Tube / senior t20 leagues are mostly happening thanks to Indian sponsors. So just shut up and play or tata bye bye. Apna khud ka tournament sponsor karo and do as you please.

As far as ICC tournaments are concerned, again I am happy the BCCI will latkao PCB and keep them guessing, play them if they feel like throwing a bone or kick them if they wish to be nasty. It may not be fair but no one in India or BCCI cares about being fair when it comes to matters between India and Pak.

My advice to PCB and PCT fans is that they need to take a stand and stop being pushed around. Stop bending to BCCI but first make yourself financially self-reliant.

It would be nice if your discussions were only cricket related. Makes for good casual reading.
Thanks for the insights Shaddy bhai, and I appreciate your thoughts on toxicity, which you managed to articulate quite nicely and politely as a well wisher of Pakistan and Pakistan cricket.

Hello to everyone, I have been here since a few years and never posted anything but I am doing so after seeing the toxicity which exits here mainly due to a few of the PCT supporters who seem to get the extra long rope from those managing things here. Time and again I have seen some of these members bringing unrelated war topics such as downing of Jets and Rafale etc which is pathetic to see on a cricket thread.
None of my Indian brothers here have reminded you that all it took were a couple of Brahmos targeted at your nuclear sites which made you run to your American Papa...else your city maybe in your own rubble. I dont think anyone should be mentioning war related exchanges for chest thumping in cricket related topics.

LOL...

Read what you just posted and try not to feel embarrassed by it...
I know I would be had I written about my board, its money, financial clout etc etc
Also, you clearly don't lurk that well because its our resident Indian posters who are the ones that bring up the recent skirmish which was actually instigated by India who attacked another sovereign nation without any proof...

Good bye

The points should be given to Pakistan. Indian Buddhas and guthka Devgan should stop embarrassing us further. No cricket with Pakistan, that is non negotiable and we will not allow that to happen. However, it was our fault to agree to this game in the first place. Since we have back tracked in last minute, the points must go to Pakistan. We should be principled in our stance.

Wow...Shadab bhai...POTW meterial in very first post. I am reading your post with similar reaction that Amit Shah had listening to Ladakh MPs speech in parliament.

Sheddy bhai came into Pakpassion with a bang and then exited while he was at his peak. He has been contemplating posting for approx 5 years and despite the ups and downs over this period he was never close to pressing the enter key on the keyboard. However, the recent scandal of shared points, afridi, free-keema, and mature players league forced him to make his voice heard. And what a post it was. After lambasting us for our toxicity he gave us a lesson in warfare, geopolitics, history, economics, finance before finishing with a motivational message to stand on our two feet. It's clear that this buddha player league that we thought was a joke, has a global impact and has touched the hearts of many.

Now every time I will open a thread on PP my first thought will be, what did Shaddy bhai think but alas, he has decided to unplug his keyboard and move on.

His one post will leave a similar legacy compared to @Bhaijaan 69k posts upon his exit.

I have no issues if India maintain a strict stance on Pakistan. It is their right. Pakistan maintains a strict embargo on Israel. Their stance on this matter won't compromise no matter if it's volleyball, kabaddi, cricket, tiddlywinks or Mario kart. India doesn't have a similar stance, they chop and change. The issue is with the lack of consistency and hypocrisy. The lack of consistency also resulted in threats to players who wondered by volleyball players don't get the same treatment.

However this event is under the banner of the ECB and they must clarify their stance on this tournament and whether they condone Indian action. A dangerous precedent has been set here

This. If India has a stance of no sport with Pakistan, it should not just apply to pyjama leagues, it must be across the board

And it should include ICC tournaments even if it means the broadcaster sues to renegotiate the entire deal again. The actions of GoI should be consistent regardless of the financial value of the contract. A situation where a veteran match is unacceptable but a ICC tournament match is acceptable after a few months makes no sense

This. If India has a stance of no sport with Pakistan, it should not just apply to pyjama leagues, it must be across the board

And it should include ICC tournaments even if it means the broadcaster sues to renegotiate the entire deal again. The actions of GoI should be consistent regardless of the financial value of the contract. A situation where a veteran match is unacceptable but a ICC tournament match is acceptable after a few months makes no sense

This has been explained plenty of times before. In an ideal world what you are saying is correct and should happen. However, cricket as a sport is surviving due to sub continental market and more specifically due to Indian market. If India refuses to play Pakistan in ICC events or even vice versa, ICC will go bankrupt in few years and world cricket will be dead. Only big 3 boards will survive. The only reason we see an ICC event every year these days so that India and Pakistan can play against each other. There is no other reason. This game generates more revenue for ICC than all other games which is inturn is used to maintain & sustain cricket. Since BCCI gains nothing by playing Pakistan in bilateral cricket and it comes with additional political baggage, they never engages.

BCCI wants to adopt the same stance in ICC events as well but dont do that with bated breath keeping the interest of world cricket in mind. However, to clap you need both hands. Pakistan is also a party in this duet and also can refuse to play India in ICC events. They had the golden oppirtunity to do so in recent champions trophy. However, if they do, it will indirectly harm them too financially. Pakistan cricket cannot survive without ICCs money where as BCCI/ ECB/ CA can easily do. This is the difference.

This has been explained plenty of times before. In an ideal world what you are saying is correct and should happen. However, cricket as a sport is surviving due to sub continental market and more specifically due to Indian market. If India refuses to play Pakistan in ICC events or even vice versa, ICC will go bankrupt in few years and world cricket will be dead. Only big 3 boards will survive. The only reason we see an ICC event every year these days so that India and Pakistan can play against each other. There is no other reason. This game generates more revenue for ICC than all other games which is inturn is used to maintain & sustain cricket. Since BCCI gains nothing by playing Pakistan in bilateral cricket and it comes with additional political baggage, they never engages.

BCCI wants to adopt the same stance in ICC events as well but dont do that with bated breath keeping the interest of world cricket in mind. However, to clap you need both hands. Pakistan is also a party in this duet and also can refuse to play India in ICC events. They had the golden oppirtunity to do so in recent champions trophy. However, if they do, it will indirectly harm them too financially. Pakistan cricket cannot survive without ICCs money where as BCCI/ ECB/ CA can easily do. This is the difference.
This doesn't make much sense, you are claiming that subcontinent, specifically Indian market is desperate for India v Pakistan match in world cups, but then claim elsewhere that the same Indian market is vehemently against the buddha baba league?

So the points are shared because Indian uncles refused to play?

How are Pakistani uncles still besharam enough to carry on playing this tournament?

Remember, a lot of these chachus were there when Inzimam and Co. Refused to take the field at the Oval when Darryl Hair and Billy Doctrove unfairly screwed them.

So the points are shared because Indian uncles refused to play?

How are Pakistani uncles still besharam enough to carry on playing this tournament?

Remember, a lot of these chachus were there when Inzimam and Co. Refused to take the field at the Oval when Darryl Hair and Billy Doctrove unfairly screwed them.
Points split is a shame but Pakistan should continue to play and try to qualify for the finals.

It is the best way to call the organisers and Indian team bluff. Exiting the tournament voluntarily just makes it easy for them.

Points split is a shame but Pakistan should continue to play and try to qualify for the finals.

It is the best way to call the organisers and Indian team bluff. Exiting the tournament voluntarily just makes it easy for them.
They will bend over towards India every time

It’s all b.s

Need to get TF out of this tournament. Uncles don’t need money, they are all loaded !

This makes no sense at all. If the game cant be played, it cant be played . the world cricket market will have to adjust its revenue model. World cricket existed in the 90s on peanuts without any big broadcasting contracts.

It simply must go to that model and negotiate this with the broadcaster in advance informing them that India and Pakistan wont play each other. The reason BCCI doesnt want to do this is because it will hit revenue of every board including their own and consequently reduce their own influence in the cricketing world. if people's sensibilities are hurt by the pyjama league but can swallow the pill of a direct ICC match (and many other sports) because of xyz reasons, their sentiments arent really that strong in the first place.

They will bend over towards India every time

It’s all b.s

Need to get TF out of this tournament. Uncles don’t need money, they are all loaded !
Bro that's what India want. Why isolate ourself?

Take the money from these Indians and let's see if we make the final if Shikari Dhawan has the guts to opt out of that too and if Ajay Devgan will stomach the loss.

They are going to probably hold the next tournament without us anyway, so let's take the trophy away with us.

Take the money from these Indians and let's see if we make the final if Shikari Dhawan has the guts to opt out of that too and if Ajay Devgan will stomach the loss.

They are going to probably hold the next tournament without us anyway, so let's take the trophy away with us.

I am not sure if the tournament is viable without both India and pakistan (even if they dont play each other).

Both have a big diaspora in the UK who will show up and also watch on TV. How many English fans will show up to see their oldies playing

What brother @Rana is alluding to is that Pak has been humiliated in this tournament. They have been invited to play and then shut the door just a night before the game. It is a proper humiliation and only second to multiple airbases that Pak had lost during op Sindoor. Now with points are also getting shared and likes of you forced to write to ECB only shows Pak has been badly treated. In this scenario, staying back in the same tournament where they are unwanted will only amplify the insult. So Pakistan must pull out of this WCL.

Also, its already decided that if both Ind and Pak reach the final, trophy will be shared.

#PullOut

What brother @Rana is alluding to is that Pak has been humiliated in this tournament. They have been invited to play and then shut the door just a night before the game. It is a proper humiliation and only second to multiple airbases that Pak had lost during op Sindoor. Now with points are also getting shared and likes of you forced to write to ECB only shows Pak has been badly treated. In this scenario, staying back in the same tournament where they are unwanted will only amplify the insult. So Pakistan must pull out of this WCL.

Also, its already decided that if both Ind and Pak reach the final, trophy will be shared.

#PullOut

It’s actually quite similar to Sashi Tharoor being invited to US whilst Trump and Co praising Munir and Pakistan Army. Also stating India losing 5 jets.

India acting like a stroppy attention seeking Auntie.

Could have quietly pulled out before the tournament. But as always, want to add some masala, and make a big deal.

I’d respect India’s principle if it acted with a bit of dignity.

Cheapos

#PullOut

@shadab
Take the above bolded part and shove it where the sun don't shine

Sorry this is a crazy excuse. How can they not be considered at fault if they were up for the tournament beforehand and new they were due to play Pakistan. Unfortunately their patriotism doesn't extend to dropping points.

@Saj @MenInG, if possible, is there a way to gain some clarity from the ECB? This is an ECB tournament according to the organisers, and while the ECB has been put in a tough place by the Indian, it surely cannot advocate a stance where points are shared based on abandonment of matches on sectarian/racist grounds. It will set a dangerous precedent for cricket in this country.
ECB couldn't care less about this tournament.

They have sanctioned it because they will be making money out of it, as are the venues.

is anyone really watching these ''games''?
People love to watch nostalgic stars in action so yeah.

WCL Viewership 2024​

80M+​

Comulative TV Viewers in India

65M+​

Comulative TV Viewers in Pakistan

75M+​

Digital Viewers in India

65M+​

Digital Viewers in Pakistan

20M+​

Other regions US, UK, UAE, SA & rest of the world

20M+​