Match thread - Pak XI v Rest of Pak (26-29 oct)

I think scorecard won't be published until about 5pm UK time.

Todays play mite be finished but it will take time putting a scorecard up on the website.

I would also like to know the latest score

raz lagta nahen hai kal kay baad bhy insaan banay ho
miggy hunter lay kay aawe , this time il make sure the job is done gooood :)

Big Daddy said:
raz lagta nahen hai kal kay baad bhy insaan banay ho
miggy hunter lay kay aawe , this time il make sure the job is done gooood :)

Woy could you possibly mean by that?

I'm dying for an update! Keep this thread up :D

Is there no press allowed at the ground? How come there is nothing on any of the news sites?

the person assigned to update the website ate a kebab at the ground and is currently in the toilet

see? that is exactly why i said babu was having nightmares all month long in anticipation of this tour. the toilet rush has already started and we're still at the warm-up stage.

Latest update:

Still no update on the PCB website:)))

this is crazy, how can there not be an update. the days play will have finished ages ago.

These are the last 10 days of Ramadhan. I am sure most of the players and staff must have not only been fasting but very keen to return to Ibadat also after the day's play; hence, we dont have an update for the match. It is really late at night in Lahore night, and I for one highly doubt we will be getting any updates today till late (when its morning time in Lahore).

* Interesting Note: If most (if not all) of the players were fasting, I am not sure how stock we should be really putting into their performance in this match. I think this match should be taken rather lightly by us fans ---

may be players are on "ITIKAAF" to get Lailutul Qadr and hence beat Eng comprehensively 3-0 and 5-0 :D :p

:14: 177* now that is some performance from Malik. this will give him lots of confidence. Strange to see Shahid Nazir didnt bowl a single over. I was looking forward to his and Umer's performance. Shahid Nazir is always treated harshly by our management

Pakistan XI v Rest of PakistanPakistan XI (1) 352/2 (Shoaib Malik 177*, Mohammad Yousuf 42*; 66.2 overs)

Pakistan XI first inningsShoaib Malik not out177
Salman Buttlbw b Shoaib Akhtar 1
--Younis Khanc Taufeeq Umar b Mansoor Amjad107
Mohammad Yousufnot out 42

1-6, 2-271

Rest of Pakistan bowling

Shoaib Akhtar 15 2 50 1--Umar Gul 8 0 60 0--Mushtaq Ahmed 19 1 89 0--Iftikhar Anjum 6 1 26 0--Mansoor Amjad 17 1 114 1--Imran Farhat 1.2 0 6 0--

Bits-n-pieces player HaHaHa :))) :)))

Shoaib did destroy them all... :21:

good to see akhtar bowl 15 overs in a day shows some fitness is coming back

Monsee said:

SHoaib Malik is now a definite as opener in tests.

Bazid and Salman will fight for the other spot.

Our Test team is now looking very similar to the ODI team.

Monsee said:

Gas prices are taking it's toll. that's y Ferrari seems to be out of gas a bit;-)

The english must be licking their lips already watching some of our bowlers, Welldone all the pakistan batting team though besides Butt.

Why do I have a feeling that Amjid will be sitting in Aitkaaf, starting right from now till Ramadaan is over :D :p

It looks like a good battting pitch.

With regards to Shoaib A , at least he didnt break down. He bowled 15 overs which is encouraging.

Monsee said:
Why do I have a feeling that Amjid will be sitting in Aitkaaf, starting right from now till Ramadaan is over :D :p
praying for malik or sami?:))) :)))

pathan007 said:
Gas prices are taking it's toll. that's y Ferrari seems to be out of gas a bit;-)

Maybe its due to the fact that he has to Appeal in Multi-Dialects :)))

A very postive day today. Malik scoring 150+ Not out, Younis scoring 100, MoYo scoring 50 Not out, Akhtar played well (15 overs and not injured) & probably bowled with a short run up. A good day.

Master-P said:
The english must be licking their lips already watching some of our bowlers, Welldone all the pakistan batting team though besides Butt.

I suppose you mean, well done to Malik, YK and MoYo. The rest don't deserve praises just yet.

thats unbelievable. i guess we know who's opening against England then.

Another positive is that Malik, MoYo and Khan have been scoring at a fast rate too, its very encouraging so far from a batting perspective.

GamBiTT said:
These are the last 10 days of Ramadhan. I am sure most of the players and staff must have not only been fasting but very keen to return to Ibadat also after the day's play; hence, we dont have an update for the match. It is really late at night in Lahore night, and I for one highly doubt we will be getting any updates today till late (when its morning time in Lahore).

* Interesting Note: If most (if not all) of the players were fasting, I am not sure how stock we should be really putting into their performance in this match. I think this match should be taken rather lightly by us fans ---

Almost none of the players ever fast when playing. At least not in important games. I think the management has made it pretty clear that performance in these games is being considered pretty seriously for selection.

Well done malik and Y khan. good to see akthar get thru 15 over aswell.

shocked to see s nazir didnt bowl at all. dissapointed to see mushy didnt take any wickets.

Akhter was the most economical of the bowlers. Rest of them got hammered pretty badly specially Umer Gul was the biggest disappointment for me.

Uffff.......Shahid Nazir is 12th man yaar. How can he bowl???

Well done malik and Y khan. good to see akthar get thru 15 over aswell.

shocked to see s nazir didnt bowl at all. dissapointed to see mushy didnt take any wickets.

I see your favorite bowler didn't scare Mr. Bits-n-pieces or the Lassi Maker :D

zorawar said:
Akhter was the most economical of the bowlers. Rest of them got hammered pretty badly specially Umer Gul was the biggest disappointment for me.

But if he cannot faze Mr Bits-n-pieces or the Lassi Maker...how will he take wickets against England

Would like to hear your argument without getting upset at me :21:

wow, monsee u seem to get easily excited over warm up matches!

gwwwwwwwwwaaaaaaaaaaaaannnn MALIK!!!!!!

Worrying to see Salu struggle, but then again he was undone by a WORLD CLASS BOWLER (Shoaib).

Shoaib bowled well, nice to see him get some decent overs under his belt, econ 3.33 which is not bad, plus a wicket.

wow, monsee u seem to get easily excited over warm up matches!

Just like some here are going over the moon with Shoaib's 15 over gigantic show of fast bowling, in the same practice match :21:

If he cannot even get Mr. Bits-n-pieces out, how will he get us that victory that is impossible without him, as you and many have been talking about all the time

World Class Fast Bowler...yep yep

Monsee said:
I see your favorite bowler didn't scare Mr. Bits-n-pieces or the Lassi Maker :D

I cant comment on akthars preformance as no indication has been made on how he bowled etc.. his figures thou aint that bad!

Monsee said:
Just like some here are going over the moon with Shoaib's 15 over gigantic show of fast bowling, in the same practice match :21:

If he cannot even get Mr. Bits-n-pieces out, how will he get us that victory that is impossible without him, as you and many have been talking about all the time

World Class Fast Bowler...yep yep

overboard? whose gone over board???

only person whose over-reacted is you. :19:

177 N.O.

hahaha... I'm just loving it... Malik, my Sialkoti munda, can do all of jack siht in the actual series. I don't give a damn.

warmup or not - I believe a certain armchair critic here has been royally whipped.

good bowling by Shoaib and great batting by malik and younis khan. Shoaib still has to stay injury free and take some more wickets to prove to the selectors of his selection.

I cant comment on akthars preformance as no indication has been made on how he bowled etc.. his figures thou aint that bad!

Not bad...he cannot even get Malik out

We are talking about Mr. Darpoke, Mr. Bits-n-pieces, Mr. No Technique, Mr. Sifarshi etc here

I am sure all Shoaib had to do was bounce couple of balls and Malik should have just handed his wicket right there and then...maybe we should have a ball to ball analysis till the match is over so you can give us your indepth expertise as how Malik was so lucky in scoring those runs

Maybe he paid those umpires in Biryani money :24:

I am really disappointed by Gul and Salman Butt :(

Well done Malik:14: :14: . At least he will go in the first test with confidence and he knows that he has earned the opening spot (not really gifted on the basis of ODI performance).
Our useless Khan again showed his consistency and good to see Yohanna score some runs as well.

Akhtar had a pretty decent day.
Becharay Mansoor Amjad ne kya Qusoor kiya tha:O ?? Buhat maara bachay ko:24: .
Mushtaq can forget about playing for Pakistan now.

Rao ahead of Shahid Nazir........Nazir is probably one of the most unluckiest pakistani cricketer i have ever seen.

Mutazalzaluzzaman Tarar said:
177 N.O.

hahaha... I'm just loving it... Malik, my Sialkoti munda, can do all of jack siht in the actual series. I don't give a damn.

warmup or not - I believe a certain armchair critic here has been royally whipped.

Tarar Sahib has hit the nail right on the head...

May long live these ACCs, so Malik, and Co. can provide us with more entertainment :21:

Where is Afridi? I would imagine the Pakistan XI side with Afridi coming in for Kamal is the selectors current starting XI for the first Test. Hate to break to you guys but the fact that Shoaib is in the Rest of Pakistan team speaks volumes about his current chances of playing. He is outside the first XI and has to force himself in. Taking 1 wicket so far is not going to do that. In Rugby this would be termed a Probables v Possibles game and Shoaib is in the possibles not probables so there's no point talking fitness or his figures not looking too bad. He has to force himself back into contention. Nothing so far suggests that he will but as they say tomorrow is another day.

Monsee said:
Not bad...he cannot even get Malik out

We are talking about Mr. Darpoke, Mr. Bits-n-pieces, Mr. No Technique, Mr. Sifarshi etc here

I am sure all Shoaib had to do was bounce couple of balls and Malik should have just handed his wicket right there and then...maybe we should have a ball to ball analysis till the match is over so you can give us your indepth expertise as how Malik was so lucky in scoring those runs

Maybe he paid those umpires in Biryani money :24:

Maybe it's all Woolmer's fault that Akhtar didn't bowl well. had Woolmer not been hell bent on destroying Akhtar's career by preventing him from achieving proper fitness, he would have bowled well and would obviously have nailed Malik.

so, see it is Woolmer's fault after all.