Match thread - Pak XI v Rest of Pak (26-29 oct)

well played Malik!!

I think we can safely say Malik will open.

Guess the other spot will be between Salman Butt and Imran Farhat.

Seems like the picth was a traditional "Phatta" , good to see Malik and Younis get some runs though. 17 Noballs seems like the ever green problems of the extras will linger on with our team.

Sami said it was a pure battin wicket but felt that when they get to bowl on it, it will do a bit...

I didnt ask him why Afridi isnt playing as we were talking about other things far more important and he said they boys played well.....

Lets see

Phatta or no Phatta, since our Bestest, Fastest, Scariet Bowler was bowling to a scared and darpoke bits-n-pieces player...he should have at least gotten 10 wickets

That's the hype that is created here, non-stop, day in day out, 24 hours a day...He probably himself doesn't have as much confidence in his ability as some here

Noddy said:
Sami said it was a pure battin wicket but felt that when they get to bowl on it, it will do a bit...

I didnt ask him why Afridi isnt playing as we were talking about other things far more important and he said they boys played well.....

Lets see

All the best to him when he comes onto bowl.

Guys any new updates? score board hasnt moved a bit yet. Is there anyone from Pakistan who can update us on the scores?

A great innings by Malik. I keep hearing he is favorite of Bob and all. But take a look at his performance. He merits that position. Malik over Taufeeq and Farhat anyday!

yk said:
That is ABSOLUTELY INCORRECT, if u had kept ureself more up to date, u wud know that Shoaib is in the rest of pakistan team quite DELIBERATELY, so that our first choice batsmen can be exposed to some hostile bowling.

In other words to give them a flavour of what it will be like to face Harmy and Freddie.

As well as that, it will expose our first choice bowlers aginst world class batsmen, like Moyo, YK and Inzi.

Merc has probably mentioned this on PP about a hundered times, as it was Merc himself who suggested it to Bobby.

Thanks for your concern about keeping upto date. Due to Ramadan and other commitments / fundraising I may not be taking that an avid interest on the goings on on this site but I am already aware of Merc's suggestion. However that doesn't bear upto inspection looking at the team selection. Are you really saying that Nazir, Gul, Mushy, Iftikhar, Mansoor & Shoaib is a more likely starting bowling line up than Abdul Razzaq, Sami, Rana, Kaneria (& probably Afridi)? In my humble opinion I don't think so. Anyway we will only really know when the team is named before the toss at the first game. Either way there is still plenty of time for one of the possibles - even Shoaib, to force themselves into the reckoning.

Well done to Malik. We can safely say his one of the openers for the first test and there is no harm in trying him. He might do better than others

Just browsed through some of the msgs and there seems to be way too much criticism levied upon Shoaib Malik. Maybe ive been living in a cave for years but what are Maliks crimes against Pak cricket exactly, apart from speculation?

Going back to the game, i can imagine it being difficult to bowl in heat whilst fasting, especially against top batsman like mojo and Younis Khan. So we should really give them some allowances here. As for Akthar, i wouldnt say his figures were astounding but rather average. Im more dissapointed in Guls figures as he is a REAL talent for Pak cricket and should be playing against England, and feature strongly for Pakistan in the future. Shoaib Akthar on the other hand is at the end of his career. I know that may sound shocking to some Akthar lovers but lets face facts, the guy is either unfit, injured or fails to complete a series now. He basically doesnt fit in the whole Bob Woolmer setup, who he requires players to be fit. I mean, is it too demanding for a player to be fit?

For some it is. Remember many here would rather have a 0.5% fit 10% committed Shoaib rather than a fully fit fully motivated Rana. Beggars belief!

I think its something to do with Pakistanis being in awe of fast bowlers since the likes of Waqar and Wasim who were immensely successful. Though Akthar is good enough to be in the squad, he nevertheless doesnt belong in the whole Bob Woolmer setup and future vision for Pak cricket. We should all support the good of Pak cricket instead of stacking all our support for one person. After all, its not as if he hasnt been given enough allowances has he? Even the greats of Waqar and Wasim didnt take as much p**s as Akhar did, and they were GREAT.

Man, ive got maximum respect for Uncle gee (rana), that man gives his all in every match, even when they're fighting a losing battle. Seeing that kind of passion makes me proud to support the Pak cricket team :)

people here are getting orgasmic because of one big hundred by malik on a flat pitch where every bowler got pasted.After repeated ducks and low scores are we to say hallelujah because of one innings?

let's see how malik does against england.Only then can he get accolades.....provided he scores centuries as well

Monsee said:
Tarar Sahib has hit the nail right on the head...

May long live these ACCs, so Malik, and Co. can provide us with more entertainment :21:

As if you ain't one!

please show me one person who is getting orgasmic

I just see people who are pleased and saying well played. Do you think we should not be pleased and say well played?

Monsee said:
Right on again...Amjid, Elan, and many here all they do is day in and day out slack on Malik, Sami, Razzaq etc.

They are not willing to listen to any arguments...all they wanna do is pull these player's past record and how they are not good enough

I guess there is always a time when one has to eat his words...yet Amjid is not even willing to do that! According to him "it was a meaningless practice game", then Shoaib should kiss his chances good bye cause whatever he does in this game, he ain't gonna get no reward cause it is just a meaningless game after all :21:

and you are after shoaib,khalil day in and out..........

listen i criticise sami and razzaq coz they are pathetic in test cricket.

prove me wrong.

As for malik he's not a long term opener.he cannot open outside asia.So short term fixes for long term problems are pathetic as well.

So like amjid said.Don't throw stones when you live in glass houses.
If you think you have a right to criticise shoaib then you have no right to moan when someone also does the same to an another player.

please show me one person who is getting orgasmic

I just see people who are pleased and saying well played. Do you think we should not be pleased and say well played?

go and have look at the first page posts.

You would think malik played a match winning innings in a world cup final.

Well done to malik.But the real test is to come.Besides if he's to open he has to do so outside asia as well.

Shoaib Akhter has shown his brilliance yet again

on a dead track in a straight play off against a line and length merchants who Woolmer has been championing (Rao and Gul) Shoaib has outperformed.

I'm a big fan of Gul and he will come back from this he can't be faulted for bowling on a flat pitch.

However it really shows the low level of cricket knowledge and general intelligence that Shoaib haters can't accept that 1-50 off 15 overs on a flat pitch against the Pakistan top order in their element especially weighed against Guls 0-60 off 8 is BREATHTAKINGLY BRILLIANT.

Shoaib is back fit and firing.

Noddy
user_online.gif
vbmenu_register("postmenu_265349", true);
International Star

Lets see

Elan Tedronai said:
and you are after shoaib,khalil day in and out..........

listen i criticise sami and razzaq coz they are pathetic in test cricket.

prove me wrong.

As for malik he's not a long term opener.he cannot open outside asia.So short term fixes for long term problems are pathetic as well.

So like amjid said.Don't throw stones when you live in glass houses.
If you think you have a right to criticise shoaib then you have no right to moan when someone also does the same to an another player.

I think u have just thrown a very large stone yourself! lets hope for your sakes that u aint living in a glass house!!!

IMMY69 said:
I think u have just thrown a very large stone yourself! lets hope for your sakes that u aint living in a glass house!!!

sigh,

firstly i am not the one preaching to others about arm chair crictics when that person is a regular shoaib hunter.

I don't crticise ppl who criticise players.because they have a right to express an opinion.

so therfore don't confuse me with throwing stones when i never do so.

If ppl want to criticise shoaib that's fine by me.their view and their right.

Just give me the same courtesy when i criticise a player as well.

It is logical.

Elan Tedronai said:
people here are getting orgasmic because of one big hundred by malik on a flat pitch where every bowler got pasted.After repeated ducks and low scores are we to say hallelujah because of one innings?

let's see how malik does against england.Only then can he get accolades.....provided he scores centuries as well

Care to share that info with us cause as far as I am concerned, it sure is not public knowledge that Malik has been getting ducks and low scores

Were these games played in a different universe :21:

moomoo said:
on a dead track in a straight play off against a line and length merchants who Woolmer has been championing (Rao and Gul) Shoaib has outperformed.

I'm a big fan of Gul and he will come back from this he can't be faulted for bowling on a flat pitch.

However it really shows the low level of cricket knowledge and general intelligence that Shoaib haters can't accept that 1-50 off 15 overs on a flat pitch against the Pakistan top order in their element especially weighed against Guls 0-60 off 8 is BREATHTAKINGLY BRILLIANT.

HaHaHa...good one

Elan try matching one of my posts about Malik's innings to these comments

Who is getting Orgasmic again???

And you are agreeing with her :O

IMMY69 said:

IMMY69 what happened to that LINK :13:

where are these repeated ducks and low scores of malik?

Get in the line...I am still waiting

Maybe he is waiting for his 'Duck' to lay an egg, so he can show that to us as a proof :D

Enough about Shoaib M and Shoaib A, what is the score on Day 2?

At the end of the day boys everyone knows Shoaib A will get into the team, so we might aswell give him our best duahs, and Shoaib M is always gonna b in the odi team so its good to see him in the runs.

Some of the comments and criticisms up here are silly. Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Sami and Abdul Razzaq represent the future of Pakistani cricket. They are immensely talented cricketers and will play the vital role in the World Cup for us. As for their test careers, I think over time they can only improve. I am a little worried about Razzaq's performance so far in Tests though but I'm sure if he just starts learning how to swing the ball again, he will be very effective in Tests as well. Sami on the other hand has been extremely unlucky in Tests. I'm sure if we look back at his bowling, in every single innings a catch is dropped off his bowling. Obviously that is very disheartening for a bowler and to say that he is 'rubbish' is absolutely inappropriate. Shoaib Malik is a brilliant cricketer. There has never been a doubt about that.

I'd be more interested in seeing how they're fielding in this warm-up game. How many catches have been dropped so far? I've noticed over the last two years, on 'average', Pakistan drops 5 catches per test match probably. That is more worrying for me because dropping 5 catches means giving away at least 150 runs more than you should. And that is a lot!!

361 all out

Shoaib Akhat took 9 for 52 (7 of them bowled, including inzi first ball)

361 all out

Shoaib Akhat took 9 for 52 (7 of them bowled, including inzi first ball)

hash at least make it realistic ie 6 wickets

cricketOWU said:
Haha ...from 1-50 to 9-52. Nice one.

That gives you the idea of how naiive some Shoaib fans are...I mean come on, you are gonna believe that

Even Shoaib at his best (he doesn't look anywhere close to that) would have a helluva time getting 8 wickets for 2 runs:21:

Close of play day 1Pakistan XI (1) 352/2 (Shoaib Malik 177*, Mohammad Yousuf 42*; 66.2 overs)Close of play day 2Rest of Pakistan (1) 193/3 (Misbah-ul-Haq 53*, Faisal Iqbal 85*; 51.3 overs)

yep

Pak XI 474 for 8 dec (Yousuf made 98!, Malik retired on 177, Mushy got four for 173). Kamal Bradman failed again. I seriously doubt he is going to play.

ROP 193 for 3 (Sami 1 for 29 from 10 overs, Afridi 2 for 40, Faisal Iqbal not out 85 and Misbah ul Haq not out 53. Farhat got out for a duck.

i wanted to know what happened to bazid......
Its a intresting question who will open with malik and i think they should go with afridi, ok he dont like to open but its on team intrest.

Noddy bhai- who do you think will open?

My guess is Malik and Butt or Farhat

hey is razzaq injured or something cause he only bowled 4 balls..

Noddy: razzi is a great oneday player, i think acha hi hai agar woe unfit rhay and get fit by the time oneday starts. what do u think?

:13: ahh how does Pakistan XI have 14 players on their side??:13:

Hoping to see Faisal Iqbal in the side.

I highly suspect Butt or Farhat would get a chance in the first test. From Woolmer Q&A in the past, it looks like Hasan is the other right option.

Good to see 3 definites for the first Test making big runs for Pak XI but I'm keen for either Butt or Farhat to get some runs here. If Butt doesn't do anything in the 2nd innings he can forget about playing in the 1st Test.

Mushy got 4 wickets but as I have been saying ever since the debate about his recall started, he is way to expensive, he goes at 4/5 an over at County level so he won't be much better at Test level. If him and Kaneria both play in a match and concede 150 runs for 5 wickets, we won't have much chance of winning the match will we? How valubale are his wickets if he gets them when the opposition already have 400 on the board?

Also, it looks like after the first day Shabbir Ahmed has also been added to the lineup. The only downside about playing with 12/13 players is that not everyone gets the chance to bowl enough overs to prove themselves. I don't think Shabbir wil be ready in time for the Test series so I'd like to see the third seamers place contested between Gul and Rana. Hopefully, these 2 will get more overs to prove their fitness and form in the remainder of the match.

moomoo said:

So are we going to exclaim that Sami's 1-29 off 10 overs is BREATHTAKINGLY BRILLIANT? :)) :))) If Shoaib's figures are the yardstick then we are going to run out of superlatives pretty soon. In fact Mushy's 4 for several hundred and some is off the scale.

Amoeba said:
So are we going to exclaim that Sami's 1-29 off 10 overs is BREATHTAKINGLY BRILLIANT? :)) :))) If Shoaib's figures are the yardstick then we are going to run out of superlatives pretty soon. In fact Mushy's 4 for several hundred and some is off the scale.

If Shoaib's figures were breathtakingly brilliant then Sami's were completely out of this world!!!

GAME SUMMARY:

i think both sami and shoaib have done their chances a world of a good to book their places. the 3rd seamer could be either rana or beera.

farhat , hasan , asim and butt , all ruined golden oppertunities to seal their spots for the test matches.

mushtaq ahmed though went for runs , yet got the better wickets. so there could be contention over there whether the mushy experiment was a success or not.

inzi's and afridi's torrid run with the bat continues.

with rizzy gone , afridi could well be in as an allrounder.

in conclusion good to see malik , moyo and yk in form.

Big Daddy said:
GAME SUMMARY:

i think both sami and shoaib have done their chances a world of a good to book their places. the 3rd seamer could be either rana or beera.

farhat , hasan , asim and butt , all ruined golden oppertunities to seal their spots for the test matches.

mushtaq ahmed though went for runs , yet got the better wickets. so there could be contention over there whether the mushy experiment was a success or not.

inzi's and afridi's torrid run with the bat continues.

with rizzy gone , afridi could well be in as an allrounder.

in conclusion good to see malik , moyo and yk in form.

COULDNT AGREE MORE.

Originally Posted by Big Daddy
GAME SUMMARY:

"i think both sami and shoaib have done their chances a world of a good to book their places. the 3rd seamer could be either rana or beera."

I think third seamer have to be b/w umar gul or rana. I dont think shabbir is in contention

sehsan said:
Originally Posted by Big Daddy
GAME SUMMARY:

"i think both sami and shoaib have done their chances a world of a good to book their places. the 3rd seamer could be either rana or beera."

I think third seamer have to be b/w umar gul or rana. I dont think shabbir is in contention

i disagree

beera , rana and mohammad asif , all bowled about 6 overs each , clealy not a suffecient yard stick to be considered

where as some of the bother bowlers got
mushy bowled 32
kaneria bowled 10
sami bowled 10
shoaib bowled 20

do u see where i am going with this? just on the overs preferance , the last 4 mentioned in the list could find themselves in the 11.

Amoeba said:

[ACC Mode On][Spitting All Over the PC in Disgust]

No no, in Shoaib's case it was BREATHTAKINGLY BRILLIANT!

In Sami's case, another useless/no good performence in a meaningless game; he was also quite expensive to have given 29 runs in 10 overs...only when he starts bowling 10 maidens on the trott, we can say for sure that he has a slight chance to make it to the team!:O

But then an average of 47 and 88 SR means I will not pick him in my team

[/ACC Mode Off][/Wiping the PC and Monitor]

:21:

everyone had written faisal iqbal off last season, but he's made some runs in crunch games over the last couple of weeks.

so going on this scale , the team would be , mind u its not my team , but logically it would be

malik
butt/taufeeq/farhat
yk
yoyo
inzi
afridi
akmal
shoaib
sami
kaneria
mushy

i guess there are all indications now on how the wicket will be , a dust bowl!!!!!!

p.s. i dont kno about u guys but this batting lineup to me looks very shabby

Anyone care to notice that Faisal Iqbal saved Rest of Pakistan and not Raza

whyhkk - yes.
BD - i know its not your team, but whoever's team it is needs to be told it lacks a 3rd seamer. playing afridi at 6 and adding rana/gul might be a way around that.

ok thanks for the edit! i would now have to change my statement to drop mushy and play rana/gul.

whyhkk said:
Anyone care to notice that Faisal Iqbal saved Rest of Pakistan and not Raza

WHAT IS THIS THING U MENTION "FAISAL IQBAL" ,WE NEVER NOTICE HIM AND REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE HIM .

Inzi's form is a little worrying now! Hope he gets it together before the first test, I really hope mushy isn't recalled but you never know with the PCB! Asim will be probably be replaced now.