Match thread - Pak XI v Rest of Pak (26-29 oct)

kayanni said:
Is shobby injured? Thats what Sky sports are reporting

perhaps just trying to create rumours ? if he got injured today he would have obviously not been selected for the squad which was announced after todays play .

Big Mac said:
Who cares about form where Afridi is concerned? You can't apply the same standards to Afridi as you would to a human cricketer.
:D Agreed
Besides, i'd be more worried about Asim Kamal's form - at least Afridi has his bowling as well and did better than our specialist legspinner Danish.

And anyway, i don't think Afridi should have faced the new ball - he should be batting at 6 or 7 for sure.

Well they obvioulsy testing other contestants as openers. Thats why they sent Afridi, Akmal, Kamal up the order. Unlucky for Kamal, now he wont be considered for the number 6 spot. Butt better get some runs on the board tomorrow. Good to see he survived the fiery spell from Akhtar.

Asif sent in as night watchman???

Is it just me or somthing but i swear mohammed asif just picked up 4 wickets for 42 wich are very good figures and no1 has mentioned it yet my man afridi gets 2 for 60 odd and people are saying hes gnr take the english apart. Also alot of people r relying on rana to do well yet once again he has struggled to pick up wickets in the longer form of the game which even so-called crappy mohammed asif has done.

A thumbs up for Faisal iqbal and bazid khan also on another note mr misbah-ul-Haq, the poor guy has been scoring runs for joke from far as i can remember yet hes not in the team becuase of his age which is around 29-30? then what the point him playing cricket he might aswell retire. what on gods earth is going on? hes not a bad captain either it would be comforting to know one day when inzy retires we have a mature and capable captain which he could possibly be.

Does BW coach both teams? How come the batting order for the 2nd innings is totally switched around compare to the first innings (for Pak XI)?

Well akthar for showing his ability to take wickets as per usual. am sure monsee is delighted!

umarbeast said:
Well Monsee unless Shoaib Akthar wants to terminate his Pakistan cricket career he will make sure not to get injuried.

WOW :20:

Two questions:

1- Do you think he can control whether he stays fit or not? If you think so then I am really thankful that you are not amongst our cricketing administration!

2- If he can control his injuries or can ensure that he reamins injury free, then that mean all those times when he pulled short, for a minor niggle or pain, in the past, were just a FAKE injuries? :13:

Well akthar for showing his ability to take wickets as per usual. am sure monsee is delighted!

Just like someone said about a certain Bits-n-pieces player's innings in the first innings: An ok performence in a meaningless practice match...don't know why people are jumping up and down? :21:

Haha! Afridi played out 12 balls but couldn't score a single run. Ohhh....was Shoaib's fire too much for him?

Pak XI 2nd innings latest score

155 for 5

Butt retired on 33 from 75 balls...good to see him spend some time at the crease.
Kamal Bradman made a start (39)
Inzi not out 76 from 70 (five 4s and six 6s)

Shoaib Akhtar bowled well. 3 for 27 from 14 overs. Hopefully a sign of things to come.
Mushy was destroyed.

all from www.pcboard.com.pk

Pak XI 2nd innings latest score

155 for 5

Butt retired on 33 from 75 balls...good to see him spend some time at the crease.
Kamal Bradman made a start (39)
Inzi not out 76 from 70 (five 4s and six 6s)

Shoaib Akhtar bowled well. 3 for 27 from 14 overs. Hopefully a sign of things to come.
Mushy was destroyed.

all from www.pcboard.com.pk

But wasn't Kamal out yesterday when the score was 16?

Shoaib bowled more overs thn any other bowler and is the most economical, 14 out of a total of 35 overs giving up only 27 runs and taking three wickes not bad i say.

that is what I thought.

Maybe they thought he needed a second chance. Still could only make 23 if that is the case.

After reading the score card again, i have a couple of questions:

1) Why does it say 5 wickets whentwo batsmen were retired?
2) Who is batting along with Inzi? because the scorecard shows only Inzi as not out.

that's it, as much as i like him, I can't understand the Mushy hype. Let's give Kaneria and Afridi more confidence and give them the mantle

the match is drawn. Why did they only score 130 runs in an entire day? Why have they ended the day so early? Is it raining?

Shayan_Sohail said:
After reading the score card again, i have a couple of questions:

1) Why does it say 5 wickets whentwo batsmen were retired?
2) Who is batting along with Inzi? because the scorecard shows only Inzi as not out.

in all likely hood, asim was out earlier and then given a second chance again to play himself into some form so he could be in contention for the first test match

Big Daddy said:
in all likely hood, asim was out earlier and then given a second chance again to play himself into some form so he could be in contention for the first test match

Did Amjid Bradman had something to do with the 2nd chance given to Kamal Bradman :13: :D

Big Daddy said:

and he wasted the opportunity.

Monsee said:
Still no ducks and low scores shown as you mentioned...Fabrications I suppose

If you have proof then show it :21:

low scores and a duck.go and have a look at the games malik has played so far since september.Only a 100 in one game.Go and check it out for yourself.

Elan Tedronai said:
low scores and a duck.go and have a look at the games malik has played so far since september.Only a 100 in one game.Go and check it out for yourself.

Three days and still want me to check that out...you are really funny

If you don't have the proof to back up your claims, don't expect others to do that for you...you said it, you provide the proof, simple :P

BTW, a duck is different from 'Ducks'...so you better have more than one to show for

i think the scorecard was wrong last night, they probably had Kamal's figures down wrong becausese akhtar still took the wicket the same way he did yesterday

Overall Shoaib's figures in the match were 34 overs, 4 wickets, 90 runs, and also 9 maidens. His wickets were Salman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal. He also bowled 34 out of 128.5 overs and also that was becasue the spinners bowled alot ak.k.a Mushtaq Ahmad.

Now how can he be left out of the 1st Test?
As usual Shoaib has proved Monsee wrong! Go Shoaib Destroy England
Btw, where is Farhad? Only real shoaib supporter besides moi.

Monsee said:
Three days and still want me to check that out...you are really funny

If you don't have the proof to back up your claims, don't expect others to do that for you...you said it, you provide the proof, simple :P

BTW, a duck is different from 'Ducks'...so you better have more than one to show for

listen,

i don't have the time or the inclination to check out stuff that i already remember.

Shoaib malik has got just one hundred so far barring the recent game.he got repeated low scores and a 'duck' when facing the new ball (burra version).

no point in playing semantics with duck or ducks.you know what i mean.

Easatheman said:
Overall Shoaib's figures in the match were 34 overs, 4 wickets, 90 runs, and also 9 maidens. His wickets were Salman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal. He also bowled 34 out of 128.5 overs and also that was becasue the spinners bowled alot ak.k.a Mushtaq Ahmad.

count me in.

i could'nt care less of akhtar's figures in a warm up game.His real test will come soon.

But i always thought he could only bowl 4 overs.Am i reading the scorecard right?

is this match still progressing or has it finished now ?

Elan Tedronai said:
listen,

i don't have the time or the inclination to check out stuff that i already remember.

You should...you make a claim, then you back it up or stay away from bashing the kid

Shoaib malik has got just one hundred so far barring the recent game.he got repeated low scores and a 'duck' when facing the new ball (burra version).

Why barring the recent game...that makes a total of two 100's

no point in playing semantics with duck or ducks.you know what i mean.

No maybe I don't...enlighten me what do you mean by ducks. According to whatever little english I know

a duck = 1

ducks = More Than One for sure

Easatheman said:

34 overs and 4 wickets (That too primarilly of out of form or less recognized batsmen); at this rate we will definitely get English out in 10 days, once!

Since Akhtar is our only wicket taking bowler, as you guys have told us from day one, we will be in for a long ride

1)Like i said i don't have the time or the effort to do so.Searching and posting for links.I know what i am writing.I would'nt do so if i were fasting at the moment.i say so coz i know it's the truth.No point in dwelling on it.If i am lying then i am in the wrong.Little chance of that anyways.

2)And who cares?one more hundred on a dead wicket.let's see how he performs on sporting wickets against eng bowlers.

3)duck or ducks.if you want to argue regarding the difference between a singular or a plural version then that's your choice.Duck or no duck.he did still get a duck on good wicket.Clean bowled by umar gul.When i posted that earlier message i had that duck in mind.If you expect me to say 'oh i made a mistake writing an extra s' then by all means revel in such a 'big' mistake.

Elan Tedronai said:
1)Like i said i don't have the time or the effort to do so.Searching and posting for links.I know what i am writing.I would'nt do so if i were fasting at the moment.i say so coz i know it's the truth.No point in dwelling on it.If i am lying then i am in the wrong.Little chance of that anyways.

2)And who cares?one more hundred on a dead wicket.let's see how he performs on sporting wickets against eng bowlers.

3)duck or ducks.if you want to argue regarding the difference between a singular or a plural version then that's your choice.Duck or no duck.he did still get a duck on good wicket.Clean bowled by umar gul.When i posted that earlier message i had that duck in mind.If you expect me to say 'oh i made a mistake writing an extra s' then by all means revel in such a 'big' mistake.

HaHaHa...you are being so lame right now and you so know it :P

Next time maybe you will keep the 'Singular/Plural' difference in mind when shouting from the roof tops especially when criticizing Malik :24:

actually what's so lame is how you want to pin point an argument over duck and ducks:))

As for toning my crictism on malik, i merely pointing out that quick fix solutions are not the way forward.When pakistan opens in england next year will shoaib malik still open enthusiastically?Or will he hunker down the order as usual?

Yaaro yeh chonch larana band karo :). This "tu tu mein mein" is just getting annoying. Yes, we have our favourites and we have different opinions. I personally hate the way Akhtar behaves(his attitude simply sux) but still i would love to see Akhtar terrorising opposition batsmen and taking heaps of wickets.
Sab thanda paani pio aur yeh socho k we all want each and every player to perform no matter who is selected.
Chill out bacho :)

Waseem said:
Yaaro yeh chonch larana band karo :). This "tu tu mein mein" is just getting annoying. Yes, we have our favourites and we have different opinions. I personally hate the way Akhtar behaves(his attitude simply sux) but still i would love to see Akhtar terrorising opposition batsmen and taking heaps of wickets.
Sab thanda paani pio aur yeh socho k we all want each and every player to perform no matter who is selected.

The Voice of Reason ! Well said Waseem.

I really didn't understand what happened on last day of practice match. Only few overs were bowled, Kamal batted again, Butt retired after scoring ONLY 33 ( i mean didn't he need more practice???).

On the positive side, Inzi was one of the only top order batsman who didn't get much practice but he got into act as well and scored quickfire 76 off 70 balls with 5 4's and 6 6's. He probably thrashed Mushi who disappointed again conceding 63 off 11 overs without taking wicket. Arshad Khan was the other one who suffered.
Only Akhtar and Mushtaq bowled reasonable overs which indicates their inclusion in the FIRST test.

Master-P said:
What was the point of mo khalil playing two balls then retiring?

You mean Mo Asif. He was just a night watch man, in the morning they didnt think that he needed any batting practice so they retired him and gave batting to kamal and inzi.

Waseem said:

i guess you are right.i submit to your wisdom waseem:)

the scorecard points to a rather confusing and farcical finale to this match.

agree completely. A complete and utter joke of a days play. For a start they hardly played any cricket. I mean....judging by the runs scored it couldn't be too much more than a session of play. Surely we should be getting all the match practice we need. Isn't that what Inzi was complaining about?

And why was Kamal given another chance to bat after being out. He had his chance. Give someone else some time in the middle. Someone who has not had as much recently....such as Afridi.

Why Butt retire on 33? OK he faced 70 odd balls, which is good time spent in the middle but seems a strange time for someone to retire.

About Waseem and others saying we should stop this arguing:

My problem is when Elan, Amjid and others start criticizing a player without even knowing what they are really talking about e.g. Eland said Malik has had many ducks and low scores in the past few games

When confronted, he could come up with one Mere Duck...now you do understand why I was confronting Elan;-)

I do like Malik but he ain't my favorite or anything; when he plays for Pak team and contributes to a win, he becomes one of my favorites...not 'The Favorite' player by a long shot

we could say the same thing about you monsee regarding shoaib.

ducks and duck are beneath the issue.I feel malik is just a quick fix.
anyways it's my opnion and let's leave it at that.

Monsee said:
About Waseem and others saying we should stop this arguing:

My problem is when Elan, Amjid and others start criticizing a player without even knowing what they are really talking about e.g. Eland said Malik has had many ducks and low scores in the past few games

When confronted, he could come up with one Mere Duck...now you do understand why I was confronting Elan;-)

I do like Malik but he ain't my favorite or anything; when he plays for Pak team and contributes to a win, he becomes one of my favorites...not 'The Favorite' player by a long shot

Guys:

this is dragging on a bit.

You need to stop creating personal rivalries here Bhai. It does nothing to enhance your argument - just seems to give you some kind of reputation - you may enjoy it, others dont and it kills off other discussion.

From now on, I will summarily delete any posts where you or anyone has a go at each other. Dont bother asking me why as you have now been warned.

Discuss performance by all means - just keep other members name out of it.

lets be fair - im sure monsee would be the first to praise akhtar for his performance on the field for pakistan if he were to get wickets but like most of us he has a problem with his off field antics etc - instead of just keeping quiet on misdemeanours that happen - problems should be dealt with face on.

Waqar's inswinging yorker said:
lets be fair - im sure monsee would be the first to praise akhtar for his performance on the field for pakistan if he were to get wickets but like most of us he has a problem with his off field antics etc - instead of just keeping quiet on misdemeanours that happen - problems should be dealt with face on.

Bravo Bravo, right on the money:19:

I get too much flack for being anti-Akhtar...when in fact I Only want him to contribute to the team.

I could care less if James Bond played for Pakistan as long as I don't feel embarrased by his antics and he is helping the team win:)

Big Mac said:
What a sexy sweater :cool:

Another sign that you are a female...talking about sexy sweaters

I am sure you know how to knit them too

Monsee said:

monsee bro relax man. take a chill pill. r u going through a mid life crisis?

kas said:
monsee bro relax man. take a chill pill. r u going through a mid life crisis?

Yaar, we are just playing...read through the last few posts

Why you jump out of your pants so easily :P

Monsee said:
Yaar, we are just playing...read through the last few posts

Why you jump out of your pants so easily :P

as long as u playin bro. i have to intervene at some stage otherwise u might end up punching ur computer if u get annoyed too much

kas said:
as long as u playin bro. i have to intervene at some stage otherwise u might end up punching ur computer if u get annoyed too much

You don't know me much, do you...ask others on PP, what Monsee is all about :16:

Monsee said:
You don't know me much, do you...ask others on PP, what Monsee is all about :16:

bro i am here to talk about pak cricket not find out about ur life achievements. y wud i wanna ask ppl about u?? if u were gona be the next "imran khan" to play for pakistan then i would ask other ppl about u but at then end of the day u r just a normal PPer jus like evryone else. no offence yaar.;-)

Monsee said:

My view on Monsee. Not someone you should mess around with. Just a bit of friendly advice.

kas said:
bro i am here to talk about pak cricket not find out about ur life achievements. y wud i wanna ask ppl about u?? if u were gona be the next "imran khan" to play for pakistan then i would ask other ppl about u but at then end of the day u r just a normal PPer jus like evryone else. no offence yaar.;-)

Yaar its just an expression when he said 'ask others on PP'. He didnt mean it literally.

kas said:
y wud i wanna ask ppl about u?? if u were gona be the next "imran khan" to play for pakistan then i would ask other ppl about u but at then end of the day u r just a normal PPer jus like evryone else.

Monsee is the next Shoaib!

Sunny G said:
Monsee is the next Shoaib!

Keeewl Eyi cowld gutt mei ai Ferreerai aund ai Juut Maitee :16: (spoken in Multi-Accents)

My view on Monsee. Not someone you should mess around with. Just a bit of friendly advice.

Yaar abb itna bhi na darao bachon ko...koi mujh saay discussion hi nahin karaay ga

I am just an innochent and friendly poshter and Raz is just jealous of my popularity :P

kas said:

O Bhai...I just meant for you to understand that I am not a "Furiously Angry Man"

Most of the time I am pretending to be mad...I am usually just chilling :D

Monsee said:
Yaar abb itna bhi na darao bachon ko...koi mujh saay discussion hi nahin karaay ga

I am just an innochent and friendly poshter and Raz is just jealous of my popularity :P

If only they knew what you were popular for!:P

:)))You mean coining the nickname for our favorite whipping boy - "jet man, 6 pack, ferrari loving, womanzier, 200 mile runup, eik baal waala, isn't enough" :P

Monsee said:

Indeed, the ladies love it when I slip loop their crochets :94:

zushy_786 said:
:)))You mean coining the nickname for our favorite whipping boy - "jet man, 6 pack, ferrari loving, womanzier, 200 mile runup, eik baal waala, isn't enough" :P

Those are the lesser of my achievements...BTW, I might have given him the tag of Mr. K. (full name too which is now banned here)

My biggest achievements are some lovely names handed to a select few players from across the border ;-) :D

Big Mac said:
Indeed, the ladies love it when I slip loop their crochets :94:

Now you are gonna say, 'I am in to Bingo and Long walks on the beach'...I believe you are more than a woman, you might be Grandma BigMac :P :D

Monsee said:
Now you are gonna say, 'I am in to Bingo and Long walks on the beach'...I believe you are more than a woman, you might be Grandma BigMac :P :D

Ask shagufta :)) The ladies love a man with a feminine side.

Inzamam back to form as practice match ends
LAHORE: The four-day cricket practice match between Pakistan XI and the Rest of Pakistan ended in a draw here at the Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday.

Pakistan XI were 155 for five in 35.5 overs in their second innings when play was called off with the mutual consent of both the captains at lunch.

Rest of Pakistan had conceded a 73 runs lead when they reached 401 all out in 99.3 overs in their first innings while replying to the Pakistan XI first innings total of 474 for eight declared in 93 overs.

The fourth and final day’s play was a mere formality as the Pakistan team had already been named on Friday for the first two Test matches against England. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) organised three practice matches to assess the individual performance and fitness of the probables for their selection to the Pakistan team.

The Pakistan XI who were struggling at their overnight score of 16 for three in 11 overs were supported by Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq who scored a fine half-century.

Inzamam signalled a return to form, after making just 14 runs in the first innings, went on to score an unbeaten 76 with five hits to the fence and six over it off a mere 70 balls in 123 minutes.

With the left-handed Asim Kamal (39), Inzamam put up 140 runs for the unbroken sixth-wicket stand, lifting the side out of trouble.

Shoaib Akhtar was the most successful bowler claiming all the three wickets fell on Friday.

Scoreboard

Pakistan XI won toss

Pakistan XI 1st inns 474-8 dec (Shoaib Malik 177, Younis Khan 107, Mohammad Yousuf 98; Mushtaq Ahmed 4-173)

Rest of Pakistan 1st inns 401 (Bazid Khan 77, Misbah-ul-Haq 113, Faisal Iqbal 106; Mohammad Asif 4-46)

Pakistan XI 2nd inns (overnight 16-3)

Shahid Afridi c Zulqarnain b Shoaib 0

Salman Butt retired out 33

Asim Kamal c Imran b Shoaib 39

†Kamran Akmal lbw b Shoaib 0

Mohammad Asif retired out 1

*Inzamam-ul-Haq not out 76

Extras (lb6) 6

Total (5 wkts, 35.5 overs) 155

Did not bat: Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq, Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Sami, Danish Kaneria, Arshad Khan, Shabbir Ahmed

Fall: 1-4, 2-15, 3-15, 4-15, 5-155

Bowling: Shoaib Akhtar 14-5-27-3; Umar Gul 5-3-6-0; Mushtaq Ahmed 11-0-63-0; Rao Iftikhar 4-0-25-0; Arshad Khan 1.5-0-28-0

Result: Match drawn

Umpires: Asad Rauf and Zameer Haider. Official scorer: Masood Ahmed

Players: Pakistan XI 15 (11 to bat and field); Rest of Pakistan 13 (11 to bat and field)

Monsee said:
Those are the lesser of my achievements...BTW, I might have given him the tag of Mr. K. (full name too which is now banned here)

Actually i christened him Mr K on this board!!

It was after a comparison between him and Zahid where i concluded that the PCB backed a donkey instead of the stallion!

Mercenary said:
Actually i christened him Mr K on this board!!

It was after a comparison between him and Zahid where i concluded that the PCB backed a donkey instead of the stallion!

That's why I said "I might have..."

BTW, I doubt many can disagree about Zahid vs Mr. D***** :12:

Sunny G said:
Ask shagufta :)) The ladies love a man with a feminine side.

Sahgufta, Medium pace, the square drive, Afridi_Bouncer...what a bunch of goons. Yet quite hillarious :D