Mention that one match which you wish turned out differently for your team and its loss still hurts?

I don't understand how you can still be hurt over a few collapses in bilateral series but fail to see that the Mohali semi-final was a similar loss. We were not out of our league, not even close. Pakistan were ahead of the game from the time Sehwag got out to the dismissal of Hafeez. After that it was a straightforward chase but the batsmen lost their heads.

India were the better team on paper since that was their greatest ODI team of all time but you wouldn't know that from the action on the field.

You've forgiven Hafeez, Afridi, Akmal and Razzaq?

Our batting was the issue.

Kamran was a walking wicket by that point and whilst Hafeez hit some good form during that time and seemed to be doing well upon his return in 2010 - he was never a man for the big occasion and hence failed by playing a horrific shot.

YK was also past it in ODI's at that point - despite playing in Asia against his favorite team.

We all know that Umar and Afridi were forever brainless whilst Razzaq had a horrible tournament.

It was Misbah or nothing in that SF - just like it was during the 2007 World T20 and once again he tried to get us close.

On a side note - I wished Malik had played that tournament. It could have been very different for us in that SF...

Probably the 2015 WC semi-final loss to Australia. Till we played Australia, India beat ever team it faced quite comprehensively. Whoever won the semi-final was likely going to win the final too. Would have been very nice to have won consecutive WCs.

That is one match kohli for which will not be forgiven in my eyes. The manner in which he got out for an ego shot vs mitchell johnson. He was already one of the best in chasing, if not the best by then.That score was chase-able. And the team lost gas after 18-19 overs. The openers gave a decent 70-80 run partnership in a chase of 350 I think.

He has to make up for that.

Tbh I wanted Pakistan to lose to England in 2017 CT final so they could face India as a tough opponent. But to everyone's surprise they won the whole thing.

The infamous Sydney test
( continuing our discussion of WC vs Bilateral odi )

going by the responses in this thread ... notice how the vast majority of matches that posters are still upset about are mostly WC matches .... this is a another very good indicator as to the importance of WC matches.

( continuing our discussion of WC vs Bilateral odi )

going by the responses in this thread ... notice how the vast majority of matches that posters are still upset about are mostly WC matches .... this is a another very good indicator as to the importance of WC matches.
Your assumption is that I said world cup matches are unimportant.

I didn't.

I just don't think bilateral matches were unimportant as many claim them to be.

Btw most of the posters have mentioned semi finals or finals not random group games in a WC.

Bangladesh vs England (2nd ODI; 2010 ODI series in Bangladesh).

Bangladesh had the game in the bag (England were 8 down). Eoin Morgan played a blinder and completely snatched the game away. England won by 2 wickets.

Heartbreak for BD.

2003/2023 hurt. But financially 2007 hurt me more. SPent like 199$ for subscription. Did not watch any match after the exit.

Your assumption is that I said world cup matches are unimportant.

I didn't.

I just don't think bilateral matches were unimportant as many claim them to be.

Well didn't you say that your bilateral record vs Ind was just as important as our WC record vs Pak?

The comparison was always WC Vs bilateral and based on live evidence from this very thread anything that happens as part of worldcups including T20WC is faaar more important than any bilateral or even the numerous multi nation tournaments that have almost completely stopped because of the meaningless nature of them. This is why they hurt especially the serious cricket fans.

I personally gave up watching the Bilateral series a long long time ago. If something magical happens in these games I go and watch the highlights and move on. Even some of the top players don't bother playing them regularly.

Btw most of the posters have mentioned semi finals or finals not random group games in a WC.

Yes but notice the near complete absence of bilateral losses. Conversely if we go check the most memorable wins thread ( if there is one)... pretty sure that the Indian poster's would list most of the WC Wins against Pakistan but not any of the bilateral series wins.

Pakistan's 1999 final loss, 2007 final loss are the worst memories that I wished could be changed.

Well didn't you say that your bilateral record vs Ind was just as important as our WC record vs Pak?

The comparison was always WC Vs bilateral and based on live evidence from this very thread anything that happens as part of worldcups including T20WC is faaar more important than any bilateral or even the numerous multi nation tournaments that have almost completely stopped because of the meaningless nature of them. This is why they hurt especially the serious cricket fans.

I personally gave up watching the Bilateral series a long long time ago. If something magical happens in these games I go and watch the highlights and move on. Even some of the top players don't bother playing them regularly.

Yes but notice the near complete absence of bilateral losses. Conversely if we go check the most memorable wins thread ( if there is one)... pretty sure that the Indian poster's would list most of the WC Wins against Pakistan but not any of the bilateral series wins.
Yes the overall historical bilateral record in my eyes is just as important as world cup record.

Recently the world cup record has meant more because of the scarcity of other cricket. Bilaterals were not meaningless at the time. They have became meaningless now due to franchises and T20 cricket. It is not right to use the modern definition to go back and historically revise their status.

Within that record the world cup knockout defeats are painful as I'd imagine the CT finals defeat may be painful to some Indians.

We are reminded of the world cup games every few years through ads and stuff that's why they stick in the memory.

Trust me schedule a Pak V India bilateral tomorrow and the other memories will be pushed to the forefront too.

1999 Hobart Test vs Australia. A victory there (which was highly likely before the final day), would have not only kept the series alive, given Pakistan a massive confident boost and more importantly belief over the years.

Since then, every touring Pakistan side to Aus has justified their whitewash by saying “oh well, the great 1990s team got whitewashed too”.

1999 Hobart Test vs Australia. A victory there (which was highly likely before the final day), would have not only kept the series alive, given Pakistan a massive confident boost and more importantly belief over the years.

Since then, every touring Pakistan side to Aus has justified their whitewash by saying “oh well, the great 1990s team got whitewashed too”.
Here are your beloved hero's wonderful bowling performances in that series -

Wasim Akram -

Innings - 5; Wickets - 5, Ave - 55; SR - 108.20

Waqar Younis -

Innings - 2, Wickets - 2, Ave - 40; SR - 69

Link: https://www.espncricinfo.com/record...pakistan-in-australia-test-series-1999-00-420

that match had a lot of twists and turns man. Saqlain skittling them, Inzi playing a top class knock, aussies were on the ropes and then Gilchrist just went nuts.

It hurt a lot

Yes the overall historical bilateral record in my eyes is just as important as world cup record.

Recently the world cup record has meant more because of the scarcity of other cricket. Bilaterals were not meaningless at the time. They have became meaningless now due to franchises and T20 cricket. It is not right to use the modern definition to go back and historically revise their status.

Within that record the world cup knockout defeats are painful as I'd imagine the CT finals defeat may be painful to some Indians.

We are reminded of the world cup games every few years through ads and stuff that's why they stick in the memory.

Trust me schedule a Pak V India bilateral tomorrow and the other memories will be pushed to the forefront too.

If what you are saying was true the posts on this thread would reflect that and look very different. When serious cricket fans dont remember any of the numerous Bilateral ODI series from the past It tells the real story.

Plus there are these other data points such as news articles after a loss to India in the WC92 wherein it was suggested to welcome the Pak team with a Garland made of shoes, the threats, avg fans breaking tvs and so on that point to the higher Importance of these matches.

May be a left field pick but the Melbourne 2011 test vs Australia.

We were going fine until the Tendulkar dismissal at the end of Day 2. From then on it was a slide to a 4-0 whitewash and a sad end to our great test team of the time.

Tbh when I actually cared about Pakistan cricket, I was deeply hurt at the 2010 Semi Final v Australia. That match should have been in the bag, we should have won another T20 World Cup when the tide was in our favour.

I was a bit hurt at the 2021 sf loss to Australia…but with time I realised it was a great result. A few of these frauds would have lived the rest of their lives on the same stature of guys like Akram, Afridi, Miandad, Khan, Inzimam etc. They have no business to be mentioned in the same breath as players like Akmal’s and Hafeez for crying out loud!

Tbh when I actually cared about Pakistan cricket, I was deeply hurt at the 2010 Semi Final v Australia. That match should have been in the bag, we should have won another T20 World Cup when the tide was in our favour.

I was a bit hurt at the 2021 sf loss to Australia…but with time I realised it was a great result. A few of these frauds would have lived the rest of their lives on the same stature of guys like Akram, Afridi, Miandad, Khan, Inzimam etc. They have no business to be mentioned in the same breath as players like Akmal’s and Hafeez for crying out loud!
Rana Sahab ghussa thuk deyo!

this same time will win u the world cup in 3028.. just keep ur faith on them! :D

2021 semi-final against Australia. Lost the game out of nowhere courtesy of Wade's smashing inning.
Marcus Stoinis lead the charge first

Australia were cruising home regardless of Hassan Ali’s drop catch

The 2 games are very different even if similarities exist.

2010 was not a bottle job by any means, Hussey pulled off one of the greatest comebacks imaginable. It's just like when Fakhar is on song, Their isn't anything you can do when a batter is in prime time. Even Amir who took 4 wickets that day ended up going from an eco of less then 2 to an eco of 8 due to the insane bashing.

Even Ajmal's figures aren't reflective of his bowling that day, He was bowling superbly, it's just hussey went beast mode.

Pakistan played really well, Scored 191 in an era where 160 was a winning total, bundled Australia early, Hussey was too good.

2021 is different. The opening was terrible unlike 2010 where all 3 openers went beast mode, in 2021 Babar and Rizwan’s crapola innings had Pakistan at 70 for 1 in 10 overs. Pakistan is lucky fakhar zaman was onsong that day and saved the team and got them to a respectable total, which is infuriating since falhar was switched on, imagine if he opened like he did in the tri series final? 91 of 46 was needed that day.

Further more Australia didn't get bundled up unlike 2010, They struggled for the first 3 overs only, Afterwards it was mostly a balanced game, Wickets fell by rr was never put of their control, They played accumulatibely well and Mattew wade finished it off.

On top of which the fielding was downright garbage unlike 2010.

Case in Point: 2010 Pakistan played their hearts out and were undone by a generational innings which only Australia can pull off.

2021 Pakistan was lucky to have Fakhar onsong at no 3 that day and cover up the rizzu and babar bottle job, but even while batting, Pakistan only dominated for the first 3 overs, The game remained balanced and it was always going to be a tight finish even if wade didn't do what he did. Could have gone either way

The 2 games are very different even if similarities exist.

2010 was not a bottle job by any means, Hussey pulled off one of the greatest comebacks imaginable. It's just like when Fakhar is on song, Their isn't anything you can do when a batter is in prime time. Even Amir who took 4 wickets that day ended up going from an eco of less then 2 to an eco of 8 due to the insane bashing.

Even Ajmal's figures aren't reflective of his bowling that day, He was bowling superbly, it's just hussey went beast mode.

Pakistan played really well, Scored 191 in an era where 160 was a winning total, bundled Australia early, Hussey was too good.

2021 is different. The opening was terrible unlike 2010 where all 3 openers went beast mode, in 2021 Babar and Rizwan’s crapola innings had Pakistan at 70 for 1 in 10 overs. Pakistan is lucky fakhar zaman was onsong that day and saved the team and got them to a respectable total, which is infuriating since falhar was switched on, imagine if he opened like he did in the tri series final? 91 of 46 was needed that day.

Further more Australia didn't get bundled up unlike 2010, They struggled for the first 3 overs only, Afterwards it was mostly a balanced game, Wickets fell by rr was never put of their control, They played accumulatibely well and Mattew wade finished it off.

On top of which the fielding was downright garbage unlike 2010.

Case in Point: 2010 Pakistan played their hearts out and were undone by a generational innings which only Australia can pull off.

2021 Pakistan was lucky to have Fakhar onsong at no 3 that day and cover up the rizzu and babar bottle job, but even while batting, Pakistan only dominated for the first 3 overs, The game remained balanced and it was always going to be a tight finish even if wade didn't do what he did. Could have gone either way
Still bro, Australia needed too many runs in the last 2-3 overs. It was inconceivable to think that many runs would knocked off at that time. How they let that go is mind boggling!

I saw the game live, Warner was punishing Pakistan black and blue. It was stonis who was killing the game which is why wade had to bat, But they way wade batted was overkill, 241 sr crushed Pakistan with an entire over still needing to be bowled.

The issue for Australia in 2021 was their no 2 to no 6 collapsing like a house of cards. Wickets were the issue, not sr.

2010 it was both, Wickets and SR. Hussey was dealing with insanely good bowling including a firing amir who was peak at this time.

I agree 2021 shpuld not have been lost and let go however that's my point. 2021 was a bottle job through and through. Pakistan is lucky fakhar did what he did and shaheen did what he did early on.

2010 the entire team played collectively and lost due to a generational innings. Just look at how Babar and rizwan were playing before Fakhar came in? These 2 bottle jobs would have bundled Pakistan out for 130 🤣🤣

1999 Cricket World Cup Final. Pakistan played brilliantly throughout the World Cup only to succumb on the big day in a magnificently embarrassing manner. It also exposed some deep issues with Pakistan cricket, issues that have continued to linger around the decades since.

Still hurts to this day.

2023 World Cup final. No other loss really hurt to be honest.

Delusional to think 2003 we had any chance . That OZ side was a juggenaut that simply couldn't be stopped.

The loss to USA made up for the abuse I suffered here on 152-0

Yooo
Ess
Ay

Yooo
Ess
Ay
Yeh i remeber the 152 match thread, and you were singing praises for rizwan.

2021 semi-final against Australia. Lost the game out of nowhere courtesy of Wade's smashing inning.
Poor captaincy by Babar lost us that game. I still cannot accept the fact that everyone here knows stoinis sucked against spin and babar decided to keep hafeez back because he bowled one no ball but the rest of the 6 deliveries were well bowled ones.

The infamous Sydney test
Oh man.

It was after this test i realized how anyone can get selected in pakistan.

So after the whole Sydney came to an end, it was finally accepted that kamran sucked and was time to drop him. The famous headlines were posted on cricinfo that said an SOS been sent to sarfraz and sarfraz shows up as the keeper for the last test.

So i was relieved that ok we lost the test, but that means, its the end of Kamran Akmal, who had made it a regular habit of dropping dollies. Few months later, Kamran Akmal is again named for the test series against Australia in England. And than after afridi took a retirement, PCB quietly also made Kamran the vice captain.

Funny thing was that even after making kamran the vice captain, the pcb isnt sure about his keeping so they add another keeper. They drop sarfraz and give zulqarnain haider a chance, whos domestic avgs were in the 20s at the time.

Those 9 months really thought me alot about pakistan cricket.

2023 Final.

I'd not have been too disappointed if Australia actually outplayed us on a good wicket but the fact that the team management specifically requested the curators to prepare a garbage slow wicket fully knowing that it'd get much better under lights, making it a win-toss-win-match scenario....is just gut wrenching. All the hard work done was undone by a moment of self doubt and mental midgetry.

Never hated anyone as much as I hated Rahul Dravid on that day.

Yeh i remeber the 152 match thread, and you were singing praises for rizwan.
Because I actually cared about Pakistan cricket then. But people like you who only support individuals like him lost a devout Pakistan cricket fan like me that day.

You all have deserved the misery that has come as a result since. I am your reckoning.

A very close second would be the rescheduled 5th Test at Edgebaston where England chased 380+ as if they were cutting a piece of cake.

We had every chance to wrap up the series win at Old Trafford by beating an already deflated England side under Root but our players chose the IPL money instead and ran away to UAE using the COVID excuse.

And even after all that, we should have in all likelihood won that game but our batters' complacency when we were effectively 350/4 in the third essay , cost us the game. Root and YJB were just way too good.

Because I actually cared about Pakistan cricket then. But people like you who only support individuals like him lost a devout Pakistan cricket fan like me that day.

You all have deserved the misery that has come as a result since. I am your reckoning.
ironic when someone who hates individuals calls others for supporting individuals.

I dont really support individuals ever since Misbah retired. But truth is Rizwan has performed, something that many like you can digest.

ironic when someone who hates individuals calls others for supporting individuals.

I dont really support individuals ever since Misbah retired. But truth is Rizwan has performed, something that many like you can digest.
Rizwan has performed for the OSCARs and IIFA awards

He has done NOTHING to improve Pakistan cricket. This is a fact too, you wanna take me on on this??

Only the truly delusional Pakistan fans would be upset about Pak’s recent defeats, when you’re a student of the game, these things don’t bother you. Jobbers will job, even to bigger jobbers.

Rizwan has performed for the OSCARs and IIFA awards

He has done NOTHING to improve Pakistan cricket. This is a fact too, you wanna take me on on this??
ICC T20 cricket of the year.........

How the Aussies are the best at showing the opposition players their true auqaad.
Waqar played and bowled in only one game and a grand total of 23 overs in that match. Is that a great sample size to put silly stats out? And if you actually watched and followed the match, his combined spell with Saqlain in the first innings turned the match in Pakistan’s favour. All the commies were singing both Saqlain and Waqar’s praises in that spell.

And Wasim had already dealt with the Aussies in 1989/90 and on many other occasions, so a bad series is nothing major.

And on top of that all of that, it still doesn’t answer my original question. What has any of that got to do with this thread?

What about when Sachin ‘Squeaky’ Tendulkar got his ‘100th’ century against Bangladesh:

- It was celebrated like they won the World Cup

- It was a hundred against Sehwag’s Bangladesh

- The entire cricketing fraternity was insulted by the cow’a final milking

- Tendulkar’s reputation was shattered, it was nice that people believed in a fairytale that he was a great team player and patriot, but the so called demi-god went through life and death to get that hundred, a shambolic and humiliating feat which proved what a cowardly cricketer he was. So I guess I was hurt by the fairytale being proved false.

Pakistan vs NZ 3rd T20 2020

This may seem a bit random but imo it is the reason why Pakistan cricket has fallen to the levels it has

Before this game, Pakistan had already lost the series and was approaching a whitewash. This was also the series were Misbah had shoved Rizwan to the top of the order - made easier by the fact that both Fakhar and Babar were unavailable for the series

Now before the 3rd game, Rizwan had scored 4 runs in the first match and 20 (20) in the second. He was batting like a rabbit and it was painful for all to watch. Even before this series, he had fail to do anything of note in white ball cricket and I believe that if he were to fail again than not even Misbah could have saved his place in the team

Unfortunately he ended up scoring 80 odd runs on a belter of a pitch - where Hafeez did most of the hardwork. Misbah than could finally justify we he had destroyed the team to accomodate this serial match loser.

Maybe just maybe if destiny was on the side of Pak cricket, Rizwan would have failed that match got sent back to domestics and Saifi would get a chance to return and properly help Pakistan develop for the next 5-6 years.

What could have been :cry:

Hahahahahaha, Sorry but that is the probably the biggest lie I've heard.

1) First of Chacha is universally frowned on however you've gone out of your way to defend him.

Common Examples include: Tearing apart Imad Wasim for not hitting a 6 of the last ball from a so called has been Neesham but vanishing when I pointed out Chacha got out on a full toss from has been neesham. Your response to others was Chacha just struggles on slow pitches.

Then in world cup it was babar did injustice to chacha even though chacha was brought to bat at no 5 multiple times in the world cup, Againat sa having 33 overs to bat, He still departed early cause he's a no 11 against wrist spin and hence is batting their as a protection method.

Now you're claiming his reactions are finished even though his reactions have been finished ever since I saw him in 2016.

^^ All this support because Misbah dubbed him as Pakistan's favourite finisher.

2) You've gone out of your way to vocally defend rizwan, you defended his 31 of 44 trash heap against India, aka claiming the pitch was a nightmare however that same logic just doesn't apply to the lower order who should have been able to cruise through according to you.

During the world cup in 2023 after the sri lanka game you went bharangra mode against india with terms such

" Abh Rizwan Sher Aa raha Hai" " 50 to Honei do na" " 4 of Bumrah from sher"

You've gone out of your way to justify fakhar being lucky not to be dropped from t20 but comvientally ignore his 91 of 46 he achieved in the tri series final against australia taking Pakistan to victory. Fakhar's goal was to not to be a consistent 50 of 40 scorer but an X factor which is why he and babar complimented each other for that no 1 rank and why babar and rizwan don't achieve the same results against top class sides because you can't have 2 accumulators at the top.

However because rizwan is Misbah's absolute favourite you get angry and have issues.

So much so that you've vocally attacked sarfraz for outright saying rizwan is better then him because rizwan is playing currently while he isn't. How on earth is sarfraz going the Umar Akmal route for saying

" Rizwan is better then me atm as he plays international cricket more then me for the time being however I was superior to him when I played in my prine"

^^ How is this wrong? Or arrogant? Is this really more arrogant then saying Mein no 5 pei khush nahi hoon?

It is a known fact whoever Misbah supports is your favourite irrespective of whether its from that talk show or from that crapola SNGPL team.

Otherwise you'd equally critise everyone, but that equality gets shoved out the window for Chacha and Rizwan.

2023 World Cup final. No other loss really hurt to be honest.

Delusional to think 2003 we had any chance . That OZ side was a juggenaut that simply couldn't be stopped.
One of my friends and I were having an argument in the semi final.

He had the audacity to tell Me to my face that current India has surpassed Classic Australia and crapola 2023 Australia doesn't stand a chance.

I told him that isn't true, Classic Australia wipes the floor with current India no difficulty, you'd need to remove Gill and replace him with Sachin, Add in Yuvi, Dhoni, kapil dev, harbajan and various others to make it tough, And he said it was crap and that the final would be a one sides affair.

And then it happened, HAHAHAHAHA.

Classic Australia beats any 2023 side including their own with no difficulty lol

Please stay on topic. No need to talk about players here and compare them here. Talk about the match that you wished turned out differently.

One of my friends and I were having an argument in the semi final.

He had the audacity to tell Me to my face that current India has surpassed Classic Australia and crapola 2023 Australia doesn't stand a chance.

I told him that isn't true, Classic Australia wipes the floor with current India no difficulty, you'd need to remove Gill and replace him with Sachin, Add in Yuvi, Dhoni, kapil dev, harbajan and various others to make it tough, And he said it was crap and that the final would be a one sides affair.

And then it happened, HAHAHAHAHA.

Classic Australia beats any 2023 side including their own with no difficulty lol
That side beats any and every other ODI side in history.

Only the truly delusional Pakistan fans would be upset about Pak’s recent defeats, when you’re a student of the game, these things don’t bother you. Jobbers will job, even to bigger jobbers.
For a side that has given its fans so much trauma in big knock-out matches, these recent defeats can't even hold a candle to those infamous big eff ups.

The best thing about the world 2024 lost to india is that we are soo conditioned to the pakistani team that losing this game didnt even hurt that much.

I think its the after affects of watching cricket for 20 years

Sydney 2004 - drawn test
Sydney 2008
WC 2023 Final (We won T20 WC 2024 kind of reduces the hurt, but should have been won)

Oh man.

So after the whole Sydney came to an end, it was finally accepted that kamran sucked and was time to drop him. The famous headlines were posted on cricinfo that said an SOS been sent to sarfraz and sarfraz shows up as the keeper for the last test.

So i was relieved that ok we lost the test, but that means, its the end of Kamran Akmal, who had made it a regular habit of dropping dollies. Few months later, Kamran Akmal is again named for the test series against Australia in England. And than after afridi took a retirement, PCB quietly also made Kamran the vice captain.

Funny thing was that even after making kamran the vice captain, the pcb isnt sure about his keeping so they add another keeper. They drop sarfraz and give zulqarnain haider a chance, whos domestic avgs were in the 20s at the time.

When watching Aus tests from the UK you can only really chose to stay awake to watch the first session or try to wake up for the third.

I just remember being in a daze at what happened to Pakistan multiple times in that match.

Kamran was to blame for sure but Yousuf captaincy was terrible. He put the field back to Hussey early on and let the game drift.

Oh man.

IKR? Who would have thought.

When watching Aus tests from the UK you can only really chose to stay awake to watch the first session or try to wake up for the third.

I just remember being in a daze at what happened to Pakistan multiple times in that match.

Kamran was to blame for sure but Yousuf captaincy was terrible. He put the field back to Hussey early on and let the game drift.
Man that cricket season was one of the best seasons until amir went on to spot fix.

I was in highschool and was in toronto back than. For the australia series in december i used to tune into the matches during night time. And than for the England series, it was summer time, so i was off. I used to wake up early in Fajar for that series and watch the first session till lunch.

Oh man those were the days, and it was also peak cricket forum season. We used to discuss the happenings of the match till the evening.

This is why, when i look back i hate kamran for his pathetic performance but than when i look at what amir and co did, than kamrans sins are forgivable. Amir and co and his fans dont understand what fans went through when this event took place.

98 Chennai test match, wished Moin Khan didn't get away with the greatest bumped catch of all time.

Anyways, that was not the last time. Remember what Rashid Latif did in a Test match against Bangladesh? That was 10 times worse. The guy picked up the ball from the ground. And the same guy was trying to justify it in an interview some years ago. Some people don't change.​