MNA Maulana Salahuddin Ayubi Marries 14-year Old Girl

Okay. What are guardians deciding for children? Actually, you have already answered your own question. A child has limited understanding of the dynamics of a marriage, why should a guardian push a child to get married to a person thrice his/her age?

A guardian deciding whether his/her child should go to a picnic or not is different from the guardian deciding marriage matters. Marriage is a life-long commitment and no other person can decide any matters related to marriage for anybody else.

You mean to say the people who are bringing up the children , do not know what is good for them?

Moreover, do you know that many countries have two different legal age of marriage? One with the consent of the guardians, which is always lower than the age by oneself?

And , those are NOT Muslim countries also. So , the modern-day countries, passing such law even today, all are idiots?

You mean to say the people who are bringing up the children , do not know what is good for them?

Moreover, do you know that many countries have two different legal age of marriage? One with the consent of the guardians, which is always lower than the age by oneself?

And , those are NOT Muslim countries also. So , the modern-day countries, passing such law even today, all are idiots?

In a Massachusetts the legal age for marriage for female is 12. Where’s the uproar or protest when it’s in America, seems like it’s only a problem when the person is Muslim. I’m not saying it’s definitely right or definitely wrong but we need some consistency when discussing these topics.

I think the legal age of marriage is Mass is 18; however, with parental consent it is can be lowered but that must GO THROUGH A JUDGE BUT more over, there is a stipulation in the law where a person over 21 cannot marry a person under 16.

And that's what I stated in my earlier post # 38 where we need to update the minimum legal age for marriage in Pakistan.
Having puberty or having hit 14 is not enough. The partner's age difference shouldn't be more than 4 years if the girl is under 21

I think the legal age of marriage is Mass is 18; however, with parental consent it is can be lowered but that must GO THROUGH A JUDGE BUT more over, there is a stipulation in the law where a person over 21 cannot marry a person under 16.

And that's what I stated in my earlier post # 38 where we need to update the minimum legal age for marriage in Pakistan.
Having puberty or having hit 14 is not enough. The partner's age difference shouldn't be more than 4 years if the girl is under 21

That's ridiculous, we don't even have such standards in western countries. You could quite easily get a 45 year old married to an 18 year old. In fact you could probably get a 60 year old married to an 18 year old.

The issue here is the girl is actually 14 which by our standards is too young for marriage. Then on top of that you know that girls in the subcontinent might well be married off to some senior citizen without much say in the matter. Heck, forget marriage, I have heard of girls in the SC being sold off by their parents to child traffickers for a few hundred dollars.

The maulvi is a well known personality though, this issue should be getting raised and questions asked, by the local community themselves, let alone higher authorities.

So wives in early times were like slaves? Is that what you want to say?
Whether our forefathers were right or wrong in things we will discuss individually , if they were wrong in one aspect, we cannot paint everything with the same brush. This issue of early marriage is what we are discussing now , and you already reached conslusion it was wrong .

I don't want to repeat myself just read again and comprehend it properly
Yes, I reached the conclusion that even in the old days if it happened (man in his 60s marrying a 14 y/o)
Then yes it was wrong, and it cannot be used to justify our modern approach

Just like we can't use the fact that slavery existed in olden days to justify its existance in modern age

That's ridiculous, we don't even have such standards in western countries. You could quite easily get a 45 year old married to an 18 year old. In fact you could probably get a 60 year old married to an 18 year old.

The issue here is the girl is actually 14 which by our standards is too young for marriage. Then on top of that you know that girls in the subcontinent might well be married off to some senior citizen without much say in the matter. Heck, forget marriage, I have heard of girls in the SC being sold off by their parents to child traffickers for a few hundred dollars.

The maulvi is a well known personality though, this issue should be getting raised and questions asked, by the local community themselves, let alone higher authorities.

We are not talking 18.

We are talking UNDER 18.

And when you say by "our standards" then we can easily counter that each to it's own.

In Philippines, the consent age is 12.
So from THEIR standard, Molvi getting married to a 14 year old is perfectly OK.

A 60 year old getting married to an 18 year old is also possible in USA; however, if the girl is less than that then we have laws in place to stop potential pedophilia.

A 60 years old is not allowed to marry a 17 years or a 16 years or a 15 years or a 14 years old.

To protect the child, a parental consent is required and the judge must approve the marriage and one spouse cannot be over 21 if he wants to take a girl less than 18.

May be UK have the same kind of laws if one spouse is under 18 or it doesn't matter? Can a 60 years old man marry a 16 years old girl in UK? Not in USA.

I don't want to repeat myself just read again and comprehend it properly
Yes, I reached the conclusion that even in the old days if it happened (man in his 60s marrying a 14 y/o)
Then yes it was wrong, and it cannot be used to justify our modern approach

Just like we can't use the fact that slavery existed in olden days to justify its existance in modern age

There are certain uniform laws against slavery , but in the case of marriage, there is no uniformity.

Are 12 year olds marrying 60 year olds

How does a girl who is 12 years old gets matured enough when she marries a 20-year-old man, compared to a 60-year-old person?

Your basic argument is related to the maturity of a girl , it does not change.

How does a girl who is 12 years old gets matured enough when she marries a 20-year-old man, compared to a 60-year-old person?

Your basic argument is related to the maturity of a girl , it does not change.

I don’t think it’s right for 12 year old even to marry a 20 year old. The only reason you are ok with all this is because your religion has given the green light on the issue. That’s it

What about the Filipinos? Are you OK with it because they allow 12 years old girls to get married without any involvement of any religion. Their land of the law allows it.

In many, many non Muslim countries, girls start their sexual life (outside of marriage) in the same age range. Is that OK because no religion is involved?

What about the Filipinos? Are you OK with it because they allow 12 years old girls to get married without any involvement of any religion. Their land of the law allows it.

In many, many non Muslim countries, girls start their sexual life (outside of marriage) in the same age range. Is that OK because no religion is involved?

I am not ok with any of it. You seem to be ok with it wth the Maulana sahib and the 14 year old.

Read my post again. Marriage is a serious matter; it should be decided by the person but not by his family or relatives.
Also, the dynamics between the underage marriages in Pakistan and elsewhere are different. In Pakistan, the guardians force their underage children into marriages while in other countries such as the US, the guardians merely give their consent; US children are not forced into such unions.

Another key difference is that people in Pakistan, unlike those in the US, get married not for love, but for having children. Girls and boys who marry during teens in Pakistan are prevented from receiving an education. Pakistani couples in Pakistan are expected to start a family as soon after marriage; this has terrible repercussions on the couple's education and on the teenage mother's health with thousands of Pakistani girls dying every year due to underage pregnancy.

You are also neglecting the fact if couples in the US wish to get married before the age of 18, they have to go through a court.

All in all, there is absolutely no justification for underage marriages in Pakistan. Having lived in Pakistan, I have seen the horrors of forced marriages; girls are subjected to violence if they refuse a suitor.

I can bet my house that Imran would not come out and condemn it because he does not want to upset the right wing.

The image of his that Imran is building is of a super pious Muslim leader who holds a tribal and traditional mindset.

Hahahah matlab ye bhi Imran Khan pe daal diya. Rightwing Mullah Fazlu pe din raat Diesel attack karnay se upset nahi hota laiking is issue pe upset ho jaayega. I have agreed with lot of what you have said but this is extreme desperation from your end :facepalm:

[MENTION=60967]Justcrazy[/MENTION]

You have missed the point. The clue lies in the OP.

The girl is from Chitral. In Chitral, young girls are sold in marriages for a price, there is no consent involved. Girls are traded like commodities.

It is a human rights violation but it does not get reported in the media because the general public do not find out about it.

Few years back, in our ancestral village, a 78 year old man “bought” a wife from Chitral and the poor girl ended up going back because the man died a couple of weeks after getting married to her.

They usually do not get any share in inheritance and property either and end up going back to their villages after their husbands die.

This sickening practice has no place in a modern, civilized world and one can hope that incidents like these which are reported in the media because of the involvement of a high profile figure can prove to be a catalyst for change.

The government and the NGOs need to play a more active role in curbing the trade of girls in Chitral.

I can bet my house that Imran would not come out and condemn it because he does not want to upset the right wing.

The image of his that Imran is building is of a super pious Muslim leader who holds a tribal and traditional mindset.

Kaptaan does not even have the courage to condemn the killings of Ahmadis. This is very negligible in comparison.

Do you think zardari or Nawaz do?

But Kaptaan is the self-appointed messiah of Pakistan who promised tabdeeli. Why do you want to compare him to mere mortals?

He put himself on a pedestal. Hence, he will not be compared to anyone else. He was supposed to set the standards and raise the bar, and he will be questioned for it.

The girl is from Chitral. In Chitral, young girls are sold in marriages for a price, there is no consent involved. Girls are traded like commodities.

It is a human rights violation but it does not get reported in the media because the general public do not find out about it.

Few years back, in our ancestral village, a 78 year old man “bought” a wife from Chitral and the poor girl ended up going back because the man died a couple of weeks after getting married to her.

They usually do not get any share in inheritance and property either and end up going back to their villages after their husbands die.

This sickening practice has no place in a modern, civilized world and one can hope that incidents like these which are reported in the media because of the involvement of a high profile figure can prove to be a catalyst for change.

The government and the NGOs need to play a more active role in curbing the trade of girls in Chitral.

You missed out one detail.

These girls are usually Kalash, a community which has been for all intents and purposes eradicated by the state of Pakistan.

Well noted. They are practically stateless just because their religion and culture makes us uncomfortable.

This is not exclusive to Chitral or KPK. Happens a lot in interior Sindh.

Same thing with child marriages. Sindh actually has the most.

"As per the details, Sindh has the highest rate of child marriages(33%), followed by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (29%), Balochistan (22%), and Punjab (20%)."

https://www.bolnews.com/pakistan/20...esignation-from-mna-maulana-salahuddin-ayubi/

Do you have any source for this? That child marriages in Chitral are done mostly with Kalash?

Do you realize that 99% of Chitral is Muslim? Would love to see one, only one, credible source that says this.

are the girls kalash

I did not see the girls religion mentioned in any source. However regardless of her religion, this marriage is illegal under Pakistani law, and this man should be arrested and made to resign from parliament.

And keep in mind that Chitral is 99% Muslim. Most people from Chitral are not Kalash, but Kho. Its a shame that the Kho people and their culture is ignored in Pakistan.

Something along the lines of puberty I believe, but that is not really the issue here, 14 year olds have sexual relations all around the world. I am more interested in the maulana's age, I can bet he isn't a teenager, and that for me is the bigger issue.

lol wot? You don't find it objectionable?

real issue is the law that permits a 14 yr old girl to get married. whethr she was married off to a 21 yr old or a 60 yr old.

There is no law in Pakistan that permits that. In Pakistan the legal age for marriage is 18 for males and 16 for females.

Ok not the law, the logic.
I was actually responding to his post where it says 14 yrs olds have sexual relations so he he more concerned about maulvis age. It is wrong to think that ability to have sex determines the right age of marriage.

I understand your point.

There is a difference between trafficking and marriage. I am not supporting the former in any way.
If there are such things going on, the Officials need to take action on that. There is no marriage without consent.

But my only contention is that because of certain tribes or groups act , we cannot generalize everything , if we find certain things wrong no doubt action has to be taken.

Just because something existed in the society for years, dosen't make it good necessarily. Also most of our grandparents did live in a crappy world compared to us.

Strange reactions in this thread. It is like everyone here thinks that in most of the civilised world the age of sexual union in 18. Most teens in world today have sexual union in mid teens like 14-17. It is the Muslim world where we have 30 year old virgins in abundance!!

The problem here is to separate marriage as an institution with sexual union. West distinguishes the difference between them and honestly ask anyone of your non desi friends and they will believe it absolutely barbaric to prohibit sexual relations until 18 or 21.

Now coming to age gap and marriage, most countries have 18 years limit and it most probably comes from Anglo Saxon legal tradition. Honestly living in North America, I know for a fact that most 18 year olds are absolutely immature and not ready for marriage and child rearing. In fact even many 30 year olds are not. For age gap, just see Hollywood producers and directors and 30-40 age year gap seems the norm. #Macron fulfilled his childhood fantasies and he is french president today!

So I believe that best is to go with norms of society. If a society deems marrying 14 year olds to 50 year olds not a good idea then it should be avoided. Especially consent of both parties is paramount. And people saying that teenagers will change their mind when older than do they think 30 year olds don’t change theirs when they go to 50s and 60s? Just respect culture and norm of everyone and most problems will go away.

This is not exclusive to Chitral or KPK. Happens a lot in interior Sindh.

Same thing with child marriages. Sindh actually has the most.

"As per the details, Sindh has the highest rate of child marriages(33%), followed by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (29%), Balochistan (22%), and Punjab (20%)."

https://www.bolnews.com/pakistan/20...esignation-from-mna-maulana-salahuddin-ayubi/

yeah ttas a poverty related issue

We can just do rankings of poverty and itll come out the same way
In Punjab if we break it down itll be concentrated in South Punjab

Anyone arguing about it's fine for a 50 years old man to marry a 14 years old kid should simply imagine if the kid was his/her daughter.

It is alright for such a marriage to happen according to Islam. The Maulana can always hide behind that excuse.

You'll see such people championing polygamy too but won't respond if asked how would they feel if their father or sister's husband or their daughter's husband had another wife

Read my post again. Marriage is a serious matter; it should be decided by the person but not by his family or relatives.
Also, the dynamics between the underage marriages in Pakistan and elsewhere are different. In Pakistan, the guardians force their underage children into marriages while in other countries such as the US, the guardians merely give their consent; US children are not forced into such unions.

Another key difference is that people in Pakistan, unlike those in the US, get married not for love, but for having children. Girls and boys who marry during teens in Pakistan are prevented from receiving an education. Pakistani couples in Pakistan are expected to start a family as soon after marriage; this has terrible repercussions on the couple's education and on the teenage mother's health with thousands of Pakistani girls dying every year due to underage pregnancy.

You are also neglecting the fact if couples in the US wish to get married before the age of 18, they have to go through a court.

All in all, there is absolutely no justification for underage marriages in Pakistan. Having lived in Pakistan, I have seen the horrors of forced marriages; girls are subjected to violence if they refuse a suitor.

There are other decisions in life that are also important and impact our lives. Marriage is one of them.

The point that I do not understand is that are you against Marriage at an early age generally or specifically to this incidence.

Firstly you argued that the Girl / boy if married at an early age are not mature, now how come they become mature if the consent of Guardian is given, or even when they do on their own free will.

Again you assuming that only in Pakistan there is Teenage pregnancy, which is not the case. In other countries also there are teen pregnancies, and it does not stop there, there are many single mothers as well.

If there are objectionable incidences, I am not saying action should not be taken, what I am saying you cannot paint everyone with the same brush. If a man uses a knife to murder someone, we will put him in jail , we will not banned knives from being sold.

You'll see such people championing polygamy too but won't respond if asked how would they feel if their father or sister's husband or their daughter's husband had another wife

Well, then they are simply arguing random stuff for sake of arguing. The easiest way to relate to a situation is to put yourself in the same situation. I have been guilty of not doing it enough of that when I was younger. That's why I suggested.

It is alright for such a marriage to happen according to Islam. The Maulana can always hide behind that excuse.

Why you always using Moulana, there are so many priests who have been abusing Children through out ages.

If there is the consent of the parties it is okay, if there is no consent, it should be punished as per whatever the law is prevalent in that place.

Polygamy is not something obligatory, it's an option. I ask you to suppose a woman becomes sick , and is not physically capable of sex. Should the husband divorce her? What practical solution do you suggest?

Why you always using Moulana, there are so many priests who have been abusing Children through out ages.

Priests, Pandits and Maulanas have been abusing children. Be-Shak. But the question is, the legal way of abuse through marriage should be condemned too. Do you agree that Islam allows marriage of under age girls to grown men?

The point is in all statements you criticize Islam.

And now you are comparing marriage with child abuse , which is again the wrong comparision.

No , Islam does not allow the marriage of underage girls , but thye term underage you are using , needs to be seen , because there is NO uniformity in that across the globe through ages. Every country has there own interpretation. This is from a secular point of view.

From the religious point of view, it is a clear-cut fact that people were married at an early age , and No major religion is against this.

Polygamy is not something obligatory, it's an option. I ask you to suppose a woman becomes sick , and is not physically capable of sex. Should the husband divorce her? What practical solution do you suggest?
What condition is that? Ive studied medicine, conditions like that are as rare as a comet flying by on earth. And in conditions where a body is ravaged by cancer or chemo and sex isn't possible then a spouse thinking of sex while their spouse is dying...what can one say of that.

If there is the consent of the parties it is okay, if there is no consent, it should be punished as per whatever the law is prevalent in that place.

14 years old kids being mature enough to give consent to 50 years old man for marriage? No father will think that it is ok because pretty much every case will be exploitation.

Not exactly the same but a parallel example, how many minority girl's parents think that a kidnapped girl getting married to an old Muslim man in Pakistan is perfectly fine because there was so-called consent. It is pure exploitation and nothing else. I feel like puking when I see some posters defending that with lots of ifs and buts.

I don't have a daughter but have sons. I don't know your situation, but maybe your thinking may be different when you have your own kids. The exploitation of kids should never be encouraged under the guise of ifs and buts.

Kids and females were not seen as equal to men when it comes to rights in most civilizations. Even in the US, females were not allowed to vote 100 years ago. Kids were seen as extra hands to earn additional income for families.

No need to carry on with exploitations just because it happened in the past. Every one of us could have been 14 years old girl. In fact, most of us will have daughters, sisters etc. Not hard to imagine the situation.

What condition is that? Ive studied medicine, conditions like that are as rare as a comet flying by on earth. And in conditions where a body is ravaged by cancer or chemo and sex isn't possible then a spouse thinking of sex while their spouse is dying...what can one say of that.

Brother, I just said one point, there can be several. My point is that polygamy is only an option. Also, Islam is restricting the number of marriages allowed. At that time there was No restriction on marriages.

14 years old kids being mature enough to give consent to 50 years old man for marriage? No father will think that it is ok because pretty much every case will be exploitation.

Not exactly the same but a parallel example, how many minority girl's parents think that a kidnapped girl getting married to an old Muslim man in Pakistan is perfectly fine because there was so-called consent. It is pure exploitation and nothing else. I feel like puking when I see some posters defending that with lots of ifs and buts.

I don't have a daughter but have sons. I don't know your situation, but maybe your thinking may be different when you have your own kids. The exploitation of kids should never be encouraged under the guise of ifs and buts.

Kiddnaped girl is already an offence , off course no one will ( including me ) say it is right. If someone does it , whoever he is should be punished according to the laws of the land.

There are other decisions in life that are also important and impact our lives. Marriage is one of them.

The point that I do not understand is that are you against Marriage at an early age generally or specifically to this incidence.

Firstly you argued that the Girl / boy if married at an early age are not mature, now how come they become mature if the consent of Guardian is given, or even when they do on their own free will.

Again you assuming that only in Pakistan there is Teenage pregnancy, which is not the case. In other countries also there are teen pregnancies, and it does not stop there, there are many single mothers as well.

If there are objectionable incidences, I am not saying action should not be taken, what I am saying you cannot paint everyone with the same brush. If a man uses a knife to murder someone, we will put him in jail , we will not banned knives from being sold.
I am not sure if you are not reading my post or are you deliberating ignoring my points. I never justified child marriage and I am totally against child marriages. The point I made is of forced underage marriages.

Again, as I have mentioned before, the dynamics of underage marriages and pregnancies in Pakistan and say, the US and Europe are different.

Also, I do not see the relevance of knife analogy in this case.

I am not sure if you are not reading my post or are you deliberating ignoring my points. I never justified child marriage and I am totally against child marriages. The point I made is of forced underage marriages.

Again, as I have mentioned before, the dynamics of underage marriages and pregnancies in Pakistan and say, the US and Europe are different.

Also, I do not see the relevance of knife analogy in this case.

When you are saying dynamics are different in different countries , what is purpose of mentioning this poin

The point is to make it known that child marriages are disgusting and they have no place in our country.