Mohammad Amir retires from International cricket

shah_1

Mohammad Amir speaking on a video:

"I am not moving away from cricket but you must have seen the sort of environment that has been created, and in the way I have been sidelined"

"I got a wake-up call when I was not part of the 35-players (for NZ squad); When I wasnt included in that list then it was a wake-up call for me to consider how I wish to take my career forward"

"To be honest, the way things are at the moment, I cannot play cricket under this team management"

"The way things appear to me, I am leaving cricket at this time as I am being mentally tortured and I dont think I can take this torture any more"

"I have already taken been subject to a lot of torture from 2010 to 2015 - as this was the time I was away from cricket due to that incident, and I served punishment for that also"

"What really adds to the mental torture is the claim that PCB invested a lot in me"

"Only 2 people releated to the PCB I will give credit to for investing in me as I had comeback into cricket after 5 years and just one year - they are Najam Sethi and Shahid Afridi - the rest of the team was saying that we do not want to play alongside Mohammad Amir; So I will always thank those 2 people as they supported me at a tough time"

"I took a personal decision to retire from Tests and that was presented in front of people as if I dont want to play for my country - Tell me, who doesnt want to play for his country?"

"They somehow attached my decision to me wanting to playing in leagues but the fact is, I made my comeback into cricket from playing in leagues - as you would remember, I started off from the BPL; If I was so interested in playing in leagues - that would have been the best time for me to do that and say that I dont want to play for Pakistan as I am enjoying leagues so much"

"My view was to invest as much as I could of my time in white-ball cricket for my country as I could; However, every 2 months or so, our Bowling Coach (Waqar) says that he (Amir) has ditched us, sometimes he says its because of his (Amir's) workload"

"It seems that they have given me a wake-up call to say that, Bhai Sahib, you arent in our future plans"

"In a few days I will be back in Pakistan and after meeting my family, I will make a proper statement and give reasons for this"

"Everyone can see how I have been wronged but I would like to thank all those who helped and brought me into cricket by making a proper statement to the media"

"I do not thing, given the kind of environment that exists, that I can continue to play under the Team management"

===

PCB Response

PCB statement on Mohammad Amir

Lahore, 17 December 2020:

Pakistan Cricket Board chief executive Wasim Khan spoke with Mohammad Amir this afternoon following reports that the fast bowler had announced his retirement from international cricket. The 29-year-old confirmed to the PCB chief executive that he has no desires or intensions of playing international cricket and as such, he should not be considered for future international matches.

This is a personal decision of Mohammad Amir, which the PCB respects, and as such, will not make any further comment on this matter at this stage.

Wow...this is big news but not shocking. He will now take British citizenship and will look for a IPL contract.

What an eventful decade for him 2010 - 2020 off the field.

On the field he was bog average.

He's upset over team management. Says can't play under CURRENT management. Hasn't retired forever.

It's. clear that Waqar and Misbah are also upset over him for suddenly leaving Tests. Yes his exclusion seems to be a punishment.

But, I think they should've handled the matter subtly.

If he doesn't want to play Tests, sure, it's fine. Don't exclude him from T20s where he can still be good.

Improvement needed from Waqar & Misbah.

Congrats to Misbah and Waqar. They have succeeded in their grand plan. I would like to see their faces when Wahab's age begins to catch up with him and Shaheen is left to carry the entire bowling on his own.

Good decision for Pakistan cricket. I hope it's true.

If Amir was after money he could have done this a long time ago. The x-factor that he brought to the side made him one of the most important players in the limited-overs side. But Misbah was so intent on teaching him a lesson that he forced him to do this. He is the only person to blame for Amir's retirement/indefinite hiatus.

Most likely an attempt to gain sympathy of the fans and exert pressure on the PCB to request him to take back his decision and invite him back into the team.

Amir has been the most ungrateful Cricketer in the history of Cricket, as if he was doing a favour on the National Team by playing for them while it is the other way around , where the board was doing a favour on him by giving him a chance to redeem himself.

I don’t see Misbah’s argument here. He had no reason to develop a grudge against Amir for retiring from Test cricket.

You can’t pick Musa, street bowlers like Rauf and drag Wahab’s corpse out of his coffin and then justify alienating Amir.

Amir is the only contemporary Pakistani cricketer after Babar who is rated by the top teams in the world.

It’s an attention grabbing technique after failing to win the LPL. He needs the headlines - Shoaib Jatt needs the masala. It’s odd because Jatt always speaks very politely and friendly whenever he does a press conference then stirs up tornados on his own show.

Anyways, I’ve backed Amir for too long and even put my neck out there saying he has a GOAT track record with the new ball in tournament finals. But that doesn’t automatically give him a blank cheque to always be selected - especially if his form dips, and he knows his form has dipped too.

Most likely an attempt to gain sympathy of the fans and exert pressure on the PCB to request him to take back his decision and invite him back into the team.

Amir has been the most ungrateful Cricketer in the history of Cricket, as if he was doing a favour on the National Team by playing for them while it is the other way around , where the board was doing a favour on him by giving him a chance to redeem himself.

No one did any favor on him. PCB brought him hack because they needed him and not out of the goodness of their hearts.

If PCB didn’t need him, he would have been treated like Asif and Butt.

Congrats to Misbah and Waqar. They have succeeded in their grand plan. I would like to see their faces when Wahab's age begins to catch up with him and Shaheen is left to carry the entire bowling on his own.

Pakistan can find plenty of fast-medium bowlers who shine once in 5 series and average 30.

They don't need this age fudging convict to sully their reputations further.

Ignored by selectors? Why does he feel entitled to get a spot in the sqaud over people who are performing better than him.

The sqaud for NZ was based on the NT20. If Amir is not even performing there, why should he be selected?

He averages a whopping 38 in the NT20. Here are the people who did better than him:

Rauf, Shaheen, Amad, Sohail, Wahab, Gul, Junaid, Akif, Musa, Arshad, Ehsan. All of them average around 25 or below. Even Faheem and Anwar Ali averaged 29.

So, based on those numbers why should he have been selected?

I don’t see Misbah’s argument here. He had no reason to develop a grudge against Amir for retiring from Test cricket.

You can’t pick Musa, street bowlers like Rauf and drag Wahab’s corpse out of his coffin and then justify alienating Amir.

Amir is the only contemporary Pakistani cricketer after Babar who is rated by the top teams in the world.

This. Amir is not the only cricketer to prioritize white ball cricket because of fitness issues, and he won't be the last. Waqar carries the old world mentality in both his coaching methods and his favoritism towards cricketers. Either he needs to change his ways or he will end up falling out of favor with other bowlers and there won't be any other positions in the PCB for him.

Hopefully the decision is true and his sorry, pitiful international career is put to an end.

Will be remembered as a fraud and a coward of the highest order.

He's upset over team management. Says can't play under CURRENT management. Hasn't retired forever.

It's. clear that Waqar and Misbah are also upset over him for suddenly leaving Tests. Yes his exclusion seems to be a punishment.

But, I think they should've handled the matter subtly.

If he doesn't want to play Tests, sure, it's fine. Don't exclude him from T20s where he can still be good.

Improvement needed from Waqar & Misbah.

Amir is done in international cricket. That was evident on the England tour, and his poor performance in the National T20 went on to prove that further. Performances in this gully mohalla LPL won't change that.

However, the way he has been treated by the management is a little odd. Rather than stick around and force us to watch his terminal decline in Tests as we are currently seeing with the likes of Azhar, he decided to refocus his waning abilities on the white ball format, where he thought he could still win matches for Pakistan. If the management didn't see a role for him due to his terrible form and fitness, simply stating that to him would be sufficient. These consistent potshots at his retirement don't really serve much purpose.

To be honest, the timing itself was a bad decision on his side. We would have been thrashed in Australia regardless, and by the Bangladesh/England series, he could have moved on without this ruckus. Ironically his mate Wahab has had a big role to play in this drama as well, if Wahab hadn't retired alongside him, there would have been less scrutiny on him.

This. Amir is not the only cricketer to prioritize white ball cricket because of fitness issues, and he won't be the last. Waqar carries the old world mentality in both his coaching methods and his favoritism towards cricketers. Either he needs to change his ways or he will end up falling out of favor with other bowlers and there won't be any other positions in the PCB for him.

Waqar is just a PE master. He knows nothing other than bowling with balls heavily tampered with bottle caps. Amir is a more skilled new ball bowler than him.

Maybe Amir should coach Waqar on how to coach other bowlers to use the new ball.

But this is Misbah’s doing and Waqar is just recycling his propaganda to be on the same page.

Is Amir one of the best bowlers in the world these days? No

Is he super fit? No

Is he very patriotic and bla bla? Probably not, but you are not sending him to the borders to fight. He is picked for playing cricket.

Do we have better options in LOIs? Considering the bowlers that we are picking, that doesn’t seem to be the case except Shaheen, so there is no justification for keeping him out of the ODI and T20I squads.

Shambolic stuff.

Very poor from Amir.

Used to support him but not anymore...

Expected better from him.

Rizwan is highly respected in Australia and England too, otherwise I agree with every word (apart from Rauf).

Pakistan can find plenty of fast-medium bowlers who shine once in 5 series and average 30.

They don't need this age fudging convict to sully their reputations further.

Call him what you must but he had big match temperament that most players can't develop over their entire careers. When he flipped the switch he was the best bowler in the world. And in this regard his performance in the 2017 Champions Trophy or the World Cup games against Australia and England stand-out. He was also very skillful and skill is not something you can find out of the blue, it has to be develped. He had his problems with consistency but he was the kind of bowler that any team in the world would have liked on their teamsheet for a high-profile World Cup clash.

Hopefully the decision is true and his sorry, pitiful international career is put to an end.

Will be remembered as a fraud and a coward of the highest order.

Pakistani fans are a funny creature. They praise players like no other when they win them matches and then discard them as if they never did anything. I remember Saeed Ajmal being a national hero for several years and now whenever I read about him on pp, it seems like he sold his country out.

I've not liked Amir since his spot fixing however he was the most cheered Pakistani cricketer, heck the most cheered non-Indian cricketer in the previous world cup, more than even Ben Stokes and I went to most Pak/Eng matches to witness this.

Waqar is just a PE master. He knows nothing other than bowling with balls heavily tampered with bottle caps. Amir is a more skilled new ball bowler than him.

Maybe Amir should coach Waqar on how to coach other bowlers to use the new ball.

But this is Misbah’s doing and Waqar is just recycling his propaganda to be on the same page.

Don't know how waqar despite his favoritism and propaganda got selected again and again

I hope the reports are not true. What an anti climatic end would it be to disappear into obscurity after so much initial hoopla and a rollercoaster of a life / career.

If this isn’t related to injury or something like that that is forcing his hand, then he needs to man up and be grateful that he was given a second chance by Allah to make a name for himself.

Where is Lala Afridi’s mentoring when you need him the most...

It's true PCB bent over backwards to have him in the team in 2016 because of the promise he held then. He was still bowling quick, swinging the ball and taking wickets as evident in the BPL and to an extent in the Eng tour and Asia T20 cup.

But then we all saw his decline, both in pace and swing and apart from 1 spell in the CT final, he was bang average. His numbers truly reflect his ability now.

I'm with Misbah fully on this one in sidelining Amir because he brings absolutely nothing to the team. An atrocious fielder, a terrible batsman and a bowler who now does not know how to take wickets in a situation where the batsman is not going after him. So what is his utility? He's not even better than Mir Hamza at the moment.

With regards to his retirement from Test cricket, he could've taken the team management into confidence before leaving them high and dry. With Wahab, his retirement made sense as he's 35 years old and not 27 like Amir.

Is Musa, Rauf, Naseem better than Amir? No. But just because they are rubbish, doesn't mean Amir should be selected. Otherwise why shouldn't Anwar Ali be selected? And just because Kohli praised Amir, doesn't mean he's good now. Kohli praised Amir in 2016 when he was swinging the ball at pace. His praise is worth 0 cents now because if Kohli bats against Amir in 2020, Kohli will start praising James Faulkner.

Very happy that Misbah has seen how rubbish Amir has become these days. Got absolutely pummeled when faced with a world class player in Andre Russell in the LPL. Until Amir becomes atleast the bowler he was in 2016, let alone 2010, he has no right to feel entitled to be selected.

I genuinely hope and pray that he manages to play a season or two in the padosi mulk league and make some money now.

Wish him the best of luck with that

Amir was dropped from the New Zealand series on the back off some poor form. He announced his retirement from test cricket before the England series and he failed to get a wicket in the two matches he played . If their was a “ grudge he won’t have been selected for that tour either .

There should not be sense of entitlement to be selected . He should have just knuckled down and try to perform and improve his craft . Publicly throwing your dummy out the pram for not being selected especially when his place was questionable anyway is no way to go about things .

He has done some very good things for Pak, but no player is bigger than the team.

Mixed feelings.

Wish him good luck.

Sometimes, one has the talent, luck and opportunity but "life happens". I wanted to see him in Pak LOI colors...

Just saw the video . Yes he has taken break from international cricket till this management is in place.

Call him what you must but he had big match temperament that most players can't develop over their entire careers. When he flipped the switch he was the best bowler in the world. And in this regard his performance in the 2017 Champions Trophy or the World Cup games against Australia and England stand-out. He was also very skillful and skill is not something you can find out of the blue, it has to be develped. He had his problems with consistency but he was the kind of bowler that any team in the world would have liked on their teamsheet for a high-profile World Cup clash.

I agree that he turned up at big events however the next event is next year and Pakistan have a lot of t20 cricket before then . Retiring because you have not been selected for one tour and when your recent form is poor is no way to go about things . For me this just shows a lack of drive and a lack of respect for team Pak.

Yes
Pakistan’s ace pacer Mohammad Amir has decided to take an indefinite break from international cricket.

Just seen the video

Hes spouting this same sense of entitlement and injustice being done to him and taking no responsibility for the mess hinself

There's very few bowlers in Pakistan I'd rather have in a high pressure situation but his performances in the last year, both domestic and international, have been aggressively mediocre. If he really wanted to show commitment to the national team and put pressure on Misbah and Waqar, he should have cut down his appearances in random T20 leagues and spent a few months working on his game at the NCA. Playing in every league under the sun, not performing, and then throwing tantrums when he is inevitably ignored for selection is poor. There's still time till the WT20 so far Pakistan's sake I hope he comes to his senses but it doesn't look likely atm.

Kohli-ABD- Amir
Want see them in single frame.
Hope one day he will play for RCB:yk2

Good Riddance, snakes seldom lose their venom.

This guy should never have been allowed back in the first place. Same applies to Sharjeel Khan

All you have done in recent times is critique amir and call him bang average. Now that everyone is against the guy you suddenly support him. You are too predictable

Quotes from Mohammad Amir added to Post#1

The nerve of this guy.

We caused him all his problems?

Your the one who was involved in spot fixing. You are the one who made illegal money and got caught. Your the one who lied his way through out and only came clean when there was no way out.

ANd yet, you have the balls to say that you were mistreated? Even after PCB allowed you to return which they could had refrained you from just like how Butt and Asif were refrained.

Its clear, the guy got married, he wants to settle down. He doesn't want to put effort. T20 leagues will provide him a good living, he will get to travel around the world and have more time to spend with his wife.

Gul also toned down with cricket when he got married aswell

People saying now he can play in IPL . How can he play in ipl knowing Pakistan player don't allowed to play ??

He has been below average for quite some time. I have mixed feelings about this.

If Amir is goign to decide what he will play and what he will not play, than PCB can decide where he will be added.

Amir is not the employer, PCB is. Amir can't dictate his terms. He hasn't achieved anything yet to do so.

The reason why Amir was bought back was not due to odis or t20s. They bought Amir back for test cricket. ANd in australia he was needed. He backed out at the wrong time.

Thus, if you are not gonna help your organization in such tough times, than dont expect your organization to work with you later. Especially when you have a colorful past.

Anyways, good riddance.

There's very few bowlers in Pakistan I'd rather have in a high pressure situation but his performances in the last year, both domestic and international, have been aggressively mediocre. If he really wanted to show commitment to the national team and put pressure on Misbah and Waqar, he should have cut down his appearances in random T20 leagues and spent a few months working on his game at the NCA. Playing in every league under the sun, not performing, and then throwing tantrums when he is inevitably ignored for selection is poor. There's still time till the WT20 so far Pakistan's sake I hope he comes to his senses but it doesn't look likely atm.

exactly. He plays in a league called LPL to prove himself :)).
Bhai you have got a domestic tournament going on, prove yourself there.

If you dont want to prove yourself than don't whine atleast.

Amir is trying to gain sympathy of the awaam, but trust me its not gonna work. Public will hate Amir more. Our Pkaistani public have this opinion that when you retire early its beacause of league cricket.

Amir's reputation of being a greedy money loving cricketer will only increase.

***?

Have a day off. Youre craving attention too much yaar. Ia there nobody offline you can talk to.

wouldn't be playing any cricket if wasnt backed by pcb all those years and immediately picked up on return.

yah , we wouldnt have won ct17.

Asif would have been more useful.

He was all hype and will be forgotten. Also has a shady past, nothing special in his career.

Seeing the tantrum Amir is throwing makes me appreciate how professional Fawad Alam has been. Alam was ignored despite dominating domestic cricket season after season but never complained.

On the other hand Amir is claiming that he has been “mentally tortured” because he was dropped from a couple of T20 series lol.

exactly. He plays in a league called LPL to prove himself :)).
Bhai you have got a domestic tournament going on, prove yourself there.

If you dont want to prove yourself than don't whine atleast.

Amir is trying to gain sympathy of the awaam, but trust me its not gonna work. Public will hate Amir more. Our Pkaistani public have this opinion that when you retire early its beacause of league cricket.

Amir's reputation of being a greedy money loving cricketer will only increase.

If he's gonna use domestic leagues to prove himself, at least be smart about it. PSL6 starts in a couple month and his best chance to make a case for a comeback would be dominate there. Instead of spending time off gearing up for it, he's signed up for another random T10 league in the UAE. It's just not a good look if you want people to take your case seriously.

People saying now he can play in IPL . How can he play in ipl knowing Pakistan player don't allowed to play ??

He has a British passport I think. Imran Tahir plays IPL despite bing born in Pakistan because of his South African passport.

Also, about the league B.S he gave.

It was because of PCB he was able to tour back to ENgland. Once he did that, travelling abroad became easier for him, as i think in the past, the UK govt had banned him from return.

When Amir personally applied for a UK visa it was denied. After he came back from his ban, PCB and even ECB supported him in the visa application which was granted.

So, how the hell does this guy go on about that no one helped him? THat is what support is, what other support did he needed?

wouldn't be playing any cricket if wasnt backed by pcb all those years and immediately picked up on return.

yah , we wouldnt have won ct17.

Asif would have been more useful.

TBH Pakistan scored like 340 batting first and that isn’t easy to chase down especially in the finals. Amir was special in that match but we would have likely won without him as well.

All you have done in recent times is critique amir and call him bang average. Now that everyone is against the guy you suddenly support him. You are too predictable

You pick the best you have got.

You can’t serve me rubbish like Musa, Rauf and Wahab etc. and then expect me to agree that Amir doesn’t deserve to be selected.

If Pakistan can produce 3-4 better bowlers than him in the shorter formats I would be more than happy to see him never get picked again.

I agree that he turned up at big events however the next event is next year and Pakistan have a lot of t20 cricket before then . Retiring because you have not been selected for one tour and when your recent form is poor is no way to go about things . For me this just shows a lack of drive and a lack of respect for team Pak.

You guys seem to forget what Waqar Younis has done to careers in the past. He's at it again and Amir was very over used! Not easy as a pacer especially when you lose the developmental years of your bowling career to a ban. The workload concern is very valid.

"Since Amir's return to international cricket till the end of 2019, he bowled 1273.2 overs for Pakistan across all formats. No Pakistani pacer has bowled more than 850 overs during this period."

I've said this before too, Amir needs an environment where he's not constantly made a villain, he's already had a very tough youth where he lived as a villain. That guilt and mental scarring doesn't just go away. We don't know how to manage our people at all. Even now we don't have psychologists that travel with the team.

If Amir is goign to decide what he will play and what he will not play, than PCB can decide where he will be added.

Amir is not the employer, PCB is. Amir can't dictate his terms. He hasn't achieved anything yet to do so.

The reason why Amir was bought back was not due to odis or t20s. They bought Amir back for test cricket. ANd in australia he was needed. He backed out at the wrong time.

Thus, if you are not gonna help your organization in such tough times, than dont expect your organization to work with you later. Especially when you have a colorful past.

Anyways, good riddance.

What does PCB gain by holding grudge and acting tough? Nothing. Ultimately, they are hurting their own chances of doing well by picking inferior bowlers in ODIs and T20Is just to send Amir a message.

Quotes from Mohammad Amir added to Post#1

PCB Response also added to post #1

PCB statement on Mohammad Amir

Lahore, 17 December 2020:

Pakistan Cricket Board chief executive Wasim Khan spoke with Mohammad Amir this afternoon following reports that the fast bowler had announced his retirement from international cricket. The 29-year-old confirmed to the PCB chief executive that he has no desires or intensions of playing international cricket and as such, he should not be considered for future international matches.

This is a personal decision of Mohammad Amir, which the PCB respects, and as such, will not make any further comment on this matter at this stage.

Not surprised the majority of cricketers didn't want to play alongside Amir. I'd be the same in their position. Playing for Pakistan is a privilege, so many domestic cricketers toil and never make it. To go ahead and sell out that opportunity for money, it's awful. Having said that the majority of the fan base supported him. When I went to WC 2019, the loudest cheers were for Amir. Not even Babar. Coming back from a fixing ban is never easy, but it's your fault, and Pakistan was the easiest country to do it. Other countries he wouldn't have got the chance.

I think it was a poor decision to exclude him though. We made a decision to accept him after fixing, we can't go back on that even if I never would have done it. But on merit he deserves to be part of the LOI squad. Even if you don't play him in the team at least the squad. Especially T20s and ODI tournaments, it seems crazy to not play him or even have him on the bench when our current bowlers like Shaheen are still so young and inexperienced. Riaz is not a replacement, he is 35 a worse bowler especially with the new ball and expensive with runs. Amir is 28.

I do not agree with punishing a player for not playing all formats. Make tests attractive to play. Don't force players to play it. Amir is telling the truth in terms of workload, you can see he often slowed down in test series/ODI series. It's hard for him to keep up the speeds for long periods of time. Playing multiple T20 leagues don't change that, you still bowl just 4 overs, often just 2 overs in a row, plenty of rest between games. Tests you can be bowling 20 overs a day, it's far tougher. It's why a lot of fast bowlers don't really play all 3 formats anymore.

And people calling his drop justified. The man averaged 25.65 in ODIs in 2019 (his last year in ODIs). He's always been good at T20s. His bowling in LOI is underrated IMO as he keeps down the runs and doesn't give much away. When you have a expensive bowlers alongside leaking runs like crazy, no one is going to attack Amir, you just play him out. Even in his terrible 2018 year where he averaged 100, he still had an ER at a low 4.31. It was because batsmen were smashing guys like Hasan, Shinwari, Faheem etc at 8 runs an over at the other end.

I'm not a fan of Amir, I think he lied about the reasons why he fixed and bringing him back is a bad example, and no doubt we have more fixers because we didn't properly punish Amir last time. We're doing the same with Sharjeel, who I'm sure will eventually come back in internationals too. But I don't agree with punishing Amir and dropping him from all formats just because he retired from tests.

"Most skillful bowler I've faced" - Steve Smith
"One of the top 2-3 bowlers in world cricket atm" - Virat Kohli

I literally have NO respect left for Misbah and Waqar.
Yet another NZ debacle awaits.

I don't even know what PAK fans are holding onto except for Babar's and Shaheen's class. With this management at the helm we're doomed in all formats. Said this 1.5 year ago when they were hired and sad to be proven right.

Misbah supporters can keep backing Musa, Rauf, Iftikhar, Faheem, Fawad etc but I can't keep backing gully cricketers and clueless, pathetic management

Thanks for the better memories Amir. But we will move on InshaAllah

"Most skillful bowler I've faced" - Steve Smith
"One of the top 2-3 bowlers in world cricket atm" - Virat Kohli

I literally have NO respect left for Misbah and Waqar.
Yet another NZ debacle awaits.

I don't even know what PAK fans are holding onto except for Babar's and Shaheen's class. With this management at the helm we're doomed in all formats. Said this 1.5 year ago when they were hired and sad to be proven right.

Misbah supporters can keep backing Musa, Rauf, Iftikhar, Faheem, Fawad etc but I can't keep backing gully cricketers and clueless, pathetic management

Amir is past it. He was indeed the most difficult for those batsmen to face, but so was Wasim Akram once upon a time. It’s a false link you’re making - the Amir of 2021 is not the Amir of 2017. He was outstripped in the National T20 Cup and taken to the cleaners in the Lanka Premier League barring a 5-fer where 3 were tailenders hitting out at the death.

The greatest leagend Pakistan ever produced. Greatest than Fazal, Imran, Waseem, Waqar.

He believe in his eternal right to take a flight in national team when and where he wish.

He really hasn't changed. If they offer him decent amount he will still sell his country and fix match.

drama queen, life doesnt always give you second chances. Will def not represent Pak again.

PCB needs to establish a firm stance on match fixing. Bringing back Sharjeel, UA, and the lot will lower the already bad reputation of PCB.

Good stuff. Now please no begging to bring him back. Let him go earn the money he wants in the leagues. Wasteman.

I am not as shocked as I was at his Test retirement. He has been calling Mickey his best coach and calling out Waqar and Misbah. But I feel it's a very premature decision. A new selector is about to come. He could have come. And unlike others he isn't putting any hard yards to earn back his place.
No other country would tolerate this sense of entitlement he has. I liked him lots but clearly he feels he is much above team and can play at his whims. He would have got it even worse in other countries for doing spot fixing and then this. He should thank everyone honestly.

He shouldn't be picked again even if he decides to come back. You don't stop playing for your country if you have problems with a few individuals. Ridiculous!

JUST IN: PCB have confirmed that Mohammad Amir has stepped down from international cricket.

Its the easiest thing in the world to flip switch when your team has scored 340 runs in a big final, a score never ever chased in history of big finals. Any bowler can look like a beast when the team has that score on board

In the world cup he performed after Pakistan was almost already out and was outbowled by Afridi

India has had bowlers like Ishant, Pathan, Sreesanth who have actually won world t20 final and world cup finals and defended small scores like 120 in a champions trophy final. No one remembers them or calls them big game players

Called it day one when misbah and waqar were made the heads of the team.

They literally do not know how to interact with and manage players.

there is a generation gap between the players and the coaches
Waqar has been tested like a dozen times and has failed eventually one should realize hes not a quality coach.

The nerve of this guy.

We caused him all his problems?

Your the one who was involved in spot fixing. You are the one who made illegal money and got caught. Your the one who lied his way through out and only came clean when there was no way out.

ANd yet, you have the balls to say that you were mistreated? Even after PCB allowed you to return which they could had refrained you from just like how Butt and Asif were refrained.

Its clear, the guy got married, he wants to settle down. He doesn't want to put effort. T20 leagues will provide him a good living, he will get to travel around the world and have more time to spend with his wife.

Gul also toned down with cricket when he got married aswell
I think mixed wrong people lately.