Mohammad Hafeez undergoes bowling action test in England [Update Post #202]

7sins

First Class Player
Pakistan’s off-spinner Mohammad Hafeez has been reported with a suspect bowling action during the third One-Day International against Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

The match officials’ report, which was handed over to the Pakistan team management, cited concerns about the legality of the 37-year-old’s bowling action.

Hafeez’s bowling action will now be scrutinised further under the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations. He is required to undergo testing within 14 days, and, during this period, Hafeez is permitted to continue bowling in international cricket until the results of the assessments are known.

BACKGROUND:

· Hafeez was first suspended from bowling in December 2014.

· He was permitted to resume bowling in April 2015 following an independent reassessment where his action was found to be legal.

· Hafeez was suspended for a second time after an independent assessment revealed that he had employed an illegal bowling action after being reported in the Galle Test v Pakistan in June 2015. As this was his second suspension within 24 months of the initial suspension in December 2014, he was suspended from bowling in international cricket for 12 months from July 2015.

· On 17 November 2016, Hafeez underwent reassessment of his bowling action at the National Cricket Centre in Brisbane and was allowed to resume bowling after his action was found to be legal

· This report is deemed to be a first report and the procedure outlined in clause 4.1 of the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations shall now apply.

Lol.

This is good for us in the long term though, he need a to make way for Haris.

A lot of posters saw this coming in the match commentary threads.

This cannot harm Pakistan. Hafeez is not going to take risks as a 37-year-old on his last legs as an inetrnational cricketer. He will therefore have to play as a specialist batsman at 4 and we all know how that will turn out. Hopefully, he will be discarded before the 2019 WC. Haris Sohail must be over the moon.

If this gets rid of Mohammed ‘I’m blessed in all facets of the game’ Hafeez to make way for a youngster then it’s probably a good thing for Pakistan.

Here's hoping. No way he can play as a specialist batsmen.

He should have retired after the CT Final, but he was desperate to cling on.

Thank you ICC for making the decision for him.

I heard in game on hai show that haris is injured. They are 1 spinner short now because i dont expect hafeez passing the test and that will fix imad place in the odis.

Haris has to take his place.

No ifs. No buts.

About time as he's clearly been throwing for the last while :))

He'll still bowl in the last 2 ODI's which means he will play as a specialist batsman in the NZ series. Last time he was there, he tore them to shreds. So once again, we are still not dismissed from the Professor's lecture.

Guys, he is still eligible to bowl until his action has been proven illegal.

With hafeez gone from next series can we expect sarfraz to move up the order.

Isn’t this the third time he has been declared suspect? I thought you get completely banned from bowling after your third strike. Maybe I have the wrong information..

I hope he does not. You can't continue cheating like this and now this is the third time.

they don't do it on purpose, well most players. Hafeez I feel is someone the youngsters look up to, Imam praised him for giving him confidence and he's not the first youngster who has praised him for this

[MENTION=23613]90MPH[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

I hate to say 'I told you', but here you go.

He has been blatantly chucking in this series for anyone who has the capacity to see without green-tinted glasses.

:)) [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] ICC conspiracy?

This is so pathetic, means this cheat has contributed to matches won in the champios trophy... way to take the gloss off things, big slap on the face of hafeez and the management, who despite knowing he was chucking, persisted, to win unfairly

they don't do it on purpose, well most players. Hafeez I feel is someone the youngsters look up to, Imam praised him for giving him confidence and he's not the first youngster how has praised him for this
They can't call him useless either. Hafeez is a shrewd Machiavellian type of person. He doesn't upset management, stays on everybody's good side, and chooses when to bowl and bat. I wish I didn't know how he thinks but I do. Because it takes one to know one. :shaq

He has been blatantly chucking in this series for anyone who has the capacity to see without green-tinted glasses.

People who supported Hafeez's chucking won't change overnight, they're the same people who claim Ajmal is one of the best offspinners ever.

They can't call him useless either. Hafeez is a shrewd Machiavellian type of person. He doesn't upset management, stays on everybody's good side, and chooses when to bowl and bat. I wish I didn't know how he thinks but I do. Because it takes one to know one. :shaq

a smart person who keeps his head cool, another reason to have him around youngsters right now

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] u and [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] are the legends.......:hafeez2

I never disagreed that Hafeez was chucking.. I only agreed with the 90MPH over Junaid's chucking. See how Hafeez got called within 3 ODIs, but Juni has been bowling for 5 years but never called?

I hope he does not. You can't continue cheating like this and now this is the third time.

Change starts with the fans, we have to start acknowledging that chucking is unfair and bad, but some fans continue to not give a crap because they're too biased, winning is the only thing they see.

If Hafeez, and spinners like him see that fans support it then they continue to do it, if they are villified by fans then it'll have an effect.

:)) [MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] ICC conspiracy?

This is so pathetic, means this cheat has contributed to matches won in the champios trophy... way to take the gloss off things, big slap on the face of hafeez and the management, who despite knowing he was chucking, persisted, to win unfairly

by the way he did not bowl in final and was not that effective in semi.but his over all action was with in limits there otherwise icc would have reported him but he was blatantly chucking here...

Change starts with the fans, we have to start acknowledging that chucking is unfair and bad, but some fans continue to not give a crap because they're too biased, winning is the only thing they see.

If Hafeez, and spinners like him see that fans support it then they continue to do it, if they are villified by fans then it'll have an effect.
I think the wins they had while not reported should not be discredited. After all, not everyone can chuck as good as " El Profesora ".

I never disagreed that Hafeez was chucking.. I only agreed with the 90MPH over Junaid's chucking. See how Hafeez got called within 3 ODIs, but Juni has been bowling for 5 years but never called?

That was my reading of your comments too (that you were defending Junaid but not Hafeez).

Mamoon has built a strawman, only to knock it down again.

Junaid was chucking heavily during the period where he was playing international cricket sporadically. He was at his worst during the first season of the PSL.

During 2012-2013, the ICC was not serious about this issue and javelin throwers like Ajmal were given a free license. When the Big 3 took over in 2014, the clampdown on chuckers started, and Junaid didn't play much international cricket during 2014-2016 period, and that is when his action was at its worst.

However, these days his action is looking okay.

Was only a matter of time, his chucking was so blatant, he will get banned and hopefully Haris will replace him.

One of the most shameless individuals to play for Pakistan and he needs to be booted out for good precisely for his tendency to be an outright cheat, while maintaining a gentleman-like public profile.

I don't wish to see him wear the green shirt again.

they don't do it on purpose, well most players. Hafeez I feel is someone the youngsters look up to, Imam praised him for giving him confidence and he's not the first youngster who has praised him for this

He was only chucking by a bit over the limit. He had years to remodel it and banned not once but twice. Find it strange how guys like Narine can remodel it just fine, yet our guys struggle (Hafeez,Ajmal). Though Ajmal was more understandable as he was chucking by a huge margin.

He had a remodelled action, but didn't use it (as perhaps it wasn't very good). I don't think he really worked to fix his action enough, I guess the fact that he was also focusing on being a batsman meant that maybe he didn't spend enough time on it. Even in domestic matches, while I don't watch Pak domestic much, in the CPL he was chucking even more than this series, it was full on his old action.

Hafeez cops a lot of blame on this. Even if his bowling wasn't great anymore, there was no need to chuck, he'd been getting in batsman alone last few years, he averaged 40+ in a time where we didn't have the strength of batsmen we have now (i.e. Babar, Imam, Fakhar coming into the team etc.). While not spectacular, got into the team on batting alone. Try to be a good enough batsman that your bowling isn't needed to hold your spot in the team if he knew his bowling wouldn't work.

Pretty disappointed to say the least.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] u and [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] are the legends.......:hafeez2

I don't need 3D BM lab to see who is chucking and who's not. I am afraid, if they play regularly JK and our Al Amin, Nasir won't survive long either.

One of the most shameless individuals to play for Pakistan and he needs to be booted out for good precisely for his tendency to be an outright cheat, while maintaining a gentleman-like public profile.

quoting u again and again..bhai meray dil k batain karnya lagay ho.ma tu kahta ho domestic a bhi ban kar lay..kam az kam nowling tu ban kar lo domestic ma.

so would you like to see him in white shirt "Test matches" again

I don't need 3D BM lab to see who is chucking and who's not. I am afraid, if they play regularly JK and our Al Amin, Nasir won't survive long either.

junaid would not be as he never overdue it but if reported he will ba beanned for sure,but i am of the opinion icc ignores it if someone doesnt do it like hafiz and ajmal but again near wc u never know,,,,,adding that junaid is going to be liability in our team for the long run,i cant see much bite in his bowling,we need another youngsta beauty..

Lol.

This is good for us in the long term though, he need a to make way for Haris.

They are going to play him purely as a batsman now as seen in the past , hoping against the hope that’s not the case though.

Wonder how many posts we would have seen here defending Hafeez's action if Haris wasn't fit and available for selection.

I heard in game on hai show that haris is injured. They are 1 spinner short now because i dont expect hafeez passing the test and that will fix imad place in the odis.

He can continue to bowl until his bowling action test is conducted.

He was only chucking by a bit over the limit. He had years to remodel it and banned not once but twice. Find it strange how guys like Narine can remodel it just fine, yet our guys struggle (Hafeez,Ajmal). Though Ajmal was more understandable as he was chucking by a huge margin.

He had a remodelled action, but didn't use it (as perhaps it wasn't very good). I don't think he really worked to fix his action enough, I guess the fact that he was also focusing on being a batsman meant that maybe he didn't spend enough time on it. Even in domestic matches, while I don't watch Pak domestic much, in the CPL he was chucking even more than this series, it was full on his old action.

Hafeez cops a lot of blame on this. Even if his bowling wasn't great anymore, there was no need to chuck, he'd been getting in batsman alone last few years, he averaged 40+ in a time where we didn't have the strength of batsmen we have now (i.e. Babar, Imam, Fakhar coming into the team etc.). While not spectacular, got into the team on batting alone. Try to be a good enough batsman that your bowling isn't needed to hold your spot in the team if he knew his bowling wouldn't work.

Pretty disappointed to say the least.

For this part, you have to find one of my old posts on MoHa's action - I won't repeat here (might contradict), but bottom line is, his bowling skills are dependent on his action, which is the case for every bowler more or less, Narine as well; but not to the level of Hafeez.

MoHa is a street smart guy - he over did that in 1st match, then restrained him a bit in 2nd match on an under prepared track, where he was effective with selective chucking and did same in 3rd match; but horse was bolted by then.

First step of dealing with chuckers: stop living in denial mode.

I almost feel sorry for him. He made best use of his abilities and did give some fine performances. He deserves to go on a high. He is one of the better all-rounders Pakistan ever produced.

Almost everyone knew that, not only chuking, but he was bowling better than before also.

why is he not banned from bowling for ever as he is now reported for the third time in recent years and even in his early years also he was reported for chucking

If he fails the next test he will be banned i guess for 3 years or permanently.

Million $ question is - will Ul Haq now withdraw him from T20 squad or back on his God gifted talent to deliver simply as a batsman?

Ul Haq ko zindegi kis mor par chora - yaari ya usool!!! It's a clash between Iman & Dharam .....

For this part, you have to find one of my old posts on MoHa's action - I won't repeat here (might contradict), but bottom line is, his bowling skills are dependent on his action, which is the case for every bowler more or less, Narine as well; but not to the level of Hafeez.

MoHa is a street smart guy - he over did that in 1st match, then restrained him a bit in 2nd match on an under prepared track, where he was effective with selective chucking and did same in 3rd match; but horse was bolted by then.

Why suddenly the bowling actions/angles are so important now-a-days? The matches even 1996 or early 2000 were still competitive and bowlers are allowed to ball they way they want to. Murali did that but it was ok.

Million $ question is - will Ul Haq now withdraw him from T20 squad or back on his God gifted talent to deliver simply as a batsman?

Ul Haq ko zindegi kis mor par chora - yaari ya usool!!! It's a clash between Iman & Dharam .....
Think he answered that question for himself when he took the job of Chief Selector.

It will hurt us more. Now our management will play him as a specialist batsman.

Wonder how many posts we would have seen here defending Hafeez's action if Haris wasn't fit and available for selection.

Unless you've been asleep for the past year people have always said he chucks whenever he bowls well, PSL was an example.

I believe there is a case to increase the number of degrees allowed for spinners to maybe 20 in order to bridge the imbalance between bat and ball a little. Ajmal was chucking at an angle of 45 degrees which is insane and should rightfully be barred from bowling. On flatbed pitches, offspinners who bowl within 15 degrees limit hardly have any impact on the game. Ashwin gets tonked around easily. You need to give them a little protection by allowing them to bend their arm in order to get some spin and control. I feel 15 is too less. For fast bowlers, 15 degree limit is fine.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Well said only those who are reported are chuckers, BCCI clears and then mysteriously removes its players with suspect bowling actions looking at the match officials and tours. Indian players are never reported.

image1.jpegimage2.jpgimage3.jpg

Why suddenly the bowling actions/angles are so important now-a-days? The matches even 1996 or early 2000 were still competitive and bowlers are allowed to ball they way they want to. Murali did that but it was ok.

I think, Murali issue went out of control when he was called in AUS - therefore ICC decided to bring technology in it to make the system fair. Same way you can question DRS, change in match interruption rule neutral umpire, 3rd umpire etc...

World moves on - if they did something wrong that time, it's not like that can't be changed. In soccer, they are using video technology - that doesn't mean ENG's 1966 WC title was controversial.

Hafeez should do the honourable thing and retire from international cricket after the Sri Lankan series, ending on high. If ICC feel his action is still suspect (which I believe it is as one could clearly see he was chucking) he is likely to be banned again. Hafeez cannot be selected into the team as a batsman and we all know how wonderful batsman he is……..

Hafeez was first reported or 'cornered' in 2014 playing for Lahore Lions in Champions League T20, South Africa.
On-field umpire Vineet Kulkarni and TV umpire Anil Chaudhary [both indians] reported him alongwith Dharmasena [who later stood in matches where Hafeez bowled and never reported him].
The other umpire is Australia's former medium pacer Paul Reiffel who officiated in the test matches Hafeez was reported in.
Now S. Ravi.
Hafeez has always been reported when performing well. I'm sure there would be someone in PCB who would've taken note of this. PCB has displayed meekness in protecting its players.

A player reported multiple times needs to be banned from playing the sport altogether for cheating the game. Be it Hafeez, Ajmal, Ashwin, Ojha or anyone else.

Why does hafeez have to chuck? He does not even have a Doosra like Ajmal and he is forced to chuck.