Most unappreciated Pakistani food?

At my place Goat meat is not available sadly.

I only once bought Lamb meat and it was smelly. Didn't taste good.

The place I buy from only started stocking goat from last year onwards, so we had to get lamb/mutton. I don't mind it. If done right, it works great in pulao, because it is greasier than goat and a good pulao needs it. Also lamb/mutton are popular in KP and Balochistan, and some of their dishes are spectacular.

By the way, "Charsi Dumba" was a popular inside joke on Time Pass a few years back.

The place I buy from only started stocking goat from last year onwards, so we had to get lamb/mutton. I don't mind it. If done right, it works great in pulao, because it is greasier than goat and a good pulao needs it. Also lamb/mutton are popular in KP and Balochistan, and some of their dishes are spectacular.

By the way, "Charsi Dumba" was a popular inside joke on Time Pass a few years back.

Hahahahaha what a lovely humourous end to a serious discussion.

Thank you for the laughter. You are gifted with Sawaab by Allah through this act.

Charsi Dumba hehehe

Listening to Khalis makhan dudh makhaane kithe gae...by coke studio now

I remember a mathai from my childhood called boondi it was really common on ameens, khatams etc but i can't find it anymore on shops. here is a pic from google. any fan of nukhti here?

boondi_recipe_3.jpg

Well thanks to my cousin posted in Chakwal i get to eat real praeveries regularly!

Lucky you. For the record, I only eat 20g of carbs every day, so most of the things listed in this thread are haram to me. Talking about them is making me salivate and want to throw up, at the same time.

Arae bhai khaane ke liay jyo na ke jeene ke liay khao...4 din ki zindagi he

I remember a mathai from my childhood called boondi it was really common on ameens, khatams etc but i can't find it anymore on shops. here is a pic from google. any fan of nukhti here?

boondi_recipe_3.jpg

Not a fan, but it brings back memories of khatams and Qurankhwanis where they would hand these out in paper bags. My mother had to tell me they were lizard eggs to make me stop eating them.

Lamb sajji is recognized by real foodies across the country. I know an Air Force officer who asked (and received) a posting to Quetta just for the sajji, the dampukht, and the sheer yakh.

Shabdeg is well-known as a Kashmiri specialty. The stereotypical Kashmiri affinity to turnips has much to do with their reputation of preparing Shabdeg so frequently.

Army officers do have a taste for exotic food, I knew some relatives of mine that would eat deer meat, they claimed it was an army thing . As for shabdeg, haven't seen any Pakistani restaurants serve it,only had it at home.

Livestock also has distinct taste according to its breed ,environment and feed.

Yes you are right. But it was always an issue back home aswell when I tried sheep meat 3 or 4 times. It was sold as goat meat as raw or cooked but actually was sheep meat.

I would only like to try 2 dishes of Sheep meat :

1. Namak karahi of peshawar &

2. The Balochi underground Sajji

Have a gut feeling that it won't taste & smell like regular Sheep meat due to cooking procedure. Hope so.

boondi_recipe_3.jpg

Boondi tastes best if you eat it with Namak Paaray. Half boondi half namak paaray.

Not sure but you might find it on Muree Road.

Army officers do have a taste for exotic food, I knew some relatives of mine that would eat deer meat, they claimed it was an army thing . As for shabdeg, haven't seen any Pakistani restaurants serve it,only had it at home.

Venison. It is actually quite popular in the US, but you're right, a certain type of old-school army officer is likely to have hunted and eaten venison.

I'm sure you can find Shabdeg at hole-in-the-wall restaurants specializing in it in interior Lahore etc, but yes, it is unlikely to be found at a non-specialty, formal restaurant. It is usually made at home, painstakingly, and then they invite all their friends and family to enjoy it.

There's even a PTV serial from circa 1991 called Shabdeg. It is on YouTube, but the print is bad. I watched it all the same, for old times' sakes.

Not a fan, but it brings back memories of khatams and Qurankhwanis where they would hand these out in paper bags. My mother had to tell me they were lizard eggs to make me stop eating them.

Don't laugh at me if i tell you we used out qameez ki jholi to get more and more of them on khatams and aameens :p

Arae bhai khaane ke liay jyo na ke jeene ke liay khao...4 din ki zindagi he

You're right, but that 4 din ki zindagi isn't much fun when a bad diet reduces it to 3 and a half days and two of those are spent suffering from diabetes and hypertension.

Don't laugh at me if i tell you we used out qameez ki jholi to get more and more of them on khatams and aameens :p

That gives new meaning to the qawwali "Bharr de jholi meri."

Boondi tastes best if you eat it with Namak Paaray. Half boondi half namak paaray.

Not sure but you might find it on Muree Road.

Will try to find it there what about nukhti? Makhaane i can still find on different derbaars and mazaars as khurda shareef specially in golra shareef [MENTION=22846]Nostalgic[/MENTION]

That gives new meaning to the qawwali "Bharr de jholi meri."

haha well said so many memories! the best were getting more and more lafafas of mathai on 27veen ke khatam in mosjid. each khaaki lifafa had 2/3 shaker paare and a few namak paare

You're right, but that 4 din ki zindagi isn't much fun when a bad diet reduces it to 3 and a half days and two of those are spent suffering from diabetes and hypertension.

now that's an interesting point but mian raiwind shareef don't agree with you he was seen eating kulchas and paaye in murree after the heart surgery this year. (there are questions about that surgery)

Anyways, back to food, and one village food I ended up liking was kareley gosht... prepared by the Miraasis.

I don't like kareley (and going by what has been said on this thread, neither do most people). However, the exception is when it is prepared by the Miraasis of the village. They have a recipe that is all their own, and they are able to temper the bitterness beautifully, so you get a bit of that bitter acidity, but it isn't overwhelming. And they use pomegranate, and the marriage of the bitter and the sweet and the spicy meat is delectable. Try it some day.

Anyways, back to food, and one village food I ended up liking was kareley gosht... prepared by the Miraasis.

I don't like kareley (and going by what has been said on this thread, neither do most people). However, the exception is when it is prepared by the Miraasis of the village. They have a recipe that is all their own, and they are able to temper the bitterness beautifully, so you get a bit of that bitter acidity, but it isn't overwhelming. And they use pomegranate, and the marriage of the bitter and the sweet and the spicy meat is delectable. Try it some day.

Will give it a try what about daal and masala bhere keraile? or masala bheri bhindi?

Anyways, yes, the famous Corner Chaat. I've described it in a few other threads too, but the beauty is its simplicity. They don't go overboard with it, it is simply samosas, yoghurt, a chana-based sauce, and a dash of spice. The genius is in making sure each element is the best there is. The samosas alone are worth eating on their own: they emerge fresh from the oil with the perfect golden color, and the potato mix inside strikes the perfect balance between chunky and pasty. The yoghurt is only lightly diluted with water, and the chana sauce is almost like a salan. That's it: simple yet magnificent.

I haven't been back to Pakistan in over a decade, so that's what it was like, all those years ago. I do hope they've kept it simple.

Venison. It is actually quite popular in the US, but you're right, a certain type of old-school army officer is likely to have hunted and eaten venison.

I'm sure you can find Shabdeg at hole-in-the-wall restaurants specializing in it in interior Lahore etc, but yes, it is unlikely to be found at a non-specialty, formal restaurant. It is usually made at home, painstakingly, and then they invite all their friends and family to enjoy it.

There's even a PTV serial from circa 1991 called Shabdeg. It is on YouTube, but the print is bad. I watched it all the same, for old times' sakes.

It's the same here, you won't find any desi restaurant serving shabdeg here, a relative of ones runs a very successful desi restaurant and even he doesn't put it on the menu despite his heritage. Even my generation barely eats it, I feel like it's going to die out eventually and we'll only be left with nihari.

Traditionally, it needs to be cooked all night. In the west, that would be an issue. If they left it cooking overnight and something caught fire, there will be lawsuits.

Anyways, yes, the famous Corner Chaat. I've described it in a few other threads too, but the beauty is its simplicity. They don't go overboard with it, it is simply samosas, yoghurt, a chana-based sauce, and a dash of spice. The genius is in making sure each element is the best there is. The samosas alone are worth eating on their own: they emerge fresh from the oil with the perfect golden color, and the potato mix inside strikes the perfect balance between chunky and pasty. The yoghurt is only lightly diluted with water, and the chana sauce is almost like a salan. That's it: simple yet magnificent.

I haven't been back to Pakistan in over a decade, so that's what it was like, all those years ago. I do hope they've kept it simple.

My friend introduced me to Wah Corner and i enjoyed it that had this special taste in their simple samosa chaat.

I hear they have a number of locations now, in other cities too. Back in my day, there were only two. The one in Lala Rukh really was on a corner, hence the name, and close by was a famous burger cart. You know, the shami kebab and anda burger that used to cost Rs. 10, and which were at every street, except this one was delicious. It was called King Burger (named after Burger King I suppose). Next time you go for a Corner chaat, try the burger too... if it still exists.

I will try it but these ande wala shaami burder now cost around 80 rupees :p gone are the days when we chaat, burger etc all for 10 rupees. I even remember 7 rupee wala saada sirf shaami kabab burger without egg. Now even a chali cost is 20 rupees and it was 1 rupee at that time.

Yup, I remember those days. "Saada" burger for 7, "Double kebab" for 8, double kebab and anda for 10.

Tastes best with Nestle or Prime Yogurt.

Otherwise I prefer Desi Dahi (original) with all other foods.

Btw best wishes and prayers for your Christmas exams if they are around the corner.

Thank you the first one is tomorrow. I always prefer the desi dahi with everything however here in Canada I am forced to eat the packet one and it is growing on me.

Bhindi Goasht.

Daal Makhni.

Nice to know about Katwa Goasht and Shaljum/Shalghum Goasht. Will try it InshAllah.

Europe mein mujhay nai naseeb hua Bakray ka Goasht. Pakistan k Baqray k Goasht ki kya baat hai yaar. Lamb meat is poooooorrrrrr in taste and badddd smell :-///

Lamb meat is the best. Nothing like a good smelling dhumba. aaaah the fat :yk3

Also Arvi ka Gosth is pretty epic IMHO..... Has anyone tried it before ?

Have you guys had shola? It looks like a cross between haleem and khichri.

So, how many of you have had this delicacy? This is a bone of contention between my friend [MENTION=74419]Badsha[/MENTION] and myself. He hates it, I can't stop dreaming about it, because its been over a decade since I last had it.

Presenting the king, the queen, and the caliph of rewris, Chakwal's great gift to Pakistan:

View attachment 70893

Depends on my mood, but Deray ka sohan halwa is my guilty pleasure.

Lamb Sajji

9bae0a5f72cbaf81a0730f566a2f69ae.jpg

This one is interesting. It looks like grilled mutton, which I've never come across in India. I've always wondered why they don't grill mutton like they do with chicken or even fish. And I figured it's probably because mutton is harder in consistency and grilling might make it harder to chew or something like that. Good to know that they grill mutton too.:jf

It's also stuffed with rice

Koftay are a treat

We call it Arvi Gosht and to enjoy its taste sprinkling lemon juice is a must.

We too call it Arvi Gosht to be honest, Arvi ka Gosht was a type brother !!

Ammi would literally kill me if she sees me speaking such horrid Urdu :facepalm:

Am I the only one who likes Koftay ???

I'm not a huge fan, but I wouldn't really class them as unappreciated. Similar with dishes like bhindi (okra) which we used to have once in a while, and one of those veg dishes which I really like. A lot of dishes mentioned here are like that, I never really considered them as unappreciated as loads of people seem to love them.

Yes you are right. But it was always an issue back home aswell when I tried sheep meat 3 or 4 times. It was sold as goat meat as raw or cooked but actually was sheep meat.

I would only like to try 2 dishes of Sheep meat :

1. Namak karahi of peshawar &

2. The Balochi underground Sajji

Have a gut feeling that it won't taste & smell like regular Sheep meat due to cooking procedure. Hope so.

It's basically cooked by letting the meat simmer in sheep fat so you're in for a rude surprise.

Balochi food is really unique. Would like to try pather ki roti known as Kaak Roti. It is made by flattening the dough for the bread and rolling it over a preheated stone. The stone is then baked in a tandoor. Kaak is very hard once it has been baked.

Untitled.jpg

bc8.jpg

I remember eating big balochi naan when i was in quetta. 1 naan is big enough to serve 4/5 people!

_dsc0036-1.jpg

But does the salt or any other spices neutralise the smell ?

I would like to try once.

That's hard to explain, it sort of fuses that with the flavor so you feel it with your taste buds, not your nose(it doesn't assault your senses the way lamb in, say, pulao will) but don't let that deter you. With the exception of a good porterhouse, it's probably the greatest food in the world and everyone should experience it for themselves at least once in their life.

Some people even order it with extra dollops of fat, and those chunks of fat are clearly visible, still mostly in tact, in the sauce.

It really is a terrific dish. Since I couldn't travel to Peshawar too often, I made do with a place called Shinwari's, in Rawalpindi Saddar.

Some people even order it with extra dollops of fat, and those chunks of fat are clearly visible, still mostly in tact, in the sauce.

It really is a terrific dish. Since I couldn't travel to Peshawar too often, I made do with a place called Shinwari's, in Rawalpindi Saddar.

I'm one of those people, lol. The fat(from the lamb's derriere) is the best part. I go to Peshawar most weekends plus my father makes it exactly like they do in Namak Mandi so I don't usually have to go to the local establishments here but there's a place in Pindi near Jahangir Baltimore that makes it as good as any place in Peshawar. It's also called Shinwari(one of many in and around Saddar) so it can be a bit confusing.

One of the pitfalls of success in Pakistan is that the copycats even appropriate your name. Hence the phrases "naqaalon se hoshyar" and "hamari koi branch nahein." There was only one Shinwari there to begin with, but I guess once it got popular, many others cropped up.

In Multan they have all these Hafiz Sohan Halwa outlets with similar looking boards and "number xxx" added to the name with xxx running into the hundreds. Same with another local stalwart, Rewari(name of a sweet shop, not the little white thingies with poppy seeds from Chakwal), who have dozens of outlets that all have signs saying "is kay ilawa hamari koi branch nahi". That place is the capital of food related intellectual property and copyright theft in Pakistan.

Lots of Afghan cafes springing up in areas which used to be dominated by Pakistanis previously in the UK. I really like their take on grilled meat, less in your face spices but still really good. No idea how authentic they are but they must get their recipes from somewhere.

In Multan they have all these Hafiz Sohan Halwa outlets with similar looking boards and "number xxx" added to the name with xxx running into the hundreds. Same with another local stalwart, Rewari(name of a sweet shop, not the little white thingies with poppy seeds from Chakwal), who have dozens of outlets that all have signs saying "is kay ilawa hamari koi branch nahi". That place is the capital of food related intellectual property and copyright theft in Pakistan.

At least shoe and clothing manufacturers make the effort to be slightly different from what they are copying. I saw a pair of sneakers ("joggers" in local parlance) that were a copy of Nike. On closer inspection, it said "Mike." My first boss in the US was a Mike, and I used to joke that I would get him personalized shoes someday.

I've also owned authentic Tony Hilfiger and Tommy Hilfinger shirts.

At least shoe and clothing manufacturers make the effort to be slightly different from what they are copying. I saw a pair of sneakers ("joggers" in local parlance) that were a copy of Nike. On closer inspection, it said "Mike." My first boss in the US was a Mike, and I used to joke that I would get him personalized shoes someday.

I've also owned authentic Tony Hilfiger and Tommy Hilfinger shirts.

That doesn't happen now. They just use the real brand names and insignia. Even the crooks have gotten more... crooked?

I feel like Nihari is appreciated alot, but not nearly enough.

I can have Nihari seven days a week, if it wasn't so bad for my health.

That doesn't happen now. They just use the real brand names and insignia. Even the crooks have gotten more... crooked?

Oh, those brazen knockoffs have existed all along. But there's just something about a fake that hides the fact that its a fake in plain sight (although of course the fact that you bought it from a roadside stall is a bit of a giveaway).

I feel like Nihari is appreciated alot, but not nearly enough.

I can have Nihari seven days a week, if it wasn't so bad for my health.

Subah Shaam Nihari
Din aur Raat Nihari
Dil o Jaan Nihari
Mein Sadqay, Mein Wari
Nihari, Nihari

If you can tell me where this bit of doggerel came from, you get a free Nihari.

For those familiar with Punjabi cuisine, is paye+chanay(cow trotters and chickpeas) really a thing? I literally just saw it for the first time in my life a few minutes ago and upon asking my mother what it is, I was informed that this was her attempt to make Punjabi style paaye. Funny thing is I've lived in most of the major cities in Punjab and never once have I seen this dish before.

I like chotay paaey. Its quite famous in Lahore Pindi & Islamabad especially Lahore. Like Nehari it is also a breakfast dish but is consumed at other times aswell.

Never had Paaye with chick peas though

Paye is as good as you could get with your breakfast. Cow and goat/lamb paye both are awesome. It takes hours to cook it well. But usually chanay are not added to paye. Paye itself has a thick , greasy gravy to dunk naan/roti into.

I remember eating big balochi naan when i was in quetta. 1 naan is big enough to serve 4/5 people!

_dsc0036-1.jpg

This is variously known as Irani naan, Afghani naan, Balochi naan, depending on who is baking it.

I've had it from a Hazara bakery in Islamabad's G-9 sector, behind Peshawar Morr. The Hazaras are renowned for having a monopoly over bread in Afghanistan. I wonder if that is also the case in Quetta.

This is variously known as Irani naan, Afghani naan, Balochi naan, depending on who is baking it.

I've had it from a Hazara bakery in Islamabad's G-9 sector, behind Peshawar Morr. The Hazaras are renowned for having a monopoly over bread in Afghanistan. I wonder if that is also the case in Quetta.

By Hazaras here you means Hazarawal (Mansehra, Abbotabad etc?) or Hazara the shia community of Quetta/Baluchistan and Afghanistan?

The latter, found in Hazarajat in Afghanistan and Quetta, not the Hazarawals of KP's Hazara division.

Yea in Quetta there is a big Hazara community and it's easy to recognize them by face. Here in Punjab and Karachi/Peshawar etc Hazarawals are leading the tandoor business.

I wasn't aware of Hazarawals having a monopoly over tandoors in Pakistan. Its an odd coincidence: Hazaras in Afghanistan, Hazarawals in Pakistan, baking all that bread.

yes it's called Afghani naan in the South Asian restaurants in US which serve it, and what do you know their owners are Afghani as well..

I also recall having this type of naan back in Islamabad, I was only about 6 though so don't remember the exact place. But they had crinkle cut fries as well. Odd combination, but I was disinterested in the naan at the time and more interested in the fries.

But they had crinkle cut fries as well. Odd combination, but I was disinterested in the naan at the time and more interested in the fries.

I was telling you about our trip to Houston a couple of months back. My wife and I feasted on nihari, paye, halwa puri, and all the other delicacies we aren't able to eat too often. The kids had... french fries. The three Pakistani restaurants we visited all had fries on the menu. They've probably learnt from experience that that is what the kids want.

Speaking of underrated Pakistani foods, my go-to dish on my keto cheat days is qeema with whole wheat roti. Potatoes recommended, peas not so much. The "cheat" part is the bread and the potatoes.

The qeema shouldn't be ground meat from a machine. No, I insist on hand-cut qeema, better known as haath ka qeema (no severed hands, just hand-chopped). Mince from a machine is too fine, even on the coarse setting. You want it coarser than that, and that can only be achieved with a manually-operated cleaver. With Serrano peppers (which best emulate the taste green chilies found in Pakistan), a garnish of cilantro, a side salad of onions and tomatoes, and a dollop of plain yoghurt, it is sheer bliss on a plate. And ubiquitous enough to be underrated, so it meets the criterion for this thread.

I am eating a delicious biryani at 12th of rabi ul awwal so I have forgotten the plight of unappreciated food for the moment