Badsha
Everyone likes biryani, tikkay etc. What do you think is something that always goes under the radar?
Shalgham Gosht for me.
Everyone likes biryani, tikkay etc. What do you think is something that always goes under the radar?
Shalgham Gosht for me.
Many people like Karaylay Qeema aswell. I am not a big fan though.
*Golgappa![]()
Aik keraile garam oper se qeema garam bere gosht ka pata nae itna garam taaseer waala saalan kese kha lete log.
My ultimate comfort food is Kichri and it used to be a staple in our house while growing up, once every week AT LEAST.
When I came to Canada and met folks from Lahore and Punjab side they used to say to me "what is wrong with you". Apparently kichri is only had when one has upset stomach.
In Karachi we call that patli kichri (it is just like normal kichri but cooked in more water and for far longer which results in sort of a rough rice soup kinda thing).
Kichri:
Patli Kichri:
Yes but you could try it with mutton or chicken qeema
Wesay Karayloun ki taaseer garam hoti hai ? Not sure
Many people like Karaylay Qeema aswell. I am not a big fan though.
I quite like those. I was pretty sure I was going to be boring and only appreciate the normal favourites so thanks for providing me with an 'out there' alternative dish. Not that I love it or anything, but it's not bad for something different.
Konsi jaga k ?
Lobia chaat anyone? I think the best one is sold outside cinema near GPO in Rawalpindi Saddar.
There's a place in Multan near Haram Gate that makes better GGs than anywhere else I've tried.
Yeah. I have tried it
Good One.
The Brothers have made lots of money but well deserved.
Yea thats real halaal ke qamai and should be appreciated but our society feel shame in these type businesses even if you are earning millions.
Fresco & Nirala etc also started from scratch. Today they are no more the Halwai's![]()
yup many examples like student briani!
A pakore wala near my village owns latest model of Toyota Corolla and is owner of many shops on main road all purchased by his haq halaal ki qamai and he still sell pakore.
Lamb Sajji
Shab Deg
I think Mutton pulao is very under appreciated because of biryani
View attachment 70891
The winter here brings with it sarson ka saag, gajar ka halwa aur sohan halwa.
White korma is also decent.
Qeema with peas or karela is awesome.
Correct. Its always biryani this and biryani that. Pulao has a more earthy, elemental taste, and I've always felt it was truer to its roots. Also it is imperative that one use mutton, instead of the overrated and overused chicken.
Sometimes, no, not sometimes, always, less is more.
don't think daal chawal is under-appreciated. It's incredibly common, household staple for lunch/dinner. People don't talk about it because it's so easily accessible.
I have pulao every now and then. It's a completely different experience than biryani. The meat is more chewy and has the much sought after "gooda".
[MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION]
But Sohan and gajar halwas are a class of their own. Dodha lacks the same richness and aroma.
The difference between these two items is same as the difference between mutton pulao and chicken pulao.
I don't like mutton, I find it too smelly. Somebody told me mutton is more expensive than beef, and I was shocked as to why people will pay more for something this smelly.
The best meat is bera gosht if you know how to cook.
Only if it's under cut and part of Nihari
Otherwise No from myside except for may be Tikka or Seekh kabaab.
Would you prefer Mutton Korma or Beef Korma ?
Mutton Karahi or Beef Karahi ?
Mutton Malhni Karahi or Beef Makhni Karahi ?
I don't like mutton, I find it too smelly. Somebody told me mutton is more expensive than beef, and I was shocked as to why people will pay more for something this smelly.
Murgh chanay are awesome too, looks like no one appreciates 'CHANAY' here![]()
Yes usually eaten while one has upset stomach. Ocassionally eaten otherwise aswell.
Yogurt is must if one wants to enjoy taste of Khicrhee.
Daal mash? I love it but I have seem many people who dislike it.
You usually find it in baareek nimko of Pakistan Daal mash? I love it but I have seem many people who dislike it.
Read post number 32 we use the word chole instead of chane![]()
Channay are overrated IMO. Everywhere you go you get channay.
Ah i see, murgh cholay, chikkar cholay etc especially with parathay or naan............NOW I WANT REAL BREKAFAST :d

Daal moth ka saalan anyone? maybe something new for many hereYou usually find it in baareek nimko of Pakistan
Isn't it called Kaalay Masarr ?
Took the words right out of my mouth. Used to hate it when I was younger but when I wasn't well my mom used to force me to eat it. Eventually I started liking it when I started having it with dahi
In our village we call it moth ki daal.
now read my post number 62 that i posted without reading this post by you![]()
Too bad after dreaming about Till walay naan and cholay, i am having breakfast of tea & biscuits...hazaron khawahishain.......... 
Neither of these are unappreciated. Sajji is popular throughout the country, so much so that some places even hire chefs from Quetta and bring them over. Shabdeg is popular enough to have now become something of a stereotype for Kashmiris.
This is one Daal which is preferred with Makhan or Desi ghee choprhee Roti.
Daal best pakti hai matti k bartunn mein
I agree with Badshah Bhaee. Our Cuisine is very diverse.
Too bad after dreaming about Till walay naan and cholay, i am having breakfast of tea & biscuits...hazaron khawahishain..........
In Pakistan they also sell Lamb meat which probably comes under Mutton. They call it Goat meat. You might have come across that or "BOw Bakra" experience
Are you talking about lamb sajji or it's poor imitation, the chicken sajji? I didn't know other Pakistanians knew about shab deg
Lamb is a baby sheep. Mutton is an adult sheep. Mutton is not goat, but it is called so in Pakistan. Overseas, one has to be careful, because if you ask for mutton, you'll get mutton, not goat. That used to really get my goat, but I'm over it now.

So, how many of you have had this delicacy? This is a bone of contention between my friend [MENTION=74419]Badsha[/MENTION] and myself. He hates it, I can't stop dreaming about it, because its been over a decade since I last had it.
Presenting the king, the queen, and the caliph of rewris, Chakwal's great gift to Pakistan: