Most unappreciated Pakistani food?

Badsha

Everyone likes biryani, tikkay etc. What do you think is something that always goes under the radar?

Shalgham Gosht for me.

Haeem/Daleem

Murgh Palao Kabab

Curry Pakora

Katwa Gosht

These are popular but not as much as biryani/chicken tikka/nihari etc

Katwa Gosht is the one and only dish in valeema if you are in chach area of Punjab and if you are new you will feel uncomfortable the way people eat it (roti kut ke in shorba).

hqdefault.jpg

Bhindi Goasht.

Daal Makhni.

Nice to know about Katwa Goasht and Shaljum/Shalghum Goasht. Will try it InshAllah.

Europe mein mujhay nai naseeb hua Bakray ka Goasht. Pakistan k Baqray k Goasht ki kya baat hai yaar. Lamb meat is poooooorrrrrr in taste and badddd smell :-///

My ultimate comfort food is Kichri and it used to be a staple in our house while growing up, once every week AT LEAST.

When I came to Canada and met folks from Lahore and Punjab side they used to say to me "what is wrong with you". Apparently kichri is only had when one has upset stomach.

In Karachi we call that patli kichri (it is just like normal kichri but cooked in more water and for far longer which results in sort of a rough rice soup kinda thing).

Kichri:

parippu+kichadi.JPG

Patli Kichri:

i

Aik keraile garam oper se qeema garam bere gosht ka pata nae itna garam taaseer waala saalan kese kha lete log.

Yes but you could try it with mutton or chicken qeema ;)

Wesay Karayloun ki taaseer garam hoti hai ? Not sure

My ultimate comfort food is Kichri and it used to be a staple in our house while growing up, once every week AT LEAST.

When I came to Canada and met folks from Lahore and Punjab side they used to say to me "what is wrong with you". Apparently kichri is only had when one has upset stomach.

In Karachi we call that patli kichri (it is just like normal kichri but cooked in more water and for far longer which results in sort of a rough rice soup kinda thing).

Kichri:

parippu+kichadi.JPG

Patli Kichri:

i

Yes usually eaten while one has upset stomach. Ocassionally eaten otherwise aswell.

Yogurt is must if one wants to enjoy taste of Khicrhee.

Many people like Karaylay Qeema aswell. I am not a big fan though.

I quite like those. I was pretty sure I was going to be boring and only appreciate the normal favourites so thanks for providing me with an 'out there' alternative dish. Not that I love it or anything, but it's not bad for something different.

Well even if you like those I won't consider you or your choice as boring. It's upto every individual after all.

Karaylay are quite good for our GUT as far as we have been told. Hope there is some scientific evidence aswell.

Tahiri is another one of my personal favourites.

When I say tahiri I'm talking about this:

oetr7djhedcha_bigger.jpg

(IMAGINE WITHOUT THE PEAS)

Lobia chaat anyone? I think the best one is sold outside cinema near GPO in Rawalpindi Saddar.

Yeah. I have tried it :)

Good One.

The Brothers have made lots of money but well deserved.

Yea thats real halaal ke qamai and should be appreciated but our society feel shame in these type businesses even if you are earning millions.

The Problem is with the society. Soon they will have established business InshaAllah where managers will look after the business.

Fresco & Nirala etc also started from scratch. Today they are no more the Halwai's :)

Palak ghost

Keema karela

Chaamp shorba and chawal

White chaana shorba

Fresco & Nirala etc also started from scratch. Today they are no more the Halwai's :)

yup many examples like student briani!

A pakore wala near my village owns latest model of Toyota Corolla and is owner of many shops on main road all purchased by his haq halaal ki qamai and he still sell pakore.

No mention of paalak ande so far...

Murgh chole?

Malai boti?

Sarson ka saag and makai ki roti?

Makhan ki chupri hui roti with lassi and desi achaar?

I think we don't appreciate our cuisine which is very diverse and rich

I think Mutton pulao is very under appreciated because of biryani
1689982684c87079e67b5e97f14ae7ef.jpg

palak keema is another dish which i think is underrated
keema-palak-recipe.jpg

yup many examples like student briani!

A pakore wala near my village owns latest model of Toyota Corolla and is owner of many shops on main road all purchased by his haq halaal ki qamai and he still sell pakore.

May Allah bless him with more Aameen.

Always love knowing people who flourushed through honest legitimate means. MashaAllah.

The winter here brings with it sarson ka saag, gajar ka halwa aur sohan halwa.

White korma is also decent.

Qeema with peas or karela is awesome.

Lamb Sajji
Shab Deg

Neither of these are unappreciated. Sajji is popular throughout the country, so much so that some places even hire chefs from Quetta and bring them over. Shabdeg is popular enough to have now become something of a stereotype for Kashmiris.

I think Mutton pulao is very under appreciated because of biryani
View attachment 70891

Correct. Its always biryani this and biryani that. Pulao has a more earthy, elemental taste, and I've always felt it was truer to its roots. Also it is imperative that one use mutton, instead of the overrated and overused chicken.

Sometimes, no, not sometimes, always, less is more.

Correct. Its always biryani this and biryani that. Pulao has a more earthy, elemental taste, and I've always felt it was truer to its roots. Also it is imperative that one use mutton, instead of the overrated and overused chicken.

Sometimes, no, not sometimes, always, less is more.

100% agree i am fan of all types of rice including beryani but nothing is better thn a good old palao.

don't think daal chawal is under-appreciated. It's incredibly common, household staple for lunch/dinner. People don't talk about it because it's so easily accessible.

I have pulao every now and then. It's a completely different experience than biryani. The meat is more chewy and has the much sought after "gooda".

[MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION]
But Sohan and gajar halwas are a class of their own. Dodha lacks the same richness and aroma.
The difference between these two items is same as the difference between mutton pulao and chicken pulao.

don't think daal chawal is under-appreciated. It's incredibly common, household staple for lunch/dinner. People don't talk about it because it's so easily accessible.

I have pulao every now and then. It's a completely different experience than biryani. The meat is more chewy and has the much sought after "gooda".

Mutton is the key here. Chicken Pulao and mutton pulao are two different things. Make the mutton pulao slightly spicy and you will see the difference, more of a pulao-biryani. Use spices of biryani but use the pulao process.

[MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION]
But Sohan and gajar halwas are a class of their own. Dodha lacks the same richness and aroma.
The difference between these two items is same as the difference between mutton pulao and chicken pulao.

Have to agree with you on richness part.

I don't like mutton, I find it too smelly. Somebody told me mutton is more expensive than beef, and I was shocked as to why people will pay more for something this smelly.

In Pakistan they also sell Lamb meat which probably comes under Mutton. They call it Goat meat. You might have come across that or

" BOw Bakra " experience

The best meat is bera gosht if you know how to cook.

Only if it's under cut and part of Nihari ;)

Otherwise No from myside except for may be Tikka or Seekh kabaab.

Would you prefer Mutton Korma or Beef Korma ?
Mutton Karahi or Beef Karahi ?
Mutton Malhni Karahi or Beef Makhni Karahi ?

Only if it's under cut and part of Nihari ;)

Otherwise No from myside except for may be Tikka or Seekh kabaab.

Would you prefer Mutton Korma or Beef Korma ?
Mutton Karahi or Beef Karahi ?
Mutton Malhni Karahi or Beef Makhni Karahi ?

Beef any day of the week ! my choice in this order Beef, Desi Choocha, Mutton/Lamb. Seekh Kabab if made with beef qeema i don't prefer them i like Chicken Seekh Kabab more but love beef tikka not a fan of chicken tikka

Qeema Karelay and aaloo qeema are my favourites

Anday chanay (can eat 5 days a week if it doesn't upset my stomach)

Love all sort of daals (chana, maash etc)

Achar Gosht is awesome as well.

It seems that you have not been to Pakistan enough. If you don't mind beef then i see no reason why would you dislike lamb chops.

Murgh chanay are awesome too, looks like no one appreciates 'CHANAY' here :)

Daal mash? I love it but I have seem many people who dislike it.

Yes usually eaten while one has upset stomach. Ocassionally eaten otherwise aswell.

Yogurt is must if one wants to enjoy taste of Khicrhee.

Took the words right out of my mouth. Used to hate it when I was younger but when I wasn't well my mom used to force me to eat it. Eventually I started liking it when I started having it with dahi

Daal mash? I love it but I have seem many people who dislike it.

Same here. For some reason people hate it, but when done right, it can be magnificent.

It is very healthy too. A cup gives you a whopping 92g of protein, and 64g of fiber. However, a cup also has 1488 calories, so if you have it, don't eat anything else for the rest of the day.

Daal moth ka saalan anyone? maybe something new for many here :13: You usually find it in baareek nimko of Pakistan

dalinpot.JPG

stock-photo-dal-moth-88476535.jpg

Read post number 32 we use the word chole instead of chane ;)

Ah i see, murgh cholay, chikkar cholay etc especially with parathay or naan............NOW I WANT REAL BREKAFAST :d

Channay are overrated IMO. Everywhere you go you get channay.

naah nothing can beat channe with til wala naan for breakfast! i can have it 7 days a week without complaining just add a glass of lassi with it

Ah i see, murgh cholay, chikkar cholay etc especially with parathay or naan............NOW I WANT REAL BREKAFAST :d

now read my post number 62 that i posted without reading this post by you :))

Took the words right out of my mouth. Used to hate it when I was younger but when I wasn't well my mom used to force me to eat it. Eventually I started liking it when I started having it with dahi

Tastes best with Nestle or Prime Yogurt.

Otherwise I prefer Desi Dahi (original) with all other foods.

Btw best wishes and prayers for your Christmas exams if they are around the corner.

In our village we call it moth ki daal.

This is one Daal which is preferred with Makhan or Desi ghee choprhee Roti.

Daal best pakti hai matti k bartunn mein

I agree with Badshah Bhaee. Our Cuisine is very diverse.

now read my post number 62 that i posted without reading this post by you :))

:)) Too bad after dreaming about Till walay naan and cholay, i am having breakfast of tea & biscuits...hazaron khawahishain.......... :9:

Neither of these are unappreciated. Sajji is popular throughout the country, so much so that some places even hire chefs from Quetta and bring them over. Shabdeg is popular enough to have now become something of a stereotype for Kashmiris.

Are you talking about lamb sajji or it's poor imitation, the chicken sajji? I didn't know other Pakistanians knew about shab deg

This is one Daal which is preferred with Makhan or Desi ghee choprhee Roti.

Daal best pakti hai matti k bartunn mein

I agree with Badshah Bhaee. Our Cuisine is very diverse.

Yea and i also love these desi experiments with food :D ab to desi ghee khaya nae jata bojh rakhta he but in our childhood we use to eat desi ghee garam kerke shaker daal ker peraathe ke sath in sehri whole ramadan or kabhi kuch feel nae hota tha now the time is changed ab to khaate be der lagta ke bojh na rakh jaaye.

:)) Too bad after dreaming about Till walay naan and cholay, i am having breakfast of tea & biscuits...hazaron khawahishain.......... :9:

Roghni naan is good but i prefer til wala saada naan with cholay for breakfast or lassi hojaaye to kia he baat! Now after reading all these posts i can't stop myself from having a full desi nashta this weekend!

In Pakistan they also sell Lamb meat which probably comes under Mutton. They call it Goat meat. You might have come across that or "BOw Bakra" experience

Lamb is a baby sheep. Mutton is an adult sheep. Mutton is not goat, but it is called so in Pakistan. Overseas, one has to be careful, because if you ask for mutton, you'll get mutton, not goat. That used to really get my goat, but I'm over it now.

Are you talking about lamb sajji or it's poor imitation, the chicken sajji? I didn't know other Pakistanians knew about shab deg

Lamb sajji is recognized by real foodies across the country. I know an Air Force officer who asked (and received) a posting to Quetta just for the sajji, the dampukht, and the sheer yakh.

Shabdeg is well-known as a Kashmiri specialty. The stereotypical Kashmiri affinity to turnips has much to do with their reputation of preparing Shabdeg so frequently.

Lamb is a baby sheep. Mutton is an adult sheep. Mutton is not goat, but it is called so in Pakistan. Overseas, one has to be careful, because if you ask for mutton, you'll get mutton, not goat. That used to really get my goat, but I'm over it now.

At my place Goat meat is not available sadly.

I only once bought Lamb meat and it was smelly. Didn't taste good.

Tandoor main bana baingan ka bherta is underrated.

About Daal Maash. It is an art to cook perfect Maash. Just had it today.

It should neither be left hard nor it should be over cooked. Then in the end you give it makhan ka tarkka with tomatoes and green chili. And then have it with podina ka raita .

It is not less than any other Pakistani food.

So, how many of you have had this delicacy? This is a bone of contention between my friend [MENTION=74419]Badsha[/MENTION] and myself. He hates it, I can't stop dreaming about it, because its been over a decade since I last had it.

Presenting the king, the queen, and the caliph of rewris, Chakwal's great gift to Pakistan:

_dsc7555.jpg

So, how many of you have had this delicacy? This is a bone of contention between my friend [MENTION=74419]Badsha[/MENTION] and myself. He hates it, I can't stop dreaming about it, because its been over a decade since I last had it.

Presenting the king, the queen, and the caliph of rewris, Chakwal's great gift to Pakistan:

Well thanks to my cousin posted in Chakwal i get to eat real praeveries regularly!