MS Dhoni steps down as ODI and T20I captain of the Indian Cricket Team

The right decision for himself and the team. Kohli is better off taking over in all formats.

As he resigned from odi captain also the scrutiny on him as a player will be even more.if he fluffs chases and keeps playing like he is right now i am afraid his days as a player are also numbered

That will not happen. He will leave on his own, for sure. Legends are treated well in India. No better keeper batsman going around in the country.

I feel bad in some weird way. Used to seeing him lead so well for a decade now. I just hope kohli is not overburdenedl.

WTH out of nowhere,hopefully he stays till Champ trophy can mentor Kohli in LOI,wow been seeing him play since school days,how time passes.

He merits a place as a keeper still i think but his batting is in a stage of terminal decline he is not able to arrest.he tried to improve by become lean and fit but it has not helped

Really pathetic response from Indian polters. Typical Indian mentality. Har jaan wale ko gaali aane wale ko taali.

No one can take MSD's place in our heart. He is next to Sachin, our legend.:(

Tbh,Dhoni stepping down from ODI captaincy is like retiring from cricket altogether...

Come on guy!! Some of the comments here are pathetic, especially coming from Indian supporters.

Down the memory lane.....

I remember the era of 90s and early 2000s. I used to admire the likes of Gilchrist and wonder why India has never found a genuine all rounder like him. I used to admire the likes of Afridi and Jaysurya in the 90s, who could hit sixes and fours at will, and used to crave for someone who could terrorize the opposition with his big hitting ability.

When I first heard about Dhoni making waves in first class, I thought, well here is another along the lines of Atul Bedade, who is only good vs weak domestic bowlers. Then Dhoni came in, and his keeping was decent-so there was hope. At least he had one skill to fall back on. Then he made THAT 100 vs freaking Pakistan!!! 148 runs at SR of 120. That was unprecedented. India found its star!!

He gave the team a much needed balance, safe keeper, dangerous batsman, and a great captain. I can write so much more, but words are not enough.

Take a bow!!!

An ODI legend. Surprisingly mediocre in T20s but a very underrated captain in both formats. One of the best keepers of the game with his insanely quick stumpings.

I'd say his keeping was slightly above average

Not the cleanest glove man

Only good thing is he that he didn't have many howlers

FInally, if he could give Misbah a nudge I would be grateful. A great ODI player and captain but surprisingly poor in T20Is. A ODI ATG for sure.

Thank you for what you've done for Indian cricket, MS. Won pretty much everything that's there to win in cricket. Unless I'm mistaken, he's the only captain in the history of the game to have won the 50-over WC, Champions Trophy, T20 WC and Test rank #1.

Peerless!

I dont care what the others say. For me he was a great LOI captain and a batsman. Thank him for all his contributions for Indian Cricket.

I can't understand people being so negative arguably one of the best LOI players/captain and people are doubting his achievements.

I remember first seeing him as a Kid in India A Tour matches i believe it was and I used to watch these games just to see him play as a kid. There has always been something special about him

Some of his achievements

2007 T20 World Cup or series whatever it is called.
2008 CB triseries cup win in Australia ( against all time great Aus ODI team when Symonds, Hayden , Ponting were ****** against Indian team for monkeygate scandal). Not to forget it was in best of 3 finals instead of just one final.
2011 ODI Worldcup

Only Ponting has more cups of this stature as Captain.

I dont agree with him being the best ODI Captain in history, imaginative yes, he would take plenty of gambles with field placings, bowling changes and he led by example. But it cannot be denied he benefited massively by having extremely good talent and a team firing full guns blazing.

His test whitewashes actually revealed his captaincy for what it was. Also he didn't seem to have the best relationships with his team mates i.e. Laxman, Yuvraj, Gambhir, Sehwag who havent been shy of commenting how much they hate their guts and the fact he took all the limelight for his team's successes.

Also one thing i disliked about Dhoni, he was very lucky to have full fledged BCCI backing, after every major series loss, defeat, he successfully scapegoated a lot of his fellow players and terminated their careers but he always survived himself and was allowed to continue in the job unpressurized which i found extremely unfair.

Not to mention his disdain for pace bowlers.

Bande ke kya style hai. :salute
He is probably still looking to play till WC 2019. If his performances against NZ are anything to go by, batting at No4 with attacking intent can mean his best years as a batsman.

I dont agree with him being the best ODI Captain in history, imaginative yes, he would take plenty of gambles with field placings, bowling changes and he led by example. But it cannot be denied he benefited massively by having extremely good talent and a team firing full guns blazing.

His test whitewashes actually revealed his captaincy for what it was. Also he didn't seem to have the best relationships with his team mates i.e. Laxman, Yuvraj, Gambhir, Sehwag who havent been shy of commenting how much they hate their guts and the fact he took all the limelight for his team's successes.

Also one thing i disliked about Dhoni, he was very lucky to have full fledged BCCI backing, after every major series loss, defeat, he successfully scapegoated a lot of his fellow players and terminated their careers but he always survived himself and was allowed to continue in the job unpressurized which i found extremely unfair.

Not to mention his disdain for pace bowlers.

He might not be the best btu surely one of the best in LOIs. Anyone including Pointing, Imran Khan etc could fall into the category of having benefitted from some extremely good talent and teams firing all guns blazing.

Thats what captains do, gets your team going, and also the gambles he took won us worldcups and tournaments, let it be a gamble but good captains are judged based on what they achieve.

His test whitewashes will always be a huge black mark in the test format but I think alot of us will agree when we call him one of the best captains in LOI, test captaincy doesn't matter. He was I'd agree a decent captain at best in Test Format.
Laxman and UV I dont remember any issues they had with Dhoni (other than i believe UV's father going to media, i dont even think UV takes his dad seriously). Gambhir and Sewhag were liabilities in the team and were rightly dropped. It takes a good captain to make a decision like that.

A captain and your best players will always be backed by the board (as they should do), if they start dropping you after a poor series, you would end up having a new captain every other series and players won't go anywhere. I don't think his performance (barring last few years in tests) have been questionable, he performed and wasn't required to be dropped. Even today in Tests I wouldn't mind having Dhoni the keeper back. The player (ignoring all his captaincy) himself was good enough to play in the indian team. In LOI, we are gonna find it hard to replace a keeper and batsman like him. I dont think he scapegoated anyone, again going back to the point i made earlier. If a player isn't performming the captain has to take the decision and move on. I'd rather have india win games than keep non-performing players in the side and not terminating their careers. Shewag, Gambhir were great players for indian cricket, but they weren't performing and time was running out. Wouldn't you fill in their shows with newer players?

The first reply says it all really...:facepalm:

The man is a LOIs modern great, and yes he hasn't had the best time of it in the last 2-4 years but give him some respect for goodness sake!

It's almost as if whatever he's achieved for your Country counts for nothing.

Didn't know there were so many naysayers of him in LO cricket. Easily the best captain ever in this regard.

Probably the best ODI captain in history.

[MENTION=5942]AlphaFighter[/MENTION] i absolutely agree everything u have written.he is not well liked by the players like laxman,sehwag,gambhir particularly the latter two who publicly questioned his captaincy and chasing methods.recently kohli and ashwin started dissing him openly

He survived this far because of backing of srini only.he is not a remarkable player in his conduct also as many people think his name is included the list of 6 cricketers who are involved in malpractices during ipl enquiry brought by supreme coury whose names are not revealed as yet but flushed under the carpet

Of course but why let facts get in the way of nostalgia, bear in mind he (his firm) was also managing Raina & some of his other CSK mates. A massive conflict of interest there, Raina got a free ride of ~26 tests because of him & guess what he's the worst player at 5/6 in tests during that period, Mohinder Amarnath was sacked because he dared to challenge this guy's authority.

But hey let's celebrate the greatest ODI captain ever.
Just for the record IMO Clive Lloyd was the best ever ODI captain, then Ponting/kapil/Imran/cronje in no particular order.

Oh my god the hype surrounding his captaincy and his finishing capabilities is still nauseatingly high and people who have different opinion are spoilt isnt it?

He did finish games but a lot of that was on the back of Sehwag/SRT/Gambhir/Yuvraj/Kohli blasting the opposition away. Especially SRT & yuvraj, when you analyze their form in the 2006~11 time period.

He was a good ODI captain, not the the greatest ever, but below Kapil IMO & below avg captain in tests & T20.

[MENTION=97523]Buffet[/MENTION] best non performing captain who took entire credit for team wins as he was literally a passenger in every important icc trophy wins

One of few non-Pakistani players I admire to a great deal. Over all, considering his achievements in all modalities of cricket, as player and as captain, he is a legend and a true ATG. An honorable exit, is Misbah listening ?

@ROH1T absolutely. he rarely won games on his own and most of them are supporting knocks .the hype he gets as a player is based on jamodis with the hype reaching nauseating proportions if u add icc trophy wins.if u look at his records in icc tournaments it is abyssmaly bad for a player of so much hype.but his fans has the gall to question abd performances in icc tournaments which is no way abysmal

About time too. And good to see no tamasha about the decision.

He served the Indian cricket brilliantly as the team's captain (ODI wise esp). Def an ATG skipper.

End of an era. Kinda sad even though I wanted him to retire.
He was a very defensive test captain but still is head and shoulders above everyone as an LOI captain.

Echo the sentiment. He did pulled off some spectacular moves and his bag always had a trick or two generally. His cool demenour at the helm will be missed, and we may see a more orthodox captaincy now afterall.

The role behind the stumps atm belongs to him. If he flounders even after playing as a reg player, then it should tell him before anybody else that his time is truly up.

If he didn't intend to lead the team in the 2017 Champions Trophy and/or the 2019 World Cup, why didn't he retire after the 2015 World Cup or in 2016? Very strange decision, but ultimately the best one for India.

Pretty sure that he wanted to give himself a chance, as these decisions are not easy. With his waning ability to close the matches, Indian test team doing good under the new leadership, he def felt it was time to let the new captain take over properly.

I also think that the achievements of the Indian team in the test arena of late would expose his defensive captaincy of the past even more glaringly. iirc, there have been some tongue in cheek remarks about earlier strategies Dhoni deployed, and it would be inevitable that he ll get more flak with better performances abroad in the future.

One of the best wicket keeper batsmen. Although as a captain he achieved a lot but he's not the greatest. Great captain is someone who might not have the best resources at his disposal but who has the ability and foresight to use his limited resources in the most effective way and bring the best out of his players. Someone who can inspire even average players to perform. Dhoni was fortunate to have a talented team at his disposal.

Greatest ever tactician of cricket retired without much fanfare and with dignity. Time for Afridi also to announce his official retirement. He is hanging on with the hope of a comeback for too long.

End of a GOLDEN era for Indian cricket.

CWC, WT20, CT, ASIA has taken all the major trophies...One of ATG ODI captain...

India will miss his captaincy and lucky decisions especially..

A good captain no doubt. Also, a very effective tail end batsman capable of getting some runs when his team needed.

The greatest ODI captain and Greatest captain from Asia.Thank You MSD.

This is an example to players of the subcontinent,leave a place with dignity and before you are pushed out.

One thing is clear most Pakistanis have very very high regard for Dhoni and some even him as their favourite non-Pakistani player (including me). However, generally Indians do not like him. I guess only after Dhoni is gone they will begin to appreciate what a champion cricketer he was.

Dhoni is the best thing to have happened to Indian cricket. The few sour grapes you are witnessing here are probably fans of players who happened to have been booted out during his tenure. So it doesn't really bother me.

It was around the corner but never expected it to hit me so hard. To not watch MSD lead India in LOI's will be difficult to digest at first, but I am super glad he didn't give us a shocker by retiring. I hope he stays on as a player not just till CT but much further. If he can reinvent his game, he is fit enough to last till 2019.

Arguably the greatest LOI captain ever, Dhoni has left an indelible mark on Indian Cricket through winning a plethora of ICC tournaments in his tenure and his ability to remain calm under pressure to ensure he makes the logical decision has always been his key strength as captain. It remains to be seen whether India will be able to replace him and Kohli, the most likely successor will find even doing half as successfully as MSD in LOIs a tremendous challenge.

The right decision to give up the capataincy as Kohli will give Indian LO team a new impetus and aggression.

No doubt one of the greatest LO capatains of all time. His record speaks for it self. Made some brilliant tactical decisions and is so calm under pressure. Alongside Ganguly and Kohli, MS is one of my favourite Indian players of all time. He has given fantastic service to India. Indian fans will realise how good he is once he is retired from cricket.

Thanks for the entertainment MSD, undisputedly one of cricket greats as a LO capatain and an ATG batsmen in the LO format. Hope he goes out on a high.

Dhoni now needs to give it 6-12 months to see if he still has it with the bat in Odis and T20s and if he doesn't he should retire so that his replacement has time to settle in before the 2019 WC in England.

Kinda sad.

Also he's too big of a player to play under anyone else so I feel this is retirement

Those type of players should be the first ones to be sacked...

This is truly the end of an era.

Led India to great heights although the groundwork was done long before during Ganguly's and (partially) Azharuddin's reign for India's ascendency in world cricket.

Great guy to follow and a wonderful role model.

Hope he retires on his own terms and on top of his game.

He did have lightning fast reflexes when it came to stumpings - one of the best I have ever seen.

Don't like India :mv but it's not great to see the disrespect a true modern icon like Dhoni receives, anyway he's had a wonderful career and is a fantastic batsman who I believe can still contribute to the team. Nice gesture for him to give up the arm band to allow the new captain to settle in with some big assignments ahead.

All good things come to an end, his retirement was expected but still I'm kind of sad. Has been a great cricketer, wish him all the happiness in life after cricket.

Clearly the best LOI captain ever as performances in major tournaments are considered. Pretty much won everything at least once.

Asia Cup T20 - ☑️ (2016)
Asia Cup - ☑️ (2010)
World T20 - ☑️ (2007)
Champions' Trophy - ☑️ (2013)
Mace for #1 Test Team - ☑️ (2010)
World Cup - ☑️ (2011)

Defensive test captain and reigned over India's worst ever run? Absolutely.

Is he done as a LOI player? Has been for a while now. Maybe another series with the #4 experiment and then it might be time to retire.

India also needs Kohli the batsman more in LOI cricket. I would rather give at least the T20 captaincy to someone else. It is just a lot with his competitive personality and will lead to a burnout.

One thing is clear most Pakistanis have very very high regard for Dhoni and some even him as their favourite non-Pakistani player (including me). However, generally Indians do not like him. I guess only after Dhoni is gone they will begin to appreciate what a champion cricketer he was.

Forums arent everything tbh.He is still comfortably the second most popular cricketer in India behind Sachin.Still gets huge ovation every time he comes out to bat.

Great news for Indian cricket,good decision by Dhoni, hope he retires after sparkling a bit with the bat

Now please can we get Sanju Samson as the Indian ODI wickie.. Having Samson in the side would make Indian batting lineup invincible, scary thought at how good they can be........... Hope Dhoni retires, he has nothing left to contribute..

Should continue to be a part of Indian team as a middle order batsman. Dec 2017 would be a good time to take a call on whether he can go on until the next WC.

Don't forget , he was sacked by Amarnath and his panel of selectors in 2012 but Srini shamelessly vetoed that decision. Dhoni got an extra four years because of his CSK boss when the reality was that he had become a shell of his former self and should've resigned a couple of years ago imo.

[MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] guys do u think he can continue to merit a place in odi and t 20 sides solely based on his performances alone?i am not sure of that

No.

Should retire.

Should have resigned and retired long time ago.

You missed the "it's all about the processes" option. People give him too much credit for what was essentially the greatest era in our cricketing history, you take the output of Irfan/Sehwag/SRT/Gambhir/Yuvraj/Dhawan/Rohit/Kohli/Jadeja out & you'll see where we'd be without them firing on all cylinders.

We'd be where we are after the 2013 CT win, addled with the decline in fortunes of Aus from 2009-13 & you have Dhoni as the greatest ODI captain ever, really?

Brilliant . you nailed it again .
Had all this players underperfromed , would have exposed how poor a captain MSD was .
And unfortunately for you Aus was declining too . lol

Now please can we get Sanju Samson as the Indian ODI wickie.. Having Samson in the side would make Indian batting lineup invincible, scary thought at how good they can be........... Hope Dhoni retires, he has nothing left to contribute..

Samson is no where in the radar . The next in line is Pant and Ishan Kishan .

Sad but not surprised to see some of the responses from Indian fans. Although a small template but those replies give you an idea about the general nature of an average Indian fan.

Things about MSD that stood out for me:

1) Apart from his initial years as captain, he gave the youngsters the center stage after most trophy wins.
2) Gave Ganguly the chance to captain for a period in his last Test.
3) Captained India in 199 ODI's, & could easily have announced England series as his last series as skipper, which would have been kind of a farewell series, as well as crossed that 200 ODI's mark as captain as well. But he decided otherwise.
4) For most part of his career, he batted below 5, just for the team, whereas he could have easily batted in top 4 for most part.
5) In his early years,took a stand against ageing players for the betterment of the team. In his twilight years, gave up captaincy for the betterment of the team.

Ask any neutral fans, and I guess 8 out of 10 will concede that India has been lucky to have had MSD at helm.
Thank you MSD, for whatever you have given to cricket. Not just India cricket, but cricket in general.

:ehh

Manchester United

Congratulations to MS Dhoni on a wonderful career as India's captain. 🏏👏

We hope to see you at Old Trafford soon!

Wow..fantastic news..please retire too. .great day for Indian LOI cricket. .

First let us find proper replacement in Test Matches (Wicket-keeper Batsman), then we can see!

Otherwise even I was insisting for this (captaincy). It is just about perfect time for Kohli (high on confidence) to take over LOI captaincy! Dhoni can play the LOI game in a cool way now! (I think he can even come in top 3 now with Jadeja/Ashwin/Jayant doing so well down the order!)

Come on guy!! Some of the comments here are pathetic, especially coming from Indian supporters.

Down the memory lane.....

I remember the era of 90s and early 2000s. I used to admire the likes of Gilchrist and wonder why India has never found a genuine all rounder like him. I used to admire the likes of Afridi and Jaysurya in the 90s, who could hit sixes and fours at will, and used to crave for someone who could terrorize the opposition with his big hitting ability.

When I first heard about Dhoni making waves in first class, I thought, well here is another along the lines of Atul Bedade, who is only good vs weak domestic bowlers. Then Dhoni came in, and his keeping was decent-so there was hope. At least he had one skill to fall back on. Then he made THAT 100 vs freaking Pakistan!!! 148 runs at SR of 120. That was unprecedented. India found its star!!

He gave the team a much needed balance, safe keeper, dangerous batsman, and a great captain. I can write so much more, but words are not enough.

Take a bow!!!

So true!

Greatest ever Indian captain . . for me even the greatest ever Indian cricketer for the impact he has had . . the man responsible for changing the face of Indian cricket!

Mahendra Singh Dhoni steps down as ODI and T20I captain of the Indian Cricket Team

It may sound surprising to many, and so am I, but my friend [MENTION=45152]Saurav[/MENTION] would testify to the fact that I´d over the months been mentioning to him very regularly that Kohli´s success in Tests as captain, and Dhoni´s not-so-great form with the bat and below standards results in ODIs, or certainly not as efficient as they used to be, would keep piling on the pressure. The one against England was possibly Kohli´s first very high profile series win and the pressure might´ve got relentless now. Although he well still not have been sacked or even asked to step down, but despite that you feel the surroundings and an atmosphere built in someone else´s favour. Whereas Kohli whitewashed a team like New Zealand, Dhoni won the ODI team against the same team after very competitively fought five matches. So the comparisons in the eye of the public were always coming.

When MS last played on ODI, on 29th October, I´d marked 15th January on my calendar as the day I will see him captain and play again, well, only a part of that stands true now. If his retirement from Tests felt like the beginning of an end, him quitting limited-overs cricket captaincy now feels like the end itself. I was sitting at my sister place when my brother texted me the news. I felt jolted. I´d got so used to seeing him captain that it´ll look so odd not seeing him set the fields. As a cricket fan, the years with Dhoni playing as batsman were good, but the days with him as captain were the best nine years of my life: Nothing short of a film they were mind you. Excitement, drama, emotions, nail-biting and nerve-wrecking moments, those little one-percenters like the Bangladesh game last year, or the final of the World T20 2007, or the final of the Champions Trophy 2013, or the tied matches he featured in as captain. So many times he and his team looked out of the game, out of the contest, out of the tournament, and so many times one of his team-mates, his own captaincy or batting would bail them out. From being a good ODI batsman, the added responsibility of being the captain of the team allowed him to reach great, great heights in his batting, winning him a place amongst all-time greats. Truly, Captain Cool will always remain my favourite superhero. When he took over the captaincy, all my siblings were students and I wasn´t yet an adult. Now I´m a grown up making my own decisions and taking on challenges and risks at will, and have four nieces and a nephew. My nephew is hardly a month old, but my nieces know a 'friend of mine' called Dhoni, who captains a team called India.

As a die-hard fan of him not only as player but as captain too (in ODIs and T20s), I would want him to continue forever, but this might actually be the smarter decision than staying on. It has saved him a lot of regrets I feel, and he certainly won´t be left to think some day in the future that he should´ve quit back then, and if Kohli goes on to lead India to great wins in the coming months, MS will look back at this day and decision with immense satisfaction.

Here´s hoping that he can regather his touch as batsman, although I do fear that things mightn´t be as smooth if he´s slotted back into the lower-order. But he´s capable, very capable, and for my sake he´ll have to do it. Health-wise, I´ve had incredibly tough 12-13 months and a news like this was the last thing that I needed, but I manage to cling onto hopes out of nothing, and his batting remains one. For now though, no more of the stress for him/us, but no more of the trophies either - well, at least they won´t carry that fun, and neither will the big matches trigger off my cough anymore!

[MENTION=97523]Buffet[/MENTION] best non performing captain who took entire credit for team wins as he was literally a passenger in every important icc trophy wins

He performed for you guys in the biggest ODI match India has played in the last 30 years. You guys will realize how brilliant ODI captain you had in coming years.

A decision he should have made right after 2015 WC. Needlessly stretched it and hurt his own legacy, we lost back to back 5-6 series under him after the WC.

Will not be surprised if he was to retire very soon from international cricket right after England ODIs.

He performed for you guys in the biggest ODI match India has played in the last 30 years. You guys will realize how brilliant ODI captain you had in coming years.

That was a fluke.

2007 WT20
2009 WT20
2010 WT20
2012 WT20
2014 WT20
2016 WT20
2007 WC
2011 WC
2015 WC
Champions Trophy

Was a passenger in ALL ICC TOURNAMENTS as I mentioned above.

When your keeping is not noticed, it is good. He was not spectacular because he did not need to do flippy stuff to take catches. He was solid enough to get into the right position to take catches.

He has still not been replaced. Saha is very good and can fight with the bat but he is more of a keeper than a batsman. Patel is lousy behind the stumps. He might drop Steve Smith and he might score a 200 or something.

[MENTION=97523]Buffet[/MENTION] we are absolutely happy with his performance in that final.what we are arguing is that he is not a player and captain worth the hype he is getting because he really has nothing to do with team wins because he himself is so mediocre its taking away other players efforts and mystifying his captaincy credentials

Here´s hoping that he can regather his touch as batsman, although I do fear that things mightn´t be as smooth if he´s slotted back into the lower-order. But he´s capable, very capable, and for my sake he´ll have to do it. Health-wise, I´ve had incredibly tough 12-13 months and a news like this was the last thing that I needed, but I manage to cling onto hopes out of nothing, and his batting remains one. For now though, no more of the stress for him/us, but no more of the trophies either - well, at least they won´t carry that fun, and neither will the big matches trigger off my cough anymore!

Sad to hear about the health issues.

Hoping for a quick recovery.

Sad but not surprised to see some of the responses from Indian fans. Although a small template but those replies give you an idea about the general nature of an average Indian fan.

Things about MSD that stood out for me:

1) Apart from his initial years as captain, he gave the youngsters the center stage after most trophy wins.
2) Gave Ganguly the chance to captain for a period in his last Test.
3) Captained India in 199 ODI's, & could easily have announced England series as his last series as skipper, which would have been kind of a farewell series, as well as crossed that 200 ODI's mark as captain as well. But he decided otherwise.
4) For most part of his career, he batted below 5, just for the team, whereas he could have easily batted in top 4 for most part.
5) In his early years,took a stand against ageing players for the betterment of the team. In his twilight years, gave up captaincy for the betterment of the team.

Ask any neutral fans, and I guess 8 out of 10 will concede that India has been lucky to have had MSD at helm.
Thank you MSD, for whatever you have given to cricket. Not just India cricket, but cricket in general.

Most of these "fans" do not realize how difficult it is to captain in all three formats , keep and also shoulder the responsibility as teams best batsmen ( in LOI's Till Virat come ) .

As for the highlighted part , thats my favourite part about the guy . its so easy to bat in the top order these days that even likes of Rohit are averaging ~50 , being a captain he could have just taken the easiest slot to bat like all the ex-captains/greats in the team had done . Statistically you cannot show Dhonis contribution as a batsmen .

Those fans who are hyping his captaincy is doing great disservice to the team because he won with exceptional to very good teams and not with mediocre teams which won because of his mythical captaincy and finishing capabilities

Who do you rate as the best captains in ODI history?

@ROH1T [MENTION=140475]King Kong[/MENTION] Now i have heard it all.ms dhoni is the best batsman in indian team untill kohli came to indian team.these are the kind of delusions which are vomit inducing .in what parallel universe is he a better batsman than srt ?

Virat > MSD >>>>>> SRT

[MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION] statistically he is not a patch on ricky ponting.i have never seen people praising ponting for his captaincy as he won 2 back to back world cups and champion trophies.