My Custom Made MB Malik Bubber Sher L.E. Review

Cover Drive

Hi,

While I was in Pakistan I picked up few MB Malik LEs and here is one of them which I am keeping. This bat is custom made and was made according to my specifications. Here is what I had asked for;

- Oval handle
- Big profile with long sweetspot
- Clean face with no or very little blemishes
- Light pickup with a good balance
- Around 2.7-2.9 lbs weight range
- 9+ grains

At the end I got what I had asked for. Overall I am very satisfied and am happy with the stick that I have got. I got in touch with MB Malik owner who did everything as I had told him.

So I will let the pictures do justice.

Feel free to ask any question(s) you have

Enjoy!

DSC04469.jpg

DSC04446.jpg

DSC04445.jpg

DSC04449.jpg

DSC04450.jpg

DSC04452.jpg

DSC04453.jpg

Very nice bat.
But its job in play ground not on bed .
Good bats of MB Malik specially Bubber sher LE.
what is your remarks about that nowadays MB start production of sher amin and simple bubber sher in laminated bats.

Very nice bat.
But its job in play ground not on bed .
Good bats of MB Malik specially Bubber sher LE.
what is your remarks about that nowadays MB start production of sher amin and simple bubber sher in laminated bats.

It was on the bed just for it's photo session lol.

In past I have had all three Sher (Sher Amin, Bubber Sher and Bubber Sher LE) an out of all three I liked Bubber Sher LE the most as it's very well crafted and the profile is very similar to Shahid Afridi's bats.

I haven't seen them but they must be good. Although I myself don't prefer laminated bats as they are illegal to use.

but why have a malik and not hit any sixes? :P

:)) Don't have an answer for that.

Seem like I would have to move away form Malik now ;)

Looks like you are impressed with Afridi sixes and wish to hit them as well so will we see MB LE in your kit bag soon?

are you saying you've never hit a six with one of your sher's? :P

not fair to the bat.

are you saying you've never hit a six with one of your sher's? :P

not fair to the bat.

I have never used my either of my Sher in a game. I got Bubber Sher last October and since then I have used it three times maximum and that was in nets. As far LE goes it hasn't even seen a ball yet.

Here is a head-to-head comparison of MB Malik Bubber Sher and MB Malik Bubber Sher LE.

Enjoy the pictures and feel free to ask questions.

DSC04541.jpg

DSC04542.jpg

DSC04545.jpg

DSC04543.jpg

DSC04554.jpg

DSC04555.jpg

DSC04564.jpg

DSC04566.jpg

DSC04567.jpg

great bats. i think i will get one now. your bubber sher is practically new.

Yes, Bubber Sher is quite new as it is only used by my brother who plays cricket once in a blue moon. Apart from that I have changed the scuff few times (this [Hammer Edge] is third scuff sheet).

I am not sure if you have noticed it but if you closely look at both bats you will notice there is a huge difference in both bats finishing. LE finishing is quite close to my Newbery's finishing.

ill have to take a closer look in person. you may have to lend it to me for a week to really analyze. did the other two sell? :P

Your right though. The finishing is one of the best I've seen on Pakistani bats. Post pics of the other two. Have you given these a go yet with a mallet or ball?

Indeed it is! I will not lie nor I am saying this because I own one (or I am looking to sell) but the finishing on this MB LE is easily a contender for few of the best in the world.

Yes, I did have a go with a mallet and a ball.

Pictures will follow in a bit

The round handle one (second one, in shrink wrap) is carbon copy of the one I kept with the only difference of grains and handle rest is identical.

CD, I have some family who will be visiting Sialkot shortly and will be able to pick up a Bubbar Sher for me.

What would a fair and reasonable price for the bat be, so that I know that they are not being overcharged for the purchase?

Asalamalakium Blazer,

Welcome to Cricket Equipment World just like "beastism'' this is a separate world :afridi.

Anyways, are you talking about regular Bubber Sher or Bubber Sher LE ?

MB Malik Bubber Sher (Regular one) goes around Rs 9300 mark
MB Malik Bubber Sher LImited Edition goes around Rs 14000 mark.

Best bet would be that tell your family to go to factory (if they can) and buy it from there.

If you have anymore questions please don't hesitate to ask.

Take Care

No worries mate!

Yeah, that would be great do keep us updated.

By the way, will they be going to MB Malik factory or what ?

Also is Shahid Afridi the reason for Bubber Sher ? :D:D

Yes, I'm presuming that the MB Malik factory is in Sialkot and if so, if it can be located then that is where the purchase shall be made from.

And of course Afridi is the reason for the Sher. :afridi

I haven't played competitive cricket for years (as college and then university took precedence) and my Irfan Ace bat has been lost/stolen, therefore I thought this would be a good opportunity to get something new and I've never handled a Sher before, so pretty excited.

There's cricket nets at the neighbouring Regent's Park so maybe I'll restart my cricket there once winter passes.

My bats which are pictured above were shipped from MB Malik factory in Sailkot. So InshAllah you will get a beauty!

Are you going to buy softs (pads, gloves etc) as well ?

InshAllah, you will do good when you resume your cricket!

If you don't mind can you post pictures of your beauty when it arrives ?

Why don't you go to indoors starting from January ?

Yeah I sure will post photos once it has arrived, which will be around New Year's.

Yes, helmet, pads and gloves are also on the agenda. Do you know if Afridi's MB Malik helmet (i.e. the wide grilled one) is in production and whether there's any chance it will be available at the factory?

x610.jpg

The Bubber Sher pads look pretty sweet so shall be getting them. The gloves at first I thought were a bit tacky but I'm beginning to warm to them. I also like the Zulfi gloves so may get those as well. I think in one of your other threads you said that the softs were dirt cheap so I may buy in multiples! But whilst the temptation is there luggage allowance is also a barrier so we shall see.

Also, does anyone have the contact details of the factory? Perhaps it would be a better idea if I got in touch with them prior and detailed my intentions?

Not bad, its not a long wait.

Actually the helmet Afridi is using in that picture is Albion not MB Malik or Boom Boom. The back is just stickered as 'Boom Boom' or "MB Malik' (for older ones). If you have a close look to the grill sticker you will realize it is Albion's helmet and not Boom Boom's;

121425.jpg

However, if you are asking about the helmets which are sold in Pakistan then I am not too sure. However, since you are based in England I would recommend you getting one locally rather than from Pakistan as it would be a bit of gamble because you will not get to try the helmet plus you are not sure of the quality. Also those helmets in Pakistan, India etc are not very protective.

Yes, Bubber Sher pads are really good, in fact, the one Shahid Afridi wears (Boom Boom ones) they are pretty good as well so if you like them then go for them as there is minimal price difference among them.

Yes, Bubber Sher gloves are a bit bulkier compare to others which I believe it because of those bug logos they have on the front. However, if you rule out bulkiness factor then to be honest these are the best Pakistani gloves I have worn/used. I have actually used all Pakistan brands top of the line gloves and honestly no gloves were as comfortable as these ones and the quality is superb. So quality and comfort wise these are the best and easily comparable to English brands and Indian brand gloves without any doubt. However, one small criticism I have regarding my gloves is that since the palm was dyed the colour comes off when you sweat. Apart from this they are pretty much perfect.

Just out of curiosity do you happen to have long hands/fingers ?

Yes, gloves are really cheap in Pakistan. The most expensive ones (the one Afridi is wearing in above picture which you posted) are around Rs. 2100 rest fall from Rs. 1300 - Rs. 1900.

Here is MB Malik's number in Sailkot;

Don't hesitate to ask any questions.

Hope it helps

Thanks a lot for the number, is there an email address as well by any chance?

My hands aren't that big or my fingers that long- average size.

I don't have there email address in Sailkot.

Then its fine those Bubber Sher would go well

Second one (round handle);

DSC04514.jpg

DSC04517.jpg

DSC04516.jpg

DSC04520.jpg

DSC04506.jpg

DSC04507.jpg

DSC04508.jpg
Cover Drive Bhai - the pictures of your Bubber Shers are amazing. Very impressive indeed! I was wondering what you consider the main difference to be between the Bubber Sher (either regular, or the LE version), and the other two top Pakistani bats (AS V10 and CA Plus 12000). I've read a bit about the middle being slightly different in each of the three, but are the three almost the same bat? Or is there a real difference that should make people prefer one.

I love to drive the ball - both front-foot as well as off the back-foot (in fact, I tried "Cover Drive" as a username when I was registering with PP!). I am more of an "orthodox" batsman and like timing the ball through the "V". But I've had problems trying to hit sixes, and so am wondering if there is a bat amongst those three that would: 1. help me increase my hitting distance and 2. still help my "natural" stroke-making.

Would really appreciate any insight that you can share.

Many Thanks !!

Cover Drive Bhai - the pictures of your Bubber Shers are amazing. Very impressive indeed! I was wondering what you consider the main difference to be between the Bubber Sher (either regular, or the LE version), and the other two top Pakistani bats (AS V10 and CA Plus 12000). I've read a bit about the middle being slightly different in each of the three, but are the three almost the same bat? Or is there a real difference that should make people prefer one.

I love to drive the ball - both front-foot as well as off the back-foot (in fact, I tried "Cover Drive" as a username when I was registering with PP!). I am more of an "orthodox" batsman and like timing the ball through the "V". But I've had problems trying to hit sixes, and so am wondering if there is a bat amongst those three that would: 1. help me increase my hitting distance and 2. still help my "natural" stroke-making.

Would really appreciate any insight that you can share.*

Many Thanks !!

Asalamalakium bhai :)*

First of all, I apologize for the delay in replying. Its just that I got busy with stuff around me and couldn't reply as I wanted a free environment with time :). Hope you don't mind :)

Anyways, welcome to the forum. It is great to have you here and you seem to like cricket equipments as well, which is great :D

JazakAllah Khair, for your kind words and I'm really touched :).

As you can seen I have both Bubber Sher's (regular and LE) and you can see pictorial comparison and difference in post 13,14 and 15. But I know it gets harder to judge and compare a bat from pictures. However, if I compare the two then I would say Bubber Sher LE leads the race and takes the case easily.

Why am I saying this?

When I hold both the first impression and feel I get is that MB LE seem to have better and thicker handle compare to regular Bubber Sher. At the moment my MB LE's are single grip and they feel good in my hands, however, when I hold Bubber Sher in my hand with one grip then it look likes I'm holding a pencil :)). So first thing handle on MB LE is better.

Secondly, I find the profile/shape better on MB LE compare to regular Bubber Sher. I don't know but with Bubber Sher I find sweetspot at a limited place which is low whereas on MB LE it looks much larger and well distributed. MB LE has been designed in such way that the pickup and balance looks better compare to Bubber Sher.

Lastly and most important there is a willow/cleft difference among these two. LE seem to have a better cleft as it is oversized, better quality etc and looks closer to professional players. I got my bats directly from MB Malik's factory and placed my order with MB owner and I remember I told him to make me big profile bat and one which is exactly like Shahid Afridi's bat. So the result is above. So for me willow and cleft was better on MB LE. One can't say MB LEs clefts are overdried as you can't have 100 out of w00 clefts very dry (imo).

So in conclusion MB LE leads the pack between Bubber Sher (regular) and Bubber Sher LE.

I'm yet to see and hold TRD but from what I have seen and heard it looks superb and better than regular CA 12000 Plus. I have noticed that the profile/shape on TRD is bigger, better etc compare to regular 12000 Plus. Take out the handle factor then you can say both the differnce is like MB LE and regular Bubber Sher.

I have seen AS and I like it because of its shape. The difference between AS V10 and AS V3 is pretty much like TRD and CA 12000 Plus or like MB and MB LE (excluding handle factory).

Basically MB LE, TRD and V10 all three are superior and LE models in each brand. These bats are and have to be better than previous models and this is because they are top of the line and superios bats. These LE models are basically closer to what international players get as they have more or less same profile, cleft etc.

Since you like to play off front foot and like to have a go then the best bat for you in my opinion would be the one which has low sweetspot and that's MB Malik Bubber Sher LE.

Again why is that?

This is because MB LE has a low sweetspot and when you play off the front foot ball tends to stay low, hence, MB LE would suit you. Generally the slogging bats are low sweetspot one as well.

CA's have a higher sweetspot compare to Maliks. There pickup and balance is unbelieveable and very good :) this is based on my CA 12000 Plus but I have heard TRDs profile is different and has larger sweetspot compare to 12000 Plus. So higher sweetspot bats are better for pull,cut shots etc (backfoot shots basically)

AS V10 is a very good as well! This is because it has a long driving zome/sweetspot as the spine runs all the way. If budget is restricted and is an issue then go for V10 otherwise MB LE is the way to move forward. V3 is good for front and back foot strokes.

I hope I have answered your questions :)

Bear with me for any mistakes as I wrote this reply from my BB.

Also bhai if you have any question(s) please don't hesitate to ask me, I would love to help you :)

Take Care

Wow. That was a great post. You've definitely answered my questions. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and thorough response. Much appreciated!

No worries bhai, just wanted to help you out.

If you have any questions regarding anything (in cricket equipment :D) then feel free to ask anywhere you wish to.

tgm, what kind of pitch do you play on? bouncy astro-turf, matting, regular low-n-slow turf?
for bouncy wickets, you might want to go with a higher middle bat...

tgm, what kind of pitch do you play on? bouncy astro-turf, matting, regular low-n-slow turf?
for bouncy wickets, you might want to go with a higher middle bat...
only played half a season last year.. pitches are basically those jute matts layed out over the ground. i had heard that matting produces high bounce, but the bounce i experienced was quite variable. generally lowish bounce (because the surface under the matt was quite dull), but a few spinners have been able to get very decent bounce - but its very slow bounce.

Matting can produce good bounce if the pitch underneath is rolled hard and proper. Since yours isn't very bouncy, I'd suggest you go with a low to mid middle on the bat. Will suit your driving game well.

No worries bhai, just wanted to help you out.

If you have any questions regarding anything (in cricket equipment :D) then feel free to ask anywhere you wish to.
CD Bhai - have you been using your new MB LE? I just saw one first hand (friend brought it from PK), and I definitely noticed the special coating you had mentioned in one of your other posts. My friend was unable to oil it etc, and the top layer almost felt more like plastic (or varnish) than wood (i'm exaggerating a bit). So i was wondering how the bat feels in the nets. Does the coating make any difference in terms of feel or ping? And does the coating begin to wear out and come off once you start hitting the ball?

Unfortunately no I haven't used my MB LE yet :(.

Yes, there is a special coating and I think that was to repel water, thats what I remember hearing from MB owner.

Actually that coat comes off from the painted area before you even use it. For the bare wood area I guess it will start to wear off once you start using it.

I really don't think a small coating will make a much of difference in ping.

Two reaons;

- First I didn't have a scuff sheet.
- Second didn't get enough time as school and family commitment didn't permit.

Hopefully I'll use this with Salix today

Yeah I sure will post photos once it has arrived, which will be around New Year's.

Yes, helmet, pads and gloves are also on the agenda. Do you know if Afridi's MB Malik helmet (i.e. the wide grilled one) is in production and whether there's any chance it will be available at the factory?

Just wondering bhai that did you get your stuff? If so then please tell us how is it and a review would be great to read :)

Sadly due to the snow and the closure of Heathrow during the festive period the flight was cancelled and I shall have to wait till Easter to get my hands on the Sher.

I bowled at the nets on Friday and felt in good rhythm and the exertion is a welcome addition to the upper body weight lifting so I'll focus on this facet for now until my kit arrives in a few months and will then look to pick up on my batting.

Sadly due to the snow and the closure of Heathrow during the festive period the flight was cancelled and I shall have to wait till Easter to get my hands on the Sher.

I bowled at the nets on Friday and felt in good rhythm and the exertion is a welcome addition to the upper body weight lifting so I'll focus on this facet for now until my kit arrives in a few months and will then look to pick up on my batting.

Ahh that sucks! But from my personal experience I can ensure that if you be patience then you'll be rewarded and will get a very good stuff.

To be honest, whatever I have from a grip to a pair of gloves, pads etc nothing have arrived on its expected date, it always get delayed for sure. You name anything and everything that I have my in kit bag have been delayed.

Ahh thats great. Gym helps a lot with your cricket, I remember last night when I used to hit gyms I would be very fit and stamina was great as well but the current indoors I have not been very fit due to irregular net sessions etc

Mashallah CD bahi I must say I love that Bubber Sher.

Just a quick question, regarding your grip, looks to me like a Lekka one, please correct me if I'm wrong.

Also how is that grip? It looks like it is a grip with a 1/2 grip on top is this true?

JazakallahKhair.

JazakAllah Khair, for the kind words QS Bhai. I used this bat on Saturday and it was lovely although I believe it still requires more knocking but I don't have time for that tbh.

I was very surprised to weight this bat the other day at Khan Sports and this turned out to be in 2.6 lbs and I was shocked to hear this!

Yes, the grip on that MB LE is Lekka Xtrax Xombi's.

Actually half of it is thin and I like it is Chevron style and bottom end have is spiral which makes bottom part a bit thick which improves the balance and pickup as the botom part act as "double grip"

Hope it made sense

JazakAllah Khair, for the kind words QS Bhai. I used this bat on Saturday and it was lovely although I believe it still requires more knocking but I don't have time for that tbh.

I was very surprised to weight this bat the other day at Khan Sports and this turned out to be in 2.6 lbs and I was shocked to hear this!

Yes, the grip on that MB LE is Lekka Xtrax Xombi's.

Actually half of it is thin and I like it is Chevron style and bottom end have is spiral which makes bottom part a bit thick which improves the balance and pickup as the botom part act as "double grip"

Hope it made sense

Wow, so did the shopkeeper mislead you?

Also bhai, how do you weigh a cricket bat?

Mislead me in what ? I got this bat from Sailkot and I got what I had asked for but I never got chance to weigh the bat, anyways, on Saturday I saw a scale and thought I'd weigh it.

Bhai, just put the bat on the scale that's it, make sure its properly balanced.

Salam CD, I have been told that my Bubber Sher has been finally purchased in Pakistan. However, despite my request for the bat to be bought from the Sialkot factory and my giving of the specifications that I wanted, the bat has been bought from Rawalpindi. Therefore I do not know about the quality and am a bit worried but will find out conclusively in about a week's time.

Nahh no worries Blazer, its fine! At the end all bats come from Sialkot so thats not a problem! Sometime you get beauties from these stores as well.

Am looking forward for the pictures..

Buss theek hi hai bohut acha bhi nahi hai bohut burra bhi nahi hai.

It does get used up and damage due to tapping etc

bhai i have noticed that the grains are a bit diagonal does that affect the perormance ad shouldnt you get better grains for that price no offence

thats not quite diagonal. just a bit slanted. and it is not going to affect performance at all.

because the one near the edge is only at the first half then it goes past the face of the to another mb le lol

CD, my bat has arrived! But to my surprise it turned out to be a Sher Amin instead of a Bubber Sher! Apparently there was a bit of confusion and a mix up. Anyways, I am not too disappointed as it looks like a good piece of wood and is looking pretty violent at the moment resting against the wall!

I will take some photos tomorrow and start the oiling/knocking in procedure.

Great! As long it feels good in your hand you're good to go!

Please post pictures of them in a separate thread and write a bit about the bat if possible.

Do you mind telling what you paid because I hope you didn't pay Bubber Sher's price for Sher Amin..

At last, don't forget Afridi has used Sher Amin as well :D

CD bhai, have you used this bat at all. I don't think you rate this as your match bat, do you?

After playing with Black Cat is it very hard to keep any other bat in the bag because it pings very very well from ball one!

I have used this quite a few times and I like it but lately I am finding it a bit heavy, I need to do something with grips but I can't find my cone :)).

It will definitely going to be my match bat for T25's where you need to slog a bit I was once slogging with this bat in nets and it was amazing for slogging I like it.

So answer to your question for T25 yes it will most likely going to be and for 50 overs no but unless I need to go wild and slog then I will only use this bat.

Great! As long it feels good in your hand you're good to go!

Please post pictures of them in a separate thread and write a bit about the bat if possible.

Do you mind telling what you paid because I hope you didn't pay Bubber Sher's price for Sher Amin..

At last, don't forget Afridi has used Sher Amin as well :D

I think Rs. 9,000 was paid for the bat, which is a bit on the high side but the purchaser was not as well versed about bats as some of the people here. :)

It has tremendous pick up, in fact I prefer its feel much more than an older Amin that I am using currently for training. It has 10-11 grains, and I'll post a fuller description in a new thread when I get the opportunity to take some photos.

I also received pads and gloves (non MB), but the gloves are a bit substandard so I think I will order MB gloves online, as well as an Albion helmet. I also need some knee pads because the ground we were playing a match at last weekend was very hard and my knees took a battering whilst diving and sliding around!