"My only advice to Sarfraz is that we should bat first against India" : Imran Khan

idrizzy

Local Club Star
"I am really impressed with Sarfraz Ahmed as he is a fearless captain"

"I am not that close to cricket nowadays but my only advice to him is that he should bat first against India"

"Because, Pakistan's main strength is bowling; if India bat first and put up a huge total like they did before, then our batting will be under pressure"

"We should contain India with our bowling after batting first"

"Peoplel like Najam Sethi have destroyed Pakistan cricket"

"The only way to improve the cricket team in Pakistan is by polishing the immense talent this country has"

"We used to be superpowers of World Cricket; In my days, we played 24 ODIs against India where we won 19"

"Today situation is different because India have fixed their system, atlhough there is more talent in Pakistan"

"All Pakistan captains of the past have said that we need to fix our system"

"Najam Sethi may have fixed the elections but he cannot fix our system"

"I feel that Pakistan team now has a great opportunity to redeem its honour after the very embarassing loss to India in the first game"

"I feel that we should bat first, score big and then put them under pressure"

Hmm.
I see where he is coming from but I am dreaming of having them 45-3 after 10!! Then it's game on!!

Well its really tricky actually. Oval is very good for chasing and indians can always chase huge targets. And what if while batting first we struggle our way to set a 240 - 250 target, that would mean match over for us in the first innings.

I think our only hope is to bowl first, take early wickets and restrict india under 230-240. Anything beyond 250 would be nearly impossible to chase. India on the other hand can easily chase 320-330.

So completely opposite to what everyone is saying here. I don't think Imran Khan watches cricket that closely. India will chase down any target vs. Pakistan.

Dont listen to him Sarfraz. Trust your own instinct.

Why is he dishing out advice anyway if he doesnt follow cricket that closely these days?

Yeah!!! Then we will loose by 10 wickets. Imran is totally lost

It won't matter. Better team will(/should) win.

If we play the right XI, we can win.

Our strength is bowling. If our fielders hold chances, we gonna be alright.

Awful from IK.

Pak has been only successful bowling first which we should repeat hopefully.

i heard there is expected rain in the final so it would be wise decision to bat second if reports are true

I'm a huge advocate for winning the toss and bat first if the wicket looks flat and the weather is sunny.

However, Kohli is a beast when it comes to chasing down scores so it's going to be tough to defend a score against them.

Just goes to show how much he follows cricket these days. Absolutely no clue of how trends have changed.

"I am not that close to cricket nowadays but my only advice to him is that he should bat first against India"

"Because, Pakistan's main strength is bowling; if India bat first and put up a huge total like they did before, then our batting will be under pressure"

That is the key sentence lads.

Wrong advice. Do t listen if you're reading this Mickey / Sarfraz /etc.

If we bat first and play our best cricket then why not we can definitely contain them come their time to bat either way just give it your best. as far as peoples comment in regards to Imran khan well we are in no position to judge his cricketing analysis great cricketing minds can see things the fans cant always see. Even if it isn't his main focus now a days or would you rather Amir so hail clueless analysis.

I wouldn't listen to a lick Imran Khan says about cricket nowadays. He doesn't understand modern day cricket.

As well, does it really matter?

Remember 2003 World Cup? We batted first against India and at that time put up a formidable total of 270 with a bowling attack of Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib and look what happened.

Hmm.
I see where he is coming from but I am dreaming of having them 45-3 after 10!! Then it's game on!!
They will still end up 270 even after 45-3, 270 would be 70 more than we are comfortable with thin batting line up.

Not on that pitch. That pitch is a road and hopefully our bowler can find reverse where they can't.
I would bite your hand off to chase 270.
SL breezed to 325 with 2 overs to spare

Ignore Imran Khan and do what you feel is best @ Sarfraz and Mickey

Sarfraz, Will not be bothered about any Advice at this stage

If he is gonna win Toss he will Bowl

Also Those Dreaming of a 45/3 in 15 overs can do that but I will be happy with 90/1 in 20 overs

Its the stage between 20 to 40 overs where we have been destroying sides. India may be forced
to change their strategy and forced to attack in first 20 overs knowing once ball start getting older
their is simply nothing you can do against this attack

Having Said that Even if we bat first and least put anything in around 280 We can still make it
very very tough for the chasing side

Not on that pitch. That pitch is a road and hopefully our bowler can find reverse where they can't.

I think you don't know when India Pakistan play each other everything is secondary even the pitch. Its the mental/crowd and Pakistan India pressure. So don't look at what pitch is like. Batsmen make silly mistakes even on patta pitches.

Imran saab this is not 92 WC where we can defend 250 after batting first.

Chasing has won us the last three matches. Our 1st inns average in ODIs since 2015 WC is 284 and that's inflated by scores versus Ireland and Zimbabwe. That will not be enough against this Indian team.

Lo jee, Khan Sahab still thinking this is 1992...

Imran's advice makes sense. There is no way Pakistan can chase 250+ Target against India. It comes down to their mindset as batting unit. In Mohali they had a decent start but couldn't chased down 260 and again it happened many time. T20 Final, Banglore 1996..Pakistan chasing relatively lower total and crumble under pressure after a great start.

Finally one Pakistani who understands what Pakistan should do if they win the toss. If you see in all ICC encounters India and Pakistan have had, the team batted first won most matches.

Imran Khan also adviced Misbah to play Younis Khan and Yasir Shah in all of his matches in the CWC 2015, an advice that was detritmental in the game against India, Misbah decided enough is enough, went with 4 pacers and created one of the best attacks of the tournament... which even tormented the eventual winners Australia

Unless India have a below par game with the bat thats the only way this game will be competative, otherwise India will cake walk the final.

Imran's advice makes sense. There is no way Pakistan can chase 250+ Target against India. It comes down to their mindset as batting unit. In Mohali they had a decent start but couldn't chased down 260 and again it happened many time. T20 Final, Banglore 1996..Pakistan chasing relatively lower total and crumble under pressure after a great start.

Bhai live in the current era, chasing is the best answer to a team that is weak in the order, most of the teams chasing have won the tournament.... Pak chased down England within 40 overs so they can have a fighting chance when chasing down a 270 odd total, but they will never be in the game if they set India the same total

The major issue in Pakistan batting first is they will have no idea what is the ideal score. Imran clearly has no idea how India chase and once given a target they are easily tuned to score that. More than that this is the formula Pakistan has used and it's been successful so why change it now?

One of the mention I am seeing again and again is that ball will not reverse because the Pitch is flat

Well ball can reverse on any type of pitch the as long as "conditions" allow it to one end scruffed up
Reverse Swing has nothing to with Pitch conditions rather more to do with ground conditions

The major issue in Pakistan batting first is they will have no idea what is the ideal score. Imran clearly has no idea how India chase and once given a target they are easily tuned to score that. More than that this is the formula Pakistan has used and it's been successful so why change it now?

What he is saying is true even in todays cricket, you back your strength to defend. Pakistan strength is bowling.

Absolutely terrible advice, IK still living in old era of Pakistan's bowling being its main strength, even though we've done well with the ball in last few games but I'm pretty confident he hasn't been following Pakistan cricket of late and base his analysis on the past. He really shouldn't bother to present his views if he isn't close to cricket nowadays.

Suffice to say batting first will be a horrendous idea, any 10-20% of chances we've of winning the game will evaporate if Sarfraz acts on his advice and bat first after winning the toss due to the fact that Indians are best chasers in moderns cricket and will gun down any total Pakistan set up batting first. Only hope is to restrict them to somewhere around 220-240 max with some good tight bowling and then look to chase it down.

Common sense is you bat first on a batting track to set a challenging score to put a scoreboard pressure.

He is merely going by history. Apart from centurion all losses of Pakistan to India happened while fielding first. Pakistan depends on toss more than India. India has 7 solid batsmen. Just 2 need to click to post a decent total

Its a tricky one - but I would agree with Imran in this instance.

If we bat first and can get anywhere near or over 300 - given that our strength is surely our bowling and you add the scoreboard pressure on top of that PLUS the pressure of a final and we are in with a shout.

In crunch matches, I always think you should do what you are good at second due to the pressure. If you're good at bowling you can bowl well under pressure, if your good at batting you can bat well under pressure. If, however, you are poor at batting, then you have no chance of batting well under pressure and similarly if you are a poor bowling team, then you cannot expect your bowlers to deliver under pressure.

Bowling first has worked well for us recently Alhumdullilah so by no means would I be against that option either, however, if we win the toss I would probably opt to bat first.

It would by no means be a bad toss to lose.

Bottom line is - it's insanely obvious - but play good cricket! Play like you played against England and we are in with a shout InshAllah.

If we bat first and get under 275 - we would have pretty much lost the game in the first innings.

If we bowl first and let India get 300+ - we would have pretty much lost the game in the first innings.

Either choice could come back to bite us, if we do not step up and play good cricket.

While chasing you add 20 runs for pressure. Anything close to 290 will be a tall order in crunch game. India will be collectively deadly on the field putting pressure every single ball

100% Agreed with Imran. Pakistan always crumbles under pressure chasing against India. It has little to do with their Batting Capability but Mindset & Psychology in General and their ability to handle pressure. Which no one bothers to work on in PCB. Pakistan requires a permanent Sports Psychiatrist to get rid of the mental blocks and work on enhancing their mental capability.

Few examples to learn from are WC 2011 Semi Final, T20 2007 WC Final and WC 96 Quater
Final. In each and every case, Pakistan got off to Flyer every time and crumbled under pressure. In those teams, neither Indian Bowling was world Class nor our Batting this week.

Pakistan has the weakest batting lineup of all the 8 teams of CT. Dont compare them with SL or DB, those guys are way better in batting

I don't think batting first should be out of consideration. The captain and team management really have to give it a thought.

The batsmen have to get their act together for once in the whole tournament, take some responsibility and set up a good score. Preferably around 300 which isn't even too much to ask for.

If we can't even trust them to score 250+ batting first with no pressure then how can we even dream of them chasing down a 250ish score?

The srilankans managed to chase 320 and we can't even ask our elite batsmen to put up 300 batting first on a flat pitch!

If our bowling is good enough to restrict the mighty Indian batting line up at a low total when batting first, then why can't we trust our bowling to defend a target of around 300? We have to get Kohli out either way. He isn't going to gift his wicket just because Indians are batting first.

In last three matches our bowling has been able to restrict the opposition below 250. I recon the principles of probability would suggest that it's highly unlikely to do it four times in a row especially in an era of 300+ scores.

Our batting line up can make a mess of any kind of low score, so there is no guarantee that a "low score" really is low enough for our superstars.

I think we should be brave and bat first if the pitch is a batting paradise. Our great batsmen might not be able to put a par score but hopefully with our bowling we might not even need a par score to defend successfully.

The moment India would pass by the score of 250 our timid batsmen will throw in the towel and lose the game mentally right there. Even before India has batted out all its overs.

Let's respect the opposition. Their batting is strong. Expecting our bowlers for the forth time in a row to restrict the opposition to a low total on a batting pitch is too much to ask. It's much more reasonable to demand from the batsmen to actually do their job and bat.

Disagree. Sri Lanka chased 320 vs India on this ground. Their batting is like ours.

I hope you are right and if we do end up chasing 300+, I will be the first one to back and cheer the team to do it.

However, it will by no means be an easy task and we will need every single one of our batsmen to step up and make their mark. In my mind - Malik and Hafeez (let's be serious - he's not getting dropped) - will need to be the ones who guide any sort of run chase. Cannot afford to let the occasion get to them

Bhai live in the current era, chasing is the best answer to a team that is weak in the order, most of the teams chasing have won the tournament.... Pak chased down England within 40 overs so they can have a fighting chance when chasing down a 270 odd total, but they will never be in the game if they set India the same total

Bhai I agree with you but for some reason Pakistan put unnecessary pressure on them while chasing even lower totals against India even after getting off to great starts. That's the only reason I favour it.

Disagree. Sri Lanka chased 320 vs India on this ground. Their batting is like ours.

We can't set a target of 300+ but we should be able to chase it?

Let's think clearly here.

We can't set a target of 300+ but we should be able to chase it?

Let's think clearly here.
The first few batsman of india can get 300+ and if Pak bowlers do well thats the highest limit.Yuvi , dhoni doesnt need to bat. But if pakistan gives 300+ score, yuvi dhoni will chase it definately.

In all WC matches bar 2003, Ind have batted first and won comfortably. I don't think it matters if we bat first or second, history shows that Ind will win easily but at least by batting first pressure will be put back onto the Indians.

This ain't a WC match. If you are talking ICC tournaments then you're wrong as in 2004 Champions Trophy we successfully chased vs India.

Here is how the pressure works. While fielding your XI vs their 2 . While you are batting your 2 vs their XI .

one thing is Pakistan did try chasing against India and failed miserably. What is to say that if they try chasing again against India, they will not fail miserably again?

Im not counting but I think the last seven games in the Champions Trophy were won by the team batting second. India's only defeat so far has come when they batted first.

This ain't a WC match. If you are talking ICC tournaments then you're wrong as in 2004 Champions Trophy we successfully chased vs India.

In 2009 we batted first scored 302 and defended it successfully. Where do we go from here now?

Another thing is in crunch games teams can collapse from 170/0 to 220 all out. Pakistan is expert in collapsing like SA

Im not counting but I think the last seven games in the Champions Trophy were won by the team batting second. India's only defeat so far has come when they batted first.

Not true India batted first against pak too.

one thing is Pakistan did try chasing against India and failed miserably. What is to say that if they try chasing again against India, they will not fail miserably again?

Ahmed Shehzad? HELLO?

FAHEEM ASHRAF? FAKHAR ZAMAN????

Go back through the history books and maybe you will understand where he is coming from.

History has changed in last 5 years and Imran has no clue about it unfortunately. Understandable though, he has been busy with politics.

I am not sure what the % are but I would suggest that team batting first win around 70% of games in finals.

Sarfraz, Will not be bothered about any Advice at this stage

If he is gonna win Toss he will Bowl

Also Those Dreaming of a 45/3 in 15 overs can do that but I will be happy with 90/1 in 20 overs

Its the stage between 20 to 40 overs where we have been destroying sides. India may be forced
to change their strategy and forced to attack in first 20 overs knowing once ball start getting older
their is simply nothing you can do against this attack

Having Said that Even if we bat first and least put anything in around 280 We can still make it
very very tough for the chasing side

Sorry but if that happens, we're toast.

If I were sarfraz I would field first too.just that it is not a bad thing to bat first also. Batsmen will have clearer mind. Even. Lot of great players have choked while chasing.

good advice as usual from IK but of course at 99% posters in this thread are like the rest of pakistan, i.e. clueless.

how many times have we tried to chase against India in recent times? How many times have we succeeded? 2007 T20 final? 2011 Mohali WC semi-final? 2015 WC group game?

Sure let's repeat the same process again.

Agreed. Scoreboard pressure is immense. Esp for Pk. Bat first and wish for an off day from India.

Mr Khan should know that..

"Baby no Bass Pasand hai... Aur Kolhi Ko CHASE Pasand Hai"

Most of his centuries come while chasing.. still want to bat First?

It is not at all a bad advice as people are claiming here. Whether we bat first or second, Pakistan will have to score around 300 runs this time.

1. If India bats first, they will try to see off the first 10 overs without loss of any wicket - and goto 20 overs mark with max 1 wicket loss. If such a thing happens, India will score heavily in the end, as this has been their way when batting first.

2. If Pakistan bats first and score 240-270 runs, India will again goto same strategy i.e. dont lose wickets early. But if Pakistan score in excess of 300 batting first, Indian top order will be forced to play shots right from word go. And that could very well bring loss of early wickets for India.

Simply speaking, Pakistani batsmen have to stand up and deliver in final.

It is a lose lose situation Bat first. India has chasing gods. Bat second. Batsmen become frightened turtles. Remember how they choked against yuvraj Singh at Mohali

good advice as usual from IK but of course at 99% posters in this thread are like the rest of pakistan, i.e. clueless.

how many times have we tried to chase against India in recent times? How many times have we succeeded? 2007 T20 final? 2011 Mohali WC semi-final? 2015 WC group game?

Sure let's repeat the same process again.
Currently india is best when they chase.

And Indians batsman can take better pressure than bowlers. So if you put pressure on indian bowlers its a easier approach than putting pressure on kohli rohit dhoni yuvi.

You know initially I thought our best chance of winning was chasing vs india, but over the past day I've been thinking otherwise. I can't say for sure, as if India do put up a 300 odd score, not only are we chasing, we are chasing in a final. That pressure is immense, especially for pakistan who struggle to chase even moderate scores. So maybe batting first and putting 300 or more on the board ourselves, then backing our bowlers to restrict india could be a better option.

I remember when we chased vs India in T20 WC 2007 final, we were getting destroyed until misbah took it upon himself, and even he fell short in the end. I don't know if we could chase in the final, maybe we should bat first and put 300+ on the board.

Compare IK's advise to the filth the likes of Amir Sohail, Sikandar Bakht and Javaid Maindad spew. This seems like sane compared to what those guys say. Some even went to far that Saifi should resign in the middle of the tour and left Azhar/Hafeez handle it. :))

I love IK but he is far too removed from cricket now a days to give good advice.

Currently india is best when they chase.

Yep.. it seems it helps to know WHAT TOTAL they need to chase.

Mr. Khan heads a political party and hardly watches Cricket these days to know what's the latest trend.

Could be suicidal to let team India chase

Baba ji is stuck in 80s era, somebody should tell him it's not easy for bowlers these days, ..wink wink

Hmm.

Something we can never do against India on the OVALS PITCH, but first i was also making the same choice but now I think they need to chase because we cannot make moe than 300 and India will have no pressure chasing it in the second innings

We can't do anything about the toss, but the team must win they can win at any time from any position at any stage of the game.

For e.g. if India gets off to a good quick start, the team should not panick and needs to remember that 3-4 quick wickets can quickly change the game. Must strive for wickets and must have attacking fields for every new batsman at the crease, must bring a fast bowler whenever there is a new batsman at the crease.

We need the odds to be in our favor as much as possible and that's when we bat first.

Asking our batsmen to chase against India, in the final after they failed to cross 200 batting second just two weeks ago sounds absolutely insane to me.

We are historically bad chasers. Even in this tournament we made a meal out of a simple chase against Sri Lanka.

It's irrelevant how many games other team have won batting second. We are dealing with mighty batsmen of Pakistan. The likes of Hafeez and Malik.

While on the other hand it's true that India are good chasers, still chasing always adds an extra pressure and this is not just a group match it's the final. It's about lifting the trophy. It's a do or die situation. That would add another extra bit of pressure. And then there is wahab riaz, who isn't playing. So no freebies this time around.

Kohli scored an unbeaten 81 at a strike rate of 120 while batting first against us just two weeks ago. What does this tells us? We should not base our decision on Kohli's favorite time to bat. To win we have to take his wicket as simple as that.

The odds of any bowling attack restricting the opponents to a sub 250 four times in a row must be very low. Hence I find it too much to again expect from our bowlers to deliver an extraordinary performance.

The batsmen have to step up. What are they in team for?