"My only advice to Sarfraz is that we should bat first against India" : Imran Khan

My point is that the toss is not in our hands, India can win the toss and put us in to bat first, we have to be positive at all times and look to win.

I agree and this is why this type of talk makes me uneasy.

If we don't win the toss, then we all might as well check in a local mental asylum!

Another outdated piece of advice from Kaptaan.

Sarfraz while he has been good on field still seems a bit of a yes man off the field to superiors and to his friends (e.g. Shafiq and co) so I won't be surprised if he follows this 'advice' just on IK's reputation.

I fear we will see a repeat of WC final Lord's 1999 with Bhuvneshwar ripping through if he does this.

Side note: would love to see Pandya smashed to all parts, seems too cocky against us. Insh'Allah Imad gets him out and hits for back to back lofted sixes for revenge.

and Kohli scored 100 but we still win :amla

The decision in the 99 WC final was right but they batted poorly. Ind are better whether they bat first or 2nd but that means nothing if we play with passion. Pk need to turn into a street brawl, fighting for every run and playing with a passion that we never see when they play Ind. The Ind bowlers, even terrible ones like Robin Singh,Mohanty etc grow an extra leg whilst some our best become mediocre. Bat first or second Win or lose but at least play with passion.

First Up, Imran said this upon being asked by a reporter, so not sure why the noise plus he said "I am not that close to cricket nowadays but my only advice to him is that he should bat first against India"

So not sure what is getting people's knickers in a twist?

Also, look at this thread and see how divided the opinions are amongst the posters, no matter what he would have said, someone would have had a cow with that.

My Advice to the Team:
Go for the kill, no matter what the situation is, just do your best and enjoy the game; if it is in your fate, you will win otherwise no one can help you win anyway!

Yes luck/fate Playa a role. I am Indian poster here. 2007 t20 World Cup Imran Naazirs run out and misbahs scoop were clear deatiny.similar to that 1996 semis sachin got run out against Sri Lanka when India were cruising. Imran got dropped in 1992 world cup

Bhai I agree with you but for some reason Pakistan put unnecessary pressure on them while chasing even lower totals against India even after getting off to great starts. That's the only reason I favour it.

Yes I know that, but Pakistan is out of options now and that is one of the reason in plummet of our rankings, is since in the yesteryears until Saeed Ajmal we could defend any total, even the 200s, but since his departure on chucking we haven't been able to do that, now our only hope is to chase down a total because our bowling is incapable of defending anything, big sample size is our tour to Aussie and England where we failed to defend any total as a bowling team, same thing happened vs NZ in 2016 ODIs, couldn't defend a total either

When winning the toss is not entirely in our hands, we should o this and that is out of the window...everybody should just shush and try to enjoy the match, if our teams plays well, they will win or else not!

Simple as that!

Toss is 50/50 but it's important to decide the best option if you do win it.

Batting first is looking the best option imo. It was around 30C today in London. The ground and pitch will be dry and it will reserve swing for sure. Trying to chase a target against against excellent reserve swing bowlers will be difficult.

Well, Kuptaan got his wish. Hopefully we get over the line!

For the sake of Pakistan, i hope kaptaan has seen something which we mere mortals werent able to see.

I am among the immortals, I see through the eyes of the Kuptaan; have faith my friend!

Not a bad advise by Kaptaan.... Always play to your strength instead of focusing on opposition's strength
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pak's strength is bowling; India's is batting. My humble advice to Sarfaraz is: play to our strength; try & bat first & build a decent total</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/876118562028494850">June 17, 2017</a></blockquote>

Still need to score 330 or so

330 should be pretty much minimum score with 9 wickets in hand from this position. Pakistan should win it form here unless India plays out of their skin while batting. They are good chaser, but chasing 330-340 will be very tough in finals.

Kaptaan doesnt watch cricket but he has forgotten more than all the critics ever knew about cricket. I still believe that Ind will win but we have a better chance when batting first.

Il was a good toss to lose.

We now have the a very strong basis all thanks to Fakhar and Azhar too. Azhar isn't really a veteran player in ODI but he still stood up.

Now the ounce is on the senior player stand up and perform for once in their life.

Another outdated piece of advice from Kaptaan.

Sarfraz while he has been good on field still seems a bit of a yes man off the field to superiors and to his friends (e.g. Shafiq and co) so I won't be surprised if he follows this 'advice' just on IK's reputation.

I fear we will see a repeat of WC final Lord's 1999 with Bhuvneshwar ripping through if he does this.

Side note: would love to see Pandya smashed to all parts, seems too cocky against us. Insh'Allah Imad gets him out and hits for back to back lofted sixes for revenge.

and Kohli scored 100 but we still win :amla

Any thoughts?

One thing can be taken away, even after 30 years - we are still mentally weak. That's the reason why we're always told to win it with the ball. It's not about playing to your strengths but crumbling under pressure.

But for once in a long time our batting turned up.

Man - just elect this man PM - you may not see it now but he knows what he is talking about

I fancied Ind even if we batted first but batting first always give you a better chance. Brilliant performance!

looking back last few games Pakistan have lost while chasing against India in ICC tourneys

nice advice niazi saab :inti

Apparently some armchair experts here were pretending to know more than someone who has played what? Close to 400 First Class games? A lot of then right in England...a supreme, legendary career for Pakistan lasting decades? Even if he is a politician now and does not watch cricket, he gotta know SOMETHING...at least a lot more than armchair experts.

Imran proved yet again he is very wise. Although things would have been very different had Pakistan scored 270-280. Nothing better than getting a big total and allowing your bowlers to attack except none of us expected Pakistan would score 338. It was great to see Aamir attack and have a total behind him. He was in full attack mode which I have not seen in a while.

What he is saying is true even in todays cricket, you back your strength to defend. Pakistan strength is bowling.

Agreed 100% but who would have thought Pakistan would score 338+ in a tournament where they have barely scored 220.

Imran proved yet again he is very wise. Although things would have been very different had Pakistan scored 270-280. Nothing better than getting a big total and allowing your bowlers to attack except none of us expected Pakistan would score 338. It was great to see Aamir attack and have a total behind him. He was in full attack mode which I have not seen in a while.
Yeah Amir in attack mode is a truly frightening sight. Only Pakistanis can pull off this opening bowling wizadry for some reason! so jealous :kohli

Well gentlemen I was the one of the very few ones who agreed with Ik. I thinkk 90% of people were against his avice I thought and backed his advice Indian made a big mistake by electing to field and played in Pakistan's hand. Scoreboard pressure is immense in a final and Imran was suggesting what transpired at ovel today. :) Do not utter rubbish against the ATG.

If Indian batted first they might have put a good score and Pakistan would have been under scoreboard pressure.Hopefully Pakistan will pick new players in future who can chase big scores also..

Where are the noob analysts now :yk This proves that such an old captain still got better analysis capabilities than the posters here :facepalm:

Had he been born in Macedonia we would know him by the title of Sikandar-e-Azam that's how good his brain is when it comes to tactics and strategies - we cannot even comprehend it till we see it in action and see the end result.

And I rate Ganguly and Dhoni and Steve Waugh (from the one I have seen) for their tactics and strategies and game awareness

All these armchair experts who haven't played a cricket match in their life deserve all this humble pie. Imran Khan Zindabad! Pakistan Zindabad!

Now do you guys know why he's considered one of the greatest captains of all time?

Yeah!!! Then we will loose by 10 wickets. Imran is totally lost

Awful from IK.

Pak has been only successful bowling first which we should repeat hopefully.

and that's the worst possible advice.
which tells his mind set.

Wrong advice. Do t listen if you're reading this Mickey / Sarfraz /etc.

What brainless advice

Lol, Imran has to give his 1992 esque era advice in any case.

I wouldn't listen to a lick Imran Khan says about cricket nowadays. He doesn't understand modern day cricket.

As well, does it really matter?

Remember 2003 World Cup? We batted first against India and at that time put up a formidable total of 270 with a bowling attack of Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib and look what happened.

Ignore Imran Khan and do what you feel is best @ Sarfraz and Mickey

Imran saab this is not 92 WC where we can defend 250 after batting first.

Chasing has won us the last three matches. Our 1st inns average in ODIs since 2015 WC is 284 and that's inflated by scores versus Ireland and Zimbabwe. That will not be enough against this Indian team.

Would you guys like to expand?

good advice as usual from IK but of course at 99% posters in this thread are like the rest of pakistan, i.e. clueless.

how many times have we tried to chase against India in recent times? How many times have we succeeded? 2007 T20 final? 2011 Mohali WC semi-final? 2015 WC group game?

Sure let's repeat the same process again.

Wanna recognize you for pointing it out!

If Indian batted first they might have put a good score and Pakistan would have been under scoreboard pressure.Hopefully Pakistan will pick new players in future who can chase big scores also..

if team India and specially Kohli was unable to chase the target because of the scoreboard pressure who do you think will be able to do that from Pakistan when our main strength is bowling

I have been saying the exact thing for the past decade. We SHOULD ALWAYS bat first irrespective of pitch or weather conditions.

its not mendetory we won 3 matches while chasing sometimes there is dew factor in day night matches where you like to chase and sometimes if its a bowling pitch then why not let the other team bat first get them out cheaply and chase a low total.. its perfectly fine

what Kohli did was won the task and gave Pakistan batting on a flat track and Pakistan cashed that in very hard and due to score board pressure and some brilliant bowling by Pakistan they ware unable to chase.

Disagreeing with IK is fine, its a game of opinions but some of the guys( not all) are well known IK haters and as ever they tried to get one over the Kaptaan but ended up with egg on their faces. IK is a born winner and some haters are born losers.

When Imran Khan speaks you listen.

Whattay advice sir jee

:salute :salute

Not sure what the hoopla is. We could have very well as have bowled first and got them out cheaply and won too.

Some real big name PPers with egg on their face...lots of humble pies being served LOL

And Mamoon tried to cover both angles in his first post but still he got trolled by the one and only Khan!

Disagreeing with IK is fine, its a game of opinions but some of the guys( not all) are well known IK haters and as ever they tried to get one over the Kaptaan but ended up with egg on their faces. IK is a born winner and some haters are born losers.

Yeah of course it is opinions. I (and others) are not laughing at those with wrong opinions but posters who said he's "crazy, 92esque, out of date" and all.

The Great Khan is a once in a generation type of leader.

i dont understand why people are praising imran khan here?

india won the toss and elected to field

sarfraz also said, he would have chosen to field if he had won the toss

pakistan has won the toss and always elected to field and won while chasing

bas aik tukka lag gya pakistan batted first and won and people now taking imran khan as a messiah

Khan sahab ki salam...

And when india lost their second wicket wicket , kgan sahab took a big risk and congratulated the nation in advance. You need some seriously big balls to do so.

The guy is a living legend,Should be respected but unfortunately he is treated with utter disdain

bas aik tukka lag gya pakistan batted first and won and people now taking imran khan as a messiah

It shows that both the Inds and Safraz were wrong. Do you really think that PK could have chased 280 against Ind, especially with the mental demons of Ind and tournament cricket.

The guy is a living legend,Should be respected but unfortunately he is treated with utter disdain

Only by losers and criminals. Ik is not perfect and like any human being he is wrong on things but the more the haters hate, the more people trust him. I read yesterday that he raised 15 crore from Karachi alone. Can imagine anyone else being able to raise that sort of money bar the late and great Maulana Edhi.

It shows that both the Inds and Safraz were wrong. Do you really think that PK could have chased 280 against Ind, especially with the mental demons of Ind and tournament cricket.

FACEPALM.

What makes you think India would score 280? We would bowl them out for under 200 and WIN. Either way we would have won.

Why are people thinking we wouldn't have won if we chased? We THOROUGHLY outplayed India.

FACEPALM.

What makes you think India would score 280? We would bowl them out for under 200 and WIN. Either way we would have won.

Why are people thinking we wouldn't have won if we chased? We THOROUGHLY outplayed India.

How many did they score at Edgebaston or at Adelaide batting first? What was the result and even when they scored 260 at Mohali, what happened. Need to learn about cricket and pressure before you argue about things you have no idea about.

People are praising his overall advice which was "Pakistan should bat 1st.
Doesn't matter if Pakistan won the toss or not, the fact he mentioned it would be better to set a target to put the Indian batting lineup under pressure and that is exactly what happened.

a guy who has no knowledge about the game being played, the strengths and weaknesses of pakistan or indian team, who doesnt know the pitch is right and the guy who won the champions trophy for pk is wrong

in what world do you dwell?

pakistan could as well have crumbled if bumrah could have taken wicket of fakhar zaman if he hadnt bowled no ball, now please dont say it was all pre ordained by imran khan than fakhar was destined to make a century

the logic behind bowling first is very clear, bowling is pakistan's strength and pakistan has won all three matches based on field first

People are praising his overall advice which was "Pakistan should bat 1st.
Doesn't matter if Pakistan won the toss or not, the fact he mentioned it would be better to set a target to put the Indian batting lineup under pressure and that is exactly what happened.

doesnt make any sense, pakistan bowling is its strength and batting its weakness, one doesnt expose its weakness first to cover its strength

a guy who has no knowledge about the game being played, the strengths and weaknesses of pakistan or indian team, who doesnt know the pitch is right and the guy who won the champions trophy for pk is wrong

in what world do you dwell?

pakistan could as well have crumbled if bumrah could have taken wicket of fakhar zaman if he hadnt bowled no ball, now please dont say it was all pre ordained by imran khan than fakhar was destined to make a century

the logic behind bowling first is very clear, bowling is pakistan's strength and pakistan has won all three matches based on field first

I got no idea what you are on about but whatever it is, it is highly valued by you. It is interesting that you ignored the history of the 2 in recent yrs when Ind batted first.

How many did they score at Edgebaston or at Adelaide batting first? What was the result and even when they scored 260 at Mohali, what happened. Need to learn about cricket and pressure before you argue about things you have no idea about.

There is no pressure in first half of the game is basically what you're saying. Oh okay, gotcha.

Compared to batting 2nd in high pressure matches there is much less. IK and other people that have played in these matches know this to be the case. This does not mean that you cant win batting 2nd but the probability is reduced.

Imran Khan would have given same advise before South Africa, Sri Lanka and England's game. Ask him the same question after 20 years and he will give the same advise & cite 1992 WC final as an example. IK was a great player but it is also a fact that he doesn't follow cricket anymore.

I will put my hand up and say I was wrong.
But in m defense, while the idea was great in theory, I thought it would be difficult for the team to post as big a score as they did in the final.