National T20 Cup 2016 | Day 13 | September 11th, 2016 | Multan | Matches Thread

Abdul

1) Lahore Blues v Rawalpindi

Lahore Blues

Agha Salman, Ahmed Bashir, Ahmed Shehzad, Asif Raza, Fahim Ashraf, Farhan Khan, Hasan Ali, Imran Ali, Muhammad Akhlaq†, Nasir Jamshed*, Nauman Anwar, Naved Yasin, Rahat Ali, Raza Ali Dar, Saad Nasim, Zafar Gohar

Rawalpindi

Aizaz Cheema, Asif Ali, Awais Zia, Hammad Azam, Jamal Anwar†, Mansoor Amjad, Mohammad Nawaz (3), Mukhtar Ahmed, Naved Malik, Samiullah, Shadab Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Amin*, Yasir Arafat, Zahid Mansoor, Zeeshan Malik, Zulfiqar Babar, Zulqarnain Haider

2) Islamabad v Karachi Blues

Islamabad

Abdur Rehman, Abid Ali, Adil Amin, Afaq Raheem, Ali Sarfraz, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Irfan (2), Naeem Anjum†, Raheel Majeed, Sami Aslam, Sarmad Bhatti, Shahid Afridi, Shehzad Azam, Umar Kiyani, Zohaib Ahmed*

Karachi Blues

Ali Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Fawad Alam, Fazal Subhan, Khalid Latif, Khurram Manzoor, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Sami*, Mohammad Waqas (2), Rumman Raees, Saeed Ajmal, Saifullah Bangash†, Shahzaib Hasan, Usama Mir, Zohaib Shera

Lahore fielding first after winning toss

Rawalpindi on 85/4 in 13 overs

Boundary hitting is not an issue. The problem is rotating the strike for him.

The bowlers at this level usually provide a few bad overs which make it easier to hit a couple of boundaries on the trot.

That's not true at all in case of Shezad, as a matter of fact, nobody does that other than Sharjeel and to some extend Babar. For a proper batsmen, if you cannot hit boundaries, most likely you cannot rotate strike. Shezad and Hafeez are similar style and Caliber batsmen. They both are more comfortable against spin than seam like million other Pakistani batsmen of same era(Misbah, YK, Malik, Sarfraz, Fawad Alam, list goes on and on)... They all can rotate strike, hit boundaries on spinners and in every format(even in test they go after spinners like crazy, ball one), Problem is non of them can play seamer with any authority. On good balls they can hardly defend, on bad ones hardly take a single, good players of pacers do the opposite, on good ball they can rotate, on bad smack them to boundaries...

That's what I also meant. He will tuk tuk everything that's too tough for him and cash in on poor deliveries. Indeed a lot like Hafeez. The same here in this T20 tournament which shows that he hasn't improved a bit.

Strike rotation is a way to keep the scoreboard ticking even if you are having it tough. I know that not many of our bats are good against pace bowling but at the least they do get the runs even if its ugly to keep the scoreboard ticking, but Shezzy just gets stuck.

Boundary hitting is not an issue. The problem is rotating the strike for him.

The bowlers at this level usually provide a few bad overs which make it easier to hit a couple of boundaries on the trot.

35 (23)

Against D grade Bowling with wild slogging except for 1 Pull.

6 * 4 = 24

24 runs of 6 balls

11 runs of 17 balls

This is why He has Poor Strike Rate. Tons of Dot Balls and Inability to squeeze Singles of Non Boundary Balls.

35 (23)

Against D grade Bowling with wild slogging except for 1 Pull.

6 * 4 = 24

24 runs of 6 balls

11 runs of 17 balls

This is why He has Poor Strike Rate. Tons of Dot Balls and Inability to squeeze Singles of Non Boundary Balls.

This guy just wasn't meant for limited overs cricket. Period.

That's what I also meant. He will tuk tuk everything that's too tough for him and cash in on poor deliveries. Indeed a lot like Hafeez. The same here in this T20 tournament which shows that he hasn't improved a bit.

Strike rotation is a way to keep the scoreboard ticking even if you are having it tough. I know that not many of our bats are good against pace bowling but at the least they do get the runs even if its ugly to keep the scoreboard ticking, but Shezzy just gets stuck.

They both (Shezad and Hafeez) don't have technique or stomach to play quality seamers, that's the whole point of opener. If you don't like to face seamers well then find a new job, opening is not for you. Pakistan does not recruit right guys for the job. Sami looked so much better than them in test, because he had technique and attitude to play seamers, all the time.

When people compare Umar with Shezad that's a very unfair comparison. One has atleast talent to boss the best bowlers, can play shots against pacers, a skill severely lacking by men in green, where as other is as useless player as Hafeez, you just cannot put them in same bucket, as both are talent. Shezad has no talent what so ever :po:

"I have always been an allrounder if you have followed my youth cricket days closely. I feel I can contribute with the ball and that's why I will bowl more regularly" - Ahmed Shehzad.

This guy loves speeches, doesn't he?

Inzi would be crazy not to select Gohar for at least the Test squad. There's no point persisting with Zulfi now that Gohar is ready and can bring a lot more to the table with his batting and fielding.

"I have always been an allrounder if you have followed my youth cricket days closely. I feel I can contribute with the ball and that's why I will bowl more regularly" - Ahmed Shehzad.

Did he say this today during match?

Inzi would be crazy not to select Gohar for at least the Test squad. There's no point persisting with Zulfi now that Gohar is ready and can bring a lot more to the table with his batting and fielding.

With current pattern of selection, expect Zulfi or Abdur Rehman lol.

Oh God Zafar won it for the Lahore side out of nowhere!

Rawalpindi is horrible in T20's since 2011. Yet again best of talent but no results.

Oh come on, what kind of guy he is. I listened to his interview and he said Mushtaq Ahmed and Saqlain Mushtaq told me that you can ONLY play as a leg spinner as well

I think he literally believes that he is the second coming of Shahid Afridi. He is trying to go the exact same route.

It's probably why Afridi also left him. This guy is not totally okay and its getting worse every year.

Shehzad pushing for his case as spinner now that he can't get in as a batsmen :)))

Batting nahi chal rahi tho aur kya karay beechara:inti

But actually, what the hell??:facepalm:

Raheel Majeed again playing a good knock.

Yeah, it was a good knock, played well with some solid blows and ensured they got to a good score.
Unfortunately, it looks like hes an ardent follower of the biryani diet :) He was converting twos into ones!

Junaid is unplayable tonight, looks pacy. He should at least be playing T20I cricket, the selectors don't understand statistics, his T20 economy rate is fantastic.

Is that Md. Sami? He must be wearing double pads on his waste!!!!!!!!!!!

Shahzaib finally out for 66 off 50 (3 sixes). With him went Karachi Blues hopes of victory.
Shahzaibs knock took him to the number 3 spot for leading run scorers in this tournament, and the second most number of 6s after Umar Akmal

Most runs:
1. Umar Akmal - 361 runs @ 187.04 strike rate
2. Salman Butt - 295 runs @ 102.78 strike rate
3. Shahzaib Hasan - 268 runs @ 126.41 strike rate
4. Rafatullah Mohmand - 251 runs @ 126.76 strike rate
5. Umar Amin - 251 runs @115.13 strike rate

Most sixes:
1. Umar Akmal - 26 (!!)
2. Shazaib Hasan - 12
3. Fawad Khan - 11
4. Umar Amin - 9
5. Saad Nasim - 8
6. Bilal Asif - 8
7. Sohaib Maqsood - 8

Shehzad needs to remmeber it was a minor setback for a major comeback. Hopefully future pak capatin. Still only 24. Should not get bogged down by wastemen.

He should be nowhere near the team and you're talking about him being a captain.....

For the first time since he has been playing , I actually think Shazaib looked very good and may still have a future at the higher level

Shahzaib Hasan has a fantastic strike rate and good form yet he is'nt in the T20 series v West Indies, and a player with a pathetic strike rate Saad Nasim is. Since part of the winning 2009 WT20 Shahzaib was discarded after 2 innings compare this with chances given to Malik and Akmal. As long as Malik Akmal are there I don't see Shahzaib in the side no matter how good his strike rate is.

Shahzaib Hasan must be really knocking on the door for selection