Nawaz Sharif believes time has come to give tough time to govt

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) supremo Nawaz Sharif has directed the party leadership to take other opposition parties on board on doing “aggressive” politics after Muharram.

Mr Sharif wants convening of a multi-party conference (MPC) of the opposition at the earliest for this purpose. Although mainstream opposition parties — the PML-N, PPP and JUI-F — maintain that they are in talks with each other to finalise the agenda of the MPC, the PML-N has reportedly conveyed Mr Sharif’s wish to the PPP and JUI-F leadership to evolve a ‘mutual agenda’ to give tough time to the government after Muharram.

“Mr Sharif thinks that the time has come to take on the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf government more aggressively. For this purpose, the PML-N leadership will have to charge up workers to play its part in any joint opposition move in coming days,” a close aide to the PML-N supremo told Dawn on Sunday.

Nawaz Sharif has been in London for his medical treatment since November last year.

The PML-N leader said the party leadership (in Pakistan) had been given go-ahead to ‘fully cooperate’ with the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl chief in this regard.

“The PML-N is ready to fully cooperate with Maulana Fazlur Rehman and will not disappoint him this time,” he added.

The Maulana is not happy with the PML-N and the Pakistan Peoples Party for ‘ditching’ him last minute before his party’s Islamabad sit-in in October last year and for recently extending support to the PTI government on FATF-related legislation.

“Efforts are under way to hold a multi-party meeting and a Rahbar Committee meeting is likely to be held next week, which will finalise its agenda,” PML-N information secretary Marriyum Aurangzeb told Dawn.

Asked about the party’s plan to give tough time to the PTI government after Muharram, she said: “Decisions will be taken on the platform of the MPC as the PML-N is striving for fresh elections in the wake of the government’s failure at every front.”

PML-N Punjab president Rana Sanaullah told Dawn that the opposition would soon sit together on the MPC platform and agree to do “aggressive” politics after Muharram. “Two years of the PTI government have passed and its total failure demands that the opposition should not give it more time,” he said, adding that the PML-N workers were charged and could come out on roads on one call of the leadership.

Asked about hiccups in the convening of the MPC, Mr Sanaullah said: “There isn’t much. Leaders of the opposition parties are in contact [with each other] over the convening of the MPC and will soon finalise its agenda.” Asked whether the PML-N would address concerns of Maulana Fazl, Mr Sanaullah replied in the affirmative: “The Maulana wants to start a protest drive from where he had left off [in November],” he said.

Reportedly, Maulana Fazl had ended his Islamabad sit-in “on the assurance” that Prime Minister Imran Khan would resign by March 2020.

The PML-N ranks are happy to see their workers showing courage in the face of what Mr Sanaullah called police brutality outside the NAB office in Lahore during the arrival of the party’s vice president Maryam Nawaz to appear before the bureau in a land acquisition case.

He said the party workers had reacted and protested because their leadership was present among them.

Maryam Nawaz is also likely to meet the arrested party workers. Some senior PML-N leaders see footprints of Prime Minister Imran Khan in NAB’s summoning of Maryam Nawaz in a new case of acquisition of over 3,500 kanals of land in Raiwind ‘illegally’ by the Sharif family members.

They feel that the PML-N has acquired a fresh impetus by its workers’ reaction to what they call implicating their leader in false cases by NAB. This “strong reaction”, they believe, has sent a message to the quarters concerned that the PML-N workers are capable of taking on the might of the PTI government on roads.

“Since there was no violation of ‘understanding’ with the powers that be from Maryam Nawaz after her father’s departure to London in November last, the new land acquisition case against her has been initiated at the behest of PM Khan, who is not in a mood to spare the Sharif family,” said a PML-N insider, adding that the Sharifs were not sure if the powers that be had any role in opening a new NAB investigation against Maryam Nawaz.

“As per ‘understanding’ [between the powers that be and the Sharif family], Maryam Nawaz was to proceed to London to look after her father, but PM Khan’s reported annoyance over Nawaz Sharif’s departure prevented her from leaving the country. However, there are reports that Maryam Nawaz has stayed in the country to see through the ‘understanding’ with Nawaz Sharif,” the insider said and added that PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif, who advocated ‘politics of reconciliation’, would have to sit with Maryam Nawaz to revisit it.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1574875/nawaz-believes-time-has-come-to-give-tough-time-to-govt

LAHORE: An internal fight is brewing in the PML-N pitting Shahbaz Sharif and Maryam Nawaz against each other for the party leadership, according to federal Science and Technology Minister Fawad Chaudhry.

“At present there’s a fight going on within the PML-N to occupy the party leadership. Shahbaz and Maryam camps are face to face.

“Maryam will be able to do active politics only if Shahbaz Sharif is removed as president,” the minister told reporters on Sunday.

Shahbaz Sharif was active against the Maryam camp to keep his hold on the party and as long as this infighting was not over, he won’t join the proposed multi-party conference of the opposition, Fawad Chaudhry said.

“The PML-N will be able to decide a strategy against the government only after it is free from its internal fight.”

He told a questioner that the opposition had no political role to play at present as, according to him, both Bilawal Bhutto and Shahbaz Sharif had such a weak following among the masses that they won’t be able to attract enough people to fill a public meeting venue the size of a marriage hall.

“The PPP we used to know was a chain holding all the four provinces together. Now the situation is that Asif Ali Zardari is unable to find enough people to accompany him during his appearance before an accountability court in Rawalpindi.

“Mr Zardari is spending tens of millions of rupees to bus people from Sindh for the purpose,” claimed Mr Chaudhry, who has served the PPP as its spokesperson for several years.

In reply to a question about the Punjab chief minister, Fawad Chaudhry said anyone could succeed him if he was removed from office.

“The whole assembly [all ruling party legislators] will vie for the job of the provincial chief executive,” the minister said.

“If Usman Buzdar can become the chief minister anyone else can.”

He, however, defended Mr Buzdar in the liquor licence case the National Account*ability Bureau (NAB) is investigating.

“They [the NAB] ridiculed the office of chief minister by summoning him to the anti-corruption body’s office. This office must not have been ridiculed.

“The state institutions must be strengthened and the CM office is also an institution,” he argued.

Lauding NAB Chairman Javed Iqbal for having done a great job against corruption, Mr Chaudhry suggested that if and when the anti-corruption top watchdog summoned someone, its spokesperson should formally brief the media about the case.

Asked about the role the PML-Q, an ally of the ruling PTI, is currently playing in politics, the federal minister said whatever the allies were doing could not be termed politics of blackmail.

The minister said PML-Q leader Chaudhry Parvez Elahi was a senior politician and was in alliance with the PTI only because the Q-League saw “some *benefit for itself”.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1574870/fawad-sees-infighting-in-pml-n-over-leadership

PPP and PMLn have never been in opposition in last 30 years.
Only time they were in Opposition (2000-2007) their leadership was out of Pakistan :)))

As such, Both parties are not capable of behaving like an ooposition. All pseudo threats are to remain relevant for Senate Elections scheduled in March 2021. After the Senate Elections, PTI will achieve simple majority.

The opposition doesn’t need to do anything because PTI is on the path to self-destruction.

Imran’s biggest opposition is his past self, since he has back-tracked on everything that he said or stood for.

So no one has to say anything except play his old clips.

The opposition doesn’t need to do anything because PTI is on the path to self-destruction.

Imran’s biggest opposition is his past self, since he has back-tracked on everything that he said or stood for.

Can you please comment on the Islamabad Airport thread? Your nooras incompetence and corruption is exposed once again :)

What’s the big deal? These things happen. PTI took three centuries to complete BRT and do you think it will not require maintenance work in the future?

Actually, one of the many reasons for its delay was when its roof blew off a year ago due to heavy storm.

Please don’t feed the troll..

Otherwise another thread will be derailed by his nonsense

We have a thread discussing Never Give Up Attitude of IK. People don't change their nature in their Sixties or Seventies.

In politics, Imran gave up in 2013, when he realized that he had no chance of becoming the PM without taking the electable routes and becoming an establishment puppet.

He became what he criticized for nearly two decades.

In politics, Imran gave up in 2013, when he realized that he had no chance of becoming the PM without taking the electable routes and becoming an establishment puppet.

Every Country is headed by Establishment Puppet.

Mian Ji needs to come back and answer for his crimes before making such statements or just stay quiet and retire if he's planning on sitting in London

Uncle Tom Since you have been on the forum you have defended every crook in PK. I remember the days you spent defending NS, then SS, then Maryam, AZ and Billo. Lest I forget that you wanted Diesel to overthrow the whole system. You were saying about U turns. 😂

Oof you just ended [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] :yk

You know whats interesting, an opposition should provide an alternative policy agenda to the govt. So for example lets say the govt proposes a 6 day working week. The opposition should look at that proposal and either disagree with the whole thing or ensure that the right safe guards are in place. Some kind of alternative. perhaps propose a five day week with set hours etc.

what is our opposition doing? IK proposes something e.g. a change to money laundering laws, opposition says govt naehal. IK decides to get some infrastructure projects up and running, opposition says selected PM.

Oh bhai where is the alternative policy agenda? Nationla curriculum, IK is an extremist mullah!!

The fact is very clear. The opposition has failed completley. And uttterly. they are a complete shambles. IK is walking all over them. they dont have any policies other than saving themselves, they have nothing.

And people like Uncle jee are simply to be ignored or enjoyed as entertainment like the WWE. same for the tv talk shows and their journalists. let me tell you if even Dawn hasnt got much to crow about other than procedural issues, if even their journalists have to painfully acknowledge the work the govt has done to prevent mass covid deaths (for example) then as an opposition all you have is drama. Its a joke. They are a joke.

You know Im not a Pervez Hoodbhoy fan. i'm not. but why is somebody like him prepared to oppose govt policy with arguments that an opposition should be making? Now he's wrong in my book and has been rebutted but thats all done in academic circles or via chats on stream. Where is the opposition? They have nothing..

Just like in the movie Predator. When Arnie and his mates blow away half the jungle. Finally when they stop , one of the soldiers says "we hit nothing".

Honestly at one point I too was doubtful and thought PTI might get routed in the next elections specially when they bumped up gas prices by Rs. 25 in one go, even PTI voters went against them.

However, they have clawed their way back. I don't know what is it about this guy Imran Khan, Allah ki khaas rehmat hai ispe Alhumdulilah. He just refuses to lose. You can just feel PTI popularity regaining lost ground from 2018. Heck people are now even supporting Buzdar and how he has begun to handle things after a torturous first year. If things go the same way I won't be surprised if they manage 2/3rd in 2023.

A few factors have contributed to increase in popularity. IMO these are:

1. Successful handling of corona with shielded impact for the less fortunate and poor
2. Kept the economy afloat and it has shown a V-curve recovery. Heck in some facets numbers have even improved beyond Jan and Feb 2020.
3. Construction package, that by some estimates has lead to Rs. 1.5tr worth of projects in the pipeline
4. Appointment of Asim Saleem Bajwa and the subsequent nitrous fueled acceleration in CPEC
5. Concern shown for plight of Karachi and an urgency shown to find the solution (solution awaited)
6. Handling of rains and corona in Punjab by Buzdar government
7. Handling of locusts in KPK and Punjab

I hope they keep going in this direction. We need IK to rule for 15 years atleast. I hope he manages 2/3rd next time so that he can make changes to the 18th and also bring judiciary under accountability.

^ Reading the above list it seems all their time has been spent in fire fighting against one crisis after another. Corona, locusts, unusually heavy rains. Imagine if these disasters hadn't struck how far ahead PTI government would have gone.

The only treatment Mian Saab, Maryam Nawaz, Hamza Shahbaz, Asif Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto deserve is this

Mian sb. is a walking, talking, breathing, eating, living medical miracle to say the least. No platelets, yet he has outlived a rabid pandemic and now is back to leading the resistence against the tyrants of his time.

What a wonderful hero is our platelet shareef sarkaar!

Only time pmln or ppp were in opposition was with IK :))) in 2000-2008

Looks like they will come back this time but without IK.

Mian sb. is a walking, talking, breathing, eating, living medical miracle to say the least. No platelets, yet he has outlived a rabid pandemic and now is back to leading the resistence against the tyrants of his time.

:)) :)) That's all forgotten! His minions have memories that stretch back to only the last 30 minutes

He made an outright fool out of Imran. The messiah was talking about taking air conditioner out of his cell but Nawaz conned him hard and he couldn’t do anything about it.

Forget taking air conditioner out and keeping him locked up - Imran couldn’t even keep him in the country. What a shame.

You know Im not a Pervez Hoodbhoy fan. i’m not. but why is somebody like him prepared to oppose govt policy with arguments that an opposition should be making? Now he’s wrong in my book and has been rebutted but thats all done in academic circles or via chats on stream. Where is the opposition? They have nothing..

Just like in the movie Predator. When Arnie and his mates blow away half the jungle. Finally when they stop , one of the soldiers says “we hit nothing”.

This is their level of intellect:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Nafisa Shah criticised the government for "giving in" to the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), saying that after the "PTI-IMF government, now the PTI-IMF-FATF government would rule [over people]"<a href="https://t.co/dAlmpmWt2A">https://t.co/dAlmpmWt2A</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1295659511773102080?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

TenseAdoredGrayling-size_restricted.gif

He made an outright fool out of Imran. The messiah was talking about taking air conditioner out of his cell but Nawaz conned him hard and he couldn’t do anything about it.

Forget taking air conditioner out and keeping him locked up - Imran couldn’t even keep him in the country. What a shame.

hahahaha...

there is nothing more for me to say when viewing such intellectual bankruptcy. Your posts just continue to amuse me and offer no end of entertainment.

This is their level of intellect:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Nafisa Shah criticised the government for "giving in" to the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), saying that after the "PTI-IMF government, now the PTI-IMF-FATF government would rule [over people]"<a href="https://t.co/dAlmpmWt2A">https://t.co/dAlmpmWt2A</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1295659511773102080?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

TenseAdoredGrayling-size_restricted.gif

PTI have just released their two year report with a full press conference. The opposition are free to rebut it. I expect nothing from them and their court of jesters.

Unfortunatley the PTI govt has simply shattered and ended any power these fools had. They need to start to play the game on the field but at the moment continue to run around outside of the ground shouting at the walls while the rest watch the game and its domination by IK..

PTI have just released their two year report with a full press conference. The opposition are free to rebut it. I expect nothing from them and their court of jesters.

Unfortunatley the PTI govt has simply shattered and ended any power these fools had. They need to start to play the game on the field but at the moment continue to run around outside of the ground shouting at the walls while the rest watch the game and its domination by IK..

Their response (if you check some news channels right now) is that they are accusing PTI of being corrupt liars. :lol

Kuch sharam hoti hai...

hahahaha...

there is nothing more for me to say when viewing such intellectual bankruptcy. Your posts just continue to amuse me and offer no end of entertainment.

What happened to Imran’s promise of keeping Nawaz in jail, let alone in the country? How did he manage to go to London and when he is coming back?

Speaking of entertainment, Nawaz walking out of jail and then boarding a flight to London only a few weeks after Imran was contemplating removing AC from his cell, was certainly very entertaining.

What happened to Imran’s promise of keeping Nawaz in jail, let alone in the country? How did he manage to go to London and when he is coming back?

Speaking of entertainment, Nawaz walking out of jail and then boarding a flight to London only a few weeks after Imran was contemplating removing AC from his cell, was certainly very entertaining.

lol..like I said, your posts are becoming ever more amusing. I watch and laugh at the opposition and its supporters as they flounder like confused chickens..lol

Their response (if you check some news channels right now) is that they are accusing PTI of being corrupt liars. :lol

Kuch sharam hoti hai...

they are finished. Its as if IK is deliberately pounding them into the dirt now. What do they have? any rebuttals?

I mean Bilawal is one of the worst politicians Ive ever seen, the PMLN stills thinks this is the 1980's and the rest are irrelevant.

Where is the dynamism, the acceptance of a new politics and now with the successful policy around covid, the acceptance that IK is a formidable opponent? none. He's laughing at them. Its like when we used to destroy sri lanka or India in sharjah..its becoming a joke.

they are finished. Its as if IK is deliberately pounding them into the dirt now. What do they have? any rebuttals?

I mean Bilawal is one of the worst politicians Ive ever seen, the PMLN stills thinks this is the 1980's and the rest are irrelevant.

Where is the dynamism, the acceptance of a new politics and now with the successful policy around covid, the acceptance that IK is a formidable opponent? none. He's laughing at them. Its like when we used to destroy sri lanka or India in sharjah..its becoming a joke.

Yes it's becoming too one sided. Always bound to happen because PPP and PML-N don't have any ideology. They are just family limited parties.

So you want IK to override the courts. Minullah asked IK to guarantee his life for 3 days, you were in tears on here saying that as Kulsoom died, NS is being killed by the IK and needs to be given special treatment. So let me ask you a straight question, should IK have ignored the IHC?

Yes it's becoming too one sided. Always bound to happen because PPP and PML-N don't have any ideology. They are just family limited parties.

exactly. It makes me laugh when i see these guys hobbling around and sitting in large sitting rooms as if this is 1998. Things have changed rapidly and covid has further changed things. If the PTI plays its card right before the next election i can see them wiping out both the PPP and the PMLN.

We may actually have a first where instead of rigging in favour of the ruling party, the powers that be may "fix" certain seats to ensure both the PPP and PMLN have some sort of rump presence in the NA.

Of course everything could also change for the worse too and we know that is entirely possible, but as of right now i see both parties as merely a ratings hook for our journos on tv and youtube.

One final thing its great watching some of our so called analysts who are above the age of 45 completley failing to read the environment. Hilarious. We here nonsense about minus one and all these bakwaas buzz words..lol

Perhaps he should be in Pakistan to give the tough time to the government?

I haven't followed Pak politics too closely recently, but seems like there are internal conflicts within the PMLn... Maryam beti vs Shabaz and co

Pakistanis are not dumb (unlike some exceptions here like this poster whose name starts with M). Pakistanis now know the corruption charges against Nawaz, Zardari, Shehbaz are real. For decades they stole the country's wealth and now are either pretending to be sick in Pakistan or overseas. So I don't think Pakistanis will listen to such criminals going forward (don't forget Nawaz sharif is a criminal proven in court, Shehbaz and Zardari cases ongoing).

So if anyone is supporting such morons, I laugh at their intellect and allegiances.

Pakistanis are not dumb (unlike some exceptions here like this poster whose name starts with M). Pakistanis now know the corruption charges against Nawaz, Zardari, Shehbaz are real. For decades they stole the country's wealth and now are either pretending to be sick in Pakistan or overseas. So I don't think Pakistanis will listen to such criminals going forward (don't forget Nawaz sharif is a criminal proven in court, Shehbaz and Zardari cases ongoing).

So if anyone is supporting such morons, I laugh at their intellect and allegiances.

chaudhries could sweep up some of the PMLN electables prior to the next election. I think we may see a totally new opposition in the next parliament.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Top Line securities brilliantly summarized July. More things to be added:<br><br>11) Increase in FX reserves<br>12) LSM sector growing<br>13) Current Account would be in SURPLUS<br>14) Tax Revenues exceeding targets & prior FY. <br><br>V-shaped recovery continues!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%DA%A9%D9%BE%D8%AA%D8%A7%D9%86_%DA%A9%DB%92%D8%AF%D9%88%D8%B3%D8%A7%D9%84_%D8%A8%DB%92%D9%85%D8%AB%D8%A7%D9%84?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#کپتان_کےدوسال_بےمثال</a> <a href="https://t.co/lWPjSHsyVR">pic.twitter.com/lWPjSHsyVR</a></p>— PTI Achievements (@PTI_Achievement) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTI_Achievement/status/1295721964720590851?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Na-ehl na-laiq hakumat se mulk nahi chal raha. Selected Niazi isteefa do!!

exactly. It makes me laugh when i see these guys hobbling around and sitting in large sitting rooms as if this is 1998. Things have changed rapidly and covid has further changed things. If the PTI plays its card right before the next election i can see them wiping out both the PPP and the PMLN.

We may actually have a first where instead of rigging in favour of the ruling party, the powers that be may "fix" certain seats to ensure both the PPP and PMLN have some sort of rump presence in the NA.

Of course everything could also change for the worse too and we know that is entirely possible, but as of right now i see both parties as merely a ratings hook for our journos on tv and youtube.

One final thing its great watching some of our so called analysts who are above the age of 45 completley failing to read the environment. Hilarious. We here nonsense about minus one and all these bakwaas buzz words..lol

It indeed is hilarious. Pre-social media analysts look like dinosaurs now. Even before they utter a single piece of fake news a whole army of volunteers call them out on it with facts. Then they complain of "trolling".

People like Sohail Warraich have given atleast six dates of the government going home, instead with each passing day PTI becomes more popular.

Each passing day makes it harder for the crooks to come back and their desperation is palpable...

I find it outrageous that they could come out with their Competent vs corruption argument...

First of all, I don't blindly support Khan but I have a massive soft spot for his following policies

1. Environment
2. Poverty alleviation and human development & making Pakistan a true welfare state.
3. Non-regional politics. He doesn't divide but connects Pakistan which is massively needed.
4. Accountability for all.
5. Trying to create/fix our broken systems

If he fails on that, and after another year or two there are three different cases against him in NAB related to corruption, I would definitely not be writing posts defending him.

Now, coming to your point.

You said "He made an outright fool out of Imran. The messiah was talking about taking air conditioner out of his cell but Nawaz conned him hard and he couldn’t do anything about it." which proves that your Mian actually

1. Bought the doctors treating him to make fake reports
2. Bought the media for creating a narrative that supported him
3. Influenced (if not bought) courts to get a favorable verdict

All of the factors only prove one point, Mian is dishonest, corrupt, and someone who will do anything to get by. No wonder even the Pakistani courts had to declare him as someone who is neither "Sadiq" nor "Amin" and not fit enough to hold any public position.

Khan followed the rules, the courts allowed the person to go out, and instead of using influence like his predecessor, he was let go and the law was followed proving that Khan is a law-abiding prime minister. Now that he is better, if your Mian has even a semblance of shame, he'd be back. So let's see, when he makes the trip back to the country for which he claims to be a Messiah.

Also, statements like this "Forget taking air conditioner out and keeping him locked up - Imran couldn’t even keep him in the country. What a shame." are just baits and word salads. Save the posturing and bring something intelligent to the argument, a feat that I believe you are very much capable of.

Have a good day.