Need help identifying a very old Bollywood movie

Liberty

Tape Ball Captain
Hey guys,

Need some help identifying a very old Bollywood movie that I used to watch as a child back in the 90s. However I'm sure the movie was potentially from the 80s (?) not sure.

The plot was about a boy (age between 6 and 10 I think) who would go to school like any other kid - his mum/dad would pick him up after school some days and other days he would take the bus home. However the last day before school holidays he either forgot to catch the bus home or his parents forgot to pick him up and was stuck inside the classroom throughout the holidays.

During the time when he was stuck he would eat scrap foods from the school garbage bins and eat banana peals to survive. When all those resources ran out he would then eat the chalk that was left around the blackboards.

I think the movie ended with his parents struggling to find him and decide to take a trip to the school just to get some clues where their son is and end up finding him sleeping in a classroom.

Anyways, I dont really read or follow any desi forums except this one so if anyone could help me with this it would be great. Its been on my mind for weeks and I cant find the cassette tape in our home either. Im assuming mum/dad have thrown it out years ago.

Thanks guys

I have to salute the reply. 12mins 😂
Let's just hope it's the right film now.
OP where you gone?

Well done, I have least knowledge about Jeetendra and Mithun movies of 80s and 90s.

I have not watched Mithun movies that much but I loved watching Jeetendra movies with Shakti Kapoor and Kader Khan in the cast.

Mithun and Govinda are same kind of actors but Govinda developed himself as a comedian later.

Naw Govinda was amazing in 90s unparalleled comedic timing for me but absolute disaster of a person and super star syndrome took him down.

Because the bollywood fans are philistines. Two times national award for best actor. Tahader Kotha, Mrigoya.

Yes but his bollywood movies are nothing major to speak about ,hiding behind cycle to protect himself from bullets and overacting.

Shreeram Lagoo was the most legendary theater personality but his performance in Hindi cinema was nothing brilliant blame Mithun for his choice of Hindi movies not Hindi cinema fans.

Yes but his bollywood movies are nothing major to speak about ,hiding behind cycle to protect himself from bullets and overacting.

Shreeram Lagoo was the most legendary theater personality but his performance in Hindi cinema was nothing brilliant blame Mithun for his choice of Hindi movies not Hindi cinema fans.

I discarded my reply because it was full of vitriol and I am trying to control my anger. Peace out.

There was an innocence about old Bollywood films. They were simple but watchable. Nowadays most of the films are terrible.

Depends on which type of movie you are watching. Khans are has-beens now, Movies like Gully Boy and Article 15 are really good

Many are still simple bro just that nostalgia is taking over, if not Mohra with its song Tu Cheez Badi Mast Mast or Khalnayak 's songs were defn not innocent.

Simpler times were over by 1981.

Sounds like a typical Mithun, Rishi or Jeetendra movie. Not seen it so will try it out! I am more of a 1960's and 70's Bollywood fan. Those were the days:warner

I personally think that the old Bollywood films had that desi vibe and depicted the Indian culture well. Their is uniqueness and beauty in the Indian culture.

Nowadays, their films are trash because they are trying to show characters and settings that resemble the Western culture. They need to understand that is not their forte. Bollywood should not compete with Hollywood.

Sapnon Ka Mandir

Oh wow
This is it!
Thanks mate
Didn’t think anyone would respond!

I’ll watch it tonight! It’s on YouTube!

We had this movie and Mr India on VHS as kids and would always watch these 2 movies growing up!!

I used to find most of his Bollywood movies of the 90s absolutely terrible.

Yeah I wouldn’t even give it a try after private channels showed up his movies were a thing only the govn channel of DD..

He did a good job in Guru and Golmaal in later years though.

Yeah I wouldn’t even give it a try after private channels showed up his movies were a thing only the govn channel of DD..

He did a good job in Guru and Golmaal in later years though.

What good old days on DD shriman shrimati,alif laila,shaktiman,Mowgli,dekh Bhai dekh.
During weekends there used to be movie.

What good old days on DD shriman shrimati,alif laila,shaktiman,Mowgli,dekh Bhai dekh.

Most people see the good side of DD including myself huge fan of early DD quality incl Buniyaad and Hum log but imo lets see the bad side of it:

1.Destroyed parallel cinema of 80s.
2.Rajiv Gandhi's disastrous sequel to his Shah Bano's decision was to produce Ramayan on TV when there was only one channel.

I personally think that the old Bollywood films had that desi vibe and depicted the Indian culture well. Their is uniqueness and beauty in the Indian culture.

Nowadays, their films are trash because they are trying to show characters and settings that resemble the Western culture. They need to understand that is not their forte. Bollywood should not compete with Hollywood.

True. I don't watch many Bollywood films, but the ones I watch are mostly awful.

Most people see the good side of DD including myself huge fan of early DD quality incl Buniyaad and Hum log but imo lets see the bad side of it:

2.Rajiv Gandhi's disastrous sequel to his Shah Bano's decision was to produce Ramayan on TV when there was only one channel.

Rest is history.

There were serials on Tipu Sultan, Akbar the Great, Bible ki Kahainiyan too, but Ramayan was communal. It was DD who made the actors from parallel cinema household names.

No Ramayan was not communal if anything the Info minister asked them to make it “secular” whatever that meant.
It was the timing and decision by then govn.

Also Tipu Sultan was not a well researched show pretty biased and accepted it was not accurate as well.

No Ramayan was not communal if anything the Info minister asked them to make it “secular” whatever that meant.
It was the timing and decision by then govn.

Also Tipu Sultan was not a well researched show pretty biased and accepted it was not accurate as well.

DD started nationwide transmission in the early 1980s. Mythology/religion based contents were the obvious choice for early serials. Same happened when indian directors started making movies. The subjects were from local folklore and mythologies.

When do you think was the right time to air Ramayan?

DD started nationwide transmission in the early 1980s. Mythology/religion based contents were the obvious choice for early serials. Same happened when indian directors started making movies. The subjects were from local folklore and mythologies.

When do you think was the right time to air Ramayan?

Shub Aramb karna chahiya tha, with the start of it 1982 or atleast in first 2 years or before Shah Bano verdict SS Gill contacted Ramanand Sagar in Sep 1985 after the verdict.

Vikram Betal, Yeh Jo hai Zindagi,Karamchand,Nukad, Hum Log, Buniyaad,Malgudi days all preceded it and only one of those shows was larger in nature.

Wow, amazed by it. I have never even heard of this movie and you replied within 15 minutes lol

Could be a Slumdog Millionaire type situation. One may not have many answers but the right answer to a question due to personal experiences in the past. You could probably also know about something many have no idea about.

True. I don't watch many Bollywood films, but the ones I watch are mostly awful.

Watch the good ones bro, plenty of movie experts here who can point you towards the rare good movies of Mumbai industry. Since majority movies are garbage I can understand your feelings.

Add Chandrakanta, Shri Krishna, Captain Vyom and Falguni Pathak's songs. Growing up in the 90's was awesome.

Could be a Slumdog Millionaire type situation. One may not have many answers but the right answer to a question due to personal experiences in the past. You could probably also know about something many have no idea about.

I have only watched 3 Bollywood movies all my life, and completed only one of them. Whenever someone ask a question about «which movie» I really wana throw down name of the 3 I have watched lol

Which 3 are those and which 2 didn't you complete.

1. Anokha bandhan
2. Qayamat say Qayamat tak. Didn’t complet it though I know both died in the end
3. Kabhi khushi kabhi gham? Didn’t complete it and don’t remember the initial story either

1. Anokha bandhan
2. Qayamat say Qayamat tak. Didn’t complet it though I know both died in the end
3. Kabhi khushi kabhi gham? Didn’t complete it and don’t remember the initial story either

Lol at Anokha bandhan , you managed to watch a movie which many Indians haven’t watched lol.

So defn not an ice breaker

Lol at Anokha bandhan , you managed to watch a movie which many Indians haven’t watched lol.

So defn not an ice breaker

Do you really think I watched that out of my own choice at 7? Besides in late 80s I don’t think it was easy to get access to all the latest Top movies here in Norway. I just watched it because that was only available at that particular time :)

Lol I understand, my parents were movie buffs so I was exposed so many different movies in 3 languages without choice I would like to say .

Also wow you moved long ago to Norway , as a desi kid I can’t imagine how different it
must had been.

Lol I understand, my parents were movie buffs so I was exposed so many different movies in 3 languages without choice I would like to say .

Also wow you moved long ago to Norway , as a desi kid I can’t imagine how different it
must had been

Yes, that was a BIG transition. I moved to Norway at 6 and from playing freely in the streets of my village to sort of closed apartments in Norway it felt someone just took away your freedom. It was in late November and just to go out and play was a project, all that thick clothing, big boots etc. In Pak you had same clothes Indoor and outdoor.

And can you imagine 6 months later I started in school and could hardly speak any word in Norwegian. It was tough, but children do learn quickly and today obviously my Norwegian skills are better than even urdu/punjabi. I just suck in English:D

But me and my siblings adopted really quickly and within a year I started playing organized football with a Norwegian team. And rest is history.

Yes, that was a BIG transition. I moved to Norway at 6 and from playing freely in the streets of my village to sort of closed apartments in Norway it felt someone just took away your freedom. It was in late November and just to go out and play was a project, all that thick clothing, big boots etc. In Pak you had same clothes Indoor and outdoor.

And can you imagine 6 months later I started in school and could hardly speak any word in Norwegian. It was tough, but children do learn quickly and today obviously my Norwegian skills are better than even urdu/punjabi. I just suck in English:D

But me and my siblings adopted really quickly and within a year I started playing organized football with a Norwegian team. And rest is history.

Good to know, I think you are also lucky you went by 6 and to a country with amazing HDI, ideal age to adjust , its much harder in high school just imo.