New Zealand v Pakistan | 2nd Test | Hamilton | Nov 25-29, 2016 | Day 5

Sami is so desperate for a 50 he is ready to get run out

So selfish batsmen

In these times I wonder how it would go if we had a Kohli or Ashwin

Nz giving azhar single to put sami on strike,sami should be proud

I have to say these NZ commiees are damn annoying !! No insight in the game whatsoever and it seems as if NZ are the only team playing this game
Did you just get here? They were talking about Pakistan chasing this down for 2 sessions..

Sami has played that late cut 5 times in the last two over with zero runs

What is this guy :facepalm:

And Sami has reached his 50...

The crowd are giving him a warm round of applause...

He deserves applause.... :13:

Shukar hai yaar iski fifty tou hoi.. now please get out

Is this Bangladesh? Why are we settling for a draw? Absolutely dreadful approach when series is on line.

never ever will I vouch for sami and am very unhappy for his fifty, It was still acceptable before lunch. Now if he suddenly starts scoring it will be extremely selfish.

Craig McMillian in on commentary and people wonder why they're talking about NZ players... he's NZ's batting coach...................

Sami tried to nudge a single and I guess Azhar went to him and told him agression is only acceptable on Day 5

good sensible batting by Pakistan; the first priority is to save the match; they may try to win next

Sami as' ng azhar if he goes for his shots now that he gets his fifty how selfish one can be.

Some absolutely pathetic posts in here.

Come on Sami lad keep going mate

we will lose 1-0 or 2-0 with this approach so there is nothing to gloat about. If this were Bangladesh instead of Pakistan then yes I would have applauded them for fighting for a draw but this is Pakistan we are talking about.

Good! Hit out for a bit and bring that rate down to 5 or below. InshAllah, we'll win this.

Sami going for it now but why do you need your 50 petty milestone before doing so?And no need to be over agressive.

So Sami was indeed infact being selfish for his fifty. Mashallah what a breed of lovely cricketers are coming through

Well are u okay with a draw if last session chase peters out ?

Yes, but that will only happen if Pakistan lose 4 wickets in a cluster. if Pakistan draw it's won't be because of how they are batting now.

we will lose 1-0 or 2-0 with this approach so there is nothing to gloat about. If this were Bangladesh instead of Pakistan then yes I would have applauded them for fighting for a draw but this is Pakistan we are talking about.

Wait until end of match maybe they have cavulated when to have a go doesn't look like to me they are playing for a draw.

Sami going for it now but why do you need your 50 petty milestone before doing so?And no need to be over agressive.

a 50 is a stamp,a booking for next series and next series. so it was very vital from his point of view.

Wait until end of match maybe they have cavulated when to have a go doesn't look like to me they are playing for a draw.
it's impossible even if they try now. 127 runs only in more than half part of the game. RR almost 6 We can't chase such totals in ODIs and you are talking about tests.

They are trying to win no doubt but it petty to wasted so many balls just for your fifty and becoming reckless just after

Younis khan is not wearing pads so looks like they wanna go for the target.

Very poor by williamson to not use santner. He should have been bowling from lunch onwards

In this position i will back pak to win it unless it start to reverse or a spectacular colapse but don't think it's happening.

it's impossible even if they try now. 127 runs only in more than half part of the game. RR almost 6 We can't chase such totals in ODIs and you are talking about tests.

No it isn't impossible and rr is hovering around 5.5.

Not saying they will do it but wait till end of game.

They are trying to win no doubt but it petty to wasted so many balls just for your fifty and becoming reckless just after

If his innings is the main reason we don't win than sure he will get criticism however as of now let's hope it's all part of a master plan.

Field set back, time to milk at 4 an over with the odd boundary.

Sarfaraz should come in next.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] - Pak has all 10 wickets in hand. Why not slog for few overs and see how it goes! They can go back to defence if they lose 2/3 wickets. Only 45 overs remain now.

Actually, it doesn't work that way - these are international players, knows exactly what fellow professionals will do. Sportsmanship doesn't exist anywhere unless it's imposed - if PAK goes after, Ken'll spread his fielding out, still if the RR of 6/7 maintained - his bowlers will start to change shoes, socks...... if required underwear. If couple of wicket goes down, unnecessary tension & the same rebuilding work. This is I said, that declaration by Cook was absolute rubbish, IND was never in the game once target crossed 250.

Only solution is to increase the game duration. Yesterday, PAK bowled last 50 overs to contain, simply because they knew there are around 180 overs left, they can get away with a draw. NZ also, delayed declaration just to make sure PAK has no chance - if they over do, things will get in Kiwi's favor.

Hypothetically, add another 200 overs in this match - from ball 1 of 2nd innings, Azhar would have told his bowlers that, there is enough time for them to set 650 & take 10 wickets in 250 overs - so no relax, get your act sort & get 10 wickets. Now, say PAK gets a target of 450 in 200 overs - which one is easier - bat out 200 overs at 1.7 rate, or keep scoring & try to finish it in 135 overs? In fact, if the game is prolonged, I am sure teams will go with 4.5 bowlers at least, because only way to avoid defeat is to win & that's by taking 20 wickets. At Bhu*war, ENG tried to play out 150 overs, which wasn't impossible - add another 50 with that, better proposition is to counter attack & try to score 404 .............

ICC is the worst enemy of Test cricket, which is trying every bit to ensure a slow death of this format.

Have you noticed that the advertising on the grass is Pakistani?

Reinforces the idea that Pakistan jostled with Australia for the role of third financial power in world cricket.

BTW, good time for Azhar to get out IMHO.

And Azhar gets out on a rubbish delivery. No matter the format, Azhar simply doesn't have the ability to play aggressively.

Use the gaps to your advantage, not just lean back and try to smack everything.

Crucial stage of the game now.

Bring in Sohail Khan and just tell him to slog! Worst case scenario he gets caught out after a few boundaries and we send Sarfraz

Not looking good now. Ah well, this wasn't that high profile a series anyways. Just hope Babar gets a fifty and Sami gets a century now.